Loading

The evolution of high resolution.

Product photo of the Nikon D810 DSLR
One look at the jaw-dropping image quality possible with the D810 and you'll never look at image quality the same way. The level of detail and sharpness, the wide dynamic range and rich tonality in nearly any light is simply staggering—almost unimaginable until now. For still and multimedia photographers including landscape, studio, wedding and portrait pros, the D810 will ignite your creativity and help you capture images that astound. For cinematographers and camera operators, the D810 will become one of the most versatile and important tools in your arsenal. With meticulous autofocus, fast frame rates and image processing, smaller file formats, excellent energy efficiency and exciting new capabilities for all manners of shooting, the D810 expands your vision and lets you rethink what’s possible.
Photo of a model and live animals in a museum full of taxidermy showing high resolution, inset with a close up image of the model

One look changes everything

The bar has been raised

The D810 truly raises the bar for image quality and dynamic range. An all-new FX-format full-frame image sensor design—36.3-megapixels with no optical low-pass filter—is paired with Nikon's innovative EXPEED 4 image processing for flawless detail retention from snow white to pitch black, beautiful noise-free images from ISO 64 to ISO 12,800, an extremely wide dynamic range, flattering well-saturated skin tones and much more. The combination reveals the true optical precision of NIKKOR lenses, which provide flawless rendering even at these pixel counts. For those seeking the ultimate in DSLR image quality, the D810 delivers.

Take productions to the next level

Outstanding on TV, video and film sets

The D810 is the full-frame D-SLR that cinematographers, camera operators and multimedia photographers have been waiting for. Bring the camera's remarkable image quality and dynamic range to 1080p videos recorded at 60/50/30/25/24p uncompressed to an external device, compressed to an internal CF/SD card or both simultaneously. Move between dark and light scenes without any iris or frame-rate adjustments thanks to ISO Auto Adjust. Smoothly change a shot's depth of field with power iris control. Shoot in a flat picture style that enhances dynamic range and streamlines post-production work. Even enjoy broadcast-caliber audio control right in the camera. Let the D810 and the vast collection of NIKKOR lenses take your production to the next level.

Photo of a kayaker on a waterfall inset with five continuous sequence images of the kayaker showing speed at 5 FPS

Command performance

Where speed and accuracy converge

The D810 performs with astounding speed and precision. Capture 5 fps at full resolution and in 5:4 crop mode, 6 fps in 1:2 crop mode and 7 fps in DX-crop mode*. Enjoy tack-sharp focus—crucial in high-resolution images—thanks to an Advanced Multi-CAM 3500FX AF sensor that uses 51 focus points, including 15 cross-type sensors, 11 of which work all the way to f/8, plus a new Group Area AF. Internal vibration has been nearly eliminated with a newly designed sequencer mechanism and Electronic Front Curtain Shutter system. You can even quickly spot-check your focus by zooming in 46x on the large 3.2-inch 1,229k-dot display with RGBW alignment and monitor highlights during video capture with zebra striping right in the display. The D810 is as nimble as it is precise.

*When using optional MB-D12 battery pack (for up to 100 jpeg shots)
Time lapse photo of the stars in the night sky above a tropical island landscape in low light

Liberating versatility

Thrilling new capabilities and inspiration

The D810 is a versatile camera for versatile shooters. Produce stunning star-trail images with unlimited continuous shooting—capture images for as long as your battery or memory card will allow. Create smooth, even time-lapse sequences thanks to new Exposure Smoothing. Preserve details in both the shadowy and bright areas of stage performances and other spot-lit situations with Highlight-weighted Metering. Use the D810's pop-up flash as a Commander for Nikon's Creative Light System—a major convenience for location photographers. Save your files in a new 12-bit uncompressed RAW size S* format that's half the size of RAW size L. Wherever your passion and inspiration takes you, the D810 will follow.

*In-camera RAW processing or some retouch options, such as image overlay, cannot be applied.
Photo of a model leaning on a taxidermy lion inset with the EXPEED 4 image processor

The most advanced EXPEED yet

Nikon's EXPEED image processing concept enables superior performance in Nikon cameras. The new EXPEED 4 design takes that performance even further—30% faster than its predecessor, 25% faster frame rates (5 fps), a wider ISO range of 64-12,800 with low noise throughout, smooth gradations, a wide dynamic range, optimizations for 1080 60p video, greater energy efficiency and more.
Three product shots of the D810, front, top and rear with the image of a model in a scene on the LCD

Outstanding handling

A deeper grip ensures stable handling, even for small hands. A brighter viewfinder offers ~100% frame coverage, 0.7x magnification and high contrast organic EL information display for easier visibility. The scratch- and shock-resistant TFT LCD display has wide viewing angles and enhanced visibility in sunlight. Its color can be calibrated to match an external monitor, and a new split-screen feature lets you monitor two different points of a scene side-by-side to ensure proper leveling or focus.
Graphic overlay of weather and dust sealing of the D810 camera body

Built for tough projects

The D810 with magnesium alloy, stringently tested weather and dust sealing, a shutter that's been tested to 200,000 cycles, longer battery life, and advanced in-camera editing like NEF (RAW) processing, distortion control, image overlay and more, makes the D810 as reliable on the road as it is in the studio.
Photo of a model with a shadow of a wolf on the wall showing creativity

Creative freedom

Every superb NIKKOR lens tells a new story, from fast primes to versatile telephoto zooms. With optional Nikon Speedlights, lighting is as powerful and comprehensive as you want it to be, while pro-grade Wi-Fi® transmitters and remote controls streamline workflow in the studio or at a remote location. Draw the most from RAW files with the new Capture NX-D software, or tailor your images and customize your picture control settings with the optional Picture Control Utility 2. Unleash the full potential of the D810.

Two amazing D810 kits for the budding Filmmaker & Animator

For storytellers looking to get outstanding video quality and high resolution animations out of their D810, two kit options are available—learn how they can help you tell your story.

false false false product 1542-en_US 1542 1542 DIGSLR $2,999.95 false $3,299.95 NONE false false true 2014-12-03T17:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/1542/D810.html /dslr-cameras/D810.html 1542 en_US D810 /en_INC/o/57qXCcC4VtbrorNNsWOsXvKoNmM/Views/1542_D810_BodyOnly.png true /en_US/o/-jKPCmiT3ZkyJxjhwh0YAoREXFQ/Misc/us_D810_logo.png Harness the power of extreme resolution, jaw-dropping image quality and huge dynamic range in both stills and Full HD 1080p video applications. A newly designed 36.3 megapixel FX-format full-frame image sensor with no optical low-pass filter is paired with the thrilling performance of EXPEED 4 for staggering detail retention, noise-free images from ISO 64 to ISO 12,800, fast frame rates, cinematic video capabilities, in-camera editing features and outstanding energy efficiency. For still and multimedia photographers, The D810 will ignite your creativity and help you capture images that astound. For cinematographers and camera operators, the D810 will become one of the most versatile tools in your arsenal. The D810 will expand your vision and make you rethink what’s possible. Harness the power of extreme resolution, jaw-dropping image quality and huge dynamic range in both stills and Full HD 1080p video applications.<br /> /en_INC/o/57qXCcC4VtbrorNNsWOsXvKoNmM/Misc/global_D810_logo.png <span style="font-size: small;"><strong>Revel in the details. <br />Elevate every production.</strong></span> true 4.7 27 true STERMIC LCDMONCOV CABLCOMP IMGSOFT FLSHBKT MANUALS RMTTRANS RMTCORD PWRPAC CAPCOV EXTSER BATTHOLD EYEPIE CAMCASE FLSH VIEWFNDR MISC WIRELESS PWRAPT BATTCHCO BATTERY STRAPS GPS PWRCHG IMG-APPAREL 1542 13456 13457 1556 4 true true false 1542 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1542 1.1730984 false false false product 1556-en_US 1556 1556 DIGSLR $3,699.95 false $4,599.95 NONE false true true /dslr-cameras/1556/D810.html /dslr-cameras/D810.html 1556 1556 en_US 24-120mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/-jKPCmiT3ZkyJxjhwh0YAoREXFQ/Views/1556-D810_24-120.png false The Nikon D810 D-SLR one lens kit pairs the versatile AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR lens with the 36.3 MP D810. Utilize the 24mm wide-angle through 120mm telephoto for a wide variety of shooting opportunities from group shots and portraits, to landscapes and events. The AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR is an ideal all-in-one lens solution for the D810. 24-120mm VR Lens Kit true 4.7 27 false 0 true true false 1556 AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR 2193 D810 1542 Product D810 1542 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1556 1.7556028 false false false product 13457-en_US 13457 13457 DIGSLR $3,999.95 false $3,999.95 NONE false true false /dslr-cameras/13457/D810.html /dslr-cameras/D810.html 13457 13457 en_US Animator's Kit /en_US/o/-jKPCmiT3ZkyJxjhwh0YAoREXFQ/Views/13457_D810_Animators.png false A full-frame Nikon DSLR with the latest image features combined with the AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is the first step of the process. Together with the stop motion animation software Dragonframe™, used on many Hollywood blockbusters, you'll be up and running in no time. To ensure the motion doesn't stop, included in the kit is an EH-5b/EP-5b Power Supply and Connector for continuous power to the camera. Animator's Kit false 4.7 27 false 0 true true false 13457 AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED 2160 Dragonframe™ Stop Motion Software EH-5b AC Adapter EP-5B Power Supply Connector D810 1542 Product D810 1542 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13457 1.7556028 false false false product 13456-en_US 13456 13456 DIGSLR $4,649.95 false $4,999.95 NONE false true true /dslr-cameras/13456/D810.html /dslr-cameras/D810.html 13456 13456 en_US Filmmaker's Kit /en_US/o/-jKPCmiT3ZkyJxjhwh0YAoREXFQ/Views/13456_D810_filmmaker.png false A full-frame Nikon DSLR with the latest video features and three fast, versatile NIKKOR prime lenses will bring mind-blowing image quality to every production. An Atomos Ninja-2 HDMI Smart Production Recorder gives you the most advanced way to record, monitor and review your footage, while an ME-1 Stereo Microphone, two extra batteries, Tiffen® Variable ND filters and an HDMI cable ensure you capture every sight and sound. Filmmaker's Kit true 4.7 27 false 0 true true false 13456 AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G ED 2215 AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G 2199 AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G 2201 Atomos Ninja-2 HDMI Smart Production Recorder Tiffen® 58mm Variable ND Filter Tiffen® 67mm Variable ND Filter Two Additional EN-EL15 Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries ME-1 Stereo Microphone HC-E1 HDMI Cable D810 1542 Product D810 1542 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13456 1.7556028
Sale

D810 Body Only

Now $2,999.95
Reg. $3,299.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1542 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Sale

24-120mm VR Lens Kit

D810 Camera Body AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Now $3,699.95
Reg. $4,599.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1556 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

This product is backordered

Animator's Kit

D810 Camera Body AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-EDDragonframe™ Stop Motion SoftwareEH-5b AC AdapterEP-5B Power Supply Connector
Price $3,999.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: false, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13457 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

This product is backordered
Sale

Filmmaker's Kit

D810 Camera Body AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G EDAF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8GAF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8GAtomos Ninja-2 HDMI Smart Production RecorderTiffen® 58mm Variable ND FilterTiffen® 67mm Variable ND FilterTwo Additional EN-EL15 Rechargeable Li-ion BatteriesME-1 Stereo MicrophoneHC-E1 HDMI Cable
Now $4,649.95
Reg. $4,999.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13456 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

This product is backordered
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Microphones
Microphones
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D810 4.8 5 33 33
Completely Satisfied! Have owned this body for 6 months I feel that I can now express what I felt the first time I used it. I have been a Nikon user since the mid 70's and have always been satisfied with the product quality. After graduating I got away from my hobby and began using 35mm point and shoots as most of my photos were just snap shots of family events. As digital photography began to evolve I purchased digital point and shoots and watched them improve over the years. As our children became involved in school sports, plays etc. I would always take my camera. Most of the shots were good, but the one you really wanted seemed to always be flawed. My wife would comment that she wished "that one" would have come out better. My interest in photography was reborn! I purchased a D90 about 6 years ago for my re entry. I was amazed at the results and quality of my photos. My old skills and passion were reborn. I then purchased the D600 when it was released as I wanted to go to the full frame mode. I read the reviews about complaints of dust or oil on the mirror but never experienced it on mine. My skills were improving and so were my shots. At the end of this summer I began to have the problem with my D600, returned it to Nikon and they repaired it however I did not want to be without a camera. I began reading the reviews on the D810 and was interested, I had to have one. I am my own worst critic and demand perfection in all that I do. When I processed the first set of photos from the D810 on my mac i could not believe the quality, color and resolution. I was blown away. There are no limits to what this camera can do with the right lenses. It tests your imagination and skills. I was asked to video a wedding by my friend who is a semi professional photographer of his sister. I had never done video before but agreed to and put myself and the D810 to the test. Used the Nikkor 24-70 F2.8 lens. The results were incredible, definitely beyond what I expected. I believe it was the fiddle not the fiddler in this case. As the holidays approached I found myself in testing this camera in very low light environments. I can't say enough about the ability of this camera. It seems to invent light that doesn't exist. It is great for high school football, both day and night games and I find it plenty fast. My daughter had a part in her high school play. Used the highlight weighted metering and the 70-200 f2.8, the results were fabulous. This camera will not disappoint I highly recommend it! March 4, 2015
The Camera Is A Godsend I do fine art reproduction. My livelihood is based upon getting accurate color reproduction across the entire surface of the image. The prints I make must look exactly like the paintings artists bring me. For over a decade I have been doing this and I have always used a scanner. I even developed my own methods for scanning oversized pieces and stitching them together to capture the entire image. My scanner is near the end of its usefulness and there is no other scanner out there that can do the job. I have spent over 2 years looking for a scanner and have even explored some very exotic, very expensive scanners. Nothing worked. I dreaded the thought of using a camera, but that was my only remaining option. I used to do quite a bit of photography decades ago, but that was before the digital age. The new dslr cameras are a whole new tool. I needed to capture images accurately, be able to stitch segments of images into a complete image and get dead on accurate color across the entire surface of the image. I spent months researching what camera to get and after traveling to a photo show in New York, I finally decided on the D810.This camera is fantastic. It is a precision instrument like nothing else I have ever used. I can capture a 16x24 raw image and print it at a 300dpi. This is essential for me. If I shoot multiple sections of larger images, they stitch flawlessly - much better even than the scanner. If you know how to setup the camera you can accurately reproduce color across the entire image. Of course there were a number of other things to get right as well. I had to decide on a light source and a studio setup. I also had to decide on a lens and the tools I would use to profile the camera to get accurate color. I will not get into all that here. What I will tell you is that this camera is a godsend. It is extremely versatile and I can set it up exactly as I want it. The metering is phenomenal and the autofocus is excellent. There is nothing I wanted to do that I was unable to do. Most people will not use this camera or any camera for what I do. This is not a point and shoot environment. However, what I do is one of the most demanding things any photographer will ever do. If the camera works for me, I can only assume it will work for anyone who takes the time to learn how to use it. The manual that comes with the camera is complete, but it leaves a lot to be desired. I purchased David Busch's Nikon D810 Guide To Digital SLR Photography. This is the perfect manual for this camera. You can find anything you want to very quickly and very clearly. Nikon should include this with the camera. So, do I like this camera? I love this camera. I wish I had been using a camera like this all along. Once you know what you are doing, its a breeze. The scanner I used cost me over $3,000 almost 15 years ago. It was worth every penny. The cost of this camera by comparison is not expensive. It is much more versatile and I have only begun to explore the depths of what I can do with the camera. If you buy this camera, you should expect to take some time learning how to use it properly. It will not disappoint you. I have nothing negative to say about this camera. You will need to get a memory card for it. I strongly recommend a safe case and top quality lenses and filters. In a studio setting, I also recommend getting Nikon's AC adapter. I have done things with this camera that I have never done before with any camera - tethering for example - and I have not even scratched the surface. I will be exploring other uses for this camera and I expect that is will enable me to create some new sources of revenue. February 27, 2015
Great body, but not for everything I've rented and now own the 810. The larger sensor/resolution is great for landscapes, particularly with high quality Zeiss prime lens. It will unmask shortcomings in lessor quality lens, so choose your lens wisely. I also used it for wildlife and sports. Using my D4 as a reference, the 810 is just a little bit slower, or "squishy" when trying to focus on fast moving sporting events. Same is true for faster moving wildlife (i.e., birds in flight). Stationary or slow moving animals are no problem. I'm very happy with my purchase and now travel with both the D4 and 810 for wildlife trips. Sports-its still the D4 as the primary body. The 810 will work best when focusing on a set location and letting the action come into the frame. February 22, 2015
Excellent camera. I have been shooting the Nikon D4s and wanted a second camera to do time lapse while I shot stills along side it. . I was amazed by the D810. It is quiet and the resolution is amazing. It is my go to camera now unless I'm shooting action or want better low light capability, then back to the D4s. Nikon has a real winner with the D810. The video and time lapse are excellent. February 20, 2015
Now I'm impressed! I originally purchased the D100 when it first came out. I'm a diehard Nikon camera guy. My first camera was the F4s, which I liked so much I purchased another one as a backup. I used them for sports, candids and general photography. I used Mamiya medium format for weddings, and landscape. I got frustrated with the digital work flow and the lack of dynamic range captured by digital cameras and the terrible rendition of black and white photos. So I purchased a Nikon F5 and stuck with film, becuase it just works. But I got curious and decided to try the D810. Now I'm impressed! Is it perfect? No, but it does rival my medium format photos in color and detail. I am able to take nice black and white photos now because of the high dynamic range (HDR). I'll continue to use film (some things just look better on film), but now I have a new medium (digital) that I can trust and enjoy. The D810 is an engineering marvel and Nikon has hit a home run with it. This camera should serve me well for the next ten years or so. My only gripe is I have to buy a new flash, because Nikon did not make the D810 backwards compatible with their older flashes (SB28 & 25). Although the manual says that they are. Hopefully, Nikon will issue a software upgrade to correct this oversight. January 16, 2015
Fine Camera I've owned almost all of the Dxxx series of cameras and each new model has been a good upgrade from the previous model. The D810 is no exception. Reading the specs I hesitated for several weeks before purchasing as it didn't appear to be that much different from the D800. However, the reviews indicated differently so I sold my D800 and purchased the D810. Initially I took about 100 photos with the D810. However, before I get into the rating I have to say that I ran into a problem where under certain conditions the camera went into a total "hang" condition. Nothing I did would undo this problem and not even turning off the ON/OFF switch. Removing the battery got rid of the "hang" and the camera seemed to work okay after that point until I again went into "S priority" mode and changed some other settings and once again I had a problem. This appeared to be a firmware issue which under certain conditions would cause the software to crash (my opinion). Called Nikon and they told me to return the camera as it was defective. Amazon replaced the camera with a new unit and it is working flawlessly. This is the first camera that I have had in over 60 years that had any issues with so this was a bit of a surprise to me. Aside from the above the D810 really focuses fast. Most of the time you don't even hear the hunt and search that is normal during focusing. The camera jumps to the focus point and that is it. However, under low light conditions I don't find the D810 any better than the D800 which may or may not focus properly even with the assist light. But then again I never owned a camera that focuses fast/accurately in very low light conditions (I understand that the D4s does a good job here) so I guess this is as good as it gets. The D800 had a perceived (or real) blur if you zoom in on a given pix. This apparently was due in part to the filter over the sensor which the D810 does not have. The D810 results are much better in this area. However, one must realize that camera movement can produce the same results so anyone measuring this parameter should do so using a tripod to keep the camera as still as possible. However, even with hand held pictures I am pleased with the results of the D810 in this area. The reduced shutter noise gives the feeling of a solid design. This along with quick focusing is the real pluses for this camera. I've never really had to take photos with the ISO above 3200 so the extended ISO range of the D810 isn't that much of a benefit to me. Both the D800 and the D810 do an excellent job at an ISO of 3200. I've taken weddings at 1600 or 2000 and the results were great. But it's nice to know that the extra range is there and I'm sure will come in handy during some future adverse lighting conditions. I also like the new spot with the "Highlighted Weighted" addition. This makes a real difference in the results and especially in difficult venues involving stage performers where the subject's lighting on the face is contrasted by the lighting on the background. I find the results using this new function to be much more pleasing over the spot function only. I'm not into video that much so I can't comment on the new video features of the D810. There are new features as compared to the D800. The dynamic range I feel is better. Picture color on the D800 always seemed washed out where as the D810 produces better more vibrant looking pictures prior to editing. The AF-L, AE-L is a bit too far to the left for my short fingers as is the Fn button but manageable. The new grip depth is good and gives a little better feeling of gripping the camera. Everything else is about the same as with the D800 so I won't go over any of these features. Yes I would like a cover for the flash contact area as others have stated. While I understand that photographers typically lose this small piece of plastic contacts get dirty when exposed and could cause operational issues. Aside from my original problem the D810 is a very good camera and worth the upgrade from the D800. I was undecided between the D810 and the D4s. However, after reading several reviews from photographers who owned both and some industry reviews it was a no-brainer to go with the D810. The only other secondary issue is that Nikon's Capture NX2 does not support the D810 raw files. Not sure why this is but if you want to continue using NX2 you have to edit raw files in NX-D, then output the results in a tiff or jpeg file then open up these files in Capture NX2. A bit of a hassle but manageable. November 1, 2014
A wonderful camera. I've been a Nikon user and a fan for years. This is a terrific camera. The functionality and quality are superior. I look forward to many years of shooting. October 23, 2014
My favorite I started photography at the age of 4 and have owned Nikon my whole life. I own a D3000, D300, and now the D810. I seriously could not be happier with this camera. The speed, quality, and overall performance is stunning. Since purchasing it, I have shot several videos and the first comments from viewers are always about how amazing the quality is. The quality was definitely worth the price for this beauty. Well done Nikon. October 23, 2014
Absolutely Stunning. As a professional photographer, I work with both still and video images. I own and work constantly with the D4, D800, and now the D810. If you are having any doubts as to whether or not this camera is worth it, let me put those to rest... this THE most amazing camera I have ever worked with. I have not been disappointed with single update, and this in now my primary camera, except for photo-journalism, where I use the D4. In my opinion, this camera is a game-changer in so many ways--both for still and video production. I now find myself using this much more than my medium-format Mamiya--this is much easier to use on location and in the studio. September 24, 2014
Excellent Camera This is defiantly by far a great camera for any type of photography and video recording. The D810 has great improvements over the D800E I own. I use this camera for all types of nature photography such as macro, landscapes, wildlife and avian. The low ISO is excellent along with the higher ISO with very little noise. The excellent tonal range and details can't be beat and I require and need this. For now on, the D800E will be my backup camera! September 10, 2014
Stunning product! I've never seen a better camera. And trust me, I've been photographing for almost ten years. Used everything that's out there. This, by far, is the best ever! Great handling, superb picture quality, incredible video and unbelievably fast! September 6, 2014
Great Product - lot of unmentioned improvements compared to the D800 I own this camera now for just over two weeks, but I did already make quite a few shoots (over 300) and I have to say that all the new features mentioned are in. But for me more importand is the unmentioned new fgeatures or impreovements. I own quite afew lenses and I have to say that with the D800, I needed to use for a few lensens the Micro Adjustment possibility for the AF, with the D810 all my lneses produce good results without adjusting anything. Also the AF works much better on my Nikkor 80-400 G, the whole picture is with 400mm much better. My experience, the D810 is a much improved camera, over the D800. August 19, 2014
Greatly improved from the D800E Finally i don't have to listen to the noisy shutter because the shutter on the D810 it is as quiet i as a whisper. The processor is faster allowing 5 frames per second. The iso range is the best I have seen on a camera of this pro class. The photos are beautiful chocked full of 36.3 million pixels. Just got the this camera and was able to use my D800E grip plus all the batteries and lens's I have. Great product, wish I known before I bought my D880E just 1.5 years ago.Thanks Nikon August 14, 2014
Highly Recommended........... big time I bought this camera the day it came out, (about 2 weeks ago) and have shot two weddings an engagement and a mini road trip since. Out of the box the first thing I notice is how much quieter it is. This will come in very handy at weddings in large churches where every sound can bounce around the room. The white balance seems to be much more accurate with this camera than the 800 and the 800e. ISO seems to be less grainy in lower light conditions, which any photographer can use. The quality of this camera seems just under that of film. I expect to see great things coming from Nikon in the years to come. Thanks Nikon July 31, 2014
Most Challenging Camera I've only had this camera less than a week but I've discovered an undocumented characteristic not mentioned in the reviews or literature. This is the first camera I've owned that has a personality, one that talks back to me and lets me know in no uncertain terms whether I'm doing things right or not. Most reviewers mention its fabulous resolution and the fact that it (along with its older siblings, the D800/D800E) is able to reveal shortcomings in your lenses. I wasn't quite prepared for it to reveal the shortcomings of my photography. My first pictures proved to be something of a disappointment when I viewed them with ViewNX2 at maximum enlargement. The line of bricks on the house I photographed from across the street were not as sharp as I had expected. Other photographs revealed less detail than I hoped for at maximum enlargement. It wasn't until later in the day that I discovered the lens I was using was not set with VR on. Since that time I've taken greater care to make sure I don't overlook such things and that I attempt to support the camera better when taking pictures. Subsequent pictures have shown marked improvement. This is the kind of camera that demands that I become a better photographer and that's why I bought it, to challenge myself to improve the level of my picture taking. My previous camera is the D300s, a camera I've enjoyed and rightly so. But this move is into the new world of FX and anyone moving that same way must prepare for an adjustment. I had to carefully look at my budget to find the means to buy this camera and the host of lenses that go with it. I've also discovered that I'm going to have to add significant storage capacity to my computer as just a dozen or so pictures added 1GB of files to the hard drive. Is this camera worth it? I think so, just as I think getting better at doing what I love, taking pictures, is worth it and this camera is the right tool for that. But I warn you to prepare yourself for all the demands this camera will make of you if you want to get the most out of it. July 30, 2014
QUALIDADE NIKON Excelente maquina, tenho fotografado casamentos com ela.... imagem fantastica...é claro que: temos que saber usar o equipamento, para se ter uma imagem que ao olharmos para ela.... temos que ver muito mais que uma foto.....E sim a foto passar a mensagem do momento em que foi registrada... July 17, 2015
After 7 years of D200 was time for change And after read for days the manual on line, understand what I can do, how much money was the budget for my camera I decide of to go with a D810, and after bought a camera I walk around my block take a pictures and see how work the camera. The first important appointment were a concerts for Sunfest 2015, working with D810 was so easy, and the pictures wonderful July 16, 2015
Wow!!! What a beauty I've been waiting to get my hands on one of these and finally got one today. Put the 35MM 1.8 and it was magic. I have used DX for few years now but the full frame is a totally different world. Absolutely stunning results, fast, quiet and can't wait to put into use for wedding season. April 25, 2015
Great expectations satisfied Greatly anticipated the performance this camera offered and was in no way disappointed. The buttons are very easy to get used to, the grip is comfortable even with the 70-200mm f2.8 lens. The D810 is fast and responsive. The photos I'm attaching are showing the low light and clarity reached with the D810. I have 2 new lenses as well but even the old AI 50mm f1.8 truly shines with this camera. A real bonus feature I found is the time lapse feature that assembles the set of images into a video right in the camera. I would not only recommend the D810 but I see myself getting a few more. January 30, 2015
Love it One of the best camera I've had. Amazing in low light condition January 12, 2015
Sensor altamente qualificado, com nitidea incrivel Camera com design otimo, expetacular resolucão. peso diminuto e menu fácil e interativo December 14, 2014
Best camera I've owned in 44 years Truly a spectacular image capture tool - a few shortcomings but so far ahead of anything else I've used. November 21, 2014
Impressve image quality and sharpness Been using the d810 for a few months with sigma art lenses. Sharpness and color quality is the best I have seen from a DSLR. Very solidly built. October 23, 2014
Good upgrade to D800 I have owned this camera for three weeks. I upgraded from a D800 that I traded-in and which I've used (and loved) for about 15 months. Despite the similarities, the D810 is a different animal from the D800. Start with the similarities: The camera feels close to the D800 in your hands. And while some subtle differences exist - deeper right hand grip, change in location of sensor mode and bracketing controls - in your hands, the D810 and D800 are as close as two cameras can get. All my accessories work with the D810. All lenses, vertical grip, batteries, memory cards, remote control, flashes and 90 degree viewfinder work exactly as they did on the D800. Here are the differences: The D810 is 20% faster and much quieter than the 800. For me, this alone justifies the upgrade. The images as displayed on the screen are sharper with more dynamics. The images downloaded from the camera are also more dynamic and much less noisy than the images off the D800. This, too, on it's own would have justified the upgrade. The quality of the image, whether due to lower noise or better processing, is difficult to quantify but I am more satisfied with the images I get from the D810, especially those taken in challenging lighting conditions, than I am with those taken with the D800 - and I wasn't even dissatisfied with images from my old camera. Minor changes and enhancements in some of the less-used features are welcome. I especially like the new display for the virtual horizon. Finally, the full resolution video is unparalleled by any video camera I have ever used, let alone a DLSR running in video mode and the stereo audio, which is one of those things that you don't notice is missing until you have it, is a very nice feature. The one very minor beef I have with the D810 is the location of the bracket control button which is on the camera chassis near the flash deployment button. I've popped up the flash a few times while attempting to change the bracketing. The remote unit also interferes with access to the bracket button in its new location. August 22, 2014
Meilleur boitier Nikon à ce jour pour mes besoins. Étant propriétaire d’un D800, j’avais besoin d’un second boitier FX. Déjà que le D800 est une superbe machine que je possède depuis 1an, le D800 est tout à fait excellent en studio. Or j’attendais un nouveau boitier FX et j’ai prit la chance d’acheter le D810 car ses spécifications rejoignaient mes attentes pour un second boitier entre-autre qu’il soit un peu plus « sportif », l’autofocus du D4s, une meilleure rafale, meilleur dans les hauts ISO. Après 1000 photos que je viens de faire dans toutes les conditions de luminosité, le D810 est d’après moi, le meilleur boîtier Nikon jusqu’à ce jour. Je sais de quoi je parle pour avoir eu les D200, D300, D700, D3s, D600 et D800. Le D810 est un merveilleux mélange bien balancé entre un boitier sportif, paysagiste et de studio. Malgré la critique sur le sRAW, je trouve cette option vraiment intéressante pour certains types de photo, là où la haute définition n’est pas importante mais où on désire conserver certains paramètres de « développement » du Raw plutôt que jpeg. D’ailleurs il deviendra mon principal boitier pour les photos de mariage, spectacle, animalier et paysage alors que je réserve mon D800 au studio. July 21, 2014
Impressive I was a Canon fan back when shooting film in the early 1980s, but Nikon won me over after trying out their cheaper digital cameras w/o interchangeable lenses. They were a lot faster with better features than others. Just not as durable as a decent DSLR. A couple years ago I stepped up to the D7000 and loved how sturdy it was, and with enough candle power it would take some impressive shots. I was very glad I waited until the D810 was released before stepping up into the FX format. The D600 scandal had made me look at Canon again, and I was very impressed with the full resolution images i saw from just the 7D and 6D, but they did not have the lens selection I was after, so that brought me back to Nikon. I shot some video of moving object at the Adult Soapbox Derby Race last weekend and liked how much more responsive the auto focus is than my D7000 as I zoomed in and out as they came closer and rode away from me, and the variable ISO was helpful. to adjust the exposure. My D7000 was very frustrating and unpredictable for video. I agree with others how this really should have come with a touch screen to help navigate the menus and zoom in and out when reviewing shots. that was very cheap of Nikon to exclude this feature in this modern day of low cost cell phones that are easier to use. Especially given how Nikon is the priciest of it's type. For this reason I will not give it 5 stars. I also got the 1.2X eye piece, rubber cup, 28mm - 300mm lens, Lexar 128G 1066X CF, and the compact leather bag for this (which is well worth the cost), so I'm pretty well set, but I still cannot view of edit these RAW images yet, so it's kind of useless still. I would love to get Nikon's top speed light, but I am holding out for it to come with a rechargeable battery, like this camera has. I cannot believe they want $550 and are too cheap to include this in one of the most expensive speed lights on the market. What gives? August 20, 2014
Defective camera out of box. I received my brand new D810 with a Nikkor 55-200 mm lens a little more than a month ago, quickly set up the camera and took more than a few hundreds pictures inside and outside of our house in bright day light and evenings during the course of a few days. Not single photo was in focus. All pictures with no exception were completely blurry. I did significant research, went through all user manual, have other photographer check the camera. The result was abundantly clear. Out of box with ISO default setting of 100, the camera was completely incapable to detect properly the amount of ambient light causing slow shutter speed resulting in extremely blurry and useless pictures. The Camera focus setting was in AF-S and target subject was always stationary. I could easily focus (with constant white dot) on my subject in a second during any shooting but due to wrong reading of amount of lights by camera, there was always a delay during photo shooting between focusing and actual shutter action. Once I increased the ISO setting to 2000 or above, the shutter speed increased and photos obviously got better but there were not nearly as sharp as I expected. In simple term my D810 with default setting always took very very blurry pictures even with good amount of ambient light. I had some difficulty returning my camera and getting back my refund as well. At the end I returned my Camera, lens and all other accessories I bought and practically done with Nikon for long long time. I gave 2 stars for my review just because of relatively good Nikon US customer support. April 16, 2015
Very Dissapointed even before use Bought today - I was really excited on getting this kit. The my previous camera (800E) was well built. This 810 flash shoe is crooked - quite visibly out of the box, The Atomos Ninja is a very cheap body construction, in which I had to wrestle the batteries in (yes I had the release pushed in) and the whole body is cheaply made. The Camera battery adaptor is cheaply made and appears very easy to break. There isn't even a flash shoe cover on this latest camera (normally a $1 item. There isn't an adaptor for the flash shoe to Atomos ninja included ,not even a cheap plastic one like on the included microphone). Also, there are only 2 polarizers included, but 3 lenses. After spending all this money, and purchasing additional lens today, only to find out this "kit" is missing some very basic items that are really cheap, I feel quite affronted. The batteries are all dead as well, so I haven't even an opportunity to try the camera out right from the box. I have been a long time fan of Nikon, but I don't see the quality in which I have grown to expect. November 23, 2014
  • 2015-08-03T17:49:23.555Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_1542, prod, sort_default
Page:2
<<prev
66 Questions | 71 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
66 Questions | 71 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
D810
 
3 Answers

Wi-Fi Connection D810 DSLR

Aug 28, 2014 by
by
Keith
Australia
 on D810
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Does the D810 DSLR have internal wi-fi, or do you still need an external device. I would like to upload on the go
11 months ago
by
Keith
Australia
Location : 
Australia
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, you need UT-1 Communication Unit with WT-5A to connect to a computer.

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
GP-1 and GP-1a are GPS receivers, not WiFi
Sep 6, 2014 by
by
JWK
Maryland, USA

-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4
Answer: 
No built in WiFi you must purchase and attach GP-1 or 1a.
Aug 28, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D810
 
2 Answers

ProPhoto color space

Jul 14, 2014 by
by
SteveC
 on D810
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
dpreview listed sRGB and AdobeRGB as color spaces in D810, but not ProPhoto. Surely this wasn't removed? It would be a step backward from D800E.
1 year ago
by
SteveC
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks, I realized later that this was a dumb question. Color space doesn't matter when shooting RAW, it's selected when converting from RAW. I'm so accustomed to opening with ProPhoto in LR that it was in my head that the camera was set for ProPhoto. When my D810 arrived and I was configuring it, I remembered this basic fact.
Jul 23, 2014 by
by
SteveC

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
None of Nikon's DSLR offer the ProPhoto color space as an option. The Nikon D810 along with other DSLRs offer the sRGB and the AdobeRGB.
Jul 23, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D810
 
2 Answers

I'm in Miami until July 24, Is there somewhere you can buy in person? Any store that has the camera in stock?

Jul 17, 2014 by
by
Felipe
Miami, FL, USA
 on D810
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
1 year ago
by
Felipe
Miami, FL, USA
Location : 
Miami, FL, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Best buy Miami
Jul 17, 2014 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can search for Nikon Authorized Dealers of the D810 by region on this page: http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Pr... . Please contact the individual dealers for information on available stock.
Jul 17, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D810
 
2 Answers

How can I tether the D810 to a Macbook Pro

Jul 31, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Greenville, SC, USA
 on D810
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I want to be able to shoot in the studio and have the images transfer from the D810 to a Macbook Pro so my art director can approve them without downloading cards.
1 year ago
by
Anonymous
Greenville, SC, USA
Location : 
Greenville, SC, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can also use Aperture from Apple
Nov 6, 2014 by
by
DS
San Francisco, CA, USA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon Camera Control Pro 2 software.
Jul 31, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D810
 
2 Answers

Is the speedlight SB-800 compatible with the d810

Sep 8, 2014 by
by
PhotoMom
MO
 on D810
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
10 months ago
by
PhotoMom
MO
Location : 
MO
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Works real well with my D810, D7000 and Coolpix 8800.
Great flash, it also acts as a Slave if you set it up.
Jan 7, 2015 by
by
Anonymous
Malta
Location : 
Malta
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Fully compatible.
Sep 8, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D810
 
2 Answers

Does the refurbished camera come with a warrenty?

Nov 21, 2014 by
by
Rick
NM
 on D810
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
8 months ago
by
Rick
NM
Location : 
NM
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Refurbished products come with a 90 day warranty.
Nov 21, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
All refurbishments have a 90 day warranty.
Nov 21, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, because each pixel gathers light and the more pixels the more light that is gathered.
Dec 16, 2014 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
They remain the same size, you just have less per square inch. That is one of the reasons you have less noise as Megapixels increase.
Dec 13, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D810
 
2 Answers

does nikon d810 have auto shooting mode besides using manual focus?

Dec 18, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA, USA
 on D810
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are no auto modes, you have programmed auto, shutter priority, aperture priority and manual modes and yes it has auto focus if thats what you were asking.
Dec 18, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It has a programmed auto mode.
Dec 18, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D810
 
2 Answers

Is the D810 rainproof?

Jan 14, 2015 by
by
Wil
Jakarta, Jakarta, Indonesia
 on D810
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
6 months ago
by
Wil
Jakarta, Jakarta, Indonesia
Location : 
Jakarta, Jakarta, Indonesia
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The D810 features weather and dust sealing but is not waterproof. The tech specs for the D810 indicate an operating environment of 0–40 °C (+32–104 °F) and a humidity level of 85% or less (no condensation).
Jan 15, 2015 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It us weather sealed but not "waterproof".
Jan 15, 2015 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D810
 
2 Answers

what is the warranty for the D810

May 19, 2015 by
by
Anonymous
 on D810
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D810 comes with the one-year Nikon Digital Imaging Warranty. Please see this page for full warranty information: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an....
May 29, 2015 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
1 year warranty.
May 19, 2015 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
  • 2015-08-03T17:48:39.230Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_1542, prod, sort_default
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers