Loading

A new level of image quality, a familiar way of sharing.

Product photograph of Nikon D3200 HD-SLR camera
Don't let the D3200's compact size and price fool you—packed inside this easy to use HD-SLR is serious Nikon power: a 24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor that excels in any light, EXPEED 3 image-processing for fast operation and creative in-camera effects, Full HD (1080p) movie recording, in-camera tutorials and much more. What does this mean for you? Simply stunning photos and videos in any setting. And now, with Nikon's optional Wireless Mobile Adapter, you can share those masterpieces instantly with your Smartphone or tablet!
close-up portrait of a girl with blonde hair taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Take your photos and videos to the next level

24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 3

Why do photos and videos shot with a Nikon HD-SLR look so good? It all starts with Nikon’s exclusive image sensors, and the D3200 has the most powerful CMOS sensor we’ve ever put in a HD-SLR at this level. Boasting an astounding 24.2 effective megapixels, it captures sharper, richer images—even in low light. Combine that with EXPEED 3 image processing, the processing power behind the acclaimed Nikon D4, for super-fast operation, exceptional image capture, in-camera filter effects and more. Your photos and videos will amaze even you.
image of Guide Mode menu on D3200 HD-SLR's LCD

Master the camera simply by using it

Guide Mode ensures success

It’s never been easier to create HD-SLR quality photos, thanks to the D3200’s Guide Mode. Learn the camera's key features and controls while you shoot, and even get advice and sample images to succeed in difficult shooting situations. Guide Mode is easy to access and easy to understand. You’re never shooting alone with the D3200.
Mode dial of D3200 and images of a yellow flower, portrait of girl, night portrait of girl and landscape taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Capture the best of every scene

Six Scene Modes and Scene Auto Selector

Experienced photographers optimize their camera settings for the scene they’re shooting. With the D3200, optimizing your camera settings is as easy as turning a dial. Choose from six common Scene Modes like Portrait, Night Portrait, Landscape, Close up and more, for flawless results even in demanding circumstances. When using Live View, Scene Auto Selector automatically sets the D3200 for the most suitable Scene Mode for the situation. A highly accurate 420-pixel RGB sensor powers Nikon's Scene Recognition System, which compares scene data against an extensive database to optimize the shot accordingly.
View of the rear of the D3200 HD-SLR with HD video example on LCD

Create cinema-quality HD videos

One-touch Full HD 1080p movie recording with stereo sound

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that are not just superlative still image cameras, but superlative video cameras, as well. With a touch of a button, the D3200 starts recording Full HD 1080p video with full-time autofocus, manual exposure control and stereo sound. Its breathtaking 921,000-dot, ultra-high-resolution display makes it easy to frame, monitor and review your footage. Even record in super-smooth slow motion up to 60 fps! Unleash your inner cinematographer.*

*Built-in microphone, monaural
Optional external stereo mini-pin jack (3.5mm diameter)
Microphone sensitivity can be adjusted
photo of family looking out from balcony

Get a new view of your world

Versatile AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm

Nikon’s renowned NIKKOR lenses have long been the choice of pros and serious photographers. Marvels of clarity, consistency, precision and reliability, they draw peak performance from Nikon HD-SLRs. The D3200 comes equipped with the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm, a versatile, high performance VR image stabilized lens. And when you’re ready to expand your system and extend your creativity, you'll have your choice of over 70 legendary NIKKOR lenses.
Photo of girl in yellow go-cart with girl in red go-cart following, taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Fast and accurate shooting

The D3200's 11-point Autofocusing System is as fast as it is precise. Check your focus points, track your subject or shoot carefree right from the viewfinder. And when the action speeds up, simply aim, hold down the shutter and fire off approx. 4 fps at 24.2 MP resolution.
Composite of photos of woman holding red D3200, boy showing off sandy hands and girl looking at smartphone

Wi-Fi Connectivity—Now you can easily get GREAT pictures on your smartphone

Using the WU-1a optional wireless mobile adapter you can now automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D3200. With an easy to use app, now, when you can't wait to share that great shot, you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone in an instant.
Photo of woman holding Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Compact, lightweight and durable

Your D3200 is designed for comfort, intuitive use and durability. Its compact, lightweight and rugged body puts key controls at your fingertips. You'll never hesitate to bring along your D3200.
Photo taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR, of cityscape taken at night with car headlights and taillights blurred

Dramatic low-light photos

The D3200’s wide ISO range of 100 to 6400 allows for shooting in very low light without a flash or in very bright light with zoom, macro, fixed focal length or wide aperture lenses. For extreme low-light situations, set the ISO to Hi 1 and achieve ISO 12800 equivalent sensitivity.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

All photography © Robin Layton

false false false false false true AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 25492-en_US /en_US/o/zI1rjRZa3j0fwn02HGQ98C4AHbk/Views/25492_D3200.pngVariant $479.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false false 25492 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25492 false false /dslr-cameras/25492/D3200.html D3200 - Black 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true 25492 h8c3reto $529.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 479.95 529.95 25492 KitVariant V25492 Versatile AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 25496-en_US /en_US/o/zI1rjRZa3j0fwn02HGQ98C4AHbk/Views/25496_D3200.pngVariant $479.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false false 25496 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25496 false false /dslr-cameras/25496/D3200.html D3200 - Red 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true 25496 h8c3reto $529.95 Red /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26198_red.gif 479.95 529.95 25496 KitVariant V25496 Versatile AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit product h8c3reto-en_US h8c3reto 25492 25496 DIGSLR $479.95 $479.95 false $529.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/25492/D3200.html /dslr-cameras/D3200.html 25492 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Versatile AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false 4.7 164 false 25492 25496 0 true false false 25492 D3200 D3200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=h8c3reto 3.6231983 false false false false false true AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II 2170 AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED 2156 13313-en_US /en_US/o/zI1rjRZa3j0fwn02HGQ98C4AHbk/Views/13313-D3200-Zoom-Case-Kit.pngVariant $549.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false false 13313 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13313 false false /dslr-cameras/13313/D3200.html D3200 - Black D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kitfalse false true 13313 hrkfkkab $779.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 549.95 779.95 13313 KitVariant V25492 Kit includes a charcoal grey/black camera bag, the versatile AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting and the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED lens for the added telephoto reach when shooting still images and Full HD video with your D3200. D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit product hrkfkkab-en_US hrkfkkab 13313 DIGSLR $549.95 false $779.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/13313/D3200.html /dslr-cameras/D3200.html 13313 en_US D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit/static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Kit includes a charcoal grey/black camera bag, the versatile AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting and the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED lens for the added telephoto reach when shooting still images and Full HD video with your D3200. D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit false 4.7 164 false 13313 0 false false false 13313 D3200 D3200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=hrkfkkab 3.4175246
BlackRed
Sale

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D3200 - Black Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Now $479.95
Reg. $529.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25492 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Black
Sale

D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit

D3200 - Black Camera Body AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED IIAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Now $549.95
Reg. $779.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13313 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D3200 4.7 5 164 164
Excellent camera with great features on a very very affordable price! This is my first time to have a DSLR camera. I really love the camera. With 24MP, I can capture every moment in a very clear image. I always use our camera in travel and in my club. But now I have my own camera. It's the perfect camera for all levels. July 29, 2012
Excellent camera in a very very affordable price! This is my first time to buy a DSLR and this camera is perfect for me. It has a excellent resolution, excellent megapixel count, and it's very easy to use. Comes with package of the 18-55mm lens, free bag, strap, 4GB SD Card (which I upgraded to 8GB). I really love this camera... I thought it was not yet available so I hesitated to buy the Nikon D5100 and then when we, my family went to the mall, we've checked some stores and they already have it. It's the best camera I've ever had. :)) July 28, 2012
Fantastic Value - Great Shots While I have been a photography enthusiast since the late 1980s (fully manual Minolta SLR with manual focus, manual aperture, manual shutter speed, even manual film advance LOL), and have used a wide number of point-and-shoot 35mm film cameras and digital cameras since then, the Nikon D3200 is my first DSLR. I love it for five primary reasons. 1) It can be set to full auto, making it into a beefed up point-and-shoot, which is handy since it has been over two decades since I've used an SLR. 2) As you become more advanced, you can manually control various settings to shoot more creative photos. 3) The full 1080 video at 24 or 30 fps is phenomenal. 4) Having been designed as a person's first digital SLR, it is extremely easy to use. 5) Quite simply, at 24 megapixels and VR, this camera shoots gorgeous pictures!! July 28, 2012
It's a really beginners friendly. I've being using this camera for a few days, and I love it! I'm not an expert in photography, so it's really well explained functions let the allow the user to use the camera getting the best of it. 100% recommended July 24, 2012
Fun to Use I purchased the D3200 in June after many years of using an FE 2. I absolutely love the camera. The camera is very easy to use with outstanding results. I also added the 55-300 zoom. I have waited for the right camera to come along--great camera. July 23, 2012
Unbelievable entry level camera I purchased this camera in June. I began with the D100, D200, and D300 which are all excellent camera bodies and I still use them all. I put the Nikkor 70-200 F2.8 on this camera to see how it would work and it is excellent, I tried the Nikkor 500 F4 and it is amazing what this camera is cabable of. You don't have all the options with the 3200 as with the D300S but with the 24 megapixel sensor in the 3200 your photos are breathtaking. I put the 70-200 back on the 3200 and it will stay mounted for wildlife photography this fall. Amazing camera for the budget consious. We photographed some elk in Wind Cave National Parks and this is one of the images with the 3200 and 70-200. Attached the GP-1 and this is an excellent tool for outdoor photography. This is a great set up (D3200 and GP-1) for under $1000. July 15, 2012
There Are Great Features In A Small Package I upgraded from a Nikon D80, I found the D3200 much lighter and user friendly. With the D80 you had to either have a good understanding of setting up your camera. I found the 3200 excellent for those who are "First Timers" or have little understanding of a DSLR buy using the "Guide". This camera is fast enough by far for action photography, but I found that with the D80 all I had to do was hold the trigger down for multiple pictures (Great at the 2011 Rolex 24 hour race at Daytona) where as the D3200 forces you to "trigger" every time you want a picture. Because all of my lenses work great with this camera unsuspectingly, I decided to go with buy a 500 zoom lens. The picture detail is outstanding at 24MP but I found some of those files were to large to put onto Kajijii. An 8MB file with the D80 turned into a 18MB file. That I can live with as I will just keep my D80 for such tasks. Like the RED color you decided to use for the body it's gotten a lot of attention from other camera enthusiasts, some of them were looking to buy one after hearing the specs and trying a few shots. Most people as myself included were VERY impressed by the price. Oh Yeah ..... Video, the option of taking either pictures or video is a great plus and the videos turned out to be quite high quality. I would like to add a stereo microphone but have been unable to find one on the market as of yet. The option of ISO at 3200 is a plus. Well thats about it. I think you mostly hit a Home Run with this little camera. Ha Ha tried to upload some photos but this site is limited to 5MB per pic all mine are over 8MB. Sorry....... July 6, 2012
Nice one for it's category I am using D3200 for more than one month now and for what i shoot i think is more than enough. I have been using 55-200m lens without vr and still receiving great images even at night if you give the shooter more time.I bought body only as i had a previous 18-55m lens which a sold for a few dollars and never used it. I am waiting a 18-105 vr lens which i think will be enough for everyday photography and ever get sharper images and better quality. With this one i have achieved to shoot macro and portrait as if i wrote that those where taken with a fx people would believe it. Worthy and practical would recommend it for everyday usage. July 4, 2012
Amazing Camera For its Value I love this camera i got it a few days ago and have taken over 1000 shots. I would recommend this camera to any beginner even professionals. June 25, 2012
Amazing Camera for any Photo enthusiast I bought this camera a month ago as a birthday present (to myself). Immediately i started taking photos of almost anything just to get the feel. In Auto mode, it is more reliable than any sony, canon, or even compact nikon's that i have used. Breaking my leg two weeks ago in a sailing accident, i have been playing around with the manual features and have started to take better and better photos in numerous environments. With the help of the "guide" feature, i am able to choose what type of photo i am trying to take and learn the settings that the camera automatically adapts to. I highly recommend this camera if you are either first trying out a DSLR, want to learn more about photography, or even have tried other cameras and just want something that works in any environment and takes a photo with a truly clear photo. June 17, 2012
New Outstanding Camera This new Nikon D3200 camera is " SUPER & OUTSTANDING" the lower the light the better. I have used the camera on photo assignments for the Chicago Sun-Times, even last night during a Professional Major league Baseball Game with a 55-200mm f/3.5-5.6 lens and the camera rocked. Every photo tack sharp, colors of the uniforms on the money, great resolution, super fast start up, fast autofocus. Can't wait to try it with the new Nikkor 18-300 VR lens that will be introduced at the end of this month. The camera is sold in a kit form with the 18-55mm f.3.5-5.6 That little lens is also tack sharp. This new Nikon camera has sold me along with other Pro photographers. June 14, 2012
Quality,fun & easy to use I wanted a digital camera for a while but waited for Nikon to make one that could use my F4S equipment at a retires price, then came the D3100 Now I could use my F4 200-500mm & F2.8 70-200mm Lens's,in Manual mode, but they work great, love the camera. Now they go and bring out the D3200 with 24mg and 60 fps movie, Fantastic blow ups and fast action sport movies, at a budget price.. I have done some quick checks for my own information before I wrote this. I think Nikon has a hit with this Camera ! June 10, 2012
AWESOME SLR CAMERA I bought this camera yesterday and i have not found any problem with it. I LOVE this camera it has 24mp and a good video recording, i WOULD RECOMMEND this product better than T3i and other entry-level SLR's out there because this camera is easy to use. June 7, 2012
Fantastic Camera I finally made the leap from a 35 mm SLR to a digital SLR (OK, so I'm old). I wanted to wait until an affordable digital SLR was available that approached film quality images. I am not disappointed. It is true that good things come in small packages. This camera is light weight, and the picture quality is breathtaking. I bought the 55-300 zoom along with the camera, and took some great pics of hummingbirds on our feeder. When you turn the camera on, it is ready to shoot almost instanly...no lag or delay as with some digital SLR's that friends have. We RV, and having a camera that is instantly ready to shoot is important to us...we take a lot of pics as we are rolling down the road. Nikon has hit it out of the park with this camera. June 7, 2012
photography simplified This is my first DSLR and I am glad to have it. I have never even had a 35mm camera so this is a brand new experience for me. So far this camera has been a point-n-shoot. Of course that is the only way to figure out how it works. The built in guide in the camera is very helpful. The number of features such as night shot, vibration reduction, red eye removal, are just a few of the features I have used and love. The number of pixels (24) is also fabulous, the amount of detail you can get is just amazing. The 4fps (frames per second) is also a great feature, this way you can always get the shot you are looking for, and not just a second or two too fast or too slow. June 4, 2012
Easy to use DSLR As a camera fanatic, I could not wait to get my hands on the D3200. When I first picked it up, it was very lightweight. The improved grip (from the D3100) made it a lot easier to pick up, even though the grip was just a little small, but that's ok. Taking photos with this camera is a simple as one, two, three. The video quality is outstanding, the best I have ever seen. The camera is now fully manually functional in video, so you can adjust your ISO, aperture, etc. while shooting video. Overall, for the price, this is one of the best DSLR's out there, and I highly recommend it to first users of DSLR's, who aren't quite ready to take on the challenge of a way more high-end and a more professional Nikon camera, such as the D4 or the D3x. June 3, 2012
Superb quality from Nikon The quality I have come to expect from Nikon just keeps getting better wit each new product offering especially with such a low cost DSLR. I have had the camera for about 2 weeks now and I have hardly been able to put it down. I have tried all the features and I am only limited by imagination and lens whic unfortunately will notx fit from one of my other 4 Nikon cameras. I have always been partial to film but this camera comes so close to reproducing the excitement fel when that first frame is developed and it feels like Chrstmas. Thanks again Nikon continue to Impress and keep the costs down for everyone. Even professionals need a break sometimes. June 1, 2012
Packed with features. Just bought this equipment, initial setup about 20 mins, went out to shoot, 24 megs pictures are awesome. closeup with macros are great, details of individual pollen dropping from a flower is captured. I have not tried the video functionality. I hope its great. 60fps will be great for slow motion captures. All these at 700 dollars is wonderful. May 20, 2012
AMAZING!!!!!! Amazing video and photos..Wedding like quality definitely the best DSLR out now May 16, 2012
amazingly good in cheap price amazing camera with only 700 dollars an awesome deal May 7, 2012
must buy its much better than the d5100 compared to the price,classifications , mp and the video recording. its an amazing product !!!! April 28, 2012
Awesome features Cool! It captures sharp images. I can now take wonderful moments with its 24 mp :) The best DSLR camera. :D Thank you Nikon! \m/ January 1, 2014
simply the best I loved this product, It's worth more than the price I paid. December 29, 2013
Great Toy I bought this camera in order to achieve great pictures and it does a great job so far. Using automatic with a dslr is probably the biggest mistake. You have to learn to use it in manual in order to get the results that you want. The only problem is that it only has 11 focus points like the previous version (d3100). Otherwise it's a great product. Lean every single aspect of your camera and use it as your advantage in order to get stunning pictures. December 19, 2013
best camera ever!!! this camera is best camera for begainner and it has lots of good features November 9, 2013
Wow This is my second Nikon DSLR. The first was a D40X. This is an excellent upgrade from the D40X which impressed me in its time. Shadow detail is much better with this camera and the colours are lovely. As with all the Nikon digital cameras, I can use my old manual focus Nikors which I will never part with. This camera does a lot to unlock the amazing capabilities of those old lenses. My favorite lens a Nikor Q 135 f2.8 amazed me on my old F4 and it still amazes me on this D3200. November 7, 2013
affordable powerful camera it's an entry level camera, yet perform as a professional photographer owned. i love it. September 19, 2013
Grate Camera It's a Good camera for traveling around, and getting nice Photos for the size. July 4, 2013
Great camera for where it sits! This is a great product for where it lies. For an entry level camera and for under 600 dollars it exceeds almost all expectations. Its commonly forgotten that this product is only an entry level camera, which should compare no where to say a D800 , otherwise it does very very well for itself. I have owned this camera for over a year and i take a lot of fast paced sports shots. Surprisingly enough for a cheaper camera, this camera does a really good job. It also can grab some really clear shots with lots of colour and the best part is the clarity is seen in the video aspect as well. Video can be shot in 1080p at 30 fps and 60 fps at 720p in NTSC and 50fps in Pal which is exceptionally clear . This opens a lot of windows for people who love video also, allowing for slo mo and great looking videos to work with. The camera is also very easy to navigate through also. This allows for quick changes in shutter speed, iso and exposure when changing light settings occur or flipping from pictures to videos. For someone starting into photography, This is a great camera and you couldn't find one better with this much bang for its buck. You would be able to use this camera for many different photo aspects and be very happy with the outcome. You would be able to use this camera for along time without having to trade off for a different one. For someone with experience in photography, they would get the same joy from this product, I hope that the D5200 is just as awesome! June 2, 2013
Excellent first D-SLR After conducting considerable research online and gathering opinions from more serious photographers, we decided to get the Nikon d3200 over the Canon T3i/T4i and over the various compact system cameras out there. While we have been a Canon compact camera family for years (and they are truly fantastic compact cameras), we chose Nikon over Canon for two reasons primarily: 1) the Nikon was easier to find cheaper and this matters given that both brands are so close in quality and 2) our research led us to believe that Nikkor lenses were a touch better for portraits than Canon (while Canon is a touch better for fast action and sports) and this setting matters most to our family. Moreover, despite amazing advancement for compact system cameras, we felt (and can since confirm) that D-SLRs capture the speed required for kids a lot better and can handle low light situations a lot easier. This Nikon d3200 is incredibly easy to use and with some very basic photography lessons (just from online browsing) you can learn to take some great pictures of what's important to you. One word of advice on this particular camera: after you become comfortable with it, go out and buy another lens as the camera's amazing capabilities overwhelm the basic kit lens, which is not bright or fast enough. An f/1.8 or better lens is really needed for great portraits and the walking-around 35mm equivalent prime f/1.8 lens is another great options for all-around shooting (amazing value for the price). All in all, a great camera that you can grow into and that is "deserving" of better glass. May 29, 2013
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev | next>>
235 Questions | 304 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
235 Questions | 304 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Sort by:
D3200
 
6 Answers

Is the D3200 fully compatible with the AF S Nikkor 85 MM f/1.4 D Lens

May 8, 2012 by
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
 on D3200
+19points
26out of 33found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful26unhelpful7
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
Location : 
Stuart, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
As it is mentioned in the product's Webpage:

http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Digital-SLR-Cameras/25492/D3200.html#tab-ProductDetail-ProductTabs-TechSpecs

The Compatible Lenses are:

AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Autofocus not supported. Can be used in mode M, but exposure meter does not function.
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
 
Jun 9, 2012 by
by
Amir
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
No you need to have a G lens to get the most out of it, D lens would not be controlled by the camera as a G lens is.
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
US

+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't know, because I think you have written an incorrect lens name.

Here is a list of the Nikkor lenses:

AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8D
AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR

The D3200 is fully compatible with only the last two in the list above. It will be fully compatible with any lens that has a built-in focus motor. The way you tell is the 'AF-S' in the name of the lens. AF-S means Auto Focus Silent wave.

The D3200 does not have the 'screw driver' focus motor built in to the body, so it cannot focus any lens that doesn't have its own focus motor.
May 9, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
4 Answers

why would i want to use the RAW format rather than JPG?

Dec 19, 2012 by
by
steve
new jersey
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+11points
13out of 15found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful2
1 year, 10 months ago
by
steve
new jersey
Location : 
new jersey
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
RAW is high definition PHOTO QUALITY.

RAW is good for prints.

JPG is compressed and lossy which means it losses information due to compression that results in lower qualtiy images. Also, if a JPG is enlarged it is loses resolution. And each time the JPG is copied the image loses even more information resulting in poor image quality.

JPG's are only good for internet pix. Personally, I use PNG's.

RAW is uncompressed and JPG is compressed.
Apr 14, 2014 by
by
PicTaker
CA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
PhotoShop Elements 11 includes Adobe Camera RAW 7.1 which supports the D3200 raw file format. Most software providers will provide plug-ins for the RAW file format when a new camera is released.

Keep in mind that RAW files are larger than JPGs and that shooting in RAW will significantly decrease the number of images that can be saved on your memory card. RAW files will also need to be converted to JPG format when having pictures printed, uploading to social media sites, sharing pics with friends, etc. If you choose to shoot in RAW you can opt for RAW+JPG which will save 2 files for each shot. This way you won't need to spend time converting your RAW files to JPG.

For more info on image file formats visit this page:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

See page 188 of the D3200 manual for information on how the different file formats impact memory card capacity. A copy of the D3200 manual can be downloaded from here:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 22, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
i have photoshop elements 11 to manipulate images
don't know if it will process 'raw' images

can you recommend a good software product to use with 'raw' images?

thanks
Dec 21, 2012 by
by
steve

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
you only use raw if u have software to process it and only if u have been taught to use the software. if both of these the raw is alot easier to manipulate than the jpeg. also u dont lose anything like u do when u start processing a jpeg format file. your quality goes to a big mess when u play with jpegs. always make a copy and neverrrrr work on the original. if u have some software take some raw shots and open the file in raw and play with it.
Dec 20, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As noted above, the rangefinder does not work in M mode, but the focus confirmation light still does, so you do have that old standby for spot focusing.

AI and other old lenses work fine, as do T-mount if the lens physically fits under the viewfinder. I have tried only mounting without shooting, but it appears that pre-AI lenses will also fit, but you should be careful. Pre-AI lenses have an aperture flange that extends further back than others. The ones I've tried fit all right, with the extended flange safely cleared, but this may not be entirely true for all.
May 8, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
  Yes, you can.  According to the manual, non-AI lenses (those made before 1977, that use the “rabbit ears” shoe to couple to the aperture ring to the camera's light meter) won't work, but the manual is incorrect on this point.  See the picture, below, of my ancient non-AI Vivitar 85–205mm zoom lens mounted on my D3200.  I've also successfully used the stock 50mm f1.4 lens from my F2, and a 28mm f3.5 Nikkor as well; all early 1970s vintage, all non-AI.

  You have to set the camera to “M” mode to use any of these older “non-CPU” lenses.  In any other mode, the camera will complain about no lens being mounted, and refuse to operate.

  There's no automatic exposure or even metering to help you with manual exposure; you're on your own with that.  But it's not too difficult.  Just set the aperture, shutter, and ISO settings to something plausible, take a shot, look at it on the screen, and, if necessary, adjust accordingly and repeat.  Two advantages to a modern digital camera over a stone-aged film camera are that it costs you nothing to “waste” shots, and you can see the results immediately.

  There's no automatic focus, either, and focusing is a bit tricky.  The viewfinder isn't really made to support manual focusing, and isn't nearly as helpful as one on an older SLR that isn't meant to be autofocus.

  Somewhere in the settings, there's an “Electronic Rangefinder” that can be enabled, which, once you figure out how to use it, is helpful for manual focusing.  The catch is that it works in every mode except “M”, which is the only mode in which the camera will work with these older lenses.  Not a big problem, just turn the dial to any other mode, focus with the rangefinder, then flip back to “M” mode to take the picture.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Sep 6, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont know with that specific model, but I have tried several old model Nikon lenses and the AF has not worked, but they shoot on manual
Feb 27, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work but will be manual focus only.
Jan 27, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
4 Answers

how can i install another language to my camera?

Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
 on D3200
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
i have a Nikon 3200, than only displays chinese and english language, i talk spanish. i would like to know if someone can install the spanish.
Thanks
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
1 year ago
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Location : 
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
JoeR the only languages that are instaled or displayed in the menu are chinese and english. i have to install the spanish
Oct 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Find your locations Nikon office and call service and support
http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
the only languages that figures in the camera are chinese and english, i have no more choice in the settings. (Nemesistango)
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Press menu, select setup menu(symbol of a wrench)
Select language, select the language you need.
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Please, how can I buy this camera? I couldn't find it in Nikon store.

Apr 23, 2012 by
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+17points
19out of 21found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful2
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Location : 
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are 4 in the Blakeney, NC store.
May 4, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Best Buy.... I purchased my D3200 yesterday at Best Buy.. Check your local store...
Apr 29, 2012 by
by
Dawn
New Orleans, LA, USA
Location : 
New Orleans, LA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new NIKON D3200 was announced last week and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after this. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Apr 25, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
3 Answers

Does the Nikon 3200 have a body auto focusing motor?

Apr 24, 2012 by
by
A 16 Year old girl who loves photography. (:
peg city.
 on D3200
+8points
13out of 18found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful5
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
A 16 Year old girl who loves photography. (:
peg city.
Location : 
peg city.
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1
Answer: 
It doesn't. I currently own one and I love it.
It came standard with an 18-55mm AF-S DX VR lens
I also purchased a Sigma 70-300mm MOTORIZED apo dg macro lens @199
You have to be careful when you're purchasing lenses because some people out there bought non-motorized lenses expecting them to auto-focus when they can't.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
United States

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no
Apr 25, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Is the D3200 compatible with : AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G and AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR ?

Apr 26, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+10points
15out of 20found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful5
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
USA

+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR is fully compatible with the D3200. The AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G can be used on the D3200 but not all functions will work. This is because the D3200 needs AF-S lenses to fully autofocus (an AF-S lens has a built-in focus motor). Check out this Learn & Explore article to get a better understanding of lenses with built-in focus motors, and those without: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Apr 30, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 26, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I plan to use the lens with both the D3200 and with the D4X (when issued). I have a AF-S 18-200 but does not seem to be able to blur effectively. I would like to get a very good lens with a fixed focal lens. My research tells me that a Nikkor 85 mm AF-S would be be best. However, I remember from my DX2, the focal length is changed. Is it changed in the same way with the D3200. Seems if I wanted to reproduce what I got from my Leica 90 mm lens for the 35 mm film camera, then I should pick something like 55 mm in there AF-S since the effective length will be close to the 90. So to recap: Does both the D3X and D3200 lengthen the lens by a factor of 1.5X? And can you tell me a few excellent lens that will work well from 3 to 6 feet - fast with good bokeh? Cost not a factor and I don't want to use a the very long lens recommended by Kent Rockwell for outdoor head and shoulders portrait. Sorry if I seem confused but I am really confused and would like to nail down the answer before I buy another expensive lens. Thanks.
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Lens
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
United States

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
You have a pretty good understanding of the lenses and how they function. In order to get good bokeh one must control the depth of field fairly tightly. The Nikkor 85mm lenses do a great job for that on the FX format cameras. The same lens will function as a longer focal length lens on a DX format camera. Depth of field is also affected by the aperature setting. If you are purchasing an FX lens to use on a DX camera you will probably want a shorter focal lentgh lens like the 55 mm you mentioned. Below is a very good summary of depth of field that I picked up somewhere on the Internet. I am sorry I cannot properly credit the author but the information is very good. Lastly, take your camera to a local camera shop and ask to test one or more lenses. Virtually any good camera store will allow you to do this and you can see for yourself what kind of bokeh you are getting at various distances using different aperatures.

Depth of Field (DOF) rules of thumb:
1. As the aperture gets larger the DOF get shorter. The inverse is true as the aperture gets smaller the DOF gets larger.
2. As focal length gets longer the DOF get shorter. The inverse is true as the focal length gets get shorter the DOF gets larger.
3. As the sensor/film format gets larger the DOF get shorter. The inverse is true as the sensor/film format gets smaller the DOF gets larger.
4. As the distance to the object gets shorter the DOF get shorter. The inverse is true as the distance to the object gets farther the DOF gets larger.
May 11, 2012 by
by
Beso
Portland, Oregon
Location : 
Portland, Oregon
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D3X is a FX camera and has no crop factor. The D3200 is a DX (APSC) camera and has the 1.5 crop factor. If you are plannung to get a D4 that is a FX camera. The close distance you want to shoot I would recommend the AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G. If you were just looking for a lens for the D3200 then get the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, however it will not be suitable for the D4 as the camera will detect it is a dx lens and you will have the effect of the 1.5 crop factor. Good news is it only cost $200.
May 10, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
3 Answers

Where is this product manufactured?

May 19, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
+8points
10out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful2
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I also have just purchased one. It is made in Thailand.
Sep 1, 2012 by
by
skak
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Location : 
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just got one-it's made in Thailand.
Jun 3, 2012 by
by
Nikongirl1
St Louis, MO, USA
Location : 
St Louis, MO, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
In a factory out east.
May 20, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Does Tamron lenses suitable for Nikon D3200? Such as Tamron 18-200 VC lens?

Jun 17, 2012 by
by
Moie
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Any advice what other brand of lenses i could use for my D3200?
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Moie
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'd look for Sigma as well. I currently use a 70-300mm APO Macro since it does both zoom and macro. The lens is MOTORIZED but most don't.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As long a its a NIKON F mount
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
5out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful4
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products. Our recommendations is to use only original Nikon products.
Jun 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers