Loading

Success has a new name

Nikon D4 D-SLR a marvel of speed, accuracy, image quality and intuitive design
Enter the new flagship of Nikon’s D-SLR lineup: D4. Engineered for professionals, D4 strikes an ideal balance between resolution, sensor size, image processing and ISO range. Its newly designed FX-format sensor and EXPEED3 processor enable image capture up to 10 fps with full AE/AF performance and Full 1080p HD video. Combine that with cutting-edge metering and AF systems, intelligently designed controls, an ultra-rugged body and multiple connectivity options, and D4 liberates the world’s top-notch photographers and multimedia artists like never before.
Nikon D4 Continuous Shooting Sample photo

Catch moments others miss

Speed and accuracy in total harmony

D4 offers a level of speed and accuracy that will redefine your notion of the fleeting moment. A carefully selected FX-format 16.2 Megapixel CMOS sensor is paired with Nikon’s powerful EXPEED3 image processor for stunning stills up to 11 fps. A 91,000-Pixel RGB 3D Color Matrix Metering III sensor partners with Nikon’s Advanced SRS to deliver unmatched accuracy in every frame. Add a faster, more responsive 51-point AF system for a camera that can keep pace with you.
Nikon D4 D-SLR superior image quality

Stunning images every time

Superior quality you expect from Nikon

What are speed and accuracy without image quality? Nikon’s FX-format (36.0mm x 23.9mm) CMOS image sensor delivers 16.2 effective megapixels of resolution for exquisite detail. Each of this remarkable sensor’s 7.3-micron pixels is designed to collect maximum light to produce stunning images and video across D4’s broad ISO range of 100 to 12,800 (expandable down to 50 and up to 204,800). Expect the highest image quality in bright and dark shooting. Plus, EXPEED3 image processing yields the most faithful colors, tones and a wide dynamic range.
Full HD D-Movie (1080p) video formats: FX, DX or the new 2.7x Crop mode—all at 16:9 aspect ratio

Enhance stories with HD video

Broadcast-quality and outstanding control

When an assignment calls for broadcast-quality video and audio, D4 is ready. Choose from three Multi-area mode Full HD D-Movie (1080p) video formats: FX, DX or the new 2.7x Crop mode—all at 16:9 aspect ratio. Manual exposure control helps keep the same look from start to finish. Built-in HDMI lets you view footage on an external monitor or record uncompressed 8-bit 4.2.2 footage directly to an external recording device. Even take 2MP stills simultaneously while filming. Attach the ME-1 Stereo Microphone and record high fidelity audio with minimal camera noise. On-screen audio level indicators and a headphone jack help you monitor and adjust audio in 20 incremental steps. D4 takes you from inspiring stills to amazing videos with ease.
The Nikon D4 is intelligently designed for maximum control and an efficient workflow

Complete control and comfort

Designed for an efficient workflow

D4’s remarkable design is the culmination of photographer feedback and Nikon innovation. Adjust AF and AF Area modes without moving your eye from the viewfinder. Quickly select AF points with a new joystick style sub-selector—positioned for both horizontal and vertical shooting. In low-light, all operation buttons and dials are beautifully backlit. Two media card slots offer flexibility and control. Built-in wired LAN and the optional WT-5A Wireless Transmitter enable secure, high-speed file transmission as well as remote camera functionality. Simply put, D4 was built to meet professional demands.
Expand the D4 imaging capabilities with NIKKOR lenses, the Nikon Creative Lighting system, Nikon Speedlights, accessories and software

Expand your opportunities

Nikon imaging system compatibility

Draw on the full potential of D4: world-renowned NIKKOR lenses, the Nikon Creative Lighting System, Speedlights, accessories and software. Each impressive FX and DX lens in the NIKKOR lineup is fully tested to deliver sharpness, accuracy and reliability. Bring studio quality lighting to assignments with Nikon Speedlights. Only Nikon offers i-TTL (Intelligent Through The Lens) flash control, which allows Nikon Speedlights to access extensive exposure and metering data from D4 to provide unprecedented levels of flash precision and performance. Nikon’s professional imaging software, and a robust line of compatible accessories will help you expand your capabilities.
Nikon’s WT-5A Wireless Transmitter quickly transfers files and offer a new level of remote control

Never miss a deadline

The WT-5A Wireless Transmitter is designed for use with the Nikon D4 D-SLR camera

When the world is waiting, being the first to publish makes all the difference. Nikon’s powerful new wireless transmitter, WT-5A, attaches directly to D4 to securely and quickly transfer files.

HTTP Mode: Now you can use the web browser on your iPhone® and/or iPad®** to operate camera controls or begin Live View shooting, including starting and stopping HD video and more.

Image Transmission Mode: Transmit images to an FTP server or computer two times faster than the Nikon WT-4A.

PC Mode: Operate the D4 via Camera Control Pro 2. From one master camera, simultaneously release up to ten remote D4/WT-5A combinations.

**iPhone® and iPad® are are registered trademarks of Apple Inc.

New 51-point AF system

Nikon’s new advanced AF sensor uses 51 strategically placed AF points for faster focus operation by working together like a net to capture moving subjects or individually for pinpoint accuracy. Each of the 51 selectable AF points delivers fast and accurate AF detection to a low light level of -2 EV (ISO 100, 20° C) with every compatible AF NIKKOR lens.

Rich image previewing

D4’s beautiful 3.2-inch, 921,000-dot LCD includes an ambient brightness sensor for maximum visibility and crisp playback, menu adjustment and Live View shooting. Quickly enlarge images and videos up to 46x for spot focus confirmation—crucial for high-resolution shooting.

Our most rugged body yet

To sustain peak performance in the most demanding environments, D4’s body, exterior and mirror box are comprised of strong yet lightweight magnesium alloy. Thorough measures are taken to seal and protect against invasive moisture, dust and electromagnetic interference.

Dual memory card slots (CF and XQD)

Dual memory card slots (one CF and one XQD) Record two full cards of data, the same still image data on both cards for instant backup, RAW on one card and JPEG on the other or transfer data from one card to another. You can even designate one slot for data-heavy HD video recording.

Expand the creative potential of the D4

NIKKOR lenses & the Nikon Creative Lighting System for every situation

D4 with AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
D4 with SB-910 AF Speedlight

Additional Features

AF detection up to f/8
D4 aligns its 15 cross-type sensors in the center to detect contrast for both vertical and horizontal lines with lenses f/5.6 or faster. The five central points and three points to the left and right of them in the middle line are compatible with f/8.
Multi-Area Full HD D-Movie Video Recording Modes
FX-format renders exquisitely shallow depth of field and wide-angle shooting. DX-format offers a 1.5x crop of the lens focal length, and 1920x1080 Crop format gives you a 2.7x angle of view—ideal for extending lens reach when you can’t get close enough.
91,000-pixel RGB 3D Color Matrix Metering III with Advanced SRS
Face detection using the optical viewfinder and detailed scene analysis using the 91,000-pixel RGB sensor enables superior auto exposure, auto white balance, AF performance and i-TTL flash exposure.
Built-in HDR
Combine two exposures at up to 3EV to create a single image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Two-axis Virtual Horizon indicator
Determine if the camera is level—horizontally or forward—through the viewfinder or LCD monitor.
New mirror balancer
Minimizes the bounce of the mirror’s down movement, extending viewing time and allowing more time for AF operation—one reason D4 achieves AF and focus tracking even during high-speed continuous shooting.
Intelligent power management
Expect greater operating efficiency thanks to a new, small, high-capacity EN-EL 18 rechargeable Li-ion battery that can deliver up to approximately 2,600 images* per charge.
*Based on CIPA Standard.
View simultaneous Live View output on external monitors and record uncompressed video via HDMI terminal
Check video recording on the camera’s LCD and external monitor simultaneously; ideal for focus pullers and camera operators. When the highest possible image quality is required, you can bypass memory cards and record uncompressed footage directly from the image sensor onto an external recording device.
Time lapse shooting
Set intervals and frame rates in order to dramatically relay slow-moving activity at dramatic speeds. D4 lets you shoot time-lapse photography with replay rates from 24 to 36,000 times faster than normal and save them as movie files.
Two Live View shooting modes
Photography Live View and Movie Live View modes add flexibility; exposure, white balance, monitor hue, histogram, focus mode, AF area mode and focusing accuracy are easily confirmed.
Dedicated Nikon Picture Control button
Quickly access six preset picture control options—Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Landscape and Portrait—and up to nine customizable settings with a single button.
400,000-cycle tested shutter
For the utmost reliability and rigorous performance, D4’s shutter has been tested on fully assembled cameras for 400,000 cycles at extreme continuous burst rates.
Self-diagnostic shutter monitor
Should any shutter variance be detected, D4 automatically corrects and adjusts between the actual shutter speed and correct shutter speed to sustain precision shutter operation throughout the mechanism’s lifespan.
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D4 4.5 5 41 41
Love it to bits except for... Upgraded from a D700 and right off the bat what stood out most by no surprise was the low light capabilities. The snappy autofocus engine was another noticeable impression. Last but not least, I really appreciate the efforts made to make the D4 ergonomically comfortable to use. My dislikes include a few lockups in which I had to remove the battery in order to reset the camera. Additionally, my style of shooting consists of using the AF-ON button to initiate the AF engine. When using AF-S/AF-C focus priority, the shutter trips regardless if the focus point is in focus or not. I also noticed this behavior with a friend who owns a D800. May 18, 2012
Great Camera But Needs Some Fixes Yes, all the 4 and 5 star ratings are highly warranted in the previous reviews and this is a truly great camera. My problem with the D4 is that the two fastest consumer flash cards available are not compatible when used together in the camera. I spent the extra dime and purchased a Sony XQD S and card reader. A SanDisk UDMA 7 compact flash card came bundled together with my D4 purchase. Naturally, I put both cards in the camera right out of the box. What occurred next almost had me sending the camera back to the retailer. The first thing that happened when I turned the on camera is that I got a CF Card Error in the display and the camera was locked-up. I was unsuccessful reaching Nikon but was able to speak to a Nikon tech when the retailer technical rep made the call for me. In a conference call, all the Nikon tech support person would only say is that the SanDisk UDMA 7 card was not compatible with the camera. In disbelief we hung-up with Nikon and retailer approved a return due to a camera malfunction. Well that’s not quit the end to the story. As it turns out, after quite a bit of internet research, there are various flash card incompatibility problems with the newer Nikon cameras. This is not well known and you will not find anything about it on Nikon’s web site. As for the D4, the SanDisk UDMA 7 card is compatible with the camera. However, it cannot be use simultaneously with the Sony XQD card is in the camera. There is a conflict with the 2 fast cards in the camera together, but I can't say why. The UMDA 7 card will work in the camera when the XQD is not in the camera. The funny thing is that a lower speed (approved?) compact flash card will work simultaneously with the Sony QXD in the camera for overflow or combination writing. After my research, I added a SanDisk UMDA 6 and a way old SanDisk CFX card in combination with the Sony card and had no problem. I can only guess that Nikon wants to push the XQD into the high-end camera market. In addition, I have experience considerable focus jump while tracking fast moving subjects, no matter the camera setting. I also discovered, while using the XQD card, there considerable image load delay with rapid shutter releases. With a buffer display reading 50 frames continuous, I experienced a considerable release delay firing about 90 frames non-contagious over a 48 second period. I certainly hope Nikon will develop firmware update to the D4 so both fast storage cards are compatible together and address focal jump issue. With all this said, I decided to keep the camera but have buyers remorse. I don't see much advantage over my D3s, but I needed a second body. I would recommend the D4 but might consider a good used D3s knowing what I know now. December 3, 2013
problème du viseur de la d4 Nikon nous sommes le 14 janvier 2013, hier lors d'un shoot familial ma d4 Nikon a complètement gelé, impossible d'utiliser le viseur, écran complètement noir et peut importe et après avoir réinitialiser la caméra le problème demeure, nous sommes Nikon ALL THE WAY, très décevant d'avoir un appareil de ce prix et d'avoir a passer par la. Nous sommes en attente du diagnostic… . SVP NIKON venez a mon secours. January 14, 2013
AF-C has issues I first purchased a D800, and then later a D4. I have owned a D90, D700, D7000, plus still own a D3X. I shoot a lot of sports with the D3X, and use AF-C single point focus. My primary lens is a Nikon VR 80-400. With that lens on a D3X, I get a hit ratio (good focus) of approx 90% (handheld). However, with that lens on a D800, using the AF-C singe point focus, my hit ratio fell to less than 50%. Same issue with the D4. I conducted test shots using other lenses (80-200, 28-300 and 85 f/1.4), and got the same issue. Switching to AF-C and 3-D, the hit ratio climbed, some, however the focus point would jump from horse to horse (in polo there are four players per team, plus two refs, for a total of ten horses on the field at a time). Since four players are wearing the same jersey, and a lot of horses look alike, in 3-D the focus point would randomly switch from horse to horse, and it also switched off the horses onto a nearby wall, then back to the horses. AF-C single point is my preferred way to shoot, it works great on the D3X (and on a D3S that I purchased after I returned my D4). Same issue with focus point jumping around in D9, D21 and D51. Focus point even jumped around when I has holding the camera on a stationary subject. Apparently Nikon has taken a process that worked, and "fixed it." If this had just occurred on the D800, and worked okay on the D4, then I would have thought it was just that one camera (or model of camera). However, since the issue occurred on both models, something is wrong in the new focus software for these two cameras. Nikon: Please address this issue, as I am sure I am not the only pro that uses the AF-C single point option. I can provide test shots from both cameras (in a month I shot over 17,000 photos with the D800 before I sold it. I probably shot over a thousand on the D4 before returning it to the store). Picture quality, when in focus, is excellent on both of these cameras. However, with such a low hit ratio, neither of these camera served my needs. I shoot at least 150,000 pictures a year, mostly sports, so I am not a rookie at this. I can provide links to my website, and even create galleries of examples if anyone wishes to see. As such, for both of these products, I can not recommend, until this focus issue is fixed. For a sports camera, which the D4 is designed to be, this is a major issue. June 23, 2012
A Truly Remarkable Camera! IF you don't have issues. Even two years after it's release, this camera stands the test of time. It's a solid workhorse with fantastic low light image quality that feels and sounds as a pro camera should! Until... You have any issues with it and then it's all downhill if you are out of the warranty period. This was one of the first cameras released so maybe that's the problem. In any event, here's my story. 13 months after I purchased it at Adorama, the mic input went out on me during the middle of a video shoot for a client. I sent it to Melville, NY for an out of warranty repair that took 3 weeks. 9 months later in the midst of a photo shoot for another client, any and all lenses stopped responding. In both instances a back up D800 saved the day. Out to Melville, NY it went again this time for a little over a month with some electrical related issue that had to be repaired again out of warranty. When I received the camera back, it worked for all of 10 minutes before it stopped working and wouldn't even turn on. In less than a year I've had more issues with my Nikon D4 camera than I've had over the previous 5 years across 4 different Nikon bodies that all saw more video and photography action than my D4. I pride myself on really taking good care of my equipment, but at least in my experience, this is not your daddy's war camera and thus it gets 1 star for its durability and 5 stars for it raw technical prowess. April 7, 2014
Mirror locked had to send back for repair got a $500.00 bill Recently had to send my D4 back for repair it was 4 mo out of warranty. Was totally disappointed with Nikon that they were not able to give any support. I would not purchase this camera again!!! January 28, 2014
Page: 2 3
<<prev
93 Questions | 118 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
93 Questions | 118 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
+17points
26out of 35found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful26unhelpful9
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
outlawphoto
Coos Bay, OR
Location : 
Coos Bay, OR
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

+11points
14out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful3
Answer: 
D3s was ranked 1st in low light performance by DxO. The 2012 sensor tech used in the D4 is cutting edge by means of maximizing sensor's microlens light transmission and microlens shape in order to gather and focus all the available light on the CMOS area which has also been improved over the D3s. Low light performance is not only about ISO, it's about how much DR would be achieved in that settling, how much color sensitive it would be etc. Nikon has it's own standards in determining how high it will rate the normal sensitivity. The photograph taken with ISO 12800 can be printed large and nobody will notice it is taken at that setting, it will look just the same as it would be taken with ISO 100. Nikon gives the indicated quality at 16MP, that's D3s+4MP, usable for unseen until now detail at all normal sensitivities, and fair results at ISO52k and 102k (Hi - modes), which by my opinion give charm or charisma of a photograph (little bit of noise). By comparison one would achieve excellent poster sized detailed results photographing the milky way at ISO8000 f/4 14mm, 30sec. With the D3s we had this ability, but now we have lots of detail too and even more improved high ISO, the D4 is a marvel, the crown of the camera world.
Jan 29, 2012 by
by
Martin
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
6out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful4
Answer: 
The question is not how high it gets, but how clean from noise it will be.
If , for example, the 6,400 ISO on the D4 will be as clean as 800 ISO on the D3s - would be awesome!

Blessings from Israel
Eitan
Jan 25, 2012 by
by
Eitan, Israel
Israel
Location : 
Israel
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Role: Professional photographer

+4points
11out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful7
Answer: 
There is a trade off when you add mega pixels. The individual pixel size shrinks therefore decreases the light gathering ability of each pixel. If Nikon advertise a higher native ISO capability, you would expect the performance at that ISO to be great. If ISO is important to you, you are good with what you have. The D4 was advertised as a press and sport camera, not light up the night like the D3s.
Jan 10, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
2out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful5
Answer: 
Hi4 is 204,800, without the "hi#"s its 12,800
Jan 7, 2012 by
by
Bryan S
Home of Kodak
Location : 
Home of Kodak
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
7out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful11
Answer: 
HI 3 setting expands ISO to 102,400 equivlant
Jan 6, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Digital-SLR-Cameras/25482/D4.html
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
NPS France
Paris, France
Location : 
Paris, France
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
It's my understanding that the new batteries had to conform to the current Japanese regulations for recycling.
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
mistergreen
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Since the introduction of the D3 a lot has happened in the electronics field, especially with processors and memory. Specialist processors have doubled in performance while the size of the die (each transistor) has reduced by half. Smaller transistors lead to higher speed and less power usage.

The magnets and circuits used to create the motors have much more torque and can operate a lower voltages.

Typically Japenses, design a battery that supplies the right amount of power at the right time.

The only way to correctly assess the performance is to use them in side be side under the same conditions.

Try comparing a torch with a tungsten bulb with one with an LED - the powr usage ratios are so very different - I would reckon the same applies between the D3 and D4 - 4 years is a very long time in electronics.
Feb 15, 2012 by
by
Frank
Hertfordshire, UK
Location : 
Hertfordshire, UK
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
The engineering of the battery is such that the D4 will last longer on sustained bursts with it's new battery than if the battery from the D3s was used. The way the test is run to determine the number of shots, does not take advantage of the discharge profile of this particular battery. The test is ran in a method as to where a shot is taken, there is a pause, then another shot is taken. The engineers designed the D4 battery to better accommodate people taking advantage of the high FPS burst shooting. The battery from the D3s would not be able to power the high burst rate and data transfer rates for very long, thus, a new design :-)
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
But the voltage and amperage is lower on the new batteries. They should have made them at least as big (power wise) as the old ones.
Jan 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4
Answer: 
Larger files take longer to write to memory cards. Reading and writing consume battery power.
Jan 10, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D4
 
4 Answers

Help!

Jun 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D4
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am looking at buying a new camera mostly to shoot professional video, concerts, ski/snowboard shoots and more. I need someone to explain the difference between the "Nikon D4" and the other camera I am looking at " the Canon 5D mark 2"... should I fork over the extra money?
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are plenty of reviews online that will help you learn from others experience. Video on the D4 has not been getting good reviews... actually video on any dslr has its challenges. If you were to believe the reviews then video from the Nikon D800 is sharper than the D4 & that camera is half the price.
Jun 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
if you're a professional and you need to be out shooting photos and video day in and day out, the D4 is the camera you're looking for. primarily because it's built for the kind of punishment that a working photographer is likely to dish out. everything from the high frames-per-second rate to the extremely long-lasting shutter mechanism, high-capacity battery and built-in web interface is geared to high-volume production. the D4 is nikon's top-of-the-line camera, and everything about it is first class.
Jun 19, 2012 by
by
Hugo First
Richmond, VA
Location : 
Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am a loyal Nikon Lover, so yes the extra money is worth it...to me...
I would say the best you can do is look at specs for both cameras and then decide the pros and cons of each camera and decide which will better suit you...and your needs...
Myself , I would never switch over brands because of all the money invested in lenses n such, and , to be honest , most real world photographers will not see the pros and cons in any model when it comes down to it... I have never read any spec on a Canon in 15 years or so that would make me change to that brand ...
I have an older D2X, Nikons Flagship Model in 2005-2006, and the difference in this camera and a D4 is like night and day for the most part... But its not like two comparable models of different brands ever seem to be so far apart that i would switch...only my personal opinion
Really it’s up to you and your needs , and if no investment in other photography equipment.
Normally if im torn between two manufacturers of something, reviews, magazine articles and user reviews are pretty helpful...
Hope this helps some...
Jun 19, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
We cannot make comparisons with other competitors. Please visit our website for more information in the specifications for the D4 that would help you better to make your selection.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jun 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D4
 
2 Answers

Nikon D4 HDMI out 4:2:2 8 bit uncompressed arround 200MB/s Is it true !!!!!!!!!!!

Jan 6, 2012 by
by
Patrik
Sweden
 on D4
Has staff answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Patrik
Sweden
Location : 
Sweden
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The output signal is 4:2:2, 8 bit uncompressed when saved to an external recorder via HDMI out.
May 1, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

-14points
0out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful14
Answer: 
Please click on the link below. Currently only the specifications on the website are available, more information will be posted later on.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 12, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D4
 
2 Answers

Where is the D4 manufactured and assembled? (If more than one country, please list them all)

Jan 6, 2012 by
by
OregonShooter
Oregon, USA
 on D4
Has staff answer
+3points
9out of 15found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful6
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
OregonShooter
Oregon, USA
Location : 
Oregon, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
According to Nikon the D4 and D800 are manifactured in their Sedai factory in Japa
Feb 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-44points
1out of 46found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful45
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operate to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Jan 9, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D4
 
2 Answers

When will the product manual for the D4 be ready for viewing/downloading?

Jan 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D4
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Have already ordered. Can't wait. Was looking at a D3S earlier today. Am a sports protog.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try here: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17724
Apr 3, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-11points
2out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful13
Answer: 
The only product specifications for now which are made available to the public may be found in the product user guide, or the specification sheets posted at www.nikonusa.com.
Jan 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D4
 
2 Answers

raw format?

Jan 7, 2012 by
by
sjms
Warren, NJ
 on D4
Has staff answer
+4points
7out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful3
is it both 12/14 bit switchable as was the D3/D3s?
only full raw or is compressed available too?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
sjms
Warren, NJ
Location : 
Warren, NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
There IS an option to choose the RAW bit depth of either 12 and 14-bit. There are three options of RAW recording file type - Lossless Compressed, Compressed and Uncompressed.
Jan 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

-7points
1out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful8
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 12, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D4
 
2 Answers

Base ISO compared to D3s

Jan 8, 2012 by
by
Action
NY
 on D4
+1point
5out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful4
How will the ISO at higher settings (say 6400) be as compared to the D3s? Will the noise be basically the same between both cameras or will the D4 be slightly better at the same ISO?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Action
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unless the sensor is the same design, one can't say with 100% assurance that "more pixels = more noise". One only has to look at the noise performance between the D3 and D3s - same size sensor, same MP but the D3s wins the battle hands down.

This is (a) a new sensor design with (b) smaller photosites than the D3s. We'll have to wait and see.
Jan 11, 2012 by
by
Theo
Colorado

-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
Answer: 
I would think it might be slightly worse. Higher megapixels produce more sensor heat, there for more noise.
Jan 8, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D4
 
2 Answers

Timelapse settings

Jan 31, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D4
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
what kind of controls for time-lapse? how does the d4 deal with the variables ? (interval between frames, framerate, and length of clip)
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Take a look at this article: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
It explains the various ways you can shoot time lapse with the D4. There is a built-in interval timer that allows you to shoot time release like you have in the past, and also a Time Release Movie Mode that processes the time release shots into a finished movie file in-camera.
Mar 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for compatible remotes and releases:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ... and Releases/product:25482:D4
Feb 3, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D4
 
2 Answers

When will the D4 be available in the US?

Feb 17, 2012 by
by
uberfoto
 on D4
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Supposedly there's been a delay? Nikon France Facebook page notes a March 15th release date. Is there a day for the US yet?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
uberfoto
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I was in our local dealer today (March 15, 2012) near Detroit, MI and overheard him calling a customer to say that their D4 was in.
Mar 15, 2012 by
by
BruceH
Michigan, USA
Location : 
Michigan, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
Answer: 
The new NIKON D4 was announced a few weeks back and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after this. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Feb 20, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers