Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T16:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 18 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.8057306 false false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 18 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.0501075

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
First Digital for me It is first digital camera for me. I was (and still am) shooting 35mm with my Yashica and love it but I have to say....this is awesome ! I am going to a car show tonight and will take some pictures there. I have not used it enough yet but I can tell it will be very cool. June 20, 2012
Incredible Wow. This camera is amazing. I love it, I take it with my 55mm-300mm lens to soccer matches, swim meets, parties and events. The camera is perfect for vacations and so much more. Its easy to use, I purchased it from Costco in March and it came with so many great things for my camera. I love it and HIGHLY recomend it. There are great features and effects, my favorite is Fisheye. It is the best camera out there for the price. I love it. June 20, 2012
Wow, it is so powerful I'm having a great time using this camera for basic photos while I'm learning more and more of the advanced stuff. It looks like this camera will be capable of way more than I could ever explore. June 20, 2012
Love this camera this is a good camera to begin photograph career with, easy to learn and light weight. June 19, 2012
D5100, first DSLR This review is for you who is going to buy your first DSLR. This is my first DSLR (or SLR), converting from automatic camera. Here is the factors that worry me when I bought this camera: 1. Price: What a different in the picture taken. It is worth the money even though the price is about 4 times that I usually pay for regular automatic camera (bought with 55/300 and 18/105mm lens) 2. Difficulty: This is easier to use then my automatic camera. I start just put on Auto which function the same as automatic camera. In addition, with the tele lens you can zoom from a long distance. 3. Result: As mention below, the Picture is worth the price. I wish I had bough this years ago. Now, if Nikon can make this camera waterproof so I can carry this while I am swimming as in my waterproof automatic camera, this would be perfect. June 19, 2012
Beautiful Images I am not new to photography. Previously I have owned several SLR film cameras. This is my first serious DSLR camera. I have owned many point and shoot compact digital cameras. I love this camera. The images that it produces are beautiful. I am an artist and I needed a camera to assist in my work. The camera has numerous functions but is not difficult to master. I have a good understanding of the camera functions already. I havent used the video function as yet, but if the video is comparable to the picture quality, I will be very happy (although I didn't purchase the camera for the video useage). I would recommend this camera to anyone looking for high quality images. June 18, 2012
Beginning with Nikon a Great little Camera I am a beginning photographer but I am very pleased with the ease of use and the quality of pictures. If I don't like what I see it take two pushes of a button and it is gone. I like being able to take multiple shots because I have a nack of pushing the shutter just as my subjects move or talk. I love the option of keeping the moving subject in the frame with a current focus so the pictures are not blurry unless I want them to be. It is a great little camera just right to take shots of family members and friends. June 18, 2012
Just Superb....!!! Got the best package what I need perfectly... Happy Now :) June 17, 2012
Great Feature Set: Met My Shooting Needs D5100 is a tremendous upgrade to my D40 that I've used since 2007. I loved my D40 but a large portion of my shooting is gymnastics and basketball, both "low light" sports. I desperately craved better high ISO image quality. Would have loved the D7000 but only had the budget for D5100. With the sale price in April, I pulled the trigger on the D5100 Been more than pleased with my choice. Coming from a D40 with 2.5 fps, the 4 fps of the 5100 seems awesome and I'm more of "timing" guy than a "spray and pray" guy. In short, I've captured gymnastic shots I never would have captured with the D40. The IQ at ISO 2500 or 3200 is still better than the the D40 at 1600. It's obviously no slouch at low ISO. I've caught some baseball pics in bright light that I can crop in tight for amazing close-ups without any noticeable loss in quality. Some "commercial" reviews slam the position of the Info <I> button but I find it easier to adjust settings with this than the D40. Two quick hits with the thumb and I'm editing settings, all with one hand. Also, the "My Menu" feature is great for settings not present on the info screen. Setting the FN button to ISO allows me to easily adjust exposure in manual mode under changing light conditions. Still working through all the features. Love the Active D-lighting for daytime baseball shots; the RGB histogram is a big benefit as well. I can put the money I saved over the D7000 towards other gear (speed light, another lens) and never miss the extra features of the D7000. Very happy. Looking forward to using it for some landscape shots, portraits, and for the next basketball season. June 16, 2012
Wonderful entry level camera! The Nikon D5100 gives a lot in an affordable and easy to use package. The features of this camera are right in the middle between entry level and professional. I have used this camera for about week and it has been great! I am a web developer and the Nikon D5100 gives me the flexibility to high quality videos for clients as well as photography. I also use it to do HD videos for web tutorials. Overall, I would highly recommend this camera for any one who wants flexibility and great quality at a wonderful price!. June 16, 2012
Fantastic. My girlfriend and I bought one together more than a year ago and still take it everywhere and can't stop seeing what cool new thing our camera can do. It seems like we learn something new about it every week. June 16, 2012
nice good camera. i like the flip screen. the camera handles well June 15, 2012
I'm just blown away! I upgraded to the D5100 from a D70 kit, This one has Nikkor vr lenses. 18-55 and 55-300. My first test was to see what the close up feature did. Absolutely amazing! Unless you are photographing bugs it does just about everything a 60mm macro lens does. I love all the pre-set options though I am primarily an old school "mahual everything" guy having cut my teeth on an old Nikon F some 65 years ago. The view screen is sharp and clear, and the option of focus points is fantastic. In short this is a camera for everyone from the novice to the super advanced amateur. In fact I would not hesitate to use it in professional work. Bottom line I love everything about it. June 15, 2012
Nikon d5100 I love it.. I travel everywhere with it. I have tripod and everythings June 14, 2012
Nikon 5100 Love this camera. Very easy to use and the quality is fantastic. Great features. June 13, 2012
I am in love.... I am a very, very, very amateur shutterbug. I have been using my girlfriend's D50 for about the last year or so, but the flash is broken (common Nikon problem), and I wanted to have a camera of my own. I mainly shoot two things - 1/6 action figures (12 inches) and my beautiful 2005 Acura TSX. I purchased the camera about two weeks ago. I absolutely adore the D5100! The pictures are beautiful! I have only two problems so far. One, I like to shoot using a remote, and unfortunately after only a few seconds, if you have the timer mode set to remote, it resets, meaning you have to go through the menu to put it back to remote. On top of that, setting the Function button to Timer only gives the option of 5-second timer, with no remote option. Second, I was able to borrow a coworker's macro lens, and I was sad to find that the D5100 has no internal motor to drive the lens in AF mode, unlike the D50, which was able to drive it just fine. It's okay, since the lenses are still compatible in MF mode, but just a little dissappointing. Overall, I love my new camera, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a bit more than your average camera. Sorry if my review isn't all that technical. June 12, 2012
Excellent DSLR I have just started using the SLR and it has been fantastic - very simply to operate and great pictures. June 12, 2012
Excellent product Pictures are pretty clear, video quality is excellent. Easy to handle. June 12, 2012
I love my Camera So far i have nothing to complain about. So many features that i am still learning them. Took some excellent pics the other day on auto setting and can imagine what it will look like once i've mastered the camera. I love the swivel screen and especially the effects (color isolation, miniaturization and so on). The only negative is not with the camera but the battery life. I wish Nikon will come out with a better battery for such a wonderful camera. June 12, 2012
Great camera! The D5100 is my second DSLR. This thing is amazing for the price and the quality photos I can get with it. The more I learn about photography the better the photos become and the camera just keeps pumping out shots as I tell it. It is a very versatile camera. I mostly shoot in Aperature priority, but I have used some of the other features and they work just fine. I also have the 55-200mm ED IR VR II lens and the pictures im getting are fascinating. I have not recorded any HD video yet but I plan to. I also really like the 11 focus points in the viewfinder compared to the 3 I have in my D40. My D40 still works great but I can get better cropping and macro shots with the D5100. My D40's shutter response is slightly faster than the D5100 but that is my only complaint so far. But it's not even a complaint really because it doesn't bother me at all. June 11, 2012
Great DSLR- Have no complaints This is a great starter camera, the Nikon School Guide to photography that came with it gives a great basic understanding of how to start using some of the advanced features of the camera. Ive had it for 2 weeks and already have some unique beautiful pictures. With the two packaged lenses (18-55 VR and 55-300 VR) i have everything i need. Very pleased with this camera! June 10, 2012
Great featues in an entry-level DSLR! With the limited time owning, and upgrading from an old Panasonic junker, this camera is beyond amazing. The crispness and clarity are light years ahead of the old camera. Some of the built in features are so fun to play with, and the deal at Best Buy was hard to resist and the financing options just made it happen on the spot. Overall, I'm pleased with the build quality, and the photo quality. The battery life is decent. The features and manual settings are plentiful. Lens changes are a snap. I can't compare it to any other DSLR camera, because this is my first. I'm sure I would have been pleased with a competitors brand, but I'm glad I researched, and I'm completely satisfied with my Nikon D5100. June 9, 2012
Great Entry Level DSLR This is my first DSLR and it has been a great experience! The documentation that comes with the camera (hard copy and digital) is written in such a way that a goof like me can understand. I have gotten several compliments on the quality of my photos and the brilliance of the colors. June 9, 2012
User Friendly and POWERFUL all in one package I've held off getting back into photography since film, waiting for the digital cameras to catch up with quality. The D5100 is exactly what I've been waiting for. I was insulted when someone called it an entry level camera, It has more features than some more expensive cameras and the quality of the prints are at the level of professional cameras. June 8, 2012
Novice reviewer I've had my wonderful D5100 for a little over a week so even though I haven't had a chance to get to know it well, I can tell you I think it's wonderful and especially want to thank you for making the user's manual so easy to understand by someone who has just begun to learn. I doubly appreciated the ability to download the manual to my PC because I have been able to sit in front of my (large) monitor and keep the manual information on screen while I get acquainted with the different features of the camera. It's so helpful to be able to see it magnified on my screen and not have to fumble with the paper manual (though I do keep it in my camera case for quick referral when I am not at home). I'm also going to download it to my laptop for more portability...just wanted to tell you that even though I've not gotten far, I'm delighted with my D5100 and look forward to a long and happy relationship. June 7, 2012
Great for my / your first foray into the digital world. I have owned Nikon since the early '70's (in fact i have an 'F' with a 1967 serial number). I already have 5 other Nikon cameras and there was no way I was going to let my 15 Nikkor lenses go by the wayside. Nikon has of course changed since the days of the F / F2, no more titanium bodies, too much plastic etc, etc, and of course etcetera. However the quality of this camera is exceptional, I have not had a bit of problem with it or the 3 new Nikkor lenses I have purchased since getting this camera. Wish it had not gone down in price, but, if you're on the bleeding edge sometimes you have to pay it. I really got this to do video and have decked it out with follow focus, LCD Hood and a Matte box, and the video is more than I could have hoped for in a setup for less than a thousand bux. Buy this Camera! June 7, 2012
Star Shooter When I brought my D5100 home for the first time, the first picture I took was of a pop can... and I fell in love. This camera can do so much! HD Videos, amazing effects, sepia, black&white, vivid, neutral, landscape, portrait, pets, action, food, plants.... the list goes on! I always wanted an SLR camera since I was in 8th grade, years ago. But I never thought it would be a DSLR! My D5100 is one of my most prized posessions and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I wouldn't trade my D5100 for anything else! For sure a perfect fit for my first DSLR camera! Thank You Nikon! June 6, 2012
This is a great camera !! Excellent Image Quality, Superior Build Quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple Controls/Menu, Easy To Use, Good In Low Light Situations, Good Contrast Pictures I have heard a lot of great things about Nikon cameras, but never imagined that it could do so much stuff. The camera takes great pictures in auto mode and now I am taking a class to learn to use the manual settings. I have tried using the video features and the quality of the video is so great. I plan to use this camera to document the growth of my child and record major events in my lifetime. Thank you Nikon for making such a great camera June 5, 2012
The best for the price ! I have owned alot of digital camera's and decided it's about time I jumped into DSLR. After alot of research, the D5100 is my choice for the features and price range. And did i made the right decision! In the short while i have this camera, i have been shooting like a pro. The ease of use and overall functionality are incredible. It brought out the inner photographer in me and my wife loves it. With a baby coming up, this would definitely be put to use. Although I suggest new user read supplemental books or dvd to enhance experience. After all said and done, this camera nailed it. June 4, 2012
D5100 I got this camera for Christmas after owning a D50. I'm still a beginner in photography but this camera does not dissapoint. For the price point, I really doubt you would find a better camera. It's easy to use and has a good feel. In addition, the kit lens that comes with it, is pretty decent all on its own. The sensor on this camera seems to be better at light gathering than the T3i what I tested them against eachother but that's my opinion. June 1, 2012
Page: 6 7 8 9 10 ... 26
<<prev | next>>
35 Questions | 39 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
35 Questions | 39 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
6 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I want to buy Nikon D5100 .Please suggest suitable model with main accessories.

May 9, 2012 by
by
Prashant
USA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Need to know about D5100: which features/accessories should I keep in mind while purchasing camera.Shall I go for 18-55 mm lens or 18-200 lens or both. Kindly suggest.
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Prashant
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. f/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Also, for information regarding the D5100, please click on the link below:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
May 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers