Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T04:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 17 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.8498473 false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 17 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.0744832

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
I have had a ton of issues with my video camera on my Nikon D5100. The pictures however are great and is why I will not buy another camera. THe camera is relatively easy to use and I have no complaints in that department. I just wish my videos would not have the loud auto focus sound when I am filimg and they played smooth in 720p. November 15, 2011
Easy and great pics I had a Nikon D7000 which is a great camera, but I have carpel tunnel in both hands and it was to heavy to handle ,so I went to the D 5100 . I love it. great pics ,easy to use . I use the camera a lot more than I did before. The only problem is that some of the buttons are misplaced , other that that it's a great camera. November 3, 2011
Totally Love It, almost. This camera is capable of taking excellent pictures and it has more bells & whistles than I could ever have imagined a camera could. The only problem is with the SD card slot. My first camera would only read the card about once out of 20 times. I tried several different ones and they were all on the ‘approved’ list. Thank goodness for Amazon’s return/exchange policy as I had a replacement in 3 days. The second camera has twice said “No SD card” when in fact there is one and it has already taken dozens of pictures on it, then for no apparent reason it can’t read it anymore. I just took it out and put it back in and it read it just fine both times and continued to take pictures without a problem. I just hope this does not get worse over time. The SD reader issue is why I gave this 4 stars, if I never had that problem, it would be 5 stars. So maybe there was just a few bad ones that were sent to Amazon and bad luck caused me to get two of them? Other than that, I find the camera easy to hold, controls are well laid out and for the most part logical and easy to get to the setting you want. Flash pictures turn out great, for a built in flash, this is very impressive. I owned a Canon A1 film camera for over 20 years, and that is my only other SLR to compare this one too. Just let me say, I miss nothing about the Canon, except maybe the cool Olympic 1980 Camera strap that came with it. I bought a Tamron AF 70-300mm lens for the 5100 and it works very well with this body. Finally got a spare battery (from Nikon online store), so I am good to go. Hopefully this camera will last me 20 years too, or at least until there is something extraordinarily different out there at this price range. Nice job Nikon, just get a better quality SD card reader built in and this model will be perfect. November 1, 2011
Nice body, babe... Call me silly, but I've kept my D5000, and then bought the D5100 (body only) based upon small, but important (to me) improvements. At the same time I added some spice to the brew: Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX. I've been using this configuration for the past few days, shooting in all kinds of conditions, focusing (pun intended) on low level light opportunities. It works, and it works well. What with dabbling in David Busch's Nikon D5100 Guide to Digital SLR Photography, the D5100 looks like a keeper. Here's my preliminary likes: front and back IR ports for my remote, video at 1080p (with real time focusing now!), and the body's size format. Some neutrals: the Menu button placement a bit different, and getting used to the Live lever vs the button on the D5000. The video is good using indoor available light, and my cats cooperated too. Tending towards dislikes: the diopter is small, and hard to turn with smooth precision, in fact I'm wondering if this is a real problem or not; combined with the LCD non-click "stick" when opening; and the battery door a bit off on the alignment, are - combined - real issues for me. I'm going to a brick store and seeing if the floor models have the same nuances that I am experiencing. That said, the price was right, and at my level of skill, more than adequate for my needs. I have big hands, and the overall design is okay, good in fact. As my experience grows, I expect my photographic presentations to improve. October 25, 2011
Captures Beautifully As a new Nikon user, I found the camera rather difficult to navigate. Although, it's well worth it to spend the time getting to know your Nikon for it captures the colors and depth of landscapes remarkably. I am so glad I bought this camera...I'm still getting used to it, but having a blast roaming around the area capturing the beauty in nature. October 10, 2011
First and foremost I'm a novice photographer and I decided to get the Nikon 5100 because I wanted a camera to last me a long time until I get better at photography. I've had the camera for two weeks and since then I've been in love with my camera. I would recommend the camera to anyone. October 1, 2011
Pretty nice camera and lenses I've moved from a Canon 40D, with a 17-85mm lens and 580EX II external flash to the D5100, with 2 lenses (a 15-55mm and 55-300mm). Overall, I like the camera and I think it will be perfect for my 15 year old daughter (who's now on the Yearbook staff at her high school). She has much smaller hands and has a harder time holding the heavier and larger 40D. I'm still going through a steep learning curve on the D5100's menus and setup modes, etc., but overall, like I said, I think it will be perfect for what we need right now. I could see moving up to the D7000 sometime in the future. September 27, 2011
this close to being great Pretty impressive. This is my first Nikon camera, and to be honest it was not my first choice. I do own several other Nikon products and after reading a ton of reviews decided to try it out. Excellent sums it up. This camera has been used every day for the last three months and has performed great. Auto focus is much quicker than anticipated and overall image quality far exceeds expectations. Great Job Nikon now all you need is a zoom lense that doesn't require a second morgage September 19, 2011
I really like taking pictures with my new camera. Color is great, but the battery door needs improvement. September 12, 2011
Great glass and perfect for someone new to photography. Great to have one lens that encompasses a large range of focal length. It makes it great for on the go and not having to swap lenses all day. September 7, 2011
Quality It may be too soon for me to review this camera, but so far it appears to have near the same quality and well thought out placement of controls as my old F. The clear feeling of a single piece of equipment when the lens is attached to the body comes back. The ballance of the camera and lens in hand when shooting is also pleasant. It is lighter than the old F and I am hoping it is as stable at slow shutter speeds also. I relied on hand held shooting most of the time in the past and I hope to continue that practice with the 5100. The moveable attached screen is very helpful and a feature that is amazing in quality and the ability to protect it against the camera is very thoughtfull. Overall it is better than I imagined by just looking at it and reading the specs. It is quality NIKON. September 6, 2011
Lovin' it so far I'm a total newbie to photography. I've spent years taking snapshots but this is my first "big girl" camera. I got tired of always missing the shot because of the shutter lag with a point & shot digital. I have a lot of learning to do but the Nikon School DVD & a lot of internet exploration are proving helpful. I've managed a few shots in the 2 weeks I've had the camera that have completely blown me away so there is hope! Not having too much trouble with general navigation of the menus or adjusting the settings, mostly user error due to my own impatience! With time I think my D5100 & I are going to become good friends. August 30, 2011
love my nikon but it needs better menu advice I am still learning but I need better menu advice apart from having to get professional tuition. August 23, 2011
Excellent for Price Have used Nikon products for years (FTN, N2020, Coolpix 995). Use for work to document construction progress/issues, and for pleasure to document family moments and nature stuff. Wanted something could use as point/shoot, but that had capability to adjust for difficult lighting and composition/content issues. Have had for only little over week, so am still learning. So far, love the camera and its extended capabilities. Same excellent Nikkor optics as expected, but nice to have the various PASM options for the frequent "special" situations--when learn how and where to use, expect much improved results over previous cameras; in most cases, the Auto settings work fine, even with unique lighting conditions. Have played a little with the Scenes and Effects options, which seem to have lots of potential. Experimenting with image size and quality, and currently saving in NEF+JPEG format so can try post-processing--have never used RAW before. The monitor is nice in its flexibilty and usability--still usually use viewfinder, and smudge the monitor screen (have protector on way), so when shooting in Auto modes, just keep turned in for now--love the LiveView feature though, and have been experimenting with the movie feature. All-in-all, a GREAT camera to fill in the gap between point/shoot and the professional line--when fitted with quality Nikon optics, best in market. August 22, 2011
Good but be better. Photos taken in fully auto and programmed mode. I am not a photographer nor am I an expert but can you see the difference between the photos. The fully Auto photo should be like the Programmed Mode. There is a real difference taking photos of landscape. What are your suggestions? August 10, 2011
So far, so good (actually, VERY good) I might be tempted to rate the D5100 excellent, but I'd like to reserve judgment until I've had it for longer than the three weeks it's been since my purchase. You don't buy a camera like this for its "point-and-shoot" capabilities, but I'd have to add a big HOWEVER to that statement. If you use it in one of its "scene" modes or on fully automatic, you'll get some of the best photos you've ever taken without challenging your brain cells one iota. The printed instruction manual gives a quick overview of its features, but it's the CD that fully explores them. If you haven't used a modern, full-featured digital camera in the past few years, the printed manual already has enough in it to keep you learning about the camera for a good long time. And then there are even more features to learn about on the CD. I am very pleased with the photos I've taken these past three weeks, but that said, I delete a good half of them for reasons of bad focus or less-than-ideal exposure. There's a lot to learn about the idiosyncrasies of automatic focusing and exposure, and how to achieve the results you want more often than not. Admittedly, I am on the front end of the learning curve. It will take another month or two before I can give the D5100 a definitive "very good" or "excellent" rating -- but it certainly wouldn't be anything less. I am very pleased with its long list of features and I have certainly never taken pictures with such extraordinary image quality -- when they turn out as I had intended, that is! August 7, 2011
Great Camera to learn with. I bought the Nikon D5100 after much debate between the it and the Canon Rebel T3i series. I read dozens of reviews and watch many videos showing comparisons. I'm quite satisfied overall with the camera. I've never owned a DSLR, just typical PnS. I purchase primarily for Astrophotography, to hook to my Meade ETX-90AT telescope using a #64 T Adapter. It works reasonably well for this purpose, I would say the camera is fairly matched for the telescope really. I've taken a bit over 5000 photos with it in the month I've owned it. From Formula Drift pro competitions, to hiking, to sunset/sunrises, beaches, wild life, and friends and family. It is excellent for taking photos. However I would caution on purchasing it for the 1080p video recording, and this could be due to the memory card, which is a 32GB class 10 card. some of my footage came out blocky, almost corrupted looking. I'll have to test more to detmine the problem, but thought I should mention it. On the camera it looks fine, not so much when played on multiple computers (tried several codecs, and players, including quicktime.) The camera allows to you use it like a point n shoot, but also lets you completly customize it in manual mode. Manually setting the F Stop, the shutter speed, ISO, and aperture. Also, it says it doesn't have a digital zoom in reviews, but it does, you just can't take photos while using it. For a new to intermediate users this is a great choice! It has the same CMOS sensor as the D7000, so your photos will look excellent! It also has a bunch of neat/fun features like selective color, but you can do many of those functions with a computer after you shot your photos too, but this saves that step. Still very nice to have. August 5, 2011
Love the colors, broke right away, fixed on warran I switched from by beloved Canon 40D when that one finally bit the dust. I have been very impressed with how simple it is to get the look and colors I used to fight my 40D for. I miss all the quick access buttons, but such is life. I've also been very impressed at how often it nails fill flash- I often use it now on sunny days. The effect can be used subtly, which I love. Also, the D-lighting does an impressive job of compressing the image's tone range, so that shadows or highlights don't have to dominate in widely lit scenes. My 40D was starkly inferior in this regard. Unfortunately, after 3 weeks the camera stopped detecting it's lens. Nikon has been very accommodating, and is currently fixing it free of charge. However, it is a bother to be without my camera for half the summer. July 26, 2011
Nice features The picture is clear and the effects are easy to use, once you figure out how... July 12, 2011
Overall Nice Camera Have only had this a week so really can't say if it's going to meet the hype of it's advertizing, but it certainly takes very clear pictures, i was even able to see eyelashes on a peregrine falcon i shot at the weekend (with my camera of course). I am out in the evenings trying to find the right manual settings for night sky pictures, bit bummed about the 30 second max time without setting bulb or interval timing. would like to see some longer options on the next upgrade. This has more features than my 3100 but the 3100 had a few features this doesn't seem to have (in the guide menu) and i'd like to see both incorporated in a newer model. Overall, this camera takes some very sharp shots. will remain to be seen if it meets the expectations i have of it. July 12, 2011
Great camera Great camera for those ready to step up from a point and shoot and ready to be a serous hobbyist. It takes excellent photographs and offers a lot of features that help a hobbyist take creative shots with minimal setup. I wish there are more memory buttons to lock in certain settings, such as HDR, for example. The camera is also relatively light, so it is excellent for taking it along a trip. July 8, 2011
I bought for photos and I like it. The 5100 dose everything great and then some. It has every feature. Even with Nikons cheaper lenses I have good photos. Photos that I am not ashamed to show to anyone. June 30, 2011
Love it.. Love it, Love it!!! I am no expert at the Digital SLR photography, but recently upgraded from the D3000 to the D5100 and am totally satisfied with the switch. My most favorites features on the 5100 is the LCD View finder, Photo Effects and the 1080p HD-Video options. The only con i have is the High Price.. other than that, its a great camera June 28, 2011
Could be great ... but Has superb features -- especially movable monitor. Don't know how much autofocus motor would add to weight and price, but that would make it a much more valuable camera -- for me and many "Old Pros" who miss the ability to remove the prism on the old Fs for shooting ground-level or "Hail Marys." June 23, 2011
2 more features needed to make it 5 stars! If the D5100 had an internal eyepiece shutter with external control lever (like my 28 year old FA) and 1/500 sync speed (like 5 year old D40) I would have given it 5-stars! June 7, 2011
Nice Pictures but a few glaring flaws.... I recently purchased this camera and have been using it a few days. Picture quality is great- even at high ISO settings there is minimal noise. The AF works great, even in low light conditions it was hard to trip it up. Really have no complaints about the performance of the camera. Now for the bad- The camera does not have a built in auto-focus motor, which means AF will only work with AF-S lenses (which have build in AF motors), which means AF will not work with roughly half of Nikkor lenses. The other feature missing is an external ISO button. In order to change the ISO setting you need to turn on the LCD screen, hit another button to access settings, switch to ISO setting, Then set it. Way to many steps- especially since ISO performance is one of the main selling points of this camera. May 23, 2011
This product has a execellent picture quality This camera features great quality and can give some outstanding shots with the 18 55 vr kit lens. The controls are well distributed and evenly spaced without any confusion. Though some things appear a little tough in beginning but gets used up as we progress. HDR is also very good. Best features miniature effect and selective color. Awesome hd quality video recording but lacks full manual control in recording mode. Awesome camera to have in life. May 11, 2011
its a great camera. the only downside is nef files don't work on cs3. you have to upgrade to cs5 and install the new camera raw.. all in all the programs and stuff it has are great. May 10, 2011
It is a great camera for everyday uses. Great camera for families. I use it for taking pictures o my family and it works great! May 10, 2011
Great Camera It is lightweight, takes great photographs and easy to use. I replaced my old D-50 with this model and love it. The Vari-angle monitor works nicely and I have yet to try the HDR mode. The movie mode could be better. May 3, 2011
Page: 21 22 23 24 25 26
<<prev | next>>
34 Questions | 38 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
34 Questions | 38 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I want to buy Nikon D5100 .Please suggest suitable model with main accessories.

May 9, 2012 by
by
Prashant
USA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Need to know about D5100: which features/accessories should I keep in mind while purchasing camera.Shall I go for 18-55 mm lens or 18-200 lens or both. Kindly suggest.
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Prashant
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. f/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Also, for information regarding the D5100, please click on the link below:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
May 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers