Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T04:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 17 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.763564 false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 17 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.0588098

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
excellent product, I'm very satisfied It's a very easy camera to use and its multiple adjustment modes allow you a wide range of photos. Can be used for all occasions September 6, 2013
Great camera, some limitations I've had the D5100 for a year or so and so far I'm happy with it. This is my first DSLR. The pros: - It has the same sensor as the D7000 - Produces 14 bit RAW files (a luxury for this price in my opinion#. - Exceptional image quality and dynamic range. - Performs amazingly well in low light. - The time-lapse function is also very cool and it's something you don't get with other entry level DSLR's #or even the D7000#. - With a third party grip and two Nikon batteries, I found the fps rate did the job when shooting sports and it made the camera easier to handle. The cons: - It has no focus engine, you need to buy AF-S lenses if you want autofocus. - Not weather sealed. - Not suited for videography. - No dedicated buttons #iso, wb, af mode, metering). Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with this camera but if I could go back, I would go for a weather sealed, sturdier body with an AF engine... February 21, 2013
Great features in a compact package This is a very compact camera that is packed with features such as active D lighting, HDR, ability to perform time lapsed photography. It has an outstanding metering system, it has a very good flash exposure system. The negatives of this camera include the need for AF-S lenses to get autofocus. The camera is a little too compact for my hands but it is tolerable. I don't really like the swivel screen since it gets in my way of taking pictures. Also I would have preferred to have a second control dial to help with changing apertures. August 20, 2012
Special exposure features are a true time saver Enjoy the new features. Especially the movable live view screen. Was a little surprised when I needed to upgrade the firmware for dics but otherwise it has been faultless in it's operations August 18, 2012
great camera, but had battery and charger problems we bought our camera for a vacation to australia. it took GREAT pictures. it's light. that's a big plus when hiking. it's very fast. that was great because there were alot of things happening on our vacation and the we hardly missed a shot. the price at costco was great as well. we got the package with two lenses and the travel case. now, the down side. apparently the batteries have had problem. something about a recall from overheating according to one dealer. it was very tough to find a backup battery, but we eventually did. we paid a premium for the back up battery because we did not want to run out of power while out hiking. second problem. the charger was messed up. we could leave the battery in the charger for days and the light would still blink. i finally got around to buying a second charger when we returned from vacation and it worked fine. i sent the orginal charger back to nikon. i am giving them 4 stars on the assumption that they will replace my charger at no cost. otherwise, it's a great camera. August 17, 2012
Great...until it broke! I was having great fun and getting some really nice pictures, until the command dial decided to stop working (6 months after buying the camera). Now, as Nikon has no repair shops you can take the camera to, I have to mail it off and wait, wait, wait until I can use it again. Hopefully, for more than 6 months. August 16, 2012
It reasonable for starter user this camera is good starter user, the price is reasonable August 7, 2012
Good Camera, But With Some Problems Generally satisfactory, but repairs were necessary for random exposure errors shooting Gigapans. In addition, the D5100 has repeated some file names (numbers) when automatically creating a new folder. This remains unexplained and suggests a firmware bug. August 5, 2012
... If Only ... Bought primarily for the vari-angle monitor, hoping to recreate the days of the F-series, when pentaprism could be popped off for worm's-eye views or Hail Marys. Stayed for the HD 1080 video. Disappointed that it isn't at least a "pro-sumer" level body -- containing an auto-focus motor; most of my previously collected lenses were unusable with AF. Also wish Nikon made a battery grip that would also increase burst rate ala MB-D10. Using third-party for extended battery and ergonomic reasons. But bottom line is the bugger is sharp. August 2, 2012
Great camera but the manual is not I recently purchased this camera as an amature photographer and did not know much about dslr cameras as I have worked with the typical point and shoot style. I had a Nikon Coolpix and loved the quality I got from it but needed to take it a couple of steps up. Being new to a dslr camera is very confusing and when there's a manual included, one expects a little more from it. I had to purchase a more detailed book to understand how to use the camera a little better Once I did, the quality of shots I was achieving made the purchase worth every penny. I have always been a major fan of Nikon as they have always made the better product. Only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is for the manual lacking more information, otherwise I'd recommend this to anyone! July 31, 2012
Excellent pictures, Ease of picture management. For what use I have been able to get out of the camera, I think it is fantastic at capturing shots. There are many features to re-learn from years of point and shoot , but I am looking ahead to great images. I have had an issue with the battery charger (even buying extra batteries to no avail) and have been without the use of the camera for almost four weeks. Hopefully, the service center will get me a replacement soon. Finding a replacement charger at a local store has been impossible. Why no marketplace? July 31, 2012
Manual capability and ability to use old nikor lenses I have very limited use of the Nikon D5100, because I only bought the body and using old Nikon lenses which I had with Nikon-FE. However, my macro lens is in India. I took some pictures with Nikon EM regular lens. I have to estimate speed and aperture size to get right exposure. It works out well. I takes little more time to shoot the picture. I have to specify ISO speed and aperture size to get the picture. When I will have my macro lens in November, I will be able to take good close up pictures with more depth. If I have to take pictures, at present I have to shoot from 10 to 15 feets to get get reasonable depth. Unfortunately, the design of the camera is different, and does not meet 35 mm. standard, I have to see how it all works out. Anyway I liked the manual feature. The cost of film and development time is not required to see the result ot shooting. I have not used movie features of the camera. I liked the camera on the whole. July 31, 2012
D5100 I really like the camera The size and weight is perfect. I have a d7000 and it is substantially heavier. I also really like the photo scene modes, which are for beginners, but i find they work for me as a very experienced photographer as well. For example, the portrait mode - just works, and saves me a lot of time switching dials. On the d7000 there is much more flexibility, but frankly, much of it is just confusing and unless you use it every day (and dont switch cameras) you are likely to make mistakes with the settings. I also find the focusing on the d5100 to be easier than on the d7000 which is supposedly more capable. On the d7000 I sometimes get shots out of focus and I just dont know why. But on the d5100, the autofocus seems to instinctively work better. I do wish the camera had 2 things - internal focusing motor, and high speed flash sync. But other than those omissions, it works very well for me. July 25, 2012
FANTABULOUS I was tired of missing the Shot. I was very happy with the pics from my Sony Point and Shoot over the years, but missed a deer shot. After purchasing my new Apple, the tech talked me into upgrading to DSLR. I choose the 5100 as a middle of the road choice and chose it over C*+NON based on reviews. I had an Olympus OM1 years ago and loved my pics. I am so happy with the quality and ease of use. I have taken some great memories with this camera- sunsets, sunrises , loons, moose, deer, and even treed a bear. I have purchased a 35mm lens f 1.8 and think that it take terrific indoor pics w/o flash. Recently bought the 24-70 f 2.8 and love the lens- great for the outdoor shots w a small zoom. Also have the standard 18-55 and 55-200 and also bought the 55-300.- all are giving me some great pics. I have been looking at pics from a professional which has metadata and have use this info to help me get the right pic. He too shoots with Nikon 700 and recently upgraded to the 800. Sadly I think I am suffering camera envy and will hopefully upgrade in the near??? future. i do have full frame envy- something I did not care about since I was just "starting over" If looking for a great camera which take great pics and "affordable" price ($8000.00 for the D3) - I have found this to be a great camera- LOVE IT July 19, 2012
Can't make a DVD I am completly happy with my purchase of the Nikon D5100 except I think editing and creation of a movie should end with the making of a DVD. I would not recommend the D5100 to anyone looking to make DVD'S as the end result. July 10, 2012
Great camera for the price!!! IQ is very good. Good battery life. Handles nicely. Flip screen is a bonus. The only reasons I didn't give it 5 stars are the main things that seperate it from the D7000; smaller viewfinder, no dedicated ISO or White Balance buttons, only one preset white balance option, and no internal focus motor for older lenses. I put a DK-21M magnifier on my viewfinder, and it's much better, now. I also programmed the function button for ISO; this is a must do. But the lack of another programmable button, or else a dedicated White Balance or ISO button, leaves it one short of easily accessed important shooting buttons. But then, you get what you pay for, and it's about $400 cheaper than the D7000, with the same image sensor and IQ; it's a really good camera. If you shoot with a telephoto lens, I suggest adding a battery grip. I never take mine off; it adds stability and makes it more comfortable and easier to handle. This camera rocks!!! July 9, 2012
Fun First DSLR This is my first DSLR and I'm having a ball with it. I'm transitioning from an N6006 - well, not really transitioning since i haven't used a camera much over the last few years - and this camera works a lot like my old Nikon but better. Great features and sensible controls that allow the photographer to just shoot for fun or get creative by using manual functions and playing around with exposures. Unlike film, digital allows immediate feedback and review and reduces processing costs. But I'm probably one of the last to be figuring this out. Anyway, a nice camera and worth the investment if you're considering a "serious" camera for more than everyday snapshots. July 8, 2012
Good Camera I took a hot needle held by a small pair of pliers,and easily inserted two small holes on the side of the lens cap.Threaded a small lens strap from another camera,and now my camera is 100%. Lens cannot get lost. Come on Nikon...give us a break and attach a lens strap...... June 29, 2012
So ar, so good Takes great photos. i got the 50-300 lens also and really like it. Have been a Nikon buyer since the 70's and have always been impressed with quality and great accessory options. The D5100 was a good choice. June 29, 2012
Gonna love it... need more training I know I'm going to love it, have loved what I've shot so far. However, the training DVD that came in the kit I got from Costco was a disappointment. The man referred to someone else who would be coming up later in the DVD to show how to do more things, but that never happened. I also am not seeing, yet, any great benefit in ViewNX2 software that came with it, versus Picassa which I already use. June 28, 2012
My camera I am an avid hobbyist and have been using Nikon products for a very long time. The Nikon D5100 is an outstanding product. The in camera HDR setting allows me to take wonderfully balanced shots. I would recommend this camera to any one, from beginner to semi pro June 28, 2012
Enjoying my First DSLR Not explored much, but what ever pics we have taken till date, got very good result and fully satsified with my purchase. June 22, 2012
Almost perfect I would love to give this camera 4.5 stars, but that wasn't possible, and I'd only give 5 stars to something that was absolutely flawless. The image quality is amazing, but that's pretty well documented. I mostly shoot stills, but let me just say that I get a lot of use out of the articulating display when I'm taking handheld shots from awkward angles, so I consider that a big plus. Anyone can tell you all the reasons why you should buy this camera, and I completely support that. But I also want to raise the minor issues I've got with it. I have three particular complaints: 1. The D5100 does not have a built-in autofocus motor in-body, which can be annoying/inconvenient even for some modern lenses. It will not meter on non-CPU lenses, which rules out using some of the great old prime glass that's out there, often for really nice prices. In practice, this means you have to spend a bit extra on modern lenses. 2. I'm happy, but super satisfied, with the handling. I find that I have to crawl through a lot of menus to get to settings that I think should be at my fingertips at all times, such as ISO. I also wish it were easier to "normal" my settings when I take my camera out for a new shoot, to cancel out whatever I might have done before. On that note, the ability to store presets with descriptive names would be much appreciated. My previous camera was a Canon G10, and I find that I miss some of the handling details at times. 3. I would love to get a spare battery, but they are ridiculously expensive! Due to a special chip, there's essentially no viable third-party option. Also, I'm not dockng any points for this, but isn't it time for DSLR's to start pushing the envelope a bit? How nice would it be to have GPS built-in, instead of having to attach it with a cumbersome accessory? Or at the very least, stick in a Bluetooth chip to allow the camera to get GPS from my phone, and to let me quickly transfer pictures for uploading, Instagram, etc. Also, related to handling, why not make the screen a touch panel? That could vastly improve certain handling details. These things are major opportunities to differentiate from other manufacturers, if Nikon is willing to spend the time to engineer them so that they work naturally for the user. Someone's going to do it eventually, and the technology is here today. June 20, 2012
quick and easily to use Get a scence, it will gone in minute, second. A camera main purpose is get it and present the scence right what you want. The Nikon D5100 is the one I want. June 17, 2012
Great for kids! I had a Nikon non-SLR before this and the shutter speed was too slow. I have a two year old who won't sit still,and thus camera gives me the ability to capture moments even if they aren't posed. Love it. June 11, 2012
Working "light" is a true pleasure ! The 5100 is easy to handle & very "light" in the hands. Different Modes can be confusing but, in time, all factors fall into place. June 3, 2012
Good Balance and Pictures It takes great pictures and video. It should have a picture of video shown next to button for video and able to view subject through the view finder while taking video. May 29, 2012
Great~ I've had this camera for about a year now and it never fails to amaze me. I learn new things about it all the time on how to improve my image. Right now, I only had the 18-55mm lens and the 55-200mm lens but they both work great with the Nikon D5100. I was debating on Nikon or Canon but I made a great choice picking the Nikon camera! May 29, 2012
Nice addition to my camera bag I purchased the D5100 are carefully considering the features and price of the D3200, D5100 and the D7000. My D200 is starting to show its age and I wanted something a little more modern. I shoot primarily metal shows in venues of varying lighting quality and so far the D5100 has excelled in handling everything I have thrown at it. Using the camera set to ISO 3200 the images I am getting are outstanding. The sample images I am enclosing in this review were all shot at ISO 3200 with NR set to High. The autofocus is fast and accurate, I have shot approximately 20 out-of-focus shots out of 1,500 and I have only had the camera three weeks. The articulated LCD allows me to compose shots overhead or add odd angles easily. The two issues I have with the camera is response time is slow compared to the D200, this I expected. The lag in switching from the information screen to Live View can be a problem if you are shooting fast action. Overall I enjoy using the D5100 and the images I have taken from the last few shows I have been to I love. May 18, 2012
Ease of use D1500 and choice of settings I previously bought a Canon but it didn't date stamp (was told by salesman it did) and I returned it and got the D1500 kit. The menu and function buttons are easy to get around. Effects mode is a plus with variety of choices. I like the way it allows editing of the review photo from the camera enabling crop, straighter, adjust lighting and much more and also saves the original photo. A good selection of settings available and the information and ? buttons are very helpful when altering camera settings. The auto correction for dark or low light areas within the scene being photographed is very good .I took photos outside at night and they looked like day time shots. Video choices are many and effects amazing. You can use effects as you take the pictures/video or change the effects later on review. I also chose this camera because of the fold out screen which allows you to see what you are filming if you have to hold the camera above head height or at ground level. I have been using it every day and practice using different settings to get the hang of it. Just love it and the online tutorial is very good. May 12, 2012
Page: 19 20 21 22 23 ... 26
<<prev | next>>
35 Questions | 39 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
35 Questions | 39 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I want to buy Nikon D5100 .Please suggest suitable model with main accessories.

May 9, 2012 by
by
Prashant
USA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Need to know about D5100: which features/accessories should I keep in mind while purchasing camera.Shall I go for 18-55 mm lens or 18-200 lens or both. Kindly suggest.
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Prashant
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. f/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Also, for information regarding the D5100, please click on the link below:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
May 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers