Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T16:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 18 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.7137108 false false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 18 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.077751

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
All I'd expected..and more! An excellent dslr (my first.) Always had Nikon 35mm film cameras and I'm glad I stayed loyal to the brand. Lots of capability and it will take a while to learn all the potential, though the accompanying DVD is excellent. Most of the stuff is intuitive. July 19, 2011
Love it!!!! I've used many digital point and shoot cameras, but I was looking for better quality photos. After much research, I settled on the Nikon D5100 and couldn't be happier. I wanted a camera that was more than entry level and I could grow with. The D5100 does that and much more. Though I have so much to learn, I can already see a major difference in photo quality. Looking forward to all the new possibilities afforded to me with my new camera. July 19, 2011
I love the D5100! OK......I upgraded to a D3100 a couple months ago from a much older D70. While the D3100 took great pictures, it wasn't challenging enough and I outgrew it quickly. What I didn't expect was for it suffer a tragic death (long story, but DSLR's don't take 9 story falls very gracefully). So, I got the D5100, which is perhaps what I should have gotten to begin with.I'm just a weekend/vacation (at best) photographer. I don't need overly complex. I don't want too simple. So, the D5100 with much of what makes the D7000 such a stunning performer, but with less fuss over settings and $400 less expensive, is absolutely perfect for me. I did buy the kit and I had gotten the 55-200 MV VR lense with the D3100. While the lense is certainly up to most challenges, I will at some point upgrade to better glass as I've always believed nothing can be better than the weakest link. Still, the pictures these lenses are producing are simply stunning. HDR is good. It's not quite as significant as the manual suggests (you have to push exposure over and under to get maximum results), but I didn't buy the camera for HDR to begin with. I'm also not a big videographer, but have taken a few videos and was pleasantly surprised at the quality. Autofocus works a bit slow in lower light, but in bright light, my videos were nice and in-focus. I did buy a really good Sandisk 16 GB Class 10 card, so I suspect it helps as well. Setting up the camera is simple and straight forward. I didn't even have to read the manual in much detail, except to get a few refence points. I do recommend downloading the fuller PDF user guide suppled with the camera, as it provides more information than the book in the box. View NX/2 is not as robust as I would have hoped. But, I have Photoshop Elements (version 9), which gives more creative flexibility. If you plan to do much editing, you should consider aftermarket software. The camera feels great in my hands. It has a nice solid feel, and the weight is ideal as you can hold the camera without fatigue for a long time. Some features are buried in menus as opposed to having dedicated buttons, but having a function (fn) button is a nice addition. I put HDR on the fn button, but may change that to another option in the future. It would have been nice to have a depth of field preview option, but it's not something I used that often previously. All in all, I just couldn't be more pleased with the D5100. If you want the ability to do more than just take pictures in Program mode (but has some easy and fun creative options), and you're looking for a camera you won't outgrow quickly, the D5100 is perfect. July 19, 2011
Excellent DSLR, clumsy video camera I've had this camera for a couple weeks now and absolutely love it. Focus is fast, accurate and the shutter is responsive. I had a 35mm SLR years ago, and it is great to be back. I don't think I'll be able to use a point and shoot ever again after the speed of this camera. My only complaint is the video camera. If you are buying this primarily for video, don't! While the video quality is superb, the controls for video are clumsy. The video focus is much like the SLR focus, where you press shutter button half way down. If the subject moves closer or further away from lens, you need to refocus. The Nikon DVD suggest using manual focus for this, but still clumsy. I'm a professional TV camera man accustomed to manual focus, but a SLR lens is awkward to try to follow focus with a moving subject. Don't get me started on trying to do a smooth zoom with a SLR lens. Just buy a $4-500 HD video camera separately for your video needs. July 17, 2011
Great enthusist camera So, I've put about 1200 pictures through the camera. I've been playing with the features and settings in different lighting and environments. It does take a bit to do things manually, but if I wanted a point and click, that's what I would've bought! BTW, the food scene mode makes he food look very appetizing even in poor lighting. I took my D5100 through the desert and to Niagara Falls. It survives the dry heat and water exposure (not immersed, just like getting rained on while taking pictures). I am very happy with the overall quality of the build, especially for the price. It is a good value camera. The body itself is pretty light, it is the optics that will add mass. I think the best feature I like is the battery life. I can leave the camera 'on' all day and the low power mode when you're not actively taking pictures does a great job of preserving the battery. I took over 300 pictures yesterday (Raw+Large) and the battery meter was still full. I would almost say you don't need a spare battery; but I carry one because I'm a paranoid engineer. I use the wide 18-55 VR lens for most of my pictures; however, I also recommend the 55-300 VR lens for long range shots. The VR makes a huge difference. Taking picture from a boat really made for steady, clean images. I also invested in the wireless remote. It's pretty cheap and it works really well. I set the Fn button to switch between single, multi-, and remote modes, so it's easy to get myself in the shot now without the 10 second timer. The flip around screen helps, but not at longer ranges where you can't really see a 3 inch screen. The only area I have not really been successful in is night imaging of the sky and landscape. I figure it's mostly user inexperience and the need of a tripod. However, other images/movies I've seen taken with the D5100 show impressive imagry. I am very happy with this camera. The two lenses and a tripod will take you a long way. A faster Prime lens is next for me. Now I just have to learn how to use the photo editing software. July 15, 2011
Excellent photos, easy to use, but very flexible I am an amateur but my photos are getting rave reviews. I am learning the camera, one step at a time, but can always just let the automation make up for my lack of experience. Shot after shot, the images just come out fantastically. High points include landscapes such as a beautiful Alaskan sunset, a seaplane on the water which I posterized and framed or the capture of a hummingbird at a feeder. This review will do the experienced photographer little good, but if you just love beautiful photographs and wished you could take them, this is the camera for you. July 14, 2011
This camera is great Tons of features, great pictures, and once you use it you can't put it down July 12, 2011
Easy to use, love all the features. Great camera, didn't need to go to school to figure out how to use it. I love how this camera picks all the correct settings for you, but still allows you the freedom to use your own settings and still get great, clear, Focused pics. July 12, 2011
great camera short and sweet, this camers rocks.easy to use and takes awsome pix the vari-angle screen is hard to see in direct sun, other than that i would recommend this camera to anyone!! thanks Nikon! July 11, 2011
Easy to use - excellent pictures Right out of the box this camera was easy to use with excellent results. I am excited about learning how to use this camera to its full extent. July 10, 2011
Love my D5100! I'm a returning college student majoring in photography and just purchased the D5100 at Best Buy as a bundle with an extra lens, 55-200mm and other goodies. I'm coming into Nikon from a different brand. Now the camera. What a sweet DSLR and all the extras that come in it are simply amazing. I know how to use a DSLR but I wanted to start out with one that was not really entry level and not a professional but a prosumer and I feel the D5100 is that camera. I haven't even begun to explore all of the shooting options and settings, but out of the box the images are stunning! I've tried several settings and scene modes and the camera goes beyond my expectations everytime. I'm not a video shooter, but am looking forward to trying the video setting. Both lenses are great and take wonderful shots. The articulating screen is great as well for getting those difficult shots. I will upgrade in the fall or next year to the D90 or D7000, but for now the D5100 is all I need to take great photos withbrilliant results. Thank you Nikon and I'm thrilled to be part of your family! July 8, 2011
Great Camera! Very happy with this camera... if you are a serious photographer, you won't be disppointed... Lots of bells, whistle, and rings on this camera. July 7, 2011
This camera far exceeded in its features I have been a film photographer for 55 years. This is my first venture into digital phtography. I was somewhat overwhelmed when I opened the box, and it has taken me some time to undrstand all of its features. While I haven't taken many photos as yet, I like its feel and handling. Nikon has made every effort to help me get started, and I am looking forward to experimenting with its many features. July 6, 2011
Still learning the camera but it works very well. I have the camera one week and I am still learning the features. To date, the 5100 does things that my previous slr did not do. My onlly complaint is that the photo shop the I purchased the camers from would not give me the camera bag eventhough I upgraded to a 300mm lens in place of the 200 mm lens on the Nikon special special. July 5, 2011
Most excellent camera. Exactly what I expected I've had this camera for 2 weeks and originally purchased it for basic use. After this time, I realize now that I will be taking a lot more photos simply because this camera makes you fall in love with taking pictures. The quality is awesome. The camera is very user friendly, even for novice like myself. I took 300 shots today for 4th of July celebration and amazed everyone at the party with how well the pix came out. HD video of the fireworks show was excellent. This is truely an all around perfect camera for someone who is just getting into dSLR photography. I couldn't be happier. July 4, 2011
Need a camera that was idiot-proof, full-function I chose the 5100 to document archaeological work. (I am finally forced to give up 35mm film.) I need to capture high detail in all sorts of field conditions and the camera be simple for the various crew members to operate. This one has functioned perfectly over the past month. I shoot everything from close-up pictures of artifacts to landscapes with the presets (NEF and fine jpegs) and I've yet to be disappointed. I don't see how one could do better for the money. The HD movie function has been a great plus. July 4, 2011
Amazing I bought the 999.00 package at best buy camera w 18-55 and 55-200 , bag, strap , cords..great deal! Going back to get the black tie protection plan with in the 14 day period. I am a total beginner using the dslr. I decided that i love taking photos and upgraded from a point and shoot camera. A ton of things to learn. I didnt even start reading the manual yet. I learned the basic things just fiddeling around on it. I took my first picture of my hen and I think the quality was amazing! Landscape pictures are beautiful it does bring out good color. I was debaiting on buying the d7000 over the d5100- but the price and similarity made my decision. You cant go wrong with this nikon and so far i had no issues with it I will post another reveiw after learning much more and taking more photographs. I cant wait! Here are some pictures... :) I used the reg 18-55mm lens. July 3, 2011
Love this camera!!! Great camera, have an N75 which is a great one also and never have had a problem with it which is why I got another Nikon. Upgraded to a DSLR to see each shot instantly. Takes great pics in any light if you get your settings right and the colors are beautiful. Great action pics of our grandson playing baseball. The battery is amazing, I bought 1 as a backup but still haven't used it yet. After 2 wks. and 380 photos only down 1 bar on battery. I use the viewfinder not the screen to take pics but do use the screen to check the shots afterwards and the zoom. Mostly use the manual on the lenses, just like shooting that way. Haven't done any video on it yet, didn't buy it for that, will probably use it sometime. They are larger than some point and shoot cameras, though not much depending on the lens you use. They do weigh more if you are not use to carrying one all day long so a good bag is important. If you are hiking with it you don't want it dangling off your arm or neck or you will damage you lens sooner or later. There are some great camera backpack bags or sling bags for them that hold 2 lenses that are small and take the weight off of you and are well worth it by the end of the day. Nikon also has waterproof ones which may cost more but well worth it considering what you have invested in your equipment. Read the manual and learn it and you will be happy with it. Always a good idea to have a second battery ready for a camera with this much on it. Don't want to loose power at the wrong time or place. As fast as it can take photos a second card is a good idea also unless you have a large one. I love the fact that it tells you how many shots you have left on the setting you choose to use. June 30, 2011
Product has wonderful features First Nikon camara and I love it! It's lightweight and has alot of bells and whistles. The camara and extra lens 55-200 are so compact I could put both in a smaller camara bag which I love. The features are right there in the same central area. Very impressed! June 30, 2011
Great First in my collection Easy to use versus a Sony ( I believe A200) I borrowed for a shoot a month ago. Great Photo and Video quality. Yes you may not have exposure control on video but that why its a camera not a camcorder. It is great for short video. June 30, 2011
My third NIKON digital slr - it is the best! I have had two other NIKON digitals stolen and the D5100 was my Fathers' Day gift from the family. It has actually surprised me as being even better than the others. The nature pictures are incredible and the portraits are perfect. The four shots per second is awesome and the fast shutter captures everything. June 29, 2011
Great Camera I had a Canon T2i and Nikon D3100 and sold them to buy the D5100. It is the best camera I have ever owned. Picture quality is great. I also bought the 35 1.8g lens and 55-300. Spend your money on that zoom instead of the 55-200 it is worth the extra money. Special effects features are great. Noise is low even at high ISOs. LCD is great. June 29, 2011
Awsome camera Not feeling to write much here as i am tired but aha! what a camera it is! Ooosum! its display, megapixels, hd video, loving it every weekend i am busy with this, 4000 clicks in 4 weeks. Recommended to every DSLR lover June 28, 2011
just bought this camera, so far it has lived up to the nikon name. i love the 70-300 vr lens it is great. will buy a better flash soon though. June 28, 2011
I had have different brabd name cameras digital SLR, but Nikon D5100 is the best. Easy to work with and amazing colors. June 27, 2011
Extremely Satisfied I recently purchased the D5100 after reading reviews of both the Nikon D5100 and Canon D60. I was mostly a point and shoot type of person using a Sony Cyber-shot for the last several years. With my children being more involved in activities I wanted to move to a DSLR to document and enjoy their actives even more. The first day after purchasing the D5100 I was taking amazing photos of my 9 yr old son playing baseball, crystal clear action shots and the next day taking equally as good photos of my 10 yr old daughter playing soccer. The camera was very easy to use. I had another parent taking pictures for me at the soccer game after only a quick lesson on how to use it, they mentioned how impressed they were with its ease of use and they needed to get one also. I think going from a point and shoot to a DSLR, I would have been equally impressed with either camera however, since the only camera I have used is the D5100, I’m happy to report that I am extremely happy with it and would recommend it to anyone who is taking a step up as I have. It is the perfect camera that I needed for my family photos with lots of room to grow. Note: I bought the camera with an additional lens (55-200mm AF zoom lens) I would consider this a must to zoom in close for excellent action shots of your children’s sporting events and activities. Extremely satisfied! June 26, 2011
before the d5100 came out, i was going to but a canon eos t3i, which was somewhat new at the time. then, the d5100 came out and i researched it and bought it about 3 days after it came out. its a really good camera. its fast and reliable and i would recommend this camera to anyone! June 24, 2011
This is best camera ever. I am really like to photography such this kinda cameras. This cameras has already excellent features but I brought 70-300 mm lanes more additional sharp photography. I love my D5100. June 22, 2011
Well above average.. I use to consider myself an average amateur photographer... I bought the D5100 and got all my settings right and now think I can consider myself well above average. This camera is very simple to use and will turn your world upside down! Anything from simple still shots to quick action shots come out perfect. I would highly recommend this camera! June 21, 2011
product dvd called nikon school dvd&Manual option this is a gr8 product it is like love in 1st sight however u guys can stop sending or packing bilingual manuals instead mail them on request or email in individual language when u guys will make nikon school dvd for 5100 i had a bundle purchase at bestbuy in camera bag the old dvd was found for 5000 series overall excellent pricing and i enjoy the unit "dan" June 20, 2011
Page: 14 15 16 17 18 ... 26
<<prev | next>>
38 Questions | 43 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
38 Questions | 43 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
8 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

Which is better camera D5100 or D3200?

Nov 6, 2014 by
by
Larry
Eaton, OH 45320, USA
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I can buy display model of D5100 for $125 less than new d3200. I think both with same lens.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Larry
Eaton, OH 45320, USA
Location : 
Eaton, OH 45320, USA
Age: Over 65
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, typed the answer in the wrong box.
If I was choosing, my choice would be the D5100. Although it has less megapixels, it has more features.
Nov 6, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D5200 has a built in intervalometer.
Nov 6, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers