Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T04:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 17 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.8609073 false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 17 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.1498616

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
Excellent Camera The Nikon D5100 is an excellent investment! I've never been a picture taker, at least not until I purchased this camera. Now I capture everything. Initially, there are too many functions, but when you get familiar with the camera, the possibilities are endless and a real joy. I do recommend multiple lenses! October 13, 2011
Excellent shutter speeds and features I love my D5100. I have been using it during my daughters softball games. The pictures are incredible! I would recommend this camera in a heart beat! Great job Nikon! October 13, 2011
really good product--great features have used a Canon AE-1 for 30 years and just joined the digital age a few weeks ago. A whole lot different than what I have been used to and will take some time to become proficient at using it. It is be a lot more complicated than my old Canon but I am enjoying every minute of learning how to use it. Get frustrated at times! Really is a fantastic camera and have no reservations about it. October 13, 2011
Outstanding product and features! I've had the D5100 for less than a week, and played the educational DVD that came with it, and learned so much! We live by a Lake, and took a drive to capture some sights, and were we delighted! And, we haven't even scratched the surface of what this camera is capable of. I have ZERO regrets with tthis purchase and my husband vows to buy his own D5100 now. October 12, 2011
The Best! I used to own a Canon years ago when I owned a photography store. During that time I was doing Wedding Photography with film. This Nikon camera does circles around the Canon - I love it!! October 11, 2011
Pretty good Excellent camera. Novice to SLRs and this is my first digital SLR. Already took it out for shooting my daughters' cross-country race and it worked great. My only gripe is that the video mode isn't a stand-alone feature like Canon has. It is a multi-step procedure that is a pain. But if you want a great camera, this is one of them October 11, 2011
D7000 vrs D5100 Video This is my Travel and Video Camera I like to shoot HD1080p at 30fps, and wish they would unlock the firmware to go faster. The articulating LCD is very good, especially for video. October 7, 2011
Excellent! It was an exciting thing! This camera is so easy to use. Great quality photos. Awesome October 7, 2011
Awesome Camera I have had this camera for about a week now. I used to to shoot a ton of pictures over the past weekend of a climbing trip I went on. It worked really well and took some incredible pictures. Overall I was very pleased with how the camera performed. As of right now, there are no major issues I can think of. October 5, 2011
My first digital SLR camera Its very suitable and powerful device. I bought it few month ago and still havn't a large practice with it. But that i have already try with 5100 - i was delighted. October 5, 2011
Amazing for the price I am a professional photographer/cinematographer. I have used Nikon cameras since the sixties, both film and digital. This camera is amazing for the price. I have used the D3, the 7000, as well as most of Nikon's upper-end film cameras, and find myself using this camera for nearly 80% of my field work. I added a battery grip, which has given it a great feel...not unlike the 7000, although lighter. I highly recommend this camera for serious amateurs and professionals who might find it a great back-up camera. October 4, 2011
New but so far excellent Too early to evaluate completely - so far the camera and lens perform beautifully October 4, 2011
This product has great features Extremely adaptive camera, takes great pictures, day and night, indoors and out. Sharp detailed images, almost always true colors. Skip the View NX software that comes with the package. Very limited capabilities, really just a come-on to get you to try and buy their actual photo editor, Capture. Suggestion - order PhotoShop along with the camera so you're ready to go. October 4, 2011
For the money you can't beat this camera. I had a canon digital rebel and switched to the d5100 and love it. This camera blows the competition away! October 4, 2011
A cheep D7000 I have a D7000 and this is the same sensor. It has great low noise high ISO capabilities. It is lighter then the D7000, has less buttons but the MYMENU gets you to commonly changed things fast. October 3, 2011
Exellent camera...high quality Nikon is one of the most admired brand of camera in the world, and the result of this achievement is because of their high quality image, precision, strong building design even for the entry level model as the D5100,..and the most important to mention is that Nikon have every camera that will suit all your needs... September 30, 2011
Love it This is my first "nice" camera and it is so easy to use. My photos look professional with very little effort. I appreciated the instructional DVD - it helped me learn about some of the advanced features that I would never take the time to learn from reading the manual. So far I've mostly used the sports mode feature to take great shots of my son playing football. I cant wait to take many landscape photos in Hawaii later this year. September 29, 2011
Just what I needed Im just starting out in photography and this camera is the perfect introduction. Everything I need and so easy to use. Any one who is just starting or advanced to the next level this is the camera for you. September 27, 2011
I wish to choose no other camera I have been reserching this camera for months,Nikon D5100..I started with the D3100 but decided i prefer the higher grede. I just could not resist getting thie camera, I am looking forward to loving it even more, now that it is in my posession. September 22, 2011
Excellent consumer-level machine I also own a D80 which I'm quite pleased with but I wanted the CMOS sensor. My first choice was the D7000 but every time that I saw it available, I'd sleep on the decision and then it was no longer available. One retailer was selling the D5100 without a lens (which I didn't want anyway) for substantially less than the D7000 so I jumped on it as it has all the D7000 functions that are important to me except for the focus motor but I can live without that. The sensor performed as well as I had expected (which is absolutely great) and the camera settings screen was a very pleasant surprise - pretty much everything right in front of me and easily adjusted. Video doesn't interest me so I can't say much about that aspect. September 20, 2011
Excellent Product for the price I have taken over 50 photos of different brides and each and every one has come up very well. Very good camera raw though it took time to download the raw driver. The lens gives sharp pictures and the kit lens is acceptable September 18, 2011
Nikon D5100 I am a newbie to Nikon,but I always wanted to get Nikon DSLR. Now I got it. D5100 rocks. September 13, 2011
A light camera heavy on features. This is only a limited review since I did not take my D5100 extensively to the road yet. However, from the tests I conducted, the D5100 performed exceedingly well. It is light to carry with a good battery life, and has a rmarkable resolution. The D5100 is an easy camera to understand and to configure to one's liking, and it works with all my Nikkor lenses, even the old ones, by using the range finder feature. September 13, 2011
Light in weight, heavy on excellence This DSLR is the ultimate in quality, features, handling and user-friendliness, for the enthusiastic snap-shooter, more intermediate photog, and the push-the-boundaries experimentalist. High resolution, pixels, auto focus with manual override option, lens options, vibration reduction. The body fits well in a range of hand sizes and is easily handled, lightweight enough even for those with some arthritic impairment, but heavy enough to not jeopardize steady shutter release. Superb range and facility of color and light adjustment. Easy to understand menus and settings. Outstanding results. The best digital I've owned out of five. September 13, 2011
This product is JUST what I was looking for I am 14 years old and have been doing photography for the past 2-3 Years. I am currently showing my art in a gallery around where I live. I like to photograph nature and animals-mostly dogs and horses. I horseback ride and when it is time for my shows my dad, who is quite the amateur, is able to take AMAZING pictures. Also, the modes and effects they have are GREAT! I use the color select and silhouette modes the most next to auto. The auto mode has done no wrong for me yet. The only complaint I have is the movie mode. The quality is AMAZING but once you download the movie to your computer there can be a lag in it. That is my own small complaint but over all its a great camera and has amazing qualities. September 8, 2011
D5100 has great features The D5100 is a great camera to explore your photographic creativity with. Very user friendly for beginners. Looked and researched many cameras before settling on the D5100, the D3100 was my other choice. The creative modes on this camera are great and fun to play with. Nikon is the best. September 6, 2011
Pro quality images can be done by anyone! I have always wanted a DSLR, so when my wife and I were on the way to the hospital to deliver our first child last week, we decided to stop and make the investmet. I had been reviewing DSLRs online for a couple of weeks, reading reviews, watching side by side comparisons, etc...and in the end I went with the D5100. I am so happy I did. While my wife was in labor for 3 days, I spent some quality time with the owner's manual. I could ot believe the veritable wealth of features this camera has to offer. There is virtually a set-up for every type of shooting environment you can think of...from candle lit rooms, to night time city scapes, to fields of blossoming flowers. I'm telling you, just get to know your D5100 a little before running out the door with it and you'll be very glad you did. It's much easier to use than I originally thought and would recommed it to someone wanting to take amazing quality photos in limitless conditions or even the avid photographer who wants a grab & go set up with endless capabilities. Truly love this thing! September 6, 2011
great camera for preserving memories I am new to digital photography. What I love about D5100 is that it is easy to use. My family and I went on a vacation on one of the tourist spots here in our country and this camera helped us preserve the memories that we had on that tour. This camera made that tour more special. I am excited in learning of all the features of this wonderful camera so that I can preserve more beautiful memories. September 3, 2011
Good Quality This camera is an investment from my mom. I use it for school school and fashion shows for my school. September 2, 2011
In a Photo Contest after 10 Days I decided to buy the D5100 the same day my digital camera fell to its death in the Teton Mountains. I follow Nikon’s product line and bought the D5100 without hesitation. It was the right decision. I appreciate its size, light weight, state of the art technology, the covered LCD panel, and not too many buttons and switches on the body. The best features of this camera are the quick and accurate 11-point focus, and the ability to get the color and exposure right in dim light with high ISO settings. The automatic focus computer works with you as the flashing red light travels from point to point to find the one you want for the focus. Even box cameras with film do good in bright sunlight, but in dim light when forced into high ISO then the ability to get a sharp and true picture requires a Nikon as the D5100. Also, taking a dozen pictures at four frames per second is a blast! I entered one of my first pictures in a national photo contest after 10 days with the camera. Aim to get the camera with the 18-55 mm lens. It may seem a humble lens, but it is my lens of choice for close up and indoor photography. Nikon did an excellent job matching that lens and the camera. I found there is a big difference between the fields of view of 28 and 18 mm lenses. This 18 mm lens will give you superior coverage for indoor photography. One of the features which I prize is the high definition video recording. The D5100 is superior to my big-name video camera in the following features: 30 frames per second, not 24. A viewfinder so that I able to see and control operations in bright light. A convenient start/stop switch avoiding camera wobble. An 18 mm wide angle lens instead of 28 for improved indoor videos. I use a 32 MB SDHC card with a speed of 10 Mbits per second. The D5100 produces a mpg-4 video file. Use the fps rate that works with your equipment, especially your personal computer. Best features: Mastery of high ISO photography, accurate focus, video, feel & balance. Worst features: Short battery life (with LCD). No exterior AC port. Recommended accessories: The coffee tumbler (#11817) At least one extra battery, a zoom as the 55-200 or 28-300, the camera case, and the cable release (assuming you have a tripod). September 1, 2011
Page: 12 13 14 15 16 ... 26
<<prev | next>>
34 Questions | 38 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
34 Questions | 38 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
5 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I want to buy Nikon D5100 .Please suggest suitable model with main accessories.

May 9, 2012 by
by
Prashant
USA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Need to know about D5100: which features/accessories should I keep in mind while purchasing camera.Shall I go for 18-55 mm lens or 18-200 lens or both. Kindly suggest.
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Prashant
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. f/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Also, for information regarding the D5100, please click on the link below:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
May 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers