Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T16:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 18 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.7720463 false false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 18 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.0711842

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
Great Buy! Building my photography business using this camera and honestly love it! Great price, great product. November 16, 2011
Great Product Overall. First of all, let me say that this was worth every penny! I moved on from a fixed lens camera, the Sony DSC-F828, which I found to be really handy but slow and had aberration littering all of the pictures. Pros: This camera has amazing features, and is really user-friendly for those of us just entering photography as beginners/amateurs with peaking interest. It was a helpful info button that lets you know what's going on. Also, the interface is nice in that it gives you a visual of what's going on in your camera [e.g. the camera's aperture/f-stop changing]. Also, for the artsy fartsy crowd, it has cool effects and loads of scene's you can choose from. Oh, and the HDR feature is really quirky and makes for interesting pictures with less post-capture editing. Cons: My only qualm with this camera is that the white balance can be off in indoors lighting, and the Preset doesn't always work that well. In dim Fluorescent lighting such as in classrooms/lecture halls [I'm a student], the white balance gets a bit confused and pictures come out dull and bluish - in sunlight though, it does an amazing job. The Bottom Line: As a student, I love this camera and found it to be an amazing upgrade from my last camera; it works really well and is really quick and has cool effects for the amateurs, but it lacks in the white balance category. November 16, 2011
So far, very excited with my Nikon D5100 I've always wanted to be a photographer, my dream, but life took me other areas. Always been the family photographer, drive the grandkids crazy, pose here & there and everywhere. Now I have this wonderful camera, have been reviewing the Video and learning bit by bit what this camera can do, WOW, so far have been very very happy with the sharp, natural, vibrant colors, the more I read and learn the more I know I can enhance the Family Portraits and the Landscape photo's I love to take. My sweetface husband and I travel alot and I love to capture what we see and share with love ones. I am sooooo happy I purchased this camera because I am seeing results from pictures I had never seen before from a "Not" professional photographer like me. LOVE NIKON!!!! Highly recommend this camera!!! November 15, 2011
Everything I expected............. I hesitated to go digital after the many years of film photography. Now that all of my favorite films are gone I decided its time. I am very glad that I did. The pictures I have taken with my D5100 are outstanding and the camera is very user friendly. Now I'm wondering why I waited so long. November 11, 2011
Ah-mazing! My parents just recently bought me this camera for my 16 birthday and i love it! it takes beautiful pictures and the picture below i took with a 70-300 mm Sigma lense. I never leave my house without my camera! November 11, 2011
great camera i have watched hours revies for this camera and it looks amazing i am going to buy it tonight November 10, 2011
1st DSLR - Awesome It was between a bridge super-zoom and DSLR and i'm glad i picked up this camera. I bought the 18-55 VR kit with 55-300 telephoto zoom and it's awesome. I'm mostly starting shooting in Auto Mode, but will everntually experiment with rest of options. Camera has a great feel to it & pictures come out looking sharp. November 10, 2011
Great product with a little quirk I have used this camera for two weeks and find it to be a wonderful camera suitable to meet needs of any photo enthusiast. HDR, tilted screen, ADL are great and so is the picture quality. Found noise upto ISO 1600 to be acceptable. Auto ISO does work differently in newer Nikon models like D3100,D5100 and D7000 so in comparison to D40 or D90 this one will push ISO higher than expectations to balance background. November 9, 2011
Awesomest (That was my 6 years old comment) Easy to use. Great pictures. I feel like i'm a professional photographer. My team action shots are amazing. November 8, 2011
geat features Love everything about this camera EXCEPT still having trouble figuring out selective color!! November 8, 2011
Plenty of Bang for the Buck Had for 1 week. Love it! Easy enough for a beginner but has the quality and options to satisfy a Pro. November 8, 2011
One of the best I ever had. VERY SHARP PICTURES AND VIDEO. EVEN IN LOW LIGHT. LOT OF OPTIONS TO TAKE PICTURES. November 8, 2011
does the job well Got this plus two good plastic lenses (18-55; 55-200) for the price of a D7000 body. Can't beat it: same guts as the D7000 for $300 less. Articulating screen is handy when working on a tripod or shooting video (I don't, but it's supposed to do that well, too). My only gripe: I often find myself digging through menus and wishing there were more buttons on the body for adjusting settings. The D5100 is, regardless, an excellent camera. Have no doubts about buying one. November 6, 2011
The Nikon 5100 camera is verything perfect The Nikon 5100 camera is lightweight, full of powerful advance features and yet easy to use. Most functional keys and switches are within hand’s grip. This camera is everything perfect for a beginner like me November 5, 2011
great camera easy to learn i have had this camera for just over 1 week and have been able to take great pictures right from the start, it is very easy to use and the menu's are well laid out November 2, 2011
Incredible This camera has many uses. With a 16.9 megapixels, you can take pictures that are more than perfect to any taste. The video is a plus, the 1080p resolution can give any video the boost it needs to get great ratings. I filmed some skate videos on this thing and the tilt-shift screen adds flexibility to any angle you want to shoot. November 2, 2011
Worthwhile upgrade from my trusty D40x A fantastic camera, waited for it to upgrade from my trusty D40x...the one thing I hated the most was the 3 point autofocus, and the D5100 really solves that issue.Feel and build quality are excellent, articulated LCD a nice touch, (if you use live view)..and the 55-300mmVR kit lens is the perfect upgrade from the 55-200mmVR that wasn't quite long enough in most situations..LOVE the, grip, overall feel, shutter sound..and top it off with the Costco $949 deal (18-55mmVR, 55-300mmVR, case, Dvd's, etc.)..highly recommended. November 1, 2011
The 5100 has everything you need for great pics. This camera with an 18-200 lens is the perfect walk around camera. It is a good compliment camera to my D300s. November 1, 2011
This is superlative I have had a D200, a D300 and a D90. This camera has all of them beat in every aspect . What a great camera. Destined to be a classic. November 1, 2011
Only had my new D5100 for about 2 weeks. Since our weather here in the Pacific NW has been somewhat less than condusive to my type of photography, I haven't had much opportunity. But...have taken it out a couple times & got some super sensational pictures. I particularly like the way the auto focus zeros in on the subject & forgets about the background. I've shot another brand for close to 30 years & have never had that confidence that my close-ups were going to be what I was actually seeing. November 1, 2011
Does everything without even thinking about it Just picked it up for the holiday season. Had all the things I was looking for after shooting film for years with my F, FA, F3, and a few other point and shoot digitals. Halloween first on the list with some action and lighting queues to deal with. Had the camera for just two days and was able to get amazing shots in the low lights with moving 3.5year old and 16 month old mostly on auto settings. Unbelievable shots without the flash. Couldn't be happier after years of film and no such thing as auto focus or auto iso. Makes even a novice look good. November 1, 2011
It's overall features & capabilties r outstanding Although I am just new to DSLR photography but i have understood one thing for sure... that the world's best camera is a gifted one i.e. our eyes and nothing can match against its abilities. Still this camera has lots of potential and if used properly and according to the concepts of photography, then it can yield mesmerizing photographs. Its still and video are both extraordinary. Last not the Least, practice makes perfect. So, hope this could be helpful to all. October 30, 2011
operation ease of operation is great. love the features on the camere.. good buy for the money. October 27, 2011
Great camera with easy to use features I usually don;t waste my time on these reviews unless I have something to warn people about. I have nothing negative, however to say about my new D5100. In any of the auto modes it is as easy to use as a point and click and takes fabulous photos. Although I have had this camera less then 2 months (I am not an accomplished photographer but I do know how to frame and compose) the features required little teaching. I found by reading the manual and watching the DVD included in my package that everything was relatively easy and somewhat intuitive. I highly recommend this camera to anyone interested in taking more then the usual "point and click" quality photos and have, in fact, already bought another one for my son to use for photographing our soon to be new grandchild...... October 25, 2011
Early Review So far everything is as advertised. The Video is a lot of help. Worth watching several times to get it down. October 25, 2011
Enjoying the product I am getting back into photography after many years. I love the possibilities of this camera. Simply as a point and shoot but can be put into manual mode and played with to your heart's content. I was taken back on the prices of lenses, but the range you now find compared to the pre-digital age is amazing. I have 3 lenses and range from 18mm to 500mm, couldn't have done that 30 years ago. Nikon has my vote all around! October 25, 2011
Great for beginners This is my first dslr camera and I absolutely love it. It is easy to use and produces high quality images. I'd recommend this to anyone wishing to use this for recreational purposes, but as it does produce excellent photos, I'm sure someone wishing to use it for professional photography would also have great success. October 19, 2011
great features Great camara for the price! Had it for 3 weeks now and could not be happier with it. October 19, 2011
A great upgrade/ A good place to start Weather your updating from an older Nikon like I did (D50), or just starting out, this is a fantastic camera. I had mine a month now and love it. My favorite feature is the articulating screen with live view. It opens so many possibilities of positions to take a photo from, that would have been nearly impossible otherwise. Another thing I like is how intuitive the controls are. The menus are clear and easy to follow, and the on screen info is large enough to read without reading glasses.(I'm older) I like how you can jump to a commonly changed setting by hitting the "info" button with your right thumb and scroll down to the item. wa-lah. I haven't tried the video yet so I can't report on that. The only negative I have found is that the pad button has a cheap feel to it. My D50 was also made of plastic yet it held up to alot of abuse. So I would assume that that would be true with the D5100 as well. I highly recommend this camera. October 18, 2011
I love my D5100. I love my D5100. Good Image Quality and features for the money. But if you want a great camera, this is one of them. This camera blows the competition away! October 18, 2011
Page: 11 12 13 14 15 ... 26
<<prev | next>>
36 Questions | 40 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
36 Questions | 40 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I want to buy Nikon D5100 .Please suggest suitable model with main accessories.

May 9, 2012 by
by
Prashant
USA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Need to know about D5100: which features/accessories should I keep in mind while purchasing camera.Shall I go for 18-55 mm lens or 18-200 lens or both. Kindly suggest.
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Prashant
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. f/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Also, for information regarding the D5100, please click on the link below:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
May 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers