Loading

Inspired performance in a size that keeps you shooting.

Shot of the Nikon D7000's rear body with a photo of a girl in a purple dress jumping over boulders while carrying a pink umbrella, and a guy following her, under a blue sky
Amazing photography isn’t only about what you shoot and how you shoot it, it’s also about what you shoot it with. The high resolution, multi-featured Nikon D7000 gives you 16.2 megapixels of vividly detailed images, a more sensitive DX-format CMOS sensor that delivers high ISO with low noise, plus various automatic and customizable settings to take your pictures and videos from great to gorgeous. Shoot up to 6 fps or record every second of the action with full HD 1080p D-Movies with Nikon’s advanced autofocus system to impress and inspire.
Nikon D7000 photo of a girl on a pool float, in a pool, shot from above, and an inset image of the CMOS sensor

Stunning image details

16.2-megapixel CMOS sensor

Whether you want to make large prints or crop tightly in an image, the D7000 delivers the resolution you need. At its heart is a DX-format CMOS image sensor with 16.2 effective megapixels, optimally engineered to gather more quality light through sharp NIKKOR lenses. Coupled with 14-bit A/D conversion (12-bit selectable), the D7000 produces stunning images that are richer in tone and detail than previously possible in DX format.
Photo of the rear of the Nikon D7000 with an image of wildlife on the LCD

A new era of movie capture

Breathtaking Full HD 1080p D-Movies

The D7000 is equipped to help you create impressive cinematic masterpieces with Full HD 1080p and movie editing functions for exceptional scene reproduction and quality. In addition to smooth video, the camera can compensate for distortion and other image-degrading problems. Aside from a built-in monaural microphone, the D7000 incorporates an external mic jack for high-quality stereo sound recording options.
Nikon D7000 photo of a woman in a purple dress walking out of frame, with a guy following her, shot in the desert and inset with a grouping sequence of a guy on a motorcycle on a dirt road

Remarkably responsive

6 frames per second continuous shooting

Say farewell to missed opportunities. The D7000 incorporates a new driving mechanism to conduct its remarkably fast and precise mirror movements, giving you an approx. 0.052 second release time lag and an approx. 0.13 second start-up time. What’s more, you can continuously shoot at approx. 6 frames per second at both 14-bit and 12-bit A/D conversion for RAW shooting.
Nikon D7000 photo of a person jumping between large boulders with a group of people watching from the distance with inset example of the camera's ISO range

Crisp photos in any light

Wide sensitivity range of ISO 100 to 6400

ISO 100 to 6400 has now become standard with the D7000, enabling you to handle a wider range of lighting situations: from the bright and sunny outdoors to low-lit evenings and interiors. Nikon’s renowned noise reduction technology has been upgraded even further. Throughout the range, the D7000 delivers sharp images with minimized color noise. Quality, high-ISO performance can also enhance your movie shooting, allowing you to capture the mood of a scene using only available light.
Nikon D7000 photo of a lake shot in low light with an inset shot of the metering sensor

More accurate control

Ground-breaking 2,016-pixel RGB sensor

After the incredibly accurate 2,016-pixel RGB sensor reads a scene's lighting information, the D7000 cross-references what it sees with imaging data from a large selection of real-world shooting situations. This way, the renowned 3D Color Matrix Metering II delivers exposure results that are faithful to how you see light and shadow interplay, even in difficult lighting situations. This intelligent metering technique also delivers exceptionally accurate i-TTL flash exposures, and it all happens within milliseconds for both speed and precision.
Nikon D7000 photo of a guy on a slalom waterski, with an overlay of the camera's AF points illustrating the AF system.

Powerful, wide-area coverage

Customizable 39-point AF System

The D7000's strategically positioned 39 AF points cover a significantly wide area of the frame, giving you flexible compositional possibilities. The 9 AF points in the center utilize powerful cross-type sensors—especially useful when you need tack sharp focus, such as with portraits and macro work. The D7000 offers a variety of AF area modes, including Dynamic-area AF using 9, 21 or 39 points. Utilizing Nikon's Scene Recognition System, Auto-area AF properly judges the main subject within 39 AF points and focuses on it.
Nikon D7000 photo of four young adults on a large boulder in the mountains and inset photo of the camera's image processing engine

Improved image quality and speed

The newest generation image processing engine, EXPEED 2, is capable of performing multiple tasks with more speed and power. Expect smoother tonal gradations, even in difficult shadows and highlights, for a greater sense of depth in your images.
Photo showing the front and rear view of the Nikon D7000's magnesium alloy chassis

Rugged and protected

With a top and rear cover of durable magnesium alloy, the D7000 is ready for the outdoors. Nikon engineers paid meticulous attention to where exterior parts join by employing durable sealing against moisture and dust. The compact body has also undergone severe environmental tests to prove its rugged reliability.
Top rear of the Nikon D7000 body, shown from the rear of the body, including an illustrative image in the viewfinder

100% frame coverage

With approximately 100% frame coverage in the viewfinder, what you see is exactly what you capture. The specially coated glass pentagonal prism and precision-crafted finder screen offer not only a bright viewfinder image, but also enable you to easily confirm when a subject is in focus.
Photo of the rear of a D7000 camera body cropped tight on the LCD and surrounding buttons, with an image of a hurdle jumper on the screen

Rich image previewing

The D7000 features an expansive 3-inch VGA LCD. Its approx. 921k-dot resolution assures clear, detailed display of images, which proves invaluable when confirming focus or assessing image sharpness.

Expand the creative potential of the D7000

NIKKOR lenses & Nikon Speedlights for every situation

false false false product 25468-en_US 25468 25468 DIGSLR $999.95 false $999.95 NONE false false false 2011-03-15T04:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25468/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 25468 en_US D7000/en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/25468_D7000.png true /en_INC/o/wfp_-a8oOzwYuj4GXIe1NHkNdAU/Misc/D7000_tag.png Nikon’s D7000 features a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 6 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Power to Astonish. Features to Inspire. Power to Astonish. Features to Inspire. true 4.6 1460 true FLSHAPT STERMIC LCDMONCOV CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS CAPCOV PWRPAC RMTCORD EXTSER CABLAV EYEPIE CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH WIRELESS PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS GPS PWRCHG IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25468 25474 13019 3 false true false 25468 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25468 1.6372147 false false false product 25474-en_US 25474 25474 DIGSLR $1,299.95 false $1,299.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25474/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 25474 25474 en_US 18-105mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/25474_D7000.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, crisp detail, vivid color and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-105mm VR Lens Kit true 4.6 1460 false 0 false true false 25474 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 2179 D7000 25468 Product D7000 25468 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25474 2.232065 false false false product 13019-en_US 13019 13019 DIGSLR $1,849.95 false $1,849.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/13019/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 13019 13019 en_US 18-200mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/13019_D7000.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II lens for wide-angle to telephoto shooting; offering fast, accurate autofocus, crisp detail, vivid color and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-200mm VR Lens Kit true 4.6 1460 false 0 false true false 13019 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 2192 D7000 25468 Product D7000 25468 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13019 2.3835137

D7000 Body Only

Price $999.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25468, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Price $1,299.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25474, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-200mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Price $1,849.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 13019, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D7000 4.6 5 1462 1463
D7000 The D7000 even that it retains the DX format is a great improvement over my older D200. The feature of being able to customize the matrix, center weighted metering & spot metering in the B menu is a fantastic improvement. The movie feature is a nice addition if needed. The U1 & U2 custom features saves a lot of time when shooting in a rush. The addition is another plus, it allows you to shoot Raw & JPEG on different cards. In the event of a card failure i still have a backup available. This camera is so advanced it will remain state of the art for several years. A great product for the dollar. My next purchase will be a D800 FX if i even need the larger full frame feature. Great product, Thanks William July 17, 2012
1st DSLR and Lovin' it! I spent 15 years as a pro wedding gunner back in the 70's - I only wish this camera had been available then! Wow! Great shots, great feel, perfect weight, this one has everything I was looking for. I am VERY pleased with the D7000! July 17, 2012
Nikon D7000 Returned two D7000. I am a Nikon user for 25years. Was very dissatisfied with this Nikon product the first one had a shutter problem unrepairable and the second just, shut down with errr, at that point i had my dealer refund my money for the second time, as of this writing im still waiting for my credit. I purchased it because it had a rating of 41/2 stars if it was not for all my Nikon lens i would look into Canon. I understand they had bad times and i hope this is not an example of thinks to come. July 17, 2012
Solid body, excellent images. Did not have any of the negative experiences that I saw on the many forums. The only complaint that seemed to have any merit was about the mirror slap induced shake at certain shutter speeds. That was easily worked around. Properly set up, the auto focus proved to be much better than I was led to believe. I shot birds and bugs at high speed and had very good luck. I photographed a football game and a basketball game and had almost no misses. The extra resolution, compared to my D 90 & D 80 helps when I have to crop. My favorite set up for wildlife is my D 7000 and the 300 f4 Nikkor with the 1.4 tc. Paired with my 12-24 wide angle, it does a great job with landscape photos as well. I have not tried video. July 16, 2012
It takes great pictures in a variety of conditions. I was a long time Canon/Olympus owner and switched to the Nikon D7000 because of the features and thinking I would get more better pictures on the first try under less than ideal conditions. I was not disappointed. I've had the camera and multiple lenses over a year now and still love the camera. I do mostly outdoor nature photography, but have been very impressed with the low light indoor capabilities and close up garden photos. I've even upgraded my daughters to D5100 cameras and have been impressed with those. July 16, 2012
Amazing! After doing all the research, I have decide to get the D7000 for one particular reason--nothing's much better. The D7000 outshines every competition there is. I especially love it's amazing performance in low-light situation. And, of course, Nikon D7000 simply looks "beautiful", physically. It's a head turner. Whenever I use this camera, people just stares. It's a bonus for me. July 16, 2012
Great! Just got the D7000 last week, what a vast improvement over the D200. Images are much more detailed, viewfinder is much better. July 15, 2012
all round performer this is a serious camera that Nikon has produced amateur friendly yet features pro's will love i give it a 9.2/10 July 14, 2012
My First DSLR This is my first DSLR, and I am very glad that I chose to purchase the D7000. When I was looking into DSLR's, I had it narrowed it down to the D7000, D5100, Canon's 60D, and 7D. The D7000 happened to fall near the high end of the price range that I wanted to spend on a good quality camera, so that eliminated the 7D. After watching and reading many reviews of the remaining three cameras, I eliminated the D5100 because of it's lack of weather proofing. So then I was left with either the D7000 or the 60D. I had asked a friend what advice he could give me in making my decision between the two remaining choices, and all he had to say was, "Go to a store and choose the one that feels better in your hands since you will be holding it A LOT!" I thought to myself, "Thanks for nothing..." But I gave it a shot, and I realized that I liked the heft of the magnesium alloy on the D7000 much more than the lightweight of the 60D, which felt kind of "plasticky". I had already compared the specs between the two cameras and the D7000 seemed to also outperform the 60D in many areas (aside from video recording). So I purchased the D7000. From the very beginning, I definitely took some time to mess around with all of the settings and understand how ISO, shutter speed, and aperture worked together in creating pictures. And the availability of so many settings offered by the D7000 made this experience much more enjoyable. I have looked at the menu for the D5100, and maybe I would have been satisfied with the settings available on that camera had I not played around with the D7000. The D5100 also lacks the U1 and U2 settings on the D7000, which is another reason why I am glad I bought the D7000. Most of my shots are from my own custom settings that were saved onto U1 or U2. The 6fps burst mode and 1/8000 max shutter speed has definitely came in handy when I have taken pictures of both wildlife and sports. I also really like the fact that I can shoot RAW files at 6fps, even if the buffering capacity is kind of small at that size. The build quality of the D7000 feels very sturdy and I have had no problems with it so far (knock on wood). I have also taken pictures with it in a light rain and can say that I had no issues with water getting into the camera body! I would definitely recommend the D7000 to anyone who is trying to choose between the D7000 and the other beginner DSLR's. You definitely get what you pay for! July 14, 2012
Best of the DX Cameras Since "the proof is in the pudding" as the well-worn but sensible saying goes, it's impossible to avoid the reality that the D7000 provides more satisfying still pictures than any of its stablemates that I've owned before. It is capable of making fewer errors under a greater variety of lighting conditions than I've seen before. It also has Great Features in a small package. July 13, 2012
Danny Nikon D7000 is great, powerful, flexible, great video as well (two separate cards). Currently I use it with - Nikkor AF-S DX 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 G ED VR II -Nikkor AF-S 200-400mm F/4G ED VR II - Nikon Speedlight SB900 - Manfrotto 732CY + 484rc2. July 12, 2012
A Really Powerful DSLR It's only been a little over a week, but I find that the D7000 has a great number of features packed into an easy-to-use shell. I have experimented with many of the pre-programmed modes, and find that they function flawlessly. A great value! July 11, 2012
Great as expected!! I did a lot of research before purchasing the D7000. 99% of the reviews were positive so i was so psyched to get this. I was not disappointed. This camera, indeed has everything--from "point-and-shoot" features to the professional ones. This camera is truly an all-around companion. July 11, 2012
Some important features! I have found that the Mode Dial can turn too easily and requires frequent checking. I did not learn about the firmware update directly from Nikon and would have appreciated contact when an update became available. My greatest disappointment was with the Battery Pack MBD-11. It held only one battery in the battery pack and the other in the d7000 body. To me, a definite step backward. My D80 held BOTH batteries in the battery pack and was much, much easier to work with. Thanks for the opportunity to share my comments. July 10, 2012
This camera is a bright spot in my life When I look at the things that I have to do in my spare time, owning this camera really makes me happy when I think about. It's about the most fun toy that I have ever owned because it provides me with many new, happy, quality, learning experiences. I made the right decision about buying this camera and a nice zoom lens with it. It is so much fun! July 10, 2012
Amazing APS-C Camera This is an excellent camera. The images are sharp, the controls are easy to use, and it feels right in my hands. I was flirting between this and a Canon 60D. I went with the D7000 because of the higher quality build materials, and better low-light capabilities. The only downside I find, is that the autofocus when taking videos is slow to track your subject if they are moving on the Z-axis. Otherwise, this a great camera, and I doubt you will find a better SLR at a similar price. July 10, 2012
Great camera I have just completed a European trip to 3 countries and 7 cities in 2 weeks. I took almost 9 hundred shots. I don't think that the camera actually snapped more than 2 BAD shots during the entire trip. I am just scratching the surface. Did only automatic photo's. Got a lot to learn. So many options,..,. Looking forward to bigger and better photos. July 9, 2012
Excelllent DSLR I believe that The D7000 does deserve the 5 star rating. Its image quality is superior for its size of imaging chip and its speed, functions, and ergonomics make it a pleasure to use. About me: I’m an ex-professional, large format photographer who changed careers 20 years ago, but I still perform some minor professional assignments at work, mostly portraiture, events and some product photography. For me, digital photography took some getting used to as I developed from the D70 to D90 and now the D7000 as I left behind both large and medium format cameras, and Nikon “f” model SLRs. Each digital camera I have used has demonstrated substantial improvement in camera functionality, ease of use and IQ. I won’t extol the specific functions of the D7000, you can read all about those, and the Nikon engineers have done a marvelous job. But I will make a few comments about my first year experience with the D7000 and Nikon’s factory quality control. Keep in mind I’m a Nikon guy and I’m not about to switch brands, but I believe honesty is the best policy here. “Come on Nikon factory supervisors, get it together!” I was so excited when I ordered my D7000, and when I started to use it I became disappointed as I had mixed results. “What had happened to me”, I thought. ”Have I just lost my photo skills?” I couldn’t get accurate focus consistently no matter how careful I was. I can’t really manually focus very easily (the focusing screen just isn’t optimized for that) and my eyes aren’t what they used to be either. But really, how was I missing focus with an automatic focusing system so often? It was really embarrassing for me because the pictures just didn’t snap and I was forever trying to save the pictures by sharpening. Internet forums revealed other D7000 owners were having problems with their auto focus too and were using fine tuning adjustment to correct the problem. I did testing and my lenses seemed to be around -12 camera adjustment more or less, and I just plain felt angry about the situation. The camera was still in warranty, by two days, so I decided to take the camera in for repair. The repair team did a marvelous job and now I get very accurate focus with the D7000 and all my lenses. The exposure seems better too. Nikon needs to pay attention to this issue. Yet the camera provides truly great pictures and amazing handling. The only question is: is the larger FX sensor cameras really the way to go or does the DX give me everything I want? I’ll just have to think about that. July 9, 2012
Best bang for your buck Having owned this camera since introduction and using it weekly I can say without a doubt you will enjoy using this camera. Dynamic range and image quality at iso 100 is simply the best for landscape photos in a crop sensor. It is a perfect camera for travel and those with a family. Pair the camera with the optional battery grip and your set for those long telephoto lenses. I recommend pairing your camera with some good glass to take advantage of that sensor like 105 VR or maybe rokinon 35mm 1.4. 105 VR-$900 rokinon-35mm 1.4 $500 Highly recommend SB-700 July 9, 2012
WOW!!! I upgraded from a D90 with high expectations...and it delivered. Feels like a pro camera, and shoots like a pro camera. Excellent colors and shoots great in low light. With 2 card slots, it gives me a whole day of shooting without any worry. July 8, 2012
A Pleasant Surprise! I bought this to be a second camera to my D2x, so that I would not have to change lenses as often and risk getting dust onto the sensor of my baby, the D2x. But to my surprise it didn't work out that way at all. I loved using my D7000 so much that it became my prime camera and the D2x became my specialty lens camera. July 8, 2012
Easy to use for beginners, fun to use for the professional! I have owned my Nikon D7000 now for just over a year and I am still amazed by the quality of this product. I am glad I made this purchase after doing a total of 8 months of market research on DSLR's (4 months before the D7000 was available and 4 months after it was released). If you are looking for a good starter DSLR that you can grow into and won't need to upgrade for a long time, this is your camera. I look at this camera as more of an investment more than an expense. Don't get "sticker shock" by the price tag. This is truly an example of you pay for what you get. The quality you get outweighs the cost both for HD video and RAW or JPEG stills. July 8, 2012
Quality Product for the money Love the camera but have one issue. I generally shoot in Aperature Priority but the wheel where you set the shooting mode has no lock so if it gets bumped you could be shooting in Manual. You have to check your histogram and/or setting frequently. Other than that, it's a great camera and I enjoy using it. July 7, 2012
Great images even at high ISO Used for a variety of sporting and non-sports situations. This camera is durable and produces outstanding images. July 7, 2012
D90 Upgrade, Wonder if it is Worth It? I decided to upgrade to the D7000 from by wonderful D90 (because my daughter wanted it to give to my son-in-law for Father's Day). So, I bought a new D7000. Here is the bottom line: great features, excellent documentation, great feel, easy to adapt to from the D90. What about production, I just don't know. Still learning the camera and the way it works with my current lens inventory. However, things look very promising! So far the pet photo scene mode and the ability to save all user settings to a SD card are very nice upgrades! July 5, 2012
The best imagining device with a crop sensor I upgraded from my first DSLR, a D90, after shooting 3 decades with film. After 85,000 frames, the D90 is still flawless and likely to keep working at a high level for years to come. When the D7000 was announced, the specs were quite impressive but I waited for some time before I bought one since the D90 was serving me so well. I've shot with the D7000 for 14 months and find that is an extremely capable camera that should serve anyone who uses Dx format cameras, from beginner to pro. It is easy to use for those beginning in photography with effective automation but is also well suited to the working pro who values control and image quality. I've seen no DX camera with better image quality or low light performance. The most striking performance trait however is not talked about as much as low light work/high ISO, that is incredibly low noise and wide dynamic range at ISO100. Only the $3000 D800 is better in that regard that is so important to landscape photographers. The shadow recovery and lack of noise in shadows needs to be seen to be believed, giving greater post processing flexibility than an other crop sensor camera, and all but a couple full frame sensor cameras, all costing 2-6 times as much. The D7000 is a camera that one can start with and grow in skill over years and never exceed the capability of the camera. July 5, 2012
BEST CAMERA I love this camera. It has everything a person needs to take good pictures and videos. I recommend this camera to anyone who needs one. I choose this camera over Canon EOS 60D. July 5, 2012
Adding to my gear (D300) It was time to either get a digital camcorder or (preferred) a new Nikon using the lens's I already had and when necessary have the ability to shoot short video's. The ability of doing this plus having two DX slots took me over the fence. A bonus was I already had the Eye-pro X2 card and the camera's firm ware recognizes it. Now when I shoot the shots can be transferred immediately to my 'new iPad' or computer or website. Even tho the camera can with an add on device Geo-tag, the card already does that for me as long as there is Wi-Fi available. I also have the GoPro2 and it does an excellent job as well. July 5, 2012
Love the D7000 camera but am now disappointed I have owned/used my D7000 for 1.5 years and during that time have been completely satisfied with the photos that I was getting. I shoot primarily sporting events and I have gotten some noteworthy photos with this camera. However, I have now been significantly disappointed. While shooting a State Championship baseball game this spring the camera just stop working. An error ("err") in the control panel and an error ("err") in the view finder. Owners manual indicated "cameral malfuntion" - "contact authorized service representative". I had an extended warranty so I turned the camera in for repair. After two weeks I was informed that it could not be repaired, with no information as to what the malfunction was or why it could not be repaired. So now I have to replace the camera. Was it just a one time thing? Do I replace it with another D7000? A big question and I am not sure what to do. For the last year I have absolutely loved this camera but I am not sure that I can now recommend it to others. I take very good care of my equipment and I expected to get years out of this camera. So I am disappointed that I it did not last long enough. July 5, 2012
Nikon D7000 16.2 MP DX-Format CMOS Digital SLR with the MB-D11 I just purchased a new Nikon D7000 16.2 MP DX-Format CMOS Digital SLR with the MB-D11 & SanDisk 16GB SDHC Pro Class 10 UHS-1 from B&H. Very useful camera for my work as a Pro Photographer, as I can utilize the two Twin SD Card Slots for several effects, Sometimes for Overflow,when I can keep shooting, and when card one fills up it will keep on storing images on card two. Sometimes as a Backup, or I can simply when I need to shoot photos on one card and videos on card two. Another great feature for this camera is tha 100% viewfinder, what you see is what you get! And also this camera body is more rugged on the top and bottom. The Nikon MB-D11 Battery Grip for Vertical shooting and for having an extra EN-EL 15 battery for extended shooting between charges. July 4, 2012
Page: 6 7 8 9 10 ... 50
<<prev | next>>
302 Questions | 492 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
302 Questions | 492 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D7000
 
8 Answers

Can't open Nikon D7000 raw files in Photoshop or NX?

Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+27points
32out of 37found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful32unhelpful5
Incompatible file format. Just spent $1200 on the camera body, should be able to open the raw files. What is going on here? Is there a plug-in I can download to make this happen so I can edit the files?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
Location : 
Western Mass
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
8 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you update Photoshop's Camera RAW plugin
Jul 12, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
IN PHOTOSHOP SELECT
HELP, THEN SELECT UPDATE. CLICK ON UPDATES FOR THE LATEST UPDATE FOR THE NIKON D7000. i DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH CAMERA RAW AFTER THAT
Sep 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just went through this with Nikon Support. Make sure you have the latest version of Capture NX2 to open and edit your NEF RAW images from your D7000.
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Rick
Vancouver, WA
Location : 
Vancouver, WA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I don't know what you will need to import NEF files into Photoshop. However, the software that comes with the D7000 can save the files into a different format which you can then import into Photoshop, which is what I did originally rather than trying to bring them directly into CS2. In the end I bought Corel's product for under $100 (rather than over $1000 for CS5) which allows me to edit the NEF files directly. I would imagine the question should be directed to Adobe as to how to import NEF files into Photoshop.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download ViewNX2
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Imaging-Software/NVNX2/ViewNX-2.html

You can also download the NEF codec for Windows
http://www.nikonimglib.com/nefcodec/
May 25, 2011 by
by
wilsonpix
Dallas Texas
Location : 
Dallas Texas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check to make sure you have Bridge installed with your Photoshop. Bridge is what reads the RAW file format, opens a separate window and gives you the option to continue to open in photoshop. The other thing to do is make sure you have all the updates to PS.
Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Cobra064
California
Location : 
California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download the latest updates from Adobe and Capture and you should have no problems. The D7000 is a very late update for both.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Dodd
Provo, UT
Location : 
Provo, UT
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
6out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6
Answer: 
Make sure that you have the latest version of Nikon ViewNX 2 in order to see RAW files from your camera.

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
6 Answers

Is the AF-S DX 18-200mm ED VRII zoom lens fully compatible with the D7000?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
NY
 on D7000
+16points
20out of 24found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful4
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does. This is a fantastic lens very sharp and very versatile; leave all your other lens at home.
Jul 16, 2011 by
by
CT_Ham
East Haddam, CGT
Location : 
East Haddam, CGT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 18-200mm lens is fully compatible with the D7000
 
Products related to my answer
 
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I recently purchased the D7000 along with this lens, and I can say, not only is it compatible, it is fan-tas-tic! I love its versatility. No, it's not a 2.8, but for carrying one lens, this cannot be beat.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
SalukiJim
Saint Louis, MO
Location : 
Saint Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
All DX lenses are compatible. That does not mean that pictures will come sharp in all of them, even if the lenses are the high end ones. It's a very common issue that cameras might need to get calibrated for different specific lenses, and it's something that drive many photographers nuts because some pictures come out good and some not!
So if you are getting soft focus in some pictures don't blame yourself, blame Nikon for not explaining this issue clearly and not offering easy-to-find resources to corrected.
My opinion based on my professional experience.
 
Products related to my answer
 
D200
4.7 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Orlando
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, I have that same camera/lens combo and it works great.
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I bought both together and I don't see any incompatibliies. The range is fantastic - no more switching lenses (between wide and tele) in regular shooting. I wish the lens were a little faster (like 3.5 to 4.5 instead of 3.5 to 5.6) but otherwise it's great and pictures are sharp.

If you're just getting started, though, the D7000 is a bit of an overachiever. It's a great piece of equipment, but not for the faint of heart. Buy the lens but look at the D5000 (or even a comparable Canon or Sony) instead.
Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Bethesda, MD
Location : 
Bethesda, MD
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D7000
 
6 Answers

D7000 Professional lens for product shots.

Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+8points
12out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful4
I will be shooting liquor & Wine bottles and glasses. I will need a very sharp image with limited Depth of field
F22.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
Location : 
Norwalk CT
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have shot similar images of wine bottles and glasses with the 105mm nikkor micro and it works very well. Any of the nikkor micro lenses should give your great control of DOF, it all depends on the angle of view you want to include, in other words how much of a background do you want in your image? If lots then, use a wider micro, if you want the least background (i.e. tight compression) then the that extreme would be best served wit the 200mm micro nikkor. The 105 is a great all around micro and you can get extreme blur/bokeh to reduce the attention to a background if you have more than you like.

If you need to get extremely creative and tricky with DOF and have a larger lens budget then consider a tilt shift models.
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
if you need a limited DOF, you'll need a slight tele. you'll also need brightness, so an f/2.8 is a must. i'd suggest looking around used 90-180mm primes with at least f/2.8. micro-nikkors are also known for their sharpness, so maybe a 90mm f/2.8 micro-nikkor, using manual focus, would be the best, IMHO.
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Don't underestimate the 18-55 f/3.5- kit lens. You could also consider a prime lens, like the 35 or 50mm f/1.8G or even wait for the new affordable macro lens that Nikon is suppose to be releasing soon, just in case you really want to get some of the details.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
AntonyA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi, Try PC-E lens. 45 & 85 PC-E is really great product shot lens you can control perspective & DOF of your images, I'm using it every day because I'm product photographer. (Camera & Lens)
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You'll probably get as many opinions as there are lenses. F22 will give you a very DEEP depth of field. You can control the depth of field yourself. Rule of Thumb: "Higher number on the Fstop equals deeper DOF". You didn't specify how close you want to be, or how the shots are going to be composed, or if you're going to be in a tightly-controlled studio setting with multiple flashes arranged around the subject, so it's a little hard to say. My go to lens is the Nikkor F2.8 17-55. It's crisp, tough, and versatile. With the F2.8 that remains constant across the zoom range, you don't have to worry about your DOF changing as you zoom in and out, like you do on other lenses. The next best lens would be a "prime" lens of 35mm or 24mm. If you're in a studio environment this can be a bit challenging for framing the shot because without the zoom you need to move the table/armature or your camera's tripod (unless you have one of those cool studio tripods that lets you move the camera in the horizontal plane) to frame the shot appropriately.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

Can I use an AF NIKKOR 80-200 2.8 D lens on the D7000

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D7000
+3points
6out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
I am not in the market for professional dslr's. Which dslr's are compatible with this lens ?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You most certainly can use the 80-200mm f/2.8 lens on the D7000
Nov 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have been using the 80-200mm f/2.8D ED with the D7000 for the past month and it works fine.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D80, D90 and a D7000 which the lens fits perfectly! I not had any problems.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonTracy
Shreveport/Bossier
Location : 
Shreveport/Bossier
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I am pretty sure!!
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I have used that lens on my Nikon D90 so it should work on the Nikon D7000 which is the replacement model of mine. ;)
Mar 7, 2011 by
by
akoRICHARD
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

D7000 problem.

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
WendiS
 on D7000
+20points
21out of 22found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful21unhelpful1
Does anyone know what this issue is?
Does Nikon Pay for the shipping?
Is Nikon quick and fixing the problem?
Pictures are showing up with the brightest colors in the pic over enhanced, for instants the yellows, blues and greens look like smears of magic marker and download that way too. I've been told it's the sensor. Just bought the camera a few month ago. I guess I have to send it in. How quick is Nikon? I need my camera and will they pay for the shipping? Has anyone had this problem with the D7000 and dealt with repairs? Thanks!
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
WendiS
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree, reset the camera or re-adjust the colors. It sounds like you may have inadvertantly changed the color settings from within the camera. I just purchased this camera and I have to tell you, I love it. Plane and simple... The menus are at first confusing but once you start playing around and learning all the features, it will be like second nature. You can remove the battery and let the camera sit for a period of time to discharge the onboard memory. This may reset the camera for you. Good Luck and keep on shooting!
Feb 11, 2012 by
by
buddha65281
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Keith, I thought perhaps I selected vivid, but it's not set to that. I am viewing them on the camera and then they download to Nikon NX2 this way as well, I'm assuming, they would print thisway.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
WendiS

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends on where the nikon service repair is.
If you have a technical support in your town, you should probably get it there, in that case, no shipping costs. I had once to bring my old d200 to repair service and got it back in 5 days. Depends also what the problem is.
Nikon is a trustworthy company, but if you have a problem, you should ask your reseller first.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I would guess this person has been in the Picture Controls section and has chosen to modify saturation and/or hue via the Vivid setting. Go to Shooting Menu > Set Picture Control > Vivid, and adjust the settings to neutral.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Boone
South Lyon, MI
Location : 
South Lyon, MI
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
I would first check to make sure you have not inadvertently adjusted the picture controls and over saturated. What are you using to view images and are they jpeg or RAW.
Apr 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

No Body Cap

Nov 5, 2011 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
 on D7000
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Just bought the D7000 as a package and there was no body cap. Doesn't it come with one? I am definitely returning this...
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
Location : 
Bel Air, Md.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Folks,
I am the original person who wrote this post. Sorry that I never responded. I returned said camera and there was supposed to be a body cap. The store thinks someone returned it and kept the cap. I was very concerned that dust could have gotten into the camera which of course would be a disaster. I absolutely love my camera. I am now a member of a gallery where I have my photography on exhibit. I highly recommend this camera! NIKON ROCKS!!
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Maryland

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm only about a year too late for this question but my answer remains the same: YOU NEED A BODY CAP.
Some people will just stick a lens on the body and never take it off but if you are wanting to store your camera or load it for travel you are going to need that body cap to protect the mirror/image sensor from damage and dust. Camera companies provide caps for a reason. The people above me who are freaking out about you returning your camera over such a simple thing most likely don't care for there cameras and let dust get into the body of the camera. Dust will damage your camera.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I ironically never use my cap anyway but It is such a minor mistake that it is not worth making a fuss. Just call nikon and tell them what happened. I love my D7000
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
KyoshiB

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Really? You're returning the entire camera because of a small mistake? Yes. The bodies are supposed to come with caps. Why not just contact Nikon. I'm sure they'd be happy to send you a body cap free of charge. When my camera came from a Nikon dealer, it was missing the plug for the charger. One phone call, and a few days later the plug came in the mail. You could also visit your local camera store. Camera stores often have body caps floating around they'll just give you.
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
It does come with a body cap! Cannot imagine how you got it without that attached. I would return it too and get an exchange - don't know what might have gotten inside if the cap was not on it. Read the manual / papers that came with it to be sure all items are in the box that are supposed to be. I was stumped on a couple items, only to find they were already attached to the camera and not 'loose' in the box. I LOVE my D7000 and have been using it just over a month now. I highly recommend sticking with it if you wanted a high quality Nikon! Good luck. :)
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
L3gsd
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Since I almost exclusively shoot air shows I think I can answer your question.

Your asking about zoom capabilities, not wide angle.

I have rented and used the Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8 along with the X1.7 or X2 teleconverter and had good success. This combination is good for reach, great for clarity and sharpness on a bright sunny day, but not so good when you do need to back out for a wide angle shot.

Next would be the Sigma 150-500mm. I used this for several years. Not quite as sharp as the above, but 100mm more reach and about the same wide angle.

I now use the Sigma (Bigma) 50-500mm and I'm very pleased with this lens.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 10, 2013 by
by
RangerDoc275
Greater Seattle
Location : 
Greater Seattle
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You mentioned you want the biggest picture possible? If you want the most "view" in your photo, you will want a wide angle...something like 10-24mm is considered ultra-wide. However, if you mean the biggest picture possible in terms of image resolution, that mainly has to do with the camera body itself.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Anonymous,
What you need is a very long,100's of mm lens, and a gyroscope. Check in your local area for availability for purchase or rental.
Good Luck.
Mike
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
ForensicPhotog
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
A wide angle lens will certainly increase your field of view in the photo.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I'm sick of Sony handycams - need one camera that can do it all. Want a Nikon like the D7000, but cannot tolerate only 20 minutes of video. Will buy large memory card, need to be able to record for hours.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Steve
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 20 minute time limit is because of double tax increases in europe. they count the camera as a video camera and still image camera after a certain mbps on video with a time limit.

Canon cameras are only 12min. but they have different Frames per second.

this is really not a big deal unless you are doing intervews, but, time your shots inbetween questions. I can't imagine someone answering a question for 20 min.
Nov 14, 2011 by
by
SSeanMHH
Orange County
Location : 
Orange County
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have not received a direct answer as to why the Nikon D7000 has a 20 minute video recording cap. I did find the following answers but, I could not find any documentation to prove their validity:

1- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent the camera's sensor from overheating (no proof of this)
2- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent higher taxes incurred. If the camera recorded longer, it would be categorized as a camcorder thus increasing taxes.
(no proof of this)

This 20 minute limitation may not hinder a person from creating feature films and short films but, this limitation does pose a problem for applications that require interviews. It would seem rude to stop a person in the middle of their story to tell them that they need to wait for you to press the record button again.

Hopefully, there will be a firmware update to remove this limitation.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4
Answer: 
Maybe in 10 years your dream will come true.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, there is a 20 minute limit per shot, but the camera lets you take as many of those 20 minute shots until the SD card is full. While I don't agree with Nikon's time limit, most professionals will not record for more than 10 seconds at a time anyways. Next time you're in a movie theater or watching TV, check it out. Camera angles switch every 5-10 seconds to keep the audience's interest.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Trying to shoot in manual, and the shutter will not release unless I accept the metered reading in the viewfinder I keep getting a R-10 displayed in th window, nothing that I can find in the manual covers this, what am I doing wrong
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Rufous03
Calgary
Location : 
Calgary
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
By default, there is a setting in the camera's menus which prevent the camera from taking a picture if the picture is out of focus. In some lighting conditions the camera will not be able to use the auto focus function and will not fire. You can overcome this in several ways. 1. Putting the camera in "M" and using the focus ring on the lens. 2. Changing the setting in the menu so that it will allow the camera to fire, even if it is not in focus (not recommended), turn off the auto focus function on the lens (if it has it) and on the camera (switch on the side of the lens, and a switch on the body of the camera, to the lower right of the lens as you face the front of the camera. Note: BOTH switches must be turned off at the same time to prevent damage to the lens or the camera. You should also check your metering to see if it's set correctly. There are several different metering modes which will affect your picture. Also, if memory serves me, the camera will not take a picture in M mode if the picture is going to be severely over-exposed. If, for instance, you set the photo up for a shutter speed of 1/30 and an aperture of f3.5, the camera won't fire. I have experienced this myself, and though there is nothing in the user's manual about it that I can find, I assume it's to protect the sensor and other equipment from damage.
Jun 27, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
San Francisco Area
Location : 
San Francisco Area
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
yup, use either shutter speed (faster for underexposure, slower for overexposure), or if DOF is not an issue, change the aperture. or, change the ISO. in manual mode exposure correction is not a valid option as nothing is automatic so it's entirely up to you what settings you use.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
R-10 refers to the amount of shots remaining in the buffer and has no relevance to whether the camera releases the shutter or not. If you are shooting in manual then you under expose by altering the shutter speed, the only thing that would stop the camera from firing would be if focus has not been achieved, try focusing manually.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
You have it on [M] and it won't take the picture? The only thing that should stop it from exposing under full manual is insufficient battery to complete the exposure, full memory card, or it being out-of-focus and set to require focus to expose and in auto-focus. Meter shouldn't play into it.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
BrucePaul
Iowa City, IA
Location : 
Iowa City, IA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
4 Answers

Does the D7000 take black and white video?

Jun 28, 2011 by
by
AlexD
 on D7000
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Can I take black & white video with the D7000? Also, does it support the mode where you can select a color or colors to display in an otherwise B&W video?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
AlexD
4 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yup, use picture control. however, i'd advise against it -- you don't get to select the channel mix. my advice: shoot in color and aim for best contrast range, then use a decent video editing software and use a filter to do the b&w conversion. remember: if you shoot b&w, you can't go back and adjust the channel mix, neither can you change your mind afterwards if you wanted that shot in color. so: use neutral picture controls, shoot the video in color with a decent dynamic range, then mess it up later in post-prod. :)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Agree with KeithD. B&W can be taken by setting Picture Control to Monochrome (info display will show "MC"). All effects in "Retouch" menu (in camera post-processing) are not available for video, either while taking the video or during in camera post-processing.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does, just change the picture control to monochrome.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
No, but you can use post-processing software to change it to B&W.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.