Loading

Inspired performance in a size that keeps you shooting.

Shot of the Nikon D7000's rear body with a photo of a girl in a purple dress jumping over boulders while carrying a pink umbrella, and a guy following her, under a blue sky
Amazing photography isn’t only about what you shoot and how you shoot it, it’s also about what you shoot it with. The high resolution, multi-featured Nikon D7000 gives you 16.2 megapixels of vividly detailed images, a more sensitive DX-format CMOS sensor that delivers high ISO with low noise, plus various automatic and customizable settings to take your pictures and videos from great to gorgeous. Shoot up to 6 fps or record every second of the action with full HD 1080p D-Movies with Nikon’s advanced autofocus system to impress and inspire.
Nikon D7000 photo of a girl on a pool float, in a pool, shot from above, and an inset image of the CMOS sensor

Stunning image details

16.2-megapixel CMOS sensor

Whether you want to make large prints or crop tightly in an image, the D7000 delivers the resolution you need. At its heart is a DX-format CMOS image sensor with 16.2 effective megapixels, optimally engineered to gather more quality light through sharp NIKKOR lenses. Coupled with 14-bit A/D conversion (12-bit selectable), the D7000 produces stunning images that are richer in tone and detail than previously possible in DX format.
Photo of the rear of the Nikon D7000 with an image of wildlife on the LCD

A new era of movie capture

Breathtaking Full HD 1080p D-Movies

The D7000 is equipped to help you create impressive cinematic masterpieces with Full HD 1080p and movie editing functions for exceptional scene reproduction and quality. In addition to smooth video, the camera can compensate for distortion and other image-degrading problems. Aside from a built-in monaural microphone, the D7000 incorporates an external mic jack for high-quality stereo sound recording options.
Nikon D7000 photo of a woman in a purple dress walking out of frame, with a guy following her, shot in the desert and inset with a grouping sequence of a guy on a motorcycle on a dirt road

Remarkably responsive

6 frames per second continuous shooting

Say farewell to missed opportunities. The D7000 incorporates a new driving mechanism to conduct its remarkably fast and precise mirror movements, giving you an approx. 0.052 second release time lag and an approx. 0.13 second start-up time. What’s more, you can continuously shoot at approx. 6 frames per second at both 14-bit and 12-bit A/D conversion for RAW shooting.
Nikon D7000 photo of a person jumping between large boulders with a group of people watching from the distance with inset example of the camera's ISO range

Crisp photos in any light

Wide sensitivity range of ISO 100 to 6400

ISO 100 to 6400 has now become standard with the D7000, enabling you to handle a wider range of lighting situations: from the bright and sunny outdoors to low-lit evenings and interiors. Nikon’s renowned noise reduction technology has been upgraded even further. Throughout the range, the D7000 delivers sharp images with minimized color noise. Quality, high-ISO performance can also enhance your movie shooting, allowing you to capture the mood of a scene using only available light.
Nikon D7000 photo of a lake shot in low light with an inset shot of the metering sensor

More accurate control

Ground-breaking 2,016-pixel RGB sensor

After the incredibly accurate 2,016-pixel RGB sensor reads a scene's lighting information, the D7000 cross-references what it sees with imaging data from a large selection of real-world shooting situations. This way, the renowned 3D Color Matrix Metering II delivers exposure results that are faithful to how you see light and shadow interplay, even in difficult lighting situations. This intelligent metering technique also delivers exceptionally accurate i-TTL flash exposures, and it all happens within milliseconds for both speed and precision.
Nikon D7000 photo of a guy on a slalom waterski, with an overlay of the camera's AF points illustrating the AF system.

Powerful, wide-area coverage

Customizable 39-point AF System

The D7000's strategically positioned 39 AF points cover a significantly wide area of the frame, giving you flexible compositional possibilities. The 9 AF points in the center utilize powerful cross-type sensors—especially useful when you need tack sharp focus, such as with portraits and macro work. The D7000 offers a variety of AF area modes, including Dynamic-area AF using 9, 21 or 39 points. Utilizing Nikon's Scene Recognition System, Auto-area AF properly judges the main subject within 39 AF points and focuses on it.
Nikon D7000 photo of four young adults on a large boulder in the mountains and inset photo of the camera's image processing engine

Improved image quality and speed

The newest generation image processing engine, EXPEED 2, is capable of performing multiple tasks with more speed and power. Expect smoother tonal gradations, even in difficult shadows and highlights, for a greater sense of depth in your images.
Photo showing the front and rear view of the Nikon D7000's magnesium alloy chassis

Rugged and protected

With a top and rear cover of durable magnesium alloy, the D7000 is ready for the outdoors. Nikon engineers paid meticulous attention to where exterior parts join by employing durable sealing against moisture and dust. The compact body has also undergone severe environmental tests to prove its rugged reliability.
Top rear of the Nikon D7000 body, shown from the rear of the body, including an illustrative image in the viewfinder

100% frame coverage

With approximately 100% frame coverage in the viewfinder, what you see is exactly what you capture. The specially coated glass pentagonal prism and precision-crafted finder screen offer not only a bright viewfinder image, but also enable you to easily confirm when a subject is in focus.
Photo of the rear of a D7000 camera body cropped tight on the LCD and surrounding buttons, with an image of a hurdle jumper on the screen

Rich image previewing

The D7000 features an expansive 3-inch VGA LCD. Its approx. 921k-dot resolution assures clear, detailed display of images, which proves invaluable when confirming focus or assessing image sharpness.

Expand the creative potential of the D7000

NIKKOR lenses & Nikon Speedlights for every situation

false false false product 25468-en_US 25468 25468 DIGSLR $999.95 false $999.95 NONE false false false 2011-03-15T04:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25468/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 25468 en_US D7000/en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/25468_D7000.png true /en_INC/o/wfp_-a8oOzwYuj4GXIe1NHkNdAU/Misc/D7000_tag.png Nikon’s D7000 features a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 6 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Power to Astonish. Features to Inspire. Power to Astonish. Features to Inspire. true 4.6 1461 true FLSHAPT STERMIC LCDMONCOV CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS CAPCOV PWRPAC RMTCORD EXTSER CABLAV EYEPIE CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH WIRELESS PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS GPS PWRCHG IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25468 25474 13019 3 false true false 25468 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25468 1.6605598 false false false product 25474-en_US 25474 25474 DIGSLR $1,299.95 false $1,299.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25474/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 25474 25474 en_US 18-105mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/25474_D7000.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, crisp detail, vivid color and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-105mm VR Lens Kit true 4.6 1461 false 0 false true false 25474 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 2179 D7000 25468 Product D7000 25468 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25474 2.2851477 false false false product 13019-en_US 13019 13019 DIGSLR $1,849.95 false $1,849.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/13019/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 13019 13019 en_US 18-200mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/13019_D7000.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II lens for wide-angle to telephoto shooting; offering fast, accurate autofocus, crisp detail, vivid color and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-200mm VR Lens Kit true 4.6 1461 false 0 false true false 13019 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 2192 D7000 25468 Product D7000 25468 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13019 2.4927359

D7000 Body Only

Price $999.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25468, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Price $1,299.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25474, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-200mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Price $1,849.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 13019, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D7000 4.6 5 1463 1464
Fun to use Replaces a D80. I wanted movie taking capability and the ability to use my old lenses. I did a lot of reading and research concerning a replacement and settled on the 7000. I have no regrets. Many of the reviews were too complicated and technical and failed to tell you how much fun the camera is to use. Taking movies is easy and the movies produced are perfectly good. I like the flexibility of the controls plus the fact that many of these controls have been in the same place over multiple cameras. The manual is a little obtuse and some of the functions are better described by Internet reviewers than the manual itself but out-of-the-box taking pictures was easy. The 6/per second shooting rate is very nice. There are subtle differences between auto and P so I would suggest the user test out the various settings before fixing on a regular choice. Old AF nikkor's work fine. August 14, 2012
Imaging Hercules with Mamoth features!! Highlights Great image quality Weather sealed Autofocuses shooting video Wide dynamic range Movie continuous focus 39 focus points, out of which 19 are cross type. More Details Significantly better image quality More dynamic range 13.9 EV Better color depth 23.5 bits Lower noise at high ISO 1,167 ISO Video autofocus Contrast detection Longer battery life 1050 shots 2 storage slots Smaller, sturdy, strong Magnesium Alloy Body. More compatible lenses available(169 lenses!) Better boost ISO 25,600 Lighter Slightly cheaper August 14, 2012
Too much camera for me! I purposely bought too much camera -- I'd been taking good shots with point and shoots in P mode -- the D7000 compelled me to learn manual mode shooting, and it's been a real treat. I've had it a year now, and it's enabled me to take photography up several levels. I'm now getting great shots, no longer by accident. I love my D7000, and the Nikon brand. August 13, 2012
Fantastic Photos But Camera Had Problems So impressed with quality of pictures especially with low light shots. Unfortunately within a week, camera had error messages and the shots became terrible. Had to send it back for factory repairs and was upset I didn't have it working during our vacation. When I got it back, the problem seemed to be fixed except now the video wasn't working correctly. I would have to press the video on button 3+ times just to get it to stay on. You would press it and think you were recording only to realize that it didn't stay on. So now I just know to press it and wait to see if it stays on when I'm trying to record. Another problem with video was when it was in autofocus, it would continually focus in and out and when you watched it, the video was mostly out of focus. So I just focus it manually when doing video. I just learned to live with its issues since it was a hassle to return especially since we're in the military stationed overseas, not assigned to a base. Other than that, it takes great pics and videos. Maybe I was just unlucky and got the lemon of the batch. August 13, 2012
Best yet! I have used the D7000 for about a year now, and am astonished at the quality of the pictures even if I let the camera do all the work. I came from and still have a D200 which I was quite happy with, but this camera leaves it in the dust. As I do a lot of on-the-fly photography where there is not much time to change settings I have come to appreciate what the D7000 gives back with not much input from me. I also appreciate the 16.5 megapixels as it leaves me more room to crop. Just as an aside, my standard lens is a 28-300 Nikon that I bought with the camera. I love it! Very versatile and sharp. I use several other lenses including a 10-24 Nikon that is great for landscapes and tight quarter situations. Very happy with my purchase of the D7000. Wish there was some way to upgrade to a higher MP count as some of the newer cameras have. August 11, 2012
Two features of the D7000 that changed my life Other than vacation pictures I shoot only nature macro. My 105mm f/2.8G AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor almost never leaves the camera. I upgraded from the D50 I bought with the 105 and besides the pixel count two features changed my style. First and foremost in Aperture mode, where I am exclusively, the second thumb wheel on my D7000 controls ISO. I treat this like time, now I can set aperture for necessary depth of field and set ISO (time) as needed for motion freezing. Chasing insects in full sunlight at f/16 and above 1:2 magnification with a shutter at least 1/1000 works for me. The instant control of aperture and time without changing exposure is game changing. Past ISO 1600 it gets a bit noisy and by ISO 6400 with or without Hi-ISO noise reduction, it changes the bokeh in a way I don't like, but it allows focused pictures of small fast things I could not get without a flash, which I usually don't use. The second feature I love in the D7000 is the built in Commander flash mode. I use a hand held SB-R200 flash for fill when shooting difficult flowers like Symplocarpus foetidus. The shutter is slow sync and the built in flash is set to 10% level. The third feature I have recently started using is the autofocus fine tuning. In macro if you focus on the closest part of the subject, you are wasting half of the depth of field. I find autofocus fine tune settings of -10 to -20 have improved my photos. No other Nikon prosumer cameras have this combination of features critical to me. I have had the D7000 for a year and am close to 10,000 shutter releases, I have never taken pictures like this but the 7000 makes it so easy and rewarding. August 11, 2012
Amazing photos, great utility, faulty shutter... I've really enjoyed using this camera for events and on location portrait work outside the studio. The images and color depth are great, and the on board editing and review tools are very useful. My only complaint is currently being dealt with by Nikon Photo Service Center in Melville, NY. I was using the camera for a live event and the shutter had a critical failure, with parts actually breaking and coming loose within the camera body. When I removed the lens later to inspect it, the shutter was severely damaged during regular light use and completely inoperable. It appears that there is no damage to the CCD (fingers crossed), but I certainly hope I'm not asked to pay for repairs for this kind of critical failure, especially since I own several other Nikon DSLR cameras and have had no shutter issues with any of them after nearly a decade of continuous use. August 9, 2012
Great camera! I've really enjoyed this camera, fast focusing, very good on low light conditions, durable battery, light for all day uses... i really love it! August 9, 2012
Great camera for the price We purchased the D7000 about 11 months ago. We liked the camera from the beginning but had problems with the SD Cards. We sent the camera back to Nikon and they made some repairs, but the problem persisted. When the initial firmware update was released, we applied it and had no problems since. We think the camera is great. We have taken about 6000 photos aand are satisfied with the results. We take a lot of photos inside without flash. We use high ISO and that has not affected the quality to ny great extent. We have even taken pictures of a candlelight servie in the church and they came out great. We have always gone with the Pro bodies (D1H, D2H and D300 Series). This camera is more that a match for them. My only misgiving now is that the camera uses a DX (APS-C) Sensor instead of the FX (Full Frame) Sensor. August 9, 2012
Best DX Camera Available Today This is my 5th Nikon DX camera (D40, D80, D90, D300s) and by far the best. The D7000 isn't as sturdy as the D300/s, but it takes better pictures, which is really what it's all about. The sensor is simply superior to the prior Nikon DX generation sensors.... much less noise, better clarity, overall better results. My photo buddies shoot with a variety of Canon DX cameras, including the top of the line 7D, but in my opinion, even though the D7000 is more fragile than the high-end competition, the photos are clearly better. August 8, 2012
Outstanding do it all camera! I am a semi-pro photographer and I have tried a good number of cameras during my tenure. I have found the D7000 to be a great mix between a vacation camera and a professional camera. It is the type of camera that takes outstanding photos, good enough to use for a wedding yet still light enough to take hiking. It is one of my all time favorite Nikons. August 8, 2012
Pro-like DSLR I bought this camera 10 months ago, and from this time I must admit that this is quite good piece of HW, Definitively I suggest to buy a kit with 18-105 lens. For the start is a multipurpose lens and for a while you have no need to get it off. Body is quite robust and together with battery grip is awesome. Camera works quite well, AF fast and accurate (in my case few corrections by AF-Fine tune function were necessary). From all the AF modes I'm using basically AF-S, AF-C (9 points) works fine, other modes like 3D matrix, AF-A or whatever I haven't begin to like them yet. Matrix metering is working well, some times undex exposure by 0.7 EV is necessary in sunny days, or with Sigma 70-200 F2.8 almost every time. But you can set these preferences as default, thus not a big deal. So generaly this is a good camera and I definitelly sudgets to everyone who is look'in for cheaper brother of D700/300 and is willing to downgrade from FullFrame sensor (in my opinion in exchange of cheaper lenses...) And you're not going to print images for more than A3 (print from this camera is still awesome)... August 8, 2012
Excellent camera the d7000 is an excellent camera with a whole lotta stuff packed in side of it August 7, 2012
A Great Step Up from my D70! Pros: - 2 memory slots - second memory slot can be overflow or targeted for videos - 16 megapixels - great battery life - more than 750 shots - flexible configuration - lots of scenes, but you can also define your own - literally hundreds of settings - 39 focus points - good integrated flash - videos are decent I bought this as an upgrade for my aging D70 just three days prior to a two-week vacation in Mexico. Also purchased a compact field guide and was glad I did. I took almost 2,000 shots over the two weeks in a variety of situations. The camera performed great - got some outstanding shots. More reading and practice will make me a better photographer, but now I have a great tool to work with! August 7, 2012
Incredible The D7000 is the best camera that I have ever owned and I have owned more than a few DsLRs and 35mm SLRs. The colors and lights are better rendered than most high end professional cameras and you will be amazed at the lack of ISO noise, even up in the 3200 range. Pair this with a quality Nikon lens or two and you will be ready to shoot for several years. August 7, 2012
Great Camera but had some Issues This is a wonderful camera. I'm quite happy with the size, performance, IQ, and color. The only problems I had were: oil spots on the sensor followed by a failed mirror. I'm unsure if the mirror failure resulted from the sensor cleaning / repair. August 7, 2012
Work horse !! I'm a full time professional Photography studio doing Studio-outdoor senior work, weddings,copy work and also full time action shots for baseball, football, basketball and soccer. I use the nikon 80-200 2.8 for my sports work and I use the nikon 18-105 3.5 for my wedding-studio work .and also have the mb-d11 for extra battery and vertical shots. I only have one problem with my camera and that is battery life! I don't use the video on my camera much, just because I don't have a lot of time to do so. I would recommend this camera to any professional in any field of photography!! August 7, 2012
D7000 I would not recommend a D7000. I bought this camera to replace a D90 and have been displeased since I have purchased it. It does not give me consisdently good shots. Out of 100 pictures I will have only a handful that will be in focus most will be a tad out of focus. This happens not matter what type of auto focus setting I am using. I even sent this camera back to Nikon to fix a pixel problem and informed them at that time about the "soft" focus problem....still have it (the problem that is). I feel I have to take three time the pictures to get enough good pictures to use. This camera does have a lot of bells and whistles but they don't mean much when the end product is unusable. 2 pictures attached. I count pictures in focus if I can count the eyelashes (provided they are portraits) August 7, 2012
Love the D90 but the D7000 blows it away! I've had a D90 for a couple years. I love it. But I've only had the D7000 a week and I love it even more. Glad I finally decided to upgrade. I really like the solid and natural feel of the D7000. The extra controls on the body make it much easier to use and the menu system is pretty intuitive if you've ever used any other DSLR. I've read many reviews saying the D7000 is the best camera of its class that Nikon has ever made. I'll go with those comments and raise you one more. Great job Nikon. August 6, 2012
Great Camera at the high amateur end. Easy to use features, with great options for taking a variety of pictures, without having to resort to manual settings. August 6, 2012
Nikon D7000: One step up from amateur SLRs Lovely piece of kit that I would recommend to any amateur digital photographer wanting to upgrade to first class semi pro SLR photography. Untold functions included in this lightweight but fully functional camera body. Had some issues with the autofocus that has a slight offset on my camera despite an after sales intervention. Great value for money. Ecxellent fun discovering another world of photography. Great with Nikon Capture or Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4. August 6, 2012
Outstanding Portrait Machine I'm a professional headshot photographer based in New York City and use the D7000 for all of my work. The D7000's ability to reproduce skin tones accurately while rendering vibrant colors makes it the only camera I use for my headshots. This camera coupled with the Nikor 85mm 1.4D creates portraits that are sharp as a tack with files that are a joy to work with in post production. The build is what you would expect from Nikon: Solid with all the controls in the right places. I really enjoy Nikon's ability to continue to upgrade their equipment while maintaining consistency in operation. Thank you Nikon for making an outstanding camera that greatly exceeds it purchase price! August 6, 2012
Best Nikon Advanced Amateur yet Have enjoyed D70, D80 and D90. D7000 beats them all. Great features and friendly to use August 6, 2012
Lives up to my hopes! I am a beginner photographer but the photos I have gotten from this camera make me look like a professional. The sports photographs I have gotten have been superb! I bought a good zoom lens and have gotten stunning shots from my daughter's soccer games that are crystal clear even after cropping the photos a good deal to show the action from all the way across the far side of the field. No more tiny photos of my daughters from far away and no more fuzzy photos of them at full speed. I have shots that make them look like they are running in the air and I was on the other side of the field when I took them. I really can't say enough about the sports setting. I have also begun using the more advanced features and see that I will be easily able to go from beginner to advanced with the same camera. This is everything I had hoped for and more! August 6, 2012
Wonderful camera. A wonderful camera. Takes sharp and clear pics. Almost as good as a D800, under normal conditions. For every day use, at one-third the price, just as good as D800. August 6, 2012
Quite a camera. Great collection of features, takes a little while to learn them all. Ultimately worth the time investment. recommend the use of one of the fine books on D7000 to speed up the learning process. Great in hand- held in low light situations. August 5, 2012
Creative Window The D7000 is a camera which unlocks deeper understanding of photography. It provokes the owner to explore the use of speed, aperture and iso to help explain the world. Life is better using a D7000 if you are interested in the field of photography. The Nikon D7000 is solid to use, substantial in its capability and leads you competently toward a creative use of your camera. For me, I am always challenged to take a better shot and I am amazed I usually get a keeper! In short, since buying my D7000 I feel that my photography IQ has been increasing. I recommend this camera to anyone who has feels that photography is a serious hobby and who wants to embrace a camera with professional capabilities. August 5, 2012
Easy to use for the beginner I am so happy with this camera I bought another for back up. Just one of the features and there are many I enjoy is the low light. It may dusk and the shots come out so well. August 5, 2012
This is a really great DX camera! I've had my Nikon D7000 for a couple of years, I am so glad I bought it as soon as it was available. I had a problem with the top SD card reader after bumping the camera pretty hard: I sent it to Nikon in El Secondo CA for repair and it's been perfect ever since. The one thing I'd like to see changed is additional stiffness, or a lock, in the mode dial that permits shifting from manual to aperture priority, etc. I frequently roll the mode dial out of the manual (normal shooting) position. It takes a second to realize why I'm in a different mode, and roll it back to manual. The only thing that isn't as useful as I expected is the Active D-Lighting. I don't see a striking difference in photos which High and Normal ADL: perhaps I have not learned how to use it properly yet. August 5, 2012
Professional grade at Prosumer price The D7000 is a Gold Winner of a camera. It delivers Professional pictures (i.e. quality, speed, features,etc.) at a fraction of a Fully Professional camera. I have added the Battery Grip and it helps not only to take better portrait position photos (due to an additional shutter button), but also helps with a better grip and balancing the camera when using larger lenses. The battery by itself will allow you to shoot in excess of 1K pictures without the need for recharge, this proves to be valuable when shooting in remote locations or vacationing and one can only recharge at the end of the day. August 5, 2012
Page: 4 5 6 7 8 ... 50
<<prev | next>>
302 Questions | 492 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
302 Questions | 492 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D7000
 
8 Answers

Can't open Nikon D7000 raw files in Photoshop or NX?

Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+27points
32out of 37found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful32unhelpful5
Incompatible file format. Just spent $1200 on the camera body, should be able to open the raw files. What is going on here? Is there a plug-in I can download to make this happen so I can edit the files?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
Location : 
Western Mass
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
8 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you update Photoshop's Camera RAW plugin
Jul 12, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
IN PHOTOSHOP SELECT
HELP, THEN SELECT UPDATE. CLICK ON UPDATES FOR THE LATEST UPDATE FOR THE NIKON D7000. i DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH CAMERA RAW AFTER THAT
Sep 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just went through this with Nikon Support. Make sure you have the latest version of Capture NX2 to open and edit your NEF RAW images from your D7000.
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Rick
Vancouver, WA
Location : 
Vancouver, WA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I don't know what you will need to import NEF files into Photoshop. However, the software that comes with the D7000 can save the files into a different format which you can then import into Photoshop, which is what I did originally rather than trying to bring them directly into CS2. In the end I bought Corel's product for under $100 (rather than over $1000 for CS5) which allows me to edit the NEF files directly. I would imagine the question should be directed to Adobe as to how to import NEF files into Photoshop.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download ViewNX2
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Imaging-Software/NVNX2/ViewNX-2.html

You can also download the NEF codec for Windows
http://www.nikonimglib.com/nefcodec/
May 25, 2011 by
by
wilsonpix
Dallas Texas
Location : 
Dallas Texas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check to make sure you have Bridge installed with your Photoshop. Bridge is what reads the RAW file format, opens a separate window and gives you the option to continue to open in photoshop. The other thing to do is make sure you have all the updates to PS.
Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Cobra064
California
Location : 
California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download the latest updates from Adobe and Capture and you should have no problems. The D7000 is a very late update for both.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Dodd
Provo, UT
Location : 
Provo, UT
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
6out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6
Answer: 
Make sure that you have the latest version of Nikon ViewNX 2 in order to see RAW files from your camera.

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
6 Answers

Is the AF-S DX 18-200mm ED VRII zoom lens fully compatible with the D7000?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
NY
 on D7000
+16points
20out of 24found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful4
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does. This is a fantastic lens very sharp and very versatile; leave all your other lens at home.
Jul 16, 2011 by
by
CT_Ham
East Haddam, CGT
Location : 
East Haddam, CGT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 18-200mm lens is fully compatible with the D7000
 
Products related to my answer
 
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I recently purchased the D7000 along with this lens, and I can say, not only is it compatible, it is fan-tas-tic! I love its versatility. No, it's not a 2.8, but for carrying one lens, this cannot be beat.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
SalukiJim
Saint Louis, MO
Location : 
Saint Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
All DX lenses are compatible. That does not mean that pictures will come sharp in all of them, even if the lenses are the high end ones. It's a very common issue that cameras might need to get calibrated for different specific lenses, and it's something that drive many photographers nuts because some pictures come out good and some not!
So if you are getting soft focus in some pictures don't blame yourself, blame Nikon for not explaining this issue clearly and not offering easy-to-find resources to corrected.
My opinion based on my professional experience.
 
Products related to my answer
 
D200
4.7 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Orlando
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, I have that same camera/lens combo and it works great.
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I bought both together and I don't see any incompatibliies. The range is fantastic - no more switching lenses (between wide and tele) in regular shooting. I wish the lens were a little faster (like 3.5 to 4.5 instead of 3.5 to 5.6) but otherwise it's great and pictures are sharp.

If you're just getting started, though, the D7000 is a bit of an overachiever. It's a great piece of equipment, but not for the faint of heart. Buy the lens but look at the D5000 (or even a comparable Canon or Sony) instead.
Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Bethesda, MD
Location : 
Bethesda, MD
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D7000
 
6 Answers

D7000 Professional lens for product shots.

Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+8points
12out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful4
I will be shooting liquor & Wine bottles and glasses. I will need a very sharp image with limited Depth of field
F22.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
Location : 
Norwalk CT
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have shot similar images of wine bottles and glasses with the 105mm nikkor micro and it works very well. Any of the nikkor micro lenses should give your great control of DOF, it all depends on the angle of view you want to include, in other words how much of a background do you want in your image? If lots then, use a wider micro, if you want the least background (i.e. tight compression) then the that extreme would be best served wit the 200mm micro nikkor. The 105 is a great all around micro and you can get extreme blur/bokeh to reduce the attention to a background if you have more than you like.

If you need to get extremely creative and tricky with DOF and have a larger lens budget then consider a tilt shift models.
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
if you need a limited DOF, you'll need a slight tele. you'll also need brightness, so an f/2.8 is a must. i'd suggest looking around used 90-180mm primes with at least f/2.8. micro-nikkors are also known for their sharpness, so maybe a 90mm f/2.8 micro-nikkor, using manual focus, would be the best, IMHO.
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Don't underestimate the 18-55 f/3.5- kit lens. You could also consider a prime lens, like the 35 or 50mm f/1.8G or even wait for the new affordable macro lens that Nikon is suppose to be releasing soon, just in case you really want to get some of the details.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
AntonyA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi, Try PC-E lens. 45 & 85 PC-E is really great product shot lens you can control perspective & DOF of your images, I'm using it every day because I'm product photographer. (Camera & Lens)
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You'll probably get as many opinions as there are lenses. F22 will give you a very DEEP depth of field. You can control the depth of field yourself. Rule of Thumb: "Higher number on the Fstop equals deeper DOF". You didn't specify how close you want to be, or how the shots are going to be composed, or if you're going to be in a tightly-controlled studio setting with multiple flashes arranged around the subject, so it's a little hard to say. My go to lens is the Nikkor F2.8 17-55. It's crisp, tough, and versatile. With the F2.8 that remains constant across the zoom range, you don't have to worry about your DOF changing as you zoom in and out, like you do on other lenses. The next best lens would be a "prime" lens of 35mm or 24mm. If you're in a studio environment this can be a bit challenging for framing the shot because without the zoom you need to move the table/armature or your camera's tripod (unless you have one of those cool studio tripods that lets you move the camera in the horizontal plane) to frame the shot appropriately.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

Can I use an AF NIKKOR 80-200 2.8 D lens on the D7000

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D7000
+3points
6out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
I am not in the market for professional dslr's. Which dslr's are compatible with this lens ?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You most certainly can use the 80-200mm f/2.8 lens on the D7000
Nov 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have been using the 80-200mm f/2.8D ED with the D7000 for the past month and it works fine.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D80, D90 and a D7000 which the lens fits perfectly! I not had any problems.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonTracy
Shreveport/Bossier
Location : 
Shreveport/Bossier
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I am pretty sure!!
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I have used that lens on my Nikon D90 so it should work on the Nikon D7000 which is the replacement model of mine. ;)
Mar 7, 2011 by
by
akoRICHARD
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

D7000 problem.

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
WendiS
 on D7000
+20points
21out of 22found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful21unhelpful1
Does anyone know what this issue is?
Does Nikon Pay for the shipping?
Is Nikon quick and fixing the problem?
Pictures are showing up with the brightest colors in the pic over enhanced, for instants the yellows, blues and greens look like smears of magic marker and download that way too. I've been told it's the sensor. Just bought the camera a few month ago. I guess I have to send it in. How quick is Nikon? I need my camera and will they pay for the shipping? Has anyone had this problem with the D7000 and dealt with repairs? Thanks!
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
WendiS
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree, reset the camera or re-adjust the colors. It sounds like you may have inadvertantly changed the color settings from within the camera. I just purchased this camera and I have to tell you, I love it. Plane and simple... The menus are at first confusing but once you start playing around and learning all the features, it will be like second nature. You can remove the battery and let the camera sit for a period of time to discharge the onboard memory. This may reset the camera for you. Good Luck and keep on shooting!
Feb 11, 2012 by
by
buddha65281
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Keith, I thought perhaps I selected vivid, but it's not set to that. I am viewing them on the camera and then they download to Nikon NX2 this way as well, I'm assuming, they would print thisway.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
WendiS

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends on where the nikon service repair is.
If you have a technical support in your town, you should probably get it there, in that case, no shipping costs. I had once to bring my old d200 to repair service and got it back in 5 days. Depends also what the problem is.
Nikon is a trustworthy company, but if you have a problem, you should ask your reseller first.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I would guess this person has been in the Picture Controls section and has chosen to modify saturation and/or hue via the Vivid setting. Go to Shooting Menu > Set Picture Control > Vivid, and adjust the settings to neutral.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Boone
South Lyon, MI
Location : 
South Lyon, MI
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
I would first check to make sure you have not inadvertently adjusted the picture controls and over saturated. What are you using to view images and are they jpeg or RAW.
Apr 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

No Body Cap

Nov 5, 2011 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
 on D7000
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Just bought the D7000 as a package and there was no body cap. Doesn't it come with one? I am definitely returning this...
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
Location : 
Bel Air, Md.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Folks,
I am the original person who wrote this post. Sorry that I never responded. I returned said camera and there was supposed to be a body cap. The store thinks someone returned it and kept the cap. I was very concerned that dust could have gotten into the camera which of course would be a disaster. I absolutely love my camera. I am now a member of a gallery where I have my photography on exhibit. I highly recommend this camera! NIKON ROCKS!!
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Maryland

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm only about a year too late for this question but my answer remains the same: YOU NEED A BODY CAP.
Some people will just stick a lens on the body and never take it off but if you are wanting to store your camera or load it for travel you are going to need that body cap to protect the mirror/image sensor from damage and dust. Camera companies provide caps for a reason. The people above me who are freaking out about you returning your camera over such a simple thing most likely don't care for there cameras and let dust get into the body of the camera. Dust will damage your camera.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I ironically never use my cap anyway but It is such a minor mistake that it is not worth making a fuss. Just call nikon and tell them what happened. I love my D7000
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
KyoshiB

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Really? You're returning the entire camera because of a small mistake? Yes. The bodies are supposed to come with caps. Why not just contact Nikon. I'm sure they'd be happy to send you a body cap free of charge. When my camera came from a Nikon dealer, it was missing the plug for the charger. One phone call, and a few days later the plug came in the mail. You could also visit your local camera store. Camera stores often have body caps floating around they'll just give you.
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
It does come with a body cap! Cannot imagine how you got it without that attached. I would return it too and get an exchange - don't know what might have gotten inside if the cap was not on it. Read the manual / papers that came with it to be sure all items are in the box that are supposed to be. I was stumped on a couple items, only to find they were already attached to the camera and not 'loose' in the box. I LOVE my D7000 and have been using it just over a month now. I highly recommend sticking with it if you wanted a high quality Nikon! Good luck. :)
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
L3gsd
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Since I almost exclusively shoot air shows I think I can answer your question.

Your asking about zoom capabilities, not wide angle.

I have rented and used the Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8 along with the X1.7 or X2 teleconverter and had good success. This combination is good for reach, great for clarity and sharpness on a bright sunny day, but not so good when you do need to back out for a wide angle shot.

Next would be the Sigma 150-500mm. I used this for several years. Not quite as sharp as the above, but 100mm more reach and about the same wide angle.

I now use the Sigma (Bigma) 50-500mm and I'm very pleased with this lens.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 10, 2013 by
by
RangerDoc275
Greater Seattle
Location : 
Greater Seattle
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You mentioned you want the biggest picture possible? If you want the most "view" in your photo, you will want a wide angle...something like 10-24mm is considered ultra-wide. However, if you mean the biggest picture possible in terms of image resolution, that mainly has to do with the camera body itself.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Anonymous,
What you need is a very long,100's of mm lens, and a gyroscope. Check in your local area for availability for purchase or rental.
Good Luck.
Mike
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
ForensicPhotog
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
A wide angle lens will certainly increase your field of view in the photo.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I'm sick of Sony handycams - need one camera that can do it all. Want a Nikon like the D7000, but cannot tolerate only 20 minutes of video. Will buy large memory card, need to be able to record for hours.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Steve
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 20 minute time limit is because of double tax increases in europe. they count the camera as a video camera and still image camera after a certain mbps on video with a time limit.

Canon cameras are only 12min. but they have different Frames per second.

this is really not a big deal unless you are doing intervews, but, time your shots inbetween questions. I can't imagine someone answering a question for 20 min.
Nov 14, 2011 by
by
SSeanMHH
Orange County
Location : 
Orange County
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have not received a direct answer as to why the Nikon D7000 has a 20 minute video recording cap. I did find the following answers but, I could not find any documentation to prove their validity:

1- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent the camera's sensor from overheating (no proof of this)
2- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent higher taxes incurred. If the camera recorded longer, it would be categorized as a camcorder thus increasing taxes.
(no proof of this)

This 20 minute limitation may not hinder a person from creating feature films and short films but, this limitation does pose a problem for applications that require interviews. It would seem rude to stop a person in the middle of their story to tell them that they need to wait for you to press the record button again.

Hopefully, there will be a firmware update to remove this limitation.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4
Answer: 
Maybe in 10 years your dream will come true.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, there is a 20 minute limit per shot, but the camera lets you take as many of those 20 minute shots until the SD card is full. While I don't agree with Nikon's time limit, most professionals will not record for more than 10 seconds at a time anyways. Next time you're in a movie theater or watching TV, check it out. Camera angles switch every 5-10 seconds to keep the audience's interest.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Trying to shoot in manual, and the shutter will not release unless I accept the metered reading in the viewfinder I keep getting a R-10 displayed in th window, nothing that I can find in the manual covers this, what am I doing wrong
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Rufous03
Calgary
Location : 
Calgary
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
By default, there is a setting in the camera's menus which prevent the camera from taking a picture if the picture is out of focus. In some lighting conditions the camera will not be able to use the auto focus function and will not fire. You can overcome this in several ways. 1. Putting the camera in "M" and using the focus ring on the lens. 2. Changing the setting in the menu so that it will allow the camera to fire, even if it is not in focus (not recommended), turn off the auto focus function on the lens (if it has it) and on the camera (switch on the side of the lens, and a switch on the body of the camera, to the lower right of the lens as you face the front of the camera. Note: BOTH switches must be turned off at the same time to prevent damage to the lens or the camera. You should also check your metering to see if it's set correctly. There are several different metering modes which will affect your picture. Also, if memory serves me, the camera will not take a picture in M mode if the picture is going to be severely over-exposed. If, for instance, you set the photo up for a shutter speed of 1/30 and an aperture of f3.5, the camera won't fire. I have experienced this myself, and though there is nothing in the user's manual about it that I can find, I assume it's to protect the sensor and other equipment from damage.
Jun 27, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
San Francisco Area
Location : 
San Francisco Area
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
yup, use either shutter speed (faster for underexposure, slower for overexposure), or if DOF is not an issue, change the aperture. or, change the ISO. in manual mode exposure correction is not a valid option as nothing is automatic so it's entirely up to you what settings you use.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
R-10 refers to the amount of shots remaining in the buffer and has no relevance to whether the camera releases the shutter or not. If you are shooting in manual then you under expose by altering the shutter speed, the only thing that would stop the camera from firing would be if focus has not been achieved, try focusing manually.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
You have it on [M] and it won't take the picture? The only thing that should stop it from exposing under full manual is insufficient battery to complete the exposure, full memory card, or it being out-of-focus and set to require focus to expose and in auto-focus. Meter shouldn't play into it.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
BrucePaul
Iowa City, IA
Location : 
Iowa City, IA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
4 Answers

Does the D7000 take black and white video?

Jun 28, 2011 by
by
AlexD
 on D7000
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Can I take black & white video with the D7000? Also, does it support the mode where you can select a color or colors to display in an otherwise B&W video?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
AlexD
4 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yup, use picture control. however, i'd advise against it -- you don't get to select the channel mix. my advice: shoot in color and aim for best contrast range, then use a decent video editing software and use a filter to do the b&w conversion. remember: if you shoot b&w, you can't go back and adjust the channel mix, neither can you change your mind afterwards if you wanted that shot in color. so: use neutral picture controls, shoot the video in color with a decent dynamic range, then mess it up later in post-prod. :)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Agree with KeithD. B&W can be taken by setting Picture Control to Monochrome (info display will show "MC"). All effects in "Retouch" menu (in camera post-processing) are not available for video, either while taking the video or during in camera post-processing.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does, just change the picture control to monochrome.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
No, but you can use post-processing software to change it to B&W.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, f