Loading

Key Features

12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS Image Sensor
Delivers stunning high resolution, low-noise images with striking detail and tonal gradation.

Nikon EXPEED Image Processing
Drives breathtakingly rich image fidelity, low noise and fast image processing.

One-button Live View
Hand-held and Tripod Live View Modes, activated with one-button, for challenging studio and remote shooting conditions.

Low Noise ISO Sensitivity from 200 to 3200
Additional expanded ISO settings of Lo-1 (ISO 100 equivalent) and Hi-1 (ISO 6400 equivalent) extend versatility to match shooting requirements.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Nikon’s unique RGB metering—the only sensor that also evaluates color information when determining exposures with remarkable accuracy..

Dual memory card slots (CF and SD)
Assign card functions from a variety of storage options, optimizing available memory and file handling.

Picture Control Settings
Select from 4 preset image capture preferences (Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome, plus 9 user customizable settings) controlling Sharpening, Contrast, Brightness, Saturation and Hue.

In-Camera Image Editing
Exclusive in-camera image editing, featuring Edit movie, D-Lighting, Image Overlay, Monochrome, NEF (RAW) processing and more.

100% Viewfinder Accuracy

Up to 950 shots per EN-EL3e battery charge*
Shoot as many as 2,950 shots with the body’s EN-EL3e battery installed and the optional MB-D10 Multi-Power Battery Pack with an EN-EL4a Rechargeable Li-ion Battery*.
* based on CIPA standards/guidelines.

Continuous Shooting up to 7 fps
High speed shooting and fast response—essential to versatile performance in a wide variety of shooting disciplines.

D-Movie HD Video
Capture striking 24 fps, 720p HD movie clips, enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility—featuring external stereo Mic input and AF operation.

3-inch Super-density 921,000-dot VGA LCD Monitor
Every monitor is factory-calibrated to assure accurate color for critical still image review and Live View or D-Movie shooting.

Fast, Accurate 51-point Autofocus
Features 4 Dynamic AF modes including 3D Focus Tracking for precise autofocus and razor sharp images.

Scene Recognition System
Referencing an onboard image database and teamed with RGB metering, SRS enables even more sophisticated determination of exposures and auto white balance, along with faster, more accurate autofocus.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System
Ultrasonic process combats the accumulation of dust in front of the image sensor, safeguarding image quality.

Nikon's Active D-Lighting
Optimizes shadow and highlight detail in real time—Selectable values and 5-frame ADL bracketing offer complete control.

Rugged and Durable
The strength and precision of magnesium-alloy construction with advanced dust and moisture countermeasures is teamed with a shutter mechanism tested to beyond 150,000 cycles for real-world reliability.

Virtual Horizon Graphic Indicator

Price: ESP 1699.95* D300S Body only (Product Number 25464). Other outfits available

D300S 4.8 5 104 104
Well rounded, very capable of any siutuation Coming from the D70, D70s, and D80, the D300s was the upgrade I've been waiting for. The d90 didn't really do it for me, neither did the D200. The features of the D300s are all that I've been waiting for in a camera. To name a few, dual card slots, HD video, tons of customizable menus and settings, excellent ISO handling, weather sealed, sensor cleaning, and much much more. The D300s is for more advanced users, those who have taken their photography to the next level. There are no automatic scene modes on the D300s, the closest to automatic you'll get is the program mode. This is something I love, I am forced to use the manual features (though I've had lots of training coming from film and using mostly assisted manual in my previous DSLRs) to get the shot I want. Overall, this camera is rock solid! I will be holding on to this for a long long time. August 2, 2010
Professional-feel camera When I decided I was ready to move up to a more advanced digital SLR I also decided to make the switch to Nikon. I work for a newspaper and the photographers there encouraged me to look at Nikon. I'm glad I did! This camera has all the features my professional colleagues use, and the added capability of shooting video. The camera is rugged, and with the added MBD-10 power pack it is capable of shooting about 8 frames per second, which was a feature that I wanted in the camera when I'm shooting sports or wildlife. Paired with Nikkor DX lenses, such as the 17-55 mm f/2.8, the D300S creates gorgeous photos. The camera has multiple shooting modes, and customization on the settings is nearly limitless. This is a very complex camera. I would recommend that people like me, who have some experience with cameras but might be stepping up a little bit, purchase a guidebook for the camera to accompany the manual. It might not hurt to buy a guidebook before sinking more than $1,500 into the camera, to see if this is a product you would be comfortable with. July 30, 2010
Fabulous camera - solid powerful performer Let me start by saying I'd give this all five stars if it had 1080P rather than 720P video. Beyond that, it is the best performing Nikon body I ever had. I considered the D90 as an alternative; while that one is fabulous too, I'm glad I chose the D300s because it is a major step beyond the D70 it replaced. I made the move because I wanted a camera that would turn out 99% "keepers" in all situations, and this one does it. That 51-point AF and fast response really work for me. I am also very impressed by the solid construction, dual-memory card capability, built-in flash which supplants and external SB flash through the CLS function, and in general professional quality. It enables me to do my best work. July 30, 2010
two downgrades from d200 !!! 1. custom menus should have the option of auto iso range, as was on the d200. its good to have the option of custom iso ranges (a-b-c-d), each one , when active, effects all four shooting menues! why take off something good from d200 custom menu? 2. when using auto iso, raising the flash does not lower iso as should be and as was on the d200 (and any logical camera...) 3.to get a response from nikon is impossible. 4.this is sad. July 30, 2010
My paintbrush--featured I have both the D-300 and the D-300s. They're awesome. I added the D-300s as a video feature that would allow me to capture those moving moments without putting down the camera or reaching for another camera bag. It might be the little brother of the D-700, the D3s and the D3x-but I would recommend it to all who would listen. I love it for portraits and street-hopping downtown. July 25, 2010
One Solid Camera This camera essentially has everything one could want from a DX format camera. It takes sharp, vibrant images at its default setting; it's built like a tank; it meters practically every Nikon lens for the last 20+ years; and it includes a bevy of features that every photographer wants. The cost of entry is a bit steep, sure, but with everything you get from this camera, it's well worth it. That isn't to say it's perfect. The movie mode is only 24fps and 720p with a relatively inaccurate contrast-detect auto-focus; and while it does have two memory card slots, only one is compact flash. But overall the pros outweigh the cons. If you're looking to get serious about photography, this is the camera for you. July 20, 2010
Fantastic pictures,built to last just came back from a two week tour of Europe and the Mediterranean. This camera was outstanding in all aspects. Picture quality, build quality.Battery life with the MB pack was outstanding. Can't say enough good things about it. A little heavy with the battery pack and the 18-200VR but it feels well balance and the extra battery life comes in great on long road trips were recharging is difficult. Go NIKON!!!! July 19, 2010
Great camera for Nature Photography Nikon D300s is the best camera by far that is not a full frame camera (FX), not just in the Nikon series, but in any camera series. Controls are easy to find on the D300s and the ability to shoot video is a nice feature but I barely use it, I use the camera for its main purpose. It feels rugged in your hand, it is weather sealed which means it endures extreme environment conditions. It is the best camera for Nature photography after the D3s. It takes great pictures outdoors. It has a great low light sensitivity for a non-full frame camera, D700 and D3s are superior in that aspect because they are full frame. Again the camera is super when used for nature photography and sports and any outdoor settings, and it beats any cropped-sensor camera in low light performance. Also D300s can use any Nikon lens, there are lower models that do not autofocus with some Nikon Lenses. The camera are meant for professional purposes, which means there is emphasis on the build quality and the functionality than the size and the mobility, the camera is heavier and bigger than a lower model like D90, which also lacks the magnesium alloy, weather sealed body, also D300s shutter has pro life standards. The camera shutter speed is awesome for action photography, 7 fps is awesome. you can get 8 fps with MBD10 which I like to have attached on the camera for extra battery and for professional look! Last but not least, in fact, i should have mentioned it at first, the autofocus system in the D300s is the best feature, it is the same autofocus system as the pro D3, D3s, D700, it surpasses any other autofucus system from lower models and also the autofocus in other brands. one has to know this camera is big which means you may put yourself in tight situations trying to shoot people when they do not expect you to do so, at this point you may wanna look for a very small camera. I hope Nikon can come up with a Nikon that has the body of a Leica and shoots like a D3 :)! July 17, 2010
Great camera!!!!! I love this camera! It has done everything I want it to do and has easy control of shutter, aperture, ISO, white balance, and more. This is definitely where the d300s passes the d90. Camera is a great size and feels great in the hands. Don't have one complaint! Great quality camera for any type of photographer, pro or amateur. July 12, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev
48 Questions | 62 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
48 Questions | 62 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D300S
 
3 Answers

Why Nikon's result a bit yellow compare with other brands??

Apr 29, 2011 by
by
DannyA
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
DannyA
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This is mainly because of your WB settings. I think, you can play with it.
Jan 18, 2012 by
by
satish
Belgaum, Karnataka, India
Location : 
Belgaum, Karnataka, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your color depends on what you have your white balance set to. If it's too warm, you need to set it to be more cool. Use kelvin if you don't like the presets.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
Sharon
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify the settings that you have in your camera or reset the custom settings. Each manufacture has different sensors, color space and resolutions.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

Does the Nikon D300S come with a 1/4 socket or do you have to buy one?

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Ronordious
Pa, Usa
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Ronordious
Pa, Usa
Location : 
Pa, Usa
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it has the 1/4 socket for a tripod.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This model has Tripod socket of 1/4.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

Largest size memory card

Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Pat
California
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+8points
9out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
what is the largest card and what cards do you recommend. I was looking at a new compact flash card that is 600x and 32 gig. Will it work in my D300s?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Pat
California
Location : 
California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - D300S
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
From what I can tell from Rob Galbraith's article about the new 600x Cards from Sandisk, the 64GB cards will in the D300s.

But I would not recommend you using this size. It's desirable having smaller memory because of possible damaging and data backup.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D300S
 
2 Answers

what is the size of the RAW file, in Megapixs? culd not find in book/thank you!

Jun 12, 2011 by
by
Patrick
Franklin, Ohio 45005
 on D300S
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Patrick
Franklin, Ohio 45005
Location : 
Franklin, Ohio 45005
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its hard to put a MP to a raw shot, many factors come into play Raw uncompressed stores the image as shot (no loss of data) where JPEG post processes after the shot ie. white ballance, sharpening, quality and size etc and it loses information. So raw size varies by how much data is stored the amount of colors 12bit or 14bit etc all come into play. I find in an 8GB card I can get 300+- 20 shots in raw and in TIF 200 to 830 depending on size and in JPEG 1,000 to 15,500 depending on size and quality. I shoot with a D300s
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
turp77
Plainfield CT
Location : 
Plainfield CT
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends what you got it set at, varies between 10.5mb for a 12 bit compressed to 25mb for a 14bit uncompressed, refer to page 394 of your manual for all specs.
Jun 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

D300s Continuous Shooting Not Working

Jun 12, 2011 by
by
asit
Ohio
 on D300S
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I take pictures at a racetrack and have gotten really used to my continuous shooting mode but now it has stopped working. I am sure I have just messed up a setting somewhere (altho it still says I am shooting 7 FPS under the shooting menu)...can someone give me a clue where to start looking to fix this?
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
asit
Ohio
Location : 
Ohio
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
You only get speedy continous bursts, when the camera does not take RAW files. It is particularly slow at 14-bit RAW. Make sure to switch the quality to "JPEG only".
Jun 19, 2011 by
by
JR
Houston, TX
Location : 
Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please see page # 86 of the user's manual for the D300s for more information on continuous shooting.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

Is this camera capable of auto programing in manual mode?

Jun 19, 2011 by
by
Steve
Fountain Valley,CA, USA
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
If so, how do I program it to fire off three or four exposures rapidly that are pre-set at different shutter speeds?
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Steve
Fountain Valley,CA, USA
Location : 
Fountain Valley,CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
you're talking about exposure bracketing. i don't know by heart if the d300s does it (it may, check your manual for bracketing).
Jun 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
It’s not possible to set the camera for continuous shooting at different shutter speeds.
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

what lens's are compatible with the nikon D300S?

Sep 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here's the link to a great article that talks about the different types of NIKKOR lenses and which Nikon bodies they work with: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Sep 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff2

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
All Nikon lens.
Sep 11, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

What is the rating on the d300s? How many actuations are expected?

Oct 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
150,000 actuations are expected. :)
Oct 19, 2011 by
by
Conelight

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Oct 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have misplaced mine and im unable to find a part number/name for this product
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Tim O'R
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
1k467-300 for the rubber cover for the battery pack on the bottom of the camera
Jun 9, 2012 by
by
DaddySS
New Jersey

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
I assume you mean the hotshoe for the flash, that is a BS-1 shoe cap
Jan 4, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Jackson, NJ, USA
Location : 
Jackson, NJ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on a sunny day you should be fine as the f/stop goes, obviously 2.8 is fast n blur free in low light,
the most difference you will see is the glass itself as far as the quality of photo. The 70-200mm being pro glass the image quality will be better for sure...and the 18-200 at 4.5 or 5.6 whatever the fastest aperture is, will have difference in background as opposed to 2.8...
hope this helps...
Jun 15, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 70-200 F2.8 is a much better lens than the 18-200mm F3.5-5.6. Optically the 70-200 is far superior and is a great lens, which gives a much better image, also you are able to use aperture F2.8 all the way through from 70mm to 200mm. The build quality of the 70-200 is also much better, it feels much more solid and well made. The 18-200mm is a jack of all trades lens but master of none. The image quality can change dramatically between 18-200mm and with different aperture settings. Hence the difference in price.
Mar 17, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers