Loading

Key Features

12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS Image Sensor
Delivers stunning high resolution, low-noise images with striking detail and tonal gradation.

Nikon EXPEED Image Processing
Drives breathtakingly rich image fidelity, low noise and fast image processing.

One-button Live View
Hand-held and Tripod Live View Modes, activated with one-button, for challenging studio and remote shooting conditions.

Low Noise ISO Sensitivity from 200 to 3200
Additional expanded ISO settings of Lo-1 (ISO 100 equivalent) and Hi-1 (ISO 6400 equivalent) extend versatility to match shooting requirements.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Nikon’s unique RGB metering—the only sensor that also evaluates color information when determining exposures with remarkable accuracy..

Dual memory card slots (CF and SD)
Assign card functions from a variety of storage options, optimizing available memory and file handling.

Picture Control Settings
Select from 4 preset image capture preferences (Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome, plus 9 user customizable settings) controlling Sharpening, Contrast, Brightness, Saturation and Hue.

In-Camera Image Editing
Exclusive in-camera image editing, featuring Edit movie, D-Lighting, Image Overlay, Monochrome, NEF (RAW) processing and more.

100% Viewfinder Accuracy

Up to 950 shots per EN-EL3e battery charge*
Shoot as many as 2,950 shots with the body’s EN-EL3e battery installed and the optional MB-D10 Multi-Power Battery Pack with an EN-EL4a Rechargeable Li-ion Battery*.
* based on CIPA standards/guidelines.

Continuous Shooting up to 7 fps
High speed shooting and fast response—essential to versatile performance in a wide variety of shooting disciplines.

D-Movie HD Video
Capture striking 24 fps, 720p HD movie clips, enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility—featuring external stereo Mic input and AF operation.

3-inch Super-density 921,000-dot VGA LCD Monitor
Every monitor is factory-calibrated to assure accurate color for critical still image review and Live View or D-Movie shooting.

Fast, Accurate 51-point Autofocus
Features 4 Dynamic AF modes including 3D Focus Tracking for precise autofocus and razor sharp images.

Scene Recognition System
Referencing an onboard image database and teamed with RGB metering, SRS enables even more sophisticated determination of exposures and auto white balance, along with faster, more accurate autofocus.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System
Ultrasonic process combats the accumulation of dust in front of the image sensor, safeguarding image quality.

Nikon's Active D-Lighting
Optimizes shadow and highlight detail in real time—Selectable values and 5-frame ADL bracketing offer complete control.

Rugged and Durable
The strength and precision of magnesium-alloy construction with advanced dust and moisture countermeasures is teamed with a shutter mechanism tested to beyond 150,000 cycles for real-world reliability.

Virtual Horizon Graphic Indicator

Price: ESP 1699.95* D300S Body only (Product Number 25464). Other outfits available

D300S 4.8 5 103 103
Solid Camera I was debating between this camera and the 7D. Even though heavily invested with lenses compatible with the 7D, I was constantly having issues with broken equipment from "those guys" and made the switch over to Nikon with the D300s. It's a solid camera. I've put this beast through some pretty harsh shooting conditions in heavy snowfall and freezing temperatures. It hasn't failed me yet. This camera was even knocked over from a fully extended tripod and hit lens first onto a marble floor. The only damage done was a cracked lens filter. Even still, I've seen lenses bust clean off cameras from lesser falls taking the lens mountings with them. The D300s is a tank. Having said that, it is a little on the heavy side but that is a small issue to deal with. Picture quality is as decent as any other DX dslr that I have shot or compared to within it's range. It shoots pretty clear up to 1000 iso, and if I need something higher than that, I prefer to throw a flash on. My biggest complaint with the censor is the smaller 12.3 mega pixels. Although the censor is larger than its competitor, it leaves less room for cropping tighter photos if need. This has been avoided for me though by just switching to a telephoto, or a more appropriate lens that fills the frame the way I want it. Which, by the way, after making a brand switch I find myself in love with Nikon's lenses. I also shoot a lot of video. This of course, is a dlsr and not a video camera. If you are looking for something mainly for video, this is not it. However, I enjoy doing both but hate having to carry an extra camera for video. I've been able to produce some decent work with the D300s. It works very well for news sites when I need to video for a paper's website. I've also produced a few snowboarding videos shot only with this camera. There are a couple downers though. First, you'll need to pick up an external microphone if you plan on using sound. Even then, use manual focus for two reasons. It's faster, and if you use the auto focus, you'll hear what sounds like a machine gun caused by the focusing of the lens picked up by the microphone. I STRONGLY suggest reading the manual before shooting video. There are many tips to reduce screen flicker and other such things to make your videos better. The other thing is that this isn't the best of cameras to shoot video without using a tripod. At least I gave up on it. There is no vibration reduction built into the camera, so moving around with it while shooting video will give a massive amount of shake during playback. I also wish Nikon would of gave the option to choose frame rate for video. Would be nice to have 60 fps when I need to slow motion down. I take a lot of low light photos and I'm very please with the AF assist beam on this baby. It works great, even though when using a 2.8 lens or larger, the beam hits the front of the lens. Even though this happens, it still works to some extent and much better than a flow of flashes that *cough *cough those other guys use. Overall, I love this camera. It fits all my needs with minimal equipment. It's tough as nails. Picture/video quality is great. The 7fps is sweet. As a still camera, it can't be beat. Video features could use some work in later models. Like manual control, quite full-time focusing, a choice of frame rates and built in vibration reduction would be nice. Buy this camera, you won't be disappointed. February 22, 2011
Awesome DX DSLR!! I recently purchased this body in lieu of the D7000 because of some features that it had over it. It's super rugged and I love the feel of it in my hands more so than the other crop sensor DSLR's out there. I've only had it for a couple weeks and despite all the functions it has I've quickly learned to utilize them and have set the camera up to how I want it. Coupled with some good glass all in all this is an outstanding camera body! I'll definitely enjoy lugging this around when I don't want to carry around my D3s. February 11, 2011
Great choice for non professionals The D300s is not for beginners, if thats what you want the D90 is a great entry level model for you. The D300s is for the serious amateur or pro.It has performed extremely well for me in low light,sports,wild life, portraits, weddings. I even got great results while shooting at the air show.Its easy to see that the large LCD is one of its other features I cannot stop talking about.Using the well positioned dials is another feature I love, though the menu settings are just as easy to use.I have used it non stop since Sept 2009 & it works well with all my older lenses & not just the older Nikkor lenses either. I've been using nikon cameras for over 30 years & can tell you the D300s is the camera to not only teach but to achieve the art of photography. January 21, 2011
Amazing Camera, Totally Epic !!! Use this camera in a wide variety of environments and it has excelled in every single one. Low light capabilities are incredible, works really well for Indoor Horse photography where flash is not allowed and the arena is poorly lit. ISO 1600 and getting great shots in not so great light. Add the MB10 battery pack and SB-900 Speedlite and you have a rock solid camera. Take pictures all day long, your memory card will be full long before the power runs out. Shoot anything, go anywhere rain or shine. Body does a great job of keeping the rain out on wetter shoots. In the Snow shooting with ski gloves on all the controls are easy to adjust. One thing I love about this camera, you can change all the settings you need from the body without going to the menu. The menu system is clear and user friendly. Picture playback screen is very high resolution. Build quality is rock solid. Shooting at high fps is a breeze. love the noise too, sounds like a mini machine gun. The autofocus is OUTSTANDING, super quick to respond,locks onto the target instantly, pin sharp images. Product shoots again it excels. Vivid colors, sharp images. This camera really has it all, cant fault it in any way whatsoever. Totally awesome piece of kit, Nikon have set an extremely high bench mark with this baby. Amazing I love it :) January 10, 2011
Amazing Camera This is one amazing camera! Still getting used to all the settings but I am in love with it.. If you are looking for a solid camera this one is for you! December 26, 2010
D300s is a Flagship APS-C Format Camera This quite frankly is a fantastic, easy to use model, at the edge of a 'higher end' model. It is Nikon's 'flagship' of the smaller format APS-C sensor. I bought this in March 2010 and liked it so much that in December I purtchased it's "big brother" D700, with similar features, except the D700 is the Full Frame format sensor (24X36 = 35mm equivalent). I cannot say enough good things about the picture quality of the D300s. It is also an absolutely superb camera in all other respects. Being the smaller APS-C format, the lenses are MUCH less costly but are every bit as good as the more expensive AF line (for the full frame format.) The DX format lenses are very reasonably priced - I have the 18-200 DX zoom and a 35mm DX prime lens. You may have heard that the smaller APS-C format is 'fleeting' or will be 'obsolesced' but this is not true. This format and price line fills a large and important need in the photography world, as not everyone can afford the higher echelon (the Cameras and AF lenses are VERY pricey!) The D300s is a newer model than the D700, and has two different card slots -- one CF and one SDHC. I sorely miss the two card slots on the D700, as it has only one CF slot. The D300s is well made like the higher-end models, with a magnesium housing, dirt/moisture seals and it is a VERY rugged camera. If asked for even one complaint concerning the D300s, sorry, I just can't think of one. December 26, 2010
My new toy I just got it in September and it has changed my life. December 19, 2010
Great camera BUY IT!! ever since i bought this camera ive gotten sharp images and i do recommend if you buy it get a mb-d10 battery grip and its very durable and a great investment!! December 3, 2010
Excellent camera It is an excellent camera, great colors and exposure accuracy. I had D100, D200, D300 and now the lovely D300s, I love the video function as well. The factor crop is amazing for the nikon 80-200 mm zoom. I am really happy with this camera. December 2, 2010
Quality product I own the precursor to the D300s, the D300 and see the quality in both products. With the additional memory slot, the revising of the in-camera editing features and the increase in frames per second firing rate, clearly define this camera as a quality upgrade. November 28, 2010
Everything I Expected and More I've been using Nikon for at least 30 years. My first DSLR was a D100, then D200, then D300. Now I have the D300S and D300 for back-up. I was going to go with a D700 but needed two bodies. I also like the crop factor especially with my 70-200VR. I shoot semi-professionally, events, weddings, portraiture, and commercial. The D300's allow me the flexibility to get just about any type of shot, including confident low light up to ISO 1600. I bought the D300S because of the 2 card slots, the quiet shutter mode, and the speed. Having two bodies the same makes for a much easier transition when using two bodies. I use them with a 17-55DX, 105VR, 70-200VR, and 50 1.4 AFS. I also have MB-D10 battery packs which make long term shooting and portrait shooting a breeze. I posted a few images. I've only had the camera about 2 weeks so this is all I have so far. But it's already making me money. November 27, 2010
Excellent Camera The absolute best camera I have ever owned. With a lot of hype out about the D-7000, I had to see for myself. I tested a friends 7000 and although it is a good camera, it just isn't a D-300s. The look and feel of the 300s says pro camera, the picture quality is excellent even with 12.3 pixels. Great camera. November 15, 2010
Excellent Product I always used Nikon since I have started photography, but this camera is just perfect for its size and weight. November 13, 2010
Amazing Performance at a Great Price I have had this camera for almost a year now and I am completely in love with it. It is the best APS-C camera available out there and don't let the somewhat low pixel count fool you. It produces sharp images in the low ISOs and useable images at higher ISOs. It handles like a dream with all the buttons placed in the right spot. The Menu is incredibly deep and user friendly, and highly customizable. It has many features on par with the more expensive full frame Nikons but at a lower price. The lack of dials is a welcome change as many APS-C sensored cameras have those awful "easy shot" dials that just get in the way and serve no purpose. This camera is not for the faint hearted and should be used by serious photographers. No point and shoot here. Learn the camera's functions and you will get a lot more out of your images without having to pay an arm and a leg for lenses or camera bodies. This makes a great primary camera for enthusiasts and students alike, and a capable back up to any pro photographer. I have used the video capabalities sparingly and I consider it more of a novelty, so I have not offered much in terms to this function. It's fun to use but I cannot give an opinion on something I rarely use. November 4, 2010
Everything perfect...but poor high ISO~~~ This D300s is my everyday work horse,it give me the speed,accurate AF,Excelent metering & nice image. The worst thing i wanna mention is POOR perfomence HIGH ISO from ASA 800 till ASA 3200~~~worst than D90,D5000 & Canon EOS 550D & EOS 7D my sister own~~~ I wish NIKON can make a refine high iso firmware for D300s asap...!!!!!! Not only me make a complaint about noisy high iso,got a millions D300s user around the world also have same complaint too~~~~ November 3, 2010
This is a first class camera As a nature photographer (primarily birds), this camera and its respective lenses are terrific. The camera has a wide variety of features that lend themselves to lighting and object conditions that vary from second to second in "wild" areas. Its preformance in unusual weather conditions is also remarkable: Panama rain forest, Ecuador's high altitudes (including snow and bone chilling winds) in the Andes and humidity of the Amazon. Not for the beginner. October 6, 2010
Excellent camera for the serious photographer This camera has done all that I have asked, in fact I am still learning all its capabilities one year later.This camera is the one that will lead the way to the "Art of Excellent Photography." The pictures below are all from my D300s with the 18-200 mm f3.5-5.6 zoom lens. My old Nikon FE was great in its era, but the D300s is light years of technological achievement ahead of it. Even my old Nikkor 50mm f1.2/105 mm f2.5/28mm f3.5/70-200 mm f4.0 series E lenses have performed very well with the D300s. I love having my own dark room in my camera. The ability to crop has me trying all the features I never dreamed of with my old FE. September 29, 2010
complex Camera does a good job. It is quite complex and it will take me a long time to learn it all. September 28, 2010
Typical Nikon excellence I've been with Nikon for 30+ years: an F3, F4S a compact Coolpix 900. I have a Leica M7 and a Hassy 503cx. Painfully slow in accepting digital, I believe traditional photography can co-exist with digital. I bought a D300S a few weeks ago along with an SB900 flash and a 18-200mm lens. The results are stunning and in particular low light capabilities. September 26, 2010
Great !!! Been using this camera since November 2009 & love it since then... Previously using Canon 40D, when my 40D broke, my friend told me buy D90. When we testing D90 & D300s, instantly fall in love with this camera... :) September 24, 2010
Likn between amateur and pro My first experience with Nikon was with the Nikonos III which I logically used for underwater photography and some old film SLRs. Then it was a big stop. I turned to point and shoot but in April I decided to turn back to my roots, I bought my first D-SLR, the D300s. It's simply superb. Everyday when I go to school I make sure to bring my D300s. The controls are so easy to use and thanks to this beast and along with my Sigma 18-250mm (Don't worry I also use some old nikkor lenses) I got some really nice shots. I highly recommend the D300s to both professionals and advanced amateurs. September 23, 2010
Excellent product producing stunning results! I've only had my D300s for a week, and I'm stunned by it's performance! I enjoyed using a D-80 for several years, but felt I could use a step up, and couldn't be happier! My AF-S Nikkor 70-300 VR locks onto a target in the blink of an eye with no searching. I've got a lot more to learn, but this first impression is this is worth every penny! September 19, 2010
Great camera for advanced amateurs and pros. Having decided to get back into pro photography after almost twenty years I decided to go with the D300S as the first digital camera in my arsenal. I have not been disappointed. the pictures are great and the thing I like most is that I can use my Nikon AF Lenses which I purchased in 1992 and they are as sharp as ever and almost all the features work with them. I have concentrated on product and scenic photography and like the results so far. The combination of controls and possible settings can appear to be overwhelming at first but my advice is to take a couple hours each day for a week or so and experiment with them so they become easy. I bought the package with the 18-200mm lens which is a good lens but not as sharp as I need. I also added the MB-D10 which gives the camera a better feel and can triple battery power. I am usually a whiz when it comes to learning software but have found the Nikon Capture NX2 somewhat cumbersome to learn - it must be really good? I shot medium format in the past and must say that some of my best shots with the D300s so far are on par with my pictures from my medium format years. September 15, 2010
Nikon win! I've been a Canon shooter for my entire career as a photojournalist for a 25k circulation newspaper and throughout college. After my Canon 40D broke, not even being a year old, and a week before I was flying across the country for an assignment I picked up the 50D. A few months later, I had problems with that as well. The final straw was when I bought a wireless flash transmitter from Canon that worked very poorly. I decided it was time to stop wasting money in equipment that wasn't working as hard as I do. So I sold all my Canon gear and picked up the D300s as my first Nikon camera. So far it has been a much needed improvement for my work. The camera is a solid build and shoots solid pictures and video, I could not ask for a better DX-format camera. I especially enjoy spending less time in the menu, since it seems Nikon has a dial or button for everything setting you would have to quickly change while shooting. I am now a Nikon shooter! August 26, 2010
Great picture quality, speed and focus Bought the D300s after owning a D90 and D5000. Definately a professional feel to it in comparison. Love this camera, just can't use it enough! August 17, 2010
Rediscovering the joys of photography. In 1965 I bought a Nikon F SLR camera with an 85mm, f1.8 lens and a 35mm, f3.5 Perspective Control lens. Armed with a reconditioned Gossen Lunasix light meter, during the next couple of decades I shot several thousand slides, now stored away in Kodak Carousels in boxes stacked in an unused closet. When the so-called "point and shoot" cameras became popular, my wife who, up to that period, had no interest in photography because it was, "too complicated," found that she did indeed enjoy taking photographs after all, since, with the advent of "point and shoot" cameras, she no longer had to bother with f-stops, shutter speeds, focusing, and all that dauntingly "complicated" stuff. So in the intervening years, she became the photographer of family birthdays, weddings, graduations and other significant events, and I was content to leave my equipment in my camera bag. Well, having recently been retired, I have purchased a Nikon D300s with a Nikkor 10 - 24mm DX lens to again pursue my former interest in photography. The D300s with its metal skeleton feels very solid, and after the battery is installed, it is very similar in heft to my old all-metal Nikon F, which is one of the reasons I chose it. The versatility of this camera is astounding, especially to one who is making the transition from a fully manual film camera and a handheld light meter, but I am learning to use it one feature at a time. Let's see, the ISO value in digital photography is similar to the ASA number in film photography?--except that the ISO values in the D300s range from 200 to 3200! I am taking little itty-bitty steps into 21st century photography and having the greatest time. Fine instruments like the D300s and the 10 - 24mm DX lens inspire creativity and encourage experimentation in composing with light, form, color, and texture. They are key to my rediscovering the joys of photography. August 10, 2010
D300s Overall like the camera. Also have the D300 camera which has been a great camera to use. Needed to updated backup camera so my D300 will become the backup and the D300s the primary for wedding photography. Overall the look and feel of the camera is great. Just seems that the multi-selector-button seems a bit flimsy compared to the D300 and not as smooth. Know there is the addition of the button for video, but just seems like there could be problems later on with it. Very happy with the D300 and its performance. Looking forward to working with the D300s. August 9, 2010
The Perfect Tool for all Photographers When I decided to buy a camera most of my friends here told me to buy the other products which is of course canon, but I did not listen to any of their suggestions because I'm not really a good fan of big pixels instead I go with my instinct. i bought the D3000 first and it was really fantastic but as time goes by I saw some limitations with the unit so i decided to buy the most advance and the most talk about D300s....and indeed this camera has it all! I love this camera so much all of my photos in facebook amazed a lot of people. Thank you Nikon I'm a big fan of yours. August 6, 2010
I bought the D300s after using a D80 for years. The D80 was and is a great camera but it is still an entry level camera with limitations that the D300s does not have. The D300s' magnesium alloy frame is surprisingly sturdy, mine survived a 5 foot gravity attack on to a tile floor with no internal damage or external scars. The tracking Auto focus makes it easier for me to shoot those pesky musicians that love running around the stage. The image quality is amazing even in low light. What really sold me when buying the camera was the 14bit RAW capability. If you don't know what that means, it allows more information to be captured in order to be able to recover seemingly lost highlights and shadows as well as more color information. I tested this feature on a few silhouettes and was able to recover all of the model's features in most cases. My second favorite feature is the 7 fps burst rate. It really helps when shooting fast moving subjects when one picture is not enough. Live view is much easier to use on the D300s than the D300. When ever someone feels the need to try to block my shots, I press the LV button and frame up my shot whilst holding the camera above the person. Snap a few then move on. The weather sealing really comes in handy down in the hot humid south.While shooting at an indoor tropical garden most other cameras there fogged up while the D300s stayed moisture free inside. There are a number of great features in this camera. It is great for anyone looking to take a serious step up in photography. August 4, 2010
Well rounded, very capable of any siutuation Coming from the D70, D70s, and D80, the D300s was the upgrade I've been waiting for. The d90 didn't really do it for me, neither did the D200. The features of the D300s are all that I've been waiting for in a camera. To name a few, dual card slots, HD video, tons of customizable menus and settings, excellent ISO handling, weather sealed, sensor cleaning, and much much more. The D300s is for more advanced users, those who have taken their photography to the next level. There are no automatic scene modes on the D300s, the closest to automatic you'll get is the program mode. This is something I love, I am forced to use the manual features (though I've had lots of training coming from film and using mostly assisted manual in my previous DSLRs) to get the shot I want. Overall, this camera is rock solid! I will be holding on to this for a long long time. August 2, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
45 Questions | 59 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
45 Questions | 59 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D300S
 
3 Answers

Why Nikon's result a bit yellow compare with other brands??

Apr 29, 2011 by
by
DannyA
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
DannyA
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This is mainly because of your WB settings. I think, you can play with it.
Jan 18, 2012 by
by
satish
Belgaum, Karnataka, India
Location : 
Belgaum, Karnataka, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your color depends on what you have your white balance set to. If it's too warm, you need to set it to be more cool. Use kelvin if you don't like the presets.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
Sharon
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify the settings that you have in your camera or reset the custom settings. Each manufacture has different sensors, color space and resolutions.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

Does the Nikon D300S come with a 1/4 socket or do you have to buy one?

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Ronordious
Pa, Usa
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Ronordious
Pa, Usa
Location : 
Pa, Usa
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it has the 1/4 socket for a tripod.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This model has Tripod socket of 1/4.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

Largest size memory card

Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Pat
California
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+8points
9out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
what is the largest card and what cards do you recommend. I was looking at a new compact flash card that is 600x and 32 gig. Will it work in my D300s?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Pat
California
Location : 
California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - D300S
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
From what I can tell from Rob Galbraith's article about the new 600x Cards from Sandisk, the 64GB cards will in the D300s.

But I would not recommend you using this size. It's desirable having smaller memory because of possible damaging and data backup.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D300S
 
2 Answers

what is the size of the RAW file, in Megapixs? culd not find in book/thank you!

Jun 12, 2011 by
by
Patrick
Franklin, Ohio 45005
 on D300S
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Patrick
Franklin, Ohio 45005
Location : 
Franklin, Ohio 45005
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its hard to put a MP to a raw shot, many factors come into play Raw uncompressed stores the image as shot (no loss of data) where JPEG post processes after the shot ie. white ballance, sharpening, quality and size etc and it loses information. So raw size varies by how much data is stored the amount of colors 12bit or 14bit etc all come into play. I find in an 8GB card I can get 300+- 20 shots in raw and in TIF 200 to 830 depending on size and in JPEG 1,000 to 15,500 depending on size and quality. I shoot with a D300s
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
turp77
Plainfield CT
Location : 
Plainfield CT
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends what you got it set at, varies between 10.5mb for a 12 bit compressed to 25mb for a 14bit uncompressed, refer to page 394 of your manual for all specs.
Jun 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

D300s Continuous Shooting Not Working

Jun 12, 2011 by
by
asit
Ohio
 on D300S
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I take pictures at a racetrack and have gotten really used to my continuous shooting mode but now it has stopped working. I am sure I have just messed up a setting somewhere (altho it still says I am shooting 7 FPS under the shooting menu)...can someone give me a clue where to start looking to fix this?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
asit
Ohio
Location : 
Ohio
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
You only get speedy continous bursts, when the camera does not take RAW files. It is particularly slow at 14-bit RAW. Make sure to switch the quality to "JPEG only".
Jun 19, 2011 by
by
JR
Houston, TX
Location : 
Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please see page # 86 of the user's manual for the D300s for more information on continuous shooting.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

Is this camera capable of auto programing in manual mode?

Jun 19, 2011 by
by
Steve
Fountain Valley,CA, USA
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
If so, how do I program it to fire off three or four exposures rapidly that are pre-set at different shutter speeds?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Steve
Fountain Valley,CA, USA
Location : 
Fountain Valley,CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
you're talking about exposure bracketing. i don't know by heart if the d300s does it (it may, check your manual for bracketing).
Jun 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
It’s not possible to set the camera for continuous shooting at different shutter speeds.
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

what lens's are compatible with the nikon D300S?

Sep 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here's the link to a great article that talks about the different types of NIKKOR lenses and which Nikon bodies they work with: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Sep 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff2

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
All Nikon lens.
Sep 11, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

What is the rating on the d300s? How many actuations are expected?

Oct 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
150,000 actuations are expected. :)
Oct 19, 2011 by
by
Conelight

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Oct 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have misplaced mine and im unable to find a part number/name for this product
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Tim O'R
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
1k467-300 for the rubber cover for the battery pack on the bottom of the camera
Jun 9, 2012 by
by
DaddySS
New Jersey

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
I assume you mean the hotshoe for the flash, that is a BS-1 shoe cap
Jan 4, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Jackson, NJ, USA
Location : 
Jackson, NJ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on a sunny day you should be fine as the f/stop goes, obviously 2.8 is fast n blur free in low light,
the most difference you will see is the glass itself as far as the quality of photo. The 70-200mm being pro glass the image quality will be better for sure...and the 18-200 at 4.5 or 5.6 whatever the fastest aperture is, will have difference in background as opposed to 2.8...
hope this helps...
Jun 15, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 70-200 F2.8 is a much better lens than the 18-200mm F3.5-5.6. Optically the 70-200 is far superior and is a great lens, which gives a much better image, also you are able to use aperture F2.8 all the way through from 70mm to 200mm. The build quality of the 70-200 is also much better, it feels much more solid and well made. The 18-200mm is a jack of all trades lens but master of none. The image quality can change dramatically between 18-200mm and with different aperture settings. Hence the difference in price.
Mar 17, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers