Loading

Key Features

12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor
Coupled with Nikon's EXPEED image processing and NIKKOR optics, breathtaking picture quality is assured.

Vari-angle color LCD monitor
Position the 2.7-inch monitor freely for fresh shooting perspectives. Screen flips inward for safe keeping.

One-button Live View
Easy Live View access offers 4 autofocus modes, including Face-priority AF.

Low noise ISO sensitivity from 200 to 3200
Engineered for exceptional low-light shooting.

11-point Autofocus System with 3D Focus Tracking
Fast and accurate autofocus delivers razor sharpness.

In-camera Retouch image editing
Creative in-camera image editing, featuring Soft Filter, Straighten, Color Outline Effect, Perspective Control, Red-eye Correction, Image Overlay, Monochrome and more—all without a computer.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Nikon’s renowned 420-pixel RGB 3D Color Matrix Metering II, teamed with the exclusive Scene Recognition System, evaluates each scene for unmatched exposure accuracy.

GPS Geo-tagging
GP-1 GPS unit (optional) automatically identifies and records every image’s latitude, longitude and altitude, with satellite time-of-day.

D-Movie Mode with sound
Record 720p HD movie clips enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility.

19 Auto-exposure Scene Modes
Capture stunning photos in challenging picture-taking situations including Sunsets, Candlelight, Silhouette, Portrait, Landscape, Beach/Snow, and more.

Continuous shooting as fast as 4 frames per second
Combined with fast power-up and split-second shutter response, decisive moments are captured easily without annoying shooting lag.

Built-in image sensor cleaning
Effective 4-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning keeps images spot free.

Auto Active D-Lighting
Restores lost shadow and highlight detail in high contrast exposures—Selectable and Auto modes available.

Picture Control Settings for personal image control
Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, Landscape and 9 customizable settings.

Durable, high precision shutter
Testing to over 100,000 cycles assures precision and long shutter life.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D5000 4.7 5 1579 1587
Great Camera I bought this camera for two reasons over the other similar cameras from other brands and that was speed and the swivel screen. The speed is great but it slows down a lot when it runs out of internal memory and you have to move it to the card. But that is common with all cameras. The swivel screen is fantastic, I typically keep the screen turned where I can't see it so that I do not get smudges on the screen when using the eye piece. The camera takes great pictures, I am amazed. I took a picture of a VW car driving about 25MPH and I could read the VW on the hub cap. I also like the camera controls of what you can do after the picture has been taken. This is a great camera for someone who is just getting into D-SLRs. I am so happy with it. July 22, 2010
A real joy to use! As this is my first D-SLR, I have no other experience with other models to compare this model against others, but the features and functions of this camera are a treat for me to venture out with and capture truly stunning images along the way. The screen is large enough to review images with, and the flip and rotation feature of the screen is a smart detail, as storing the camera in my bag with the screen closed makes sense in order to avoid scratches. In bright sunlight, it is tough to see the screen, but it is not an insurmountable concern. Just something to comment on, and perhaps an adjustment can be made to improve on this, but it hasn't bothered me enough to investigate this. The image quality is just amazing- my kit came with the 18-55mm lens, and I have acquired a 1.8 35mm and 55-200mm lens as well, so I feel like I have something for every situation I encounter, at least at this point in my journeys. The camera needs the AF-S lenses since there isn't an AF motor in the body, but that's fine with me. Shooting in Manual mode has been a real learning experience in how a camera works, what affects ISO, aperture, and shutter speed have on a picture, and how to capture the image I am looking for. Additional reading has helped me to understand this even further. This is a truly versatile camera with a high quality list of features that allow me to take amazing and detailed pictures. I feel it to be a worthwhile investment, and am glad that I chose this unit! Perhaps in a few years, I will step up to a higher end model, but I see no reason to do so, given that my skills at photography are just being "developed." :>) As a side note, I have gotten some body armor for this camera to add some additional protection, and it has been most helpful in keeping my camera safe and sound. The unit is strong in its own right, but adding the silicon cover has helped to defend against windblown sand and grit, scuffs from other equipment, and moisture, as well as providing a more secure grip of the camera. I would suggest to anyone that they look into adding this protection for themselves. I hope my review has been helpful, if a little thin on technical features. July 22, 2010
Easy to use and the photo are great. The D5000 is easy to use, if you want to just point and shoot or if you want to take full control of your photo, you just get great photos. Very good detail and color. July 22, 2010
Great camera for non-professional Not being a professional photographer, I really enjoy the features of the D5000 simply because it can do whatever I have in mind from portraits to high speed aircraft to outdoor shots. Great camera and lens. July 22, 2010
Not For The Faint Of Heart! Excellent camera for the advanced user who is willing to fully understand and utilize all its capabilities and who takes a lot of photos. The focusing and light-gathering features are fabulous, but force the user to take many photos to get the 1 or 2 "professional" ones. This is no problem for digital cameras but my family gets huffy when I ask them to pose for "just one more shot". The occasional user would likely not be willing to put up with this. I use my D5000 for the heavy-duty serious work, but for family photos, trips, etc., I rely on a compact digital. July 22, 2010
It is just simply a great camera, that says it all no need for long flowery accolades.SIMPLY GREAT says it all. July 22, 2010
excellent camera great camera, well thought through controls and design. the photo quality is amazing. Don't let the 12mb fool you, it does the job better than just the numbers show. compared to my friends cameras (some with more pixal numbers) this will out perform their cameras. The controls and capabilities are more than enough for most anyone. Possibly the weakest link is the size of the view finder- a bit small, especially if you are really accustomed to 35mm cameras. But overall a very nice camera July 22, 2010
Love the camera My experience with the D5000 is a little over a year now. Love the versatility and the photos. I get lots of compliments on my shots. I worked in the photofinishing industry for 19 years and picked up photography as a hobby. I am not a pro! I have recommended this camera to several friends; so far, 2 of them have bought it. Very happy with quailty, ease of use, and everything about it. July 22, 2010
Great features for the price I have had a Canon Rebel and was looking for something similar. When I compared features and prices, I went with the Nikon. I have not been disappointed. July 22, 2010
Love this camera I am an photographer and not exactly a pro, I do a lot of weddings and portraits. This camera is great for a first time DSLR user and the features are really easily to adjust to to get great photos. My photography business is doing very well since I am able to showcase these new photos with my Nikon D5000. July 22, 2010
Best camera for budgeted Professional clicks This is a camera which I purchased after a long hunt for DSLR. It contains all the features which a person would love to have like various pre set setting for clicking in different times. Video recording, audio recording and I will say all what you can think off. I beats other DSLR in this price range in terms of features. It is very easy to use. Even thought it was my first DSLR, I get used to it within few days. It is must to have camera and can bet that you will love to have it as it never let me down in any tough shooting time, be it low light or night photos, Catching flying birds, sunset, family get together at home, or portraits of my little one. I always get clearly focused and very clear photos always and it hardly blurs except if it is my fault :-). I have these two 18-55 VR and 55-200 ED-VR lenses and they give me a good reach form wide angle to telephoto. And both lens performs equally well. July 22, 2010
Great for a first timer at DSLR! Takes a super crisp photo, plenty of in-camera editing options and easy to use controls. No nonsense, user friendly features. I am contantly amazed at the photo quality in many shooting modes. Between capturing my crazy toddler (now she's more than just a blur on the screen!) and my competitive soccer-playing teenager (actions shots like crazy!), this camera has far exceeded my expectations. I had originally bought this as it was on sale, with the intention of upgrading when I was comfortable... well, I love it, and am keeping it for a long time to come :) July 22, 2010
Outstanding all around camera I utilize this camera for my business and personal use. It takes outstanding photographs and is very easy to use. The learning curve is short as I was shooting great photos within minutes of taking the camera out of the box. I am in the private investigations and forensic consulting business, so I need a digital SLR camera for a variety of lighting conditions and fast shutter speeds. This camera does it all at a very attractive price. Since buying the Nikon D5000, my more expensive Canon Digital SLR rarely gets used. July 22, 2010
D5000 is the one for professional quality pictures This camera takes awesome professional pictures every time. The only problem I have is remembering that I have to turn it off manually I also wish the lens cap had an attachment on the main body somehow. July 22, 2010
This camera takes great pictures and videos! I have two D5000s, as well as a D200 and a D300, but I use this camera most of the time. It is compact and lightweight. The options range from fully automatic to the photographer controls everything. I also like additional accessories like a remote and AC adapter. This is a great camera! July 22, 2010
Say yes to the camera Keeping in mind that a camera can at best record what it is presented by the lens, and the lens can at best transmit faithfully what it views, and what it views is determined by available light, and that, too often, the best light comes either from or with the help of a flash, it thus becomes futile to review any one of these items in the absence of the others. That said, this camera makes it possible for an aspiring amateur like me to assemble such a combination within the budget limits of a fixed income. And yes, that is a big deal. The kit lens is good, the hot shoe takes a SB-900 flash, and the camera has Nikon's 12.3 MP sensor. You can follow this sensor all the way up through the line to the D300s body . The shutter speed can be a high as 1/250 with flash in the manual mode, the frames per second can approach 4 with a fast memory card, the viewfinder is adequate, live-view works more-or-less as expected, and the menus are complete and easy to use. It has the flexibility needed for high quality work in various lighting situations without dumbing you down to simplistic menu choices. Tripod work is greatly facilitated by the swiveling view-screen, although I do wish that screen had higher resolution and a bigger viewing area. If you need to enter the field with a full set of attachments, and want the camera to later be traded or sold for purposes of upgrading without having to replace all of your kit, the D5000 is an excellent choice. July 22, 2010
Great all around product I bought this a few days before leaving for vacation, I have used Nikon Film SLR's and coolpix cameras. This camera was extremely easy to use right out of the box, with a day of getting familiar, I had a pretty good grasp on features and functions. Love the interface, the movable LCD came in handy and the ability to take movies was nice. Plus my old Nikon flash works with it !! July 22, 2010
I have had the camera for 6 months and recently took it to Italy! It was so easy to use and my photos turned out fantastic! July 22, 2010
Tremendous camera with great features As an older amateur who used 35mm Canons, the D5000 is more than I could hope for. I am still learning the uses but the auto mode works for general use extremely well. I also love the ability to control every aspect of the shot with the full range of features the camera contains. July 22, 2010
Difficult to NOT take a great Picture I'm not a pro, but the Nikon 5000 is such a great camera that it's hard to not take great pictures. Love the display but like that I can turn it off too. The battery is amazing at how long it lasts. Went to a local car show and took over 300 pictures - not a bad one in the bunch. All in focus and colors are amazing. Can't go wrong with this camera. July 22, 2010
INCREDIBLE!!! Truly the best camera for the money. Easy to use for a beginner. I would definately purchase the same model in a heart beat. The functions and capabilities are never ending. Makes taking pictures an ease. July 22, 2010
Lots of great features but lacks some quality This is a good camera if you are a complete beginner, looking to learn how to use an SLR, or for a glorified point-n-shoot that makes you look smart to laymen. However, it's not a professional camera, and it has problems with speckle noise and other limitations. Also, I didn't realize when I bough it that lenses for this camera are special...the have a special AF motor in them which usually comes with the camera. This makes all the lenses more expensive and hard to find. Do yourself a favor and go with slightly better model, it will do you better in the long run. July 22, 2010
Compares to a laptop. Why? Nice features, latest technology, user friendly, all at a reasonable price. Use it, abuse it, and lose it. Good for around 3 years, then improvements will make it obsolete. The view display would have been better if it opened to the side so the camera could be used setting on a table or other improvised rest. Also the shutter lag bothers me when shooting thru the display. Overall, a nice working tool. July 22, 2010
Nikon D5000 After months of reviewing some of the other DSLR camera option I went with the D5000 and I am glad I did.. This camera does everything I hoped it would and more, lots more.. While still new to the DSLR scene, I have lots to learn.. The ease of use of this camera out of the box was amazing.. Learning the ins and outs of a DSLR compared to a point and shoot was rather easy with this camera.. The pictures it takes are great..I have no complaints thus far and I am looking forward to taking more great pix.. July 22, 2010
Lighter in weight but not features This is my third digital camera from Nikon. I began with a Sony, eventually switched to Nikon and now I feel like a "saleswoman" for them. Nikon never disappoints. I wanted to save money by not having to purchase action shots from professionals at kids sporting and dance competition events. I also have carpal tunnel so the D90 just weighed a bit too much for someone who would be using it for 3-4 hours on some days. I find the additional VR lens to be awesome and worth the investment. I love that flexibility. This camera offers everything for the family person looking to capture better images and can certainly launch into a career camera because of Nikon's additional lenses and accessories. The hard part is that I love this so much (who can beat 4 photos per second for action shots), that my purse-toting point and shoot Nikon is now barely touched because it just feels so inferior now! Again, can't go wrong with this one. July 22, 2010
Is a wonderful start for beginners The Nikon D5000 is a wonderful camera. The mobilized LCD screen is very helpful for shooting landscape down low without getting yourself all dirty from laying on the ground. I totally reccomend it to anyone who wants to starting jumping into photography. July 22, 2010
I am new to the SLR World. I think this is a great camera I am still learning all of the ins and outs but I think I have found a new hobby. July 22, 2010
New to Digital SLR I love the camera! There are a lot of features and it is somewhat overwhelming at first, but once you learn even minimally some of the basics you can start to play around with settings to see the differences. Unlike film, when you decide to play with ISO or aperture or speed, you get to see the results immediately. I took some outrageous shots of the Macy's July 4th fireworks. It was my first time taking night shots. I was next to two pro photographers who were helpful but the long and short of it was, they were very impressed with the shots I took. Its a great camera July 22, 2010
It is GREAT! I originally bought this camera (D5000) because I could not afford all of the lenes, flash and attachments at once. I am changing from one camera type (I have thousands invested) to Nikon. The D5000 was going to be my backup camera. It still will be in the future but I am not in a hurry to change cameras. I have a few years before I have to do that and will wait. It has been great! I have unfortunately dropped it once with no apparent affect. It is the first time in 40+ years I have dropped a camera. I had to replace the filter on the camera, which broke. My pictures have also been great! What else can I say. Every thing else has already been said. Thank you Nikon. July 22, 2010
This camera is the most user friendly that I have ever experienced. Being an amateur, I have been able to take some exciting images with this camera. Even using manual settings it is easy to get creative images with this camera. It is a great camera for proffessionals also. July 22, 2010
Page: 48 49 50 51 52 ... 54
<<prev | next>>
131 Questions | 163 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
131 Questions | 163 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D5000
 
4 Answers

Can you take extremely up close pictures with this camera?

Sep 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5000
Has staff answer
+2points
5out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful3
For example, would you be able to focus in on a screw and see the scratches on its threading etc...
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
With one of the compatible macro lenses, yes.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Dec 15, 2011 by
by
Kate
Orange County, CA
Location : 
Orange County, CA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
nope
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The camera has a close-up scene mode, but for extremely close focus you will need to use a Macro lens. Nikon's macro lenses are called Micro-NIKKOR lenses and most of them will let you get so close that you can photograph objects at life-size. To read more about Macro lenses, read this article: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E....
 
Products related to my answer
 
Sep 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff2

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you had the right lens and set up then yes.
Sep 14, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
3 Answers

Why does my D5000 only support SD cards and not SDHC? am i missing something

Dec 9, 2011 by
by
RichC
 on D5000
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
if have tried putting a SDHC in my camera and it says it doesnt support it. Is there a setting, am i missing something. is there SD cards more than 2 gb. Thanks
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
RichC
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
One thing to note about the Nikons staff answer. They are giving the approved list of SD cards able to be used on the D5000. This does not mean that other SD cards cannot be used. Sandisk recommends the 32gb Extreme SDHD which is not on the Nikon list. As far as I know, other SDHC card should work on the D5000, though it is always a case that you should find out as much about the product before you buy. I would first check your firmware first, even if it doesn't work it won't do any harm.
Dec 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
Answer Title: Approved SD cards for D5000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The camera should do, Update your firmware: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17162 and see if that makes a difference.
Dec 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Sarah
IL
Location : 
IL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, that was the mobile link.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16431/~/user's-manual---d5000---guide-to-digital-photography
What else do you need?
Feb 6, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is the manual:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16431/~/user's-manual---d5000---guide-to-digital-photography
Feb 6, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it can be downloaded here
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13948#Anchor-1
Feb 6, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
I have the D5000 with the 70-300mm VR lens. Could you please tell me if there are any teleconverters that are compatible with this combination? If not, could you tell me if any teleconverter lens is compatible with the D5000 and the auto focus still works? Thank you.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
RobnL
League City, TX
Location : 
League City, TX
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Since it has an F mount it can be attach to your camera. However, not all lenses can be used with a teleconverter. In general wide angle lenses or wide angle zoom lenses cannot be used. Also, lenses with relatively slow maximum apertures (slower than f2.8) cannot be used with teleconverters.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Unfortunatley the answer is no, no tc's will fit on this lens.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
2 Answers

Tips on achieving bokeh effect?

Apr 8, 2011 by
by
Abby
Maine, USA
 on D5000
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How can I get the bokeh effect?
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Abby
Maine, USA
Location : 
Maine, USA
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
What you need to do to achieve Bokeh in your images is use the maximum aperture on your camera's lens. Lenses that have f/stops of f/2.8 or wider (f/2, f/1.8, f/1.4) are ideal for use with this technique. With the aperture wide open, you can also increase the distance between your subject and the background to make it go out of focus more.
To choose the aperture you want (wide open) use the camera in manual mode - where you will have to manually set the aperture and shutter speed, or aperture priority, where you set the aperture and the camera chooses the shutter speed.
Depending upon how much light is in the scene, you may also have to alter your ISO to be able to achieve the widest f/stop.
Feb 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Bokeh effect is nothing but the blurred part of the out-of-focus image. This effect is normally seen in the photography mostly around the light sources. This effect helps to focus on the object while making the background visually appealing.
Apr 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

what is a good case that this will fit in? how far can it zoom?

Apr 16, 2011 by
by
photographer101
Florida
 on D5000
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
please answer asap!!! : )
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
photographer101
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I have a D3000 (similarly sized) and my case is a Hi-Pro DSLR Sling bag, it works very well. The zoom depends on what lens you have on it, but with the standard kit lens it has about 3x zoom.
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Conelight
Indianapolis
Location : 
Indianapolis
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
CF-DC2 Semi-soft Case // The zoom capability depends on what lens you mount since this camera uses interchangeable lenses.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

Is this camera able to take videos ?

Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5000
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes - in full hd. but only 5 mins at a time (though you can of course make lots of 5 min videos). sound though is shockingly bad (i dont believe you can add a microphone either). just pop it in live view mode and hit the ok button. i would also put the lens into manual mode. the results are pretty good (not that i record a lot of video but it is handy and quality is great
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
DarrenM

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

How do I turn the flash off when shooting outdoors?

May 5, 2011 by
by
Newbie
Dallas
 on D5000
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I hit a setting somewhere, not sure what combo, and now everytime I take outdoor pics the flash pops up and flashes.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Newbie
Dallas
Location : 
Dallas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Turn the mode dial from whatever you have it on to the icon that looks like a lightning bolt with an arrow but crossed out. Then flash won't pop up. But if the flash pops up the camera must think you need it, usually your pics will come out better when you listen to the camera when you are a starter.
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Talkalot
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
well, give the A program a try (aperture priority). :) most enthusiast or pro photographers don't use any other program besides M or A. or select one of the modes on the mode switch that shows no flash. (see your manual in that matter.)
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
2 Answers

memory

May 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5000
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
is Sandisk 32 GB Extreme SDHC Cards (SDSDX3-032G-A31) or SanDisk 32GB Extreme Pro - SDHC - UHS Speed Class 1 - High Performance memory card SDSDXP1-032G-X46 compatable with nikon d5000 camera. if yes which one do you recomend for memory?
thank you
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes- and I would recomend the 32 GB Extreme SDHC Cards. If you were getting a camera such as the D3s, I would recomend the pro one but the D5000 only shoots at 4fps so you don't need an extremely fast memory card. Just so you know the 32GB card will hold around 15 thousand photos on the D5000, I use an 8GB and its 3000 photo capacity is enough for me. Don't forget you can always dump it onto your computer!!
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Talkalot
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved SD cards for D5000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
2 Answers

the price includes a lens ?

May 26, 2011 by
by
Dreamer !
lebanon
 on D5000
Has staff answer
+7points
8out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Dreamer !
lebanon
Location : 
lebanon
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, It does. The 18-55mm VR AF-S zoom lens comes with this camera. It is a 3x zoom and the VR means vibration reduction to keep your pics sharp in low light. AF-S means it has autofocus.
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Talkalot
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The suggested retail price shown in our website for US$629.95 is for the camera body only.
May 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers