Loading

Key Features

12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor
Coupled with Nikon's EXPEED image processing and NIKKOR optics, breathtaking picture quality is assured.

Vari-angle color LCD monitor
Position the 2.7-inch monitor freely for fresh shooting perspectives. Screen flips inward for safe keeping.

One-button Live View
Easy Live View access offers 4 autofocus modes, including Face-priority AF.

Low noise ISO sensitivity from 200 to 3200
Engineered for exceptional low-light shooting.

11-point Autofocus System with 3D Focus Tracking
Fast and accurate autofocus delivers razor sharpness.

In-camera Retouch image editing
Creative in-camera image editing, featuring Soft Filter, Straighten, Color Outline Effect, Perspective Control, Red-eye Correction, Image Overlay, Monochrome and more—all without a computer.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Nikon’s renowned 420-pixel RGB 3D Color Matrix Metering II, teamed with the exclusive Scene Recognition System, evaluates each scene for unmatched exposure accuracy.

GPS Geo-tagging
GP-1 GPS unit (optional) automatically identifies and records every image’s latitude, longitude and altitude, with satellite time-of-day.

D-Movie Mode with sound
Record 720p HD movie clips enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility.

19 Auto-exposure Scene Modes
Capture stunning photos in challenging picture-taking situations including Sunsets, Candlelight, Silhouette, Portrait, Landscape, Beach/Snow, and more.

Continuous shooting as fast as 4 frames per second
Combined with fast power-up and split-second shutter response, decisive moments are captured easily without annoying shooting lag.

Built-in image sensor cleaning
Effective 4-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning keeps images spot free.

Auto Active D-Lighting
Restores lost shadow and highlight detail in high contrast exposures—Selectable and Auto modes available.

Picture Control Settings for personal image control
Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, Landscape and 9 customizable settings.

Durable, high precision shutter
Testing to over 100,000 cycles assures precision and long shutter life.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D5000 4.7 5 1579 1587
Great for an advanced amateur It has all the features I need. Easy to use, like the liveview feature. Don't care about or need the video feature. April 14, 2011
Bought this camera new in a kit over a year ago with an 18-55mm lens and am amazed at how it continues to always provides better and better images. I've since purchased Nikon's SB-400 speedlight, 18-200mm VR DX zoom, and 35mm 1.8 DX lenses for my work as an illustrator. This camera and lenses are just superb. April 14, 2011
Light, versatile and inexpensive! Multi-featured with an information packed screen and photo viewer you can take 500 photos and still have room for more. Easy to use and easy to master the camera practically begs you to take a shot at any time or place. It does well in low light and the digital movie capability is just more excitement in a small package. For just carrying around it is much better than my D3 which can weigh you down with a big lenses. I bought one for a friend and when I realized how good it was I bought one for myself and recommended it to another friend who went out and got one for himself. April 14, 2011
I enjoy using this camers. I even got a friend to This camera is just wonderful, I only wish I could increase the pixel rate. April 14, 2011
I love the D5000 I am an amatuer who purchased the camera to take pictures of grandchildren in sports and otherwise. I am very satisfied with what I have been able to do. I am still learning. April 14, 2011
great all round camera Pro like but simple to operate. Takes videos and pictures. Can easly change lens. Great picture capacity. I have over 1000 shots on one card. Battery life is excellent. What else do you need in a camera? April 14, 2011
Good Entry Well, the first one did not want to focus quite right, but I took it back to the vendor after extended discussion with Nikon Support and this one is GREAT. Got this camera with two lenses in December of 2010, and while I'm still in the process of discovering its full potential, I'm loving it. I've had Nikon Cameras for over 20 years, and this will work the same as my film Nikon and even use the same accessories. So my biggest issue is retraining myself to actually use the programmable features. I'm very happy with the accuracy of the programming, the sharp focus and vibrant color (ok, I boosted the contrast and color saturation a bit) and have received nothing but compliments on my photos. Very happy with this camera. April 14, 2011
This is my first DSLR, I used film camera (F-90) and point and shoot for many years. I like this camera, with a few reservations, one is the view finder. I can't see a full coverage of the frame when taking pictures with view finder (As opposed to the LCD screen). Also, I am experimenting with flashes now and apparently D5000 doesn't have remote flash (firing off camera flash w camera) in it. Not having in camera Auto Focus ability does not bother me as much, as I am only using the kit lens 18-55mm and 35 f/1.8, lenses that do have AF. April 14, 2011
Very Nice Camera Than D90, Simple But Powerful Compact... April 12, 2011
I have had my D5000 for some time and have loved taking pictures with it. I like the video as well. I would recommended this camera to anyone! April 10, 2011
I've had the D5000 for about 6 month and Love it!! It was an up grade from the D3000{which is a great beginner camera}.The DD500 takes great pictures and does good videos.I would recommend it for the first time DSLR owner and a good for the advance user also a good back up for a pro. April 6, 2011
Wonderful Camera Bought this one a few days ago. I absolutely love it. My shots are much sharper than with my old camera, the design is mostly intuitive, and the rangefinder feature is pure genius. April 4, 2011
I never experienced anything like my new D5000. It is very easy to use and also takes pictures like it nobodies business. March 30, 2011
first nikon SLR and the last one its a very. still trying to know how to work it but other than that its the best one i have owned. great pictuers but still have to put the on the computer with the software it came with to crop pictuers i can only imagen the thing i can do with it. A+++++++++ March 27, 2011
I love my camera! I bought this as a birthday gift to myself and I love it, it goes with me everywhere. I purchased a Tamron AF 18-270mm lens and use that along with the 18-55 lens that was in the kit. I wanted a little lighter weight camera then the D-90 and the D5000 has most of the same features as the D-90 Great camera. March 21, 2011
I love my camera! I wanted a camera that would take awesome pictures and was also easy to manuever so my husband purchased my Nikon D5000 for my birthday 7 months ago and I absolutely LOVE IT! Worth every dollar!! I have taken amazing photos of my family and owe it to this easy camera. I recommend it to everyone! March 10, 2011
Love the Camera!!! I've had this camera for a little over a year now and it still amazes me every time I use it! I take it with me everywhere and I have taken thousands of images with it. The sharpness, clarity and speed of this camera is outstanding! I couldn't recommend a better camera for the price! March 8, 2011
Great value, compact, very good in low light. In a word: practicality. In a phrase, the D5000 is the best bang for the buck in it’s class, and one of the best DSLRs to travel light and/or take concealed pictures of dark interiors - in any class. Although I have already upgraded to the 2x more expensive D7000, I liked my D5000 so much, that I think it’s worth a late yet very positive review. I sincerely say that, if I could afford it, even loving my D7000 as I am, I’d buy another D5000 body just to travel and do concealed photos – it’s that good. The D5000 has the same powerful sensor of the D90 and D300 (12MP, ISO 3200 extendible to 6400) in a compact body, with an exclusive articulated LCD as a bonus. If you don’t need the 4x more expensive 300s’ speed, the D5000 will offer you the same image without breaking the bank, in a body that literally fits inside a large coat’s pocket (particularly if you have a compact lens like the excellent Nikkor 35mm F/1.8). It is simple to use, and very friendly to the novice photographer, starting with the full auto (making it a powerfull point-and-shoot) up to the multiple “Scene Modes” and the “?” button (which displays a help text on the LCD). Yet, it is a powerful camera for experienced users, offering full manual control (assisted or not) for the aperture, shutter and focus. 1/4000, 4 FPS, ISO 3200 with pretty acceptable noise levels, all make it capable of delivering great results – again, even when compared to some more expensive alternatives. The D5000’s main limitations when compared to the more expensive D90 (which uses the same sensor, but is considerably larger, heavier and more expensive) aren’t noticeable to the novice, and probably won’t bother the advanced user either. The lack of an in-body focusing motor, CLS commander and depth-of-field preview button, won’t affect your life if you use AF-S lenses (most new ones are); take some sample pictures instead of previewing the depth of field (just delete the bad ones); and if you want to use multiple wireless flash units, use inexpensive light sensor cells on studio flashes. Solved! Again, this is a small and lightweight SLR body with an excellent sensor: the practicality of this combination is a winner. Personally, this camera allowed me to travel through Europe with just the body, one lens (the kit’s 18-55VR) and an extra battery - and still take 2500+ great pictures. It was easy to conceal in my coat’s pocket (keeping me out of the attention of thieves – forget it with the huge D7000), and it’s low light performance produced great pictures inside churches and museums. By no means am I telling you that this combination makes it awesome to take pictures in beautiful dark places where it is prohibited to photograph! <:-) Last but not least of the pros, the D5000 is at this moment the only Nikon DSLR with an articulated LCD, allowing to see the framing of the shot at otherwise impossible angles, like right at the floor level pointing at my kitten’s eyes - or taking pictures of yourself. I dearly miss this in the D7000! About the lens, don’t underestimate the excellent Nikkor 18-55 VR included with the kit. Not only does it offer great VR, it has less distortion than lens costing a lot more (check it’s DxO Labs’ test results), is lightweight and compact. And it comes with an unadvertised plus: it’s a great macro lens! It can produce 1:3 macro without accessories, and it can literally outperform some non VR macro lens when hand held with extension tubes. Complete your lens kit inexpensively with the Nikkor 55-200VR telephoto zoom, and you’ll have a complete set for most situations – within a three digit budget. To cover really dark situations, or to be able to take pictures with very shallow depth-of-field (bokeh), I would suggest the previously mentioned Nikkor 35mm F/1.8: dare I call it the best Nikkor DX lens ever made, for it’s extreme sharpness and large 1.8 aperture? Talking about accessories, if you like to use flash, consider the compact and economical Nikon Speedlite SB-400 unit, and not only will you be able to reflect the flash light on the ceiling with iTTL, but you’ll also have much faster recycling times (crucial for birthday parties). To protect your equipment against harsh environments, I would recommend the Nikon CF-DC2 case. If you also have the 55-200VR and/or the SB-400, they all fit perfectly inside the Nikon 9793 bag (which comes with a nice Nikon School DVD, as a bonus). And by all means get the excellent ML-L3 wireless remote control! Not only can you use it as a remote release when on a tripod, but you’ll also be able to take a lot of pictures with yourself in the frame without having to go back to the camera: I was amazed to see how better people appeared after a few shots, compared to the single one that I took with the internal timer only. The only con I can say about the D5000 is that the live view mode is not good enough to take advantage of the swiveling LCD. The autofocus is very slow in Live View mode, even in bright environments - never mind under low light. This is the single reason why I`m only giving four stars to this otherwise outstanding compact and economical DSLR. February 28, 2011
Great features, easy menu This is my upgrade from the D40X. The D40X is still in mint condition and works great. I wanted something more updated, a few more features. I also really wanted the adjustable monitor. I have found myself wishing I would be able to have the monitor in different angles for different shots. This is a fast, smart camera that helps me get amazing shots. I am still learning many things and this camera has all the manual features for me to utilize in my education as well as being super reliable. February 19, 2011
Novice with a D5k I just want to throw it out there that I am a complete novice. I use Auto 99.9% of the time with all my pictures, so am basically using it as a point and shoot at this time. I bought the Nikon D5K with intentions of taking college photography courses and learning a little about photography and ISO and all the good stuff. I still have yet to take that course, but when I do I know that the camera I bought is absolutely what I am looking for. Nikon's D5K takes excellent pictures and I hope that I supplied enough to give you a good idea of all sorts of situations. Keep in mind all photo's above are on Auto mode. I upgraded from a very simple point and shoot, I was irritated that my pics were always fuzzy. I felt that I was really losing out on memories because half of them I couldn't keep. I will be the first to admit this camera is A LOT of camera for a novice that doesn't have a grasp on the basics (other than point and shoot) but if a novice is turning out such great pics, imagine what someone that knew what they were doing could actually get. The Nikon gives you clear, crisp pictures and although it is not made a s a point and shoot...it certainly can work as one. I know this review is not useful for those non-novice's, but just thought I would give you all a review from a novice's perspective with the hope that it helps you somewhat. So when I do experiement with Manual mode I am confident that I bought a camera that I can grow into and have for many years to come. February 8, 2011
Excellent product I have been using NIKON cameras since 1969, all film from FTN, F2, NIKKORMAT, etc., almost the entire line, switched to Digital with an COOLPIX S1 that I still use while traveling in business, then a COOLPIX D5700 that I gave to my son, a D8700 that my wife uses, bought and sold a D90 prior to having movies and then bought this D5000 which I plant to keep for life, it is extremely friendly and a tremendous camera, I use a 18-70 standard lens and a 55 - 200 for my large zoom, instead of over 10 different lenses back in the film days. I had other brands but always relayed on my NIKONs and rated them as the best, also for my hunting scopes and Binoculars. I am a NIKON addict. February 5, 2011
Super great camera I bought this camera after much research online at at local shops. I was planning on taking a trip of a lifetime and wanted to make sure i had plenty of memories. I took a total of 13,700 photos of various landscapes and wildlife. With a 70-300 Nikkor lens I was able to get some fabulous photos. Set the camera on action shots and was able to get every step the animals took. The landscape shots are almost as good as being there. Easy to use great clarity, great price and easy to use. A+ machine February 3, 2011
Compact, light and great price I used the D5000 for one year in Afghanistan, under some very challenging conditions. Its light weight and compact size made it ideal when carrying it in a shoulder bag. The D5000 handled the dust, cold, heat and rough terrain without any problem. The controls are easy to use and the drop down image viewer was good when using the normal viewer was not practice. One of the few negatives was that there is no lock function and settings some times get moved. January 29, 2011
Great Camera but lacking in some critical areas I purchased this camera about a year ago and have been impressed with the results. However, it quickly became apparent that I made the wrong decision. At the time of purchase the salesperson really did a poor job of making the comparison to the D90. What I should have been told is that the D5000 did not have an in-body motor and that any future lenses you want will be more costly because you have to get a lens that has its own motor. This rules out the extremely popular (and very inexpensive) 50MM 1.4 or 1.8 lenses. The other real disappointment came when I realized the Flash did not support being the Commander with the Nikon Creative Light solutions. This means that if I now want to use my new SB600 TTL flash remotely, I have to fork out for a Commander module. The 200.00 I saved between the D90 and D5000 have been quickly eaten up and now I have a camera with a view screen that is smaller and has a very low resolution compared to the D90. The burst mode is also much slower than the D90. If I were purchasing today it would either be the D90 or the new D7000 should be reviewed to see if these D5000 deficiencies have been addressed. It is supposed to do everything the D90 is capable of with high resolution and additional features to boot. January 26, 2011
Fully loaded with Features I find that I found going from film to digital in a single lens reflex camera very easy with the D5000 It is wonderfully easy to use as an automatic...point and click...not much to have to think about. At the same time you can get as complicated as you like and even can go fully manual. I love the video function though I have not deeply explored it yet. I find it fits my hands very comfortably, and even right out of the box, it was very easy to start snapping pictures like a pro. I still have my film SLR but I fear that I have been so delighted by the digital SLR that I have not touched it. I have 2 accessory lenses and they are very easy to change. Best of all is the close up setting. I have always loved to catch the beauty of flowers close up. With the D5000 I have been introduced to the insects around the flowers as well. It is so fast that I have gotten some really great shots of insects close up, All in all I highly recommend it.. January 13, 2011
The best entry/semi-pro level DSLR on the market. I had been shooting with the Canon IS 1 advanced "PnS" for about 8 months that was great for my level, but wanted to make that transition to SLR. I first purchased the D3000 that was very user friendly, but found myself advancing around the menu's a bit too progressively, and feared "outgrowing" it just after the grace period expired. I traded it in for the D5000. WOW. It turned out to be the camera I was looking for. I think Nikon designed and manufactured this model specifically taylored to my level. From the 19 pre-set scene modes to the limitless versatility of manual mode, (my favorite). A well laid out color coded menu, variable angle LCD screen, (which proved to be very useful in crowded situations), It is a perfect "grow into" camera for the person who wants to advance to the next level, and go SLR. I added the SB600 speedlight, 55-200mm VR lens, filters, a professional grade tri-pod, and started shooting kids birthday parties, (to gain experience for weddings), producing slideshows with soudtrack and a photo index. I'm still reading books by David Busch and learning as I go, all in all, this a great camera. I'm on my way.. January 3, 2011
This product didn't fuction out of box! This product was purchased as a gift, and didn't fuction on Christmas morning to capture a once in a life time opportunity. Which will never be documented by photo again. January 3, 2011
D5000- outstanding lightweight DSLR! I've owned the D5000 for one year and I am very pleased with its performance. I wanted a light, high quality camera that I could use for everything: travel, family photos, wild-life, landscape, etc. I purchased it with the standard 18-55 and 55-200 Nikkor lens. These are both very light weight as well and perform brilliantly. Because the 55-200 is great at 200 and has VR, you can digitally crop photos of wildlife (e.g. small birds) and get very nice sharp pictures. If I had a bigger more expensive camera and lens, I wouldn't pack them with me because of the weight. I just tried out the D7000 - an amazing camera but heavier. Will be happy to keep my D5000 for the next few years. A few things I don't like: live view and flip out screen are not really useful. Rather have a larger fixed screen (as now on the D7000) to be used for reviewing pics. December 30, 2010
Excellent Camera I purchased the Nikon D5000 as a replacement for a non digital SLR. It is absolutely the best camera I have ever purchased. Very rarely does it take a bad picture. Quick to respond in low light settings. December 29, 2010
Envy of the holidays Everyone gravitates back to my D5000, all of the small digitals and phone cams get set aside when we play back pics an the big screen. It's the best point and shoot I have found. It will also outperform my abilities no matter how much I read up on technique. December 28, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 ... 54
<<prev | next>>
130 Questions | 162 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
130 Questions | 162 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D5000
 
4 Answers

Can you take extremely up close pictures with this camera?

Sep 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5000
Has staff answer
+2points
5out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful3
For example, would you be able to focus in on a screw and see the scratches on its threading etc...
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
With one of the compatible macro lenses, yes.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Dec 15, 2011 by
by
Kate
Orange County, CA
Location : 
Orange County, CA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
nope
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The camera has a close-up scene mode, but for extremely close focus you will need to use a Macro lens. Nikon's macro lenses are called Micro-NIKKOR lenses and most of them will let you get so close that you can photograph objects at life-size. To read more about Macro lenses, read this article: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E....
 
Products related to my answer
 
Sep 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff2

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you had the right lens and set up then yes.
Sep 14, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
3 Answers

Why does my D5000 only support SD cards and not SDHC? am i missing something

Dec 9, 2011 by
by
RichC
 on D5000
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
if have tried putting a SDHC in my camera and it says it doesnt support it. Is there a setting, am i missing something. is there SD cards more than 2 gb. Thanks
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
RichC
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
One thing to note about the Nikons staff answer. They are giving the approved list of SD cards able to be used on the D5000. This does not mean that other SD cards cannot be used. Sandisk recommends the 32gb Extreme SDHD which is not on the Nikon list. As far as I know, other SDHC card should work on the D5000, though it is always a case that you should find out as much about the product before you buy. I would first check your firmware first, even if it doesn't work it won't do any harm.
Dec 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
Answer Title: Approved SD cards for D5000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The camera should do, Update your firmware: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17162 and see if that makes a difference.
Dec 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Sarah
IL
Location : 
IL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, that was the mobile link.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16431/~/user's-manual---d5000---guide-to-digital-photography
What else do you need?
Feb 6, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is the manual:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16431/~/user's-manual---d5000---guide-to-digital-photography
Feb 6, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it can be downloaded here
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13948#Anchor-1
Feb 6, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
I have the D5000 with the 70-300mm VR lens. Could you please tell me if there are any teleconverters that are compatible with this combination? If not, could you tell me if any teleconverter lens is compatible with the D5000 and the auto focus still works? Thank you.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
RobnL
League City, TX
Location : 
League City, TX
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Since it has an F mount it can be attach to your camera. However, not all lenses can be used with a teleconverter. In general wide angle lenses or wide angle zoom lenses cannot be used. Also, lenses with relatively slow maximum apertures (slower than f2.8) cannot be used with teleconverters.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Unfortunatley the answer is no, no tc's will fit on this lens.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
2 Answers

Tips on achieving bokeh effect?

Apr 8, 2011 by
by
Abby
Maine, USA
 on D5000
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How can I get the bokeh effect?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Abby
Maine, USA
Location : 
Maine, USA
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
What you need to do to achieve Bokeh in your images is use the maximum aperture on your camera's lens. Lenses that have f/stops of f/2.8 or wider (f/2, f/1.8, f/1.4) are ideal for use with this technique. With the aperture wide open, you can also increase the distance between your subject and the background to make it go out of focus more.
To choose the aperture you want (wide open) use the camera in manual mode - where you will have to manually set the aperture and shutter speed, or aperture priority, where you set the aperture and the camera chooses the shutter speed.
Depending upon how much light is in the scene, you may also have to alter your ISO to be able to achieve the widest f/stop.
Feb 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Bokeh effect is nothing but the blurred part of the out-of-focus image. This effect is normally seen in the photography mostly around the light sources. This effect helps to focus on the object while making the background visually appealing.
Apr 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

what is a good case that this will fit in? how far can it zoom?

Apr 16, 2011 by
by
photographer101
Florida
 on D5000
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
please answer asap!!! : )
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
photographer101
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I have a D3000 (similarly sized) and my case is a Hi-Pro DSLR Sling bag, it works very well. The zoom depends on what lens you have on it, but with the standard kit lens it has about 3x zoom.
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Conelight
Indianapolis
Location : 
Indianapolis
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
CF-DC2 Semi-soft Case // The zoom capability depends on what lens you mount since this camera uses interchangeable lenses.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

Is this camera able to take videos ?

Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5000
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes - in full hd. but only 5 mins at a time (though you can of course make lots of 5 min videos). sound though is shockingly bad (i dont believe you can add a microphone either). just pop it in live view mode and hit the ok button. i would also put the lens into manual mode. the results are pretty good (not that i record a lot of video but it is handy and quality is great
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
DarrenM

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5000
 
2 Answers

How do I turn the flash off when shooting outdoors?

May 5, 2011 by
by
Newbie
Dallas
 on D5000
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I hit a setting somewhere, not sure what combo, and now everytime I take outdoor pics the flash pops up and flashes.
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Newbie
Dallas
Location : 
Dallas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Turn the mode dial from whatever you have it on to the icon that looks like a lightning bolt with an arrow but crossed out. Then flash won't pop up. But if the flash pops up the camera must think you need it, usually your pics will come out better when you listen to the camera when you are a starter.
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Talkalot
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
well, give the A program a try (aperture priority). :) most enthusiast or pro photographers don't use any other program besides M or A. or select one of the modes on the mode switch that shows no flash. (see your manual in that matter.)
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
2 Answers

memory

May 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5000
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
is Sandisk 32 GB Extreme SDHC Cards (SDSDX3-032G-A31) or SanDisk 32GB Extreme Pro - SDHC - UHS Speed Class 1 - High Performance memory card SDSDXP1-032G-X46 compatable with nikon d5000 camera. if yes which one do you recomend for memory?
thank you
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes- and I would recomend the 32 GB Extreme SDHC Cards. If you were getting a camera such as the D3s, I would recomend the pro one but the D5000 only shoots at 4fps so you don't need an extremely fast memory card. Just so you know the 32GB card will hold around 15 thousand photos on the D5000, I use an 8GB and its 3000 photo capacity is enough for me. Don't forget you can always dump it onto your computer!!
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Talkalot
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved SD cards for D5000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5000
 
2 Answers

the price includes a lens ?

May 26, 2011 by
by
Dreamer !
lebanon
 on D5000
Has staff answer
+7points
8out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Dreamer !
lebanon
Location : 
lebanon
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, It does. The 18-55mm VR AF-S zoom lens comes with this camera. It is a 3x zoom and the VR means vibration reduction to keep your pics sharp in low light. AF-S means it has autofocus.
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Talkalot
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The suggested retail price shown in our website for US$629.95 is for the camera body only.
May 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers