Loading

Key Features

Extreme resolution 24.5-megapixel FX-format (35.9 x 24.0mm) CMOS sensor
Large 5.94µm pixels capture astonishing detail and subtleties with outstanding dynamic range for demanding commercial applications.

138 MB1 Processed NEF (RAW) 12 or 14 bit image files
Selectable bit depths of 12-bit (4,096 tones) or 14-bit (16,384 tones), both yielding incredible image quality through a 16-bit processing pipeline, for smoother tonal gradations.

1 Approximate

Two Live View shooting modes
Two Live View modes add flexibility, and up to 27x magnification in the Tripod Mode, acute focusing accuracy is easily confirmed.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF system
AF system features 4 Dynamic AF modes, including 3D Focus Tracking, for autofocus precision and razor sharpness.

3-inch super-density 921,000-dot VGA LCD monitor
Individual factory calibration assures the color accuracy of each D3X monitor for critical image review.

Nikon Picture Control
Four preset options: Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome, and 9 customizable settings provide advanced, personalized color control.

Dual CF card slots with overflow, backup and copy options

Up to 4,400 images per battery charge

Nikon EXPEED image processing technologies
EXPEED extends and assures breathtakingly rich image fidelity and reduces noise, even at high ISOs.

Low noise ISO sensitivity from 100 to 1600
Added ISO settings of Lo-1 (ISO 50 equivalent), Hi-1 (ISO 3200 equivalent) and Hi-2 (ISO 6400 equivalent) extend versatility.

Continuous shooting at up to 5 fps at full FX-format resolution
Commercial image quality teams with speed and handling to create new shooting possibilities—in the studio or on location.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II with Scene Recognition System
Two Nikon-exclusive technologies provide intelligent auto exposure capabilities, along with refined auto white balance detection and faster, more accurate AF performance.

100% viewfinder coverage

Rugged, durable and precise magnesium-alloy construction
Effectively protected from invasive dust, moisture and electromagnetic interference with a self-diagnostic shutter mechanism tested to exceed 300,000 cycles.

Virtual Horizon Graphic Indicator

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D3X 4.8 5 130 130
Great image quality Great image quality and ruggedness, moderately poor focusing ability cost, horribly slow software. July 16, 2010
pluses and minuses This is a great camera with some limitations. the low light high ASA feature has disappointed me a little . the high ASA NR doesnt really get rid of the grain as much as i would like. The shutter is very loud. It was very expensive so I guess i expected a little more. July 16, 2010
Best DSLR ever The D3x is the best 35mm format DSLR ever bar none. It's resolution, image quality, color fidelity, build quality, etc are second to none. My only complaint is tahtnit is nearly impossible to keep the sensor clean. The camera badly needs a sensor cleaning system. July 16, 2010
Use for landscape photography This camera is absolutely superb for portrait/wedding shots. The image quality is stunning. But....I bought one to use mainly for landscape work with tilt and shift lenses for long trips or when carrying my view camera would be too heavy. In short, this camera, given what it is worth, is dreadful for landscape work. Specifically, it cannot accurately capture lovely tones or deep reds at dawn/dusk, and the image quality (in terms of breadth of colour, realistic colour, and tonal range) is vastly inferior to medium/large format film. This comment only applies to landscape work, especially at dawn/dusk. Much of the colour problem is, I think, to do with digital and the way the algorithms make up colour (so this is not specific to the D3X), but the leap up to the D3X is simply not worth it. I'd stick to film for landscape work, or something like the D3. July 16, 2010
Deeply disappointed Persistent, intermittent problem with the 'hot pixel' which sometimes shows the point of focus and sometimes (between 30 and 50% of the time) does not. This means that I cannot reliably control the point of autofocus. The body has been back for "repair" once and this did not fix the problem. I have been a loyal Nikon user for many years (F90X, F5, D2Xs, RS etc), but this time I am very disillusioned. July 20, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
<<prev
17 Questions | 28 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
17 Questions | 28 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D3X
 
3 Answers

D3x Supplied Accessories include Software Suite CD-ROM. Exactly what software is on the CD-ROM?

Jan 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
 on D3X
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If on the Product Page you click at the top right where it says options , under that it also says "What Is In The Box" You will find a list of everything that comes with the D3x , its a standard package , including the software suite . If you need more software , once registered you can download any Software Updates as well as Full Versions as well as any "Firmware Updates" for the Operating System in the camera . , they also offer the owners manuals , tech Sheet all PDF format(adobe reader) Support is almost immediately available using the "Ask A Question" link. . If again you stroll through eBay there are Nikon lenses available through Retail Sellers at really decent pricingf , I strongly recommend 47th Street Camera on 47th Street in Brooklyn new York, excellent service a great "NIKON" line of all accessories , Refurbished NIKON Products , Nikon Lenses , a great "Kit" Nikon bag with a huge assortment of accessories for less than $100.00 . Their customer Service as it is with NIKON is above excellent .
Jun 16, 2014 by
by
Ron Buchanan
Quincy MA. "City of Prersidents" Martensen St.
Location : 
Quincy MA. "City of Prersidents" Martensen St.
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would ask Support and/or Service here on Nikon site
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Bcary1969
Jackson,Tn
Location : 
Jackson,Tn
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
all nikon lenses will work with the D3X,
if you look in "Tech Specs" below the D3X photo, it will give you a list of compatible lenses...
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I assume the 18-55 was the kit lens supplied with the d40. It is a DX lens and when used on the d3x will shoot in DX crop mode. The 35-80 will work but you might want to get a 35 or 50mm prime lens.

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I believe all Nikkor lenses will work on the D3X, under "tech specs" it lists all the lenses that will work, which is all with few exceptions.
Hope this helps
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

How much longer will this camera be in production?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+9points
10out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
6out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful5
Answer: 
The demand for this camera has been very high and currently we don’t have a time range for how long this model will be in production.
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
The demand for this camera has been very high and currently we don’t have a time range for this model to be in production.
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

Are there any firmware updates for the D3X in the last year?

Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
I shoot commercial product photography, 500-1000 shots a day. I shoot tethered into Lightroom 3.3 on an HP workstation PC. at least 3 times a week the tethered shooting quits and I have to restart the program to continue working. Lightroom itself doesn't crash, just the tethered shooting. My IT dept. thought it was something to do with our aggressive virus protection software, but it appears that's not it. I'm hoping others have had this problem on PCs with the D3X. I've never gotten a firmware update. I hope this may help. Thank you!
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D3x has a firmware update available on the page " https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/related/1/session/L2F2LzEvdGltZS8xNDAyOTM4ODkyL3NpZC9xWTY0RFpXbA%3D%3D#Anchor-DSLR-3800 " it will upgrade the firmware A:1.01 / B:1.02 On the available software full versions and updates scroll all the way to the very bottom a list of links is there on the left side , click available firmware updates . read and follow the easy instructions to update. it takes less than 5 minutes , make sure a recently fully charged battery in put in the camera before updating .The option to "Update The Firmware " will not be seen in the list until you actually have the software on a memory card , you put in before you turned the camera on .
Jun 16, 2014 by
by
Ron Buchanan
Quincy MA. "City of Prersidents" Martensen St.
Location : 
Quincy MA. "City of Prersidents" Martensen St.
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for the latest firmware:
Answer Title: D3X firmware B:1.01
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

Are you buying two lenes if you add a lens?

Jul 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D3x does not come as a kit so you would have to buy lenses.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is not enough information to answer specifically.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3X
 
2 Answers

Does this come with lenses?

Aug 1, 2011 by
by
MadisonP
 on D3X
+6points
8out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
MadisonP
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, and lenses that match this camera is all expensive.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it does not..
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
ZainulA
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3X
 
2 Answers

How good this camera is to take pics at night?

Nov 7, 2011 by
by
picsash
Toronto
 on D3X
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
picsash
Toronto
Location : 
Toronto
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You may be better off with a D3s if you are concerned about low light photography. This camera is intended for uses where there is slightly more light, and more resolution is needed.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not Bad but if you are coming from a D700 you might be disappointed...
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
KyoshiB
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

Is the D3X compatible with UDMA 7 CF cards?

Feb 12, 2012 by
by
Wild Bill, polo protog
Ocala, FL
 on D3X
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Currently own a D3X, and don't know if I should purchase the new UDMA 7 cards.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Wild Bill, polo protog
Ocala, FL
Location : 
Ocala, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Good question for Service and Support or contact CF card manufacturer...
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - D3X
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Feb 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

Does the D3x allow matrix metering with AF-Nikkor and AF-Micro Nikkor lenses?

Feb 27, 2012 by
by
Bugscuffle
Ohio, USA
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I have a bag full of various AF-Nikkor lenses (20mm to 300mm, including 28-85 and 75-300 zooms and the 60 and 105 AF-Micro Nikkors) I purchased in the early-mid 1990's and have been using with my F4. These are not "D" lenses. My question is, would I get matrix metering and full auto-focus capability using these lenses with the D3x body? How about the D4? The D800? Ready to step up to a top quality digital SLR, and this question will be one of the determining factors in my choice. Many thanks for your reply.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Bugscuffle
Ohio, USA
Location : 
Ohio, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is list of lens information found in Tech Specs for this D3X...
hope this helps...
I would contact Service and Support if further questions.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page # 382 of the user's manual for the D3x regarding compatible lenses:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 15, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
1 answer

I have checked a fair number of Camera shops and the D3X is on back order, and has been that way for the past 3 plus months. When available?

May 8, 2011 by
by
Doc Big Dog
Des Moines Iowa
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Doc Big Dog
Des Moines Iowa
Location : 
Des Moines Iowa
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D3x. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers