Loading

Key Features

Extreme resolution 24.5-megapixel FX-format (35.9 x 24.0mm) CMOS sensor
Large 5.94µm pixels capture astonishing detail and subtleties with outstanding dynamic range for demanding commercial applications.

138 MB1 Processed NEF (RAW) 12 or 14 bit image files
Selectable bit depths of 12-bit (4,096 tones) or 14-bit (16,384 tones), both yielding incredible image quality through a 16-bit processing pipeline, for smoother tonal gradations.

1 Approximate

Two Live View shooting modes
Two Live View modes add flexibility, and up to 27x magnification in the Tripod Mode, acute focusing accuracy is easily confirmed.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF system
AF system features 4 Dynamic AF modes, including 3D Focus Tracking, for autofocus precision and razor sharpness.

3-inch super-density 921,000-dot VGA LCD monitor
Individual factory calibration assures the color accuracy of each D3X monitor for critical image review.

Nikon Picture Control
Four preset options: Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome, and 9 customizable settings provide advanced, personalized color control.

Dual CF card slots with overflow, backup and copy options

Up to 4,400 images per battery charge

Nikon EXPEED image processing technologies
EXPEED extends and assures breathtakingly rich image fidelity and reduces noise, even at high ISOs.

Low noise ISO sensitivity from 100 to 1600
Added ISO settings of Lo-1 (ISO 50 equivalent), Hi-1 (ISO 3200 equivalent) and Hi-2 (ISO 6400 equivalent) extend versatility.

Continuous shooting at up to 5 fps at full FX-format resolution
Commercial image quality teams with speed and handling to create new shooting possibilities—in the studio or on location.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II with Scene Recognition System
Two Nikon-exclusive technologies provide intelligent auto exposure capabilities, along with refined auto white balance detection and faster, more accurate AF performance.

100% viewfinder coverage

Rugged, durable and precise magnesium-alloy construction
Effectively protected from invasive dust, moisture and electromagnetic interference with a self-diagnostic shutter mechanism tested to exceed 300,000 cycles.

Virtual Horizon Graphic Indicator

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D3X 4.8 5 130 130
Money Well Spent! I added this to my line of pro cameras and consider it to be by far my best Digital Investment. I also use 2 1/4 30+ Megapixel cameras and in the past I kept a D700 on hand to give me flexibility in the field (IE: Higher ISO, Wider-Longer lenses) I was so amazed at the D700 files next to the 2 1/4 files that when weighing my options I chose to upgrade my NIKONs instead of my Medium format cameras. The D3x Combined with great lenses (14mm, 17-35 f/2.8, 24-120 f/4VR, 80-200 f2.8, 80-400, 60 Macro 35, 50 prime) and the SB Lighting system gives me solid results with exceptional detail and color. When I shoot to the cards I use the the custom balance feature but can confidentaly rely on the camera factory settings. When tethered I use a macbook pro and Phase Capture or NIKON Camera control software. The Live view feature with the Camera Control works great. I love working with this camera. I consider the price paid for this camera money very-well spent. May 19, 2011
Wonderful for studio and the field The D3X is perfect for studio work and also for general photography. The usable ISO range limits the field use to reasonable light conditions - very low light is a problem. The huge sensor means very large and very sharp prints without having to worry about cropping. Ergonomics meet the high Nikon standard and switching back and forth between the D3X and the D3 causes no problems because the controls are all in the same place. April 19, 2011
D3x is real masterpiece from Nikon! Perfect tool that gave freedom in my studio and during my travel assignment around the World from New Zealand to Greenland and from Siberia to Galapagos Islands. April 14, 2011
Excellent All The Way Around I have owned this product for one year and could not be more pleased. The features, ergonomics and abilities this camera presents are superb. Having been a Nikon Pro for over 25 years, I have owned them all in the pro lineup and find this meets my landscape/stillife needs. I still rely on my D3 for wildlife due to its incredible speed. The D3x offers incredible clarity, color and crisp detail. There is none better. April 14, 2011
Get off the fence! If you are a Nikon professional shooting with say a D3 or D-700, and you are debating (like I did) about the decision to drop 8K on this camera body --let me just say this. "Get off the fence!" The longer you struggle with this the longer you have to wait to start taking the most amazingly sharp full format images you have ever taken with a 35mm digital camera. I kept my F5 working hard even though I had a wonderful D3 and D700 in my bag. As a fine art photographer sharp detail means so much to me. At 24 mega-pixels this camera gives me no reason other then nostalgia to shoot the F5. Maybe its just me, but I found that my learning curve was almost non-existent on this camera. Then again, after almost four decades of shooting Nikon equipment I expect to have little to no learning curve. I like to stick with what works and so does Nikon. They have been a great business partner for a very long time, and one of the big keys to my success. Finally, if the sticker price has you on the fence --think of it this way. You're getting medium format quality and resolution in a 35mm camera, at way below medium format prices. And, you preserve your lens investment yet again. This was the best investment I ever made. Thanks Nikon for all the great images. March 9, 2011
love it gift from my father, been using take this camera everywhere i travel and loving it March 3, 2011
Worth every penny! I have been using my D3X's for over a year now and all I have to state is wow. Nothing better, nothing easier and no other tool I have justifies it role in my business as these cameras do. Sharp, Sharp and did I say Sharp! October 16, 2010
i love it very good a lot to learn but does very good job on its own September 18, 2010
Great features & a joy to use Simular to using medium format, execent resolution! August 23, 2010
An excellent studio camera and great location. I have been shooting professionally for 25 years with all formats of cameras, film and digital not to mention being a professional color scanner operator and four color analyst and color consultant. The f3x when correctly balanced is spooky dead on to color and is about as sharp as a 35mm format camera can be within reason. I can honestly say it is worth the money. It may not be for everyone, but for overall shooting fits my criteria. August 19, 2010
Quality camera, many features. Heavy, expensive. The D3x is a high quality camera; its capabilities, in concert with other Nikon products will allow the user to cope with a wide range of photo tasks. My camera has been free of problems. I use only three lenses; a 20 mm, a 50 mm, and a 60 mm macro. The lenses frame accurately enough for my needs. The camera seems to be sturdy, although I have yet to give it the drop test. My only complaint relates to the camera's weight. It gets pretty heavy after a few hours of use. August 14, 2010
This is a very fine camera I bought this camera because I wanted a good resolution camera. I took many photos during my life and most of them using 35 mm format. I used other formats namely medium 6x6 or 6x7, witch I found much better from the photographic point of view. This camera was said to be medium format equivalent so that made my decision. After several months of trial I become to enjoy this camera and the results I must say thar\t are very close to the medium format camera and have the advantage of having the opportunity to use big tele lenses. The commands are very intuitive and the only thing I can think of pointing out is that if composite materials were used in the constrction the camera would be much lighter I'm sure. August 11, 2010
Great performance, clean,sharp images. The Nikon D3x, great investment. the images are so clear and sharp, I have used the Nikon D3x for landscape, travel photography, portraits inside and outside family events. An excellent camera August 5, 2010
Worth the Wait Never thought I'd see files of this quality from a "35" SLR. Bottom line is this: one short year ago I was shooting 4x5 and scanning to 72MB. The D3X kicks out 140+MB 16bt raws with incredible highlight detail and noiseless shadows. I could go on...Thank You Nikon. August 2, 2010
Solid, well built , great feature layout I converted over from Minolta 7D when Minolta basically got out of personal camera business. I have never looked back. Love the feal of the solid, rugged construction,and the position of the controls. If you would prefere a different configuration Nikon allows this through the menu, I have made only a few changes, I like the controls basically the way they are. I am still learning this camera even though I've owned it over a year. I have read some reviews that frankly had me shaking my head. Some said too heavy, I'm 61 years old in September 2010, and I love the weight of this camera. I have read some saying not great for very low light , high ISO settings, no kidding, buy the D3S, D3X not made for that. The D3X takes dynamic high resolution images, about equal to medium format film camera. The only short comings I can find so far is in my own abitlity to use all the features and functions that this camera presents. I recently traded in my D3 for the D3S and am trying to sort out for myself which one to use in which applications, both great camers. I sometimes have trouble with focus in certain conditions, with my poor eye sight, and not being as proficient with Nikons focus selections controls as I need to be. I would definetly recommend this camera to anyone who like me is a Nikon Pro want to be. July 30, 2010
Outstanding image quality I've been using my D3X for about four months and am deeply impressed. My prior body was the excellent D2X. The resolution is certainly awesome, but what is equally impressive is the dynamic range and amazing detail that can be extracted from D3X files in Capture NX. This camera is not for everyone, but if image quality with DSLR convenience is your primary objective, there is nothing that currently beats the D3X. Truly state-of-the art. July 30, 2010
Great camera. A digital camera that finally matches or exceeds 35mm film. Great in low light. The first digital that enables me to zoom in with amazing clarity. The only negative is the price. July 28, 2010
Simply the best! The image quality is staggering. Just returned from photographing polar bears in the Arctic where I used the D3x and a 500mm VR to capture the best photos I've ever taken. If only it had auto sensor cleaning and higher ISO capability it would be perfect! (Are you listening Nikon?) This camera (and Nikon lenses) can handle the worst weather conditions (can you say cold?) without skipping a beat. And battery life is awesome. If you've got the bucks, get this camera. You'll see things in your photos you didn't think possible to capture! July 27, 2010
Great Camera use primarly for studio work, amazing camera now and then have issue with the buffer but i think that is my happy trigger finger. Would recommend it highly more versitile than my Hassy. July 26, 2010
Product has great features - but After using a D3 for three year, I sold the D3 and "moved up" to the D3X. The lower ISO's are well documented, but not as well documented is the tremendous reduction in fps when shooting 14-bit capture compare to 12-bit. For 14-bit images, It appears the frame rate drops to about one frame per second! However, the increased pixel count is the main reason for using a D3X compared to say, the D3S July 25, 2010
Great resolution in a fully loaded pro camera. D3x delivers what it promise, great resolution and detail. It has all the pro features,like mirror lock up, DOF preview button etc. Built like a tank with an excellent ergonomic design which I always noticed in all Nikon Pro cameras. Excellent for landscape and potrait photography. Falls a little short where burst speed is concerned for flying bird or a cheetah in full speed. July 23, 2010
The camera I always wanted. This is the only camera I have used with the ease of use of a 35mm pro camera and image quality approaching large format. When used with the best quality lenses the image quality is nothing short of astounding. The best tool yet for shooting for prints in an unstructured environment. July 22, 2010
The D3X is the best camera I ever owned When I first read about the D3x coming out. I just could not wait for this camera to be on the market.The camera proved I did make a great choice.This is my pride & joy.I did win the photo of the year award with the D3X. July 22, 2010
Almost perfect Everything is great with this camera except the lack of sensor cleaning. I find myself cleaning the sensor way more often than my D700, which has built in sensor cleaning. It's a baffling one on why they choose not to include it with the D3x, Nikons' flagship camera. July 21, 2010
Glad I added the D3x in my equipment lineup! I enjoy usein equipment that feels solid in my hands. The fact that Nikon has given many years of dependable service in the past and with this unit continuing to do the same, it is great to know I made another good purchase. With the large FX format I can crop and still maintain a well balanced clear, sharp and grain less image. I am lazy guy and knowing what I see in the finder is what I got. July 20, 2010
An excellent tool for the photographer The D3X is an extremely versatile camera with excellent image quality. At low ISO its output is unmatched by any D-SLR I have used before. Tonality and detail are just stunning. The camera shows its greatest strength when used under controlled conditions, however it still is an excellent performer when used for other applications. I personally use it to 1600 ISO without any reservations at all. July 20, 2010
Best camera I ever owned This camera's image quality is beyond belief. It is fast, rugged ( I just hiked through the Middle East with it) and it produced. I would highly recommend this camera. July 19, 2010
I feel thhis Nikon was made for me Not since I purchased my first Nikon, back in the 1960s, have I been so excited by a camera as I am by my D3X. I'm primarily a landscape and nature photographer at this point in my life, but over the course of my career I've done about every kind of photography you can imagine and worked with every film format from 35mm to 8 x 10. So when I say that this is the most versatile piece of photographic equipment I've ever imagined, that's about the highest praise I can give a camera. I'll try to push this D3X to its limits, but it's far more likely that it will push me to mine. And, that's just what I want. My goal, as always, is to keep doing what I've always loved to do, and do it better. Thank you Nikon! July 19, 2010
Details at fast shutter speeds are outstanding Sharp photos of birds in flight require fast shutter speeds at high iso settings and high pixels for excellent detail. This camera allows shooting at 1/500 to 1/1000th of a second with high pixels and resolution that allows me to capture eagles in flight like never before. July 19, 2010
Excellent camera Very pleased. Excellent camera. Quality of photos are simply outstanding. Dynamaic range is very good even at high ISO. July 19, 2010
Page:2 3 4 5 6
<<prev | next>>
17 Questions | 28 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
17 Questions | 28 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D3X
 
3 Answers

D3x Supplied Accessories include Software Suite CD-ROM. Exactly what software is on the CD-ROM?

Jan 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
 on D3X
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If on the Product Page you click at the top right where it says options , under that it also says "What Is In The Box" You will find a list of everything that comes with the D3x , its a standard package , including the software suite . If you need more software , once registered you can download any Software Updates as well as Full Versions as well as any "Firmware Updates" for the Operating System in the camera . , they also offer the owners manuals , tech Sheet all PDF format(adobe reader) Support is almost immediately available using the "Ask A Question" link. . If again you stroll through eBay there are Nikon lenses available through Retail Sellers at really decent pricingf , I strongly recommend 47th Street Camera on 47th Street in Brooklyn new York, excellent service a great "NIKON" line of all accessories , Refurbished NIKON Products , Nikon Lenses , a great "Kit" Nikon bag with a huge assortment of accessories for less than $100.00 . Their customer Service as it is with NIKON is above excellent .
Jun 16, 2014 by
by
Ron Buchanan
Quincy MA. "City of Prersidents" Martensen St.
Location : 
Quincy MA. "City of Prersidents" Martensen St.
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would ask Support and/or Service here on Nikon site
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Bcary1969
Jackson,Tn
Location : 
Jackson,Tn
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
all nikon lenses will work with the D3X,
if you look in "Tech Specs" below the D3X photo, it will give you a list of compatible lenses...
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I assume the 18-55 was the kit lens supplied with the d40. It is a DX lens and when used on the d3x will shoot in DX crop mode. The 35-80 will work but you might want to get a 35 or 50mm prime lens.

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I believe all Nikkor lenses will work on the D3X, under "tech specs" it lists all the lenses that will work, which is all with few exceptions.
Hope this helps
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

How much longer will this camera be in production?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+9points
10out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
6out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful5
Answer: 
The demand for this camera has been very high and currently we don’t have a time range for how long this model will be in production.
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
The demand for this camera has been very high and currently we don’t have a time range for this model to be in production.
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

Are there any firmware updates for the D3X in the last year?

Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
I shoot commercial product photography, 500-1000 shots a day. I shoot tethered into Lightroom 3.3 on an HP workstation PC. at least 3 times a week the tethered shooting quits and I have to restart the program to continue working. Lightroom itself doesn't crash, just the tethered shooting. My IT dept. thought it was something to do with our aggressive virus protection software, but it appears that's not it. I'm hoping others have had this problem on PCs with the D3X. I've never gotten a firmware update. I hope this may help. Thank you!
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D3x has a firmware update available on the page " https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/related/1/session/L2F2LzEvdGltZS8xNDAyOTM4ODkyL3NpZC9xWTY0RFpXbA%3D%3D#Anchor-DSLR-3800 " it will upgrade the firmware A:1.01 / B:1.02 On the available software full versions and updates scroll all the way to the very bottom a list of links is there on the left side , click available firmware updates . read and follow the easy instructions to update. it takes less than 5 minutes , make sure a recently fully charged battery in put in the camera before updating .The option to "Update The Firmware " will not be seen in the list until you actually have the software on a memory card , you put in before you turned the camera on .
Jun 16, 2014 by
by
Ron Buchanan
Quincy MA. "City of Prersidents" Martensen St.
Location : 
Quincy MA. "City of Prersidents" Martensen St.
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for the latest firmware:
Answer Title: D3X firmware B:1.01
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

Are you buying two lenes if you add a lens?

Jul 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D3x does not come as a kit so you would have to buy lenses.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is not enough information to answer specifically.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3X
 
2 Answers

Does this come with lenses?

Aug 1, 2011 by
by
MadisonP
 on D3X
+6points
8out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
MadisonP
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, and lenses that match this camera is all expensive.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No it does not..
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
ZainulA
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3X
 
2 Answers

How good this camera is to take pics at night?

Nov 7, 2011 by
by
picsash
Toronto
 on D3X
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
picsash
Toronto
Location : 
Toronto
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You may be better off with a D3s if you are concerned about low light photography. This camera is intended for uses where there is slightly more light, and more resolution is needed.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not Bad but if you are coming from a D700 you might be disappointed...
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
KyoshiB
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

Is the D3X compatible with UDMA 7 CF cards?

Feb 12, 2012 by
by
Wild Bill, polo protog
Ocala, FL
 on D3X
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Currently own a D3X, and don't know if I should purchase the new UDMA 7 cards.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Wild Bill, polo protog
Ocala, FL
Location : 
Ocala, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Good question for Service and Support or contact CF card manufacturer...
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - D3X
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Feb 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
2 Answers

Does the D3x allow matrix metering with AF-Nikkor and AF-Micro Nikkor lenses?

Feb 27, 2012 by
by
Bugscuffle
Ohio, USA
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I have a bag full of various AF-Nikkor lenses (20mm to 300mm, including 28-85 and 75-300 zooms and the 60 and 105 AF-Micro Nikkors) I purchased in the early-mid 1990's and have been using with my F4. These are not "D" lenses. My question is, would I get matrix metering and full auto-focus capability using these lenses with the D3x body? How about the D4? The D800? Ready to step up to a top quality digital SLR, and this question will be one of the determining factors in my choice. Many thanks for your reply.
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Bugscuffle
Ohio, USA
Location : 
Ohio, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is list of lens information found in Tech Specs for this D3X...
hope this helps...
I would contact Service and Support if further questions.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page # 382 of the user's manual for the D3x regarding compatible lenses:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 15, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3X
 
1 answer

I have checked a fair number of Camera shops and the D3X is on back order, and has been that way for the past 3 plus months. When available?

May 8, 2011 by
by
Doc Big Dog
Des Moines Iowa
 on D3X
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Doc Big Dog
Des Moines Iowa
Location : 
Des Moines Iowa
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D3x. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers