Loading

Transforming everyday sights into images that move us.

photo of a young man at the beach, shooting objects on a towel
Shooting photos and videos is about more than capturing memories. A great camera brings your creative vision to life with striking clarity. The Nikon D5200 is exactly that type of camera—an exceptional HD-SLR designed to draw exciting new perspectives out of everyone who shoots it. Optimized for creativity, streamlined for flexibility, it'll awaken your passion and inspire some of the most spectacular photos and videos you've ever captured.
Three photos, two candid pictures of couples and one photo of a woman.

Showcase your artistry

Vari-angle display, built-in HDR, special effects and filters

Creativity and flexibility were considered in every aspect of the D5200. It has a 921,000-dot Vari-angle display that lets you shoot from just about any position—hold the camera overhead for a view above a crowd, at ground level for an interesting close-up of a flower, or just enjoy easier video recording and self portraits. For shots that have both very dark and very bright areas, D5200 includes built-in HDR (high-dynamic range). It takes two shots at different exposures and blends them into one amazing image. And an exciting collection of built-in effects and filters opens new possibilities for expression: isolate a single color, explore black & white, posterize, miniaturize—the creative techniques pros spend years mastering are now conveniently at your command.
photo of a woman with a yellow flower behind her ear and inset photo close up of her eye

Capture life's brilliance

24.1 MP DX-format CMOS sensor and renowned NIKKOR lenses

Perhaps your greatest inspiration will be the spectacular quality of every photo and video you shoot with the D5200. Its highly sensitive 24.1-megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor captures your vision with lifelike brilliance—marvel at the vibrant colors and razor-sharp detail, even in low light. Legendary NIKKOR lenses, marvels of clarity and quality, are the perfect companion for the D5200, drawing peak performance out of the sensor. Our intelligent Scene Recognition System compares your shot against an onboard database for optimum exposure, and EXPEED 3, the processing power in our acclaimed D4, makes it all happen in an instant.
photo of the D5200 with WU-1a adapter and image on smartphone using wireless utility app

Share your creations in an instant

Optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi photo sharing and camera control

The thrill of creating a great photo is topped only by the excitement of sharing it. With the D5200, you'll have many great photos to share, so we made it easy. Just add the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and instantly transfer your shots to a smartphone or tablet via Wi-Fi. Then share your favorites online as usual: email them, upload them to your favorite social networks or photo-sharing site like Nikon's my Picturetown. You can even use your smartphone or tablet as an external “live view” monitor to see what the camera sees and fire the shutter—perfect for getting into photos instead of always shooting them.

Note: These functions require an Android or iOS device and Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility app, available on Google Play and the iTunes App Store.
picture of the D5200 with a surfer photographed and shown on the LCD

Take your vision to video

High-quality Full HD (1080p) video recording capabilities

The D5200 includes Nikon's latest innovations for creating beautiful videos with virtually no choppiness. D-Movie mode now features Full HD 1080p 60i for visibly smoother sequences, a first for Nikon HD-SLRs. Full-time-servo AF (AF-F) and subject-tracking AF work together to keep moving subjects sharp and in focus, and face-priority AF instantly detects and tracks up to 35 faces in a scene. D5200 also has a built-in stereo microphone that can be controlled automatically or manually via 20 incremental steps, another first for Nikon HD-SLRs. Whether you shoot short clips or cinema-style movies, the D5200 makes it easy to take your projects to the next level.
sequence of photos of a rider on a horse jumping over a fence on a show course

Ultra-fast, accurate shooting

No matter where your subject is within the frame, the D5200’s 39-point wide-area autofocus system keeps it in focus so you can fire up to 5 fps. 3D Subject Tracking, powered by a 2,016-pixel RGB sensor, locks onto your subject and tracks it with exceptional accuracy. Improvements to the D5200's optical viewfinder make it easier to identify and capture fast-moving subjects, even when panning the camera.
Photo of three hula girls in Hawaii and a product shot of the 18-55mm lens

Included 18-55mm NIKKOR lens

When asked why they choose Nikon gear, pros and serious shooters consistently mention NIKKOR lenses among their reasons. The D5200 comes equipped with the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens—an excellent lightweight, multipurpose lens for nearly all shooting situations and an ideal match for the camera's DX-format sensor.
photo of the D5200 being held by a hand with an animated gif on the LCD

Simple, intuitive operation

You'll be at home with the D5200 in no time. Using visual representations of each setting to show you exactly what's changing with each adjustment, a redesigned display groups your most frequently adjusted camera settings for faster access.
photo of a red D5200 with the WR-R10/WR-T10 remote control system

Long range remote control

Whether you're shooting a group portrait (that includes you) or an intricate macro shot, a remote control is one of the most convenient accessories you can have. The new WR-R10 and WR-T10 Wireless Remote Controllers communicate using radio frequencies instead of Infrared, so you'll have control even when there's no direct line of sight between devices.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights, your system can grow with you.


WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

false false /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Misc/us_D5200_logo.png true true /en_US/o/e3-gbtLGAywJP9DIBJwYIy-Z81c/Views/1501_D5200.png <span style="font-size: small;"><strong>Optimized for creativity. Streamlined for flexibility.</strong></span> 1501-en_US /en_US/o/e3-gbtLGAywJP9DIBJwYIy-Z81c/Views/1501_D5200.png$599.95 true true true false <ul> <li>24.1 Megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor for exceptional image quality</li> <li>3.0-inch 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD display that swivels to nearly any position</li> <li>Built-in HDR (high dynamic range) and pro-quality special effects and filters</li> <li>Serious video capabilities: Full HD (1080p) recording at 30p, 25p, 24p and 60i, plus an ultra-high quality built-in stereo microphone</li> <li>Wi-Fi photo sharing and camera control with the optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter</li> </ul> DIGSLR true NONE false 1501 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1501 false false /dslr-cameras/1501/D5200.html D5200false true 1501 1501 $699.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 599.95 699.95 1501 Variant 2013-07-08T04:00:00Z An HD-SLR designed to awaken your creative passion. Find exciting new perspectives with an ultra-high resolution Vari-angle display that swivels to nearly any position. Capture your vision in lifelike brilliance with an exceptional 24.1 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, then share it instantly with the optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter. Unleash the artist within. product D5200-en_US D5200 1501 1505 1509 DIGSLR $599.95 false $699.95 NONE false false true 2013-07-08T04:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/1501/D5200.html /dslr-cameras/D5200.html 1501 1501 en_US D5200/en_INC/o/-cI72oRDhWguw1B_EIhtj35rhrE/Views/D5200_repview.png true /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Misc/us_D5200_logo.png An HD-SLR designed to awaken your creative passion. Find exciting new perspectives with an ultra-high resolution Vari-angle display that swivels to nearly any position. Capture your vision in lifelike brilliance with an exceptional 24.1 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, then share it instantly with the optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter. Unleash the artist within. <span style="font-size: small;"><strong>Optimized for creativity. Streamlined for flexibility.</strong></span> false 4.7 63 true STERMIC IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER CABLAV EYEPIE CAMCASE MISC FLSH VIEWFNDR PWRAPT WIRELESS STRAPS BATTERY PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL 1501 1505 1509 1503 1507 1511 13216 13311 1503 1507 1511 13216 13311 4 true false false 1501 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=D5200 1.2082264 false false false false true AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 1511-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/1511_D5200.pngVariant $699.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false false 1511 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1511 false false /dslr-cameras/1511/D5200.html D5200 Bronze 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false true 1511 h7ruihbc $799.95 Bronze /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26255_bronze.gif 699.95 799.95 1511 KitVariant 1509 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 1503-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/1503_D5200.pngVariant $699.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE true false 1503 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1503 false false /dslr-cameras/1503/D5200.html D5200 Black 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false true 1503 h7ruihbc $799.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 699.95 799.95 1503 KitVariant 1501 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 1507-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/1507_D5200.pngVariant $699.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false false 1507 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1507 false false /dslr-cameras/1507/D5200.html D5200 Red 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false true 1507 h7ruihbc $799.95 Red /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26198_red.gif 699.95 799.95 1507 KitVariant 1505 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit product h7ruihbc-en_US h7ruihbc 1503 1507 1511 DIGSLR $699.95 $699.95 $699.95 false $799.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/1503/D5200.html /dslr-cameras/D5200.html 1503 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false 4.7 63 false 1503 1507 1511 0 true false false 1503 D5200 D5200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=h7ruihbc 1.5889174 false false false false true AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 2179 13216-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/13216_D5200.pngVariant $899.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE true false 13216 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13216 false false /dslr-cameras/13216/D5200.html D5200 Black 18-105mm VR Lens Kitfalse true 13216 hafzzphr $999.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 899.95 999.95 13216 KitVariant 1501 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-105mm VR Lens Kit product hafzzphr-en_US hafzzphr 13216 DIGSLR $899.95 false $999.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/13216/D5200.html /dslr-cameras/D5200.html 13216 en_US 18-105mm VR Lens Kit/static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-105mm VR Lens Kit false 4.7 63 false 13216 0 true false false 13216 D5200 D5200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=hafzzphr 1.8016638 false false false false true AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 2213 13311-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/13311_D5200.pngVariant $899.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE true false 13311 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13311 false false /dslr-cameras/13311/D5200.html D5200 Black 18-140mm VR Lens Kit false true 13311 hl75w687 $1,199.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 899.95 1199.95 13311 KitVariant 1501 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus for family, travel or sporting events and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-140mm VR Lens Kit product hl75w687-en_US hl75w687 13311 DIGSLR $899.95 false $1,199.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/13311/D5200.html /dslr-cameras/D5200.html 13311 en_US 18-140mm VR Lens Kit /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus for family, travel or sporting events and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-140mm VR Lens Kit false 4.7 63 false 13311 0 true false false 13311 D5200 D5200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=hl75w687 1.8016638
Black
Sale

D5200 Body Only

Now $599.95
Reg. $699.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1501 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Variant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

BlackRedBronze
Sale

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Now $699.95
Reg. $799.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1503 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Black
Sale

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $899.95
Reg. $999.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13216 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Black
Sale

18-140mm VR Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $899.95
Reg. $1,199.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13311 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5200 4.7 5 63 63
image resolution I have had the camera for three days. Last night I set up to do a sunset pic of the Dallas skyline. I have shot these skyline sunsets numerous times the last couple of years with my Olympus and Nikon D5000. The D5200 image resolution was spectacular. It was all I hoped for. I haven't had time to put the camera through more extensive tests, but my first impression is that it is very easy to use and delivers super images. Within the next couple of days I will shoot the same evening skyline with my D5200 and my Leica M8. I'm very interested to see how they compare. I don't intend to use it for video. The only thing I care about is image quality -- resolution and color. I have been actively involved in photography as part of my job and hobby since 1962. I was lucky (or cursed) to have started with a Zeiss Ikon Contaflex. February 17, 2013
What a value! I had been looking at the D5100 for a long time and never could pull the trigger. I am sooo glad I waited. My brother-n-law has the D7000 and so I knew how great his pictures turned out. I wanted the vari angle monitor so the D7000 was out. Well my friends the D5200 is a D7000 in disguise. Same 24MP, Same image sensor and same processing engine. Lacks two disk cards and weather tight sealing, but for the money difference of $400-$500 I would choose the D5200 all day long. The pictures are fantastic. I did purchase the ME-1 mic as I shoot a lot of video and the sound for what I do is great. I am in a photography group and I put my pictures up against the full frame bad boy D800 of a friend and I still stand tall! February 15, 2013
great features in small package !! The camera is the best out there for the price point. The ISO capabilities are great in low light situations. The multitude of focus points allows you to create amazing shots. This camera far surpasses my expectations for what I expected. Overall wonderful camera for wonderful price :) January 25, 2013
Excellent for beginners and experienced hobbyists! I recently bought this camera in a Christmas sale and I have been playing around with the settings. I upgraded from a Nikon S8100 point and shoot, and I am having no trouble whatsoever working out how to use it. Pros: Many features for money, Good value, Able to use Nikkor lenses, Light and compact, Easy to use, Cons, The stock lense, Not many, I have not had the camera for long so I have not found many. December 26, 2013
Almost Perfect The only thing that could make it perfect would be more points in the viewfinder and a slightly faster shutter speed. I use my camera mostly for sports and high-dynamic photos so shutter speed is important, but I would not want to sacrifice the quality of the photo which the more expensive cameras do. The clarity and color depth is amazing. July 7, 2013
Cutting edge Totaly satisfied, loads better than my d40 excellent low light performance I originaly bought the 3200 which was also great , but didn't have all the features I wanted. Focus system is crazy fast and accurate. And pics can be cropped and cropped and still maintain great detail. February 3, 2013
Excelente qualidade de imagem e velocidade Qualidade de imagem da câmera é excepcional, rápida, cheia de recursos que irão surpreender. June 27, 2014
De lo mejor! De lo mejor! Compre esta cámara y compre un lente más potente y en verdad es la mejor inversión que eh hecho! Toma las mejores fotos y es muy versátil! Yo soy novato en la fotografía, pero creo que para alguien profesional también le sería de lo más útil La súper recomiendo! May 21, 2014
Camera incroyable Avant d'acheter la 5200 j'ai regardé les tests et review sur le net et les nombreuses notes positives m'on convaincu. Je l'ai depuis 2 semaines et la qualité des photos et vidéos de cette camera est incroyable. Après m'être familiarisé avec le menu et les fonctions, j'ai pris une centaines de photos et je dois dire que la qualité de construction et la grande maniabilité de la 5200 est vraiment excellente. Légère avec une bonne tenue en main elle se manie avec aisance ce qui n'ai pas toujours le cas des full frame. Je trouve la lentille 18-55mm de très bonne qualité. Je viens de commander le zoom 55-300mm Nikkor VR II pour une utilisation éloigné. Le 5200 est un D7000 avec quelques options en moins et sutout à moindre coût. Je suis un amateur avancé. J'organise un festival de musique et je prendrai entre autre des photos et vidéos de concerts.J'apprécie les options de réglage vidéo du niveau du son (stéréo) et options offerte en mode vidéo 1080p. Cette caméra est tout ce qu'attend le photographe débutant ou avancé. Je compte ajouter un microphone professionel pour une meilleure capture du son. On se familiarise assez rapidement avec les nombreuses fonctions de règlages, automatique et manuel. Je suis hautement satisfait du 5200 c'est une excellente caméra que je recommande. Chapeau Nikon pour ce superbe DSLR ! January 24, 2014
Ótimos recursos com grande praticidade! Camera de altissimo nível de imagem, disparador rápido, além de leve. December 26, 2013
Todo que necesitas para enamorar con fotografía Con su diseño compacto y ligero, la gran gama de objetivos nikkor, hacen de esta máquina una divertida y productiva herramienta, pocas veces dos cosas de juntan así de bien, ya sea para street photo, foto documental en la selva con su ráfaga de fotogramas o un acercamiento silencioso en un concierto sinfónico, la nikon 5200 os dejara encantados, saludos desde México November 4, 2013
Muito bom Comprei recentemente a câmera e não tive decepção alguma, qualidades de fotos excelentes mesmo para a lente que vem nela, ótima de utilizar, intuitiva e prática, não é pesada então não cansa de segurar ela e encaixa bem na mão, vale a pena comprar. September 29, 2013
Excelente Muy buena cámara, aunque muchos han criticado que es puramente para mas ventas y ganar al mercado contra lo que son sony y canon, tiene las características suficientes para quienes quieren un poco más de una D5100, y es que tiene parte de la D7000, eso si, para uso rudo no se puede usar, como misma D7000 puede February 7, 2013
la hermana pequeña de la d7000 una exelente camara lista para usar en todo momento incorpora funcionalidad de la d5100 con caracteristicas de la d7000 optima para los entry level y para los semi pro ;ahora en color rojo al igual que d3200 con esto nikon pone un parte aguas ya que ninguna marca se a atrevido a inovar colores en este segmento ; kn increibles 24.1 mp libera toda la potencia y potencial del fotografo; esperado ya por muchos y buscada por otros cuantos la d5200 promete tener la exelencia de sus predecesoras ademas del respaldo de los NIKKOR en cuanto optica simplemente genial January 24, 2013
Good camera in the backwoods when you don't want to take the D600. Very happy with the durablity. Picture quality is as good or better then some with D600. The menu is easy to follow with features such as sequencial shooting just one button away. Great battery life when not using the LCD screen. July 15, 2014
Love this Camera! This is my first DSLR- I had a film camera and a bunch of point and shoots, but this is my first "serious" digital. Simply put, I love it! The settings are all easy to find and use, auto-focus is great (depending on your glass, of course). It's fast, and the size is just right for me. I bought this primarily for travel, and this is small enough I will actually use it, but big enough I don't feel like it's a toy. The one negative is the kit lens. The 18-55mm VR is garbage. The pictures are soft and the focusing with this lens is awful. Don't get it (unless you really want the red body, like I did)! Get yourself the body only and the 35mm f/1.8 DX lens. It's a great "carry-around" lens. I love it! February 14, 2014
Awesome camera But there is no panoramic Mode last week I brought D5200 & feeling great with it. But there i found one reason which made me disappointed. :( there is no panoramic mode in this cam. but still its good for taking landscapes with wide angle lenses because of its amazing 24 megapixels. But i hope nikon will provide us a firmware update where we can update D5200 to a latest version with Panoramic mode. December 14, 2013
Excellent Camera at an Excellent Price This Camera Rocks! It's 2016 RGB sensor is just amazing. The only problem i find is sometimes you will feel that the colors aren't intense as they should be. Though that can be rectified with minor editing. Overall, really nice camera. August 8, 2013
Easy to Use Just bought it this month... love the picture quality. June 13, 2013
So far, great camera I bought this camera as my entry back into photography. I owned a Vivitar manual SLR film camera about 20 years ago. While there is still a bit of a learning curve, I've been able to take quite a few great pictures. What really excites me about this camera is the ability to switch some of the settings on the fly and capture very similar pictures very quickly. June 2, 2013
Well designed features and a clear menu on back screen For the price of this camera it has a lot of capability in a small light body. All my testing so far as been very positive and the images are clear and sharp. The only two items I'd like to see on this sort of model are the following: 1) among the file types, I'd like to see TIFF included, and 2) a connector for a cable release would have been great although I understand that remote triggering is in vogue now. March 27, 2013
Awesome For Its Price! I recently was looking for a camera below a thousand dollars, and the d5200 was my choice. The new software is incredible. Hearing about the "Effects" mode, I was not sure how it was going to be, but they really surprised me. Sometimes I find it very hard to navigate through the settings and switch shutter speed. The image quality is great. Since I like to skateboard, I need a fast camera, but when i shoot people quickly movie theres a little distortion. The 39 point autofocus is great, I can always count on my pictures to be nice and clear! The video is great, having the flip out screen really helps to get awesome angles.The main problem I have with this camera is the 18-55mm kit lens, it really disappointed me, but it will do for now. Being a 13 year old, I think this is a great camera for anyone with a budget of a thousand dollars! I haven't been able to shoot much since I got it, but heres an example picture! February 3, 2013
Best in its price range! Looking on the market for a new camera i began my research with a budget of a thousand dollars. I soon realized and decided on the d5100 only to my amaze to find that the d5200 just had a release date! I started looking into specs and reviews and found that the d5200 was by far the best quality in the price range. You get that nice nikon build and lenses and lovely interface that doesn't seems to crash. I looked at pentax and found that they are far too bulky and to be blunt UGLY! Pentax simply doesn't have one that that makes you scream for it. Next was sony which based off the specs was the best camera but you soon realize they don't have a wide range for lenses to choose from. Sony also is for the price range using new translucent technology which is great but just not there yet. And last but not least Canon my first choice when starting to looking into the thousand dollar range. I was 100% decided on the t4i Until i went and tried it on the store floor and found its insanely laggy and Crashed in my short time of using it(about a hour i used it taking pics of the store and people). The touch screen is also great but it really seemed to be best for video not photos which if i was buying for video i would buy a VIDEO CAMERA! I looked at the lower cameras from all companies and found none could compete with the nikons or the pentax. The pentax is great and the only thing is has over nikon is the weather resistant body but the you also need the lenses to go along with it which are very expensive. Also weather resistant by any company doesn't mean water resistant i found through my research most will get a rain cover regardless of the camera resistance. No, through all of my reviews and research the nikon has the best in this 800-1000$ price range by far! With all of this mess above you I leave you with what this camera doesn't have which would have been nice that it did. It lacks the weather resistance body which although nice isn't needed, Very few buttons which leaves you with less control over your photo's(Atleast less control unless you go all though the settings where more dials and buttons give you much faster and easier time do change things.). It lacks a pentaprism which is slightly better than the pentamirror, it misses the two SD card storage which is nice to have but not needed, it doesn't have a built in focus motor which is nice to have but unless you have old lenses or plan on buying older cheaper lenses you simply don't need a focus motor in the body. And last the biggest thing is lacks is the 100% viewfinder coverage basically meaning you don't see the full image of what you are shooting. the best in its price range you can still find better if you save just a little more the d7000 has all of what you lose with the d5200 and is almost the same price you simply have to realize that the d7000 is soon to be replaced and also is only 16MP which some people wont like and its alot heavier. I am loving this camera it does exactly what i want it to do and takes amazing quality photo's just realize if you are upgrading it may not be the best choice if you have the option to save a little more. Yet the best option above this class is still outstandingly nikon I hope this helps you decide and hopefully you can understand my mess of writing. February 1, 2013
A great new addition to my collection I have owned this product for just 24 hours (purchased on March 30, 2013) and I am already impressed with the many options and upgrades that is camera offers. Having used the D3000 for over a couple of years I know that the D5200 is the next logical step in my learning experiences. The only drawback, and a significant one at that, is the exclusion of a depth of field preview. Something a camera which is priced close to $1,000 should have. March 31, 2013
Utiliser un body de D700 pour la D5200, ce serais une carema ideal pour plusieurs Je l'ai essayé.... et retourné car dessus de la fragilité du boitier. Excellente caméra pour sa qualité d'image/photo Vraiment, on vois la différence même en basse luminosité. Et le rendu de la vidéo est super. C'est dommage, s'il avait mit ce genre de capteur et processeur d'image dans une D7000, ce serais la Camera idéal pour les amateur et les professionnel. February 1, 2013
Good buy, but not for long run Nice Camera for this price range. But, I do not suggest to keep for long run. It's taken perfect pictures during day, but I cannot say same thing for night shoots. Internal flash not enough or mostly doesn't work for night shoots. I can rate only 3 stars for this camera. It's almost ruin my vacation, I tried any settings to make it work-out for flash to take night shoots, most of time the camera wins. Because; flash did not worked, even I reset factory settings or tried any other custom settings. I am returning to exchange with other models. January 19, 2014
Good, but not Great Picture quality and new features make this a good camera. I like the grid feature and that the controls are almost identical to the D5100 (which I also have). There is one flaw that makes this a product which I can't recommend. If you use back button focus, this is not the camera for you. Setting the AE-L/AF-L to control the auto focus (F2-Assign AE-L/AF-L button to AF-ON) and image review to Off, common settings for sports photography, you'll have problems with the auto focus when you review an image. The AE-L/AF-L button stops triggering the autofocus if you don't end image review with either the playback button or the Information button. Using the shutter button to end image review, as stated in the manual, will render the autofocus useless until you press the info button or start and stop playback with the playback button. I've been using Back button focus on Nikon DSLRs for years and never had an issue using the shutter button to end image review. I have 2 other Nikon DLSR's where this is not a problem, only the D5200 Nikon Support responded to support requests at first with "we're working to resolve the issue" then, nothing. I can't recommend this camera to anyone. June 1, 2013
Out the box broken!!!! I order this camera. I was so excited. Once I recieved the camera, the aperture was not working. Everything through the viewfound was dark and none of the setting would work at all. I called Nikon and the camera had to be shipped to NY, I live in Alabama. They want to fix this brand new camera instead of sending me a brand new. I really don't think it's fair to me. I think I received a lemon of a camera. This camera only comes with a one year warranty. After one year, I am on my own. I paid $700 for this camera that is worthless and them Nikon only want to fix it and not replace it. I would not recommend Nikon D5200 to anyone at this point. As I stated before, I was excited once the camera came in, now I hated I even purchase this. July 25, 2014
Page: 2 3
<<prev
74 Questions | 97 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
74 Questions | 97 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
D5200
 
5 Answers

What teleconverters can work on the D5200?

Oct 21, 2013 by
by
Randy
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
What teleconverters can work on the D5200?
10 months ago
by
Randy
5 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Let say you could only have 4 lenses in you bag, any that you would want which one would they be. I rookie just getting started. I will be taking mostly sports and landscape picture could real use some help.
Jul 8, 2014 by
by
Rookie
Charleston,WV
Location : 
Charleston,WV
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I doubt very much if the ever will, apart from the it not being able to fit due to the design of the rear of the lens it would just make it way too slow, it would turn the 3.5-5.6 into, with a 1.4 tc, 4.9-7.9 which in most cases would be unusable.
Oct 22, 2013 by
by
KeithD

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
No, it will not fit that lens.
Oct 21, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
KeithD,

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR.

Randy
Oct 21, 2013 by
by
Randy

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
All depends on what lens you intend using.
Oct 21, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
4 Answers

I just want to post my pictures immediately :(

Aug 3, 2013 by
by
Laura
Oregon, USA
 on D5200
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Do I have to buy a separate WiFi adaptor to be able to share my photos with my iphone?? Better yet, can't we have a cord that could transfer between the 2 so I can do it without wifi??? Surely in this day and age...
1 year ago
by
Laura
Oregon, USA
Location : 
Oregon, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could get an EyeFi SD card?
Mar 10, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The adapter that comes with the camera broadcast its own wifi signal and connects with your phone. I have an iPhone, and once the signal is picked up by the phone, I use the Nikon wireless app and you have instant access to a remote for taking pictures, viewing the pictures that are on your camera and uploading them to your phone.
 
Products related to my answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
2.6 out of 5(57)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 8, 2013 by
by
Thomas
Tennessee, USA
Location : 
Tennessee, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can use the wireless WU-1a to transfer to your iphone, no real need for a cable.
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
KeithD

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
you can transefer to computer by camera cable (usb) then transfer to your phone by phone cable
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
Wael
Egypt
Location : 
Egypt
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
4 Answers

UC-E06 vs UC-E17 USB Cable for D5200

Nov 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
What is the difference between UC-E06 and UC-E17 USB Cable? Can I use UC-E06 with D5200.
Thanks
9 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the D5200 system chart, you can look for yourself, it shows either is the correct cable.
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d5200/compatibility01.htm

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Positive, look at the picture,
http://nikonsa.co.za/en_ZA/products/product_details.page?sParamValueLbl=Accessories&sParam1ValueLbl=SLR&sSubnav2ParamLbl=Connectivity&sSubnav3ParamLbl=USB+Cable+UC-E17&ParamValue=Accessories&Subnav1Param=SLR&Subnav2Param=SLR+Connectivity&Subnav3Param=Data&RunQuery=l4&ID=9400108
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
D5200 usb connector is not mini USB unless I'm missing something. Old cell phone have mini usb and new cell phones have micro usb. Are you shure?
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
LeoG

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, any USB to mini USB cable will work, they are all generic.
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
3 Answers

converting MOV files into something compatable with Adobe or Vegas?

May 24, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I purchased 2 nikon d5200 for my video production fleet.
I use Adobe Premiere Pro cs5.5 and sony vegas pro but those pesky MOV files that nikon uses are completely unusable with any software ... Does nikon recomend a way to convert these mov files into something usable?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Anonymous
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
while ther eare free downloadable sofware that converts, there are just as many that you can get from unsafe sources, where the video codec converters hack your system (just like the one I got for free from cnet called the AVC (all video converter) the question again is there any one that "NIKON RECOMENDS" cause I've tried three of these converters and still none of them work.

If you go into the trouble shooting formats page in Adobe it even claims that .MOV "May or May not" work with Adobe....

I've been editing for a decade and I'm here to tell you that this camera is NOT compatible for adobe premiere Pr cs5.5 I got two d5200 's that are unusable.
May 24, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Don't know what answer you want, I can't post a link, moderator will take it down. Arcsoft makes an excellent converter but it's not free.
May 24, 2014 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Plenty of free converters, just do an internet search.
May 24, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D5200
 
2 Answers

When is the 18-105 VR lens kits going to be available for purchase with the D5200?

Jan 20, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon does not currently have an expected availability date for the D5200 kit with 18-105 lens.

The D5200 kit with 18-55 lens is now available and the 18-105 lens is available separately.
Jan 22, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't what country you are in, but in the US it is available at B&H photo.
Jan 20, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
2 Answers

What is the f-stop range on the 5200?

Feb 19, 2013 by
by
Nancy
NYC
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Nancy
NYC
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Trying some shots last night, if I zoomed into 55mm, I was able to get f-36. I believe the previous answer refers to 18mm.
Jul 9, 2013 by
by
mikemcnh
Delran, NJ, USA
Location : 
Delran, NJ, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
I assume your talking about the 18-55mm kit lens supplied. It has a range of f/3.5 max aperture to f/22 min aperture.
Feb 19, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
2 Answers

is this a good camera for taking Baseball pictures, at night with no flash???

Feb 24, 2013 by
by
Angel
Cross City, FL, USA
 on D5200
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
I'ma sports photographer for our local weekly paper, and i cover the High School Baseball games. I can't use flash during the games, and most of the high school fields are low, to very low light. so most of my photos arent to great. would this be a good camera to use? since it has a high ISO?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Angel
Cross City, FL, USA
Location : 
Cross City, FL, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. I'd recommend you to use a full-frame camera with a telephoto lens. I'd recommend the D800 with a 70-300, because its high pixel count will let you crop the images A LOT without losing resolution and low noise high ISO means you can take photos at ISO 3200 and you won't get a single grain of noise.
Jun 14, 2013 by
by
Shaggy
Howrah, West Bengal, India
Location : 
Howrah, West Bengal, India
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, This is an entry level camera. A decent low budget sport camera would be D7000 D7100, D300s, D700, and you will need a lens like the 70-200mm F/2.8. Its excellent for sports.
Feb 25, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D5200
 
2 Answers

Considering this camera for close-up dental photos. Can I customize a program so it will provide consistent results without "tinkering"?

Mar 24, 2013 by
by
Dan
Utah, USA
 on D5200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Dan
Utah, USA
Location : 
Utah, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't have a macro lens for my 5200 and I use it for the same thing. Seems to work on manual set to ISO 100, shutter at 1/125 and aperture at f/32 for intraoral and then increase the aperture if you want full face (just keep the settings the same for before and afters!!!)... I'm certainly no photographer though... also, I can't see using a tripod with the pt in the chair (i mean, i thought setting instruments on the pt's chest was a bad habit!!) and the vibration reduction macro lens is so expensive...
Aug 3, 2013 by
by
Laura
Oregon, USA
Location : 
Oregon, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D5200 along with a Macro lens such as the 40mm should provide you with excellent, and constant results in the dental office. However, using Auto mode on any camera will not always give you desire results when the lighting changes. You need to learn to use the other modes like aperture priority, or Manual. You will also need a tripod to get sharp crisp images.
Apr 11, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D5200
 
2 Answers

Problems with memory cards?

Apr 25, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The first time I went to shoot a baseball game with my new d5200, I took some test shots from the parking lot as I was walking. I noticed immediately that it wasn't writing anything to the memory card, so I went back to my car and switched cards and didn't have any more problems.

I have since done a lot of shooting with this camera, including using it as a backup for a wedding that I was second shooter for. Never had any issues with it until today.

I shot another baseball game and got a lot of great pics. The game went into extra innings, and when a kid scored the winning run, I started firing away for the celebration shots. I thought I had some great ones. The shutter was firing like normal, and I could see the AF working, yet when I tried to review my shots, they weren't there. I took two more shots and again there was nothing. I took the card out and put it back in, and then the d5200 finally started writing to the card again. It was too late by then, so I missed all the celebration shots.

The first card that gave me trouble was a PNY 16gb. The second card was a SanDisk Ultra 32gb, which I have been using for the last week with no problems. I still had about 500 shots left, so I know the card wasn't full. Has anyone encountered this problem before? I've used higher-end cameras like the d300, 600, and 7000 in the past and have never seen a camera do this.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for the response. I have continued shooting with the SanDisk 32 SDHC as well as the 16gb version of the same card. So far this problem has not happened again, so hopefully it was just a random glitch.
May 16, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sandisk 32G SDHC cards are included on the approved list of memory cards for the D5200 but PNY cards are not approved. If the Sandisk Ultra 32G card is not an SDHC card please try a card from the approved list to see if this resolves the issue. This list can be found on page 211 of the D5200 manual. A copy of the D5200 manual can be downloaded from this address:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...

If the Sandisk Ultra 32G card that you were using is an SDHC type card, or if trying another card from the approved list doesn't resolve this issue, then please contact Nikon Technical Support for further assistance: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Apr 27, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
2 Answers

How to activate a histogram on my D5200? (Does it have one?)

Jul 26, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just after u take picture and when u see the picture in LCD, just press down key in the multiselector switch.
Jul 26, 2013 by
by
Suresh

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please download the users manual and refer to page 149.
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18112/~/user's-manual---d5200
Jul 26, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers