Loading

Transforming everyday sights into images that move us.

photo of a young man at the beach, shooting objects on a towel
Shooting photos and videos is about more than capturing memories. A great camera brings your creative vision to life with striking clarity. The Nikon D5200 is exactly that type of camera—an exceptional HD-SLR designed to draw exciting new perspectives out of everyone who shoots it. Optimized for creativity, streamlined for flexibility, it'll awaken your passion and inspire some of the most spectacular photos and videos you've ever captured.
Three photos, two candid pictures of couples and one photo of a woman.

Showcase your artistry

Vari-angle display, built-in HDR, special effects and filters

Creativity and flexibility were considered in every aspect of the D5200. It has a 921,000-dot Vari-angle display that lets you shoot from just about any position—hold the camera overhead for a view above a crowd, at ground level for an interesting close-up of a flower, or just enjoy easier video recording and self portraits. For shots that have both very dark and very bright areas, D5200 includes built-in HDR (high-dynamic range). It takes two shots at different exposures and blends them into one amazing image. And an exciting collection of built-in effects and filters opens new possibilities for expression: isolate a single color, explore black & white, posterize, miniaturize—the creative techniques pros spend years mastering are now conveniently at your command.
photo of a woman with a yellow flower behind her ear and inset photo close up of her eye

Capture life's brilliance

24.1 MP DX-format CMOS sensor and renowned NIKKOR lenses

Perhaps your greatest inspiration will be the spectacular quality of every photo and video you shoot with the D5200. Its highly sensitive 24.1-megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor captures your vision with lifelike brilliance—marvel at the vibrant colors and razor-sharp detail, even in low light. Legendary NIKKOR lenses, marvels of clarity and quality, are the perfect companion for the D5200, drawing peak performance out of the sensor. Our intelligent Scene Recognition System compares your shot against an onboard database for optimum exposure, and EXPEED 3, the processing power in our acclaimed D4, makes it all happen in an instant.
photo of the D5200 with WU-1a adapter and image on smartphone using wireless utility app

Share your creations in an instant

Optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi photo sharing and camera control

The thrill of creating a great photo is topped only by the excitement of sharing it. With the D5200, you'll have many great photos to share, so we made it easy. Just add the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter and instantly transfer your shots to a smartphone or tablet± via Wi-Fi. Then share your favorites online as usual: email them, upload them to your favorite social networks or photo-sharing site like Nikon's my Picturetown. You can even use your smartphone or tablet as an external “live view” monitor to see what the camera sees and fire the shutter—perfect for getting into photos instead of always shooting them.

Note: These functions require an Android or iOS device and Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility app, available on Google Play and the iTunes App Store.
picture of the D5200 with a surfer photographed and shown on the LCD

Take your vision to video

High-quality Full HD (1080p) video recording capabilities

The D5200 includes Nikon's latest innovations for creating beautiful videos with virtually no choppiness. D-Movie mode now features Full HD 1080p 60i for visibly smoother sequences, a first for Nikon HD-SLRs. Full-time-servo AF (AF-F) and subject-tracking AF work together to keep moving subjects sharp and in focus, and face-priority AF instantly detects and tracks up to 35 faces in a scene. D5200 also has a built-in stereo microphone that can be controlled automatically or manually via 20 incremental steps, another first for Nikon HD-SLRs. Whether you shoot short clips or cinema-style movies, the D5200 makes it easy to take your projects to the next level.
sequence of photos of a rider on a horse jumping over a fence on a show course

Ultra-fast, accurate shooting

No matter where your subject is within the frame, the D5200’s 39-point wide-area autofocus system keeps it in focus so you can fire up to 5 fps. 3D Subject Tracking, powered by a 2,016-pixel RGB sensor, locks onto your subject and tracks it with exceptional accuracy. Improvements to the D5200's optical viewfinder make it easier to identify and capture fast-moving subjects, even when panning the camera.
Photo of three hula girls in Hawaii and a product shot of the 18-55mm lens

Included 18-55mm NIKKOR lens

When asked why they choose Nikon gear, pros and serious shooters consistently mention NIKKOR lenses among their reasons. The D5200 comes equipped with the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens—an excellent lightweight, multipurpose lens for nearly all shooting situations and an ideal match for the camera's DX-format sensor.
photo of the D5200 being held by a hand with an animated gif on the LCD

Simple, intuitive operation

You'll be at home with the D5200 in no time. Using visual representations of each setting to show you exactly what's changing with each adjustment, a redesigned display groups your most frequently adjusted camera settings for faster access.
photo of a red D5200 with the WR-R10/WR-T10 remote control system

Long range remote control

Whether you're shooting a group portrait (that includes you) or an intricate macro shot, a remote control is one of the most convenient accessories you can have. The new WR-R10 and WR-T10 Wireless Remote Controllers communicate using radio frequencies instead of Infrared, so you'll have control even when there's no direct line of sight between devices.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights, your system can grow with you.


± WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

false false false /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Misc/us_D5200_logo.png true false /en_US/o/e3-gbtLGAywJP9DIBJwYIy-Z81c/Views/1501_D5200.png <span style="font-size: small;"><strong>Optimized for creativity. Streamlined for flexibility.</strong></span> 1501-en_US /en_US/o/e3-gbtLGAywJP9DIBJwYIy-Z81c/Views/1501_D5200.png$499.95 true true true false <ul> <li>24.1 Megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor for exceptional image quality</li> <li>3.0-inch 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD display that swivels to nearly any position</li> <li>Built-in HDR (high dynamic range) and pro-quality special effects and filters</li> <li>Serious video capabilities: Full HD (1080p) recording at 30p, 25p, 24p and 60i, plus an ultra-high quality built-in stereo microphone</li> <li>Wi-Fi photo sharing and camera control with the optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter</li> </ul> DIGSLR true NONE false 1501 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1501 false false /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Misc/us_D5200_logo_notagline.png /dslr-cameras/1501/D5200.html D5200false false false 1501 1501 $499.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 499.95 499.95 1501 Variant 2013-07-08T16:00:00Z An HD-SLR designed to awaken your creative passion. Find exciting new perspectives with an ultra-high resolution Vari-angle display that swivels to nearly any position. Capture your vision in lifelike brilliance with an exceptional 24.1 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, then share it instantly with the optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter. Unleash the artist within. product D5200-en_US D5200 1501 1505 1509 DIGSLR $499.95 false $499.95 NONE false false false 2013-07-08T16:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/1501/D5200.html /dslr-cameras/D5200.html 1501 1501 en_US D5200/en_INC/o/-cI72oRDhWguw1B_EIhtj35rhrE/Views/D5200_repview.png true /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Misc/us_D5200_logo.png An HD-SLR designed to awaken your creative passion. Find exciting new perspectives with an ultra-high resolution Vari-angle display that swivels to nearly any position. Capture your vision in lifelike brilliance with an exceptional 24.1 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, then share it instantly with the optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter. Unleash the artist within. /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Misc/us_D5200_logo_notagline.png <span style="font-size: small;"><strong>Optimized for creativity. Streamlined for flexibility.</strong></span> false 4.7 77 true STERMIC IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC FLSH VIEWFNDR PWRAPT WIRELESS STRAPS BATTERY PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL 1501 1505 1509 1503 1507 1511 13216 13311 13461 13468 1503 1507 1511 13216 13311 13461 13468 5 true false false 1501 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=D5200 0.9736276 false false false false false false AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 1511-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/1511_D5200.pngVariant $599.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false true 1511 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1511 false false /dslr-cameras/1511/D5200.html D5200 Bronze 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true 1511 h7ruihbc $599.95 Bronze /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26255_bronze.gif 599.95 599.95 1511 KitVariant 1509 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false false AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 1503-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/1503_D5200.pngVariant $599.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE true true 1503 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1503 false false /dslr-cameras/1503/D5200.html D5200 Black 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true 1503 h7ruihbc $599.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 599.95 599.95 1503 KitVariant 1501 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false false AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 1507-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/1507_D5200.pngVariant $599.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false true 1507 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1507 false false /dslr-cameras/1507/D5200.html D5200 Red 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true 1507 h7ruihbc $599.95 Red /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26198_red.gif 599.95 599.95 1507 KitVariant 1505 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit product h7ruihbc-en_US h7ruihbc 1503 1507 1511 DIGSLR $599.95 $599.95 $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/1503/D5200.html /dslr-cameras/D5200.html 1503 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false 4.7 77 false 1503 1507 1511 0 true false false 1503 D5200 D5200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=h7ruihbc 1.2746356 false false false false false false AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II 2170 AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED 2156 16 GB Class 10 SD card DSLR Value Pack w/Nikon School DVD WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter 13468-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/13468-D5200-kit-rd.pngVariant $699.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false false 13468 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13468 false false /dslr-cameras/13468/D5200.html D5200 Red Two Lens Kitfalse false false 13468 i1t10lpm $699.95 Red /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26198_red.gif 699.95 699.95 13468 KitVariant 1505 The D5200 DSLR Kit includes a 24.1 MP D5200 DSLR, the versatile 3X AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens and ultra-compact AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED lens, a telephoto lens that complements the 18-55mm focal length range. Also in the kit is the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter for easy sharing of images, a 16 GB Class 10 Secure Digital (SD) media card, along with the DSLR Value Pack that features a camera case and "Better Pictures in 5 Minutes" DVD. Two Lens Kit false false false AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II 2170 AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED 2156 16 GB Class 10 SD card DSLR Value Pack w/Nikon School DVD WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter 13461-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/13461-D5200-kit-blk.pngVariant $699.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE true false 13461 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13461 false false /dslr-cameras/13461/D5200.html D5200 Black Two Lens Kitfalse false false 13461 i1t10lpm $699.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 699.95 699.95 13461 KitVariant 1501 The D5200 DSLR Kit includes a 24.1 MP D5200 DSLR, the versatile 3X AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens and ultra-compact AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED lens, a telephoto lens that complements the 18-55mm focal length range. Also in the kit is the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter for easy sharing of images, a 16 GB Class 10 Secure Digital (SD) media card, along with the DSLR Value Pack that features a camera case and "Better Pictures in 5 Minutes" DVD. Two Lens Kit product i1t10lpm-en_US i1t10lpm 13461 13468 DIGSLR $699.95 $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/13461/D5200.html /dslr-cameras/D5200.html 13461 en_US Two Lens Kit/static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false The D5200 DSLR Kit includes a 24.1 MP D5200 DSLR, the versatile 3X AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens and ultra-compact AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED lens, a telephoto lens that complements the 18-55mm focal length range. Also in the kit is the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter for easy sharing of images, a 16 GB Class 10 Secure Digital (SD) media card, along with the DSLR Value Pack that features a camera case and "Better Pictures in 5 Minutes" DVD. Two Lens Kit false 4.7 77 false 13461 13468 0 false false false 13461 D5200 D5200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=i1t10lpm 1.4437343 false false false false false false AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 2179 13216-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/13216_D5200.pngVariant $799.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE true false 13216 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13216 false false /dslr-cameras/13216/D5200.html D5200 Black 18-105mm VR Lens Kitfalse false false 13216 hafzzphr $799.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 799.95 799.95 13216 KitVariant 1501 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-105mm VR Lens Kit product hafzzphr-en_US hafzzphr 13216 DIGSLR $799.95 false $799.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/13216/D5200.html /dslr-cameras/D5200.html 13216 en_US 18-105mm VR Lens Kit/static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-105mm VR Lens Kit false 4.7 77 false 13216 0 true false false 13216 D5200 D5200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=hafzzphr 1.4437343 false false false false false false AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 2213 13311-en_US /en_US/o/tvBiZ6cpkvIx_cAUI2xO7-gPxsA/Views/13311_D5200.pngVariant $799.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE true true 13311 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13311 false false /dslr-cameras/13311/D5200.html D5200 Black 18-140mm VR Lens Kit false false true 13311 hl75w687 $799.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 799.95 799.95 13311 KitVariant 1501 Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus for family, travel or sporting events and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-140mm VR Lens Kit product hl75w687-en_US hl75w687 13311 DIGSLR $799.95 false $799.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/13311/D5200.html /dslr-cameras/D5200.html 13311 en_US 18-140mm VR Lens Kit /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus for family, travel or sporting events and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-140mm VR Lens Kit false 4.7 77 false 13311 0 true false false 13311 D5200 D5200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=hl75w687 1.4437343
Black

D5200 Body Only

Price $499.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Variant, has_configuration: , in_stock: false, default_code: 1501, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Variant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

BlackRedBronze

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $599.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1503 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

This product is backordered
BlackRed

Two Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera Body AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED IIAF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED16 GB Class 10 SD cardDSLR Value Pack w/Nikon School DVDWU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitVariant, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 13461, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Black

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Price $799.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitVariant, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 13216, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Black

18-140mm VR Lens Kit

D5200 Black Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Price $799.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13311 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

This product is backordered
D5200 4.7 5 78 78
Amazing d5200 This camera is a very good advanced beginner camera, it take very good photos May 21, 2013
Wonderful & Amazing I already bought some 5 Nikon cameras: D90 D5000 2X D5100 and now it was my last D5200 this camera is excellent, exceeds your expectations! Beautiful pictures, the camera is beautiful, fast and does an excellent job! I lost my camera on a trip and now I need to save money and buy another! But for those who can buy! Buy and you'll be happy May 10, 2013
Great Camera, Worth every penny! This Camera is awesome, with a high pixel density and its amazing HD 60i 1080p video recording, you will take extraordinary pictures and videos. If you are going to buy a feflex camera and do not want to spend a huge amount, this will be the best option. It's functions will allow you to take professional photos. Nikon will never dissapoint costumers! May 1, 2013
Awesome Camera I would like to share how I made decision to buy this product. I went to Nikon Store to buy NIKKOR 35mm fixed lens for my D3000 and saw D5200 in showcase. I was already aware of this camera and its features from Nikon website when I was researching on lenses. I asked the sales person for demo. By taking few shots and trying it on the effects mode, I made the decision that this will be my next camera. I bought D5200 along with NIKKOR 35mm 1.8 & NIKKOR 55-300 VR II. Its been few days now I have been using this camera. Honestly, this is a good camera for amateurs. It has 39 focus point which will not let you miss the subject. It gives you many predefined shooting modes. The rubber grips on the body gives a good hold on the camera plus its light weight. One thing that I felt was its speed of shooting in live view. it takes a bit to show the captured picture on the screen while shooting in live view. For me, it doesn't matter as I use the screen in low and high angles and in effects mode while for shooting I use the viewfinder. I would also like to thank other users to post their valuable comments because it helps a lot in deciding, as it did in my case me. For those of you who have this camera in your option list; my recommendation, this camera will not let you down. :-) April 16, 2013
Amazing quality in a "prosumer level" DSLR! I had the D5100 for a little over a year before it got stolen from me on the street in Africa! After I got a settlement from my insurance, I decided to fork out a little more money for the D5200, and I was not disappointed a bit! I use my camera mostly for video, and I was super stoked to see that they added an audio level meter! I also love the fact that you can more finely adjust audio levels inside the camera! They added 60fps at 1280x720 which is amazing for slow motion, and one reason I decided to upgrade! The 24.1 megapixels may seem like overkill to some, but I think it's great to have when you need to do some tight cropping. It maintains it's quality through and through. I'd definitely recommend getting some nice prime lens action on this thing because that's when the quality really shines! The kit lens will only give you average results in most cases. I'd definitely recommend this camera, especially if you are more into videography! April 7, 2013
Perfect for Beginners to Pros For the beginner and pros it can take some time getting adjusted to where the settings and button placements are, but it is worth it once you do. Being a photojournalist for ten years it has always been about the angles. With the articulated screen, it cuts the time and effort it takes to get low and high angle shots. For the professionals like me, you shouldn't be dissuaded by the size or loads of automatic features. You can still operate the camera with normal full manual controls. The sensor is highly accurate with a phenomenal duplication of the lighting conditions. For the beginner, it can take away all the hassle of adjusting for the correct exposure, and allow the individual to focus on perfecting composition techniques. This camera is hands down the most versatile and capable camera I have used in a long time. Even if this camera doesn't feel like a traditional "professional series" camera, it can certainly hang with them. As far as the video portion is concerned, I have only just started to play with it. From what little I have seen it produces excellent clarity. The only downside I have found is if you need to change subjects and have to re-focus, the servos in the lens will be clearly audible in the video. March 31, 2013
A Great Camera for a Reasonable Price I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago after owning a D5100 for a few months. Te comparison betwen the two of them goes from sea to sky. A real great camera for photo enthusiast! From here I will move only to the D800. March 17, 2013
First DSLR and taking a beginner's Digital Photography Class I have had this camera for almost 2 months. I am taking a beginner's Digital Photography class and even my teacher, a professional photographer, was impressed at this camera. I haven't had the chance to play with the video aspect, but if you have children this camera is AMAZING when it comes to shutter speed (even on standard Auto mode). The pro's: Shutterspeed The quality of the shots and the trueness of the colors The effects are fun to play with The internal photo editing is really decent for some basic stuff Lightness Color (lol I have the red, and its so pretty!) Nikon quality in general. It is well made! The software! For a student, this is really nice because for the lens adjusting it shows you digitally what the lens if you move it one direction is actually doing. Also, the white balance, flash, iso, etc they give you pictures to show you what that setting will do! Unlike other brands that have the same adjustments, you have to take a picture to see what that setting will do. With the new Nikon software thats in the camera it shows you right on the screen. Definitely a time saver! Neutral - The screen. It took me a little bit to get used to it. My Nikon P100 moved but not like this. The screen flips out to the left of the camera and flips all the way around and can be snapped back so you can see the screen. It is not touch screen but no complaints about that. I didn't feel that I was missing anything. Cons- The remote to take pictures (the one with the toggle and remote that has channels on it) not diggin' the price of $250.00. The info button gets used a lot and you have to remember which button (memory or info) gets you to the right menu or spot to change things. The Function button (Fx) haven't needed to use it, and kind of pointless imo. For an advanced beginner camera this is amazing. I can grow with this camera as I learn and I wouldn't trade it for the world. I am enjoying learning with this camera and finding out how many things I can do with it. March 11, 2013
Love it! Short & sweet... This is an amazing camera... Love my new D5200! February 18, 2013
image resolution I have had the camera for three days. Last night I set up to do a sunset pic of the Dallas skyline. I have shot these skyline sunsets numerous times the last couple of years with my Olympus and Nikon D5000. The D5200 image resolution was spectacular. It was all I hoped for. I haven't had time to put the camera through more extensive tests, but my first impression is that it is very easy to use and delivers super images. Within the next couple of days I will shoot the same evening skyline with my D5200 and my Leica M8. I'm very interested to see how they compare. I don't intend to use it for video. The only thing I care about is image quality -- resolution and color. I have been actively involved in photography as part of my job and hobby since 1962. I was lucky (or cursed) to have started with a Zeiss Ikon Contaflex. February 17, 2013
What a value! I had been looking at the D5100 for a long time and never could pull the trigger. I am sooo glad I waited. My brother-n-law has the D7000 and so I knew how great his pictures turned out. I wanted the vari angle monitor so the D7000 was out. Well my friends the D5200 is a D7000 in disguise. Same 24MP, Same image sensor and same processing engine. Lacks two disk cards and weather tight sealing, but for the money difference of $400-$500 I would choose the D5200 all day long. The pictures are fantastic. I did purchase the ME-1 mic as I shoot a lot of video and the sound for what I do is great. I am in a photography group and I put my pictures up against the full frame bad boy D800 of a friend and I still stand tall! February 15, 2013
great features in small package !! The camera is the best out there for the price point. The ISO capabilities are great in low light situations. The multitude of focus points allows you to create amazing shots. This camera far surpasses my expectations for what I expected. Overall wonderful camera for wonderful price :) January 25, 2013
Mi primera cámara seria Es mi primer equipo realmente serio, y ha valido cada centavo. Adquirí un kit con equipo y dos lentes (18-55 y 55-200mm) y los resultado me han convertido en verdadero fan. El equipo tiene excelentes prestaciones y buena relación costo/beneficio. Absolutamente recomendable para iniciarse en la fotografía (fotos de teléfono celular no cuentan...). December 30, 2014
Excelente Adquiri uma Nikon D5200 e me surpreendi com os resultados. A qualidade das imagens é inigualável, as cores são muito vivas. Na zona criativa, especificamente o modo manual, o controle de abertura, velocidade e ISO é fácil e acessível. O LCD de ângulo variável permite uma maior acessibilidade para fotos e vídeos em diversos ângulos. Sou um iniciante na fotografia, mas sei que com estudo, prática, e com esse excelente equipamento eu terei bons resultados. Estou completamente satisfeito. October 31, 2014
Gran Calidad, mucha versatilidad en un tamaño y peso justos ;) Mi Segunda Reflex, es una cámara que a cumplido con creces lo que esperaba de ella, ademas la complemente con un lente 50-300 AF-s el que sumado al lente 18-55 que viene con la cámara me da un millón de posibilidades! Soy Fotógrafo Aficionado y con este equipo he quedado Fascinado.... Recomendable! ;) October 21, 2014
Excellent DSLR for the money! This is my 2nd DSLR camera, my first being an entry level Sony Alpha series. What I love about this camera,is how intuitive the controls /settings are once you get used to the menu layout. I'm now able to shoot in manual mode and change settings with button press or two in a heartbeat! The 18-55mm kit lens that came with it is "so-so", but I've bought several lenses since and have achieved spectacular results! The lens I tend to use as my "go-to" lens is my Nikkor 18-200mm VRII zoom, but my fave is my 50mm F1.8. Image quality using these lenses have absolutely exceeded my expectations. Next camera purchase will likely be a Nikkon full frame rig. Thanks Nikon! September 11, 2014
Excelente qualidade de imagem e velocidade Qualidade de imagem da câmera é excepcional, rápida, cheia de recursos que irão surpreender. June 27, 2014
De lo mejor! De lo mejor! Compre esta cámara y compre un lente más potente y en verdad es la mejor inversión que eh hecho! Toma las mejores fotos y es muy versátil! Yo soy novato en la fotografía, pero creo que para alguien profesional también le sería de lo más útil La súper recomiendo! May 21, 2014
Camera incroyable Avant d'acheter la 5200 j'ai regardé les tests et review sur le net et les nombreuses notes positives m'on convaincu. Je l'ai depuis 2 semaines et la qualité des photos et vidéos de cette camera est incroyable. Après m'être familiarisé avec le menu et les fonctions, j'ai pris une centaines de photos et je dois dire que la qualité de construction et la grande maniabilité de la 5200 est vraiment excellente. Légère avec une bonne tenue en main elle se manie avec aisance ce qui n'ai pas toujours le cas des full frame. Je trouve la lentille 18-55mm de très bonne qualité. Je viens de commander le zoom 55-300mm Nikkor VR II pour une utilisation éloigné. Le 5200 est un D7000 avec quelques options en moins et sutout à moindre coût. Je suis un amateur avancé. J'organise un festival de musique et je prendrai entre autre des photos et vidéos de concerts.J'apprécie les options de réglage vidéo du niveau du son (stéréo) et options offerte en mode vidéo 1080p. Cette caméra est tout ce qu'attend le photographe débutant ou avancé. Je compte ajouter un microphone professionel pour une meilleure capture du son. On se familiarise assez rapidement avec les nombreuses fonctions de règlages, automatique et manuel. Je suis hautement satisfait du 5200 c'est une excellente caméra que je recommande. Chapeau Nikon pour ce superbe DSLR ! January 24, 2014
Ótimos recursos com grande praticidade! Camera de altissimo nível de imagem, disparador rápido, além de leve. December 27, 2013
Excellent for beginners and experienced hobbyists! I recently bought this camera in a Christmas sale and I have been playing around with the settings. I upgraded from a Nikon S8100 point and shoot, and I am having no trouble whatsoever working out how to use it. Pros: Many features for money, Good value, Able to use Nikkor lenses, Light and compact, Easy to use, Cons, The stock lense, Not many, I have not had the camera for long so I have not found many. December 26, 2013
Todo que necesitas para enamorar con fotografía Con su diseño compacto y ligero, la gran gama de objetivos nikkor, hacen de esta máquina una divertida y productiva herramienta, pocas veces dos cosas de juntan así de bien, ya sea para street photo, foto documental en la selva con su ráfaga de fotogramas o un acercamiento silencioso en un concierto sinfónico, la nikon 5200 os dejara encantados, saludos desde México November 5, 2013
Muito bom Comprei recentemente a câmera e não tive decepção alguma, qualidades de fotos excelentes mesmo para a lente que vem nela, ótima de utilizar, intuitiva e prática, não é pesada então não cansa de segurar ela e encaixa bem na mão, vale a pena comprar. September 30, 2013
Almost Perfect The only thing that could make it perfect would be more points in the viewfinder and a slightly faster shutter speed. I use my camera mostly for sports and high-dynamic photos so shutter speed is important, but I would not want to sacrifice the quality of the photo which the more expensive cameras do. The clarity and color depth is amazing. July 7, 2013
Excelente Muy buena cámara, aunque muchos han criticado que es puramente para mas ventas y ganar al mercado contra lo que son sony y canon, tiene las características suficientes para quienes quieren un poco más de una D5100, y es que tiene parte de la D7000, eso si, para uso rudo no se puede usar, como misma D7000 puede February 7, 2013
Cutting edge Totaly satisfied, loads better than my d40 excellent low light performance I originaly bought the 3200 which was also great , but didn't have all the features I wanted. Focus system is crazy fast and accurate. And pics can be cropped and cropped and still maintain great detail. February 4, 2013
la hermana pequeña de la d7000 una exelente camara lista para usar en todo momento incorpora funcionalidad de la d5100 con caracteristicas de la d7000 optima para los entry level y para los semi pro ;ahora en color rojo al igual que d3200 con esto nikon pone un parte aguas ya que ninguna marca se a atrevido a inovar colores en este segmento ; kn increibles 24.1 mp libera toda la potencia y potencial del fotografo; esperado ya por muchos y buscada por otros cuantos la d5200 promete tener la exelencia de sus predecesoras ademas del respaldo de los NIKKOR en cuanto optica simplemente genial January 25, 2013
Easy to use and great pictures I have owned this camera for less than a week and I love it. It takes amazing pictures even for a beginner like me. March 25, 2015
Good camera in the backwoods when you don't want to take the D600. Very happy with the durablity. Picture quality is as good or better then some with D600. The menu is easy to follow with features such as sequencial shooting just one button away. Great battery life when not using the LCD screen. July 16, 2014
Love this Camera! This is my first DSLR- I had a film camera and a bunch of point and shoots, but this is my first "serious" digital. Simply put, I love it! The settings are all easy to find and use, auto-focus is great (depending on your glass, of course). It's fast, and the size is just right for me. I bought this primarily for travel, and this is small enough I will actually use it, but big enough I don't feel like it's a toy. The one negative is the kit lens. The 18-55mm VR is garbage. The pictures are soft and the focusing with this lens is awful. Don't get it (unless you really want the red body, like I did)! Get yourself the body only and the 35mm f/1.8 DX lens. It's a great "carry-around" lens. I love it! February 14, 2014
  • 2015-08-02T20:15:19.453Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_78, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_D5200, prod, sort_default
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev | next>>
83 Questions | 110 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
83 Questions | 110 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
D5200
 
5 Answers

I just want to post my pictures immediately :(

Aug 4, 2013 by
by
Laura
Oregon, USA
 on D5200
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Do I have to buy a separate WiFi adaptor to be able to share my photos with my iphone?? Better yet, can't we have a cord that could transfer between the 2 so I can do it without wifi??? Surely in this day and age...
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Laura
Oregon, USA
Location : 
Oregon, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"I just want to post my pictures immediately" isn't really a question. What are you asking?
Apr 20, 2015 by
by
LowCountry Photog
Charleston, SC, USA
Location : 
Charleston, SC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could get an EyeFi SD card?
Mar 10, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The adapter that comes with the camera broadcast its own wifi signal and connects with your phone. I have an iPhone, and once the signal is picked up by the phone, I use the Nikon wireless app and you have instant access to a remote for taking pictures, viewing the pictures that are on your camera and uploading them to your phone.
 
Products related to my answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
2.7 out of 5(72)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 8, 2013 by
by
Thomas
Tennessee, USA
Location : 
Tennessee, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
You can use the wireless WU-1a to transfer to your iphone, no real need for a cable.
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
KeithD

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
you can transefer to computer by camera cable (usb) then transfer to your phone by phone cable
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
Wael
Egypt
Location : 
Egypt
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
5 Answers

What teleconverters can work on the D5200?

Oct 21, 2013 by
by
Randy
 on D5200
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
What teleconverters can work on the D5200?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Randy
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Let say you could only have 4 lenses in you bag, any that you would want which one would they be. I rookie just getting started. I will be taking mostly sports and landscape picture could real use some help.
Jul 8, 2014 by
by
Rookie
Charleston,WV
Location : 
Charleston,WV
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I doubt very much if the ever will, apart from the it not being able to fit due to the design of the rear of the lens it would just make it way too slow, it would turn the 3.5-5.6 into, with a 1.4 tc, 4.9-7.9 which in most cases would be unusable.
Oct 22, 2013 by
by
KeithD

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
No, it will not fit that lens.
Oct 22, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
KeithD,

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR.

Randy
Oct 21, 2013 by
by
Randy

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
All depends on what lens you intend using.
Oct 21, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
4 Answers

UC-E06 vs UC-E17 USB Cable for D5200

Nov 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
What is the difference between UC-E06 and UC-E17 USB Cable? Can I use UC-E06 with D5200.
Thanks
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the D5200 system chart, you can look for yourself, it shows either is the correct cable.
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d5200/compatibility01.htm

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Positive, look at the picture,
http://nikonsa.co.za/en_ZA/products/product_details.page?sParamValueLbl=Accessories&sParam1ValueLbl=SLR&sSubnav2ParamLbl=Connectivity&sSubnav3ParamLbl=USB+Cable+UC-E17&ParamValue=Accessories&Subnav1Param=SLR&Subnav2Param=SLR+Connectivity&Subnav3Param=Data&RunQuery=l4&ID=9400108
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
D5200 usb connector is not mini USB unless I'm missing something. Old cell phone have mini usb and new cell phones have micro usb. Are you shure?
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
LeoG

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, any USB to mini USB cable will work, they are all generic.
Nov 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
3 Answers

converting MOV files into something compatable with Adobe or Vegas?

May 24, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I purchased 2 nikon d5200 for my video production fleet.
I use Adobe Premiere Pro cs5.5 and sony vegas pro but those pesky MOV files that nikon uses are completely unusable with any software ... Does nikon recomend a way to convert these mov files into something usable?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Anonymous
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
while ther eare free downloadable sofware that converts, there are just as many that you can get from unsafe sources, where the video codec converters hack your system (just like the one I got for free from cnet called the AVC (all video converter) the question again is there any one that "NIKON RECOMENDS" cause I've tried three of these converters and still none of them work.

If you go into the trouble shooting formats page in Adobe it even claims that .MOV "May or May not" work with Adobe....

I've been editing for a decade and I'm here to tell you that this camera is NOT compatible for adobe premiere Pr cs5.5 I got two d5200 's that are unusable.
May 24, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Don't know what answer you want, I can't post a link, moderator will take it down. Arcsoft makes an excellent converter but it's not free.
May 24, 2014 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Plenty of free converters, just do an internet search.
May 24, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D5200
 
2 Answers

When is the 18-105 VR lens kits going to be available for purchase with the D5200?

Jan 20, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon does not currently have an expected availability date for the D5200 kit with 18-105 lens.

The D5200 kit with 18-55 lens is now available and the 18-105 lens is available separately.
Jan 22, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't what country you are in, but in the US it is available at B&H photo.
Jan 21, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
2 Answers

What is the f-stop range on the 5200?

Feb 19, 2013 by
by
Nancy
NYC
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Nancy
NYC
2 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Trying some shots last night, if I zoomed into 55mm, I was able to get f-36. I believe the previous answer refers to 18mm.
Jul 9, 2013 by
by
mikemcnh
Delran, NJ, USA
Location : 
Delran, NJ, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
I assume your talking about the 18-55mm kit lens supplied. It has a range of f/3.5 max aperture to f/22 min aperture.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
2 Answers

is this a good camera for taking Baseball pictures, at night with no flash???

Feb 25, 2013 by
by
Angel
Cross City, FL, USA
 on D5200
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
I'ma sports photographer for our local weekly paper, and i cover the High School Baseball games. I can't use flash during the games, and most of the high school fields are low, to very low light. so most of my photos arent to great. would this be a good camera to use? since it has a high ISO?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Angel
Cross City, FL, USA
Location : 
Cross City, FL, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
No. I'd recommend you to use a full-frame camera with a telephoto lens. I'd recommend the D800 with a 70-300, because its high pixel count will let you crop the images A LOT without losing resolution and low noise high ISO means you can take photos at ISO 3200 and you won't get a single grain of noise.
Jun 14, 2013 by
by
Shaggy
Howrah, West Bengal, India
Location : 
Howrah, West Bengal, India
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, This is an entry level camera. A decent low budget sport camera would be D7000 D7100, D300s, D700, and you will need a lens like the 70-200mm F/2.8. Its excellent for sports.
Feb 26, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5200
 
2 Answers

Is there virtual horizon feature on camera as same as 5100 has ?

Mar 8, 2013 by
by
Vitaliy
Brooklyn, NY, USA
 on D5200
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Vitaliy
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Location : 
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
But a little further down the page you say "Nikon D5200 does not have Virtual horizon."
Mar 19, 2015 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes both have virtual horizon in live view.
Mar 9, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D5200
 
2 Answers

Considering this camera for close-up dental photos. Can I customize a program so it will provide consistent results without "tinkering"?

Mar 24, 2013 by
by
Dan
Utah, USA
 on D5200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Dan
Utah, USA
Location : 
Utah, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't have a macro lens for my 5200 and I use it for the same thing. Seems to work on manual set to ISO 100, shutter at 1/125 and aperture at f/32 for intraoral and then increase the aperture if you want full face (just keep the settings the same for before and afters!!!)... I'm certainly no photographer though... also, I can't see using a tripod with the pt in the chair (i mean, i thought setting instruments on the pt's chest was a bad habit!!) and the vibration reduction macro lens is so expensive...
Aug 4, 2013 by
by
Laura
Oregon, USA
Location : 
Oregon, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D5200 along with a Macro lens such as the 40mm should provide you with excellent, and constant results in the dental office. However, using Auto mode on any camera will not always give you desire results when the lighting changes. You need to learn to use the other modes like aperture priority, or Manual. You will also need a tripod to get sharp crisp images.
Apr 12, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D5200
 
2 Answers

Problems with memory cards?

Apr 26, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
The first time I went to shoot a baseball game with my new d5200, I took some test shots from the parking lot as I was walking. I noticed immediately that it wasn't writing anything to the memory card, so I went back to my car and switched cards and didn't have any more problems.

I have since done a lot of shooting with this camera, including using it as a backup for a wedding that I was second shooter for. Never had any issues with it until today.

I shot another baseball game and got a lot of great pics. The game went into extra innings, and when a kid scored the winning run, I started firing away for the celebration shots. I thought I had some great ones. The shutter was firing like normal, and I could see the AF working, yet when I tried to review my shots, they weren't there. I took two more shots and again there was nothing. I took the card out and put it back in, and then the d5200 finally started writing to the card again. It was too late by then, so I missed all the celebration shots.

The first card that gave me trouble was a PNY 16gb. The second card was a SanDisk Ultra 32gb, which I have been using for the last week with no problems. I still had about 500 shots left, so I know the card wasn't full. Has anyone encountered this problem before? I've used higher-end cameras like the d300, 600, and 7000 in the past and have never seen a camera do this.
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for the response. I have continued shooting with the SanDisk 32 SDHC as well as the 16gb version of the same card. So far this problem has not happened again, so hopefully it was just a random glitch.
May 17, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sandisk 32G SDHC cards are included on the approved list of memory cards for the D5200 but PNY cards are not approved. If the Sandisk Ultra 32G card is not an SDHC card please try a card from the approved list to see if this resolves the issue. This list can be found on page 211 of the D5200 manual. A copy of the D5200 manual can be downloaded from this address:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...

If the Sandisk Ultra 32G card that you were using is an SDHC type card, or if trying another card from the approved list doesn't resolve this issue, then please contact Nikon Technical Support for further assistance: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Apr 27, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
  • 2015-08-02T20:14:29.252Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_D5200, prod, sort_default
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers