Loading

Experience the passion of Nikon full-frame photography.

Product shot of the Nikon D610 D-SLR camera
The power of a pro-level Nikon FX-format camera—dazzling full-frame images, broadcast-quality 1080p video at your fingertips, superior low-light performance, faster frame rate up to 6 frames-per-second (fps), tack sharp autofocus with 39 focus points, built-in flash with Commander Mode, wireless photo sharing and much more—is attainable in a compact, lightweight full-frame HD-SLR body. A new continuous quiet mode lets you capture a sequence of shots without the noise associated with the raising and lowering of the D-SLR's mirror. Optimized for full-frame shooting, streamlined for compactness and value, the D610 will fuel your photographic passion like never before.
Nikon D610 photo of a woman in a garden with flowers in a basket on her bicycle

Nikon's Full-frame sensor raises the bar on image quality

Stunning detail and NIKKOR lenses

Passionate photographers who seek uncompromised full-frame, high-resolution performance rely on Nikon FX-format HD-SLRs. With a level of performance only bested by Nikon's own D800 series D-SLRs, D610's 24.3 megapixel FX-format CMOS sensor, wide dynamic range and high S/N (signal-to-noise) ratio captures every detail with lifelike sharpness and low noise throughout its wide ISO range. Low-light performance is synonymous with Nikon—shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, expandable down to 50 and up to 25,600 for extreme situations. EXPEED 3 processing system manages all that data with remarkable speed and accuracy, enabling up to 6 fps continuous shooting at full resolution in both FX and DX formats. Whether shooting people, landscapes or close-ups—you'll marvel at D610's faithful color reproduction. Add Nikon's newest selection of affordable fast f/1.8 primes, compact wide ratio zooms with VR image stabilization or tele- and supertelephoto lenses and you'll see the full potential that the D610 offers.
Photo of birds and inset small frames of the birds showing the capabilities of the Autofocus

Remarkable AF performance with compatibility up to f/8

f/8 sensitivity benefits action and wildlife photography

One of the keys to capturing razor-sharp images is a fast, precise autofocus system, and the D610 has one of the best. 39 tightly packed focus points with wide-area AF coverage offer endless compositional possibilities. Nine cross-type sensors in the center offer superior accuracy even when light and contrast are scarce. Seven center focus points work all the way down to f/8 for extended AF functionality with teleconverters and long-reach lenses. Switch between 9, 21 or 39 point AF, allowing for compositional freedom. D610's Scene Recognition System's subject identification and tracking information means enhanced performance by 3D Tracking and Auto Area AF. When shooting photos or HD video in Live View, Nikon’s responsive contrast-detect AF activates for accurate fulltime autofocusing.
Nikon D610 photo of a mountain peak jutting above the clouds

Exceptional performance and quality

Flawless metering and onboard intelligence

The D610 delivers consistently beautiful images, thanks to Nikon’s intelligent Scene Recognition System with 3D Color Matrix Metering II. Its 2,016 pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and the scene colors, all within the time it takes to press the shutter release button. That data is then referenced against an onboard image database for consistently accurate exposures, auto white balance, i-TTL flash and subject-tracking autofocus performance.
Product photo of the Nikon D610 with a lens and ME-1 Stereo Microphone attached

Broadcast-quality Full HD video at your fingertips

Two video formats in one camera

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that empower and inspire filmmakers and video enthusiasts, and the D610 is proof of that. Shoot 1080p HD videos with selectable frame rates of 30p, 25p or 24p and MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 compression. Bend time with 720p HD at 60p, 50p or 30p for ultra-smooth video playback of fast moving subjects, or create slow-motion footage during post processing. Manually adjust ISO, shutter speed and aperture, activate Live View shooting's fulltime AF with face-priority and subject tracking or manually focus. Experience dedicated inputs for an optional stereo mic and headphones for monitoring sound, still image exporting, uncompressed recording of video via HDMI out to an external recorder, simultaneous live view on external monitors and much more. Multi-area mode Full HD D-Movie gives you compositional freedom using FX or DX movie formats. Enhance your video with the dramatic perspectives and depth-of-field control of Nikon's full line of NIKKOR interchangeable lenses, and you’ll dazzle with every video project.
Close up product shot of the WU-1b wireless mobile adapter attached to the Nikon D610

Wi-Fi camera control and mobile sharing

Optional WU-1b wireless mobile adapter

With Wi-Fi compatibility, sharing photos is easier than ever. Connect the optional WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the D610—and shoot from your smartphone or tablet!
Product photos of the Nikon D610 with lenses attached and Speedlights

Lighting studio optional

The D610’s built-in pop-up flash offers up new shooting possibilities that other cameras simply can't match—and not just in low-light situations. Even well lit subjects can benefit from a balanced fill flash for extra depth and dimension. And since the D610’s flash integrates with Nikon’s i-TTL system, it can act as a Commander and communicate crucial exposure information to two groups of remote flashes across three channels for accurate lighting and exceptional results. When you need the extra power, add an optional accessory Nikon Speedlight for more lighting possibilities.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights for endless creative expression to the WU-1b Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi sharing and camera control, your system can grow with you.


WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

false false false product 1540-en_US 1540 1540 DIGSLR $1,799.95 false $1,999.95 NONE false false true 2014-04-08T16:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/1540/D610.html /dslr-cameras/D610.html 1540 en_US D610/en_US/o/9aymQia243jQnyP9Xp0maFZcizo/Views/1540_D610.png true /en_US/o/9aymQia243jQnyP9Xp0maFZcizo/Misc/us_D610_logo.png Feel the power of a 24.3 MP Nikon FX-format CMOS sensor in a compact, HD-SLR body. Create dazzling full-frame images rivaled only by Nikon's D800 series D-SLR and 1080p Full HD videos. Nikon's superior 39-point AF system and Scene Recognition System means details will be clear and crisp—for static or moving subjects. HD video quality rivals more expensive dedicated video cameras. Nikon FX-format quality has never been more attainable. <span style="font-size: small;"><strong>Take your passion to the next level</strong></span> true 4.3 29 true FLSHAPT STERMIC LCDMONCOV CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTCORD PWRPAC CAPCOV EXTSER BATTHOLD EYEPIE CAMCASE FLSH VIEWFNDR MISC WIRELESS PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS GPS PWRCHG IMG-APPAREL 1540 13305 13304 13306 4 true true false 1540 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1540 1.2241565 false false false product 13305-en_US 13305 13305 DIGSLR $2,299.95 false $2,599.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/13305/D610.html /dslr-cameras/D610.html 13305 13305 en_US 24-85mm VR Lens Kit/en_US/o/9aymQia243jQnyP9Xp0maFZcizo/Views/13305_D610.png false Get everything you need to start creating dazzling photos and videos right out of the box: the D610 and our versatile AF-S NIKKOR 24–85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR lens. An ideal match for the D610, this compact lens with Nikon's Vibration Reduction technology delivers exceptionally bright, razor-sharp full-frame images to the D610's FX-format CMOS sensor. From wide-angle to medium telephoto perspectives—whether shooting stills or Full HD videos—you'll draw peak performance out of your D610. 24-85mm VR Lens Kit true 4.3 29 false 0 true true false 13305 AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR 2204 D610 1540 Product D610 1540 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13305 1.634467 false false false product 13304-en_US 13304 13304 DIGSLR $2,699.95 false $3,049.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/13304/D610.html /dslr-cameras/D610.html 13304 13304 en_US 28-300mm VR Lens Kit/en_US/o/9aymQia243jQnyP9Xp0maFZcizo/Views/13304_D610.png false Get everything you need to take great photos and video with the D610 and one lens right out of the box, with the all-in-one AF-S 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens. The ideal all-in-one lens will give you the flexibility to carry one lens that incorporates a wide focal length range, from 28mm wide-angle, zooming through to the telephoto of 300mm. Utilizing Nikon's Vibration Reduction image stabilization, crisp, colorful full-frame images will be delivered to the D610's FX-format CMOS sensor. From wide–angle to portrait to long telephoto—whether shooting stills or Full HD videos—you'll draw peak performance out of your D610. 28-300mm VR Lens Kit true 4.3 29 false 0 true true false 13304 AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 2191 D610 1540 Product D610 1540 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13304 1.7688895 false false false product 13306-en_US 13306 13306 DIGSLR $2,749.95 false $3,249.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/13306/D610.html /dslr-cameras/D610.html 13306 13306 en_US Two Lens Kit/en_US/o/9aymQia243jQnyP9Xp0maFZcizo/Views/13306_D610.png false Get everything you need to take brilliant photos and video in a wide range of focal lengths from 24mm through 300mm, right out of the box: the D610 with the versatile AF-S NIKKOR 24–85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR lens, along with the powerful reach of the AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED. A perfect match for the D610, these compact zoom lenses—both with Nikon's Vibration Reduction image stabilization technology delivers exceptionally bright, razor-sharp full-frame images to the D610's FX-format CMOS sensor. From wide–angle to portrait perspectives to long telephoto—whether shooting stills or Full HD videos—you'll draw peak performance out of your D610. Two Lens Kit true 4.3 29 false 0 true true false 13306 AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR 2204 AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED 2161 D610 1540 Product D610 1540 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13306 1.7688895
Sale

D610 Body Only

Now $1,799.95
Reg. $1,999.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=1540 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Sale

24-85mm VR Lens Kit

D610 Camera Body AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Now $2,299.95
Reg. $2,599.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13305 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Sale

28-300mm VR Lens Kit

D610 Camera Body AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Now $2,699.95
Reg. $3,049.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13304 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Sale

Two Lens Kit

D610 Camera Body AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VRAF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Now $2,749.95
Reg. $3,249.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13306 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D610 4.3 5 29 29
Worth the Wait!! I have been waiting since the introduction of the D600 to get into full frame photography. Read a lot of reviews and watched a lot of hands on You Tube reviews which all said the D600 was an overall xcellent camera. There are limits but still a massive improvement over any previous camera I have owned. The only thing holding me back was the overblown internet craze of dust/oil spots. Regardless if it was necessary or not Nikon is taking care of D600 owners and announced the D610 with a new shutter mechanism.I have only had my D610 for around 2 weeks but there are 0 oil/dust spots. One of the things that also concerned me was people saying it was not built well and was a small camera. Personally I feel the build quality is outstanding and as far as the size, I am 6'1" & 200 lbs so needless to say I don't have small hands, this camera fits in my hands perfectly. It has a little bit of heft to it but not unbearable. The grip is comfortable and the camera is easily manageable. I would say in fact that it feels so good it is almost like an extension of my hand. So far I have only shot with my 50mm F1.8G but the image quality and low light capabilities are amazing and as advertised. It has been hard to put down and I look forward to using it for the first time at a gig. Can't imagine paying more for D800 and those huge mega files with few advantages. Look forward to getting the D7100 as my back up camera and supplement to my D610 for Wildlife and Sports. That is unless the rumored D9300 proves to be fact then it will be more waiting....but hopefully worth the wait again. April 21, 2014
Amazing Camera! I hear so many people say this is just a D7000 with a full frame sensor but I can tell you it is so much more than that. My biggest concern about this camera was the autofocus. The 39 points clustered in the center is no big deal to me. (I think the best method to focus is by using the AE-L/AF-L button to focus with the center point and then compose anyway). What worried me was the possibility that the autofocus was soft or inaccurate like my d7000. If anyone has ever used a Nikon camera with the multi cam 3500 autofocus it is hard to accept anything of lesser quality. I can promise you that this autofocus is just as accurate and sharp. It is much improved over the d7000. I can deal with 39 points as long as they are fast and accurate. Not to mention to sensor is absolutely beautiful! April 18, 2014
I love it. I personally love the D610. I have had no problems with dust spots or oil spots. The video quality is amazing. this is my first fx camera and so far i love it, it works great with low light. April 3, 2014
awesome it's my first fx camera and it's so good but you need to get familiar with it March 29, 2014
Best Value Available Most of the negative reviews of this product are either VERY single function specific or the person didn't read the owners manual to correct problems they were having. If you've had different nikon bodies before, you may have to adjust some settings to have the d610 line up with the functionality you're used to. I was looking to upgrade from my d200 (which I love), and bought the d610. Straight out of the box I ran into some problems from the functionality I was used to. It was frustrating for about 10 minutes before I decided to read the manual. I wasn't able to get the AF point to move where I wanted it to until I read how to switch AF modes, then the problem was solved! The thumb wheel was adjusting the exposure in the "wrong" direction, so after reading, I reversed the direction and it was fine. Same goes for a few other speed bumps. Yes, the AF points are "bunched in the middle", but with the image quality as high as it is, I really don't mind including more into frame than I need, then cropping to frame the subject as needed while processing. Once I took the time to set up the camera to my preferences, it is simply an amazing camera. The biggest difference I am seeing from my old d200 to this d610 is the high ISO clarity. With my d200 at 800 there was some graininess to the images. I can bump up the ISO to twice that in the d610 and get less grain. The camera feels great in hand, not that I plan on dropping it but I don't have to treat it delicately in fear of damaging it. With my 50mm 1.4 attached it is still very discreet, but turns out AMAZING image clarity. I've ever had ANY issues with proper metering, and any metering issues found should be easy to adjust to given the many ways to adjust it. Until I can afford the D4, this camera has everything I'll need to shoot studio, weddings, outdoors, portraits, sporting events, and anything else that I shoot. Truly outstanding camera, especially when ones thinks of value for the dollar. March 11, 2014
haven't found anything wrong with it yet cons: These cons are personal preferences and in general do not detract from the overall 5 stars I gave it. I would have preferred 16 mp sensor and 51 point focus, but I guess Nikon would never give you everything at once. I don't understand why anyone who bought a camera of this quality would use a scene mode. And speaking of the mode dial, why does it need a lock button? I've been taking pictures and using the mode dial on several different cameras for a long time and the mode dial never moved without me moving it. Pros: I've had the d610 for a couple of months now. I use it with a 100 mm macro as my prime lens. This camera combined with the macro is just fantastic! I couldn't wish for anything better. I shoot mostly outside with bright sun, but for the few times I've shot portraits indoors with low lighting I've been able to push the ISO to 4000 without much noise at all. I have xx large hands and they really fit this camera perfectly. I also use a d40 with a 18-250 mm zoom and a d300s with a super tele-zoom February 28, 2014
WOW!!!! One of the worlds best sensors for under $2000...Unbelievable! Dollar for dollar, best camera on the market! No question...for me... February 13, 2014
Love it! Love the crisp images, its fast and the quality is awesome. I recommend this camera for anyone. January 10, 2014
Great Camera for Price I try and make my reviews without bias. With that said.... PROS: ISO sooooooo awesome! Compare this to the cropped frame this just blows it out of the water! I've been turning it up to 3200(unusable on cropped) and it still looks great! A plus is if you have a D7000 the battery is the same. Its Full frame!!!! Its not worth comparing to the D800(big files.. slow shutter speed) or the D4(amazing camera.. best DR.. FAST shutter speed) because they are in there own ball park. If you have the money to spare and money is no object then take the D4. This camera was made to fit the bill between the DX seniors and Full frames and it does it well! CONS: You can't change the Aperture in video mode! How stupid is that! If you do videos a lot this is going to bug you. I shoot way more pictures than video but still annoying to make. I hope they come out with a patch to the firmware and fix it. The buttons layout is different that the D7000. If the D7000 is your back it then you will have to train your mind to not always hit the wrong buttons. Not a big deal but something to think about. This doesn't bug me one bit but it might some people. All the focus points are put tight in the middle of the view finder. So if you wanna move the focus point all the way to one side your outta luck its kinda stuck in the middle. If you are going from the Nikon D7000 to this don't expect a totally new or different camera... Its the D7000 body with a FX sensor. What your paying for is the Full frame which is amazing and worth it. -------- In conclusion I love this camera! I love how sharp it is how high I can go with the iso and not even notice it! I love the price I like the build. I love that is light small and take on trips. If you own and DX camera and thinking of taking the plunge into FX then I would say yes you will be happy with this camera. If your D4 owner and buy this camera I would say you will noticing what $4,000 more gets you! December 20, 2013
High Performance/Dollar rating. I've made the switch to Nikon form Pentax after 14 years, but I'm glad I did. I will make this short and sweet. Pros: >High ISO performance--both stills and video. >Pretty good auto focus, but not as good as the D4 or D800. >Amazing IQ for such a low price, especially with High ISO performance. >Small, yet very powerful--TRULY a good balance of performance for it's size & weight. >No oil-spotting on the sensor like the D600. >Best thing about this camera is that no other camera out there can come close to it for value. Cons: >Lacking the higher performance autofocus that's in the D4, D800, D800E, and even the D7100--that's kind of a surprise. >The D7100 has this camera beat on several features, including the build, but not my much and certainly by no means Hi ISO performance and IQ once the sunshine disappears. >No decent GPS unit for this camera, something that has it's own battery supply and doesn't need a cord to tether it into the camera. >No aperture control in video mode, but it's not too big of a deal. >No PC Sync socket. >Not a top-of the line build, but good enough for the price, but once again--THINK VALUE(.) December 16, 2013
Very good Camera I had this camera couple of days back and so far it is very good, Captured almost 1000+ and did not find any spotting issue. November 3, 2013
The Nikon D610 Excellent The Nikon D610 Excellent I bought the camera in July of 2014 and love it, it so good fast and built well. I can only say I really love my D610 it brings me back to the good old days of 35 mm film my F801s, FE, FM2, FA and N2020 to name some of my Cameras. Also I had to say a D70s and a D7000. My D7000 I traded it in for something else. I want to by another D610 or may look at the D750 but to say I like the BM-14 LCD Cover for the D610 and maybe there is no Cover for the D750 so I will see what I buy. I like to have less moving parts like the LCD on my D610 but have to think and talk to the store to make up my mind. I am looking to have two (2) FX cameras to use. I am also thinking of the D800 – D810 for a Second or main Body Camera. To say I hope the next camera that replaces the D610 has a LCD cover I find it to be a good add on to protect the LCD. I have my camera bouncing on my chest and so on. I would recommend to any one the D610. September 13, 2014
Awesome product. This is one of the best SLRs ever made. Strong, reliable, accurate and with incredible image quality. July 3, 2014
Great Camera Was quite surprised with it's performance. Works very well in low light, creating crisp sharp images. The body is light weight and well balanced. With controls that you can still use in AUTO mode, or program your own settings. I have used the D800, and in comparing them. I have discovered unless you are a professional photographer and need the very best. The D610 will suit all of your needs, and more. I truly enjoy working with it. November 22, 2013
qualité d'image remarquable! J'ai changé mon d7100 pour un d610...aucun regret! May 27, 2014
TOP Camera perfeita, ótima em lugares com pouca luminosidade March 27, 2014
D610 ela é Top !!! D610 excelente câmera , se você esta interessado em comprar uma Full-Frame com o custo beneficio mais em conta, compre sem duvida , não ira se arrepender !!! February 13, 2014
Awesome images I had D300 for five years, just bought D610 this month. Image quality appear to be twice better than D300. I'm happy to move to FX. I just wish it has built-in WIFI. Maybe at this point Nikon cares more about image quality than WIFI. The WU-1B device does not connect to PC using a router, only mobile devices. I bought Nikon 1.8 and 2.8 lens. Aperture mode doesn't appear consistent in exposure level from wide opening to smaller apertures. The image taken at wide open appears to be always slightly darker than the rest. It's only slightly but no big deal. It can be fixable by adjusting shutter speed or ISO. I tested aperture mode range using D300 and D7100 and it appears to produce the same results so I would guess it's the general Nikon camera itself. Nikon probably thinks it's no big deal fixing this little problem that no one has complained about or notice. In White Balance, it has incandescent and no tungsten like Canon camera has. It appears slightly yellow, not white enough, but will try to test it some more. I would recommend the camera for excellent image quality but warn it has no built-in WIFI. Not many people are happy with WU-1B. January 30, 2014
Very disappointed. I just got this camera today and was really happy because I wanted to use it this weekend. Much to my dismay, the diopter control does not work! I searched online and found that it is a problem that people have been having straight out of the box. Now I have to make a 45 mile trip to Nikon in Los Angeles to get it fixed since it would be much easier and hopefully quicker than sending it back to B&H. This is my tenth Nikon DSLR (D100, D200, D2H, D2X x2, D300 x2, D700 x2) and am really upset about this. I was very anxious to try this camera out. February 7, 2014
Great Camera, but has some metering problem with the Average or Matrix metering I would have given a full 5 star if the metering was more accurate for scenarios where there is a bright or discrete light source. PROS: Amazing auto focus Great Image quality Built in flash (Competitors doesn't have this feature) Excellent button placements Reasonably good high ISO performance. CONS: In-Camera HDR algorithm is not great, some ghosting artifacts are seen. Would be nice to have more options for HDR pre/post processing in camera. Focus points could be more scattered across the frame, but seems like this has been done to maintain compatibility between DX & FX modes. Would be nice to have the metering display on top LCD too (At least for all FX cameras). The Main Problems is the Metering: There is great difference seen between live view & view finder. At first the metering jumps by a +1 or - 1 stop If you’re taking a picture with discrete light sources in a dark background (such as a night landscape/New York Downtown at night /Las Vegas night photography) the metering is give under exposed results. This was tested while using the matrix metering, manual (aperture, shutter & ISO) controls. If you switch to live view for the same scene, the metering shows you are under exposed by a stop or two. I had to depend on the live view to meter & then switch to normal mode, focus & take the shot. It doesn’t matter if you are on FX or DX mode the problem seems to persist. In Short for the same aperture, shutter speed & ISO, in matrix metering, would meter would display a positive value using the view finder (eg +1.5 ) & a negative value using the live view (eg: -1.5). This cannot be exposure compensated in camera as its not a linear offset. The Metering on the D7000 was far superior. I hope this issue can be fixed in firmware. December 24, 2013
Over hyped Camera My excitement/anticipation ended in disappointment. Just like others had said, bad unreliable and slow AF, wrong metering, tiny tiny small focus square, etc. Yes great when in focus. Had it for two weeks, tried AF fine tune and looking for answer, finally gave up and returned for refund. Sorry Nikon, afraid I have to switch to XYZ brand - may come back if your FX products have better IQ and image quality, and for less price. same problems tested D610 with Nikon 85mm prime lens; same said for D7100 with 85mm. Afraid I have to mothball my Nikon FX lenses while wait for future generations better FX camera. Hum D4 ? December 28, 2013
Sharp camera, when it's in focus. AF problems! I just purchased the D-610 with 24-85, 70-300, WiFi and case, all in a kit. I have previously owned the D-70 and D-300. Happy with both. I'm a full time working shooter (30+ years) and I teach at numerous colleges. I have always recommended Nikon, and will continue, BUT NOT THIS CAMERA. After owning the camera for a couple of weeks I am still not able to use it for work because I cannot get the AF points to adjust where I need them. CANNOT LOCK THE FOCUS POINT. No matter what AF setting I've chosen, the focus points just flitter around and choose various elements on their own. I've read the manual, tried calling Nikon, written to Nikon customer support, etc. No help. Without AF control, the camera is not a good professional tool and I will likely return it unless I get some answers. This is a major disappointment for a lifelong Nikon user. Additionally, the WiFi dongle DOES NOT WORK. Even with an iPad or compatible cell phone just inches away and recognizing the camera, the Wu-1b will not link with the camera and display an image. One of my main reasons for getting this camera was to be able to display images for my clients during product shooting sessions. No dice. Strike two. December 10, 2013
Not happy Oil spots on the sensor. After 2000 shots the camera was useless. Autofocus is a joke.The far left focus point newer works. Disappointing image quality, especially the raw files (clarity is bad) September 7, 2014
Poor Quality Photos I shoot nature photography and bought this camera with hopes of going to the next step to improve my photos. Very disappointed with the clarity of my photos, shooting with a 300mm, f2.8 lense and the sharpness IS NOT there never mind adding a 1.4 teleconverter. My D300S gives far sharper images and therefore will not be using this body unless the quality can be improved through servicing the body at Nikon. I can not recommend this camera. March 2, 2014
Page:2
<<prev
43 Questions | 56 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
43 Questions | 56 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
D610
 
4 Answers

What is the difference between the D600 and D610?

Oct 8, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D610
+7points
9out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
1 year ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+22points
23out of 24found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful23unhelpful1
Answer: 
Not much. As the previous person said, D600 comes with dirt/oil on the sensor and the D610 is supposed to have resolved that issue. But we'll have to wait to see if the sensor oil issue has really been resolved. It is a shame that Nikon couldn't do a better job with the D610. They could have used this upportunity to improve the ridiculous 39 point focus system with something similar to the D7100's 51 point, utilized the Expeed 4 processor and perhaps include the WiFi wtih this camera.
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
Edo (ex D600 user)
Glendale, CA, USA
Location : 
Glendale, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2
Answer: 
Do a side by side comparison and there is no difference except for 6 fps as compared to 5.5 fps. The big difference is the 610 is cheaper. Why bother with a new number when what photographers are looking for is new features. Instead of having to buy a new camera every couple of years, make it so you can download new features even for a reasonable cost. Lets face it, a digital camera is a computer that takes pictures.
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
D610 shoots at 6fps, has a 3fps quiet mode, updated auto white balance and hopefully a redesigned sensor.
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR

-10points
1out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful11
Answer: 
Pretty much nothing...
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D610
 
3 Answers

Is the D610 built to work in Antarctica? I need a camera body for a three week trip.

Oct 24, 2013 by
by
Don
New York, NY, USA
 on D610
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
11 months ago
by
Don
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've never had a problem with any of my Nikon's even point and shoot at down to 10 below in Maine or New Hampshire in the winter while visiting my son and grand children. I'v known of people shooting the aruoa in Alaska. The cold kills your batteries, they make a camera cozie that you can put a hand warmer in. Check out the guys that shoot the northern lights in Alaska in the winter. The tempt in Fairbanks cans the best place to shoot the aroia and is in Feb. the temp runs detween 10 to 40 below. So yes you can use it in Anartica. I hope this helped you out. I've took photos in below Zero and @ 130 in the Calf. desert. 30 years advanced amateur. Alex
Jul 12, 2014 by
by
mountainhigh
San Diego, CA, USA
Location : 
San Diego, CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely will NOT work in Antarctica....wind chill will freeze the camera. You have to shoot in a styrofoam box with heat and use remote to click the shots unless you keep it under your parka!
Jan 22, 2014 by
by
30 year Nikon semi pro
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D610 is functional between temperatures above 50 °C (122 °F) or below –10 °C (14 °F).
Oct 25, 2013 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I use Lightroom 5 and Photoshop CS4 which informed me they don't even have an update in beta mode yet. Frustrated that I bough a new camera that I can't really use. I feel like I am using this camera handicapped. Sure I can use it in jpeg mode but that is like playing basketball with one hand tied behind my back! Read into the exif data change, but wasn't able to find good instructions with how to do that.
11 months ago
by
frustratedRAWshooter
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Since you want to work in Lightroom 5, simple import the raw (NEF) files from your SD card and select "Copy as DNG" and click import. Lightroom 5 will do the conversion for you.
Feb 11, 2014 by
by
Mohican
New Paltz, NY 12561, USA
Location : 
New Paltz, NY 12561, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I use Adobe DNG Converter. It's really simple to use, and you can even name your files differently and place them in a new folder to stay organized. Just search for "Adobe DNG Converter," and it's free to download! Hope this helped.
Jan 1, 2014 by
by
Portrait Photographer
Custer, SD 57730, USA
Location : 
Custer, SD 57730, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can't convert until Adobe releases their update. For now you can use the free 60day trial of Capture NX2 version 2.4.4, remember you have to also download the latest version of View NX2 1st to run Capture. Not the solution you want but at least you can process Raw.
Nov 2, 2013 by
by
JoeR
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
9 months ago
by
Nikon amateur
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Any other suggestion to keep in mind for changing from DX to FX?
Jan 14, 2014 by
by
Nikon amateur

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thank you JoeR,
I haven't noticed the hyper focus before, and I think it is because
I used a d-5000 and the mínimum distance for hyper focus is a lot less. Nos, thanks to you,
I have a chart with different lenses or focal lenses, apertures and the hyper focus. Thanks again.
Jan 14, 2014 by
by
Nikon amateur

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like your hyper focal point is off, what lens you using?
If you are using the 24-85 your focal point at f/16 should be about 6 feet in front of you, assuming the lens is at 24 mm.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D610
 
2 Answers

Can you use the DX format lens ?

Oct 8, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D610
-1point
2out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
1 year ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Speaking for myself, I own a D7000 and have a significant investment in DX lenses, so it's a bonus that the D610 accepts DX lenses. I can upgrade to FX as my wallet permits.
Oct 10, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, in DX crop mode, it reduces Megapixels to around 10.5. If you don't shoot in DX mode you will get vignetting.
Why buy a full frame camera to shoot DX? You would be better off with the D7100.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D610
 
2 Answers

What exactly is updated about the white balance?

Oct 9, 2013 by
by
majd_ar
 on D610
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I read that the white balance has been updated in the D610 but I couldn't find any information on what exactly is that update about.
1 year ago
by
majd_ar
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
So, it's only the Auto White Balance that is updated. Any hint on the other modes? Is the greenish color tint fixed now? It's not a big issue as it can be fixed in post production but I would like to see richer skin tones and cleaner whites. Did Nikon do anything about that?
Oct 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
Quoting Nikon :
''Auto white balance that achieves natural color reproduction
Greater optimization of image analysis of the most common scenes enables Auto white balance achieves more natural color reproduction for images captured indoors as well as outdoors in the most common scenes.
Oct 9, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D610
 
2 Answers

Spots on my D610?

Feb 22, 2014 by
by
Joel
Texas, USA
 on D610
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Got my camera about 2 weeks ago and probably less than 1000 pictures taken. I just noticed 4 dots show up on my images yesterday. Any suggestions? These show up with either lens attached; Nikkor 50mm lens and a Nikkor 24-300mm lens. I am trying to upload some images but keep getting gateway error.
7 months ago
by
Joel
Texas, USA
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the same problem. With less than 3000 shutter activations I had to have the sensor cleans. The tech who cleaned it said that there was industrial solvent and heavy material on the bottom of the sensor. It took longer than normal to clean. He was adamant that if there are more spots on the sensor to send it to Nikon for cleaning and inspection. This is very disheartening because sensor cleanliness was a constant problem with the D600 I owned.
Oct 11, 2014 by
by
drcurtin
Placerville, CA 95667, USA
Location : 
Placerville, CA 95667, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Time for a sensor cleaning.
Feb 22, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D610
 
2 Answers

How many multiple exposures can this camera shoot?

Oct 3, 2014 by
by
Retired crime scene photographer
Racine, WI, USA
 on D610
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 weeks, 1 day ago
by
Retired crime scene photographer
Racine, WI, USA
Location : 
Racine, WI, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, misread question, can be set for either 2 or 3 multiple exposures.
Oct 4, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends on the size of the memory card and whether you are shooting JPEG or raw.
Oct 4, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D610
 
1 answer

Does the D610 allow aperture changes while in Live View mode?

Oct 8, 2013 by
by
Imperious Images
 on D610
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year ago
by
Imperious Images
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Aperture can be adjusted in image liveview mode using the D610 sub command dial, or aperture ring on a NIKKOR lens.
Aperture can be adjusted in Movie liveview mode using the aperture ring on a NIKKOR lens.
Oct 30, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D610
 
1 answer

What is the buffer in Raw for fast shooting

Oct 10, 2013 by
by
Nikon Pro
North Carolina
 on D610
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year ago
by
Nikon Pro
North Carolina
Location : 
North Carolina
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
16 shots until full in raw.
Oct 10, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers