Loading
;
Using the WU-1a optional wireless mobile adapter you can now automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from compatible Nikon D-SLRs and COOLPIX cameras. With an easy to use app, now when you can't wait to share that great shot you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone in a instant.
Wi-Fi Shooting: Images can be taken remotely using a compatible smart device using the camera's Live View preview on the smart device to frame and compose the subject.
Note: Smart device is used to remotely fire the camera, maximum distance is up to 49 feet and the smart device can not be used to adjust settings on the camera.
The dedicated application runs on Android 2.3 or later (smartphones); on Android 3.0 or later (tablets). iPhone® and iPad®: iOS version 6.0 or later. Operating system is required to use the WU-1a.**
**Specifications and Compatibility: OS: Smartphones, Tablets:
Android™ version 2.3 or later (smartphone), Android version 3.0 or later (tablet). iPhone® and iPad®: iOS version 6.0 or later.
Wi-Fi®: 11b/g/n (maximum range approximately 10-15m/33-49 ft).
 

Easy Transfer: Images from the compatible Nikon D-SLR and COOLPIX cameras can be downloaded to a compatible smart device as they are taken or download existing images from the camera's SD memory card.
Note: Images will be downloaded after they are saved to the camera's memory card.

Easy Sharing: Single images or groups of images can be shared using apps stored on the smart device via email, text messaging, or by uploading to a blog or social networking site—just like any other image on your smartphone or tablet.
Notes: Movies can not be viewed using the Wireless Mobile Adapter utility (app) but can be played back by tapping the movie or playback icon to display a list of movie apps and choosing an app from the list.
The WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter works with Wi-Fi 11b/g/n.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

A camera connected to the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with a camera connected to the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter 2.7 5 56 56
Great Accessory! Makes sharing pictures fast and easy! This wireless accessory works perfectly with my Samsung Galaxy S3. I take quality pictures and within second I am sharing them via MMS, Instagram, Facebook, Email, etc. Good job Nikon! February 16, 2013
A Fun and Very Exciting Tool that has an edge in today's tech filled world! I have used this and downloaded the ap on my Samsung Galaxy SIII and am impressed it it simple and best yet you get the quality as always from Nikon!!! It is a easy way to take self portrait or a family portrait while being able to be in the picture!!! So many possibilities!!! February 5, 2013
Great idea This is a very useful and fun assesory I would like to see a version available for other recent Nikon cameras like the d7000. This would be appreciated by those of us who have been loyal Nikon shooters for many years to the brand November 1, 2012
SERIOUS AMATURE JUST WANTED TO SAY THAT IPHONE AND IPAD HAS A BRAND NEW APP THAT WORKS WITH THIS WIRELESS TRANSMITTER. HURRAH. NOW I WILL BUY THE D600 September 23, 2012
Very good product for the money When I shoot portraits, my clients can have the pics right away, and start choosing even before I finish the shoot. These days, everyone wants instant gratification, well this is pretty fast! I am glad it ends the connection right away after the file is transmitted, this way, I can choose when I want to use it, and when I don't, and won't forget to disconnect. I would like to use it with my iPad, but until the application is released, I can use my Android device. There is an expensive wireless transfer device for those of you who shoot with other Nikon DSLRs, but it costs $800+, so for $59 I got a great bargain! I feel pretty lucky to have bought the only Nikon (D-3200) that is compatible with this great little gadget. I am a professional photographer who uses more than one brand of gear. I got curious about Nikon recently, so decided to try the little D3200, added a better lens 17-70mm f/2.8 because the kit lens is worth nothing to me. This little set up I have now with the wireless mobile adapter has boosted my clientele already. Again, people want their pictures right away; I can oblige them with this. It is a money maker for me. September 3, 2012
Great if I could use it with my D90 This would be a great addition to my d90. Please make it compatible. May 20, 2012
Amazing Little Device Synced up immediately with my Galaxy SIII Andoid phone. Using the Nikon app available in the Google Play Store, I was able to instantly pull a preview of all the photos on my D5200's memory card and download the ones I want. Thought it was way too cool when I was able to snap a photo using my Galaxy's touchscreen as a viewfinder and using it as a wireless remote to snap the photo. As I've been in the technical industry for over 15 years, it takes a great deal to impress me, but this little gadget sure did! Two thumbs up. Well done Nikon! March 10, 2014
Nifty little gizmo Works like a charm on my Samsung android tablet. Glad it comes with a little tether so it does not get lost if it comes out of its case on the strap. I mainly use it for uploading photos to send people when I am on vacation, but I have tried the picture taking feature, and it also works. Well done! June 29, 2013
Took help to get it connected to my Galaxy S4 Just bought the D3200 package deal, specifically because this adapter came included. I had to reach out to Samsung tech support to finally successfully get connected. It would see the connection in Wi-Fi but with an error that "Network disabled because internet connection is slow". Samsung sent me the following solution below which did work (happy dance) I just hope that it remains stable. The software and features could probably be more robust but I just wanted to get pics to my phone for that instant gratification of sharing them out :) Samsung Solution: open Apps >> Settings >> Connectivity >> Wi-fi >> Menu >> Advanced. Auto-network switch. Unckeck if any. April 8, 2014
Works pretty well! When I first used the device I had problems with slow transfers / disconnections. Switching off Bluetooth on my iPhone seems to have solved this. Although it still disconnects occasionally! Other than that it does exactly what i had hoped for. However It would be great if it could transfer video, hence only 4 stars. February 20, 2014
simplify sharing pictures online !!!! I am recently purchased my first SLR digital camera the Nikon D3200 being an inexperienced photographer one of the things that i have fun is sharing my pictures online this camera is a user friendly, and when i saw the ability to transfers picture to my phone instantly to my iPhone i was sold even when you have to purchased separately the wireless mobile adapter that i was actually surprise was so fast to download and plain and simple to use highly recommend December 21, 2013
It is compatible with the iphone! All you have to do is download the Nikon application on your iphone and it works!!! Don't have to wait till Fall. Works great! May 15, 2013
Works well for picture transfer but not videos I'm using a verizon iphone 4 running IOS 6.1.2 and the app does what it was designed to do. It transfers my pictures to the phone and I have not had any of the disconnect issues that I've read about in the other reviews before I bought the transmitter. I have not been able to transfer any videos using the adapter though. I would like to see more functionality in the remote, i.e. the ability to change the settings on my camera if I needed to. So far this has been the best accessory that I have bought for my 3200! I think this transmitter works great for a novice like me but my photography friends (shoot for a living) are begging for this option for their high dollar rigs. It would also be nicer if the option was built into the camera instead of a dongle hanging out on the side. March 7, 2013
Needs a full iPad compatible app Great tool, very handy - however the iPad app is not fully supported and its really only an iphone app, that you can zoom in! the point of this is to show the image on a bigger, better screen then on the camera itself, so a phone is not that! February 10, 2013
works ok! i bought the D3200 and recieved the adapter free..i was abit skeptical but just tried on my IPhone and it worked well..dropped the signal a few times but overall not bad transfered 8 images in a short time and was able to post on Facebook right away..lets be serious here its really just a gimmicky toy thats fun. the remote worked and my phone got the pics so it does exactly what it suppose to December 28, 2012
WU-1a won't connect I purchased a WU-1a when I bought my D3200 months ago. Waited for the iPhone/iPad app to come. It seldom connects and when it does it disconnects after downloading 1 or 2 pictures. Anyone having good luck with this on iPhone/iPad? December 23, 2012
Works great Works as advertised. Fast transfer to iPhone. App needs some refinements but overall a great addition to my camera for social networking applications like Facebook and Instagram. September 22, 2012
Wu-1a and Windows Phone/APP I used this adapter with my Samsung Galaxy phone and it works well. I like the ability to walk away from the camera to take photos. I can catch a lot of surprise shots that way. Some list the inability to zoom the camera or pan/tilt, really it is not for that maybe someone can create a tripod that will pan/tilt:) It is just a shutter release and states pretty much that just that. Now I have a Windows phone and will never go back to any other phone OS. It is the best phone or rather piece of technology that I have bought in the past 15 years. Quick to start up easy to use, and it just gets me the way I want to use the phone and features. HOWEVER there are fewer APPS out there and this is one that needs to be addressed. I have a Windows tablet also that I would love to be able to use as well with it for the shutter release. Still learning my Nikon D3200 after 2 years I have finally got around to buying the DVD on the D3200 and wow what a difference it makes if you learn HOW to! May 5, 2014
Works fine but limited. Window app please Works with my D600. Limited application. Should support windows phones. Do not see why a desktop app is not included. Tethering wirelessly to Lightroom would be excellent. This is more of a toy than a professional piece of equipment. I believe this could be so much more. If you are not willing to properly develop the software for the desktop, perhaps you make it open for other developers. November 21, 2013
compacte, éfficace, facile d'utilisation super pour téléchargé vos photos est déclencher les prise de vue a distance. March 10, 2014
It's ok when it works Man I done tried the airplane mode and it worked for a min now it act like it don't want to dowload and it will not stay connected to my camera which it's a Nikon P520 April 12, 2014
Almost useful The form factor works well, it's tiny and unobtrusive (although having built-in WiFi would be much preferred!). However, there are two major downsides: 1. This device is an access point only, it cannot connect to your existing network. This, IMO, is the biggest flaw in the device as I need to now choose whether I want to have Internet access or control my camera. Now I need to bring a dedicated tablet with me to use it. 2. The Android software is spotty at best. On my Nexus 4 connectivity is very poor and I can't get LiveView to work. On my Nexus 10 things are a bit better, but I've found that the Helicon Remote is much more feature rich. As feedback for the next-gen product I would like to see my camera as a client of an existing WiFi network, not an access point, and my primary use case is to automatically push pictures to my phone so they can be geotagged and shared or backed up in the field. Remote control software is useful, but separating the backup and control functionality into different apps may help both use cases optimize their UX. March 4, 2014
Could be better The concept is really cool and useful. I used it on a D3200 and I was under impression that this device will give me as much control as I have when I am using the D3200, but it does not. It is interesting that the same device provides much more control when used on a D5200 but not on a D3200. To give you some examples, on D5200 you can choose the focus point from the live view on the phone but this is not possible to do so on D3200. It is possible to turn off the live view on D5200 in order to save battery for both camera and phone and keep the camera in the right operating temperature but this option is grayed out on D3200. Users have no option but to keep the live view on which results in higher battery usage and a hot camera after few minutes of using. Basically the device can act more like a professional remote shutter in D5200 and some other select DSLR models but only acts as toy on D3200. Basically the level of functionality that this device offer for D3200 is the same as it offers for Coolpix A which I found it kind of insulting to DSLR users. I do not recommend this for D3200 unless Nikon provides the same professional capabilities as it offers on D5200, D7100, and D600 for this device. To me these shortcomings are more of a software restriction that Nikon can easily address than hardware limitations for D3200. July 5, 2013
great concept but won't stay connected!! love the concept and i can get it to download pics to my iphone and ipad, but only a few at a time. it won't stay connected for more than a 30 seconds to a minute. bummer! i'm thinking of trading the wireless adapter in and seeing if maybe i just have a lemon January 2, 2013
Will not work with my Samsung Infuse I just purchased the WU-1a Mobile Adapter and found out that it will not work with my Samsung Infuse phone. The APP needs android 2.3 and above. What about us users with android 2.21? We have to go out a but new phone to use this Adapter? My phone is only a year old! December 28, 2012
Wireless App The camera has a very difficult time staying connected to my HTC Thunderbolt while downloading photos, and more importantly the videos. (i've had one successful video transfer). The camera disconnects very quickly from the phone once downloading begins. Listen to MrEd (in the Q & A) and open up the API so people may change the application to better our user experience. I dont know if this is really a problem with the application or the camera, but i hope not the latter. I would love to use the application to trigger videoing so I can use it as a flip out screen and what not. Although instant transfer of the video should be held off because of the file size and the time it takes to transfer. Im planning on using this app for ski training and I think people will follow if you guys can get this done. Instant review in certain sports is extremely helpful! August 26, 2012
Disconnect problems When it works it works well, however it will drop connections both on my Iphone 5s and my Ipad air. Can get very frustrating when moving a high resolution picture only to have it quit 3/4 way through. It disconnects approx 75% of the time I try to move files. I would only recommend if that problem gets fixed, right now I feel as if I wasted $70. February 25, 2014
Needs iOS apps upgrade + Firmware upgrade... I did purchase this Nikon P520 camera accessory to be able to transmit wirelessly to my iPad and iPhone. It works, periodically. It keeps dropping the wireless connection in a middle of a download. When you have few shots to transfer, that's not a big deal but when you transmit hundreds of pictures, it's very annoying ! Also, programmers, please, can you add a button called "SELECT ALL" in the iOS App when it's time to select the pictures to transmit ? Again, when you have a few... no problem there... but when you want to transmit hundreds, you have to select MANUALLY the pictures ONE bY ONE... which is completely ridiculous ! A SELECT ALL button is A MUST ! Also, why in this world we can't transfer videos over ! That ahould be also A MUST if the video feature is available in the camera itself... we SHOULD be able to transfer all we capture ! Please Nikon, update the App for features that are essentials and resolve the dropping connection between the WU-1a and the iPad-iPhone... it's not an iOS problem as I use only legitimate apps and no jailbreak stuff... Thanks for considering this... Other than that, that would be an EXTREMELY GREAT accessory ! April 15, 2013
WU-1a Unusable unless you have an Android If you're considering this product and expect to connect it to a Windows based tablet or PC don't waste your money. May 23, 2014
Waste of money. I'm trying to connect from an iPhone 4 to a Nikon d7100. Poor connection and drops the connection. April 15, 2014
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
189 Questions | 232 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
189 Questions | 232 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
 
8 Answers

What is the name of the iOS app for the WU-1a?

Oct 28, 2012 by
by
fasc_rat
Eureka, CA, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Supposedly there is an iOS app for the WU-1a but I have not yet found it in the iTunes online store. What terms should be used in the search box to find it?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
fasc_rat
Eureka, CA, USA
Location : 
Eureka, CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
8 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
It works better for android. I tryed on both systens using ipad and galxy note. On ipad it doens t conect well, I beleave it works better when they create an app just for ipad.
Aug 15, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Brazil

+2points
5out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful3
Answer: 
Wireless Mobile Utility (not Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility!) by Nikon Corporation
Apr 2, 2013 by
by
samas
Age: 45-54

+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
Answer: 
The app can be found when searching on an Iphone. If your trying to find the app on an Ipad you need to switch to IPHONE apps on the IPAD.... Look for Nikon Corporation.. And then you should be able to find it under Wireless Mobile Adapter. Should be the first app on the top right
Nov 25, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
By today (November 20, 2012), Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility is still not available in the USA. A search at Apple Store returns with no results on both iPad and iPhone.
Nov 20, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
While the app is for both iPad and iPhone it can currently only be found under iPhone apps. If you are not able to find this app by searching for Nikon Corporation or Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility in either iTunes or the App Store try going to this web address:
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wir...
Nov 20, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
The name of the app is the Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility By Nikon Corporation. If you have trouble finding it try entering just "Nikon Corporation" in the search.
Nov 1, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

-3points
3out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful6
Answer: 
wireless mobile adapter utility DOES NOT work. No results found.
Oct 31, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
2out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful5
Answer: 
Wireless mobile adapter utility
Oct 28, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
 
5 Answers

How can I transfer photos to my Mac using WU-1a

Feb 11, 2013 by
by
TrayK
Bulgaria
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
I've been looking for an application to transfer photos directly to my laptop using this device, but so far no luck. Does someone know if it is possible?
 
Products related to my question
 
1 year, 4 months ago
by
TrayK
Bulgaria
Location : 
Bulgaria
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
i have sd card eye-fi 16G-pro i can upload by wi-fi to my pc or mac or android from my nikon D 7000 and nikon D7100
Mar 13, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Egypt
Location : 
Egypt
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Transfering photos to mac/pc is faster, easier and more stable by the SD Card.
Oct 26, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Looking for same thing. It shouldn't be too hard for Nikon to write an app for OSX so you can take shots and have them appear on a MacBook.
Jul 29, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I wonder if you can trasfer it first to your Androind or Iphone/Ipad, and then sync to your MAC using ITune
Feb 27, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Not possible, only works with ios phones and tablets, no computers.
Same for Android systems.
Feb 11, 2013 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
 
4 Answers

Support for other Nikon bodies?

Apr 19, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Tacoma, WA
Has staff answer
+13points
16out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
I just bought a D5100 a month ago... Surely this adapter will be compatible with it?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Tacoma, WA
Location : 
Tacoma, WA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+8points
10out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful2
Answer: 
I agree, this should be made available for all of the Digital SLR cameras (ex: D60, D90, D3000, D5000, etc.)
It should be as simple as a firmware update to the camera. How about it? I personally have the D90, and love it. This would be a great, and very welcomed, addition. You have a market out here, come after it.
Aug 28, 2012 by
by
Neil
Tomball, TX, USA
Location : 
Tomball, TX, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-9points
0out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful9
Answer: 
All though you have nailed your reply, I don't think this adapter will work with the older models as none of their software infrastructure has capabilities to support the new drivers of this accessory.
Nikon will have to work out of their skins to make an adapter install itself(and its drivers) on older models which I don't see as happening .
However, I am sure any new Nikon model released after d3200 will have this as an add-on.
Jun 10, 2012 by
by
Mole
India
Location : 
India
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years

+18points
18out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful0
Answer: 
Why does this question require a phone call? Seems like a simple question asking if and when support for other DSLRs is on the road map for this product. Your traditional wireless unit is ridiculously expensive for what it is.

This is the correct product that should be supported on all cameras with this USB port.
If this product is unsuccessful, it will be not because of price or its physical profile but because its functionality was severely limited for marketing reasons only. If you do not open this product's capabilities up to support all USB cameras with PC, tablet, and phone applications that can do not only remote controlling of camera function but also full tethering and file transfer then you leave this market wide open to the third party solutions to do so as soon as they reverse engineer this product.

It is time for the next major revision of CaptureNX with a new interface and support for this module and multiple camera support.
Apr 21, 2012 by
by
Some guy
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-54points
0out of 54found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful54
Answer: 
In order to better assist you (since no model of adapter is mentioned), please give us a call:
Nikon Technical Support
8AM - 2AM (Eastern) 7 days a week
1-800-Nikon-US (1-800-645-6687)
Apr 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
15 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+8points
11out of 14found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful3
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Amit
River Edge, NJ, USA
Location : 
River Edge, NJ, USA
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
Answer: 
IPhone App is called WMAU -- Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility. Downloaded today on iPhone 5. You'll have to setup Nikon_WU wireless through your iPhone Settings --> WiFI --> Nikon_WU.

It connected fine with my new D3200 and I could see Camera photos fine. However it kept disconnecting when I tried to download photos to my iPhone.
Nov 7, 2012 by
by
MD
Olympia, WA, USA
Location : 
Olympia, WA, USA
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The App was released in iTunes on Sept. 14th. I downloaded the same day and it works great.
Sep 22, 2012 by
by
dbarsi
Southern California
Location : 
Southern California
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 6-10 years

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
*An Application for use with an Android™ platform smartphone (2.3 series) or tablet (3.x series) is expected for release in May 2012.**†
An Application for use with an iPhone® and iPad® mobile digital device is expected for release in fall 2012.***
†The Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility Application must be installed on the smart device before it can be used
with the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter connected to the D3200.
**Android is a trademark of Google Inc.
***iPhone® and iPad® are registered trademarks of Apple Inc.

this is latest info , found on description page for this product...
Sep 3, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
An Application for use with an iPhone® and iPad® mobile digital device is expected for release in fall 2012. Hold on for another month or two.
Sep 3, 2012 by
by
Tulsa Tom
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
 
3 Answers

what is the password to connect to wireless adapter WU-1a?

Mar 13, 2013 by
by
Manny
Querétaro, Mexico
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
I have a D3200 and a WU-1a, I tried to connect to my Iphone, it has IOS 6.1.2, the WMU is already installed on it version 1.1.1.3001.
I can see the wireless signal but when i try to connect both divices, a password is requiered to access to that wireless connection...How can get it? somebody can help me?
the name of my wireless is Nikon_WU_20072325
 
Products related to my question
 
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Manny
Querétaro, Mexico
Location : 
Querétaro, Mexico
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
haha never mind I got it. :)
Mar 3, 2014 by
by
YvonV

+10points
11out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful1
Answer: 
To remove the password:
1.Plug the WU-1A adapter into the camera and turn the camera on.
2.Hold down the button on the adapter for more than 10 seconds until the light starts flashing orange, then release the button and immediately press it once. The light should turn green indication that the adapter has be reset to default.
Mar 14, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
Answer: 
You are using the wrong connection setting. Watch this Nikon video:
http://nikonasia-en.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7566/~/wu-1a-wireless-mobile-adapter-setup.
You need to tap on manual in the connection setup and choose WPA button, press and hold the button for about 5 seconds, no password need.
Mar 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
 
3 Answers

WU-1a ALWAYS disconnects

Mar 10, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
The adaptor ALWAYS disconnects. Batteries on the camera and iPod are charged.

Frustrating does not begin to reflect what I feel.

Faster to drive home, connect to my Mac then to use the WU-1a.
3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I spoke to Customer Service and they suggested resetting the WU-1a and using "airplane mode" with wi-fi on.

Did NOT help.

The hoops I had to jump through to give my client the images, though ultimately successful, was embarrassing. This is the second time with the same client I had to deal with this. Not good for someone's reputation.

Any other ideas how to correct this?

Thanks in advance.
Mar 24, 2014 by
by
Jim!
Long Island, NY
Location : 
Long Island, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try putting the iPod into "airplane" mode then enable Wi-Fi only. Connect to the WU-1A under Wi-Fi settings and then run the Nikon App.
Mar 24, 2014 by
by
Zulu
Kent, Wa
Location : 
Kent, Wa
Age: 55-65

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please contact Nikon Support at 1-800-NikonUS or http://support.NikonUSA.com for assistance.
Mar 11, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
 
3 Answers

How do I find the Pairing code for windows wi fi? WU-1b

Nov 13, 2012 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
none of the numbers on the device and paperwork seems to work
1 year, 6 months ago
by
RH
Cal coast
Location : 
Cal coast
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The WU-1b Wireless Adapter allows users to connect wirelessly to Android™ based mobile devices and iPhone® and iPad® mobile digital devices through the use of the Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility app. The WU-1b is not set up to communicate with desktop or laptop computers.
Nov 17, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am still trying to connect to a Windows 7 computer by wi fi. The computer asks for the paring code to get on the network.
RH
Nov 16, 2012 by
by
RH
Coastal California
Location : 
Coastal California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
Answer: 
The WU-1B adapter is not a bluetooth device. It is a wifi device, and there is no paring code needed.
1)Plug the WU-1B adapter into the camera and turn the camera on.

2)Press and hold down the button on the WU-1B adapter until the light turns red, then release the button.

3)Go to the Smartphone,Ipad, or Tablet settings and turn the wifi setting on. You should see the WU-1B adapter network listed among the available network. The name should look something like Nikon_WXXXXXXX. Connect to the network.

4) Launch the wireless mobile adapter utility application.

Note: Nikon Wireless Moblile adapter utility (WMAU) can be downloaded from your smart device application store and it has the WU-1B setup instructions built into it.
Nov 16, 2012 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
 
3 Answers

Will this work with iPhones and iPads? I see only Android information listed.

Apr 26, 2012 by
Has staff answer
+6points
8out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
6out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful4
Answer: 
The iOS version is now available at the iTunes online store.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
The iOS app is scheduled for Fall 2012 release.
Apr 30, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I understand it will be available for the iPhone and iPad in the fall of 2012.
Apr 29, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
8 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
 
2 Answers

What about support for the D800 ?

Apr 20, 2012 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, the WU-1a does not support the D800. It only works with the D3200.

For the D800, you would use the WT-4a for Wi-Fi connectivity or the WT-5a and the UT-1 together.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

-14points
0out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful14
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please give us a call:
Nikon Technical Support
8AM - 2AM (Eastern) 7 days a week
1-800-Nikon-US (1-800-645-6687)
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
 
2 Answers

Can you close the side compartment door when the WU=1a is pluged into the D3200 camera?

Apr 22, 2012 by
by
Marc
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Marc
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Location : 
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
NO
Nov 20, 2012 by
by
renta1436

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, the side connector cover will remain open.
Apr 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
next>>