Loading

Infuse your world with imagery

For your very mobile lifestyle comes a completely new imaging system with freedom to create and express as never before. Highly compact and portable, the Nikon 1 J1 goes everywhere you go. Moments from your amazing world are captured using a highly responsive autofocus and super fast shooting speed. In one touch you can work in Full HD (1080p) movie record mode. A camera so versatile you can even snap photos while recording movies. Unleash your creativity with Nikon 1—offering a balance of high performance, advanced features, portability and a newly designed interchangeable lens system. Infuse your world with photos from every moment and connect as never before.
CX-Format
High-Speed AF CMOS Sensor
10 FPS
Continuous Shooting
Motion Snapshot
One-Touch Photo Animation Experience
Full HD
1080p Movies

Revolutionary new Nikon 1 system breaks visual barriers

Innovation in technology and design

Today, all it takes is a single imaging device to capture and share every moment of an incredible and connected life. Nikon brings an evolution in imaging technology, starting with a newly developed Nikon CX-format super high-speed AF CMOS sensor that powers every capture. Ensure image precision through the new, compact interchangeable lens system featuring image stabilization (VR) and superior fast and quiet autofocus motors built on the NIKKOR heritage of optical excellence.

Focus that's as fast as you

Capture all the action

Not a moment is missed with a camera that keeps up with you! Always on the go, you know moments worth sharing can happen all the time. Don't let your creativity be hindered by slow focus speed; Nikon 1 J1 delivers an amazing 10 fps speed in autofocus mode. Grab every turn of the swimmer as he leaps from the high dive and glides into the water below. Even fast moving action like this is rendered with amazing clarity—thanks to an incredible 73 point AF array continuously working to ensure everything is sharp and clear.

For moments that deserve more

Motion Snapshot brings photos to life

Certain snapshots from life evoke emotions that just cannot be retold with merely a photograph. Remember the feelings you had while watching a wave crash to the shore or fireworks exploding overhead? Make those moments come alive in a single click using Motion Snapshot. Reveal the essence that can't be captured in a single photo.

Share a richer experience

Simultaneously capture Full HD (1080p) movies and photos

There will be moments when you're recording a great movie and an opportunity to grab an amazing photo comes along. Capture both at the same time! Start your movie recording with a touch of a button. See that great still? Hit the shutter even during record mode. Autofocus keeps everything sharp, working double duty to simultaneously capture both movies and photos. Infuse even more personality into multimedia creations by adding slow motion. For times when photos alone are not enough, family and friends will appreciate your expressions brought to life.

Get the best of what's seen

Let the camera do the work with Smart Photo Selector

For all the times you wished your camera could capture those great spontaneous moments while they unfolded in front of you, there is Nikon 1. Have too many blurry or poorly lit photos? Or how many photos do you have where someone's eyes were shut? With a single touch using Smart Photo Selector there are no more imperfect photos. Get the best of what you see. Engage in the moment while you let the camera do the work for you.

Creativity expanded with 1 NIKKOR Lenses

Compact, light, high performance optics

Expand creativity and select from a range of lens options, including one designed specifically for movie filming. Engineered for fast and easy swap-out, stay photo-ready all the time. Compactness brings portability, whether using the single focal length 10mm or the 30-110mm telephoto. 1 NIKKOR lenses feature Vibration Reduction (VR) to keep photos sharp, extending a heritage of precision symbolized by durability, superior image quality and optical excellence.
EXPEED 3 processor

EXPEED 3 marks the culmination of years of dedication to advancing digital imaging technologies. At the heart of Nikon 1 is EXPEED 3, with dual image processors, to deliver outstanding system performance, high-speed processing, state-of-the-art phase detection autofocus and the fastest data transfer rates. Witness outstanding image quality, tone reproduction and advanced autofocus at unprecedented speeds.

Low light

An advanced, innovative Nikon super high-speed AF CMOS imaging sensor, wide ISO range and option to select the best lens for the job give you even more control over the light. Produce amazing photos in all those moody environments. Tap only ambient light and open the most artistic doors to photographing on the dance floor, nabbing dramatic sunsets and candlelit moments.

LCD monitor

Check your creativity: frame and share your creations on the large and sharp three-inch LCD color display. An ultra-high resolution screen featuring 460k-dots shows every detail to precision. An anti-glare coating renders easy viewing of photos and HD movies, even outdoors.

Intuitive simplicity

Easy access to advanced features are hallmarks of the Nikon 1 system. From the ultra intuitive command and features buttons, easy-to-understand menu and fast mount lens, you'll be expressing your thoughts and visions as never before. Even advanced features for photos and movies can be created with one-click ease.

false false false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Silver 10-30mm-Silver 27532-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27532_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $499.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27532 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27532 false false /Nikon1/27532/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 Silver One-Lens Kit false false 27532 grqw9him $499.95 Silver /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/SmoothSilver_26166.gif 499.95 499.95 27532 KitVariant V27532 The Nikon 1 J1 with the versatile multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is a great way to help you connect to your life. The 10-30mm will fulfill your everyday imaging needs with it’s 3x versatile zoom range. One Lens Kit false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Black 3300 27526-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27526_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $499.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27526 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27526 false false /Nikon1/27526/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 Black One-Lens Kit false false 27526 grqw9him $499.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 499.95 499.95 27526 KitVariant V27526 The Nikon 1 J1 with the versatile multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is a great way to help you connect to your life. The 10-30mm will fulfill your everyday imaging needs with it’s 3x versatile zoom range. One Lens Kit false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR White 10-30mm-White 27528-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27528_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $499.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false true 27528 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27528 false false /Nikon1/27528/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 White One-Lens Kit false true 27528 grqw9him $499.95 White /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26291_white.gif 499.95 499.95 27528 KitVariant V27528 The Nikon 1 J1 with the versatile multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is a great way to help you connect to your life. The 10-30mm will fulfill your everyday imaging needs with it’s 3x versatile zoom range. One Lens Kit false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Red 10-30mm-Red 27534-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27534_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $499.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27534 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27534 false false /Nikon1/27534/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 Red One-Lens Kit false true 27534 grqw9him $499.95 Red /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26195_red.gif 499.95 499.95 27534 KitVariant V27534 The Nikon 1 J1 with the versatile multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is a great way to help you connect to your life. The 10-30mm will fulfill your everyday imaging needs with it’s 3x versatile zoom range. One Lens Kit product grqw9him-en_US grqw9him 27528 27526 27534 27532 NIKON1 $499.95 $499.95 $499.95 $499.95 false $499.95 NONE false false false /Nikon1/27528/Nikon-1-J1.html /Nikon1/Nikon-1-J1.html 27528 en_US One-Lens Kit /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false The Nikon 1 J1 with the versatile multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is a great way to help you connect to your life. The 10-30mm will fulfill your everyday imaging needs with it’s 3x versatile zoom range. One Lens Kit false 4.2 43 false 27528 27526 27534 27532 0 true false false 27528 Nikon 1 J1 Nikon-1-J1 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=grqw9him 1.7147658 false false false false false 1 NIKKOR 10mm f/2.8 Red 10mm-Red 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Red 10-30mm-Red 27567-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27567_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $749.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27567 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27567 false false /Nikon1/27567/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 Red Two-Lens Wide Angle Kit false false 27567 grtscpu5 $749.95 Red /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26195_red.gif 749.95 749.95 27567 KitVariant V27534 The Nikon 1 J1 and the wide-angle 10mm lens with the multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is the perfect kit for grabbing those expansive landscapes and group shots. This kit combination brings you the flexibility to frame and refine your world with the ultra-fast 10mm f/2.8 lens along with the versatile 10-30mm lens! Two Lens Wide Angle Kit false false false 1 NIKKOR 10mm f/2.8 Silver 10mm-Silver 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Silver 10-30mm-Silver 27565-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27565_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $749.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27565 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27565 false false /Nikon1/27565/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 Silver Two-Lens Wide Angle Kit false false 27565 grtscpu5 $749.95 Silver /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/SmoothSilver_26166.gif 749.95 749.95 27565 KitVariant V27532 The Nikon 1 J1 and the wide-angle 10mm lens with the multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is the perfect kit for grabbing those expansive landscapes and group shots. This kit combination brings you the flexibility to frame and refine your world with the ultra-fast 10mm f/2.8 lens along with the versatile 10-30mm lens! Two Lens Wide Angle Kit false false false 1 NIKKOR 10mm f/2.8 White 3320 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR White 10-30mm-White 27561-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27561_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $749.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27561 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27561 false false /Nikon1/27561/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 White Two-Lens Wide Angle Kit false false 27561 grtscpu5 $749.95 White /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26291_white.gif 749.95 749.95 27561 KitVariant V27528 The Nikon 1 J1 and the wide-angle 10mm lens with the multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is the perfect kit for grabbing those expansive landscapes and group shots. This kit combination brings you the flexibility to frame and refine your world with the ultra-fast 10mm f/2.8 lens along with the versatile 10-30mm lens! Two Lens Wide Angle Kit product grtscpu5-en_US grtscpu5 27561 27567 27565 NIKON1 $749.95 $749.95 $749.95 false $749.95 NONE false false false /Nikon1/27561/Nikon-1-J1.html /Nikon1/Nikon-1-J1.html 27561 en_US Two-Lens Wide Angle Kit /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false The Nikon 1 J1 and the wide-angle 10mm lens with the multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is the perfect kit for grabbing those expansive landscapes and group shots. This kit combination brings you the flexibility to frame and refine your world with the ultra-fast 10mm f/2.8 lens along with the versatile 10-30mm lens! Two Lens Wide Angle Kit false 4.2 43 false 27561 27567 27565 0 true false false 27561 Nikon 1 J1 Nikon-1-J1 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=grtscpu5 1.7402989 false false false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR White 10-30mm-White 1 NIKKOR 30-110mm f/3.8 – 5.6 VR White 3319 27547-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27547_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $749.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27547 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27547 false false /Nikon1/27547/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 White Two-Lens Zoom Kit false false 27547 grtscow0 $749.95 White /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26291_white.gif 749.95 749.95 27547 KitVariant V27528 The Two Lens zoom Kit offered with the Nikon 1 J1 contains the versatile 10-30mm and far reaching 30-110mm zoom lenses. This kit combination is perfect for capturing your subjects near and far. With a total zoom reach of 11x you will be ready for any shooting situation. Two Lens Zoom Kit false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Silver 10-30mm-Silver 1 NIKKOR 30-110mm f/3.8 – 5.6 VR Silver 30-110mm-Silver 27551-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27551_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $749.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27551 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27551 false false /Nikon1/27551/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 Silver Two-Lens Zoom Kit false false 27551 grtscow0 $749.95 Silver /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/SmoothSilver_26166.gif 749.95 749.95 27551 KitVariant V27532 The Two Lens zoom Kit offered with the Nikon 1 J1 contains the versatile 10-30mm and far reaching 30-110mm zoom lenses. This kit combination is perfect for capturing your subjects near and far. With a total zoom reach of 11x you will be ready for any shooting situation. Two Lens Zoom Kit false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Red 10-30mm-Red 1 NIKKOR 30-110mm f/3.8 – 5.6 VR Red 30-110mm-Red 27553-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27553_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $749.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27553 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27553 false false /Nikon1/27553/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 Red Two-Lens Zoom Kit false false 27553 grtscow0 $749.95 Red /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26195_red.gif 749.95 749.95 27553 KitVariant V27534 The Two Lens zoom Kit offered with the Nikon 1 J1 contains the versatile 10-30mm and far reaching 30-110mm zoom lenses. This kit combination is perfect for capturing your subjects near and far. With a total zoom reach of 11x you will be ready for any shooting situation. Two Lens Zoom Kit product grtscow0-en_US grtscow0 27547 27553 27551 NIKON1 $749.95 $749.95 $749.95 false $749.95 NONE false false false /Nikon1/27547/Nikon-1-J1.html /Nikon1/Nikon-1-J1.html 27547 en_US Two-Lens Zoom Kit /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false The Two Lens zoom Kit offered with the Nikon 1 J1 contains the versatile 10-30mm and far reaching 30-110mm zoom lenses. This kit combination is perfect for capturing your subjects near and far. With a total zoom reach of 11x you will be ready for any shooting situation. Two Lens Zoom Kit false 4.2 43 false 27547 27553 27551 0 true false false 27547 Nikon 1 J1 Nikon-1-J1 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=grtscow0 1.7402989 false false false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Pink 10-30mm-Pink 1 NIKKOR 30-110mm f/3.8 – 5.6 VR Pink 30-110mm-Pink 27549-en_US /en_US/o/DaLJ6DJW5o1pDkF-HhaPq4E0I6A/Views/27549_Nikon_1_J1.pngVariant $779.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27549 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27549 false false /Nikon1/27549/Nikon-1-J1.html Nikon 1 J1 Pink Two Lens Zoom Kit in Pink false false 27549 grtscovm $779.95 Pink /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26223_pink.gif 779.95 779.95 27549 KitVariant V27563 The Nikon 1 J1 comes in a special pink two lens zoom kit. The kit includes the versatile 10-30mm lens and the longer 30-110mm zoom lens, also in pink. With this kit combination you’ll make a fashion statement while you create great photos and movies of everyday observations. Two Lens Zoom Kit in Pink product grtscovm-en_US grtscovm 27549 NIKON1 $779.95 false $779.95 NONE false false false /Nikon1/27549/Nikon-1-J1.html /Nikon1/Nikon-1-J1.html 27549 en_US Two Lens Zoom Kit in Pink /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false The Nikon 1 J1 comes in a special pink two lens zoom kit. The kit includes the versatile 10-30mm lens and the longer 30-110mm zoom lens, also in pink. With this kit combination you’ll make a fashion statement while you create great photos and movies of everyday observations. Two Lens Zoom Kit in Pink false 4.2 43 false 27549 0 true false false 27549 Nikon 1 J1 Nikon-1-J1 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=grtscovm 1.7147658
WhiteBlackRedSilver

One-Lens Kit

Nikon 1 J1 White Camera Body 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR White
Price $499.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27528 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

This product is backordered
WhiteRedSilver

Two-Lens Wide Angle Kit

Nikon 1 J1 White Camera Body 1 NIKKOR 10mm f/2.8 White1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR White
Price $749.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitVariant, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 27561, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

WhiteRedSilver

Two-Lens Zoom Kit

Nikon 1 J1 White Camera Body 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR White1 NIKKOR 30-110mm f/3.8 – 5.6 VR White
Price $749.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitVariant, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 27547, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Pink

Two Lens Zoom Kit in Pink

Nikon 1 J1 Pink Camera Body 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Pink1 NIKKOR 30-110mm f/3.8 – 5.6 VR Pink
Price $779.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitVariant, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 27549, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Extend your Creativity and Capabilities

Have fun and express yourself creatively with a wide range of accessories, including cases in matching colors.
Caps & Covers
Caps & Covers
Remotes
Remotes
Waterproof Housing & Accessories
Waterproof Housing & Accessories
Nikon 1 J1 4.2 5 43 43
Excellent!!! This camera is awesome for the seasoned photographer when you do not need to take your big camera and all the gear. This camera is awesome for the beginning photographer because it is so easy to use. This camera is awesome for the family because the pictures are so clear and precise with no effort. The only thing I would change about the camera is to offer more types of lenses. I love this camera more than the D300 I own and I use it more often. January 29, 2013
Excellent camera in a small package. Crystal clear viewfinder and playback is the same.No guess work in choosing a scene mode as the camera does it automatically.Impressed with the night shots.Video capture is also excellent with the 1080HD.Great camera with the versatillity to change lenses and not break your neck packing it around all day. December 23, 2012
Nikon J1 For Tour er, Amateur Photographer is a awesome product . Excellent one for Photography as its speed, VR Lens, with F-Mount converter to use variety of Nikon lens of any kind. 24 AF point . Cute mini SLR in your pocket . November 16, 2012
Best Nikon 1 This I the best Nikon i have Owen I am happy customer this Nikon haves everything I want and the price is very good . July 11, 2012
Great Camera in a small package This is my 5th Nikon I have bought in 40 years, and as always excellent workmanship. The camera is light, easy to use and preforms like my first Nikon which was a Nikkormat FTN. A great camera for the price. May 29, 2012
Great quality and very compact! Great camera for all purposes. You will love it! Nikon J1 will deliver the quality your expecting in every shot. I'm new to photography but this camera has made it a delight. I would highly recommend it. I would love for Nikon to produce a back pack for this camera and it's accessories. Every bag I review is to big. April 2, 2012
Day 1 I just purchased this camera today! I have a lot to learn but so far I'm getting to know it very well! The manual is very easy to fallow also I'm reading more about the camera on the Nikon website which is also very helpful! I'll attach my very first photo! My dog perfect shot! ;) P.S I bought the Camera at Costco for $749.99 Comes with two lenses 10-30mm & 30-110mm Great Deal! February 14, 2012
A great camera This camera is very responsive, and takes great pictures. I use both a D300 and D700, but when I can't, or don't want to, carry the weight of a DSLR, this camera comes in very handy. It fits nicely in a larger coat pocket, even with the 30-110 attached. The LCD screen is nice, as is the build quality. The built in flash does a decent job. Using the camera is a pleasure. The time to acquire focus is very good in decent light - it matches the quickness of a DSLR. It also has excellent focus tracking in good light. Unlike a Point and Shoot, pressing the shutter button results in the camera taking a picture (imagine that), instead of a pause while the camera attempts to work out focus, exposure, etc. The image quality is surprisingly good even with the smaller sensor. Focus speed and accuracy decrease as the light decreases, but, while I am used to the focus ability of Nikon DSLRs, the J1 still does a decent job when the light levels decrease. The frame rates available in continuous shooting modes is awesome. Another thing that prompted my purchase was the camera's video ability. Neither of my DSLRs have the ability to record video, so I wanted something that offered good quality video. The camera's video capability is very good. I don't have a lot of video experience, but am very pleased with the J1's video focus and overall video quality. A few minor gripes: You cannot turn off the image review. After a photo, or series of photos, the image is displayed on the LCD. A half press of the shutter will clear it, and allow you to continue shooting. Hopefully this will be something addressed in future firmware updates. The use of the Feature button could also be improved. It's use is determined by the shooting mode the camera is in, and what you can use it for is very limited. It would be great if this button could be customized, or used like the INFO button on Nikon's DSLRs, allowing quick access to different shooting settings. February 11, 2012
love love love it nikon 1 is absolutely the best camera yet!!! it is so cool!! January 4, 2012
Awesomeness great camera! great company! always pushing the envelope with innovation December 7, 2011
perfect I just returned from 3 weeks in S America, cycling in Argentina and hiking in Chile/Patagonia. My V1 was the perfect camera, far superior to any point and shoot and much more compact than any DSLR, the photos are remarkable, used the 10-30 lens mostly but was very happy to zoom in on wildlife with the 30-110, the AF is super fast, even got great shots without flash of a Tango performance using the smart photo mode. All in all I couldn't be happier with this camera November 29, 2011
Photo quality is incredible. I just got this camera yesterday. It's was a bit of a splurge, but I don't regret it one bit. It's stylish and the photo quality is spectacular. Even though I'm only a beginner, I managed to get so many professional-looking photos of my friends and family after only the first day. I would definitely recommend it. The only small downside is that the battery lasts only about an hour to an hour and a half, so I'll probably buy an extra one sometimes soon. November 26, 2011
Amazing even for highschool photojournalist!!! OMG love this camera!!! i have never seen a camera with so much depth even at night and its so compact love it!!!!!!!! Get this camera and you won't regret it!!!!!! November 21, 2011
Excellent Camera, exactly what I needed I am a professional photographer and shoot a Nikon D3s as my primary body and have a D 700 as a back up body. I was looking for something that was fully featured, shoots great images, shoots RAW files, has manual mode and would fit in my pocket. This little gem has it all! I love the interchangeable lenses and it shoots 1080p video to boot. Great camera, I highly recommend this!. November 18, 2011
Great camera! Fast, good image quality, light I love it. I wanted something smaller than a D-SLR but faster than a compact. This is the perfect compromise. It doesn't have some of the features of a much larger body like the D3100 but for family shots, travel and kids it's perfect. November 16, 2011
Love it! Love it! Love it! I've only had it 2 days but this is an AWESOME camera! Love it! My little speed demon. It is wicked fast focusing. I love taking pictures with this camera! Low light photos are excellent. Can't wait to try the slow motion video today! I'm hoping they come out with a lens that is between the 10-30 and 10-110 range, like a 10-70. I'd love to get a little more zoom but not have a huge lens. I love the size of this - perfect! DSLRs are just too heavy for me. So pleased!! I got the red one and I love it! Fabulous Christmas present for me! November 2, 2011
Amazing i love the nikon 1 j1 in pink with the extra lenses! i found it amazing to capture moments then any other camera or device would. January 2, 2013
Fantastic! This camera is wonderful. The range of settings and availabilities on the Nikon 1J1 are endless. It captures so much light, I took a picture of a dark corner in my basement, and without any flash or anything, the picture looked like I had taken it in one of the fully lit places. Truly wonderful action camera too, not much blur or anything. I made a video with my friends the other day and it honestly looks like a professional film, and that is just with the lens that it comes with and no other attachments. I can't wait to see how far I can go with the other attachments at my aid! April 24, 2012
Perfecta para aprendices. Siempre había querido empezarme en la fotografía, y con esta cámara he tenido la oportunidad de empezar. Es muy facil de usar y toma muy buenas fotos, tiene gran resolución y es facil de cargar a cualquier parte por su pequeño tamaño y peso. Estoy enamorada de mi nueva nikon. November 19, 2012
Pequena, estilosa e potente. Apesar do preço um pouco acima da média, essa câmera vale a pena. Ela possui recursos únicos e modernos, como por exemplo o recurso de foto com movimento, q/ é show, tbm grava filmes em full hd, vem em cores lindas (eu tenho a branca) e um corpo super compacto. April 26, 2012
Takes great pictures just wish it could zoom more! Just returned from a trip to Alaska. The scenery is so vast, the 30-110 lens work great. But I could not get close up on the animals. I wish there was a multiplier for the J1. August 4, 2013
Exceptional but has it's limitations I purchased this camera (before J2 and J3 were on the market) as I have always been interested in photography but no experience. I was inept when it came to the working knowledge of cameras. I chose the J1 due to its price compared to mainstream DSLRs but with many of the same features. This camera takes great pictures indoors and outdoors. It shoots very fast in continuous mode. I was able to shoot up to 14 shots in max resolution before the buffer got full with a transcend class 10 32gb card. Colors are vibrant, whites are white, blacks are blacks with very little grain. I prefer to shoot low light like sunrises and sunsets. This produces a lot of unwanted grain in the gray's, light blues, etc. But this is common with smaller sensor cameras and not inherent with the Nikon brand or this model. My only complaint is that this model is only 10 megapixels. The J2 and J3 are now 14. Most other cameras in this class are around 16mp. Even most point and shoot cameras average around the 16mp range. I would like to see this class in the 18-24 mp range. March 30, 2013
Great for travel! I picked this camera out for Christmas last year, and so far I am very happy with it. I wish that Nikon had a Nikkor Macro lens for it, because I like to take macro shots of flowers, etc. I love how you can control it like a bigger DSLR (D3200) My overall opinion is, if you travel a lot and need something compact, sleek and stylish... Then go for it. Otherwise I would stick with a larger camera that is a little more "meatier". Before I forget I LOVE how nice and VIVID the pictures are! March 9, 2013
Pure love What a nice camera I've just got for myself. i had abandoned photography after the heartbreaking episode of tech switching from film to digital. I used to love my SLR camera but had few chances to still get film and peripherals. I decided never to invest so much money on a DSLR. They are bulky, expensive, and having all the automatic features it is quite tempting to never use it in manual mode. When I first saw the Nikon 1, I was fascinated by the design, the small size, and the options to use it manually. It is a family camera with an upgrade. The size makes it a perfect fit for social happenings and stuff, while the possibilities of choosing a myriad of lenses converts it into a more advanced thing. So neither a professional SLR or a quick digital camera for dummies, the Nikon 1 is the best of both worlds at a really accessible price. Bad thing, the V1 has an electronic viewer, it if was not electronic, I would have chosen it instead of the J1. Nonetheless, I made an awesome purchase. July 25, 2012
great for beginners great camera so far. just running into isue with the flash. its not responding, i do have it in still mode only and single fram picture. Im testing in in a dark room and have the flash icon displayed on the screen but no flash light. is it because im doing it during daylight? does it have a sensor for that. im just trying to get to know my camera before I use it tonight. any comments? July 12, 2012
Excellent pictures, fast but no eyepiece view finder The Nikon 1 J1 camera has excellent picture quality (including raw files), is extremely fast focusing and has fast shooting rates (up to 60 frames per second). I bought it so that I have a small camera that is easy to carry around if I do not want to drag along my bigger Nikon single lens reflex camera. The biggest negative for me is the lack of an eyepiece view finder (the more expensive v1 version has this). This means that you have to hold the camera out away from your eye so that the camera tends to move as you take the picture. The camera in autoexposure mode tends to pick a slow shutter speed so that pictures may be blurred unless a tripod is used. I avoid this by using the aperture priority mode at iso 400 or less so that I can change the aperture (lens opening) to make sure that the shutter speed is fast enough to avoid blurred images. Also the camera has an image stabilization mode so that blurry pictures are less likely at slower shutter speeds. Also the 10-30 mm lens focuses down to around 8 inches so close to macro images may be obtained. Some people may not like that the depth of field is large so it may be difficult to keep the background out of focus if, for instance, the foreground is in focus. There are a lot of other small, mirrorless cameras now that the experts have tended to give better reviews than the Nikon 1 J1, but you should be able to get a lot of excellent pictures from this camera if you are careful about the exposure speeds. I will not comment about the video since I do not often use it. April 4, 2012
Great Camera! To tell the honest truth, this camera is my absolute favorite camera because it came with great features and because it is white. Obviously this is really rare because you don't see many people having a white camera. I love it how everything is compacted into this smaller size camera, I can carry it my purse, backpack, you name it. Another thing that I really like is how I get compliments everywhere I go with this camera. Even though I love this camera to death; I'd still have to say that this camera does have flaws. The reason why I rate it only 4 stars not 5 is because I'm very upset about how this camera doesn't have an automatic lens shutter. To protect the lens you must put the cover piece each time you are done using it. This can become very annoying and inconvenient. Another thing is, because I received this camera as a gift from my boyfriend, I am not so sure if it is going to be worth your money. I would recommend this camera to anyone who just love to take photography and willing to pay a little extra but if you want a really nice camera that is worth the price, I would say this is not for you. March 7, 2012
Stylish Sexy Look I recieved the Nikon 1 just a few days ago for my birthday. I have always had an interest in photography and have always done pretty well with what device i was using. The Nikon 1 J1 takes nice photos. I have taken the time to research the site and learn as much as I can about the camera to be able to use it to the best of my abilities. I still am having problems with a few things with the camera. Blurry pictures that do not compare at all to the quality photos shown in the toturial. It seems there is much to need change settings in camera to adjust to scenery for best possible shots. Which I'm noticing this is not a point and shoot camera. I would Love to write a follow up review in about 1 month about the camera once I do figure out these settings. I do look forward to the experience with this camera. January 12, 2012
Excelente escolha em adquirir esse equipamento Comprei essa poderosa "maquinha" na Espanha, por ela ser leve, e ser recheada de funções, perfeita para quem quer vaijar e tirar ótimas fotos, sem carregar todo o peso e volume de uma câmera profissional, um defeito dela é que tudo se configura através do menu, inclusive o foco, um foco manual seria a perfeição deste equipamento. March 5, 2014
Muy buena cámara! Es una muy buena cámara y aunque la he usado muy poco tiempo, estoy muy satisfecha y muy feliz con las fotos que he tomado. Me encanto la cámara y definitivamente la recomiendo July 20, 2012
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
118 Questions | 128 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
118 Questions | 128 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
Nikon 1 J1
 
4 Answers

PC USB connection

Jul 25, 2013 by
by
Marty
Chicago, IL, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am using Windows 7 Home Premium but my PC will not detect camera when plugged into the USB port. Do I need a special driver for this? My camera is a J1
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Marty
Chicago, IL, USA
Location : 
Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you are still experiencing issues please contact Nikon USA Support - http://support.nikonusa.com .
Jul 27, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have you downloaded View NX 2 or another solution is to use a card reader.
Jul 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
That's not happening. The PCM will not detect the camera, it is not showing on the devices list. Is there a special USB driver?
Jul 25, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Left Click on start, left on computer and you should see the camera listed, right click on the camera and click on open auto play.
Jul 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Nikon 1 J1
 
3 Answers

Taking pictures in very low light?

Jan 3, 2012 by
by
Nick
Los Angeles, CA, USA
+1point
6out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful5
Often the Nikon J1 will tell me that it cannot focus in very low light levels. Even if I put the flash up, it will not take the picture. Is there a mode where it will take the picture regardless of how much light there is?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Nick
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Switch to Camera> Menu> Focus Mode> MF
May 21, 2013 by
by
Sony
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
There is not manual focus with the 1 series. Try enabling the AF assist light or using the center AF point, or auto AF point mode. Also, if selectable, try single servo AF mode (S instead of C).
Jan 3, 2012 by
by
MicahG

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Switch to manual focus
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Nikon 1 J1
 
3 Answers

44 second videos

Mar 14, 2013 by
by
Lauren
Canada
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My Nikon J1 stops recording after 44 seconds. It says I have 20 min of space and I've emptied my memory card as well (which is 32 GB).
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Lauren
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: 18-24
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Without seeing the camera it is difficult to analyze.
Are you in slow motion mode instead of HD? Slow motion will only record for a short time because of the frame rate, 4gb of space will record in less than 1 minute. If it is not that I suggest calling Nikon service and support. In the US it is 1-800-nikonus.
Mar 15, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
My SD Card is a 32 GB Lexar SDHC so it meets the requirements a previous person responding to the question said
Mar 15, 2013 by
by
Lauren

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Movie can be upto 4 GB in size and 20 minutes in length. Note that depending on memory card write speed, shooting may end before this length is reached.

Check that the card should be SDHC-compliant. The camera support UHS-1. Nikon Approved memory cards are

SanDisk, Toshiba, Panasonic, Lexar Media, Platinum II, Professional, Full-HD Vedio.
Mar 15, 2013 by
by
Arijit
Belgharia, Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Location : 
Belgharia, Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Nikon 1 J1
 
2 Answers

Does this new camera work with older Nikon lenses

Sep 22, 2011 by
by
Phil
NC
Has staff answer
+3points
9out of 15found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful6
Does this new camera work with older Nikon lenses such as the 35mm f/1.4 manual lens or the 18-55mm DSLR kit lens
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Phil
NC
Location : 
NC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
On the FT-1 product page http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ... there is a PDF that you can download that lists the current NIKKOR F mount lenses that will fit on the FT-1.
Mar 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+4points
9out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful5
Answer: 
The FT1 Mount Adapter allows you to use certain legacy F Mount NIKKOR lenses (those designed for use with Nikon D-SLR/SLR cameras) on the Nikon 1 V1. The Mount Adapter is attached to the Nikon 1 V1 and the F Mount NIKKOR lens then attached to the adapter. The FT1 will add an angle of view of 2.7 times that of the F Mount NIKKOR lens' focal length.
Sep 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Nikon 1 J1
 
2 Answers

FT1 mount

Nov 4, 2011 by
by
kiy
Colorado
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
You always say the FT1 mount will let us use lenses designed for Nikon DSLRs. What about older F-mount lenses? Can I use older AF lenses? What about even older AI lenses? I'm willing to focus and meter manually. I just want to know if I can use my film-era lenses with these new cameras.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
kiy
Colorado
Location : 
Colorado
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The FT-1 product page http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ... has a downloadable PDF file that lists the current F mount NIKKOR lenses (65 as of Dec. 2011) that are compatible with the FT-1.
Mar 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
You can use AF-S and AF-I lenses (any lens that has a focus motor) has full support with the FT-1 on the new NIKON 1.
Nov 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Nikon 1 J1
 
2 Answers

Battery Charger Problem

Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Hi, i just received my j1 yesterday and was charging it when i noticed that the charger was blinking the green light every second. Is it not charging for some reason?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
An exhausted battery fully charges in about 2 hours. Blinking light: is charging, Solid light: charging complete.
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
i think it shows green light while charging.. and light turns off after fully charged..
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Aravindb22
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Nikon 1 J1
 
2 Answers

Whera can I find the manufacturer's manual, instructions in english

Sep 12, 2012 by
by
Sasho
Iceland
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Sasho
Iceland
Location : 
Iceland
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/kie88335f7869dfuejdl=-cww2/1J1RM_EN.pdf
Sep 12, 2012 by
by
Tulsa Tom

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17511/~/nikon1-j1---reference-manual
Sep 12, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Nikon 1 J1
 
1 answer

Flash question

Sep 22, 2011 by
by
AshRemSky
Burbank, CA
Has staff answer
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Can the flash control Speedlites (e.g. the SB-900) wirelessly? Also, does the flash have manual control of power (e.g. 1/2, 1/4...)? If yes, what is the smallest fraction of full power that is available?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
AshRemSky
Burbank, CA
1 answer

Answers

-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10
Answer: 
Flash Control: i-TTL flash control using image sensor available.
Flash Mode: Fill-flash, Slow sync, Red-eye reduction, Slow sync with red-eye reduction, Rear curtain with sync, Rear curtain with slow sync.
Oct 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Nikon 1 J1
 
1 answer

Will the lenses made for the Nikon 1 series of cameras work with Nikon DSLR's ?

Sep 23, 2011 by
by
Phil
North Carolina
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
I have the D300 and the D5100 Nikon DSLR's . Will the new lenses that are made for the new Nikon 1 cameras also work on the DSLR's that I already own?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Phil
North Carolina
Location : 
North Carolina
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
No,because a flange to focal plane distance (the distance between mount and image sensor) in Nikon 1 series is much smaller than in regular F-mount Nikon lenses (46.5 mm).
Sep 25, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown,MA, USA
Location : 
Watertown,MA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Nikon 1 J1
 
1 answer

Does it matter what color lens it is , like say can you get a white nikon 1 j1 but have it come with pink, red etc lens?

Sep 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-2points
2out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
It doesn't matter the color of the lens. Same models have the same specifications.
Sep 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers