Loading

Elevate creativity to new heights

For your very mobile lifestyle comes a completely new imaging system designed with freedom—to create and express—in mind. Creativity without boundaries is yours with a balance of high performance, advanced features, portability and newly designed interchangeable lens system. Compact and highly portable, the Nikon 1 V1 goes everywhere you go. Amazing images captured with a highly responsive autofocus plus super fast shooting speed. Touch a dial and capture Full HD (1080p) movies. Snap high resolution still photos even while you record! Attach a Speedlight to add fill light, or use the GPS unit to add location data to image files. Infuse your world with imagery and express as never before.


1,440,000-dot
SVGA Electronic Viewfinder
10 FPS
Continuous Shooting
i-TTL
Hot Shoe
Full HD
1080p Movies

Witness the revolutionary new Nikon 1 System

A breakthrough in technology and design

Capture every moment of an incredible life with an evolution in imaging technology. At the heart of Nikon 1 is EXPEED 3, a culmination of years of dedication to advancing digital imaging technologies. Witness outstanding system performance, high-speed dual image processors, state-of-the-art focal-plane phase detection auto focus and the fastest data transfer rates. Superior image quality, tone reproduction, advanced noise reduction, and an ability to create a whole new type of image are all delivered with the new Nikon 1.

Focus without hesitation

Advanced hybrid AF puts the focus in your control

Your camera goes with you everywhere since moments worth sharing can happen at any instant. Nikon 1 V1 delivers an amazing 10 fps speed in autofocus and 60 fps in manual mode, courtesy of a unique combination of contrast and focal plane phase detect autofocus. Don't let your creativity be hindered by slow focus speed. Even fast moving action is rendered with amazing clarity—thanks to an incredible 73 point AF array continuously working to ensure everything is sharp and clear.

Professional touches extend versatility

Features to bring photography into the incredible

Work like a pro with an advanced set of features that extend creativity. Flexibility comes to your workflow allowing composition with either the electronic viewfinder or Live View LCD panel during both still and movie work. Extend your lighting range by tapping the multi-accessory port and connect the small, yet powerful Speedlight unit. Capture perfect audio for all movie needs by plugging a high quality microphone (support for Nikon's ME-1 Microphone with the AS-N1000 adapter) into that same port. There's even an optional GPS unit that records longitude, latitude and altitude.

For moments that deserve more

Motion Snapshot brings the memory to life

Certain glances at life just cannot be retold with merely a single photograph. Bring to life those incredible times by injecting personal interpretation through Motion Snapshot. In a single click, your vision takes flight—bringing moment, motion and sound to light. Reveal the essence that can't be captured in a single photo.

Extend your creativity

Simultaneously capture Full HD (1080p) movies and photos

Work with both high resolution photos and Full HD (1080p) movies to bring even more creative expression to life. Start recording at the touch of a button. See a moment you'd like as a still? Hit the shutter. Autofocus keeps everything in focus, even when working double duty to record movies and photograph stills. Elevate production with the addition of varied frame rates in 30/60/400/1200 fps. Don't be hindered by working in just one mode—Nikon 1 flexibility gives you more.

Only the best photo returned

Let the camera do the work with Smart Photo Selector

Always producing, always looking to frame a shot to perfection? What if there was a camera that could do the thinking for you—working to return a photo with optimal exposure, subjects in frame, clarity and focus, even eyes open? For times when you prefer to just be in the moment and let the camera do the work, move the dial to Smart Photo Selector. You find the best moment. Nikon 1 V1 will capture it.

1 NIKKOR Lenses

Compact, light, high performance optics

Express quality with the revolutionary new 1 NIKKOR lens system. Don't be limited by a single fixed focal length—select from a growing selection of lenses that incorporate Nikon's Vibration Reduction (VR) technology for blur-free images. Aspherical elements keep lenses compact while maintaining high quality. A silent stepping motor (STM) keeps autofocusing quiet—especially during movie recording. Compactness brings portability, whether using the single focal length 10mm or the 30-110mm telephoto. 1 NIKKOR extends a heritage of precision symbolized by durability, superior image quality and optical excellence.
Low light

An advanced innovative Nikon super high-speed AF CMOS imaging sensor, wide ISO range and option to select the best lens for the job gives you even more control over the light. Produce amazing photos in all those moody environments. Tap only ambient light and open the most artistic doors to photographing on the dance floor, nabbing dramatic sunsets and candlelit moments. For extended range, attach the 1 Nikon Speedlight for fill flash and more.

Electronic viewfinder

Accustomed to framing your images with a viewfinder? The Nikon 1 gives photographers the option to work with flexibility—using either the 1,440,000 -dot (SVGA) electronic viewfinder (EVF) or the large high resolution, 921,000-dot (VGA) LCD panel with 100 percent view. See every one of your creations rendered clearly on the high contrast viewfinder. The camera's eye sensor allows you to toggle between EVF and LCD views by placing your eye to the EVF. A Diopter adjustment is available, as well.

EXPEED 3 Processor

EXPEED 3 marks the culmination of years of dedication to advancing digital imaging technologies. At the heart of Nikon 1 is EXPEED 3, with dual image processors, to deliver outstanding system performance, high-speed processing, state-of-the-art phase detection autofocus and the fastest data transfer rates. Witness outstanding image quality, tone reproduction and advanced autofocus at unprecedented speeds.

Intuitive simplicity

Easy access to advanced features are hallmarks of the Nikon 1 system. From the ultra intuitive command and features buttons, easy-to-understand menu and fast lens mount, you'll be expressing thoughts and visions as never before. Even advanced features for photos and movies can be created with one-click ease.

LCD monitor

Check your creativity: frame and share your creations on the large and sharp 3.0-inch LCD color display. An ultra-high resolution VGA screen featuring 921,000-dots shows every detail to precision. An anti-glare coating renders easy viewing of photos and HD movies, even outdoors.

Speedlight

For instances where available light is not enough to properly illuminate subjects, or when special lighting effects are desired, use the optional Nikon 1 SB-N5 Speedlight. Plug this compact device into the i-TTL hot shoe. Angle the device up, down, left or right and bounce light to your creative advantage. No batteries are required to power this device.

false false false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Black 3300 27504-en_US /en_US/o/84dp3Bf_KJbLhYSyrQ2Kdyg8iuE/Views/27504_Nikon_1_V1.pngVariant $369.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27504 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27504 false false /Nikon1/27504/Nikon-1-V1.html Nikon 1 V1 Black One-Lens Kitfalse false 27504 grtscowt $369.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 369.95 369.95 27504 KitVariant V27504 Choose the Nikon 1 V1 plus the versatile multi-purpose 10-30mm lens. The 10-30mm is a great choice for your everyday imaging needs. One Lens Kit false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR White 10-30mm-White 27506-en_US /en_US/o/84dp3Bf_KJbLhYSyrQ2Kdyg8iuE/Views/27506_Nikon_1_V1.pngVariant $369.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27506 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27506 false false /Nikon1/27506/Nikon-1-V1.html Nikon 1 V1 White One-Lens Kitfalse false 27506 grtscowt $369.95 White /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26291_white.gif 369.95 369.95 27506 KitVariant V27506 Choose the Nikon 1 V1 plus the versatile multi-purpose 10-30mm lens. The 10-30mm is a great choice for your everyday imaging needs. One Lens Kit product grtscowt-en_US grtscowt 27504 27506 NIKON1 $369.95 $369.95 false $369.95 NONE false false false /Nikon1/27504/Nikon-1-V1.html /Nikon1/Nikon-1-V1.html 27504 en_US One-Lens Kit/static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Choose the Nikon 1 V1 plus the versatile multi-purpose 10-30mm lens. The 10-30mm is a great choice for your everyday imaging needs. One Lens Kit false 4.3 20 false 27504 27506 0 true false false 27504 Nikon 1 V1 Nikon-1-V1 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=grtscowt 2.143845 false false false false false 1 NIKKOR 10mm f/2.8 Black 3306 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Black 3300 27569-en_US /en_US/o/84dp3Bf_KJbLhYSyrQ2Kdyg8iuE/Views/27569_Nikon_1_V1.pngVariant $569.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27569 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27569 false false /Nikon1/27569/Nikon-1-V1.html Nikon 1 V1 Black Two-Lens Wide Angle Kitfalse false 27569 grtscowz $569.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 569.95 569.95 27569 KitVariant V27504 Choose the Nikon 1 V1 with the wide-angle 10mm lens and multi-purpose 10-30mm lens. This kit combination brings you the flexibility to frame and refine your world. Two Lens Wide Angle Kit product grtscowz-en_US grtscowz 27569 NIKON1 $569.95 false $569.95 NONE false false false /Nikon1/27569/Nikon-1-V1.html /Nikon1/Nikon-1-V1.html 27569 en_US Two-Lens Wide Angle Kit/static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Choose the Nikon 1 V1 with the wide-angle 10mm lens and multi-purpose 10-30mm lens. This kit combination brings you the flexibility to frame and refine your world. Two Lens Wide Angle Kit false 4.3 20 false 27569 0 true false false 27569 Nikon 1 V1 Nikon-1-V1 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=grtscowz 2.1769986 false false false false false 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Black 3300 1 NIKKOR 30-110mm f/3.8 – 5.6 VR Black 3312 27512-en_US /en_US/o/84dp3Bf_KJbLhYSyrQ2Kdyg8iuE/Views/27512_Nikon_1_V1.pngVariant $569.95 true false false true NIKON1 NONE false false 27512 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=27512 false false /Nikon1/27512/Nikon-1-V1.html Nikon 1 V1 Black Two-Lens Zoom Kitfalse false 27512 grtscox1 $569.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 569.95 569.95 27512 KitVariant V27504 Choose the Nikon 1 V1 with the versatile 10-30mm and far reaching 30-110mm zoom lenses. This kit combination is perfect for capturing your subjects near and far. Two Lens Zoom Kit product grtscox1-en_US grtscox1 27512 NIKON1 $569.95 false $569.95 NONE false false false /Nikon1/27512/Nikon-1-V1.html /Nikon1/Nikon-1-V1.html 27512 en_US Two-Lens Zoom Kit/static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Choose the Nikon 1 V1 with the versatile 10-30mm and far reaching 30-110mm zoom lenses. This kit combination is perfect for capturing your subjects near and far. Two Lens Zoom Kit false 4.3 20 false 27512 0 true false false 27512 Nikon 1 V1 Nikon-1-V1 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=grtscox1 2.1769986
BlackWhite

One-Lens Kit

Nikon 1 V1 Black Camera Body 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Black
Price $369.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitVariant, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 27504, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Black

Two-Lens Wide Angle Kit

Nikon 1 V1 Black Camera Body 1 NIKKOR 10mm f/2.8 Black1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Black
Price $569.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitVariant, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 27569, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Black

Two-Lens Zoom Kit

Nikon 1 V1 Black Camera Body 1 NIKKOR 10-30mm f/3.5 – 5.6 VR Black1 NIKKOR 30-110mm f/3.8 – 5.6 VR Black
Price $569.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitVariant, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 27512, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Extend your Creativity and Capabilities

Have fun and express yourself creatively with a wide range of accessories, including cases in matching colors.
Cases & Straps
Cases & Straps
GPS
GPS
Remotes
Remotes
Caps & Covers
Caps & Covers
Power Accessories
Power Accessories
Nikon 1 V1 4.3 5 20 20
My Second Review of Nikon 1 V1 I wrote a review of the Nikon 1 V1 in May of 2012. New camera, for me, then, 1500 + pics now. I can say that this is among the best, if not THE best, camera I have used/owned in the past 52 years and I've used cameras from the obscur Miranda to the famous Nikons and Leicas. This camera is fast, when recycling, even when using it's remarkable flash, quick and easy focusing, highly versatile and easy to use, having clear concise menus and buttons. One of the things I appreciate about the V1 is it's similiarity to classic, read old if you like, cameras. It just feels right. I own three lenses. The 10-30, 30-100 and the new 50 mm. f 1.8, all remarkable lenses, "needle" sharp as we used to say. I can go on but I am running out of space. Again, as they used to say, try it, you'll like it. Oh, a "professional" camera is what a "professional" uses, not what an 'ad says ..... January 17, 2013
Serious camera, easy to handle Aftter taking pictures with everything from sheet film film cameras to digital point and shoots, this is my favorite camera so far. My DSLR can stay home. I have used this camera in Italy, Fiji and a fishing trip to the mountains and it just does everything. The image processing software is so smart I don't need much post processing--I get it right in the camera. I like the eye level viewfinder. It's almost as good as using a mirror and a lot lighter and quieter. My only complaint is the positioning of the wheel used to select modes. It won't stay put. I'm also waiting for some more lenses. How about a nice macro and an ultra wide angle in prime lenses? Also, do get the V1 for Dummies book as another reviewer suggested. This is all the camera you will need for a lot of uses. Also, pick up the wonderful SB-N5 strobe. It is a serious strobe and super compact. Nice job, Nikon! January 6, 2013
Great little camera THe camera is great. It shoots excellent pictures and videos. I love the smart photo selector and the slow motion video mode. Manual setting is kind of hard to get to but is is completely functional. December 28, 2012
Best of Both Worlds I never used to take many pictures. Too much work (and embarrassment) to lug around a big camera, and by the time you get it ready the shot is gone. Until I got my smartphone, that is: the camera takes good shots, is always available, and it's free (after the phone, of course). I have been shooting for years with it. But, my growing family left me feeling the limitations of even the best cameraphone: - poor low-light shooting - no rapid-fire shots - no physical zoom - no changeable lenses All that changed with the Nikon V1, which is my first "real" camera and which I love. It addresses (in a big way) all my complaints of both large and small cameras and offers the best compromise currently available. Compared to the phone, the V1 has: - excellent low-light performance (most of my photos occur in the living room) - fast shooting (faster than some 10x-$ DSLRs in fact, which helps capture the nuance of a baby's laugh) - great base lens selection and incredible lens selection with the FT-1 adapter (highly recommended) Yet compared to the big DSLR, the V1 still has: - compact & light form, yet high-quality build and materials - fastest autofocus on the market (research and learn! Nikon is doing some amazing, ground-breaking stuff with the 1 series, and the V1 is just the beginning) - viewfinder (clutch for certain shots) - no overkill with buttons all over the place, yet all the settings are there if you want to learn and adjust In the 2 months since I got mine, I have shot over three thousand images, and I've found it to be easy to use, comfortably portable enough to keep nearby, yet still capable of producing fantastic images that I could never get out of a smaller system. Then there are the small surprises that make the V1 awesome, such as the optional silent or physical shutter, which is critical for getting pictures of loved ones without them becoming self-conscious. The auto-on viewfinder is convenient. The lens-lock - with its auto-on feature - is also smart and keeps the system compact. And the "subject-tracking" autofocus is out of this world and not something I think is available on other cameras (not sure about this, but I will say I use it almost exclusively, it's that good). All these things together result in a product which must be seen to be believed. Outstanding images with utmost convenience, ease, and compactness. I would also like to mention the two "special" modes invented for the 1 series: "Smart photo selector" and "Motion snapshot". Smart photo selector is amazing, taking over for my #1 complaint about the burden of taking 100s of photos and trying to pick the best 1: the V1 does it for you (and it's good at it). Motion snapshot might have been neat, except there's no option to remove the music so I've never really tried it. It's just too cheesy. Which brings me to the cons: - lame coolpix-style grip. The grip attachment is a burden. - loose, rattling eyelets for the neckstrap are obnoxious. - Auto-on viewfinder is too sensitive, by a lot. My shadow often makes the screen come on. Also, no manual way to set only viewfinder or only screen for those times one is needed exclusively. - the main menu should always begin in the shooting submenu, since that's where 99% of the adjustments are made day-to-day - When using the FT-1, the shutter speed is arbitrarily limited to 1/1.3s, for absolutely no reason. Shutter should always go to the full 2 minutes at my discretion. - the exposure algorithm is intent on producing a "daytime" histogram, where it should be obsessed with eliminating blur. Thus, shutter speed when set by the computer is always too slow (to admit more light), kids running in the house look like smears, and so I end up shooting on shutter-priority a lot. This is because a dark picture is preferable to a blurry picture: a dark picture can be enhanced, a blurry picture is trash. But don't get me wrong: I use this camera every day and tend to get perfect moments captured which I can preserve for a lifetime. It's absolutely the best out there and that's all there is to it. August 23, 2012
I love it! Love this little camera. I agree with most of the comments of the other reviewers. In addition, I would recommend obtaining the recent book entitled " Nikon 1 J1/V1 for Dummies". It is an excellent addition to the manual that came with the camera, which I found somewhat lacking. The "Dummies" manual does an excellent job of describing all the camera features and how to use them to best advantage. One thing I discovered is that if the viewfinder sensor gets dusty it thinks your eye is there, and the monitor will not come on. Simply clean the little sensor with a cloth or burst of air and it works perfectly! A super little camera. I learn and love it more every day! June 13, 2012
Simply the Best, For Me A Nikon fan since the Nikon F days when Nikon USA was EPOI. I have owned and used many camera brands, other than Nikon, both film and digital. My last Nikon was the D 80 with a 18-200mm zoom,and a grip holding two batteries. A hand condition made this set up too difficult for me to control. After buying several more small Nikon P/S type cameras the last being the P7100, I bought the Nikon 1 V1 double lens kit. This is the best and most comfortable camera I've ever owned and I've been taking pictures since I was seven years old and 'seriuosly' since I was sixteen - a long time ago. This is not a P/S camera but a sophisticated tool. I could go on but I am running out of room. Bravo, Nikon - you did well. May 17, 2012
Amazing pictures captured with such a small portable camera. I love this camera. It takes great pictures and it is the perfect size for traveling. June 22, 2014
Great Little Camera I have the V1 and J1, use the pancake on the J1 and the two zoom lenses with the V1; am very pleased with their operations. These machines remind me of the Leica CL and Minolta CLE from eons ago. Glad I waited for a Digital camera I am happy with. June 4, 2013
Seems to be intentionally just short of perfect After all the noise that followed the launch from the online community which is never satisfied with anything, we got to see what this camera could really do, and it is impressive. Responsiveness is great on all counts. The feel is nice and it is simple enough for anyone to use, yet flexible enough to tackle a wide range of subjects. It is however a flawed product, but it does not need to be. It appears Nikon decided to leave these flaws in place and I can't for the life of me understand why. Auto-preview cannot be turned off for the EVF - this would take a firmware update - yet we don't see it. Most frustrating of all is the absence of a solution for off-camera flash, and this from the company I consider to be the master of off-camera flash. An adapter to regular hot-shoe, an adapter to PC-sync port, a speedlight that is CLS-compatible. For goodness sake guys ANYTHING. Give us something to use for off-camera flash. Who makes these crazy design decisions? It's not even a design decision, it's an accessory decision. If anyone reads this, please do something. March 26, 2013
Great Camera at $599! Works well and takes great pictures even in low light....ISO-3200, but the picture preview is always in the way...... would be nice if you could shut that off! October 18, 2012
Great little machine; fair software; poor documentation This is a great little camera, but Nikon has left out a key feature, in my opinion. I love the way this camera handles, and it seems to have a very sophisticated chip that can handle a much greater dynamic range than previous generations of DSLRs. I also love its responsiveness -- very fast, and the chief reason I bought this camera. However, I am disappointed to find that the software driving this camera's display will not allow me to monitor the histogram in real time. Instead, I can only see the histogram AFTER the shutter has been released. In my opinion this is a big oversight. When I'm doing serious work, I take along another camera to use as a light meter, a camera that does display the histogram before the shutter is deployed. This is bad engineering; it's just clumsy to have to have another instrument because the camera's firmware doesn't provide for histogram display while the camera is in metering mode. This would probably be fixable in a firmware upgrade, and, hey, Nikon! Are you listening? You could do this! I am also very disappointed in the documentation that comes with the camera. There are a lot of features you just have to figure out on your own. I am totally uninterested in using this camera as a video camera, but the bulk of the user guide is devoted to this feature, when features affecting the still-image mode are left unexplained. It is a shame when an expensive product falls short on the least expensive parts of production: the firmware and especially, the documentation, when the hardware and optics are so well-designed and executed. June 2, 2012
Its size makes it easy to carry, and the quality of the pictures is impressive. As always, the purpose of a review is to find ways to improve a product. To make the V1 perfect (for me), Nikon should do three things. First, I don't like the location of the dial mode as it changes by itself when you carry the camera. The wheel should either be smaller or moved slightly to the left. Second thing I miss: I use the eye sensor to take my pictures rather than the screen. Yet after I take the picture, I miss the picture popping on the larger screen for a quick evaluation. This is not yet available as a setting. Finally, the V1 does not have a small pop-up flash, and it should. But for these three details, I love the light weight of this system and its ease to carry around. March 31, 2012
Poor rear design causes problems The dial on the rear has no detent. When shooting, holding the camera can cause it to move to different positions including from picture to movie. Very annoying. I see the 1 V 2 has this dial on the top which would make it much more difficult to accidentally move. Handles well, good photos, carries well. But ending up with a movie when I want a photo..... I put a piece of tape on the dial to hold it but.... I will try to trade it in for a 1 V 2. March 7, 2013
If only Nikon weren't afraid of shooting itself in the dSLR foot It's a good point and shoot with the ability to change lenses. So who's this camera for? - people who don't want to bother with the bulk of a huge dSLR - people who feel like paying a lot for a tiny sensor that makes iphone bokeh look amazing - people who know how to take great photos regardless of what camera they use In short, if Nikon had placed an APS-C sensor in this thing from the beginning, they'd be eating the Sony NEX series and company for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I love my D7000, but mirrorless cameras (Sony NEX) are fast matching image quality of DX camera bodies, lenses are just a matter of time. Many pros are beginning to switch. And if I had to choose between this tiny sensor and another competitor using APS-C, I think I'll take the APS-C of a competitor. I'm planning to replace my DX camera and lenses with a mirrorless. So far, the 1 series is not for me. IMHO, Nikon should make a bold move and allow itself to succeed (i.e. Nikon D7000, which except for a few exceptions it threw the D300s into the back seat, but hey! It became a legend) just toss power into that mirrorless and give us a real camera. Or at least correct the D600 dust issues (lol, how that get in here?) jk, I think you guys can do much better if you stop trying to play Apple. It's not a bad camera, but the competitors are being more aggressive. July 15, 2013
Spot Focusing is missing The 1V1 does not have "spot focusing". Without "spot focusing" it is impossible to shoot, for example: A bird in a tree; a background subject with foreground items. The dealer side stepped this issue even after I asked several times about "spot focus". I am EXTREMELY dissapointed and find the camera to be useless. When will Nikon address this and issue firmware to add spot focusing to the 1V1? July 17, 2012
Page:2
<<prev
30 Questions | 42 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
30 Questions | 42 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
+3points
5out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, with some limitations. You will need a Nikon FT1 Mount Adapter and you must have firmware 1.10 or higher. VR works and autofocus is possible with AF-S lenses. Autofocus is not possible with Non AF-S lenses as these lenses require a focusing motor which the Nikon 1 cameras do not have. With CPU lenses, P,A,S & M exposure modes are available. With non-CPU lenses, only A & M modes are available and the aperture must be set using the aperture ring on the lens. Shooting in Motion Snapshot mode is only possible when focus has been acquired with an AF-S lens. The Smart Photo Selector function cannot be used.
May 31, 2012 by
by
PhotoGeek
Napa, CA
Location : 
Napa, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
The Nikon 1 requires lenses spacific to the Nikon 1. They are much smaller & lighter
BUT, there are companys who make adapters to use other lenses but you lose some functions.
May 31, 2012 by
by
Buster
South Oregon coast
Location : 
South Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can use normal SLR lenses but you will need the FT1 adaptor to mount them.
May 30, 2012 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need a FT1 mount adapter to use DSLR lenses.
Please read:http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Lens-Adapters/3613/FT1-Mount-Adapter.html
May 30, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Nikon 1 V1
 
3 Answers

Will the auto focus function still work when using the FT1 lens adapter for either the J1 or V1?

Apr 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am assuming that you have an AF-S lens. When an AF-S NIKKOR lens is used, focus is locked with the first shot with continuous shooting.
Jun 15, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a V1, an FT1 adapter, and a Nikon 70-300mm VR lens. I've found that the auto focus works well, but only for single images. With the adapter and lens attached the only focus modes I can choose are AF-S and MF. For me, this is a significant limitation since I like to shoot action scenes. I wish that that continuous focus (AF-C) would be available when using the FT1 for my new lens. Am I missing a setting? If not, does anyone know if Nikon will address this limitation with a firmware update? My firmware is up-to-date at this time.
May 2, 2012 by
by
New-to-V1
Austin, TX, USA
Location : 
Austin, TX, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the Ft1 it's just an adapter.
Apr 9, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Nikon 1 V1
 
3 Answers

How do I charge the battery for my 1 V1?

Feb 25, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
With the battery charger.
Feb 26, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Assemble the charger by inserting he power cable into the port on the charger or if you were supplied with a snap on wall plug insert that onto the charger. Insert battery into charger and hen plug it in. Will take about 2 1/2 hours for a fully discharged battery.
Feb 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
With the battery charger thats in the box.
Feb 25, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Nikon 1 V1
 
2 Answers

When are we going to get a micro lens and a fast portrait lens?

Apr 6, 2012 by
by
Uncle Rich
San Marcos, CA, USA
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Uncle Rich
San Marcos, CA, USA
Location : 
San Marcos, CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You may have noticed that a f1.8 18.5mm lens has just been released. Not quite a portrait lens but it is getting close.
Sep 16, 2012 by
by
bobbyphoto2
Manhattan, KS
Location : 
Manhattan, KS
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
Thanks for your question about Nikon products. Unfortunately we cannot speculate about future products until official information is announced on our web site: www.nikonusa.com
Apr 9, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Nikon 1 V1
 
2 Answers

Is there a built in flash?

Jul 20, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Jupiter, FL, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Or do I have to buy the speed lite ?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Jupiter, FL, USA
Location : 
Jupiter, FL, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, you have to purchase the SB-n5 speedlight which lists for about $150. I have seen them as low as $99 on eBay at times.
Sep 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need the SB-N5 speedlight, no built in flash.
Jul 20, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Nikon 1 V1
 
2 Answers

When did this camera come out?

Aug 7, 2012 by
by
JDAWG
Texas
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Its now august but i would like to know how long it has been on the market. When was it released?
2 years ago
by
JDAWG
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It was released on Sept. 21, 2011
Sep 15, 2012 by
by
bobbyphoto2
Manhattan, KS
Location : 
Manhattan, KS
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It was announced 9/21/11 and released 2-3 months later
Aug 7, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Nikon 1 V1
 
2 Answers

How do you connect the ME-1 mic to the V1 hot shoe

Aug 20, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
CF-DC2 Semi-Soft Case
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
AS-19 Speedlight Stand
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
CL-1022 Soft Lens Case
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To connect the ME-1 stereo mic to the Nikon 1 V1, you must use the AS-N1000 multi-accessory port adapter. The adapter is placed on the hot shoe, and the mic placed on top of the adapter. http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Aug 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Remove hot shoe cover, slide on mic, tighten thumb wheel, plug jack into mic plug on side of camera.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Nikon 1 V1
 
2 Answers

Nikon 1 V1 Image Review ON / OFF option ?

Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Way nikon didn't add this "Image Review on/off" option in any firmware?

Any ideea if we'll get this option in the future ?

The fast shooting and fast focusing it's null ( = 0 ) if we can't disable image review.

I realy hope we get this option.
11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
By " fast shooting and fast focusing " i mean that in single frame shooting it's not that fast even if i press the shutter-release halfway , is still showing the image i took ( yes now it doesn't stay that long on the screen but it is a delay ).
It's a good ideea to add the option to disable the image review , so when we use single frame shooting mode we'll not have to wait for the image to disappear or to press the shutter-realease halfway.
Oct 17, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm not sure if by "fast shooting and fast focusing" you mean a series of single shots taken in rapid succession, or continuous mode where pictures are taken at 5 frames per second while the shutter-release is held down. I will address both situations.

When shooting Single Frame (Still Image) mode, pressing the shutter-release halfway should clear the screen should clear and the camera focus for the next shot. See page 26 in the User's Guide.

When shooting Continuous mode, as long as you hold the shutter-release button, and the buffer is not full, the camera will continue take pictures at up to 5 frames per second. When the buffer is full, shooting speed will decrease. This is a result of the camera writing image files from the buffer to the memory card. In the lower right of the screen, the approximate number of images that can be written to the buffer at the current settings is displayed. Once the buffer is full, the shutter-release will be disabled until space becomes available in the buffer. You can increase the number of shots that can be taken before the buffer is full by selecting JPEG, a smaller size, or higher compression. See page 121 of the User's Guide for information on Continuous Mode. A faster memory card can add a few shots before the buffer fills. The fastest cards approved would be SDXC Class 10 UHS-1. These are available that write at up to 95MB/s. Although Class 6 are recommended for movie recording, photos are much higher resolution than movies and can benefit from a Class 10 UHS-1 card.
Oct 13, 2013 by
by
Wingrider
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Nikon 1 V1
 
1 answer

i have recently bought a nikon v1 camera .Qu. does nikon have a case made for the camera ?

Apr 17, 2012 by
by
arturo
Auckland nz
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
arturo
Auckland nz
Location : 
Auckland nz
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for compatible cases for the NIKON 1 V1:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ... 1 V1
Apr 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Nikon 1 V1
 
1 answer

what kind of card is required for the camera to store photos on?c

Apr 27, 2012 by
by
llmd
Indiana, USA
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
does the flash for the cameral have a built in attachement or do I need to buy the flash and another part to attach the flash?
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
llmd
Indiana, USA
Location : 
Indiana, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Here is the link:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17519/~/approved-memory-cards---nikon1-v1
Apr 28, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers