Loading

Key Features

Easily browse, edit and share images and movies with the free all-in-one ViewNX 2 Software.
ViewNX 2 provides a range of easy-to-use, enjoyable features that the ordinary software supplied with a PC's OS cannot offer. In addition to basic data importing and browsing, ViewNX 2 incorporates various frequently used adjust menus and tools such as resize, brightness control, crop and straighten, as well as RAW processing functions and movie-editing features that are equivalent to those found in digital SLRs. Smoother cooperation with Nikon's exclusive image storage and sharing site, Nikon Image Space, is also made possible. This all-in-one browsing/editing software package supplied with Nikon digital cameras will let more photographers fully enjoy digital images, more easily.
Enhanced image-editing functions
Crop, Straighten, Auto Red-Eye and Auto Lateral Color Aberration are newly added considering their high frequency of use by general photographers
Strengthened cooperation with my Picturetown
Images saved in my Picturetown can be browsed as if saved in your own computer. 
  • Once login is completed, there is no need to input ID and password again
  • Drag/drop operation enables easy uploading
Refined user interface
  • Three kinds of workspaces are provided: Browser/GeoTag/Edit. Workspaces can be smoothly switched by clicking the tool button
  • Background color can be selected according to image brightness (White/Grey/Dark Grey/Black)
  • Improved operational efficiency by displaying two different panels simultaneously - left for folders and right for image adjustment/metadata
  • Thumbnail List can be selected when "Browser" or "Edit" is used
Incorporates movie-editing functions
Start/end points can be set (unnecessary portions can be deleted).  Selected frames can be saved (still-image saving), JPEG images with number of pixels equivalent to movie recording size
Improved print functions
Besides a range of print functions such as Full Page, Index Print and Standard Photo Sizes, functions highly demanded by users have been adopted.
  • Background Color: Selectable from White, Grey, Dark Grey and Black
  • Print Information: Information below can be printed with images
  • [Date/Time Shot] Prints with shooting data and time inserted
  • [Metadata] Prints minutely selected metadata
  • [Header/Footer] Prints any text such as title or page count in the header or footer
ViewNX 2 2.8 5 58 58
not sure yet about NX2 I am a software engineer and NX2 looks pretty horrible in terms of a GUI layout . Not sure it will pack any punch at all to motivate me to use it . Please fix the ugly large GUI specially the panes on the right side and i might just use it. Thank god the camera does the share these traits. December 2, 2010
Wait until next release VNX2 has some nice features and is an improvement over the latest v1.5. But it is buggy, crashes and has display dropouts that has me back to v1.5.2 for first looks at photos. I'll try again with the next release. This one doesn't cut it. October 4, 2010
Needs further software development. My PC meets Nikon's suggested tech specs except the dual-core processor is from AMD. I have used a competitive product since its introduction, now in its 3rd version. I have only two weeks with the trail version of Nikon's ViewNX 2 software product. With that 'grain of salt', I comment... Big 'plus' on design features: import of NEF from Nikon camera, display of metadata, view movies, upload to Picturetown. Apparently free software with new Nikon cameras. MUCH slower to load NEF and large jpg files to screen. MUCH slower to process edits than its competitor on the same PC, as in agonizingly slow. Nikon software offers limited edit adjustments but may just be terminology. Some adjustments greyed out as in not available. Could not edit exposure, white balance etc. and no clue why. No before / after comparison. No idea if either software product uses multi-core processing but Nikon is definately slower to process. Import from camera is fine. Could not find a way to auto-adjust on import for vibrancy, color balance etc. Did not use yet but looks easy to change file names to comply with VIRIN standard, appending increasing image number. Easier to apply comments / caption by photo. "Help" is not helpful. Use your own wits to figure out how to import from the hard drive; how to export a slideshow to a hard drive or optical media; how to keep your original image and the edited version seperate. Not yet certain where the software stores the original import image. Never figured out how to alter the sequence of images in a slideshow without manipulation of one of the few sort criteria that can be altered. Would prefer a simple drag and drop in bottom film strip view. Neither product suggests resulting file size when converting an image say for email usage. . Nikon's ViewNX 2 version 2.0.1, running under Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit, is the only software product I have that crashed the operating system. That usually occurs when attempting to view a 'slideshow'. Competitor's product "lost": its thumbnails under Vista and I then learned how poor its off-shore suppport is for such an expensive software product. I do not see any native support for social media (You Tube, Facebook). so you are committed to PictureTown. Windows 7 has no native support for NEF or MOV viewing. So, initial impression is ViewNX 2 needs more development to favorably compare with at least one competitor. "Hey" it is free if you buy a new Nikon camera! September 20, 2010
Very bad software Has very few features, the White Balance tool is a joke, doesn´t work properly in a network, non intuitive interface. Great Hardware . Terrible Software, is not a good combo. November 2, 2013
Refuses to work on wine (1.4 on precise pangolin) ViewNX window locks up (process state R), and the movie editor crashes trying to open the first movie file. What I don't understand is why there is no version usable on *nix OS types when there is a MacOS version. December 14, 2012
Nikon doesn't care View NX2 does not work with my new Nikon D3200 for editing images. It does work with my D700 images. I posted a question to the 'Ask Nikon' page and got a huge runaround - including the suggestion that I should reconfigure my computer - then they "Solved" my question without any input from me, and without View NX2 ever working with my D3200 images. So; my D700 works with Nikon Transfer, Nikon View NX2, and Capture NX2 and my D3200 works with Nikon Transfer and Nikon Capture NX2 but not Nikon View NX2. My conclusion is that Nikon View NX2 is not compatible with the Nikon D3200 and Nikon doesn't care. Nikon Capture NX2 does work with my D3200 images - but if that is the only viable solution, Nikon needs to provide that program to D3200 users for free. October 16, 2012
lack of what's promised I only have ONE major complaint. The promise of this software is that you can render in the computer what you can render in camera. That promise fails when RAW files do not render JPEGs the same way the camera does. When decoding RAW files, much detail becomes dark and lost, and there's a green tint over the whole image (specially on skin), the render looks nothing like the jpeg produced by the camera. To me this is a failed promise. If I don't shoot RAW+JPEG, I lose the camera embedded options forever. If not fixed, there's no point in using any of the nikon software. October 9, 2012
Worthless When the first image is loaded, the message "windows has encountered a problem and needs to close." The program then closes. I have tried this on two computers with the same result. Nikon, don't expect me to even consider your other software products. September 27, 2012
Messed up a lot of my pictures I downloaded this software to my Mac with my new camera, a Coolpix p510. The camera is amazing but the software is far from it. I decided to copy over a lot of photos from my iPhoto library. I thought nothing of it only to see what the editing features were. A while later, a went back and looked through my pictures on iPhoto. The greater portion of what I had copied over where completely messed up. (But I didn't realize then that ViewNX2 was what caused the problem) The files were there but I was unable to insert the pictures into documents, view them in Preview, etc. The thumbnails where corrupted for some reason. Later, I copied some more photos over to ViewNX2 and went back to my iPhoto, only to find that I couldn't view some of them. I then figured out that the Nikon software had corrupted my picture thumbnails and it wasn't iPhoto. If you own a Mac and plan to edit/view pictures that are in multiple programs, I do not suggest this software. I would use only ViewNX2 or no ViewNX because it is not very compatible. September 5, 2012
"unexpected" error my foot I am so happy every time 2.3.1 manages to convert, say 100 or 150 NEFs before encountering an "unexpected error". God knows I expect it! That plus the totally Martian GUI makes me (and no doubt my computer) always feel much more clean when I can finally convert that last 50 files and close the abomination. August 29, 2012
Although it's free it costs me money with Time This program is GREAT, except for the amount of time it takes to render files. Edit, Convert and save can take days, especially when the program crashes every 5 photos or so causing you to force close and reopen, then reedit what you have already done. I love everything about Nikon....except this program and the fact that if you want to truly see what you shot, how you shot it, you need this program. Every other software out there, including PS and LR render the images to their specs and not the proprietary Nikon settings. This needs an update and bad! August 13, 2012
Software Problems. I can't get my nikon viewnx2 to load. It stops when it hits the screen that says "I accept these terms," except that the box isn't big enough to let it be displayed. I had the same problem with a D50 camera, except they practically had no manual. I'm going to look for a 3rd party software that will let me use the camera July 4, 2012
Won't install No option to install on a drive other than C - my C drive is a small flash drive with no space for large programs. March 31, 2012
Terrible piece of sw keep away I have been using this terrible sw for quite some time. It is terrible. It crashes all the time and it is unstable. There is an underlying threading model that never works. Tonight I lost one month of work. I was renaming the files in a folder and as I thought renaming was over, I clicked another folder to see the contents. When I wanted to go bak to the original folder, it was gone! Deleted forever! I tried to recover the lost filles and found some, of which many were named as per first folder while the image was from the second! They must be using the filmstrip to get the names this thing operates upon! I will NEVER use it again. January 24, 2012
Appears good, works bad I was impressed with this piece of software when I first started to use it. After using it for several everyday tasks, I have found what, to most photographers, will be a fatal flaw. This software will not let you save a file to any size but low. If your only interest in photography is to plaster it on Facebook, this should work for you. But any desire to use this software for serious work, you will end up frustrated. When I spend $5000+ on a camera, and the largest file size I can end up creating is a 1.5MG file, I am not going to be able to make use of that image. This software will satisfy the candy pop teen who wants to do basic editing and then post a file as good as your smart phone can. Sadly, to get usable or printable results you will want to buy another more effective piece of software. December 4, 2011
Hate It!! I used picture perfect before this and it is much easier and set up better. I would continue to use picture perfect but not compatable with windows 7. Unable to edit in windows 7. I guess I need to go buy new software. Nikon should provide a better product. Can someone tell me how to burn a disc from ViewNX 2? August 9, 2011
bad product Received a D3100 for Christmas but have to go to Wall-mart to print out my pictures. The software will not work on my computer-shuts down when I use it. Nikon has been no help-they just keep asking for information on cpu. using e-mail. They should refund the price of the software. Great Camera though.Fantastic pictures. August 1, 2011
very clunky and poorly laid out I can't quite get over the fact that someone said rotating was not lossless, and if anyone is serious about image quality they are not going to want that. but first and foremost I have the problem of not being able to read the input field on the rightside panel. It says La where it should say Label, Keyw which I suppose is keywords. Ra which I suppose is rating. How basic things like this kind of layout are done wrong makes me think this is not a program to trust with my images. Picture Project was a much better program, if simpler. For major editing I use Photoshop anyway. I only used Picture Project to import from my camera, and make minor adjustments. In addition if you read the "read me" file about the transfer of images, you will see that it doesn't always file images as date shot even if that is what you chose but as date modified. Then file names can be out of order if you use the continuous shoot mode on your camera. ????? It's almost as if no photographers were part of the making of this software. I am truly disappointed as my Nikon cameras and lenses are of such great quality I would have expected the same of the software. At least go back and update picture project so we can continue to use it. It was a nice idea to have the focal points, and to be able to add gps, but a nice idea doesn't make nice software. It seems to me that they wanted this to look more like Photoshop so they scaled down the font and made it harder to see and a darker grey. That is actually one of the things I don't appreciate about Photoshop or Lightroom. I would love to be able to have a friendlier interface like Picture Project 1.6 with a properly executed NX3. The points I outlined above are dealbreakers for my workflow. Can't use it. June 28, 2011
SLOW I just installed this viewer for my new D3100, It is very slow. I'd give it no stars if I could and some colorful language. I don't like that it automatically imports all the files on my pc.That further slows it down.I wish I could choose what files to work with. Very VERY slow browsing through photos. Very limited editing capabilities.It takes several minutes to convert a single file, Forget That! If I had known that Nikon's "Raw" image file however better in quality is not actually a file type easily dealt with, I might have bought a cannon. June 1, 2011
Use with Caution! As much as I want to like ViewNX 2, I just can't bring myself to trust it. It will by default overwrite your original images if you make adjustments (knowingly or not) to an image and save. It does not prompt or warn that it will overwrite existing files!!! READ THAT CAREFULLY. Secondly, when it does overwrite existing JPEG images they will be at a grossly reduced image quality (again, by default). Original images will be chroma subsampled to 4:2:0 (half their original) and JPEG quantization quality reduced (e.g. if the original image was 93 quality, it will be reduced to 80). Nikon seriously needs some new software designers who know the fundamentals of the JPEG file format, and what quality looks like! May 6, 2011
Useless Free raw editors like RawTherapy outperforms ViewNx2 in terms of speed and features. Complete lack of noise reduction (and other in camera adjustments) makes ViewNX 2 useless. If Nikon respect there customers, should provide a decent and faster viewer/light processor. March 28, 2011
Wait Until Bug Fix I was looking forward to using VNX2 in my workflow with some of the new enhancements over VNX. But, and this is a big one, it won't save edit steps despite several attempts. Even after the dialogue box opens and asks if I want to save them before I move to another image, it won't save them. I have reported this bug to Nikon and they have been able to duplicate it. They sent the report to the mother ship in Japan but the reply was, we'll work on it but there won't be an update anytime soon. So I'm back to VNX 1.5.2 for the time being. My recommendation is don't bother with this version until they fix the bugs. February 18, 2011
Not Ready for Release Installation went easy and smooth. Added features are nice and thougthful. Unfortunately it is full of bugs. Basic programming tasks like freeing memory allocation after exit of the program or correct display of the pictures are mishandled. Overall good ideas and poor execution. Went back to version 1.5, which has same issues but at least can show the pictures. Both programs are memory/ressource hogs may possibly run better on W7 OS and 8gigs RAM. Compared to PS CS5 slow like a turtle. Low price ( zero) and its ability to recognize in-camera picture control settings even in RAW( no other program does this as of today) may still make this an important but buggy tool for amateurs and professionals who like the Nikon Raw format. Low program performance makes me thinking twice before buying Capture NX or other Nikon software - those may have the same issues. I use it only to convert RAW to JPEG, which works ok for smaller picture sets <100. Above that limit errors stop ViewNX. Sorry, I like Nikon cameras - not this program. December 23, 2010
Page: 2 3
<<prev
188 Questions | 215 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
188 Questions | 215 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
next>>
Sort by:
ViewNX 2
 
5 Answers

Selecting pictures to import from Nikon 600

Aug 25, 2013 by
by
Lee
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Suppose I have 100 pictures 50 old and 50 taken 5 minutes ago.

View NX2 marks all pictures for import. Takes too long so I uncheck all and then try to check the new 50 using Shift Click on the first and last. Does not work, so I have to click each one - also takes too long.
Is there another way to select a group or is Nikon going to fix this weakness?
9 months ago
by
Lee
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can shift click to select images you want, you can also ctrl click to select individual images. You can also left click hold and drag over images to select them, once selected they should be highlighted, then just click inside the tick box to add or remove the tick. If this doesnt work I would suggest uninstalling and reinstall making sure you have the latest version installed
Aug 26, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Suppose I wanted the oldest 50 or the middle 50.

Please reread the question about Shift click.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
Lee

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Click on option then click the preferences box, make sure transfer new files only is checked.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I want to be able to select what I want. Shift click does not work.

Is there a way to click first and last and have them check marked with all in between?
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
Lee

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Transfer, if you have it set up, will only import new images regardless if they have a check next to them or not.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It's not even available for download, so what's the deal with it?
Windows viewer and my new Nikon are not getting along.
Mar 15, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I asked the same question after being very frustrated that the program would not install from the CD that came with my P-510. Seeing the suggestion to download and install from the Nikon site, I went ahead and did that and it seems to have worked. I am very disappointed that Nikon can't seem to supply software that will install properly with their expensive cameras. Their web support is also not very good. If it weren't for my long time investment in Nikon products I would seriously be looking to swtich to Canon. This will likely be the last Nikon I ever purchase!
Nov 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Use the widows only 2.5.1 and choose windows7- 64 bit;
Oct 7, 2012 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try installing from here: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17938
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
4 Answers

Problems loading up/downloading with ViewNX2

Jul 16, 2012 by
by
Worldtrekker
Cumbria, UK
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'm having awful problems loading ViewNX2 to use with Windows XP and a Nikon S8200. When I connect the camera, it doesn't prompt me to download the photos until I then DISCONNECT the camera, and even when the window does come up, it doesn't give me ANY options as to which programme to use to download. It did briefly let me view the photos that recorded to its internal memory, but it read all the photos on the memory card as MPEGs (despite them being in JPEG format - I know cos I downloaded some via a card reader and they all came up as JPEGs ok), but now it won't read them at all - it doesn't even let me access the camera's internal memory or memory card. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling and rebooting the PC, but it's basically totally unusable. HUGELY frustrating - I've never had this problem with camera software before. Can't even download using any other software.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Worldtrekker
Cumbria, UK
Location : 
Cumbria, UK
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Thanks Nikonstaff. But I don't understand why it reformatted them all as MPEGs? When I finally downloaded using a card reader, it read them all as JPEGs. I hadn't reset anything from the factory settings - this was the first time I connected up to download, with about 250 photos.

This still doesn't explain why I can't access the photos on the camera's internal memory, or now, why the software won't even recognise the camera is connected at all, even though the camera switches on when I connect up using the lead, so power at least is getting through.

I'm not a professional photographer - I'm a serious holiday/leisure photographer and also take around 500+ record photos a month for my work.

(BTW - the link on the notification e-mails you sent me to "see the answer" doesn't work...)
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
Worldtrekker
Cumbria, UK
Location : 
Cumbria, UK
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've downloaded the software off the Nikon site now, and onto a different computer (Windows XP again), but still having the same problem. The software won't even begin to communicate with the camera, it doesn't even recognise the camera is connected to the PC and prompt for a download. The pix on the camera's internal memory is now totally inaccessible - I can't even view it (I briefly could the first time I connected the camera to the PC, but not any more). I eventually downloaded the pix on the memory card using a card reader into the USB port - but surely I shouldn't have to do this with a brand new camera? I'm beginning to think it's the camera rather than the software? This is so frustrating - never had this problem with all the Canon's I've owned. I love using the S8200, but it's not much use if it won't speak to the PC.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
Worldtrekker

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
first of all, have you downloaded the most recent version of ViewNX2 from your country's nikon website? it is continuously being updated to address new camera releases, as well as to implement bug fixes and add new features.

it also seems that you may be aided by the use of a card reader. i shoot at least 25,000 photos a year with my nikons, and i never connect the camera directly to my computers. indeed, many systems now -- desktops and laptops both -- come equipped with internal SD card slots. while not every provides easy access to the card slot, most of them are at least not too hard to access. especially if your computer supports the new fast USB 3.0 standard, it's a big improvement over the camera's data port.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
Hugo First
Richmond, VA
Location : 
Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
MPEG formats use three types of compressed frames, organized in a group of pictures, or GOP, to achieve interframe compression. GOPs are defined by three factors: their pattern of I-, P-, and B-frames, their length, and whether the GOP is “open” or “closed”. Please reset the camera: MENU> SETUP> RESET ALL. Also, verify the settings that you have for Image Mode (see page # 71 of the user's manual) and make sure you are using an approved memory card for the COOLPIX S8200.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
3 Answers

Updates for Nikon ViewNX 2 Software CD

Mar 15, 2011 by
by
JC
CA
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I just purchased a Nikon S3100 for my wife and see it comes with this software. I have two questions:

1. Can I use it to open RAW .nef files that I shoot with my old Coolpix 8700? I lost the original CD that came with the 8700 and cannot view the .nef files on my new desktop.

2. On your website, a number of low ratings came in from users due to problems with this software. Is their a new version that addresses these issues?

Thanks,
JC
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
JC
CA
Location : 
CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, ViewNX 2 will work with you COOLPIX 8700 as well. Instll the software that came with your D3100, or click the link below, and then one of the links on the right for the download of ViewNX 2. (Top link is for Macs& PC's, bottom is for Windows only). This contains Nikon Transfer as well:

http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61#Anchor-1

I would recommend using memory card reader rather than the camera/USB cable connection. The card reader will be much faster trasnfer times.
DB
Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Absolutely
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can view the RAW files of your 8700.

Please download the latest version of Nikon View NX 2:

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
3 Answers

Automatically adjusts compression

May 6, 2011 by
by
Performance Dog Photography
Clearwater, FL
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
While adjusting sharpness, shadow preservation, and brightness in View NX2, I noticed that the JPG image compression was increased reducing the file size. The file size went from 10MB to 3 or 4MB. I didn't notice the compression change til I had edited a lot of images. I had to revert to backups and lost a lot of editing time. Where is the preference setting to leave the image quality at the highest setting when editing images? My camera is a D7000 with images taken at the highest fine image quality.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Performance Dog Photography
Clearwater, FL
Location : 
Clearwater, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
We all have this problem with jpeg files and ViewNX. I don't know why Nikon don't want to add such a basic feature in their program. Yes, shoot raw, but what if I don't want to shoot raw? Some of us don't need to shoot raw, but we sometimes need a basic corrections and ViewNX is able to do everything except saving edited jpeg files! It's rediculous, really!

I know if I will save jpeg file over an over again, I will lose some details and quality, but from 10MB to 3MB in one single save after a slight brightness change or just a tiny crop... That is really funny.

So I don't think that your answer about cumulative saves with jpeg files has some point. Just a slight change to jpeg file that has 10MB should not have such an impact on saved file (with just one save it is reduced dramatically - more than three times!). It is just unbelievable that such a basic thing hasn't been fixed for a really long time. Just one slider in options menu to choose default save compression of saved jpeg files and everything would be perfect. The same slider that we can find when we click Export button...
Aug 5, 2012 by
by
Nikola
Slovenia
Location : 
Slovenia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Going by Nikons responce you cannot change the preference for the JPG save quality/compression ratio.

in fact he didnt answer your question at all!
Dec 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape

-8points
0out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful8
Answer: 
JPEG compression quality loss if cumulative, meaning that if you open a JPEG image and edit it (crop, change color, resize, etc.) and resave it as a JPEG mo image quality will be lost. It is a good idea not to repeatedly save as a JPEG. If you're going to edit your pictures a lot it would be a good idea that you start shooting in NEF (RAW). There is more opportunity to edit the file later
May 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
2 Answers

How do I get .mov files to work?

Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Fraggle
South Carolina
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
When trying to use the software to view the movie files I have shot with my 3100 it tells me that the file type .mov is not supported. How do I fix this?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Fraggle
South Carolina
Location : 
South Carolina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
convert your files to another movie file. (AVS video converter)
or get a different editing software that supports those type of files.
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
EUPHORIC PHOTOS
Chewelah Wasthington
Location : 
Chewelah Wasthington
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
View NX 2 support files MOV, AVI, MPEG1 and WMV format movies saved with Nikon applications. Make sure that you have the latest version for View NX 2.

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
ViewNX 2
 
2 Answers

MOV file can not open it

Apr 1, 2011 by
by
Yuko
Detroit
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I bought Nikon S8100 2 weeks ago. I installed viewNX2 to watch the movies that I shot with the camera, and the software shows "unsopported file" when I try to open the files. Please help what is wrong?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Yuko
Detroit
Location : 
Detroit
Age: 35-44
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
ViewNX 2 doesn't support .MOV movie files...check and see what your files are..
there are video converters so that you can edit on ViewNX 2....but might lower quality..
i suggest getting an editing software that supports .MOV files.
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
EUPHORIC PHOTOS
Chewelah,Washington
Location : 
Chewelah,Washington
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have you got the lastest version installed, should be 2.1.2
Apr 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
ViewNX 2
 
2 Answers

How can I get a downloadable User Manual for ViewNX2

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+5points
8out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful3
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-8points
2out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful10
Answer: 
also check http://www.nikondigitutor.com/eng/viewnx2/index.html
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
ManuelC

-12points
1out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful13
Answer: 
Have a search on the Nikon website there might be one on there, though ive had a quick look and cant find one.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
KeithD
6 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
2 Answers

VIEW NX2 not responding

May 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Every time I open it, it locks up. I have created a new admin user on my PC as suggested, and downloaded the appliction from the website and it works there, but this is an unsatisfactory solution. All my files are in my original user account. Using Windows XP with SP3
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
ALL I can say is good luck, it takes my computer 30 seconds or so to respond to each click of scrolling through pictures. Maybe it will respond by the 4th of July.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Vic
Knoxville, Tn
Location : 
Knoxville, Tn
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
To do that you need Camera Control Pro.
Jul 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No.
Jul 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
next>>