Loading

Key Features

Easily browse, edit and share images and movies with the free all-in-one ViewNX 2 Software.
ViewNX 2 provides a range of easy-to-use, enjoyable features that the ordinary software supplied with a PC's OS cannot offer. In addition to basic data importing and browsing, ViewNX 2 incorporates various frequently used adjust menus and tools such as resize, brightness control, crop and straighten, as well as RAW processing functions and movie-editing features that are equivalent to those found in digital SLRs. Smoother cooperation with Nikon's exclusive image storage and sharing site, Nikon Image Space, is also made possible. This all-in-one browsing/editing software package supplied with Nikon digital cameras will let more photographers fully enjoy digital images, more easily.
Enhanced image-editing functions
Crop, Straighten, Auto Red-Eye and Auto Lateral Color Aberration are newly added considering their high frequency of use by general photographers
Strengthened cooperation with my Picturetown
Images saved in my Picturetown can be browsed as if saved in your own computer. 
  • Once login is completed, there is no need to input ID and password again
  • Drag/drop operation enables easy uploading
Refined user interface
  • Three kinds of workspaces are provided: Browser/GeoTag/Edit. Workspaces can be smoothly switched by clicking the tool button
  • Background color can be selected according to image brightness (White/Grey/Dark Grey/Black)
  • Improved operational efficiency by displaying two different panels simultaneously - left for folders and right for image adjustment/metadata
  • Thumbnail List can be selected when "Browser" or "Edit" is used
Incorporates movie-editing functions
Start/end points can be set (unnecessary portions can be deleted).  Selected frames can be saved (still-image saving), JPEG images with number of pixels equivalent to movie recording size
Improved print functions
Besides a range of print functions such as Full Page, Index Print and Standard Photo Sizes, functions highly demanded by users have been adopted.
  • Background Color: Selectable from White, Grey, Dark Grey and Black
  • Print Information: Information below can be printed with images
  • [Date/Time Shot] Prints with shooting data and time inserted
  • [Metadata] Prints minutely selected metadata
  • [Header/Footer] Prints any text such as title or page count in the header or footer
ViewNX 2 2.8 5 58 58
It is what it is. A very good program for viewing your Nikon (NEF) images. It's not meant to be Photoshop CS5! For viewing, rating, and minor editing it does a great job. It is a great second step in my work-flow before I proceed to PS RAW and/or CaptureNX for more advanced editing November 26, 2011
good product It is a good product, easy upload from the camera. All my pics are in NEF format and I can read and edit there convert and e-mail or upload. Simple and easy. Also you can open directly the pictures with NX2 for more serious editing work. Basically it is similar interface as Adobe's bridge but can do a little more. Also very useful is all the information that is used. Another similar product is Apple's Photo. November 10, 2011
Outstanding. I can't believe the other reviews. I'm running this program in both 7 and Vista 32-bit environments, without a single hiccup. I even went so far as to swap the program icon for the much-cooler ViewNX grid-and-sphere without fuss. Very fast startup, excellent dual-monitor support, wide range of adjsutment tools, and great layout. I've used the new Adobe Lightroom which is outstanding, but if the NR in ViewNX2 was as good, I would deem it the better product. RAW processing engine is superior to Adobe's, and layout is very similiar in concept. After using this program for a week, I realized my workflow was much more efficient and the toolset gave me everything I needed for 95% of my editing, so as a result, PS gets opened about twice a month. I shoot much like I did in the days of film, getting things right IN-CAMERA, so being able to batch process my "rolls" of film makes things ridiculously easy. I would really like to spring for Lightroom, but honestly, doing so is basically paying $200 to trade RAW processing for excellent NR. No thanks. In my opinion, Nikon hit this one out of the park, sorely needed in light of their previous software offerings. 5 Stars, hands down. September 11, 2011
Great Program I don't understand why so many are bashing this program. I installed it on my HP laptop with Win7/64bit and 4 gb Ram and it works great. I like it a lot. It is very similiar to my Corel Photoshop and they will work well together. Keep up the good work Nikon(by the way,...I love my new D3100!) March 16, 2011
Very good product I down loaded View NX2 (upgrade) and have had no problems with it at all. I use this program to adjust the basic contrast, sharpness, color, and brightness. I use the program to convert my RAW files to JPEG. It works exactly as it should. No problems. I'm usuing a D300s and when I put my CF card into my computer slot, it goes to Nikon Transfer then automatically goes to View NX2 showing my photos ready to edit. What could be easier? Great program. February 20, 2011
Very good and free Very good software, free and fast. Very easy to use too. September 24, 2010
Wonderful, great, awsome product. Good job Nikon I recently upgraded from my F3 to a D700 and started evaluating 2 of the best known photo imaging tools, I will not mention any names at this time, then I saw Nikon's ViewNX 2 and decided to download it. What a surprise when I opened some of my pictures. I did a side by side comparison to reach my conclusion. Nikon ViewNX 2 is the undisputed winner. Why use anything else. September 21, 2010
Looking Good Download and install smooth and easy on my Mac Pro. Opens and runs smoothly. Has enough tools to quickly edit and then a smooth integration into uploading to PictureTown. Great job Nikon. With this kind of ViewNX2 I can hardly wait for you to get Capture NX3 ready for release, even if I will have to pay for it. August 29, 2010
Great when it doesn't CRASH This program takes longer to open than Photoshop CS6! When it works, it's great to cull images, rename and resize images and also emailing images is a great tool also. This is the first and last step in my work flow. Also great to see image meta data except it does not show the ISO you used after the NEF's are processed with which is a bummer. Overall a very good free program. May 6, 2014
review off software the software does not work on my computer it wont allouw me to download the pics on to the computer April 7, 2013
Good basic RAW workflow tool, will not disable D-Lighting ViewNX 2 is a good basic raw workflow tool. I've noticed that it often displays the "Neutral" picture control for NEF or NRW images by default. This can be remedied by opening the pulldown and reselecting the "recorded value". The D-Lighting control is somewhat misleading. It starts at "0", regardless of the camera setting, and only allows increasing the processing. If you want to start with no D-Lighting, you have to either use a different software, or disable it in the camera. The Geo Tag feature is nice, and applies the location data to images in a manner that most other software understands. Some other free tools are not as general December 24, 2012
Great for Raw Viewnx is great for viewing and editing net files from my D90, then converting them to tiff or jpeg. Another great feature is that you can add geotag info to the image. The only problem us that the features are pretty limited. It Could use a few more... May 10, 2011
Be aware of its limitations I like ViewNX2 a lot, especially its geotagging features, but never use it for JPEG image rotation and cropping because those functions are not lossless. Rotate and save (or crop and save) your images in ViewNX2 and they are are not going to be the same quality as your originals. I would say it is rather inexcusable that these (very basic) functions are not lossless. So be aware, and use some other tool for those two functions. The defacto tool for this is Jpegcrop, and (fortunately) its very easy to use. May 5, 2011
If you havent, you should! View NX2 with my D7000 is great! The latest update shows a leap forward in performance and capability as well, which may be good signs of things to come, if NX 3 ever arrives. I havent been sold on Capture NX2, I would go Lightroom if I was ready to buy, Id give up a little quality for all of the organizational and archival power. If NX3 has 64-bit performance, I might give it a try after seeing some of the View NX2 results. Sharpening specifically seemed much improved from the older version I got with my D90, and free video support, no hating there. Until then, View NX2 will be my lightweight hitter for the masses, and Gimp for the heavy lifting. March 20, 2011
Very good ... but with bugs! Has major improvements over version 1.5, this much better to use and with the addition of the Crop is perfect! It has a bug when using full screen on secondary display, 20 display after it no longer appears in the picture. The shuttle 2 is perfect, actually an extremely useful tool for workflow! October 25, 2010
Overall Pretty Good - A Couple Bugs Though Overall I like the new version of ViewNX2 (2.0.1). For me, during the spring & summer at least, I shoot a lot of my son's High School baseball games. So I need a tool that allows me to process several hundred images from each shoot, while at the same time making modest corrections to each (i.e. mostly crop, straighten, and reduce for web posting - I don't otherwise have the time to tweak & adjust every image to absolute perfection in a more advanced editor). So the addition of the crop & straighten tools in 2.0.1 are very welcome, especially because they are available right from the main browser window. I don't have to go into another editor (e.g. Develop in LR3) to access them . The other adjustments that I may occasionally use (sharpness, brightness, etc) are all sufficient for me for these kinds of shoots. One bug that I have found though is with Slideshow - the transitions (e.g. fade, slide, wipe) don't work. I called Nikon tech support and they confirmed this is a bug which will be fixed in the next release. Otherwise, from time to time, the program bombs - a message box comes up with something to the effect of "Nikon ViewNX2 has stopped working....". This happens on both my computers (one w/ Vista, the other with 7-professional). I also have LR3, which is a great program for cataloging/sorting/finding/keywording/etc, but it's much slower at doing the few modest things I need to do - which is basic crop/straighten/reduce for hundreds of baseball images at a time. September 20, 2010
Great improvement over ViewNX Layout improves work flow. Very intuitive to use the Crop feature works well and is convenient. Appears to be more stable than its predecessor. It goes without saying that no other software handles NEF files better then Nikon. Would like to see the interface incorporated in to CaptureNX. August 29, 2010
No Search Function Is A Major Flaw I just don't understand why they have left off the ability to search for images on your hard drive based on metadata, like keywords. To me this is a major flaw and may force me to switch to Lightroom. I hate to have to do that because I would rather stick to Nikon products, but, this is ridiculous. April 20, 2013
Too many problems! I've been using this software for about 2 years, and I've had multiple problems with it. It unexpectedly quits, stops responding, and now it won't let me delete or edit any of the photographs that I've just uploaded from my camera. I'm not very good with technology for a teenager, so I'm not sure if it's me or the software, but I've had many problems with it. There are better ones out there. May 27, 2012
Nice, but won't save movies in mpeg or wmv...only mov Product will not save video from my Nikon 1 V1 in mpeg or wmv format...only .mov format, unless someone can show me otherwise. January 26, 2012
An interesting, useful feature I love the fact that this product can show focus points used on each shot. I am primarily a CS5 (PhotoShop) user but I take peeks at my raw files in ViewNX when I'm confused about a photo's features. I also like the very easy way that I can find blocked under/over exposures. I am not impressed with other ViewNX features and feel that the implementation and interface design is rather clumsy -- it's what software engineers call "designed by a suit". However, I will continue to load the product so that I can take a peek at how I confused my self. June 1, 2011
Good Improvement but still needs help ViewNX 2 is an improvement over the first NX in aesthetics but I get a lot of program crashes still when I collapse folders on the left side of the screen. I am using running the Mac version. May 23, 2011
works ok but.. i had the previous version of ViewNX2 and it worked well however the updated version wasn't converting .raw files to .jpgs without crashing so i went back to ViewNX and it works fine. the error may be caused by my unchecking "open on default when camera is plugged in"?..i use lightroom for that. i'll go back and try again tonight and see if i get the same results. January 3, 2011
A small bug When I try to geotag a photo to the town Honfleur, France, the tag is created in the ocean to the west of Honfleur. In general I think that the software is fairly good. It has crashed on my once or twice but those are growing pains and I am sure that it will be sorted out within the next few patches/releases. I am currently working on a Win7 64bit system with a dual core processor and 4gig ram. Performance is fairly good. Especially since my image files are also quite large. September 16, 2010
Great When It Works Pro: This is a great tool for viewing Nikon .NEF files - when it works Cons: 1) If I edit a file using NX 2 and then attempt to open it in Lightroom, the file cannot be read. 2) NX 2 now crashes on my 3-month old iMac desktop computer every time I open it and point it to where my .NEF files are. Removing & reinstalling makes no difference. So as a result I cannot use it to view .NEF file imports. April 28, 2013
nice but.. the older versions seemed to flow better compared to the newer version. this one is a bit slow in updating images stored either on the hard drive or a back up device. April 27, 2012
You would think they would have figured it out by now... As far as the function and intuitiveness is concerned, ViewNX 2 isn't bad (although ViewNX was better). It would be great for viewing, organizing, sorting, etc, but unfortunately has always been held back by its bugginess and instability. I've used every release of NX and NX2 since 2004, on 5 or 6 different computers, and have always issues with it locking up, crashing, and/or certain features just quit working, permanently (reinstalls fix nothing). I like the software in theory (better than Lightroom for organizing, etc), but it can be very frustrating. April 15, 2012
nice features but keeps crashing I like View NX2 (v 2.2.5 on Mac 10.6.8), but unfortunatelly the only thing I can do with it is: - browse, view - open another application - rotate When I try to edit/crop/re-expose/anything any RAW image, I get a crash of the application... iMac-de-Olivier:~ ikal$ ls -ltr /Users/ikal/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/ViewNX\ 2_2012-0* -rw-------@ 1 ikal staff 45986 Feb 6 20:53 /Users/ikal/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/ViewNX 2_2012-02-06-205321_iMac-de-Olivier.crash -rw-------@ 1 ikal staff 45208 Feb 6 20:54 /Users/ikal/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/ViewNX 2_2012-02-06-205410_iMac-de-Olivier.crash -rw-------@ 1 ikal staff 48559 Feb 6 21:05 /Users/ikal/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/ViewNX 2_2012-02-06-210538_iMac-de-Olivier.crash -rw-------@ 1 ikal staff 46214 Feb 7 16:28 /Users/ikal/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/ViewNX 2_2012-02-07-162808_iMac-de-Olivier.crash -rw-------@ 1 ikal staff 45987 Feb 7 17:00 /Users/ikal/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/ViewNX 2_2012-02-07-170058_iMac-de-Olivier.crash -rw-------@ 1 ikal staff 46214 Feb 7 17:03 /Users/ikal/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/ViewNX 2_2012-02-07-170332_iMac-de-Olivier.crash -rw-------@ 1 ikal staff 46691 Feb 7 17:06 /Users/ikal/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/ViewNX 2_2012-02-07-170630_iMac-de-Olivier.crash Would be a great product if stable ! February 7, 2012
Does not work with iPhone iOS5... :-( It was a wonderful one-stop-shop photo / video download software for all my digital cameras (including my D40, some coolpix, and my iPhones), until my iPhone was upgraded to iOS 5.0. Can you please fix the software so that it can work with iOS 5.0? I really hate to see that I have to use a different software for my iPhones and a different one for my Nikon cameras. Thanks a lot! December 30, 2011
Pictures Good - Quick Time Bad I have tried to deal with just loading down ViewNX 2 unfortunately it wants to install the junk program QuickTime and message centre neither of which I want on my computer. May 18, 2011
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
188 Questions | 215 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
188 Questions | 215 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
next>>
Sort by:
ViewNX 2
 
5 Answers

Selecting pictures to import from Nikon 600

Aug 25, 2013 by
by
Lee
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Suppose I have 100 pictures 50 old and 50 taken 5 minutes ago.

View NX2 marks all pictures for import. Takes too long so I uncheck all and then try to check the new 50 using Shift Click on the first and last. Does not work, so I have to click each one - also takes too long.
Is there another way to select a group or is Nikon going to fix this weakness?
9 months ago
by
Lee
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can shift click to select images you want, you can also ctrl click to select individual images. You can also left click hold and drag over images to select them, once selected they should be highlighted, then just click inside the tick box to add or remove the tick. If this doesnt work I would suggest uninstalling and reinstall making sure you have the latest version installed
Aug 26, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Suppose I wanted the oldest 50 or the middle 50.

Please reread the question about Shift click.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
Lee

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Click on option then click the preferences box, make sure transfer new files only is checked.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I want to be able to select what I want. Shift click does not work.

Is there a way to click first and last and have them check marked with all in between?
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
Lee

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Transfer, if you have it set up, will only import new images regardless if they have a check next to them or not.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It's not even available for download, so what's the deal with it?
Windows viewer and my new Nikon are not getting along.
Mar 15, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I asked the same question after being very frustrated that the program would not install from the CD that came with my P-510. Seeing the suggestion to download and install from the Nikon site, I went ahead and did that and it seems to have worked. I am very disappointed that Nikon can't seem to supply software that will install properly with their expensive cameras. Their web support is also not very good. If it weren't for my long time investment in Nikon products I would seriously be looking to swtich to Canon. This will likely be the last Nikon I ever purchase!
Nov 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Use the widows only 2.5.1 and choose windows7- 64 bit;
Oct 7, 2012 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try installing from here: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17938
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
4 Answers

Problems loading up/downloading with ViewNX2

Jul 16, 2012 by
by
Worldtrekker
Cumbria, UK
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'm having awful problems loading ViewNX2 to use with Windows XP and a Nikon S8200. When I connect the camera, it doesn't prompt me to download the photos until I then DISCONNECT the camera, and even when the window does come up, it doesn't give me ANY options as to which programme to use to download. It did briefly let me view the photos that recorded to its internal memory, but it read all the photos on the memory card as MPEGs (despite them being in JPEG format - I know cos I downloaded some via a card reader and they all came up as JPEGs ok), but now it won't read them at all - it doesn't even let me access the camera's internal memory or memory card. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling and rebooting the PC, but it's basically totally unusable. HUGELY frustrating - I've never had this problem with camera software before. Can't even download using any other software.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Worldtrekker
Cumbria, UK
Location : 
Cumbria, UK
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Thanks Nikonstaff. But I don't understand why it reformatted them all as MPEGs? When I finally downloaded using a card reader, it read them all as JPEGs. I hadn't reset anything from the factory settings - this was the first time I connected up to download, with about 250 photos.

This still doesn't explain why I can't access the photos on the camera's internal memory, or now, why the software won't even recognise the camera is connected at all, even though the camera switches on when I connect up using the lead, so power at least is getting through.

I'm not a professional photographer - I'm a serious holiday/leisure photographer and also take around 500+ record photos a month for my work.

(BTW - the link on the notification e-mails you sent me to "see the answer" doesn't work...)
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
Worldtrekker
Cumbria, UK
Location : 
Cumbria, UK
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've downloaded the software off the Nikon site now, and onto a different computer (Windows XP again), but still having the same problem. The software won't even begin to communicate with the camera, it doesn't even recognise the camera is connected to the PC and prompt for a download. The pix on the camera's internal memory is now totally inaccessible - I can't even view it (I briefly could the first time I connected the camera to the PC, but not any more). I eventually downloaded the pix on the memory card using a card reader into the USB port - but surely I shouldn't have to do this with a brand new camera? I'm beginning to think it's the camera rather than the software? This is so frustrating - never had this problem with all the Canon's I've owned. I love using the S8200, but it's not much use if it won't speak to the PC.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
Worldtrekker

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
first of all, have you downloaded the most recent version of ViewNX2 from your country's nikon website? it is continuously being updated to address new camera releases, as well as to implement bug fixes and add new features.

it also seems that you may be aided by the use of a card reader. i shoot at least 25,000 photos a year with my nikons, and i never connect the camera directly to my computers. indeed, many systems now -- desktops and laptops both -- come equipped with internal SD card slots. while not every provides easy access to the card slot, most of them are at least not too hard to access. especially if your computer supports the new fast USB 3.0 standard, it's a big improvement over the camera's data port.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
Hugo First
Richmond, VA
Location : 
Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
MPEG formats use three types of compressed frames, organized in a group of pictures, or GOP, to achieve interframe compression. GOPs are defined by three factors: their pattern of I-, P-, and B-frames, their length, and whether the GOP is “open” or “closed”. Please reset the camera: MENU> SETUP> RESET ALL. Also, verify the settings that you have for Image Mode (see page # 71 of the user's manual) and make sure you are using an approved memory card for the COOLPIX S8200.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
3 Answers

Updates for Nikon ViewNX 2 Software CD

Mar 15, 2011 by
by
JC
CA
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I just purchased a Nikon S3100 for my wife and see it comes with this software. I have two questions:

1. Can I use it to open RAW .nef files that I shoot with my old Coolpix 8700? I lost the original CD that came with the 8700 and cannot view the .nef files on my new desktop.

2. On your website, a number of low ratings came in from users due to problems with this software. Is their a new version that addresses these issues?

Thanks,
JC
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
JC
CA
Location : 
CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, ViewNX 2 will work with you COOLPIX 8700 as well. Instll the software that came with your D3100, or click the link below, and then one of the links on the right for the download of ViewNX 2. (Top link is for Macs& PC's, bottom is for Windows only). This contains Nikon Transfer as well:

http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61#Anchor-1

I would recommend using memory card reader rather than the camera/USB cable connection. The card reader will be much faster trasnfer times.
DB
Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Absolutely
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can view the RAW files of your 8700.

Please download the latest version of Nikon View NX 2:

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
3 Answers

Automatically adjusts compression

May 6, 2011 by
by
Performance Dog Photography
Clearwater, FL
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
While adjusting sharpness, shadow preservation, and brightness in View NX2, I noticed that the JPG image compression was increased reducing the file size. The file size went from 10MB to 3 or 4MB. I didn't notice the compression change til I had edited a lot of images. I had to revert to backups and lost a lot of editing time. Where is the preference setting to leave the image quality at the highest setting when editing images? My camera is a D7000 with images taken at the highest fine image quality.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Performance Dog Photography
Clearwater, FL
Location : 
Clearwater, FL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
We all have this problem with jpeg files and ViewNX. I don't know why Nikon don't want to add such a basic feature in their program. Yes, shoot raw, but what if I don't want to shoot raw? Some of us don't need to shoot raw, but we sometimes need a basic corrections and ViewNX is able to do everything except saving edited jpeg files! It's rediculous, really!

I know if I will save jpeg file over an over again, I will lose some details and quality, but from 10MB to 3MB in one single save after a slight brightness change or just a tiny crop... That is really funny.

So I don't think that your answer about cumulative saves with jpeg files has some point. Just a slight change to jpeg file that has 10MB should not have such an impact on saved file (with just one save it is reduced dramatically - more than three times!). It is just unbelievable that such a basic thing hasn't been fixed for a really long time. Just one slider in options menu to choose default save compression of saved jpeg files and everything would be perfect. The same slider that we can find when we click Export button...
Aug 5, 2012 by
by
Nikola
Slovenia
Location : 
Slovenia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Going by Nikons responce you cannot change the preference for the JPG save quality/compression ratio.

in fact he didnt answer your question at all!
Dec 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape

-8points
0out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful8
Answer: 
JPEG compression quality loss if cumulative, meaning that if you open a JPEG image and edit it (crop, change color, resize, etc.) and resave it as a JPEG mo image quality will be lost. It is a good idea not to repeatedly save as a JPEG. If you're going to edit your pictures a lot it would be a good idea that you start shooting in NEF (RAW). There is more opportunity to edit the file later
May 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
2 Answers

How do I get .mov files to work?

Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Fraggle
South Carolina
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
When trying to use the software to view the movie files I have shot with my 3100 it tells me that the file type .mov is not supported. How do I fix this?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Fraggle
South Carolina
Location : 
South Carolina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
convert your files to another movie file. (AVS video converter)
or get a different editing software that supports those type of files.
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
EUPHORIC PHOTOS
Chewelah Wasthington
Location : 
Chewelah Wasthington
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
View NX 2 support files MOV, AVI, MPEG1 and WMV format movies saved with Nikon applications. Make sure that you have the latest version for View NX 2.

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
ViewNX 2
 
2 Answers

MOV file can not open it

Apr 1, 2011 by
by
Yuko
Detroit
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I bought Nikon S8100 2 weeks ago. I installed viewNX2 to watch the movies that I shot with the camera, and the software shows "unsopported file" when I try to open the files. Please help what is wrong?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Yuko
Detroit
Location : 
Detroit
Age: 35-44
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
ViewNX 2 doesn't support .MOV movie files...check and see what your files are..
there are video converters so that you can edit on ViewNX 2....but might lower quality..
i suggest getting an editing software that supports .MOV files.
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
EUPHORIC PHOTOS
Chewelah,Washington
Location : 
Chewelah,Washington
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have you got the lastest version installed, should be 2.1.2
Apr 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
ViewNX 2
 
2 Answers

How can I get a downloadable User Manual for ViewNX2

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+5points
8out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful3
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-8points
2out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful10
Answer: 
also check http://www.nikondigitutor.com/eng/viewnx2/index.html
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
ManuelC

-12points
1out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful13
Answer: 
Have a search on the Nikon website there might be one on there, though ive had a quick look and cant find one.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
KeithD
6 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX 2
 
2 Answers

VIEW NX2 not responding

May 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Every time I open it, it locks up. I have created a new admin user on my PC as suggested, and downloaded the appliction from the website and it works there, but this is an unsatisfactory solution. All my files are in my original user account. Using Windows XP with SP3
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
ALL I can say is good luck, it takes my computer 30 seconds or so to respond to each click of scrolling through pictures. Maybe it will respond by the 4th of July.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Vic
Knoxville, Tn
Location : 
Knoxville, Tn
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
To do that you need Camera Control Pro.
Jul 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No.
Jul 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
next>>