Loading

Key Features

View, edit, share, select and correct with ease: ViewNX is the ultimate easy, yet powerful, browser from Nikon. With fast viewing of JPEG, TIFF and NEF files, your workflow will speed up with ViewNX.

Integrates easily with Capture NX: One click is all it takes to open selected images within Capture NX. All of your labels are supported.

Quick editing of NEF files: Convert RAW NEF files to JPEG and TIFF formats with ease. You can even adjust white balance and exposure compensation.

ViewNX 2.8 5 25 25
Giving me just what I want! I really like this over iphoto for opening a raw image! October 27, 2010
Much improved Obviously I have not spent much time on it so far. Crop and straighten are good additions it appears much faster to edit NEF, still uses a lot of memory but seems smoother. August 20, 2010
Suits my needs With 5 months into taking photography past the point-n-shoot world, this program is more than suifficient for my needs. It's a decent sorting program (file structure function and viewing panels) and I like the sorting tools, metadata input and relative ease of use. Frankly I've never used any of the editing tools...which I'm sure are great...I do my editing in NX2. As for all the talk of crashing? I have no idea where this is coming from. I'm using V. 1.5.2 and it's been crash free. I've never lost a pic or a pixel to my knowledge. A grand program for free. For those that have higher expectations, have at it with other programs. But for my needs at my experience level, I'm sold on my D90 and the Nikon software. September 21, 2010
Overall Pretty Good - A couple of bugs though Overall I like the new version of ViewNX2 (2.0.1). For me, during the spring & summer at least, I shoot a lot of my son's High School baseball games. So I need a tool that allows me to process several hundred images from each shoot, while at the same time making modest corrections to each (i.e. mostly crop, straighten, and reduce for web posting - I don't otherwise have the time to tweak & adjust every image to absolute perfection in a more advanced editor). So the addition of the crop & straighten tools in 2.0.1 are very welcome, especially because they are available right from the main browser window. I don't have to go into another editor (e.g. Develop in LR3) to access them . The other adjustments that I may occasionally use (sharpness, brightness, etc) are all sufficient for me for these kinds of shoots. One bug that I have found though is with Slideshow - the transitions (e.g. fade, slide, wipe) don't work. I called Nikon tech support and they confirmed this is a bug which will be fixed in the next release. Otherwise, from time to time, the program bombs - a message box comes up with something to the effect of "Nikon ViewNX2 has stopped working....". This happens on both my computers (one w/ Vista, the other with 7-professional). I also have LR3, which is a great program for cataloging/sorting/finding/keywording/etc, but it's much slower at doing the few modest things I need to do - which is basic crop/straighten/reduce for hundreds of baseball images at a time. September 19, 2010
Excellent - almost Great program for reviewing images to edit and/or delete - batch processing... The only problem I have encountered is that sometimes the focus point does not show... July 30, 2010
The bet quality output, poor quality interface and user experience It's amazing how Nikon can make such great cameras but be let down by the crucial editing stage. This software is clunky, ugly, crashes and can be a memory hog/leak, even on a top spec PC. I regularly need to filter from thousands of shots (weddings) to a few hundred. Unfortunately I am forced to use this 90's throwback software interface because Lightroom just can't come close in terms of colours and tone that NX2 gets. Why oh why a huge company like Nikon investing millions in hardware can't spend some petty cash on the software side - mainly the look and feel - is unbelievable. Nikon need to do some very simple market research with it's customers, one to one with a range of users in their own home or work environment with users of this software to work out how to make software flow better. E.g make multiple conversions as simple as 'copy and paste', minimise clicks, stop necessary 'processing - please wait' time etc. Please also re-think why there is a separate 'Picture Control' feature, here and on cameras - pictures should be controlled from the RAW conversion software (contrast, brightness etc), not interfered with by another process designed for those who want to do their edits in-camera. If you only have a few dozen photos to edit at any one time this software is fine. Indeed, the colours and tone are great as I say. But for hundreds of shots I find it actually quicker to do simple RAW conversions from NX2 and then finish (crop, sharpen, add effects like vignettes etc) in Lightroom. December 27, 2012
OK, not quite as good as ViewNX 1 I have been using ViewNX for about a year and decided to try ViewNX 2 to see if it was an improvement. I use this program primarily for selecting publishable images from large collections (e.g., 800 pictures of a game, pick 20 to print). I have never used any of the editing features. After trying ViewNX 2 for a few days, I have gone back to ViewNX 1. I did like the sliding side panels for directory and image information. The category selectors were better, far easier to tell if a picture had a category. However, the user interface didn't improve and got worse. My primary gripe is that there is no (none!) key press to set a tag. You *must* click a button for every tag added. I add a lot of tags which makes this a big problem. It also turns you can no longer use the arrow keys to move between images if you click the category selector. I spend most of my time in ViewNX clicking that and arrowing between pictures. Now I have to navigate over to the "next picture" button and back to the category selectors *on every picture*, rather than just leaving the mouse on my current category. Nikon would do a lot better to focus on usability issues like that rather than slapping in fancy features. October 27, 2010
Conversion problem The program works pretty well thought it does not let me adjust individual color levels and when it converts formats it increases contrast. February 26, 2012
Great when it works ViewNX is great...when/if it works properly. Currently, it has many flaws. For instance, I will be editing photos (NEF) after 5 or 6, ViewNX pops up a message that it cannot understand NEF files. Ironically the RAW file developed by Nikon. Or, when batch processing (tags, setting, etc) it edits a few then stops working. And don't even get me started on it just randomly not saving the files. It would be fine if these problems happened once every blue moon, but no, they occur almost 90% of the time I try to use ViewNX. I decided to finally write this review after having my most recent trouble, ViewNX not even opening even though it was working yesterday (and no, I did not install or change anything to my computer) January 4, 2012
Worked for awhile I thought it was great for a quick edit , but then it started locking up and now it happens more frequently. Have to go into my Task Manger and shut it down in order to use my computer... It could be a good program, just this Locking up just isn't worth using it anymore... August 9, 2011
Pretty Lame Corrupts images when it crashes, which happens way too frequently. Viewing and editing controls are quite clunky. September 9, 2010
There is better to be had Why go cheap and cut down on the real value in images sorting-viewing-software. With PhotoshopCS5-Bridge having expanding capabilities, this is no longer is a useful package. Have a pricey camera? Dont go cheap on software and lose a single pixel of data. September 5, 2010
Bad Software The software is too slow, has very few features, Canon free software is much better and more easy to use. WB tool is very basic and does not allow a very effective color correction, very frustrating trying to make WB corrections using a gray point because it provides no information on the color temperature which is very important to know. I believe that this limitation is made on purpose to force you to buy the software Capture NX. However it is the best software to make the conversion from NEF to jpg. I'm seriously considering buying Canon by the limitations of this software. November 23, 2012
Fast but Color.... This is a very fast software which runs smoothly and it converts RAW files to JPEG very quickly. The problem I have is it has different color from the other photo editing software I have, the Aftershot Pro, Corel Paint Shop Pro, and Photoshop CS5. September 10, 2012
Loosing picture size on simple editing. Own a D7000, and got the software with it. I liked the product, easy to manage my pictures etc. But when I edit a picture, even a simple edit (red eyes, for ex) my pictures loose 75% in size. Could not find anything about that in the help. Could not find an option or preference where it is mention. For example: an original picture of 6.9 Meg become 1,4 Meg after a small horizon correction. Do I loose quality in the picture, what do I loose ???? March 25, 2012
a giant step backward This was their answer to Nikonview after my being "wowed" by Vista.. what a letdown. For most everyday editing, nikon view was the best and simplest photo software I ever used. Hope the person who decided to replace nikon view with this is working for someone else for Nikons' sake. It's total junk.. I deleted it and hope my computer with XP never dies.. to bad I have to give this one star to write the review. not really even worth one star. IMHO February 27, 2012
Terrible It used to work fine on my pc and older mac, it's been crashing right after I try to open it on my newer mac. February 18, 2012
HORRIBLE I thought this was a great program UNTIL it crashed and I lost ALL of my photos. As a photographer I have clients work along with personal work and if I did not have everything backed up to my hard drive or if my mac didnt save all the pictures I would be out 1000+ images. I will NEVER use or trust this software and do not recommend it at all! January 19, 2012
Crashed when selecting any folder with images in it I am running Win 7 x64 Pro SP2 with 4GB Ram and as the title states I cannot even get it to load images without crashing. Not much more to say. I would like to try all the features (I just got my D5100 last week), but that can't happen when it won't load images. January 1, 2012
too slow, too crashy came with the camera, installed, tried, got mad, updated, no improvement, uninstalled. dont want it even for free. its way too slow and crashes often. sometimes hangs even at change of picture control. makes bad name for nikon. fortunately, their hardware is good. better results received with in-camera nef processing. May 31, 2011
Page:2
<<prev
49 Questions | 54 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
49 Questions | 54 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
3 Answers

How do i convert .NEF files to JPEG or GIF using ViewNX? (Both individual files and folders)

May 31, 2011 by
by
Zac
Nashville, TN
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Zac
Nashville, TN
Location : 
Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Select the images you want to convert either one at a time or by pressing ctrl and clicking on each image to select it, or if you want to convert the whole folder press ctrl+a. Once you have made your selection click the convert button at the top on the tool bar, a box will open that you will be able to make adjustments such as image size and quality, also select where you want to save images to and then click OK and let it do its thing.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just select the images you want to convert and then click on the convert button at the top of the tool bar. A box will open with in which you are able to select image quality, size, type, and where to save the converted images to, plus a few other things, once you have made your changes click the ok button and it will do the rest.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
2 Answers

Why does my View NX and Windows Photo viewer freeze when attempting to view my Nikon Photos?

Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Josh
Washington
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have Windows Vista. I use View NX to view my photos taken with the Nikon D3000 camera. The last upload contained about 600 photos. Since then I cannot view the pictures in View NX or using the Windows Photo Viewer. The other uploads contain about 100 photos, so I tried cutting the large upload into several smaller folders, but they wont work. All my previous photos work fine. I just cant view the newer Nikon Photos.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Josh
Washington
Location : 
Washington
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've been struggling for weeks to try and get View NX 1.3.0 (as supplied with my wife's D5000) to work. Reading around the web it seems as if Nikon blame Microsoft and vice versa. However, I noticed that it opens up by default into My Documents/ My Pictures (in XP at least) so I moved all pictures out of that location and HEY Presto, It works!
Jun 11, 2011 by
by
AlanF

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below, in order to download the latest version of Nikon view NX 2 for you to download pictures to your computer:
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
2 Answers

How do I change what email viewnx defaults to.

Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Jeep and Photo Junkie
Illinois
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Right now it wants to use Microsoft outlook. I want it to use Windows mail live. I am running windows 7 64 bit
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Jeep and Photo Junkie
Illinois
Location : 
Illinois
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You have to change the default email client on your os for it to change. Outlook is usually the default but Windows Live Mail, Windows Mail, Outlook Express, Outlook, Thunderbird 3 are also supported by View NX 2
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please download and update from our website the latest version of ViewNX 2. See link below:
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
ViewNX
 
2 Answers

Is viewnx compatible with the D90?

May 31, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
ga
 on ViewNX
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
ga
Location : 
ga
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Works with a D-40 and D-60 so i wold think it would work. I even use it to tweak my wife's point and shoot Canon.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
KorayU
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

How do i get Nikon Transfer Software to not automatically start up when i connect my iphone?

Mar 14, 2011 by
by
alex
los angeles
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I recently purchased a Nikon Camera and istalled the Transfer Software to import picture from my Nikon to my mac book pro. Now every time i plug in my iphone 3gs it opens up the software. I dont wish to use that software for my iphone. How can i disable it?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
alex
los angeles
Location : 
los angeles
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That is a function of your Apple computer.
Connect your iPhone to your computer and open Apples Image Capture application, click on your iPhone and then at the bottom left select what you would like to do when the iPhone is attached.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

Program won't open

Mar 15, 2011 by
by
Suzy
Home
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have had Nikon View on my computer since 2004. All of a sudden, the program will not open- which means I have lost access to some of my files. When I click to open the program, it flashes on the screen, and then flashes off. Please help!
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Suzy
Home
Location : 
Home
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hello Suzy,
First, don't worry about your images, they are still on your hard drive. Nikon View is just a browser, it does not store your images. Open your Windows Explorer to search your drive for them . There are many things that may have happened to change the ability to run Nikon View, this would require soem troubleshooting.
Next, since Nikon View has been discontinued years ago, we would generally recommend bringing you up to the latest free Nikon application that does so much more than Nikon View. This is called View NX 2, and the latest version may be found through the Nikon USA website, or you can call 1-800-645-6687 for help.
Mar 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

D7000 raw file 20MB, NX2 converts to TIFF file 120MB - why so large?

Mar 20, 2011 by
by
hank
NC
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
hank
NC
Location : 
NC
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The TIFF format is larger than RAW format.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

D7000 raw NX2 converts to TIF 120MB and JPEG 10MB - what do i loose in enlargement size ability?

Mar 20, 2011 by
by
hank
NC
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
hank
NC
Location : 
NC
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
JPEG is a compression method, meaning that the decompressed image isn't quite the same as the one you started with.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

Why can some of my NEF format files not be viewed with NX viewer 2?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Juan
South Africa
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Took pictures at a wedding and downloaded the files to PC after, almost 350 pics do not show and when I try to open them I get an error message: "file format not supported"! All pictures were taken with the same Nikon D3100 on the same memory card in RAW format! and it seems like I cannot send you an example because your web upload feature only allows Jpeg and the like and not RAW NEF!!
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years ago
by
Juan
South Africa
Location : 
South Africa
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
If you sending sample images for evaluation please follow link below:

For more assistance attaching images to incidents please see:
http://support.nikontech.com/faqid=...

Also, download the latest version for View NX 2,

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

viewnx 2 opation manual / movie maker

Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How do I down load the oparation manual for the viewnx 2, and how to edit and make a movie with sound.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just open the software and go to help. There you will find all the instructions.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>