Loading
;

Key Features

View, edit, share, select and correct with ease: ViewNX is the ultimate easy, yet powerful, browser from Nikon. With fast viewing of JPEG, TIFF and NEF files, your workflow will speed up with ViewNX.

Integrates easily with Capture NX: One click is all it takes to open selected images within Capture NX. All of your labels are supported.

Quick editing of NEF files: Convert RAW NEF files to JPEG and TIFF formats with ease. You can even adjust white balance and exposure compensation.

ViewNX 2.8 5 25 25
ViewNX original is excellent, version 2 maybe not There are two DIFFERENT products being lumped in these reviews -- ViewNX (the original version), and ViewNX 2. Note that the reviews for version 1 are mostly excellent and the reviews for version 2 are mostly terrible. I have used ViewNX (the original) for years now and it is my favorite utility for viewing, sorting, categorizing and rating photos. It's extremely fast (much faster than Picasa, for example# and its design is just about ideal for the task. I find it intuitive, and it does exactly what I need without being weighted down with unnecessary features. I haven't used it much for editing raw files, so I can't comment on that aspect of the program. The Nikon Transfer program that came with ViewNX is equally simple, fast and cleanly designed. One thing I particularly like is that ViewNX doesn't mess with file directories. You can rearrange your photos with a file manager, for example, and ViewNX usually takes it in stride, unlike other programs that try to guess what you want and #having guessed wrong) then make things worse by obfuscating information about where files actually live. It seems from the other reviews that version 2 was a bad "upgrade," glitchy and slow and poorly designed, but I highly recommend version 1. June 29, 2013
Best for Nikon RAW images Adobe bundles are just smoking in the corner, when this thing is making first step in photo editing from RAW to JPEG, best sharpnes details on the photos, when in adobe converter you will get artifacts, here you'll get best quality. Ease of use, you know what you'll do and if you do right, picture will be juicy, colourfull and sharp. July 3, 2012
Great easy to use and powerful program What a great little program, does exactly what you need it to do and can help recover some not so good photos if you are shooting in RAW and happen to have left you camera on the wrong setting. April 19, 2012
Great review tool I love how easy ViewNX2 works on my Windows 7 with Intel Core i7 with a 120GB SSD. (Solid State HD). I love the ability to assign ratings 1 through 9 and Categories 1-5 as I look at 1,000's of images. I frequently ask the client to use ViewNX2 when they review their images. I ask the client to assign the ratings. Then I filter the rating and copy the best images for the client. The filter is outstanding. I have not had any of the crashes or slowdowns that other users have complained about. I don't use ViewNX2 for editing. I use the delete key; if it is not good in the camera then I didn't do a good job. Smile. I use Photoshop CS5 for editing and Portrait Professional, Ver. 10 for editing faces and skin. I love when I shoot NEF and JPG that ViewNX2 will assign the ratings to both the NEF (RAW) image and to the JPG image at the same time. Nikon, thank you for making my live easier! Love your products. October 27, 2011
Great program I have used the original and View NX2 and I love them both. I never had any experience with them locking up or crashing, and I was running them on an older,slower computer with 500megs of ram. I dont do batch processing , but for single photoes I'v never had an issue. June 3, 2011
Page: 2
next>>
51 Questions | 57 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
51 Questions | 57 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
3 Answers

How do i convert .NEF files to JPEG or GIF using ViewNX? (Both individual files and folders)

May 31, 2011 by
by
Zac
Nashville, TN
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
Zac
Nashville, TN
Location : 
Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Select the images you want to convert either one at a time or by pressing ctrl and clicking on each image to select it, or if you want to convert the whole folder press ctrl+a. Once you have made your selection click the convert button at the top on the tool bar, a box will open that you will be able to make adjustments such as image size and quality, also select where you want to save images to and then click OK and let it do its thing.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just select the images you want to convert and then click on the convert button at the top of the tool bar. A box will open with in which you are able to select image quality, size, type, and where to save the converted images to, plus a few other things, once you have made your changes click the ok button and it will do the rest.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
2 Answers

Why does my View NX and Windows Photo viewer freeze when attempting to view my Nikon Photos?

Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Josh
Washington
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have Windows Vista. I use View NX to view my photos taken with the Nikon D3000 camera. The last upload contained about 600 photos. Since then I cannot view the pictures in View NX or using the Windows Photo Viewer. The other uploads contain about 100 photos, so I tried cutting the large upload into several smaller folders, but they wont work. All my previous photos work fine. I just cant view the newer Nikon Photos.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Josh
Washington
Location : 
Washington
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've been struggling for weeks to try and get View NX 1.3.0 (as supplied with my wife's D5000) to work. Reading around the web it seems as if Nikon blame Microsoft and vice versa. However, I noticed that it opens up by default into My Documents/ My Pictures (in XP at least) so I moved all pictures out of that location and HEY Presto, It works!
Jun 11, 2011 by
by
AlanF

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below, in order to download the latest version of Nikon view NX 2 for you to download pictures to your computer:
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
ViewNX
 
2 Answers

Is viewnx compatible with the D90?

May 31, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
ga
 on ViewNX
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
ga
Location : 
ga
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Works with a D-40 and D-60 so i wold think it would work. I even use it to tweak my wife's point and shoot Canon.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
KorayU
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
2 Answers

How do I change what email viewnx defaults to.

Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Jeep and Photo Junkie
Illinois
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Right now it wants to use Microsoft outlook. I want it to use Windows mail live. I am running windows 7 64 bit
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Jeep and Photo Junkie
Illinois
Location : 
Illinois
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You have to change the default email client on your os for it to change. Outlook is usually the default but Windows Live Mail, Windows Mail, Outlook Express, Outlook, Thunderbird 3 are also supported by View NX 2
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please download and update from our website the latest version of ViewNX 2. See link below:
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
ViewNX
 
2 Answers

I have View NX installed on my laptop running on Windows 8.1 and it crashes a lot

Apr 21, 2014 by
by
Cesarq
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
 on ViewNX
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I click on the program and starts opening and it freezes there for hours. How can I fix this???
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Cesarq
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Location : 
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yould should be running View NX2 not View NX, you can download it here. Make sure you choose the correct version either 32 bit or 64 bit .
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18916
Apr 21, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you have the latest version installed, should be 2.9.2
Apr 21, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

How do i get Nikon Transfer Software to not automatically start up when i connect my iphone?

Mar 14, 2011 by
by
alex
los angeles
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I recently purchased a Nikon Camera and istalled the Transfer Software to import picture from my Nikon to my mac book pro. Now every time i plug in my iphone 3gs it opens up the software. I dont wish to use that software for my iphone. How can i disable it?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
alex
los angeles
Location : 
los angeles
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That is a function of your Apple computer.
Connect your iPhone to your computer and open Apples Image Capture application, click on your iPhone and then at the bottom left select what you would like to do when the iPhone is attached.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

Program won't open

Mar 15, 2011 by
by
Suzy
Home
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have had Nikon View on my computer since 2004. All of a sudden, the program will not open- which means I have lost access to some of my files. When I click to open the program, it flashes on the screen, and then flashes off. Please help!
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Suzy
Home
Location : 
Home
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hello Suzy,
First, don't worry about your images, they are still on your hard drive. Nikon View is just a browser, it does not store your images. Open your Windows Explorer to search your drive for them . There are many things that may have happened to change the ability to run Nikon View, this would require soem troubleshooting.
Next, since Nikon View has been discontinued years ago, we would generally recommend bringing you up to the latest free Nikon application that does so much more than Nikon View. This is called View NX 2, and the latest version may be found through the Nikon USA website, or you can call 1-800-645-6687 for help.
Mar 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

D7000 raw file 20MB, NX2 converts to TIFF file 120MB - why so large?

Mar 20, 2011 by
by
hank
NC
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
hank
NC
Location : 
NC
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The TIFF format is larger than RAW format.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

D7000 raw NX2 converts to TIF 120MB and JPEG 10MB - what do i loose in enlargement size ability?

Mar 20, 2011 by
by
hank
NC
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
hank
NC
Location : 
NC
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
JPEG is a compression method, meaning that the decompressed image isn't quite the same as the one you started with.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
ViewNX
 
1 answer

Why can some of my NEF format files not be viewed with NX viewer 2?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Juan
South Africa
 on ViewNX
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Took pictures at a wedding and downloaded the files to PC after, almost 350 pics do not show and when I try to open them I get an error message: "file format not supported"! All pictures were taken with the same Nikon D3100 on the same memory card in RAW format! and it seems like I cannot send you an example because your web upload feature only allows Jpeg and the like and not RAW NEF!!
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Juan
South Africa
Location : 
South Africa
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
If you sending sample images for evaluation please follow link below:

For more assistance attaching images to incidents please see:
http://support.nikontech.com/faqid=...

Also, download the latest version for View NX 2,

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>