Loading

Key Features

Color Control Points: Enhancements for hue, brightness and saturation are as simple as placing a Color Control Point on your image, then adjusting the length of the sliders. For example, Color Control Points are remarkably convenient for changing the color of flowers for better effect against green surrounding foliage. Take a dull gray sky and add blue to change the mood of a captured scene.

Auto-Retouch Brush: Capture NX 2 adds an automatic retouch tool to its image editing toolbox allowing users to seamlessly remove blemishes, dust and other distracting elements from photographs while maintaining the integrity of the image.

Redesigned Interface includes:

  • Customized Workspaces
  • Improved Toolbar function and layout
  • Improved Edit List functionality
  • Newly designed image browser featuring a Favorites Folder
  • Improved Image Resolution adjustments

Features continuing from Capture NX version 1.x include:

  • Color Control Points (improved operation)
  • Black/White/Neutral Control Points (improved layout)
  • Color management control with Soft Proofing
  • Color Aberration Control, D-Lighting (High Speed/High Quality), Image Dust Off, Vignette Control and Fisheye-to-Rectilinear Image Transformation
  • Noise Reduction: global or selective adjustments
  • Distortion Control - reduces pincushion and barrel distortion effects
  • Color Booster
  • Color Balance
  • Contrast/Brightness
  • Saturation/Warmth
  • Photo Enhance (for toning, sepia, black and white)
  • Levels/Curves Editor, LCH Editor, Auto Levels
  • Unsharp Mask, Gaussian Blur, High Pass Filter
  • Add Grain/Noise
  • Contrast: Color Range
  • Colorize
  • Black-and-White Conversion
  • Straighten and Crop Tools
  • Full support for Picture Control (camera and software-based function)

U Point® is a registered trademark of Nik Software, Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.

Products and brand names are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies.

Selection Control Points: Now you can selectively edit photographs without the need to manually outline or mask the area for editing. Simply place a Selection Control Point anywhere on the photograph then choose from almost any adjustment such as D-Lighting, Unsharp Mask or Noise Reduction, while limiting the “reach” of that adjustment to just the selected area.

Shadow/Highlight Adjustment: With just a simple slider adjustment you can easily open up shadows or recover blown-out highlights. Highlight recovery is most effective for RAW (NEF) files however it will work with JPEG and TIFF files as well.

Capture NX 2 features award-winning U Point® technology for precision selection and application of enhancements without complicated selections or layer masks. Designed to closely match the way photographers work with their images, Capture NX 2 is easy to learn and creates the highest quality results.

Capture NX 2 provides the highest quality RAW (NEF) conversions from your Nikon camera and fully integrates with all Nikon software including Camera Control Pro 2, Image Authentication Software, Transfer and ViewNX.

Capture NX 2 3 5 64 64
powerful program I have been using Nikon Capture since version 1.0. Since then Nikon Capture NX2 has been like a third hand for me. The processing of RAW NEF captures is phenomenal to be fair explaining the many features of this software would take a novel. If were to choose the features that I feel are the foundation of this program the Set Grey Point under Camera settings and the Color Control Point would have to be at the top of this very long list. Holding the history of the processing is such an important feature of this program. For another feature is the Nik Color Effects program as an added tool. Most of the other Nik features are within NX2. September 22, 2011
Makes it easy to edit photos There are some cool features to Capture NX2 that make it easy to turn a goof phot into a great one and repair some things a novice sometimes does. September 12, 2011
Capture N X 2 I think this is a wonderful product, and it does everything that I need it to do. It is the only product that I use for processing all my images. There is nothing I can say bad about this July 28, 2011
Simple to use; chockfull of features; great result Love the way quick fix handles the light and dark. I owned some other products that I haven't gone back to since I've had nx2. Maybe I haven't learned how but copy and paste feature is difficult to use. April 14, 2011
Superior Image Quality I believe NX2 is grossly underrated by many of the reviewers. I have been using Nikon Capture software for several years as the first, and often, the only stop in my workflow. And I have edited untold thousands of images with different versions of NX. NX2 is simply amazing in its versatility and feature set when working with RAW files, and produces the best image quality, by far, as compared to the best pro-level editors. It is true, however, that it is resource hungry, often creating huge temporary files and devouring cache (particularly when working with 14 bit images), but what should we expect from a non-destructive editor? Of course, it will call for significant resources and processing power, so don't expect NX2 to run well on a dinosaur. And be aware that it is rich in features that do not jump up and announce themselves. To get the most from it, you must be willing to poke around and experiment--to invest the time necessary to learn how to use it effectively. So, if you are looking for quick-fix buttons that correct everything with one click, you need to keep shopping. If I could give NX2 4.5 stars, I would do so only because it does crash occasionally under Window 7 and it has a few relatively minor bugs, though they are easily worked around. On the other hand, Nikon technical support has been excellent the few times I've called for help. Bottom line, NX2 is a professional level editor that can significantly enhance image quality, particularly when working with RAW images. March 24, 2011
A Pleasant Surprise I started using Capture NX a few years ago and upgraded to NX2 along the way. There was some flakiness early on, but I must say the latest version (2.2.6) is very stable and bug-free on my aging 32-bit Win XP box. (Can't vouch for other platforms.) It's reasonably fast, if not zippy, with a Core2Quad processor, and it even runs well enough on my Core2Duo notebook that it does occasional duty there when I go mobile. I started using Capture NX/NX2 to avail myself of the proprietary Nikon stuff (lens corrections, Active-D Lighting), but as my comfort level with the program grew, it has evolved into my RAW processor of choice. The control points thing is actually quite impressive. I rarely, if ever, fire up ACR any more, and when I buy a new Nikon DSLR down the road, I'll be very happy to not have to buy the latest version of Photoshop/Lightroom just to have native camera support. That assumes, of course, that Capture NX2 will continue to be developed and that any upgrade (e.g. to NX3) will be reasonably priced. I, for one, will be hoping for that to be the case. March 23, 2011
Simply Amazing! I Just want to update this review section, For those that are worried that the Capture NX2 will not run on windows 7. It runs perfect on Windows 7 64 bit operating systems due to the WOW 64 program in Windows 7. The only thing is you might feel it a bit slow due to the fact this program is written in 32 bit. Meaning that you will only be able to access 2gig's of ram verses the 4+ gig's of ram you could if it where written in a 64 bit code. If you are running quick fix's in large batches the ViewNX2 program does that very well, Capture NX2 is a little clunky at it. The absolute power of this program comes into play with the Control Points and the Auto Retouch brush for the beginners out there and for the advanced photographers the NEF RAW capabilities are better I think then Photo Shop or Lightroom 3. With the new updates to the program it will now support the RAW files from the D7000. This program will take a good picture and turn it into an amazing picture without a massive amount of work involved. December 26, 2010
The Control points are fantastic I use this product on a regular basis. I find the control point feature fantastic. As I migrate to Windows 7 I really hope Nikon moves forward as well. July 24, 2010
Realmente Util Software que apresenta ferramenta completas e eficientes no tratamento da fotografia , apresentado excelente resultado pelo seu valor de aquisição, permitindo ter uma ferramenta util por uma relação custo beneficios muito bom . A ferramenta UPoint realmente abre um horizonte muito criativo no tratamento das imagens. October 26, 2012
Software que merece ser usado Excelente para uso rápido de edições de fotos, esse software pode não ser tão espetacular quanto um Photoshop Elements 10 ou mesmo um CS6, mas merece ser explorado pois permite muitos ajustes nas fotos. Mesmo em inglês, é fácil compreender pois os comando são um tanto intuitivos e os resultados muito satisfatórios. Recomendo como um passo inicial antes de partirmos para programas mais pesados e elaborados, usados por profissionais. August 14, 2012
After this, I just shoot NEF! Although the interface is not so much clear, the results are excellent! November 25, 2012
It does not cover all the functions in View NX I wish the following features from View NX2 are incorporated into Capture NX2, so that I can just use one app: 1. Slideshow 2. Jpeg convertor with image sizes changeable (In Capture NX2 you can use "batch process" convert pictures into Jpeg, but you do not have control on the image size) June 25, 2012
Needs an upgrade that allows PlugIns Great Software "But" its about time Nikon/Nik updates it to say Capture NX3. An upgrade should allow plugins for other vendor packages such as Niks HDR Pro. Most all other popular Raw Conversion software allows plugins. Other than that, its a great package! May 4, 2012
Works great. Needs Updating Capture NX2 version 2.3.1 works great with Mac OS 10.7.3 (Lion) in 64 bit mode. A recent update of Nik Color Efex Pro 3 works also works in 64 bit mode. Capture NX2 needs a few tweaks to make it a 5 star app.    1. Have Nik Software & Nikon work together so all Nik Software plug-ins work in NX2.    2. Make it able to easily change the order the adjustment tools are applied. February 25, 2012
Good product but one needs experience I use NX2 and Photoshop 5.0 and I can say that both programs have they pro and cons. In order to be able to use them in the most effective way one has to study them. I like to use NX2 for portrait shots and studio fashion shots that need a few adjustments. The main reason for this that these simple adjustments are easy to do. Now I am shooting most photos in NEF and Photoshop has also a beautiful interface which I love to use for Landscape photography. I like also to do photo collages which is definitely better with Photoshop. On the other hand I like in NX2 for creating selective B/W, gradient features in blurring, coloring... November 10, 2011
Very good - But..... I've been using Capture and Capture NX2 since the early days. Capture handles 99% of my editing needs. View NX2 has developed into a capable program, but when I need a detailed edit of a photo for a gallery or for sale, Capture is my primary tool. It's quick and highly functional. This tool is best for editing a few images - not large volumes. You can apply batch controls, but the strength is with selective editing of a few images. The method of making all edits reversible and support for versions makes this a very efficient tool with data and avoids multiple copies of files. For Nikon cameras, Capture and View are the most accurate tools to render NEF images based on camera settings. They use the actual camera settings - not an interpretation of those settings like Adobe programs. The Develop section provides the ability to change most camera settings during post processing. IT's a great way to correct white balance, tweak exposure, or test alternate camera settings including picture controls. The U point technology from Nik provides incredible selective editing capabilities. Virtually every editing step can be applied just to the areas you choose without worrying with masks or complicated editing. The disadvantages are limited. There is no real clone tool - just a healing brush. It's fine for dust spots or removing a power line, but won't easily remove a billboard or clump of branches. IT can be a bit buggy at times. I don't have this problem, but have seen it. New versions are better. And you only want to have one image at a time open. I'm using it on XP, Vista, and Windows 7 64 bit machines without issues. Ideally you want 8GB of RAM or more. The biggest risk is the relationship with Nik. Nik Software is the provider of U-point controls and many of the other enhancements. They make other top products and are a software company. Apparently there is a falling out between Nik and Nikon. Whether related or not, Capture NX3 has not been released and CNX2 is beginning to lag alternatives. If Nik is not involved in the next release or decreases involvement, I will probably grudgingly move to away from the product. September 9, 2011
Great for Nikon photographers, with some drawbacks I've been using Capture NX 2 for a couple of years now with a couple of different camera bodies, and for the most part I'm pretty pleased with it. I love the way it's designed to work with NEFs: it's wonderful to be able to further tweak your in-camera settings such as Active D-Lighting and Picture Control. Copying adjustments and pasting them to other images is a hugely time-saving feature as well. However, there are several improvements that need to be made: 1. We need a magic wand tool. Dropping control points is great, but sometimes you just need a magic wand, y'know? 2. Memory leaks need to be plugged. 3. I'm waiting on a 64-bit version (perhaps Capture NX 3 will come along soon?), though the program does work in 32-bit mode. 4. The edit list is good, but if I'm on my fifth edit and I want to go back and tweak the contrast under Quick Fix, Capture needs to be able to do that without un-applying my five edits. It is difficult to efficiently make adjustments to previous edits when it un-applies the edits that appear later in the list. This makes me guess over and over, having to adjust, then re-apply my settings again and again, until I have it right. And finally, the white balance tool needs to match up the way we select white balance in-camera. I HATE the way white balance is handled in Capture NX 2: you cannot directly modify an as-shot white balance. If I want to nudge an as-shot white balance a couple of degrees, I can't do it. This is not such a huge deal if you shot everything at, say, 5560K or Incandescent (or any other setting that you can plug directly into the dialogue box), but if you adjusted/trimmed your white balance using the 6x6 grid (e.g. Daylight A3) or made your own preset with a gray card, you will not able able to fine-tune that setting in Capture. You'll have to choose another setting, such as "Calculate automatically" or apply another setting, such as Daylight, and fine-tune that setting. Honestly, this is infinitely frustrating and is almost enough to make me flee to Lightroom. That said, I still think that this is a valuable program. You don't always have time to set things like Active D-Lighting properly -- and then review each image you take -- when you're shooting, and being able to directly manipulate the same options that you set in your camera is invaluable. It's the whole point of RAW. The price tag is much easier to swallow than other industry-standard software, too. I am definitely hoping that the next version of Capture keeps all of these great things but improves upon the few, but significant, shortcomings of Capture NX 2. June 4, 2011
Good but Could Be Great! This software is good or even close to great. It is one of better photo software programs out there to work on photos, especially the control points. Love the add on of the Nik Color Efex Pro 3 to Capture NX2. What would make this software great, would be the ability to add the other NIK software to Capture NX 2. I know they have parts of the software built into to it, but it would be much greater if we could load the Nik Dfine, Viveza, Sharpener Pro, Silver, and HDR as plugins to this software instead or have them built in or added/sequenced as in the same capability where it loads itself in sequence of using/processing the software as recommended by NIK Software Co.. All this aside, I highly recommend this software. Have been able to clean up many photos I thought were lost. April 23, 2011
Almost Perfect I own; NX2, Lightroom 3, CS5, and all of NIK Software Plugins. NX2 is by my choice for fast processing of images!! It gets you editing fast. Anyone who says it is SLOW is misguided. Side by Side with Lightroom 3 NX2 is simply faster. It loads images faster and applies filters within NX2 not a pop up. With the NIK software Efex Pro filters plugin nothing comes close to NX2. NX2 is a solid 4 star. Improvements: A image database. October 18, 2010
Impressive! but.. Pros: The U-Point technology is really really great. Non-destructive editing. Cons. I view my images in ViewNX 2 and edit it in CaptureNX 2 afterwards. But, when i view the edited image in ViewNX 2 again, the "Raw" button(top left of the window app.) is greyed-out and won't give me the same results that i've made (sharpness, contrast, etc) in CaptureNX 2. Slow. Crashes sometimes. September 26, 2010
Excellent results Excellent technology, delivers outstanding results, I only shoot RAW and use it almost every day. u-point is the best, amazing results This is my first program with this capabilities, very decently priced , for what I do - Improve my photos with no additional creative elements added - I do not need anything else. If adding a frame or some text i use an open source alternative. I tried the plugins like viveza, it makes your life easier and works with u-point making it incredibly powerful. Cons ? SLOW to save SLOW to process for batch processing, converting to JPG say a 100 NEF files takes 20 minutes, my machine has 4gb of ram and solid sate disk and a decent processor, nx2 makes it fell like an ancient machine. IT CRASHES right when you have done a bunch of edits and have not saved the file. Using the plugins like viveza adds a lot of function, but also added A LOT of unexpected crashing so I uninstalled the plugins. August 20, 2010
etonnant par sa simplicite J'utilise, maintenant, Capture NX2 depuis près d'un an. Un excellent logiciel pour sa simplicité d'execution à un prix tres abordable. November 8, 2012
Needs improvement on performance. According to the PC requirements on the box to run this program, seems like almost any computer will run it. I work with RAW files from my D7000, P7100 and D3000. No matter which ones I edit, the software has slow performance “bursts” like it tries to save any adjustment you perform on the image. This makes the computer very slow to the point that you almost cannot move your mouse cursor for a few seconds, at first it might don’t bother you, but if you start editing several images in one session, it really gets annoying. I don’t think is a computer issue, my computer runs the latest games pretty decent. I have a Dell XPSL702X, 64bit, Windows 7 Home premium, Intel Core i5 2.3GHz with 8GB of RAM, and 3D capable with Nvidia Graphics. I just think that if this software needs more power to run it, it should say so in the requirements. I hope this issue could get resolved on next updates, I really like it. March 18, 2013
No D600 support? the support for D600 is not working, I have updated to ver. 2.3 but still unable to read NEF for D600?? November 18, 2012
Wonderful program but seriously in need of an update Editing in raw format with U-point technology and nondestructively is the way to go for those of us who shoot with Nikon equipment. However, as others have noted, this program is seriously in need of an update, especially to take advantage of the improvements and new plug-ins developed by Nik Software (e.g., Color Efex Pro 4.0, HDR Efex Pro, Silver Efex Pro 2.0). To take advantage of these now, I am editing tifs and jpgs in Photoshop, which is a pain. July 8, 2012
Update a step backward I love NX2, and as a magazine photo editor and a photojournalist I have used it for years. But the latest version--2.3.1--has a glitch. You cannot save an image to an external hard drive directly from the program. You have to first save it to your desktop, then copy it to the external hard drive. Most inconvenient and time consuming. April 7, 2012
Needs update The software's been out there for a while and doesn't support Windows 64 bit. It's also extremely difficult to convert from 14-bit RAW into 8-bit JPEG and get the same colors. There is always a shift in reds and blues that make batch conversion a hit or miss. This software is a collaboration with NIK Software and works great with NIK's rather expensive filters. I think it is still about time to update the software! November 8, 2011
Nice for working NEFs, but dated and buggy It's nice to be able to play with the camera settings after the fact and do non-destructive edits to NEF files, and NX2 has some nice features (I like "Straighten" and "Distortion control'). Although I do wish it had "Skew" and a "Clone" tool like you-know-who. Also, I find the user interface dated. What I really don't like is the fact that it is a rare session where NX2 does NOT hang and need to be killed with Task Manager, or where it will not open a NEF I have clicked to open (although Task Manager shows it to be churning somewhere in the background). I have even succeeded in these situations to have two instances of NX2 running at the same time--again per Task Manager. Memory leaks? This is just not acceptable coding for 2011. P.S. I am running Windows 7 with an Intel Core 2 Duo at 2.66GHz, with 4 GB RAM on a 32 bit system. September 4, 2011
Great potential, but lacks stability I love the features of this product. Works great with the NEF files that are created with my D90 and I can make lots of nice adjustments to make my pictures look as perfect as can be. That being said, it is frustrating using this software. I can barely make it editing 2-3 photos (one after the other) when the software seems to get stuck and I have to force close it or it crashes on it's own. The machine I have no slouch (i7 overclocked to 3.8Ghz with 8GB of RAM and an equally powerful video card) so I'm pretty certain it's the software. I keep waiting for an update to "fix" this problem. At this point I'm not looking for more features, just a stable product that I can use and rely upon. June 13, 2011
Great concept which deserves further improvements After using CaptureNX2 for about 1 year I think it is a good product but could be much better. The program runs on a 64Bit Windows 7 without problems worthy of mention. (Some stability issues were solved after the last update.) What's really good about CaptureNX2 is that you can work on raw images without intermediate steps and files. It's easy to use and has some powerful features which all support the general usage concept. This really could be a great product if - it wouldn't be so slow (it's painfully slow even on a high end pc) - there were more addons available - the handling of versions would be more powerful - it would be more workflow oriented May 19, 2011
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
126 Questions | 150 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
126 Questions | 150 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Capture NX 2
 
4 Answers

How do I convert my NEF raw photos back to jpg?

Jul 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Winston Salem
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I just want to make sure I can go back and fourth with this so I can download onto cds and facebook and so on. I am new to NX2 and using raw photos.

Thank you
Amber
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Winston Salem
Location : 
Winston Salem
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Capture NX 2 should allow you to open a NEF file from the new Nikon D3200 SLR, but apparently the current version of Capture NX 2, version 2.3.1, cannot open a NEF file from the D3200. Hopefully the next version of Capture NX 2 will have that capability added in. In the meantime, I am using DxO Optics Pro 7.5.1 build 401 to open and process the NEF files from my D3200. A trial version of DxO Optics Pro 7 is fully functional for one month. I am not associated with DxO and I am only a satisfied user of the product. I don't understand why Capture NX 2 does not support the D3200. Hopefully, it will soon, and then I will buy Capture NX 2.
Jul 11, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
There is no need to make a duplicate as both methods will not alter the original raw file.
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Make a duplicate and play with this
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can edit and save files as a jpeg, do what ever ajustments you want to do and then click edit - save as and in the file type select jpeg and then save. Or you can run a batch process by clicking on the Batch tab and then when the pop up box opens make whatever changes you need and then click ok to run the batch.
If you want to do a quick conversion I would use ViewNX2 as it is much easier to select which images you want to convert, you can either select the whole folder, or by pressing control and clicking on an image, select individual pictures and then click on the convert button at the top, change the relevent options to suit and click ok. This sounds more complicated than it actually is, give either method a try and use which ever you find easiest.
Jul 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
guido
dubai
Location : 
dubai
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I made the mistake of purchasing Capture NX2 without researching it, Im running MAC OS 10.9.1 and it crashes on setup. Very unfortunate I was looking forward to using it, heard many good this about it, wasted a lot of money.
Jan 5, 2014 by
by
stillbill1042
California
Location : 
California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Nikon announced plans to test this possibility over six months ago. For heaven's sake, how long does it take to make the test? Many of Mac users are moving to Lion and are anxious to know.

I can't afford the full Photoshop, but Elements is looking very appealing.
Mar 6, 2012 by
by
Dedicated non-professional
Salt Lake City, Utah area
Location : 
Salt Lake City, Utah area
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Maybe yes, read here -->> https://nikoneurope-en.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/50047
Jul 24, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Capture NX 2
 
2 Answers

Is NX2 compatible with MAC OS 10.6.7?

Mar 30, 2011 by
by
Jim
Virginia
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
None.
3 years ago
by
Jim
Virginia
Location : 
Virginia
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am using MAC OS 10.6.8 and NX2 is working great. Check for OS 10.6.8 Software update.
Wolf
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
Wolf
Lebanon, Oregon
Location : 
Lebanon, Oregon
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
We have been using the latest version of Capture NX2 (2.2.6) on MAC OS 10.6.7 and it’s been running without problems.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Capture NX 2
 
2 Answers

My product is not able to open my NEF files. why?

May 21, 2011 by
by
Clint
Liberty Texas
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
after I down load raw pictures onto my computer, then open CNX2, I'd double click on a picture, and get a warning message saying "cannot load file"
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Clint
Liberty Texas
Location : 
Liberty Texas
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
If you are trying to "open file in browser, it might be that you only have JPEG checked off. Check it to make sure that you want to view NEF files.
May 29, 2011 by
by
Prophotoman
Oakdale, CA
Location : 
Oakdale, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
Answer: 
Make sure you have the latest version installed which should be 2.2.7
May 21, 2011 by
by
KeithD
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Capture NX 2
 
2 Answers

NX2 Cannot Open File

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
jsm1963
San Pedro, CA
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I'm trying to use NX2, version 2.2.6, with NEF files created in my new D5100. Every time I try to open one of the NEF files it says "cannot load file." Someone in the forum suggested a newer version, but when I check for updates, it says there are none. I tried batch processing one of the files, but it still wouldn't open the new file.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
jsm1963
San Pedro, CA
Location : 
San Pedro, CA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Dont use the updater, download it directly from the Nikon website.
Jul 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
You need to have version 2.2.7 installed which is the lateset, adds support for the D5100.
Jul 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Capture NX 2
 
2 Answers

Will Caprure NX2 be compatible with Mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

Jul 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
Read Nikon Euro-->> https://nikoneurope-en.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/50047
Jul 24, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

-24points
0out of 24found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful24
Answer: 
Thanks for your question about Nikon products. Unfortunately we cannot speculate about future updates until official information is announced on our web site: www.nikonusa.com.
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
10 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Capture NX 2
 
2 Answers

recover the serial number Capture nx2

Aug 19, 2011 by
by
Bob
Ohio
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I need to move the program to a new computer but can not find the key or serial number. Is there a way to recover it?
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Bob
Ohio
Location : 
Ohio
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Contact Nikon USA @ www.nikonusa.com
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you registered it online then the serial will be there. Or if open NX2 up in the pc you are currently using click on the about tab and a pop up window will appear with the serial showing at the bottom. Failing that email Nikon directly for their advice.
Aug 19, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Capture NX 2
 
2 Answers

I lost the prodict registration key for Capture NX2 - I need to re-install

Sep 5, 2011 by
by
mark
usa
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I lost the product registration key - I keep all my CDs/DVDs in a binder, but forgot to put the cd holder with the product registration key with it. I need to reinstall the program.
I believe I did register the SW.
My Nikon only shows the current HW not SW.

Please advise
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
mark
usa
Location : 
usa
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Contact customer service. They should be able to help. If you can provide the receipt or the name of the original seller, it should be easy.

There are a number of online sellers of counterfeit products. If you bought from those sources, you will need to buy a new version.

For future reference, register you product ID on My Nikon. And keep old versions if you ever upgrade.
Sep 9, 2011 by
by
EricB
Atlanta
Location : 
Atlanta
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Capture NX 2
 
2 Answers

exporting photos in capture nx 2 trial version

Feb 22, 2012 by
by
geo
Lewistown, PA 17044, USA
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Do I need nikon transfer to export photos in recent version or trail version of nikons capturenx 2?
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
geo
Lewistown, PA 17044, USA
Location : 
Lewistown, PA 17044, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon Transfer is only for importing your images from your camera or memory card reader attached to your computer.

Nikon Transfer do not do any exporting of images from Capture NX 2.

Hope this helps.

Paul K
Apr 16, 2012 by
by
Paul K
So. Cal, USA
Location : 
So. Cal, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No need to export photos into Capture NX 2. Just transfer the photos to your computer and then open them in Capture NX 2.
Feb 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Capture NX 2
 
2 Answers

NX2 performance under Windows 7 64 bits

Mar 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Neuville-En-Condroz, 4121 Neupré, Belgium
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I use now WindowsXP 32 bits with 3GB ram. If I upgrade to Windows 7 64 bits with 8 GB ram, will NX2 run faster, knowing NX2 will run in 32 bits i.e will I be able to get benefit of the additionnal 5 GB ram ?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Neuville-En-Condroz, 4121 Neupré, Belgium
Location : 
Neuville-En-Condroz, 4121 Neupré, Belgium
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
From my experience, unless the upgrade to W7x64 is accompanied by upgrading your hardware to ALL modern components you will not notice much difference. Oh, and as of version 2.3.0 the Capture NX 2 software does run as a native 64 bit application (can download the installer from Nikon's website) and so will be able to access much more RAM than most consumer motherboards can be stuffed with.

However, with modern hardware, and careful attention to using quality components to build it, everything else will be fast enough to really let the 8GB RAM be utilized. (note: unless you are working with very large NEF files, making many changes, and keeping several NEF files open at the same time, there is a good chance you will not consume more than 1 or 2 GB of RAM)

Remember, computer systems are complete SYSTEMS. Even more so than photography, performance of software can be handicapped by just one part being a bottleneck. Also, 64 bit OS and software does NOT mean faster, but it does allow you to address more RAM natively.

Hope this helps and I wasn't too long winded. :) Cheers!
Mar 22, 2012 by
by
kammera
New Mexico, USA
Location : 
New Mexico, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
If NX2 will stil run in 32bit mode it will be able to use only 3GB of RAM as now on your Win XP 32bit.
Mar 22, 2012 by
by
MarekK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>