Loading

Key Features

To see modifications that have been made with versions 2.12.0 and 2.13.0, please click here.

Picture Control Utility: In certain Nikon digital SLRs such as the D3, D700, D300 and D90 customized image adjustment, including tone compensation curve data, can be saved to tailor the camera’s behavior to the photographer’s vision, improving efficiency when using multiple cameras at the same time.

Compatible with WiFi operation: In addition to supporting USB cable connections, Camera Control Pro offers compatibility with the optional wireless transmitter models WT-2a, WT-3a and WT-4A. When attached to a digital SLR, the WT-2a, WT-3a and WT-4A enable remote shooting and setting via a wireless LAN over WiFi.

Compatible with Nikon's Image Authentication Function: Image data can be transferred and stored without affecting the authentication function.

Take Control of Your Photography—Remotely: Using the included USB or Firewire cable and/or optional WiFi adapters for select models, Nikon Camera Control Pro enables you to capture unique images no matter what the subject.

LiveView support: Live previews direct from the camera are supported on the D3, D700, D300 and D90 when this feature is enabled. See what you are about to shoot!

Improved graphic user interface: A simulated (camera) LCD panel on the computer screen performs the same function as the camera’s viewfinder display which has been modified to be consistent with those used in the latest cameras for smoother operation.

Camera Control Pro 2 2.2 5 41 41
Latest trial version works great on windows 7 Download and picture capture in less than 2 minutes. (from Nikon/usa website Version 2.8.0) I have a D5000 that I take pictures from 10 feet above and the logistics of up and down ladders is a pain. I can control all the functions (excepting zoom) from my computer and view the picture instantly! September 10, 2011
works together with View NX and projector I've connected my D300 to a Notebook, activated Camera Control Pro and View NX, The Notebook is connected to a screen-projector. When a shot is taken with the D300, it immediately goes thru CC Pro and on to View NX, which is immediately displayed on a large screen by the projector. Works perfectly! May 1, 2011
Very Impressed I downloaded the trial this morning, and I'm very impressed. I really don't see how it could be much easier or more thorough. Nikon has stepped up its game in terms of user interfaces. I see it in the most recent version of Capture NX2. I see it in Nikon ViewNX2. I see it in the Nikon SB-700 I just bought. And it's in this program as well. Camera Control Pro 2 allows me to connect my D700 through a standard USB cable to my laptop or desktop, make just about every adjustment on screen that I could do on camera (without rooting through all the menus that the camera requires), and take the shot. I can choose whether the camera refocuses. I can manually focus. I can change flash settings. I can change exposure modes. I can change the color temperature. I can change whether the shot will be saved in RAW, jpg, both, and all of the other related options available on the body. I can do live view and see on my screen what the camera sees. Or I can zoom for focusing. It displays how much power is left on my battery. The software does exactly what it says it will do, and does it easily, clearly and reliably. I'd give it a 6 star rating if I could. January 22, 2011
Works well for me Running an iMac and a Mac Book Pro, both have Intel chips, OS 10.6.8 with very few issues. Use with a D300 & a D7000. My biggest complaint is the camera connection gets loose after repeated use and looses connection but that's a camera issue. Be careful to not knock the mini USB connection around. Could use an upgrade and it is annoying it does not work with all cameras. Still much better than software I've used with other cameras. December 1, 2011
Pretty Cool... Many have said it doesn't recognize their camera, doesn't refresh fast etc.... I downloaded the trial in both XP and 7. Running i7, 6 gigs ram; not a single problem. For those that have issues, I would suggest a registry clean up, make sure you don't have cheap slow ram, keep your heat sinks dust free and avoid overheat (that will slow things down), clean up your startup processes, avoid unnecessary installed programs that hog processes from your CPU. The only thing is if Canon doesn't charge for it, why should Nikon. That's a real bummer. March 19, 2011
Works for me i purchased this for use in my work. runs as it should under Win 7 64bit. the only negative i have about this software is that when i shot with Canon this was included with the camera models i used at no additional cost. March 14, 2011
Same functionality as the camera itself I use it with a D90 and it provides pretty much the same functionality that is already available on the camera but it is all controlled remotely by the computer. It does what it says it'll do. The interface is decent although not exceptional. It provides simple access and a global view to all the functions of the camera, and so in that regard is nice. The live view is as if you took the screen from the back of the camera and put it on your computer screen. The files are stored directly on the computer. February 10, 2011
Good workhorse but lacks a few needed features. I've been shooting tethered since the Nikon D70 days thru the D2x and now with the D3. Mostly architecture and interiors, with a good dose of furniture products in studio and on location. Found the software very slow to refresh the image and lagged when several shots were taken. (Mac PowerBook G4 w/2gig ram) Recently upgraded to MacBook Pro and am pleased with the speed, but would like a few added features. Crop tool, Grid, White Balance I dropper for batch adjustments. All in all, a workhorse that needs an upgrade and a few tweeks. September 30, 2010
Very good but missing something Camera Control Pro 2 does what it says it would. You can shoot tethered. It delivers the files very fast, which is great when you shoot people in RAW format. It also stays connected and is not buggy which has been an issue I have had with most other tethering software I have considered. The only annoying part of using Camera Control Pro 2 and let's say View NX2 for viewing the files when shooting tethered is the absence of a neutralizing tool. What you and your clients end up seeing is usually not nearly as good as it should and will. I use Capture NX2 to process the files. It is a great software with incredible versatility. Please Nikon give us a neutralizing tool on Camera Control 2 or on View NX2. Neutralization with the camera on large sets is useless and a pain in all other cases. For me Camera Control Pro 2 is essential for fast reliable capture which is paramount. Adding neutralization would just be lovely. December 21, 2012
Where is functionality???? I downloaded the trial pkg, took about an hour to download and install. Granted I have an old (d70s) camera, but I wanted to shoot tethered for an upcoming job. Hoping to tweak exposure, WB, etc from my laptop...easier to do with older eyes. Even though I Launched it within CaptureNX and ViewNx I could not see it full screen. After RTFM (help file) There is a setting with what to do after the camera captures images. I have only one option " do nothing"!!! Yet the manual states there are others available. The whole reason for me to try was to see captured images full screen. Not sure I'll purchase this after the trial period is over. Nikon should be able to do better by their long term customers. Canon provides their customers with much better product support. Mr. Nikon are you listening??? August 9, 2012
Infelizmente não é compatível com as características publicadas! Possuo duas DSLR's Nikon: uma D5000 e uma D5100. Apesar de constar na descrição do produto (Camera Control Pro 2 - ver. 2.8) como compatível com a DSLR D5100, o software só reconheceu a DSLR D5000. Isto quer dizer que caso eu adquira uma nova DSLR Nikon eu não terei certeza de que a mesma será compatível com o software adquirido, mesmo que a Nikon descreva-a como compatível? January 17, 2014
Cannon's software is free and it works! Doesn't recognize my d800E! Come on Nikon get it together on the software end of things!!! January 17, 2013
Not up to date Nikon, Thank you for building the D800. It's full frame 36MP sensor with a high quality build are just what professionals are looking for. The addition of USB3 was a look into the future that was much appreciated too. Images load into Lightroom 4 faster than the Canon's I shoot with even with D800's the much larger files. So why is it that you made this big push to get pro shooters like myself to switch over from shooting Canon's only to leave us without software that works with Macs. Every single shooter I know uses a Mac. I shoot Editorial, Advertising, and Catalog work and have never seen a PC in a studio. A lot of photographers shoot tethered so the USB 3 is a big plus and shooting using Lightroom 4 works great but live view and camera controls are an absolute must on some shoots. I'm renting this D800 system now to try it out, so far I like the camera but since I can't use the software running OS 10.8 I'll have to hold off for now making the switch back to Nikon. I started using Canons years ago because of software issues with Nikons. Give us the tools we need. December 15, 2012
Worked once,, then no more. The old version 1.x worked great on XP, but on Windows 7, the new version worked once, when I first installed it. Now it doesn't work, and even after 45 minutes on the phone with Nikon, they still don't know why. The last thing I heard was that they were going to turn it over to the engineers in Japan, and let them figure it out. That was almost a month ago. I haven't heard a word since. This is the most disappointing thing I've purchased from Nikon. It was a total waste of money. And they wonder why they're losing market share to Canon. September 11, 2012
Disapointment Canon has been offering this type of software for years and it's FREE! Come on Nikon, you guys can do better than that July 26, 2012
hassle to keep trying to install - oops, won't work on Lion THEN i read lots of reviews that it has never worked on Lion. Shame. Wish that would have been posted on the main screen. Lost an hour of fiddling. June 25, 2012
Dr Does not work with D4 camera. I'm using Windows 7 OS. It did work with the D700. March 29, 2012
No camera was detected. D90 Don´t buy this software!! was lokking forward to using Timealapsed.. but the trail don´t see my camera.. March 21, 2012
Not worth $10 It's very buggy, I spent hours to get it to work, and then it finally worked, but it was VERY SLOW, I would take a picture (in JPEG) and had to wait a while until it showed up on my screen, it could be my computer, but I highly doubt it, I have a very decent computer with a dedicated Graphics Card so... So I unplugged it to take pictures the next day and I got the error that "No Camera was detected" great....and you have to mess around with so many things to get it to work, the interface was designed in the early 90's , it's so ugly and outdated. Nikon...really? Wake up! The competitor's software is much better! I'm glad I haven't invested much on Nikon Products (although their physical products are amazing!) Nikon's softwares are a disgrace, and if you're working digital in a studio and you NEED: RELIABILITY and EFFICIENCY, this is not for you. January 24, 2012
No support for D3100 It's absolutely unbelievable and not acceptable that a camera the caliber of a D3100 is not supported at all in CCP2. When, Nikon, when, will us D3100 owners get some support or at least some stand alone software? December 28, 2011
OK, when it works but support extremely lacking. This is OK software when it works, but rarely supported or upgraded in good time, especially slow or lacking for Mac. Currently not working at all in OSX Lion. For a 200 dollar app, this is pretty poor. Other imaging apps now have similar tethering functionality built in, albeit basic, but an alternative while this is not working. December 1, 2011
mac version does not work I downloaded and installed the trial version - which takes about an hour - 11/24/11. It installs, but will not start. Apparently still not compatible with current mac computers. November 23, 2011
Doesn't work Can't get it to connect to my d200. EXTREMELY poor documentation. November 8, 2011
Did not install on a new iMac I have purchased and use every other Nikon software product. All work fine. I bought this software and it would not install. This is on an iMac that is less than 6 months old running OC 10.6 at that time. I went back and forth for weeks with tech support and nothing. Finally, I told them to give me my money back. They have yet to do so. September 26, 2011
This product doesn't work I was planning to buy this product, then I downloaded the soft and run as Trial. It doens,t work. Doesn't recognize my D200. Terrible software. September 8, 2011
Don't buy this program I bought this program and it doesn't work with non of my nikon cameras. I updated the software..........and nothing. Best way to turn 180 US to garbage!!!! August 22, 2011
Wish it worked on modern computers I have owned this software since it's early versions, but haven't been able to use it for years because Nikon won't support modern computers. Every personal computer made today, whether Windows or Mac, has a 64-bit processor and 64-bit OS. But Nikon only supports older 32-bit OSes. On Windows 7 you can't even have more than 3 GB of memory in a 32-bit computer, making it useless for photo editing. Come on Nikon, it's the 21st century. Update your software already! August 6, 2011
Doesn't work with D3100 or D5100 I was planning to buy a Nikon D3100. I have used other cameras operated remotely via a computer and USB. I was impressed with this facility and looked forward to connecting my D3100 to my Mac. Unfortunately it seems that several Nikon DSLRs, including the D3100, are not enabled to use this software. Very disappointing for an otherwise excellently specified camera. July 16, 2011
Needs an update dont understand why nikon cant update this program to work with more of their cameras i had a nikon d3000 it didnt work so i said ok i will spend another £600 and buy a D3100 and guess what still dosent work thinking of selling the both and buying a cannon or a new tv May 30, 2011
D3100 I wasn't expecting that Camera Control Pro 2 not to work with D3100. I have to sell the camera and buy another one. Why not canon this time? March 19, 2011
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
94 Questions | 109 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
94 Questions | 109 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Camera Control Pro 2
 
3 Answers

Is the Camera Control Pro 2 compatible with D5100? I tried the trial software and it did not detect the camera.

May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please update to the 2.13 version. This update is available with the 2.8 download. You might have missed that when you downloaded the trial version. You should download both the 2.8 trial version and the 2.13 update and install the 2.8 trial version and then update it with the 2.13 updater.
Jan 12, 2013 by
by
Jim B
Illinois, USA
Location : 
Illinois, USA
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the last update 2.9.0 but my D5100 aldo no recognized with this software.
Dec 30, 2012 by
by
Nometters
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
Answer: 
Make sure that you have the latest version for Camera Control Pro 2.
Answer Title: Camera Control Pro - 2.9.0
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Camera Control Pro 2
 
3 Answers

D70 - Windows 8 will this work

Jan 5, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have a D70 and it will not find my camera when connected camera control pro 2, I assume this is an issue with the software on windows 8.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I had a similar problem with the trial version in Windows 8. The way I resolved it was to make certain that I had also installed the most recent View NX program. There appears to be some file which is shared between the two and the most recent version is required. This was for my D800 but was acting exactly as you described. Just the joys of complex and powerful applications.
Mar 5, 2013 by
by
Jim B
Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Location : 
Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have done this and it still says no camera detected,
Jan 6, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Windows 8 update:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18067
Jan 5, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Camera Control Pro 2
 
3 Answers

Will you add the support of D3100 ?

Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Kippik999
France
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Kippik999
France
Location : 
France
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its really not a question of whether or not it is designed for the software the fact is that its Firmware is capable of being controlled remotely. There are some Opensource scripts that can control the D3100. so implementing it in Camera Control would be not only possible but easy. However then there would be one less reason to buy the d5100 :P so Nikon won't be doing it.
May 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
Will it ever be? I plan to use the camera with Dragonframe stop motion software but need the camera to be supported first.
Dec 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Chicago, IL, USA
Location : 
Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 11-20 years

-18points
3out of 24found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful21
Answer: 
This camera is not designed to be compatible with Camera Control Pro 2.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Camera Control Pro 2
 
2 Answers

Will this product work on Windows 7?

Mar 11, 2011 by
+16points
16out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Ron
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yeah, but who would know it - the supporting documentation is woefully out-of-date.
Dec 29, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0
Answer: 
it works with both 32bit and 64bit versions of Windows 7
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Camera Control Pro 2
 
2 Answers

Attach Nikon D7000 to OS X Tiger

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Bob
Oklahoma
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
OS X Tiger doesn't recognize my D7000
3 years ago
by
Bob
Oklahoma
2 Answers

Answers

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Here's the link

Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Camera Control Pro 2
 
2 Answers

Can I shoot video on the D3s through CaptureControlPro2 on a MacBookPro?

May 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I can shoot still frames without any problem, but when I try to use CameraControlPro2 in liveview with a D3s, there isn't any option to record video. What is wrong here? I am using version 2.9.0 on a new MacBookPro.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am considering this program to control video recording on my Nikon D800 from my new Mac Book Pro. Is the program in its latest iteration capable of doing this?

TFM
Dec 27, 2012 by
by
TFM
Pennington, NJ 08534, USA
Location : 
Pennington, NJ 08534, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Camera Control Pro 2 doesn't have the feature to record videos using the D3s.
May 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Camera Control Pro 2
 
2 Answers

D3 not being recognized by CCP2

Jun 13, 2011 by
by
wfphotography
Utah
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
I have used CCP2 for the past couple of years and have always found it very helpful, especially when shooting in studio but for the past year I can not use it on my D3. I have a backup D200 which I have to revert to because it is the only camera that is being recognized. I have already tried to reload the software on my computer but still no luck. I have checked my D3 for recommended settings and everything seems to be what is recommended, but still.....nothing. Any suggestions?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
wfphotography
Utah
Location : 
Utah
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Are you using the latest version.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Camera Control Pro 2
 
2 Answers

Camera Control Pro 2

Aug 10, 2011 by
by
bayoujoe
Has staff answer
-2points
1out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Camera control pro 2 does not recognize my D90 or D7000.Help I have version 2.0.0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
bayoujoe
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Update it to the latest version, 2.9.0, it should then work ok.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Please click on the link below in order to update Camera Control Pro 2:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Camera Control Pro 2
 
2 Answers

Is D800 supported for tethered shooting?

Jun 16, 2012 by
by
PhotomanAYU
Vancouver
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
In the compatible with list, D800 is on it. However, the program (v2.3) cannot detect my D800 connected on the computer. So i checked back and its not listed under the tech specs. Is D800 supported for tethered shooting?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
1 year, 10 months ago
by
PhotomanAYU
Vancouver
Location : 
Vancouver
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You also need version 2.8, didn't notice you only had 2.3
Jun 16, 2012 by
by
JoeR

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to update your software:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17700
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks that worked.
"Help > Check for software update" did not work on the Mac.
Oct 10, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work with this update for the D600:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17961/kw/D600
Oct 10, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>