Loading

Nikon's flagship Speedlight for enthusiasts and professionals.

Engineered for FX and DX-format D-SLRs and COOLPIX P7000 Series cameras, the SB-910 offers unparalleled lighting performance in the field and in the studio. Featuring Nikon's versatile i-TTL (intelligent through-the-lens) metering for on camera or wireless flash control, the SB-910 can operate as a hot shoe mounted Speedlight, remote unit or wireless Commander. And with refined operability including illuminated buttons for use in low light and improved thermal cut out protection, the SB-910 is the perfect partner to your D-SLR.

Unparalleled lighting performance

Seamless integration with Nikon's Creative Lighting System

The SB-910 Speedlight operates as a hot shoe mounted Speedlight, remote unit or wireless Commander (with up to four channel options) capable of controlling as many as three remote groups (A,B and C) and an unlimited number of SB-910, SB-900, SB-700 or SB-R200 units. With a host of pro flash features including; precision i-TTL flash control, Manual with Power Ratio, three illumination patterns for specific shooting environments, wide zoom range from 17-200mm, and streamlined controls and menus—it's no wonder that Nikon is the overwhelming choice when it comes to flash photography.

On the road or in the studio, the perfect partner

Real world simplicity with advanced automation

At the heart of the SB-910 is Nikon's i-TTL flash control which enables Nikon Speedlights to share critical exposure information with CLS compatible D-SLRs. All of the complex lighting calculations are computed for you instantly with consistently accurate results in just about any lighting situation. Using the SB-910 as a Commander or the in concert with the SU-800 Commander or D-SLR with built-in Commander operating as the Master controller, you can wirelessly manage and fire up to three groups of remotely positioned SB-910, SB-900, SB-700 and SB-R200 Speedlights. Additionally, each group can contain any number of Speedlights and any mix of these Speedlights. SB-910 can also be set as a Remote Speedlight for complete system integration and control.

Improved control and convenience

Versatile flash for enthusiasts and professionals

SB-910 offers an improved interface, adding a dedicated Menu button and illuminated buttons for control in low light. Additionally, hard type color correction filters are now used, providing durability and convenience when used with a camera set for Auto white balance. And when taking pictures in certain situations such as in rapid sequence, to prevent the flash tube from overheating, an improved thermal cut out protection has been adopted that slows recycling instead of cutting off the flash.
SB-910 AF Speedlight 4.6 5 14 14
Great addition to my gear... Very versatile, easy to setup and gives great results. April 17, 2012
Outstanding TTl flash yet from Nikon Despite a previous review from BJ, I have yet had any problems with the SB910 with remote transceivers as long as you start from the top down on turning power on, start with the Flash head then the Transceiver, then turn on transmitter attached to camera then camera, then reverser order when shutting down. I as well don't want to bore you with critiques that have already been said on other reviews except that it plows under the over heat problems that the SB900 was plagued with in fast or long duration shooting episodes. These are gems of the flash head world for ease of operation and TTL operation, great as remotes in conjunction with the RU800 controller or teaming them up with other SB 910's 900's 800's and if line of sight obstructions are not a problem then your all set for short distance remote operation but if you need to shoot around corners then team these great flashes up with Transceivers to increase your options of placement and distance. February 4, 2012
A MUST Have in your bag. The SB-910 is a great flash unit that anyone should have in their bag. I got it as soon as it came available to be added to my bag with 2 SB-600 and an old SB-25. I like the fact that can be used as Master and Remote and It can control my other units as well. Overall it is a great product although it doesn't come with the color filter holder like the SB-900. I don't like the soft bag it comes with, it is too big to put in the camera bag and prefer something similar to the SB-600 case. Beside this little details it is a nice product and deserves 5 stars. January 2, 2012
Impressive, powerful features to the smallest of its details. As a semi-professional photographer that I am, I can attest that the SB-910 speedlight will be an indispensable, almost addictive professional’s light instrument for years to come; it is big and a bit heavy, which clearly tell of it’s strength and powerful features it contains; it has a large, lit screen which is easy to read even from a few feet away, and all the data you need to know, it will be displayed right on it. the SB-910 is compatible (and the King) with Nikon’s Creative Lighting System, or CLS which enables functions which involve communications between speedlights and the camera(s); and once a photographer gets serious about getting superb pictures, using more than one flash can prove extremely useful and that’s where the extra money paid for this flagship speedlight seems easily perceived (use it as a Master Flash Unit); other features like the i-TTL mode and the Flash Compensation worked seamless from the very first shots I took using my Nikon’s D700 camera; like expected, in order to use the SB-910 to the maximum, the photographer must not only read the manual and get very familiar with the flash’s buttons and features (I’m still learning and getting used to my new SB-910, since I got mine 3 days ago), but you must practice often, and learn to criticize you own work sharply; I personally like the freedom the flash has allowing moving the flash’s head to the sides to manipulate light, which works delightfully; as well, the SB-910 comes with a built-in light bounce card and built-in wide panel and both can slide out of the flash’s head as needed; a light diffusion dome and two color filters (all included) help to play and manage the light emitted by the speedlight as desired; and a speedlight stand (AS-21) is included as well, to help keep the speedlight standing and directed the way you need it; and overall, the features this flash has will make it much easier to accomplish light manipulation to obtain the pictures you are eager to obtain. So let’s get snapping and cracking, people; good luck to you. December 22, 2011
Nikon SB 910 Great Improvement doesnt overheat like SB 900 Now just waiting on a D4 or Nikon 800 November 30, 2011
It's the best flash!!! I the best flash!!!! Buy it! I have had many flashes since I'm photographer, and this SB-910 is thest I had! November 30, 2011
El mejor flash hasta el momento Soy fotógrafo apasionado, amateur, -pero si estudiado- Si estás pensando comprar un flash, la mejor opción hasta el momento es el SB-910. No compres el SB-900 aunque lo pongan rebajado, ya que salió con errores que cuya documentación encontrarás en todos lados. ¿que tienen de bueno? es el mejor, tecnológicamente más avanzado y el de mayor potencia ¿que tiene de malo? el peso. el balance: 5 estrellas Lo que tienes que fijarte: es importante que te fijes la compatibilidad con tu camara Nikon, tengo una D7000 y es increible. porque el peso no le resta estrellas: sencillo: quieres la mejor iluminación ajusable a la distancia de tu enfoque y que puedas disparar sin que se queme...? ahí tienes la respuesta. May 10, 2013
Meters to feet Still trying to set the meters to feet. hours later :( December 23, 2011
Problem in PC Sync Connection I am not going to write all specifications and praises like other reviews. It is without any confusion so far the best Nikon Speedlight. Appreciate Nikon for making improvements in thermal cutoff circuit, BUT there is a serious problem, if you connect any remote transmitter or extra flash with PC Sync socket, flash stays on but will not fire allowing remote transmitter or added flash to fire in sync with camera. I have used SB80dx, SB800, SB900 and the latest SB910 flashes, this is first time faced this situation. Spend one full day to prove myself wrong but problem is in this flash. Yes, I tested 2 different SB910 from two different store. Conclusion, if you are a pro and connect remote transmitter or other devices in parallel to or using built in PC Sync in this flash,please stay with SB900 and Sb800 until Nikon comes up with a fix. For amateurs it does everything as described. February 2, 2012
Page:2
<<prev
85 Questions | 103 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
85 Questions | 103 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
5 Answers

where can I learn how to use it?

May 29, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
hi there,

this is my first speed light, other than place it on top of my camera, turn it on, switch between shooting modes and shooting, I don't know how to use it.
Did not find the manual very helpful, and could not find any tutorial on how to use it/demo.
Can you please point me to where I could find some tutorials about this flash (nikon sb-910)
Thanks,
Laura
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I bought a book "The Nikon Creative Lighting System" by Mike Hagen, 2nd Edition, Publisher is rockynook. It helped a lot, but had to use it in conjunction with the Troubleshooting in the manual. This is my first flash also, and it is challenging, finding dumb things like I have to turn on the camera, and position the direction to see the flash output....

I am going learn it! Have fun!
Sep 4, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Super idea!
Didn't know that they were that much alike.
Thanks!!
Laura
May 30, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can look at some of the You tube videos on the SB900 they are basically the same. A few menu differences but basic operation is consistent.
May 30, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
thanks for the link.
I had looked at it already, but it's more a review of the flash; and I what I'm looking for is a tutorial/demo on how to use it.
Any other idea?
May 29, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try Nikon learn and explore:
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Learn-And-Explore/Query/h4l7gjfh/flash.html
May 29, 2013 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
4 Answers

Can the SB-910 control up to 3 different groups of Speedlights individually even if the SC-28 or SC-29 is used?

Nov 30, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Let's say I have three SB-700, and I wanted all the three SB-700 to each have a different output, can that be done?

I also assume that even it the flash is mounted on the SC-28 and 29, it still can control all the 3 groups off camera?

Regards,
Zane
 
Products related to my question
SC-28 TTL Coiled Remote Cord
4 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
SC-29 TTL Coiled Remote Cord
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Z L
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Typo alert from the Staff: Three! groups.
Three: A, B and C
Nov 30, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can have different output and you can control all the 3 groups off camera with the SC-28 and SC-29.
Nov 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure, as long as the SB910 is in master mode and connected to the camera either on the hotshot or by the SC28 or SC29 it can handle 3 zones of flashes each one at different outputs. You can even mix iTTL with Manual flash on different channels.
Nov 30, 2011 by
by
Nate Crouch
Indy
Location : 
Indy
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-910, with its intuitive controls including wireless flash settings for up to 4 groups of Speedlights brings studio quality lighting to just about any location or situation.
Nov 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
3 Answers

Does the SB-910 have provision for an external AC power supply?

Dec 5, 2011 by
by
Brooke
Ukiah, CA
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I do studio shooting and maintaining the batteries is a problem.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Brooke
Ukiah, CA
Location : 
Ukiah, CA
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Using an external AC power supply for the SB-910 is actually a great idea; it decreases the 'recycling' time for the flash to be ready to be used again; just keep in mind that even if you use an external AC power supply, batteries still must be inside the flash, so consider purchasing 'rechargeable batteries'; and in the SB-910 manual says: "Do not use Power Cord SC-16 when connecting the SB-910 to the Nikon DC Unit SD-7; use the SC-16A instead". There are also battery packs which can be used externally, but I believe your question is about using AC power.
Dec 28, 2011 by
by
J. Logan
Miami Beach, Fl. USA
Location : 
Miami Beach, Fl. USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
The Sd-8A and SD-9 can be used with the 910 so you should be able to use an external power supply of some kind.
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes it does
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
BasilI
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

Does the SB-910 include a built-in bounce card?

Nov 30, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is built in the top part of the flash's head, and there's also a 'built-in wide panel'; this feature allows you to use only one or both at the same time; depending on your light needs.
Dec 28, 2011 by
by
J. Logan
Miami Beach, Fl. USA
Location : 
Miami Beach, Fl. USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 1, 2011 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

Can I put four 3.2V batteries into the speedlight itself to get a recharge boost?

Jun 23, 2012 by
by
siliconworm
moon
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have some very powerful AA batteries known as Lithium Iron Phosphate Batteries, each of which has a voltage of 3.2V
What will happen if I put four of these batteries into the speedlight itself at the same time? Will it work or die?
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
siliconworm
moon
Location : 
moon
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Also do not mismatch, use four of the same type of battery.
Jun 23, 2012 by
by
JoeR

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Do not use 3.2 volts.
Four 1.2V Ni-MH (AA-size) batteries
Four 1.5V Alkaline-manganese (AA-size) batteries
Four 1.5V Lithium (AA-size) batteries
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

Is the SB-910 AF Speedlight compatible with the D3200?

Jul 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work if mounted on the camera, however, if you are wanting to use the flash off camera then you will either have to use it in SU-4 mode or get something else like the SU-800 to control it as the D3200 has no built in commander to control flashes.
Jul 18, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is compatible.
Jul 18, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

SB910 offcam using D5100

Jul 24, 2012 by
by
oliver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have D5100 and SB910. I would like to know if placing the SB910 offcam using D5100 is possible. I would like to try wireless or slave mode. Do i have to buy other accessories to get this done, if yes what are they?
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
oliver
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, SU-4 is built in to the 910.
Jul 25, 2012 by
by
KeithD

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can use the SB-910 off camera, however, the D5100 has no inbuilt cls commander so the flash would have to be in SU-4 mode and so it would have to be adjusted manually. The only way you could use cls off camera would be to either buy another flash or the SU-800 commander. There are third party wireless triggers available but again these are not cls compatible and so, like SU-4 mode, would mean adjusting the flash power manually.
Jul 24, 2012 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

Is there anyway to make the SB-910 wireless with the Nikon D5000?

Sep 28, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Or use the flash in SU-4 mode but that would mean you have to set the flash power manually.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
SU800 mounted on the D5000 hotshoe.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

Can I trigger my 910 in Remote mode using a D300?

Mar 25, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Or I need to connect D300 with SB 910 with a wireless trigger? Can the SB 800 be triggered by the SB 910 as master ?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, use the D300's in built commander.
Mar 25, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, use the D300's built commander
Mar 25, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-910 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

What typically comes or is included in the box with the Nikon SB910 flash?

Jun 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
d Accessories
AS-21 Speedlight Stand
SW-13H Nikon Diffusion Dome
SZ-2FL Fluorescent Filter
SZ-2TN Incandescent Filter
SS-910 Soft Case
Jun 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-910 comes with
AS-21 Speedlight Stand
SW-13H Nikon Diffusion Dome
SZ-2FL Fluorescent Filter
SZ-2TN Incandescent Filter
SS-910 Soft Case
Jun 14, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers