Loading

Key Features

Portable, Versatile Speedlight Unit i-TTL Speedlight optimized for use with Nikon's Creative Lighting System (CLS).
Complete Flash Head Positioning Freedom Bounce 90°up and 7°down with 360° rotation elevates creative lighting freedom.
Wireless Flash Control Wireless Commander Mode controls up to 2 remote Speedlight groups and an unlimited number of compatible Speedlights. When used as a remote speedlight up to 3 Groups can be selected. Four wireless channel options help manage wireless conflicts in multi-photographer environments.
Choose From 3 Light Distribution Patterns Using the simple slider switch on the back of the SB-700, you can optimize light quality by selecting Standard for general illumination, Center-weighted for portraits or Even, for groups or interiors.
Color Filter Identification Automatically identifies mounted hard type color filters and adjusts camera white-balance.* *With select Nikon digital SLRs
Automatic Format Identification Automatically senses the FX or DX-format camera in use and optimizes light distribution.
Firmware Updating Allows uploading of performance enhancement developments.* *With select Nikon digital SLRs
Nikon’s Precision i-TTL Flash Control Delivers precise flash exposures and seamless fill-flash performance—even in challenging lighting situations.
Hot Shoe and Wireless Operation Use on-camera, as a wireless master, commander or remote light source.
Versatile Auto Power Zoom Coverage Smoothly covers lenses as wide as 24mm and up to 120mm in FX-format.
Streamlined Controls and Menus Convenient Rotary Select Dial sets key functions quickly and a prominent Master and Remote control switch simplifies wireless operation.
Flash Tube Overheat Protection To prevent overheating, flash recycle time increases when SB-700 detects heat build-up.
Flash Value (FV) Lock Locks in a specific flash output on the main subject, regardless of aperture, composition or the lens’ zoom position.* *With select Nikon digital SLRs
Drip-Proof Mounting Foot Cover (Water Guard)* Provides enhanced moisture protection. *Optional
SB-700 AF Speedlight 4.3 5 27 27
Great Flash Granted I'm not a Flash expert but I found myself at a quandry when taking more vertical photos after getting my D7000 grip and the SB-400 doesn't swivel. My main concern was eliminating shadows of which I needed to do bounce fill flash from the ceiling. The 400 does tilt unless you are taking a vertical in which case you need it to swivel too, which the SB-400 does not do. I really wanted to buy a SB-600 but ended up getting a SB-700 at a refurbished unit. I'm glad I did. The 360degree swivel has come in handy (versus I know the 600 would get me annoyed) when working on bounce flash technique. I also love the features that are handy by the buttons versus traversing a menu on the 600. The 600 supposedly has more power but the 700 is a much better choice though $100 more in the used / refurbished market but well worth the extra. I'm just learning more how to use the flash and I'm a "newbie" in regards to flash technique. But the flash operates really easily, iTTL seems to work really well (in basic settings) and I recommend this for anyone that starts taking more vertical shots and needs to continue bouncing the light. I also looked at the contraptions to keep the flash unit above the camera (it stays vertical) versus being sideways and needing the swivel. That may still be needed in the future if I start doing paid photo shoots of people, but for my "advanced" hobbyist means it is the perfect as is. I should mention, I attempted to use the SB-700 as a remote with the built-in D7000 flash or the SB-400 as the master, this seems not capable. I was just hoping to see if it worked (I think the manual stated it would not). As I wouldn't mind having some back fill flash in addition to front flash. It may be able to do this, I just wasn't able to do it fiddling around. Adding a second SB-600/700 flash unit is expensive for just a hobbyist. March 16, 2013
I recommend SB-700 flash i use SB-700 AF Speed light more than 1 year.. its perfect... and its also have master slave mode... so that's very helpful for covering a occasions with ttl balance... by the way, its so cheep with its functions... January 31, 2012
so far no issues! I got this flash the other day and right out of the box it worked and gave me amazing results. i bought this flash for a project I've been working on and i think it should be perfect. this flash is a must buy for anyone who is doing portraits in a studio January 15, 2012
Speed light 700 This is an amazing speedlight...It works wireless with the D. Very happy with it.5100 December 13, 2011
Excellent value After using my Nikon 18-35 mm lens and getting a shadow I knew I had to purchase a quality external flash. I chose Nikon because I know the flash will be forward compatible with the D800 when it is introduced. The SB-700 fits my needs perfectly. It was easy to use out of the box. The bounce and swivel features give me the coverage I need. I used the flash this week on a trip. My only complaint is with the Incandescent filter. My wife has olive skin. The filter gave her an unnatural hue. I used Photoshop to give her more nature skin tonalities. The florescent filter did a good job under harsh lighting conditions. I did not have any problem with the battery compartment or navigating thru the on-board menus. This is my third Nikon upgrade in the last 12 months. It was a good purchase. December 10, 2011
My 1st flash and 2nd and 3rd as well. Simple to use, everything is in the menu, and full information is in the manual provided. Works brilliantly with my D7000 with my camera as the commander. The commander built-in option at e3 could control 2 groups on flashes, and it could adjust the power settings, even use TTL for one group and Manual for the other for the SB700. That is very versatile. Interestingly though, there are options for 3 groups on the SB700. Which means that either a SU-800 is needed if one wants to control each group individually. Or, a firmware upgrade for either the D700 or D7000 will finally allow the camera to control each of the 3 groups individually. I am keeping my fingers crossed. As mentioned by previous commenter, the lock switch to the Remote and Master might be a bit redundant. I imagine only very careless users will turn all the way to the Remote or Master without realizing. The control dial is nice with a gorgeous clicking sound when it is spun, but the groves are a bit painful for me if I spin it a lot. Maybe I have tender skin for a guy. Nevertheless, I like it so much until I bought a 2nd and a 3rd one, now contemplating whether should I get a 4th one.......... October 4, 2011
Yes, this is the one. I am a passionate amateur photographer. I do not suffer sub-standard equipment very long. While I can't afford the very best equipment, the equipment I buy had better be worth my hard earned money. I originally was going to buy an SB-600, but they were discontinued, so I bought the SB-700. After reviewing the specs, I found that the SB-700 actually has slightly less flash power than the SB-600, and some other minor differences, that would seem to make it a lesser flash for more money. I wasn't too happy, but I needed a flash, and didn't want to go high-end, because the more expensive flashes were quite costly, and had functions I really didn't need. I got the flash out of the box, loaded the batteries, hooked it to my D7000, and started to shoot. I was frankly amazed. The shots looked like natural light shots. I used a snap-on diffuser to soften the light, and angled the flash head at 45 degrees, and the pictures came out really, really well. My first real test of the flash was at a friend's birthday party. No matter if the subject was back-lit by a window, or in shadows, or with a dark wall, the photos were balanced and crisp. None of the usual flash pictures where the foreground is blown out and the background dark. The flash filled in when it should, and fully illuminated when it should. Nikon has figured out how to get their cameras and flashes to work together with perfection. You may need to adjust FV or EV for personal taste, and pay attention to WB (2 colored filters come with the flash to compensate for artificial light spectrums), but the flash really works very well. The only thing I would suggest is to READ THE MANUAL. There are some important settings that make the flash work much better if you pay attention. I have not tried the flash in slave mode, but I would expect it to work as well. It's very well thought out and easy to use. I only have one small gripe. The battery door is rather flimsy, and doesn't open in the way you'd expect it to open, so it could easily break if you get all macho with it. Other than that, this thing rocks! June 21, 2011
AF-Assist missing Function Using the flash unit as a Auto Focus Assist is great but there are AF differences between the SB-700 and SB-900. The 700 has only 2 AF lamps while the 900 has 3 for help in very low light. Also, the 900 has an added feature .... the ability to use the AF-Lamps from the flash withOUT the flash unit firing. The 700 does NOT have this feature. Of course the 700 costs much less than the 900. Overall I love using the 700 on my D7000 with my Nikon CPU lenses. This combo is a joy to use. May 28, 2011
Good and easy to use It`s a good speeding, for good price, and easy to use and change setting on go. February 13, 2011
Absolutely Amazing for the Price I have only been using this flash for about 2 months now, but i am already in love with it. This flash made my new pictures extraordinary! I can barely even explain it. I haven't had time to fool around with the master and slave settings on it since i have nothing to do it with, but i am looking forward to buying a studio set soon to do such. It is so easy to use, it's practically able to be used out of the box. it just takes time to learn how to position the head around so you get the best bounce. I can still consider myself an amateur photographer, but i am going to continue my passion and this flash helped renew my love for photography even more. I highly recommend it. Thank you very much Nikon! January 31, 2011
SB-700, a versatile flash One of the first tests I made with the new SB-700 was to photograph a proposed electric train layout which I have temporarily set up on a bedroom floor. Using the flash in the EVEN light distribution mode gave very excellent broad-range coverage across the room, a bit better than the SB-600 model flash I had used earlier. The SB-700 has several great features including a built in bounce card and a very easy to use menu system. It also auto-sets the zoom head for different lens formats and focal lengths when switching from DX to FX format lenses. Setting the flash exposure at +1 gives me slightly 'higher' histograms than the center point 'optimum' value, but this which is where I normally shoot flash photos anyway with an SB-600 flash and my D300s/D700 cameras. The photos all look really great. I look forward to utilizing more of the SB-700's offered features. January 15, 2011
sb700 i can only say one word... SUPERB!!! would recommend to anybody. June 9, 2013
Not a bad Speedlight for the price I just picked up this unit today with another SB910 3-28-2012 and tried it out as a Hair Light and also as back fill on a backdrop, for the price this is a great flash to have in the arsenal, I also want to use it as a subtle not so over powering fill light for when I shoot outdoor night photography coupled to my PocketWizard Flex5's, I see this as a great fill light behind pillars and out of frame fill flash in conjunction with my SB 910'S and 900's on my architectural night shots. I think this would be a perfect flash for entry level shooters to use in tandem with built in flash bodies to add more unique lighting challenges as well as a great tool for more experienced shooters as well as perfect studio uses. The reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars is the slide switches on both sides (Mode selector) and (Illumination Pattern) I my self would rather have these in sub menus using the dial to select to eliminate 2 potential locations for contaminants from entering the flash body like moisture and dust that in time could render the switches inoperative? also from reviews from other people not necessarily here but they have complained about the battery door being flimsy and break off real easy, I have to agree that yes it could be beefed up a little more but if you miss handle the equipment or rush trying to load batteries or are just a gorilla when handling the flash that you shouldn't break the battery cover off, one other complaint I read was that it was to thin and the contacts didn't make contact with the batteries? well here again if it was within the first year take it back! Nikon will fix or replace the unit, I think that issue was a small isolated instance that things made by man can be faulty and do slip by quality control once in awhile but that is a case I think that someone just wanted to whine and complain for something I don't believe should be used to give the SB700 a bad grade. Overall it is a pretty good flash, I haven't had enough time to run it through it's paces but the 6 hours I have used it today I think Nikon has a winner. March 28, 2012
EASY TO LEAEN I RECENTLY WENT TO THE PHOTO SHOP WHERE I LIVE TO PURCHASE THE SB-600 ; ONLY TO BO TOLD IT WAS DISCONTINUED AND REPLACED BY THE SB-700 . SO HAVEING BEEN TOLD THAT I WENT AND PURCHASED IT , OWNING SEVERAL NIKON DSLR'S I WAS HAPPY TO HAVE A GOOD QUALITY FLASH THAT I COULD USE ON ALL; PLUS THE ABILTY TO DO MANY CREATIVE FLASH TECHNIQUES I WAS SATISFIED OVER-ALL. April 16, 2011
Shines in its class I'm a retired wedding/portrait photographer, so people continue to be my main interest, although I'm now doing landscapes, etc. I have studio strobes so for really serious lighting work I use those. That being said, having the SB-700 along in my bag as a portable flash is an excellent addition to my gear. I like the included accessories such as the diffusion dome, incandescent and fluorescent filters, and bounce card built in. I quickly navigated the menus and set the custom options as I'd like them without having to take a college course in menus. Bounce flash for portraiture works wonderfully with this flash. One user here complained about having to put pressure on the on/off switch to put the flash in Remote or Master mode, I find that a great precaution against accidentally turning the flash on in a hurry and not noticing what you have it set at. If you want remote or master mode, you have to purposely put it there. All in all I think this is an excellent flash, built to Nikon's usual standards. I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that in my personal case I wish they would have included at PC type connector like the SB-900 has for connection to external flash or Quantum Battery, but as I said, that's a personal wishlist and yes I probably shouldn't complain. Also, the battery door does seem a bit fragile, although most doors like this need to be approached carefully. Two thumbs up, Nikon. January 30, 2011
A Great Investment I used this flash and was blown away by the options to use it for, I shoot photography on the beach in Virginia Beach as well as the mountians of Lynchburg, Va and the ways that you can work with the lighting from this flashs was amazing November 30, 2010
LCD No funciona la pantalla LCD y si hay destello y sincronización May 31, 2014
Good Flash however miss TTL mode I recently got this flash. Overall I think it is a good flash, especailly since you can use this flash in Commander mode or Remote mode. However I very much miss the "TTL" or "i-TTL" option on the flash. I truly think this is a basic standard control that should be on a Nikon flash of this calibler and price range. The flash displays good illumination and the contols are ok, much better in fact than on the (old but very good) SB800. March 16, 2012
Somewhat Dissapointed Before the flash had even recycled ONCE, before I had even put batteries into it, the battery door broke. It fell into several small pieces which scattered to god only knows where. Not only does the door seem flaky but the on/off button is poorly designed too, as it has a lock that must be depressed if you want to activate remote or master modes. As a flash it works well but it just does not seem like a quality assembled item. January 25, 2011
Improvement over SB-600? I think not ... I am a long time Nikon user and am quite familiar with most all Nikon gear. I could kick myself for not buying 2 more SB-600 when it was available. Right now, I would buy 1,000 units of SB-600 in a heartbeat at its original price ($180) over SB-700 ($330) and make money hand over fist. B&H is selling used SB-600 for almost $100 more than its original price. I for one do not find SB-700 to be more intuitive than SB-600 and I particularly dislike the new on/off switch. And, it has slightly less flash output than SB-600; I do not consider this an improvement. Aside from this griping, it's a fine flash and not a big drop-off for most users from SB-900, which have been known to have over-active protection circuitry problem issue for heavy users. A luke-warm recommendation. November 18, 2011
Great Ideas, Mediocre Execution I was excited at first by the intuitive arrangement of buttons, and the new screen & menu system of the SB-700, which promised a vast interface improvement over my trusty SB-600. However, in practice, I found myself frustrated with my new flash. My biggest 3 complaints are: 1) The battery compartment did not properly tighten itself, forcing me to press in on it when I turned the power on for the unit to actually power about half the times I went to turn it on. Minor defect in my unit? Maybe. 2) The power button itself. While the idea of a switch between Off>On>Remote On>Master On is great, the switch itself is thin/small and difficult for my big fingers to use. To get to Remote or Master, a button in the middle of the switch must be pressed, which was tricky at best, annoyingly difficult at worst. Major turn off in my mind. 3) The rotating dial with OK button in the middle for selecting things was, again, a good idea. However, I found it's operation tricky and difficult to control, and button pushes were difficult to consistently make. Controls aside, the menu selections, options, etc. were all quite intuitive and easy to understand. It was the difficulty in executing the options which frustrated me, and led me to return the unit and stick with my SB-600's. August 5, 2011
Great flash, when it works I really love this flash... ...when it works. I started out with an SB-600, then after a lot of heavy use that cut out on me and I figured it was the two+ years of use in bad weather, being dropped, thrown around, etc. So I got an SB-700 to replace it and have treated that flash much more kindly, using it very gently and indoors 98% of the time. Since then I have sent that SB-700 back to Nikon 5 times to be fixed because while shooting it will randomly stop working. The menu functions, I can turn it on/off, I can do absolutely everything with the flash except actually have light come out of it. It breaks this way every 2-3 months so it's always still been under either the original warranty or the 6 months from being "fixed" warranty, but it's very frustrating and Nikon has not replaced it even after "fixing" the problem has proven to be only a temporary solution. After the first time my SB-700 broke, I bought another 700 to have on hand as a backup. Today it completely stopped working while shooting--no menu, no light, no nothing even after trying multiple sets of fresh batteries. Suffice it to say I will not be purchasing another SB-700 and am going to look into other manufacturers for future flash purchases as reliability is important to me. July 18, 2013
Page:2
<<prev
120 Questions | 153 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
120 Questions | 153 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
SB-700 AF Speedlight
 
3 Answers

Can I use the SB-700 wirelessly with my D3100?

Apr 3, 2011 by
by
Liz
Connecticut
Has staff answer
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
I would like to use the SB-700 as a remote flash along with the flash on my D3100.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Liz
Connecticut
Location : 
Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can buy a pair of Yonguno iTTL transceivers for about $85.00. They will control the flash in many different ways. Make sure you buy the iTTL version
Nov 26, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

-6points
2out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful8
Answer: 
You can mount the SU-800 Commander on the camera hot shoe to use the speedlight wirelessly.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Im pretty sure the D3100 doesnt support cls, could be wrong, so you will not have ttl, however, you can set the flash to SU-4 and use it that way it just means that you will have to adjust the flash power manually.
You can get third party wireless controllers but again they dont support ttl so again you will have to set up manually if you go down this route.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-700 AF Speedlight
 
3 Answers

is the sb700 compatible with the d3200??

Jun 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
absolutely compatible,
all Nikons, newer, support TTL lighting systems,
good choice...
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, absolutely...
under tech specs for D3200 it is listed as one of the compatible flashes.
Jun 18, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, on camera only you will need SU800 for remote off camera use.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Pocket wizards are radio frequency fired, su-800 is IR line of sight .Pocket wizards cost more. SU 800 is TTL , pocket wizard you will have to do manual settings. SU-800 has focus assist, PW's don't. I'm sure there's a few more I'm forgetting but they are the main differences.
Oct 22, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I know I can do that but I'm just curious if I wanted 2 of them as off flashes I could just use a 3rd SB700 in the hot shoe? My main question was, what's the difference in the pocket wizards and SU800 if I decided to do it that way

Thank you~
Oct 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just use one you already have to control the other, unless of course you have a need for two flashes off camera. You could always use the flashes in SU-4 mode but you would then have to control output manually.
Oct 22, 2012 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
SB-700 AF Speedlight
 
3 Answers

TTL problem with Sb700

Oct 23, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Zrenjanin, Serbia
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Hi people, I have a problem with my Sb 700. When I mount it ond my D5100 TTL isn´t working. There is a picture on flash screen wich shows me to put on Manual mode, Whet its on manual mod, the flash is working properly.

P.s. sorry for my bad English
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Anonymous
Zrenjanin, Serbia
Location : 
Zrenjanin, Serbia
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've had that problem when the SB-700's batteries are weak. Try fresh ones.

Regards,

Jim C
Aug 12, 2013 by
by
Li'l Ma
Toms River, NJ, USA
Location : 
Toms River, NJ, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
When I put on the camera, the ttl is woking sometimes, or it works for the first shoot, after that the screen comes up on the flash with an exclamation mark mark to put on the manual mode on the flash.
Oct 24, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't know your experience, so I will start with the simplest explanation. Did you set your camera and flash to TTL mode?
Oct 23, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
SB-700 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

Can I use the SB-700 wirelessly with my D7000?

Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Scott
Iowa
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Everything I read seems to indicate that I can use the SB-700 wirelessly with my D7000 without an additional command unit. If this is so, how do I set this up, or are there additional accessories I need to make it work?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Scott
Iowa
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can. you can use your camera commander or another commander device like SU-800 (which is even better and faster). But the answer is yes.
May 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+17points
17out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful17unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this combo also, and yes you can.
Make sure the SB-700 is in remote mode, then in the camera, go to the pencil menu, in bracketing/flash, then flash cntrl..., then put it in commander mode. make sure your flash on the camera is popped up, and your all set to go.

Also, it can sync up to 1/320 if you go to the pencil, bracketing/flash, then change the flash sync speed to 1/320.

Have fun!
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
GrayK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
SB-700 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

Can I use the SB700 with my D300?

Apr 28, 2011 by
by
John
USA
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
John
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
John,
Yes the SB-700 will work with the D300.
Kevin
May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can use the SB-700 with the D300, just make sure that the camera has the latest firmware version.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
SB-700 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

can you use the sb-700 wirelessly on the d80 but also turn off the built in flash

May 7, 2011 by
by
mike
los angeles
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I want to use by sb-700 flash wirelessly. but i dont want my d80's built-in flash to go off. is that possible?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
mike
los angeles
Location : 
los angeles
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Yes you can. Just go to your flash/commander menu and turn it off.
May 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the SB-700 can be used remotely, however, the on board flash has to be used to control it thus technically you cant turn it off as it still has to send a signal to the flash unit. You can set it in the menu to -- but the flash will fire though you may get some residual light from the flash, you could of course buy the SG-3ir which sits on the hot shoe and so stops the residual flash from affecting your images.
May 8, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-700 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

Can I use this flash wirelessly with D5100?

Sep 29, 2011 by
by
deme
los angeles
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Pretty sure I know the answer but I want to make sure.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
deme
los angeles
Location : 
los angeles
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
I dun think so. I have never tried the D5100 but if it doesn't have a Built-in Camera flash commander option, I guess it doesn't.

http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9520/~/nikon-creative-lighting-system-%28cls%29

http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/11938/~/how-to-use-the-built-in-speedlight-in-commander-mode-to-control-remote This one might not be updated yet.

Or if you have 2 SB700, you can attach one to your camera hotshoe to act as a commander unit for the other off-camera SB700.

But still check with your local Nikon representative first.
Oct 4, 2011 by
by
Zane80
Singapore
Location : 
Singapore
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
5out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful3
Answer: 
Yes and no, no in that the D5100 has no CLS command built in. You can however use the flash in SU-4 mode but then it would be in manual and you would have to adjust the flash yourself.
Sep 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
gnelly
Tx
Location : 
Tx
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D3100 built in flash is not CLS compatible. In order to do CLS on a D3100 you'll need a SU-800 or a CLS master capable flash (SB700, 900 or 910) unit on the D3100.
Feb 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure your red eye reduction is turned off.
Feb 10, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
SB-700 AF Speedlight
 
2 Answers

Does the SB700 speedlite stay on when being used in video mode when used with a D3100?

Feb 22, 2012 by
by
Legion
Torrance
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
i am wondering if u have the SB700 attached to a D3100 will the light stay on when u want to record videos.
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Legion
Torrance
Location : 
Torrance
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would not think so, there IS a burst of power to the flash when the signal from the camera comes in, but no, I dont think it would work like a light bulb.
Feb 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No SB-700 is not a video light it is not working in video mode, it is only for photography as a master or remote flash
Feb 22, 2012 by
by
Nabfro
Egypt
Location : 
Egypt
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers