Loading

A new level of image quality, a familiar way of sharing.

Product photograph of Nikon D3200 HD-SLR camera
Don't let the D3200's compact size and price fool you—packed inside this easy to use HD-SLR is serious Nikon power: a 24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor that excels in any light, EXPEED 3 image-processing for fast operation and creative in-camera effects, Full HD (1080p) movie recording, in-camera tutorials and much more. What does this mean for you? Simply stunning photos and videos in any setting. And now, with Nikon's optional Wireless Mobile Adapter, you can share those masterpieces instantly with your Smartphone or tablet!
close-up portrait of a girl with blonde hair taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Take your photos and videos to the next level

24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 3

Why do photos and videos shot with a Nikon HD-SLR look so good? It all starts with Nikon’s exclusive image sensors, and the D3200 has the most powerful CMOS sensor we’ve ever put in a HD-SLR at this level. Boasting an astounding 24.2 effective megapixels, it captures sharper, richer images—even in low light. Combine that with EXPEED 3 image processing, the processing power behind the acclaimed Nikon D4, for super-fast operation, exceptional image capture, in-camera filter effects and more. Your photos and videos will amaze even you.
image of Guide Mode menu on D3200 HD-SLR's LCD

Master the camera simply by using it

Guide Mode ensures success

It’s never been easier to create HD-SLR quality photos, thanks to the D3200’s Guide Mode. Learn the camera's key features and controls while you shoot, and even get advice and sample images to succeed in difficult shooting situations. Guide Mode is easy to access and easy to understand. You’re never shooting alone with the D3200.
Mode dial of D3200 and images of a yellow flower, portrait of girl, night portrait of girl and landscape taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Capture the best of every scene

Six Scene Modes and Scene Auto Selector

Experienced photographers optimize their camera settings for the scene they’re shooting. With the D3200, optimizing your camera settings is as easy as turning a dial. Choose from six common Scene Modes like Portrait, Night Portrait, Landscape, Close up and more, for flawless results even in demanding circumstances. When using Live View, Scene Auto Selector automatically sets the D3200 for the most suitable Scene Mode for the situation. A highly accurate 420-pixel RGB sensor powers Nikon's Scene Recognition System, which compares scene data against an extensive database to optimize the shot accordingly.
View of the rear of the D3200 HD-SLR with HD video example on LCD

Create cinema-quality HD videos

One-touch Full HD 1080p movie recording with stereo sound

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that are not just superlative still image cameras, but superlative video cameras, as well. With a touch of a button, the D3200 starts recording Full HD 1080p video with full-time autofocus, manual exposure control and stereo sound. Its breathtaking 921,000-dot, ultra-high-resolution display makes it easy to frame, monitor and review your footage. Even record in super-smooth slow motion up to 60 fps! Unleash your inner cinematographer.*

*Built-in microphone, monaural
Optional external stereo mini-pin jack (3.5mm diameter)
Microphone sensitivity can be adjusted
photo of family looking out from balcony

Get a new view of your world

Versatile AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm

Nikon’s renowned NIKKOR lenses have long been the choice of pros and serious photographers. Marvels of clarity, consistency, precision and reliability, they draw peak performance from Nikon HD-SLRs. The D3200 comes equipped with the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm, a versatile, high performance VR image stabilized lens. And when you’re ready to expand your system and extend your creativity, you'll have your choice of over 70 legendary NIKKOR lenses.
Photo of girl in yellow go-cart with girl in red go-cart following, taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Fast and accurate shooting

The D3200's 11-point Autofocusing System is as fast as it is precise. Check your focus points, track your subject or shoot carefree right from the viewfinder. And when the action speeds up, simply aim, hold down the shutter and fire off approx. 4 fps at 24.2 MP resolution.
Composite of photos of woman holding red D3200, boy showing off sandy hands and girl looking at smartphone

Wi-Fi Connectivity—Now you can easily get GREAT pictures on your smartphone

Using the WU-1a optional wireless mobile adapter you can now automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D3200. With an easy to use app, now, when you can't wait to share that great shot, you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone in an instant.
Photo of woman holding Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Compact, lightweight and durable

Your D3200 is designed for comfort, intuitive use and durability. Its compact, lightweight and rugged body puts key controls at your fingertips. You'll never hesitate to bring along your D3200.
Photo taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR, of cityscape taken at night with car headlights and taillights blurred

Dramatic low-light photos

The D3200’s wide ISO range of 100 to 6400 allows for shooting in very low light without a flash or in very bright light with zoom, macro, fixed focal length or wide aperture lenses. For extreme low-light situations, set the ISO to Hi 1 and achieve ISO 12800 equivalent sensitivity.

± WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

All photography © Robin Layton

false false false false false true AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 25492-en_US /en_US/o/zI1rjRZa3j0fwn02HGQ98C4AHbk/Views/25492_D3200.pngVariant $449.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false false 25492 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25492 false false /dslr-cameras/25492/D3200.html D3200 - Black 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true 25492 h8c3reto $529.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 449.95 529.95 25492 KitVariant V25492 Versatile AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 25496-en_US /en_US/o/zI1rjRZa3j0fwn02HGQ98C4AHbk/Views/25496_D3200.pngVariant $449.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false false 25496 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25496 false false /dslr-cameras/25496/D3200.html D3200 - Red 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false false true 25496 h8c3reto $529.95 Red /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26198_red.gif 449.95 529.95 25496 KitVariant V25496 Versatile AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit product h8c3reto-en_US h8c3reto 25492 25496 DIGSLR $449.95 $449.95 false $529.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/25492/D3200.html /dslr-cameras/D3200.html 25492 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Versatile AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit false 4.7 167 false 25492 25496 0 true false false 25492 D3200 D3200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=h8c3reto 1.6912018 false false false false false true AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II 2170 AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED 2156 13313-en_US /en_US/o/zI1rjRZa3j0fwn02HGQ98C4AHbk/Views/13313-D3200-Zoom-Case-Kit.pngVariant $499.95 true false false true DIGSLR NONE false false 13313 /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13313 false false /dslr-cameras/13313/D3200.html D3200 - Black D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kitfalse false true 13313 hrkfkkab $779.95 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 499.95 779.95 13313 KitVariant V25492 Kit includes a charcoal grey/black camera bag, the versatile AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting and the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED lens for the added telephoto reach when shooting still images and Full HD video with your D3200. D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit product hrkfkkab-en_US hrkfkkab 13313 DIGSLR $499.95 false $779.95 NONE false false true /dslr-cameras/13313/D3200.html /dslr-cameras/D3200.html 13313 en_US D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit/static/images/placeholder/products/default_front-en_US.png false Kit includes a charcoal grey/black camera bag, the versatile AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting and the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED lens for the added telephoto reach when shooting still images and Full HD video with your D3200. D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit false 4.7 167 false 13313 0 false false false 13313 D3200 D3200 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=hrkfkkab 1.6912018 false false false product D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle-en_US D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle DIGSLR $649.90 false $749.90 false false true /dslr-cameras/D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle/D3200.html /dslr-cameras/D3200.html D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle en_US 18-55mm & 50mm Holiday Bundle/en_INC/PARTS/Assets/sys_master/h9b/h4d/8814975811614.png false false 4.7 165 false 0 true true false D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G 2199 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 25492 KitVariant D3200 D3200 false false false BundleProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle 1.771356 false false false false false true AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G 2199 D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle-en_US /en_INC/PARTS/Assets/sys_master/h9b/h4d/8814975811614.pngKitVariant $649.90 true false false false DIGSLR false false /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle false false /dslr-cameras/D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle/D3200.html 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 18-55mm & 50mm Holiday Bundlefalse false true D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle JB_111814_D3200_HolidayBundle $749.90 Black /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26197_black.gif 649.9 749.9 D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle BundleVariant 25492 false false true AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G 2199 D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red-en_US /en_INC/PARTS/Assets/sys_master/h26/ha7/8815858253854.pngKitVariant $649.90 true false false false DIGSLR false false /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red false false /dslr-cameras/D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red/D3200.html 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 18-55mm & 50mm Holiday Bundlefalse false true D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red JB_111814_D3200_HolidayBundle $749.90 Red /en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Icons-and-Logos/ColorSwatches/26198_red.gif 649.9 749.9 D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red BundleVariant 25496 product JB_111814_D3200_HolidayBundle-en_US JB_111814_D3200_HolidayBundle D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle DIGSLR $649.90 $649.90 false false /dslr-cameras/D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red/D3200.html /dslr-cameras/D3200.html D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red en_US 18-55mm & 50mm Holiday Bundlefalse false 4.7 167 false D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle 0 true true false D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red D3200 D3200 false false false BundleProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=JB_111814_D3200_HolidayBundle 1.771356
BlackRed
Sale

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D3200 - Black Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Now $449.95
Reg. $529.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25492 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Black
Sale

D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit

D3200 - Black Camera Body AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED IIAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Now $499.95
Reg. $779.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13313 product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitVariant, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

Sale

18-55mm & 50mm Holiday Bundle

18-55mm VR Lens Kit AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Now $649.90
Reg. $749.90
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: false, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: BundleProduct, refurbished:
RedBlack
Sale

18-55mm & 50mm Holiday Bundle

18-55mm VR Lens Kit AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Now $649.90
Reg. $749.90
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: false, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=D3200_18-55_2199_HolidayBundle_Red product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: BundleVariant, refurbished:
D3200 4.7 5 167 167
Lots of Capabilities and Great features! The Nikon D3200 Is and amazing camera! Stacking up at 24 megapixels for such a great price, and Being capable of taking 1080p video at 30fps is the same as what other more expensive cameras are less than capable of. February 24, 2013
Great Camera One of the many features that I like is the low light capability of this camera (12,800) quality of photos is very good. If you're moving up from a point and shoot camera, the 3200 is the one for you. The Auto feature is virtually goof proof and you can eventually explore the manual modes as you gain more confidence. Movie mode is excellent. December 26, 2012
Fantastic camera! I needed a camera that I could take advantage of all the features, but would also be easy enough for my wife to get some point-and-shoot time without having to take a course on how to use it. After doing some research, I kept coming back to the D3200. Everything about this camera opened my eyes up. Price, quality, ease of use, features, accessories, etc. We finally decided to buy it and were amazed at everything we could get with it (3 lenses, case, 2nd battery, 2 filters, wifi adapter, remote) for just shy of $1000 CDN. After using it for a few weeks now, we're both completely happy with our purchase. The camera takes fantastic pictures even in the auto modes that the wife uses. Using this camera is becoming an addiction due to its excellent quality. Can't recommend it enough. September 14, 2012
a good everything camera the megapixal on this camera is amazing they did a good job for a good price July 4, 2012
Ótima Maquina Fotográfica Uma ótima SLR perfeitas imagens,qualidade de vídeo surpreendente perfeita December 12, 2014
Intuitiva, compacta y con grandes prestaciones. Es una muy buena cámara, la recomiendo ampliamente. Yo antes de está cámara no sabia nada de fotografia pero La D3200 al ser muy intuitiva y fácil de usar me ayudo mucho para aprender sobre este maravilloso mundo aparte de tener una gran calidad de imagen. November 8, 2014
Una gran foto de recuerdo tomada con facilidad, sera un fantasma con calidad. Ligera y compacta D3200, para dejar un legado de emociones y momentos personales capturados sin tanta experiencia como fotógrafo !. Muy intuitiva en su manejo, recomendable para descubrir imágenes desapercibidas. y algo mas........simplemente una creación maravillosa en nuestras manos D3200 Recomendada. October 19, 2014
perfeita maquina ótima, perfeita para varias ocasiões. agora só troco as lentes que quero para devidas ocasiões. amei! September 2, 2014
Fácil de manusear, resultados impressionantes! Não sabia o poder de uma NIKON até ter uma. Tem sido uma experiência incrível. Fico surpreso com os resultados. August 16, 2014
fotografías increíbles esta cámara toma fotografiaras en ata resoluciones y de calidad profesional la recomiendo mucho August 14, 2014
Qualidade maravilhosa!! ótima camera qualidade impressionante, ótimo manuseio. Recomendo a todos. Simplesmente Fácil Simplesmente Impressionante NIKON É NIKON!!!!!! August 12, 2014
Ejemplo de calidad perfecta en tamaño y diseño, totalmete hergonomica. si la fotografia es lo tuyo no hay mejor forma de empezar con fotos mas profecionales que nikon y en exclusiva esta camara a la cual acompañas de un tripod y lograras lo deseado en menos de lo que imaginas. consejo si vas a tomar video quita el autoenfoque por que el servo se escucha en el video. June 16, 2014
Excelente custo beneficio! Muito boa câmera! Ótima para qualquer situação que um usuário comum possa enfrentar e um bom corpo para backup de baixo custo para usuários avançados. Bem intuitiva e de fácil configuração, Cada centavo gasto valeu a pena. May 28, 2014
Gran cámara para empezar Llevo poco mas de medio año con la que es mi primer reflex y sin duda estoy muy contento con ella, me ha dejado gran sabor de boca aunque debo decir que hacen falta algunas opciones. Acompañada de buenas lentes sin duda ofrece resultados impresionantes y que no le piden nada a fotos tomadas con equipos de una gama mas alta, los objetivos kit también ofrecen resultados muy buenos por el precio. Una gran compra. May 19, 2014
Realizando um sonho! Eu estou muito FELIZ com a D3200! Ela mostrou que posso fazer e pensar em melhores fotos! Ela aguçou minha vontade de querer mais em fotografia! Captura desde os menores detalhes até as mais grandiosas construções. March 16, 2014
D3200 Comprei recentemente uma D3200, minha primeira DSLR. Ainda estou fazendo cursos pela internet (youtube), e já possível aproveitar parte dos seus recursos. Recomendo a câmera e as instruções/dicas disponíveis na internet. February 21, 2014
Bastaria dizer que é Nikon, mas é FANTÁSTICA!!! Você brinca um pouco com ela e percebe que nunca antes fez fotos tão boas. February 10, 2014
pequena e com tantos beneficios Muito boa, a própria marca já diz, sim recomendaria a um amigo, pois só assim faria parte de mais um a solicitar nos fins de semana February 4, 2014
La mejor elección Aparte de que Nikon tiene la mejor imagen que conozco, esta cámara cumple con las expectativas que todo fotógrafo principiante y avanzado puede esperar. Aparte de ser un gran producto simplemente es la mejor elección a un precio accesible para todo aquel aficionado de la fotografía que desee inducirse a este magnifico trabajo. Sigan mejorando día con día, para de esta manera seguir siendo los numero 1!! January 9, 2014
Una calidad de fotografías que están unos pasos adelante de cualquier cámara compacta Llevo poco tiempo usando está cámara réflex y estoy satisfecho con su desempeño y versatilidad, una interfaz fácil de manejar, excelente desempeño. La he puesto a prueba en distintos escenarios, cambios de velocidad de obturación etc. Se pueden obtener resultados profesionales con los ajustes adecuados. January 2, 2014
no tengo palabras mi primer cámara fotográfica para recuerdos de tipo, nunca imagine que algo tan pequeño pudiera reflejar algo extraordinario, con ese tipo de instrumento te dan ganas de fotografiar a cuanta gente pase y que sepan que ese tipo de cámaras son las mejores, nunca me arrepentire de la compra que he realizado. December 27, 2013
Excellent Reflex pour débuter :o<3 Je vien de l'avoir hier le 24 décembre & j'ai déjà commencer a le comprendre et tout j'ai pris qu'elles que photo & je les trouve vraiment réussis mon premier appareil a été un canon sx160 , & J'ai tout de suite compris le D3200 il est si simple maime en mode Manuel , il est léger et le body est vraiment beau *.* je n'aurais pu demander mieux pour mon premier reflex :D Sur ce je vous laisse en vous disants que je ne regrette pas de l'avoir eu et tout aller vous le procurer , ses vraiment un beau jouet de photo :) PS je n'est que 14ans December 25, 2013
excente camara para tan pequeño diseño EXCELENTE CAMARA, iniciandome en el mundo de la fotografia November 26, 2013
Tudo do o que esperava de uma câmera Já fazia algum tempo que queria comprar uma DSLR e não me arrependo. Excelente câmera. November 21, 2013
Ótima Maquina Excelente maquina, em todos os sentidos, vale o investimento, só erram no programa que não tem em português. November 1, 2013
gran camara me dedico a la fotografía aérea, gran cámara, grandes resultados, ahora voy por la D800e, veremos que tal. October 26, 2013
facile et efficace débutant en photographie, je me suis acheté un kit D3200 avec 2 lentilles. Voilà! c'est facile à utiliser le mode guide nous donne une très bonne base et l'appareil fait le reste. Un très bon rapport qualité prix! October 14, 2013
Ótima É uma ótima maquina,as imagens são belíssimas mais so está pecando no programa quem acompanha a câmera o View nx2 ele não vem em português,tirando isso ela é ótima. September 27, 2013
WOW Je possède une D3200 depuis maintenant 1 semaine et je suis totalement en amour avec cette caméra elle ne vous laisse jamais tomber et offre des résultats digne des gros joueur tel la D4. Je la recommande autant au débutants qu'au amateurs, comme moi passioné. August 6, 2013
Experiência sem par. Sensacional o equipamento. 100% recomendável à todos os tipos de fotógrafos. Desde profissionais às os hobistas! Desde os acessórios às lentes. As adaptações e acessórios são excepcionais. Recomendadíssimo. June 26, 2013
Page: 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev | next>>
241 Questions | 313 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
241 Questions | 313 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Sort by:
D3200
 
6 Answers

Is the D3200 fully compatible with the AF S Nikkor 85 MM f/1.4 D Lens

May 8, 2012 by
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
 on D3200
+19points
26out of 33found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful26unhelpful7
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
Location : 
Stuart, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
As it is mentioned in the product's Webpage:

http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Digital-SLR-Cameras/25492/D3200.html#tab-ProductDetail-ProductTabs-TechSpecs

The Compatible Lenses are:

AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Autofocus not supported. Can be used in mode M, but exposure meter does not function.
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
 
Jun 9, 2012 by
by
Amir
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
No you need to have a G lens to get the most out of it, D lens would not be controlled by the camera as a G lens is.
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
US

+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't know, because I think you have written an incorrect lens name.

Here is a list of the Nikkor lenses:

AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8D
AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR

The D3200 is fully compatible with only the last two in the list above. It will be fully compatible with any lens that has a built-in focus motor. The way you tell is the 'AF-S' in the name of the lens. AF-S means Auto Focus Silent wave.

The D3200 does not have the 'screw driver' focus motor built in to the body, so it cannot focus any lens that doesn't have its own focus motor.
May 9, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
4 Answers

how can i install another language to my camera?

Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
 on D3200
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
i have a Nikon 3200, than only displays chinese and english language, i talk spanish. i would like to know if someone can install the spanish.
Thanks
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Location : 
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
JoeR the only languages that are instaled or displayed in the menu are chinese and english. i have to install the spanish
Oct 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Find your locations Nikon office and call service and support
http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
the only languages that figures in the camera are chinese and english, i have no more choice in the settings. (Nemesistango)
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Press menu, select setup menu(symbol of a wrench)
Select language, select the language you need.
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
As noted above, the rangefinder does not work in M mode, but the focus confirmation light still does, so you do have that old standby for spot focusing.

AI and other old lenses work fine, as do T-mount if the lens physically fits under the viewfinder. I have tried only mounting without shooting, but it appears that pre-AI lenses will also fit, but you should be careful. Pre-AI lenses have an aperture flange that extends further back than others. The ones I've tried fit all right, with the extended flange safely cleared, but this may not be entirely true for all.
May 8, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
  Yes, you can.  According to the manual, non-AI lenses (those made before 1977, that use the “rabbit ears” shoe to couple to the aperture ring to the camera's light meter) won't work, but the manual is incorrect on this point.  See the picture, below, of my ancient non-AI Vivitar 85–205mm zoom lens mounted on my D3200.  I've also successfully used the stock 50mm f1.4 lens from my F2, and a 28mm f3.5 Nikkor as well; all early 1970s vintage, all non-AI.

  You have to set the camera to “M” mode to use any of these older “non-CPU” lenses.  In any other mode, the camera will complain about no lens being mounted, and refuse to operate.

  There's no automatic exposure or even metering to help you with manual exposure; you're on your own with that.  But it's not too difficult.  Just set the aperture, shutter, and ISO settings to something plausible, take a shot, look at it on the screen, and, if necessary, adjust accordingly and repeat.  Two advantages to a modern digital camera over a stone-aged film camera are that it costs you nothing to “waste” shots, and you can see the results immediately.

  There's no automatic focus, either, and focusing is a bit tricky.  The viewfinder isn't really made to support manual focusing, and isn't nearly as helpful as one on an older SLR that isn't meant to be autofocus.

  Somewhere in the settings, there's an “Electronic Rangefinder” that can be enabled, which, once you figure out how to use it, is helpful for manual focusing.  The catch is that it works in every mode except “M”, which is the only mode in which the camera will work with these older lenses.  Not a big problem, just turn the dial to any other mode, focus with the rangefinder, then flip back to “M” mode to take the picture.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Sep 6, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont know with that specific model, but I have tried several old model Nikon lenses and the AF has not worked, but they shoot on manual
Feb 27, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work but will be manual focus only.
Jan 27, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
4 Answers

why would i want to use the RAW format rather than JPG?

Dec 19, 2012 by
by
steve
new jersey
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+14points
16out of 18found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful2
2 years ago
by
steve
new jersey
Location : 
new jersey
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
RAW is high definition PHOTO QUALITY.

RAW is good for prints.

JPG is compressed and lossy which means it losses information due to compression that results in lower qualtiy images. Also, if a JPG is enlarged it is loses resolution. And each time the JPG is copied the image loses even more information resulting in poor image quality.

JPG's are only good for internet pix. Personally, I use PNG's.

RAW is uncompressed and JPG is compressed.
Apr 14, 2014 by
by
PicTaker
CA

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
PhotoShop Elements 11 includes Adobe Camera RAW 7.1 which supports the D3200 raw file format. Most software providers will provide plug-ins for the RAW file format when a new camera is released.

Keep in mind that RAW files are larger than JPGs and that shooting in RAW will significantly decrease the number of images that can be saved on your memory card. RAW files will also need to be converted to JPG format when having pictures printed, uploading to social media sites, sharing pics with friends, etc. If you choose to shoot in RAW you can opt for RAW+JPG which will save 2 files for each shot. This way you won't need to spend time converting your RAW files to JPG.

For more info on image file formats visit this page:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

See page 188 of the D3200 manual for information on how the different file formats impact memory card capacity. A copy of the D3200 manual can be downloaded from here:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 22, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
i have photoshop elements 11 to manipulate images
don't know if it will process 'raw' images

can you recommend a good software product to use with 'raw' images?

thanks
Dec 21, 2012 by
by
steve

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
you only use raw if u have software to process it and only if u have been taught to use the software. if both of these the raw is alot easier to manipulate than the jpeg. also u dont lose anything like u do when u start processing a jpeg format file. your quality goes to a big mess when u play with jpegs. always make a copy and neverrrrr work on the original. if u have some software take some raw shots and open the file in raw and play with it.
Dec 20, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Is the D3200 compatible with : AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G and AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR ?

Apr 26, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+10points
15out of 20found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful5
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
USA

+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR is fully compatible with the D3200. The AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G can be used on the D3200 but not all functions will work. This is because the D3200 needs AF-S lenses to fully autofocus (an AF-S lens has a built-in focus motor). Check out this Learn & Explore article to get a better understanding of lenses with built-in focus motors, and those without: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Apr 30, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 26, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I plan to use the lens with both the D3200 and with the D4X (when issued). I have a AF-S 18-200 but does not seem to be able to blur effectively. I would like to get a very good lens with a fixed focal lens. My research tells me that a Nikkor 85 mm AF-S would be be best. However, I remember from my DX2, the focal length is changed. Is it changed in the same way with the D3200. Seems if I wanted to reproduce what I got from my Leica 90 mm lens for the 35 mm film camera, then I should pick something like 55 mm in there AF-S since the effective length will be close to the 90. So to recap: Does both the D3X and D3200 lengthen the lens by a factor of 1.5X? And can you tell me a few excellent lens that will work well from 3 to 6 feet - fast with good bokeh? Cost not a factor and I don't want to use a the very long lens recommended by Kent Rockwell for outdoor head and shoulders portrait. Sorry if I seem confused but I am really confused and would like to nail down the answer before I buy another expensive lens. Thanks.
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Lens
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
United States

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
You have a pretty good understanding of the lenses and how they function. In order to get good bokeh one must control the depth of field fairly tightly. The Nikkor 85mm lenses do a great job for that on the FX format cameras. The same lens will function as a longer focal length lens on a DX format camera. Depth of field is also affected by the aperature setting. If you are purchasing an FX lens to use on a DX camera you will probably want a shorter focal lentgh lens like the 55 mm you mentioned. Below is a very good summary of depth of field that I picked up somewhere on the Internet. I am sorry I cannot properly credit the author but the information is very good. Lastly, take your camera to a local camera shop and ask to test one or more lenses. Virtually any good camera store will allow you to do this and you can see for yourself what kind of bokeh you are getting at various distances using different aperatures.

Depth of Field (DOF) rules of thumb:
1. As the aperture gets larger the DOF get shorter. The inverse is true as the aperture gets smaller the DOF gets larger.
2. As focal length gets longer the DOF get shorter. The inverse is true as the focal length gets get shorter the DOF gets larger.
3. As the sensor/film format gets larger the DOF get shorter. The inverse is true as the sensor/film format gets smaller the DOF gets larger.
4. As the distance to the object gets shorter the DOF get shorter. The inverse is true as the distance to the object gets farther the DOF gets larger.
May 11, 2012 by
by
Beso
Portland, Oregon
Location : 
Portland, Oregon
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D3X is a FX camera and has no crop factor. The D3200 is a DX (APSC) camera and has the 1.5 crop factor. If you are plannung to get a D4 that is a FX camera. The close distance you want to shoot I would recommend the AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G. If you were just looking for a lens for the D3200 then get the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, however it will not be suitable for the D4 as the camera will detect it is a dx lens and you will have the effect of the 1.5 crop factor. Good news is it only cost $200.
May 10, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Does Tamron lenses suitable for Nikon D3200? Such as Tamron 18-200 VC lens?

Jun 17, 2012 by
by
Moie
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Any advice what other brand of lenses i could use for my D3200?
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Moie
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'd look for Sigma as well. I currently use a 70-300mm APO Macro since it does both zoom and macro. The lens is MOTORIZED but most don't.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As long a its a NIKON F mount
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
5out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful4
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products. Our recommendations is to use only original Nikon products.
Jun 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

is View NX2 of my Nikon D3200 compatible with windows 8 - 64 ?

Jan 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The most recent version of View NX2, version 2.7.1, was released earlier this week and includes support for Windows OS 8. You can download 32bit or 64bit versions of View NX2 2.7.1 from the following address:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is, using it on mine without any issues.
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon last announcement:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18028/~/microsoft-windows-8-compatibility-announcement
Jan 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
When shooting in low light conditions even with low ISO (the D3200 does not go lower than ISO 200 in video mode) there is nasty video noise that fluctuates from frame to frame, thus making video almost unwatchable. Please, fix this in the next firmware update!!! This is a glaring issue with the otherwise good camera. Also pay attention to encoding of red color, sometimes it breaks into macroblocks earlier than other colors.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
3 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
One never knows the level of experience of the person asking the question or even if they know what they are talking about. I have a D3100 as a travel camera when I don' t want to lug around myD3 or D600. I shoot very good video at ISO of 800, 1/50 shutter and 2.8-3.2 aperture. On the D600 I can shoot at 1600 botj produce little noise that can be eliminated post processing. I did some research on some of the blogs I am on and apparently you are not alone. There were several complaints that mirrored yours. You will have to wait for Nikon to address the problem or I guess return the camera.

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
A New firmware is not going to teach you how to shoot at night. The problem here is your settings, not the camera.

The is a video on youtube called :DSLR Tutorial: How to shoot in Low Light (at night) & how to reduce noise! The uploader name is FenchelJanisch2

Watch that. thx
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
Jimmy

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
You need high ISO to shoot in low light. Also, the noise you hear may be the focus motor, if the light is too low it will focus hunt.
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
3 Answers

Does the Nikon 3200 have a body auto focusing motor?

Apr 24, 2012 by
by
A 16 Year old girl who loves photography. (:
peg city.
 on D3200
+9points
14out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful5
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
A 16 Year old girl who loves photography. (:
peg city.
Location : 
peg city.
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1
Answer: 
It doesn't. I currently own one and I love it.
It came standard with an 18-55mm AF-S DX VR lens
I also purchased a Sigma 70-300mm MOTORIZED apo dg macro lens @199
You have to be careful when you're purchasing lenses because some people out there bought non-motorized lenses expecting them to auto-focus when they can't.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
United States

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no
Apr 25, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers