Loading

A new level of image quality, a familiar way of sharing.

Product photograph of Nikon D3200 HD-SLR camera
Don't let the D3200's compact size and price fool you—packed inside this easy to use HD-SLR is serious Nikon power: a 24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor that excels in any light, EXPEED 3 image-processing for fast operation and creative in-camera effects, Full HD (1080p) movie recording, in-camera tutorials and much more. What does this mean for you? Simply stunning photos and videos in any setting. And now, with Nikon's optional Wireless Mobile Adapter, you can share those masterpieces instantly with your Smartphone or tablet!
close-up portrait of a girl with blonde hair taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Take your photos and videos to the next level

24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 3

Why do photos and videos shot with a Nikon HD-SLR look so good? It all starts with Nikon’s exclusive image sensors, and the D3200 has the most powerful CMOS sensor we’ve ever put in a HD-SLR at this level. Boasting an astounding 24.2 effective megapixels, it captures sharper, richer images—even in low light. Combine that with EXPEED 3 image processing, the processing power behind the acclaimed Nikon D4, for super-fast operation, exceptional image capture, in-camera filter effects and more. Your photos and videos will amaze even you.
image of Guide Mode menu on D3200 HD-SLR's LCD

Master the camera simply by using it

Guide Mode ensures success

It’s never been easier to create HD-SLR quality photos, thanks to the D3200’s Guide Mode. Learn the camera's key features and controls while you shoot, and even get advice and sample images to succeed in difficult shooting situations. Guide Mode is easy to access and easy to understand. You’re never shooting alone with the D3200.
Mode dial of D3200 and images of a yellow flower, portrait of girl, night portrait of girl and landscape taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Capture the best of every scene

Six Scene Modes and Scene Auto Selector

Experienced photographers optimize their camera settings for the scene they’re shooting. With the D3200, optimizing your camera settings is as easy as turning a dial. Choose from six common Scene Modes like Portrait, Night Portrait, Landscape, Close up and more, for flawless results even in demanding circumstances. When using Live View, Scene Auto Selector automatically sets the D3200 for the most suitable Scene Mode for the situation. A highly accurate 420-pixel RGB sensor powers Nikon's Scene Recognition System, which compares scene data against an extensive database to optimize the shot accordingly.
View of the rear of the D3200 HD-SLR with HD video example on LCD

Create cinema-quality HD videos

One-touch Full HD 1080p movie recording with stereo sound

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that are not just superlative still image cameras, but superlative video cameras, as well. With a touch of a button, the D3200 starts recording Full HD 1080p video with full-time autofocus, manual exposure control and stereo sound. Its breathtaking 921,000-dot, ultra-high-resolution display makes it easy to frame, monitor and review your footage. Even record in super-smooth slow motion up to 60 fps! Unleash your inner cinematographer.*

*Built-in microphone, monaural
Optional external stereo mini-pin jack (3.5mm diameter)
Microphone sensitivity can be adjusted
photo of family looking out from balcony

Get a new view of your world

Versatile AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm

Nikon’s renowned NIKKOR lenses have long been the choice of pros and serious photographers. Marvels of clarity, consistency, precision and reliability, they draw peak performance from Nikon HD-SLRs. The D3200 comes equipped with the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm, a versatile, high performance VR image stabilized lens. And when you’re ready to expand your system and extend your creativity, you'll have your choice of over 70 legendary NIKKOR lenses.
Photo of girl in yellow go-cart with girl in red go-cart following, taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Fast and accurate shooting

The D3200's 11-point Autofocusing System is as fast as it is precise. Check your focus points, track your subject or shoot carefree right from the viewfinder. And when the action speeds up, simply aim, hold down the shutter and fire off approx. 4 fps at 24.2 MP resolution.
Composite of photos of woman holding red D3200, boy showing off sandy hands and girl looking at smartphone

Wi-Fi Connectivity—Now you can easily get GREAT pictures on your smartphone

Using the WU-1a optional wireless mobile adapter you can now automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D3200. With an easy to use app, now, when you can't wait to share that great shot, you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone in an instant.
Photo of woman holding Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Compact, lightweight and durable

Your D3200 is designed for comfort, intuitive use and durability. Its compact, lightweight and rugged body puts key controls at your fingertips. You'll never hesitate to bring along your D3200.
Photo taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR, of cityscape taken at night with car headlights and taillights blurred

Dramatic low-light photos

The D3200’s wide ISO range of 100 to 6400 allows for shooting in very low light without a flash or in very bright light with zoom, macro, fixed focal length or wide aperture lenses. For extreme low-light situations, set the ISO to Hi 1 and achieve ISO 12800 equivalent sensitivity.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

All photography © Robin Layton

BlackRed
Sale

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D3200 - BlackAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Now $499.95
Reg. $599.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25492
Black
Sale

D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit

D3200 - BlackAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED IIAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Now $599.95
Reg. $849.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13313
D3200 4.8 5 138 138
Quality,fun & easy to use I wanted a digital camera for a while but waited for Nikon to make one that could use my F4S equipment at a retires price, then came the D3100 Now I could use my F4 200-500mm & F2.8 70-200mm Lens's,in Manual mode, but they work great, love the camera. Now they go and bring out the D3200 with 24mg and 60 fps movie, Fantastic blow ups and fast action sport movies, at a budget price.. I have done some quick checks for my own information before I wrote this. I think Nikon has a hit with this Camera ! June 10, 2012
AWESOME SLR CAMERA I bought this camera yesterday and i have not found any problem with it. I LOVE this camera it has 24mp and a good video recording, i WOULD RECOMMEND this product better than T3i and other entry-level SLR's out there because this camera is easy to use. June 7, 2012
Fantastic Camera I finally made the leap from a 35 mm SLR to a digital SLR (OK, so I'm old). I wanted to wait until an affordable digital SLR was available that approached film quality images. I am not disappointed. It is true that good things come in small packages. This camera is light weight, and the picture quality is breathtaking. I bought the 55-300 zoom along with the camera, and took some great pics of hummingbirds on our feeder. When you turn the camera on, it is ready to shoot almost instanly...no lag or delay as with some digital SLR's that friends have. We RV, and having a camera that is instantly ready to shoot is important to us...we take a lot of pics as we are rolling down the road. Nikon has hit it out of the park with this camera. June 7, 2012
photography simplified This is my first DSLR and I am glad to have it. I have never even had a 35mm camera so this is a brand new experience for me. So far this camera has been a point-n-shoot. Of course that is the only way to figure out how it works. The built in guide in the camera is very helpful. The number of features such as night shot, vibration reduction, red eye removal, are just a few of the features I have used and love. The number of pixels (24) is also fabulous, the amount of detail you can get is just amazing. The 4fps (frames per second) is also a great feature, this way you can always get the shot you are looking for, and not just a second or two too fast or too slow. June 4, 2012
Easy to use DSLR As a camera fanatic, I could not wait to get my hands on the D3200. When I first picked it up, it was very lightweight. The improved grip (from the D3100) made it a lot easier to pick up, even though the grip was just a little small, but that's ok. Taking photos with this camera is a simple as one, two, three. The video quality is outstanding, the best I have ever seen. The camera is now fully manually functional in video, so you can adjust your ISO, aperture, etc. while shooting video. Overall, for the price, this is one of the best DSLR's out there, and I highly recommend it to first users of DSLR's, who aren't quite ready to take on the challenge of a way more high-end and a more professional Nikon camera, such as the D4 or the D3x. June 3, 2012
Superb quality from Nikon The quality I have come to expect from Nikon just keeps getting better wit each new product offering especially with such a low cost DSLR. I have had the camera for about 2 weeks now and I have hardly been able to put it down. I have tried all the features and I am only limited by imagination and lens whic unfortunately will notx fit from one of my other 4 Nikon cameras. I have always been partial to film but this camera comes so close to reproducing the excitement fel when that first frame is developed and it feels like Chrstmas. Thanks again Nikon continue to Impress and keep the costs down for everyone. Even professionals need a break sometimes. June 1, 2012
Packed with features. Just bought this equipment, initial setup about 20 mins, went out to shoot, 24 megs pictures are awesome. closeup with macros are great, details of individual pollen dropping from a flower is captured. I have not tried the video functionality. I hope its great. 60fps will be great for slow motion captures. All these at 700 dollars is wonderful. May 20, 2012
AMAZING!!!!!! Amazing video and photos..Wedding like quality definitely the best DSLR out now May 16, 2012
amazingly good in cheap price amazing camera with only 700 dollars an awesome deal May 7, 2012
must buy its much better than the d5100 compared to the price,classifications , mp and the video recording. its an amazing product !!!! April 28, 2012
Awesome features Cool! It captures sharp images. I can now take wonderful moments with its 24 mp :) The best DSLR camera. :D Thank you Nikon! \m/ January 1, 2014
simply the best I loved this product, It's worth more than the price I paid. December 29, 2013
Great Toy I bought this camera in order to achieve great pictures and it does a great job so far. Using automatic with a dslr is probably the biggest mistake. You have to learn to use it in manual in order to get the results that you want. The only problem is that it only has 11 focus points like the previous version (d3100). Otherwise it's a great product. Lean every single aspect of your camera and use it as your advantage in order to get stunning pictures. December 19, 2013
best camera ever!!! this camera is best camera for begainner and it has lots of good features November 9, 2013
Wow This is my second Nikon DSLR. The first was a D40X. This is an excellent upgrade from the D40X which impressed me in its time. Shadow detail is much better with this camera and the colours are lovely. As with all the Nikon digital cameras, I can use my old manual focus Nikors which I will never part with. This camera does a lot to unlock the amazing capabilities of those old lenses. My favorite lens a Nikor Q 135 f2.8 amazed me on my old F4 and it still amazes me on this D3200. November 7, 2013
affordable powerful camera it's an entry level camera, yet perform as a professional photographer owned. i love it. September 19, 2013
Grate Camera It's a Good camera for traveling around, and getting nice Photos for the size. July 4, 2013
Great camera for where it sits! This is a great product for where it lies. For an entry level camera and for under 600 dollars it exceeds almost all expectations. Its commonly forgotten that this product is only an entry level camera, which should compare no where to say a D800 , otherwise it does very very well for itself. I have owned this camera for over a year and i take a lot of fast paced sports shots. Surprisingly enough for a cheaper camera, this camera does a really good job. It also can grab some really clear shots with lots of colour and the best part is the clarity is seen in the video aspect as well. Video can be shot in 1080p at 30 fps and 60 fps at 720p in NTSC and 50fps in Pal which is exceptionally clear . This opens a lot of windows for people who love video also, allowing for slo mo and great looking videos to work with. The camera is also very easy to navigate through also. This allows for quick changes in shutter speed, iso and exposure when changing light settings occur or flipping from pictures to videos. For someone starting into photography, This is a great camera and you couldn't find one better with this much bang for its buck. You would be able to use this camera for many different photo aspects and be very happy with the outcome. You would be able to use this camera for along time without having to trade off for a different one. For someone with experience in photography, they would get the same joy from this product, I hope that the D5200 is just as awesome! June 2, 2013
Excellent first D-SLR After conducting considerable research online and gathering opinions from more serious photographers, we decided to get the Nikon d3200 over the Canon T3i/T4i and over the various compact system cameras out there. While we have been a Canon compact camera family for years (and they are truly fantastic compact cameras), we chose Nikon over Canon for two reasons primarily: 1) the Nikon was easier to find cheaper and this matters given that both brands are so close in quality and 2) our research led us to believe that Nikkor lenses were a touch better for portraits than Canon (while Canon is a touch better for fast action and sports) and this setting matters most to our family. Moreover, despite amazing advancement for compact system cameras, we felt (and can since confirm) that D-SLRs capture the speed required for kids a lot better and can handle low light situations a lot easier. This Nikon d3200 is incredibly easy to use and with some very basic photography lessons (just from online browsing) you can learn to take some great pictures of what's important to you. One word of advice on this particular camera: after you become comfortable with it, go out and buy another lens as the camera's amazing capabilities overwhelm the basic kit lens, which is not bright or fast enough. An f/1.8 or better lens is really needed for great portraits and the walking-around 35mm equivalent prime f/1.8 lens is another great options for all-around shooting (amazing value for the price). All in all, a great camera that you can grow into and that is "deserving" of better glass. May 29, 2013
Lots of Capabilities and Great features! The Nikon D3200 Is and amazing camera! Stacking up at 24 megapixels for such a great price, and Being capable of taking 1080p video at 30fps is the same as what other more expensive cameras are less than capable of. February 24, 2013
Great Camera One of the many features that I like is the low light capability of this camera (12,800) quality of photos is very good. If you're moving up from a point and shoot camera, the 3200 is the one for you. The Auto feature is virtually goof proof and you can eventually explore the manual modes as you gain more confidence. Movie mode is excellent. December 26, 2012
Fantastic camera! I needed a camera that I could take advantage of all the features, but would also be easy enough for my wife to get some point-and-shoot time without having to take a course on how to use it. After doing some research, I kept coming back to the D3200. Everything about this camera opened my eyes up. Price, quality, ease of use, features, accessories, etc. We finally decided to buy it and were amazed at everything we could get with it (3 lenses, case, 2nd battery, 2 filters, wifi adapter, remote) for just shy of $1000 CDN. After using it for a few weeks now, we're both completely happy with our purchase. The camera takes fantastic pictures even in the auto modes that the wife uses. Using this camera is becoming an addiction due to its excellent quality. Can't recommend it enough. September 14, 2012
a good everything camera the megapixal on this camera is amazing they did a good job for a good price July 4, 2012
Realizando um sonho! Eu estou muito FELIZ com a D3200! Ela mostrou que posso fazer e pensar em melhores fotos! Ela aguçou minha vontade de querer mais em fotografia! Captura desde os menores detalhes até as mais grandiosas construções. March 16, 2014
D3200 Comprei recentemente uma D3200, minha primeira DSLR. Ainda estou fazendo cursos pela internet (youtube), e já possível aproveitar parte dos seus recursos. Recomendo a câmera e as instruções/dicas disponíveis na internet. February 21, 2014
Bastaria dizer que é Nikon, mas é FANTÁSTICA!!! Você brinca um pouco com ela e percebe que nunca antes fez fotos tão boas. February 10, 2014
pequena e com tantos beneficios Muito boa, a própria marca já diz, sim recomendaria a um amigo, pois só assim faria parte de mais um a solicitar nos fins de semana February 4, 2014
La mejor elección Aparte de que Nikon tiene la mejor imagen que conozco, esta cámara cumple con las expectativas que todo fotógrafo principiante y avanzado puede esperar. Aparte de ser un gran producto simplemente es la mejor elección a un precio accesible para todo aquel aficionado de la fotografía que desee inducirse a este magnifico trabajo. Sigan mejorando día con día, para de esta manera seguir siendo los numero 1!! January 9, 2014
Una calidad de fotografías que están unos pasos adelante de cualquier cámara compacta Llevo poco tiempo usando está cámara réflex y estoy satisfecho con su desempeño y versatilidad, una interfaz fácil de manejar, excelente desempeño. La he puesto a prueba en distintos escenarios, cambios de velocidad de obturación etc. Se pueden obtener resultados profesionales con los ajustes adecuados. January 2, 2014
no tengo palabras mi primer cámara fotográfica para recuerdos de tipo, nunca imagine que algo tan pequeño pudiera reflejar algo extraordinario, con ese tipo de instrumento te dan ganas de fotografiar a cuanta gente pase y que sepan que ese tipo de cámaras son las mejores, nunca me arrepentire de la compra que he realizado. December 27, 2013
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
<<prev | next>>
214 Questions | 278 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
214 Questions | 278 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>
Sort by:
D3200
 
6 Answers

Is the D3200 fully compatible with the AF S Nikkor 85 MM f/1.4 D Lens

May 8, 2012 by
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
 on D3200
+18points
25out of 32found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful25unhelpful7
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
Location : 
Stuart, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
As it is mentioned in the product's Webpage:

http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Digital-SLR-Cameras/25492/D3200.html#tab-ProductDetail-ProductTabs-TechSpecs

The Compatible Lenses are:

AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Autofocus not supported. Can be used in mode M, but exposure meter does not function.
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
 
Jun 9, 2012 by
by
Amir
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No you need to have a G lens to get the most out of it, D lens would not be controlled by the camera as a G lens is.
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
US

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't know, because I think you have written an incorrect lens name.

Here is a list of the Nikkor lenses:

AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8D
AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR

The D3200 is fully compatible with only the last two in the list above. It will be fully compatible with any lens that has a built-in focus motor. The way you tell is the 'AF-S' in the name of the lens. AF-S means Auto Focus Silent wave.

The D3200 does not have the 'screw driver' focus motor built in to the body, so it cannot focus any lens that doesn't have its own focus motor.
May 9, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
4 Answers

how can i install another language to my camera?

Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
 on D3200
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
i have a Nikon 3200, than only displays chinese and english language, i talk spanish. i would like to know if someone can install the spanish.
Thanks
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
6 months ago
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Location : 
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
JoeR the only languages that are instaled or displayed in the menu are chinese and english. i have to install the spanish
Oct 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Find your locations Nikon office and call service and support
http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
the only languages that figures in the camera are chinese and english, i have no more choice in the settings. (Nemesistango)
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press menu, select setup menu(symbol of a wrench)
Select language, select the language you need.
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
4 Answers

why would i want to use the RAW format rather than JPG?

Dec 19, 2012 by
by
steve
new jersey
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
1 year, 4 months ago
by
steve
new jersey
Location : 
new jersey
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
RAW is high definition PHOTO QUALITY.

RAW is good for prints.

JPG is compressed and lossy which means it losses information due to compression that results in lower qualtiy images. Also, if a JPG is enlarged it is loses resolution. And each time the JPG is copied the image loses even more information resulting in poor image quality.

JPG's are only good for internet pix. Personally, I use PNG's.

RAW is uncompressed and JPG is compressed.
Apr 14, 2014 by
by
PicTaker
CA

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
PhotoShop Elements 11 includes Adobe Camera RAW 7.1 which supports the D3200 raw file format. Most software providers will provide plug-ins for the RAW file format when a new camera is released.

Keep in mind that RAW files are larger than JPGs and that shooting in RAW will significantly decrease the number of images that can be saved on your memory card. RAW files will also need to be converted to JPG format when having pictures printed, uploading to social media sites, sharing pics with friends, etc. If you choose to shoot in RAW you can opt for RAW+JPG which will save 2 files for each shot. This way you won't need to spend time converting your RAW files to JPG.

For more info on image file formats visit this page:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

See page 188 of the D3200 manual for information on how the different file formats impact memory card capacity. A copy of the D3200 manual can be downloaded from here:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 22, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
i have photoshop elements 11 to manipulate images
don't know if it will process 'raw' images

can you recommend a good software product to use with 'raw' images?

thanks
Dec 21, 2012 by
by
steve

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
you only use raw if u have software to process it and only if u have been taught to use the software. if both of these the raw is alot easier to manipulate than the jpeg. also u dont lose anything like u do when u start processing a jpeg format file. your quality goes to a big mess when u play with jpegs. always make a copy and neverrrrr work on the original. if u have some software take some raw shots and open the file in raw and play with it.
Dec 20, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Is the D3200 compatible with : AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G and AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR ?

Apr 26, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+7points
12out of 17found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful5
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
USA

+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR is fully compatible with the D3200. The AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G can be used on the D3200 but not all functions will work. This is because the D3200 needs AF-S lenses to fully autofocus (an AF-S lens has a built-in focus motor). Check out this Learn & Explore article to get a better understanding of lenses with built-in focus motors, and those without: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Apr 30, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 26, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

does the d3200 have mirror lock up (not for sensor cleaning) or an equivalent function?

May 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
i would like to get sharp images using a
tripod remote release andshutter speed around 1/2sec
maybe i can use the mirror lock up for cleaning?
thanks
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
  In “Live View” mode, (See pages 80-87 in the manual) the mirror is locked up.
Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Placing the camera on a tripod, you can use the MC-DC2 remote release cord or the ML-L3 wireless remote to trip the shutter instead of pressing the shutter button, which will lesson the chance of camera shake.

This camera does have a mirror lock up function but it is used for cleaning the sensor only. You can't use it to keep the mirror up while shooting.
Jun 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
No
May 16, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

is View NX2 of my Nikon D3200 compatible with windows 8 - 64 ?

Jan 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The most recent version of View NX2, version 2.7.1, was released earlier this week and includes support for Windows OS 8. You can download 32bit or 64bit versions of View NX2 2.7.1 from the following address:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is, using it on mine without any issues.
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon last announcement:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18028/~/microsoft-windows-8-compatibility-announcement
Jan 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When shooting in low light conditions even with low ISO (the D3200 does not go lower than ISO 200 in video mode) there is nasty video noise that fluctuates from frame to frame, thus making video almost unwatchable. Please, fix this in the next firmware update!!! This is a glaring issue with the otherwise good camera. Also pay attention to encoding of red color, sometimes it breaks into macroblocks earlier than other colors.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
3 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
One never knows the level of experience of the person asking the question or even if they know what they are talking about. I have a D3100 as a travel camera when I don' t want to lug around myD3 or D600. I shoot very good video at ISO of 800, 1/50 shutter and 2.8-3.2 aperture. On the D600 I can shoot at 1600 botj produce little noise that can be eliminated post processing. I did some research on some of the blogs I am on and apparently you are not alone. There were several complaints that mirrored yours. You will have to wait for Nikon to address the problem or I guess return the camera.

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
A New firmware is not going to teach you how to shoot at night. The problem here is your settings, not the camera.

The is a video on youtube called :DSLR Tutorial: How to shoot in Low Light (at night) & how to reduce noise! The uploader name is FenchelJanisch2

Watch that. thx
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
Jimmy

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
You need high ISO to shoot in low light. Also, the noise you hear may be the focus motor, if the light is too low it will focus hunt.
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Does Tamron lenses suitable for Nikon D3200? Such as Tamron 18-200 VC lens?

Jun 17, 2012 by
by
Moie
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Any advice what other brand of lenses i could use for my D3200?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Moie
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'd look for Sigma as well. I currently use a 70-300mm APO Macro since it does both zoom and macro. The lens is MOTORIZED but most don't.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As long a its a NIKON F mount
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
4out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products. Our recommendations is to use only original Nikon products.
Jun 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Please, how can I buy this camera? I couldn't find it in Nikon store.

Apr 23, 2012 by
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+17points
19out of 21found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful2
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Location : 
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are 4 in the Blakeney, NC store.
May 4, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Best Buy.... I purchased my D3200 yesterday at Best Buy.. Check your local store...
Apr 29, 2012 by
by
Dawn
New Orleans, LA, USA
Location : 
New Orleans, LA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new NIKON D3200 was announced last week and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after this. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Apr 25, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
3 Answers

Where is this product manufactured?

May 19, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
+7points
9out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I also have just purchased one. It is made in Thailand.
Sep 1, 2012 by
by
skak
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Location : 
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just got one-it's made in Thailand.
Jun 3, 2012 by
by
Nikongirl1
St Louis, MO, USA
Location : 
St Louis, MO, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
In a factory out east.
May 20, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers