Loading

A new level of image quality, a familiar way of sharing.

Product photograph of Nikon D3200 HD-SLR camera
Don't let the D3200's compact size and price fool you—packed inside this easy to use HD-SLR is serious Nikon power: a 24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor that excels in any light, EXPEED 3 image-processing for fast operation and creative in-camera effects, Full HD (1080p) movie recording, in-camera tutorials and much more. What does this mean for you? Simply stunning photos and videos in any setting. And now, with Nikon's optional Wireless Mobile Adapter, you can share those masterpieces instantly with your Smartphone or tablet!
close-up portrait of a girl with blonde hair taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Take your photos and videos to the next level

24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 3

Why do photos and videos shot with a Nikon HD-SLR look so good? It all starts with Nikon’s exclusive image sensors, and the D3200 has the most powerful CMOS sensor we’ve ever put in a HD-SLR at this level. Boasting an astounding 24.2 effective megapixels, it captures sharper, richer images—even in low light. Combine that with EXPEED 3 image processing, the processing power behind the acclaimed Nikon D4, for super-fast operation, exceptional image capture, in-camera filter effects and more. Your photos and videos will amaze even you.
image of Guide Mode menu on D3200 HD-SLR's LCD

Master the camera simply by using it

Guide Mode ensures success

It’s never been easier to create HD-SLR quality photos, thanks to the D3200’s Guide Mode. Learn the camera's key features and controls while you shoot, and even get advice and sample images to succeed in difficult shooting situations. Guide Mode is easy to access and easy to understand. You’re never shooting alone with the D3200.
Mode dial of D3200 and images of a yellow flower, portrait of girl, night portrait of girl and landscape taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Capture the best of every scene

Six Scene Modes and Scene Auto Selector

Experienced photographers optimize their camera settings for the scene they’re shooting. With the D3200, optimizing your camera settings is as easy as turning a dial. Choose from six common Scene Modes like Portrait, Night Portrait, Landscape, Close up and more, for flawless results even in demanding circumstances. When using Live View, Scene Auto Selector automatically sets the D3200 for the most suitable Scene Mode for the situation. A highly accurate 420-pixel RGB sensor powers Nikon's Scene Recognition System, which compares scene data against an extensive database to optimize the shot accordingly.
View of the rear of the D3200 HD-SLR with HD video example on LCD

Create cinema-quality HD videos

One-touch Full HD 1080p movie recording with stereo sound

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that are not just superlative still image cameras, but superlative video cameras, as well. With a touch of a button, the D3200 starts recording Full HD 1080p video with full-time autofocus, manual exposure control and stereo sound. Its breathtaking 921,000-dot, ultra-high-resolution display makes it easy to frame, monitor and review your footage. Even record in super-smooth slow motion up to 60 fps! Unleash your inner cinematographer.*

*Built-in microphone, monaural
Optional external stereo mini-pin jack (3.5mm diameter)
Microphone sensitivity can be adjusted
photo of family looking out from balcony

Get a new view of your world

Versatile AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm

Nikon’s renowned NIKKOR lenses have long been the choice of pros and serious photographers. Marvels of clarity, consistency, precision and reliability, they draw peak performance from Nikon HD-SLRs. The D3200 comes equipped with the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm, a versatile, high performance VR image stabilized lens. And when you’re ready to expand your system and extend your creativity, you'll have your choice of over 70 legendary NIKKOR lenses.
Photo of girl in yellow go-cart with girl in red go-cart following, taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Fast and accurate shooting

The D3200's 11-point Autofocusing System is as fast as it is precise. Check your focus points, track your subject or shoot carefree right from the viewfinder. And when the action speeds up, simply aim, hold down the shutter and fire off approx. 4 fps at 24.2 MP resolution.
Composite of photos of woman holding red D3200, boy showing off sandy hands and girl looking at smartphone

Wi-Fi Connectivity—Now you can easily get GREAT pictures on your smartphone

Using the WU-1a optional wireless mobile adapter you can now automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D3200. With an easy to use app, now, when you can't wait to share that great shot, you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone in an instant.
Photo of woman holding Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Compact, lightweight and durable

Your D3200 is designed for comfort, intuitive use and durability. Its compact, lightweight and rugged body puts key controls at your fingertips. You'll never hesitate to bring along your D3200.
Photo taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR, of cityscape taken at night with car headlights and taillights blurred

Dramatic low-light photos

The D3200’s wide ISO range of 100 to 6400 allows for shooting in very low light without a flash or in very bright light with zoom, macro, fixed focal length or wide aperture lenses. For extreme low-light situations, set the ISO to Hi 1 and achieve ISO 12800 equivalent sensitivity.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

All photography © Robin Layton

BlackRed
Sale

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D3200 - BlackAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Now $499.95
Reg. $599.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25492
Black
Sale

D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit

D3200 - BlackAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED IIAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Now $599.95
Reg. $849.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13313
D3200 4.8 5 138 138
Great Job Nikon on the D3200 Owned Nikon D60 camera for 5 years which was a great camera and upgraged to the new Nikon D3200 this Novemder. Spent many hours on reviews plus tested the Canon T3i, Canon T3, Nikon D5100, and the Nikon D3100. This camera is lite, very fast, easy to use, and takes Great Pictures and Video's. You need to buy a second battery which cost $50.00 and a 16 gd card grade 10 on sale will cost $19.00. I am am very happy with this camera but the only thing I do not like is in the info window it dose not show you how many shots you have left on the sd card only shows you a number example 1.6k = 1600 shots it's 10 times the number. December 1, 2012
Great beginner camera I have only used compact digital cameras so I decided to give this a try. Great for beginners. I will probably buy a new lens to upgrade, but the one that comes with it takes great pictures as well. Easy to use and takes nice videos as well. The pictures I have uploaded are ones I had taken within the first week or so of owning the camera, I used the lens that came with the camera. Minimal editing was done (Brightness/Contrast etc.) November 29, 2012
excelent camera i owned a camera like this but it was back in 85 when they were all film. now these are digital which is great and you can make movies which is the best part and you can put it on auto and not have to make any adjustments. my only problem is that the software disk does not install. November 26, 2012
This camera is awesome As an enthusiastic amateur photographer, I try to limit my camera budget. For the price, this camera exceeded my expectations. Out of the box, I was able to get some great shots on the 1st and second day I owned the camera with ease. I am extremely happy with this camera and the quality of my shots! November 25, 2012
Easy to use and understand. Great introduction to the world of Digital photography!! I have been interested in photography since my first experience back in high school taking photos for our school's 1967 Year Book,that is right, I am old!! I dabbled with film photography for several years but hated the mess and expense of the "dark room" experience that was part and parcel of film photography. Years passed and I found my self using a small, low megapixal point and shoot camera purchased from a well known discount store. Then a few months ago I was introduced to the Nikon 3100 series DSLR by a friend and decided to take the plunge into the digital photography, and subsequently purchased a Nikon 3200 with 24+ MP with the 18-55mm zoom lens. For a so called "entry level "camera it has many features that help a new photogragher enjoy the whole learning experience. I would,without hesitation, reccomend this DSLR to a freind or family member. Looking forward to more enjoyment of my rediscovered passion for photography. Thanks to Nikon November 12, 2012
Great photos...even for a beginner! This is my first DSLR camera. I used my D3200 for the first time on a weekend trip to the Florida coast with friends. I am so impressed with the photos that I decided to take digital photography classes so that I may take advantage of all that this camera has to offer. I wish that I could upload a few of the pictures that I took, but they are larger than the 5 MB limit. October 26, 2012
Love it! This is a great little camera! I used to be a photographer now turned graphic designer and although I initially wanted to purchase a much more expensive camera I had to be realistic with myself and my budget. WOW! Am I impressed, this camera rocks! Not only is the quality there but it is so easy to use. It's lightweight and easier for smaller hands to hold. I can easily take it with me to take shots of the kids for fun or to shoot small product shots for a client. I realize by no means does this replace a professional camera but it's a great little buy for me and my needs. If you are wondering, yes, I bought the red and I know people are talking about it not being professional but don't let that little change in body color fool you! October 26, 2012
WOW! I bought this to see if Nikon was better than the Rebel T3i which I returned because it truly did not live up to my expectations. This D3200 has out-preformed on every level, and exceeded my expectations. I have also found that using the 35mm/1.8f fixed lens really brings out the colors and saturation. Zoom lenses are great, but when you want to do portraits, use a fixed lens. What is unfortunate is that I can not post a few sample pics, as the resolution/size exceeds 8mg on each in jpeg, and the RAW images are of course higher. I was in the media area for the Endeavour when it reached the California Science Center, and have some great shots to share! October 22, 2012
Great Camera for the Price This is a really great camera. I mostly take pictures of aircraft with my 55-300mm lense and all the pictures are great. The 24.3 MP is great! I would totally recommend this camera! October 7, 2012
Easy to Use and Great Image Quality The camera is handy to use, i like the small body and it is light. LCD screen show great quality. Picture quality is wonderful, battery life also great. So far, i am happy with this camera, really value for money, Noise reduction also work great! September 25, 2012
Unbelievable clarity and sharpness in Nikon D3200 - Expeed 3 Processor unleashes its quality I was using my Nikon's various DSLRs... But Nikon D3200 produces unbelievable clarity, color richness and sharpness. Of course, with this camera also my aperture mode addiction continues... Unbelievable clarity and sharpness in Nikon D3200 - Expeed 3 Processor unleashes its quality... September 6, 2012
Awesome Camera This is my first DSLR camera and i am very happy about the D3200. You actually get addicted to it, and the photos are of high quality, and has many features... Would definitely recommend it !! August 25, 2012
Absolutely Awesome! Own a 300s & before taking an extended 3+ week trip through France & Italy, found that pictures with it were not clear due to extensive use without cleaning. Within 3 days of leaving, I had to decide what camera to buy and take. Because of the Exceed3 processor in the D3200, I picked this camera. It was absolutely flawless and produced unbelievable pictures. It was relatively simple to learn "on the fly" and is a rather light camera on a long trip. There were no glitches in 2,000 pictures. The only anomaly was that with the small, great size for a long trip, SB-400 AF speedlight flash attached in low light situations, the camera also popped up it's own built-in flash. I'm sure that is probably a software issue that Nikon can fix so that when the camera identifies the SB-400 as attached, it locks down the D3200 internal flash. I'd recommend this camera to anyone for the extremely high quality, sharp images that the Exceed 3 sensor produces. And for most people it is rather easy to learn ..... pick it up and start shooting ... you won't be sorry! (The 1080p HD video is incredible too!). August 23, 2012
Great Camera I did a great deal of research prior to purchasing this camera. I finally decided on this one D3200. I am so satisfied with my purchase. this camera has so many features and takes amazing pictures, even if you are not a pro. The many features make it easy to take artistic photos.I am new at using a DSLR and am very pleased with this purchase. The guide feature makes it very easy to understand the features and how to use them. With the D3200 you get way more features and great quality pictures for little money compared to the higher priced models. Great buy!!! August 21, 2012
Great Camera! I have had a Pentax digital SLR for about 10 years now. I was very nervous about changing brands due to everything I had invested in the Pentax. I could have just upgraded the pentax and continued using the lenses and flash with the new one. I purchased the Nikon D3200 for someone at work. he allowed me to use it for a couple of days to see how it worked. It was great. I was taking a trip to Hawaii and wanted the best pictures I could get. i bought the D3200 along with extra battery and a 55-200mm zoom. It has been the best camera i have ever purchased. i took a little over 1000 pictures while in Hawaii and I had maybe 2 that turned out bad and those were operator issues not camera issues. I could not find asituation that this camera could not handle. i ended up purchasing the 55-300mm zoom while in hawaii so now i have a full setup. i still have to learn a litlle more on all the features that the camera offers but so far so good. August 20, 2012
Really great for the price! I just received this camera today and am very happy with my pictures so far, even though there are just seven, though my indoor shots aren't spectacular the Outdoor pics are.Not very impressed so far but I guess tomorrow will be better when I go outside to take pictures August 13, 2012
Great Camera! The Nikon D3200 is my first DSLR camera, and I LOVE IT! It is very easy to use. The guide mode is really helpful especially if you're new to photography. I love all the different settings! The shutter-priority setting is really cool to use to take pictures of lights at night. I take it boating with me, and I can get some great action shots! The video quality of this camera is really good. The built-in microphone picks up sound really well. I love how you can switch between using the viewfinder and the screen to take pictures and video. The camera came with a Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55mm lens, and it works great! This lens is alright for close up pictures, but I will invest in a lens with a larger focal length in the future. Did I mention I love the color?! People have stopped me to talk about my camera because they love the color too! Overall I have nothing negative to say about this product! August 7, 2012
First DSLR and I'm extremely happy with it. I purchased my D3200 about 4 days ago. It worked great out of the box but I still had to tweak some settings for the best results. It really is a GREAT camera for what you pay. I decided to jump up to the bundle kit which includes the Nikkor 55-200mm VR lens and Im glad I did that. The 18-55 is a good and pretty sharp lens, but you do honestly need more than 55mm if your planning on zooming in a bit. I use the 18-55mm more as my wide angle lens. I leave it around the 24mm mark and use it like that. The camera itself though is fantastic. It handles noise very well and captures images with lots of detail. I'm going to be using it mainly for video and I do really love the video quality. I took it with me on vacation the day I bought it. I tried to upload pictures as a reference for you all, but the file was too large. Thats another downer of this camera. Because of its high pixel count (I think), the files are around 13mb? That's quite allot for a photo. Make sure you're running at least a 16gb card! Im happy I got it for what I paid, but I feel it should be about $25 cheaper. The only downside is there is no articulating screen. That is a massive bummer for shooting videos. It's kind of tricky to compose the shot without it, but you just have to do your best with what you have! August 7, 2012
Amazing for an armature like me and a professional like my friend Cheap in price, light weighted camera and high quality pictures, amazing quality in recording and shooting. My friend really love this camera and she's a professional, after taking a few pic with her professional lens and my camera she want to buy it, Perfect for me and my friend August 2, 2012
Excellent camera with great features on a very very affordable price! This is my first time to have a DSLR camera. I really love the camera. With 24MP, I can capture every moment in a very clear image. I always use our camera in travel and in my club. But now I have my own camera. It's the perfect camera for all levels. July 29, 2012
Excellent camera in a very very affordable price! This is my first time to buy a DSLR and this camera is perfect for me. It has a excellent resolution, excellent megapixel count, and it's very easy to use. Comes with package of the 18-55mm lens, free bag, strap, 4GB SD Card (which I upgraded to 8GB). I really love this camera... I thought it was not yet available so I hesitated to buy the Nikon D5100 and then when we, my family went to the mall, we've checked some stores and they already have it. It's the best camera I've ever had. :)) July 28, 2012
Fantastic Value - Great Shots While I have been a photography enthusiast since the late 1980s (fully manual Minolta SLR with manual focus, manual aperture, manual shutter speed, even manual film advance LOL), and have used a wide number of point-and-shoot 35mm film cameras and digital cameras since then, the Nikon D3200 is my first DSLR. I love it for five primary reasons. 1) It can be set to full auto, making it into a beefed up point-and-shoot, which is handy since it has been over two decades since I've used an SLR. 2) As you become more advanced, you can manually control various settings to shoot more creative photos. 3) The full 1080 video at 24 or 30 fps is phenomenal. 4) Having been designed as a person's first digital SLR, it is extremely easy to use. 5) Quite simply, at 24 megapixels and VR, this camera shoots gorgeous pictures!! July 28, 2012
It's a really beginners friendly. I've being using this camera for a few days, and I love it! I'm not an expert in photography, so it's really well explained functions let the allow the user to use the camera getting the best of it. 100% recommended July 24, 2012
Fun to Use I purchased the D3200 in June after many years of using an FE 2. I absolutely love the camera. The camera is very easy to use with outstanding results. I also added the 55-300 zoom. I have waited for the right camera to come along--great camera. July 23, 2012
Unbelievable entry level camera I purchased this camera in June. I began with the D100, D200, and D300 which are all excellent camera bodies and I still use them all. I put the Nikkor 70-200 F2.8 on this camera to see how it would work and it is excellent, I tried the Nikkor 500 F4 and it is amazing what this camera is cabable of. You don't have all the options with the 3200 as with the D300S but with the 24 megapixel sensor in the 3200 your photos are breathtaking. I put the 70-200 back on the 3200 and it will stay mounted for wildlife photography this fall. Amazing camera for the budget consious. We photographed some elk in Wind Cave National Parks and this is one of the images with the 3200 and 70-200. Attached the GP-1 and this is an excellent tool for outdoor photography. This is a great set up (D3200 and GP-1) for under $1000. July 15, 2012
There Are Great Features In A Small Package I upgraded from a Nikon D80, I found the D3200 much lighter and user friendly. With the D80 you had to either have a good understanding of setting up your camera. I found the 3200 excellent for those who are "First Timers" or have little understanding of a DSLR buy using the "Guide". This camera is fast enough by far for action photography, but I found that with the D80 all I had to do was hold the trigger down for multiple pictures (Great at the 2011 Rolex 24 hour race at Daytona) where as the D3200 forces you to "trigger" every time you want a picture. Because all of my lenses work great with this camera unsuspectingly, I decided to go with buy a 500 zoom lens. The picture detail is outstanding at 24MP but I found some of those files were to large to put onto Kajijii. An 8MB file with the D80 turned into a 18MB file. That I can live with as I will just keep my D80 for such tasks. Like the RED color you decided to use for the body it's gotten a lot of attention from other camera enthusiasts, some of them were looking to buy one after hearing the specs and trying a few shots. Most people as myself included were VERY impressed by the price. Oh Yeah ..... Video, the option of taking either pictures or video is a great plus and the videos turned out to be quite high quality. I would like to add a stereo microphone but have been unable to find one on the market as of yet. The option of ISO at 3200 is a plus. Well thats about it. I think you mostly hit a Home Run with this little camera. Ha Ha tried to upload some photos but this site is limited to 5MB per pic all mine are over 8MB. Sorry....... July 6, 2012
Nice one for it's category I am using D3200 for more than one month now and for what i shoot i think is more than enough. I have been using 55-200m lens without vr and still receiving great images even at night if you give the shooter more time.I bought body only as i had a previous 18-55m lens which a sold for a few dollars and never used it. I am waiting a 18-105 vr lens which i think will be enough for everyday photography and ever get sharper images and better quality. With this one i have achieved to shoot macro and portrait as if i wrote that those where taken with a fx people would believe it. Worthy and practical would recommend it for everyday usage. July 4, 2012
Amazing Camera For its Value I love this camera i got it a few days ago and have taken over 1000 shots. I would recommend this camera to any beginner even professionals. June 25, 2012
Amazing Camera for any Photo enthusiast I bought this camera a month ago as a birthday present (to myself). Immediately i started taking photos of almost anything just to get the feel. In Auto mode, it is more reliable than any sony, canon, or even compact nikon's that i have used. Breaking my leg two weeks ago in a sailing accident, i have been playing around with the manual features and have started to take better and better photos in numerous environments. With the help of the "guide" feature, i am able to choose what type of photo i am trying to take and learn the settings that the camera automatically adapts to. I highly recommend this camera if you are either first trying out a DSLR, want to learn more about photography, or even have tried other cameras and just want something that works in any environment and takes a photo with a truly clear photo. June 17, 2012
New Outstanding Camera This new Nikon D3200 camera is " SUPER & OUTSTANDING" the lower the light the better. I have used the camera on photo assignments for the Chicago Sun-Times, even last night during a Professional Major league Baseball Game with a 55-200mm f/3.5-5.6 lens and the camera rocked. Every photo tack sharp, colors of the uniforms on the money, great resolution, super fast start up, fast autofocus. Can't wait to try it with the new Nikkor 18-300 VR lens that will be introduced at the end of this month. The camera is sold in a kit form with the 18-55mm f.3.5-5.6 That little lens is also tack sharp. This new Nikon camera has sold me along with other Pro photographers. June 14, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
<<prev | next>>
214 Questions | 278 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
214 Questions | 278 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>
Sort by:
D3200
 
6 Answers

Is the D3200 fully compatible with the AF S Nikkor 85 MM f/1.4 D Lens

May 8, 2012 by
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
 on D3200
+18points
25out of 32found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful25unhelpful7
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
Location : 
Stuart, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
As it is mentioned in the product's Webpage:

http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Digital-SLR-Cameras/25492/D3200.html#tab-ProductDetail-ProductTabs-TechSpecs

The Compatible Lenses are:

AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Autofocus not supported. Can be used in mode M, but exposure meter does not function.
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
 
Jun 9, 2012 by
by
Amir
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No you need to have a G lens to get the most out of it, D lens would not be controlled by the camera as a G lens is.
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
US

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't know, because I think you have written an incorrect lens name.

Here is a list of the Nikkor lenses:

AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8D
AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR

The D3200 is fully compatible with only the last two in the list above. It will be fully compatible with any lens that has a built-in focus motor. The way you tell is the 'AF-S' in the name of the lens. AF-S means Auto Focus Silent wave.

The D3200 does not have the 'screw driver' focus motor built in to the body, so it cannot focus any lens that doesn't have its own focus motor.
May 9, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
4 Answers

how can i install another language to my camera?

Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
 on D3200
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
i have a Nikon 3200, than only displays chinese and english language, i talk spanish. i would like to know if someone can install the spanish.
Thanks
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
6 months ago
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Location : 
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
JoeR the only languages that are instaled or displayed in the menu are chinese and english. i have to install the spanish
Oct 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Find your locations Nikon office and call service and support
http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
the only languages that figures in the camera are chinese and english, i have no more choice in the settings. (Nemesistango)
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press menu, select setup menu(symbol of a wrench)
Select language, select the language you need.
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
4 Answers

why would i want to use the RAW format rather than JPG?

Dec 19, 2012 by
by
steve
new jersey
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
1 year, 4 months ago
by
steve
new jersey
Location : 
new jersey
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
RAW is high definition PHOTO QUALITY.

RAW is good for prints.

JPG is compressed and lossy which means it losses information due to compression that results in lower qualtiy images. Also, if a JPG is enlarged it is loses resolution. And each time the JPG is copied the image loses even more information resulting in poor image quality.

JPG's are only good for internet pix. Personally, I use PNG's.

RAW is uncompressed and JPG is compressed.
Apr 14, 2014 by
by
PicTaker
CA

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
PhotoShop Elements 11 includes Adobe Camera RAW 7.1 which supports the D3200 raw file format. Most software providers will provide plug-ins for the RAW file format when a new camera is released.

Keep in mind that RAW files are larger than JPGs and that shooting in RAW will significantly decrease the number of images that can be saved on your memory card. RAW files will also need to be converted to JPG format when having pictures printed, uploading to social media sites, sharing pics with friends, etc. If you choose to shoot in RAW you can opt for RAW+JPG which will save 2 files for each shot. This way you won't need to spend time converting your RAW files to JPG.

For more info on image file formats visit this page:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

See page 188 of the D3200 manual for information on how the different file formats impact memory card capacity. A copy of the D3200 manual can be downloaded from here:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 22, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
i have photoshop elements 11 to manipulate images
don't know if it will process 'raw' images

can you recommend a good software product to use with 'raw' images?

thanks
Dec 21, 2012 by
by
steve

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
you only use raw if u have software to process it and only if u have been taught to use the software. if both of these the raw is alot easier to manipulate than the jpeg. also u dont lose anything like u do when u start processing a jpeg format file. your quality goes to a big mess when u play with jpegs. always make a copy and neverrrrr work on the original. if u have some software take some raw shots and open the file in raw and play with it.
Dec 20, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Is the D3200 compatible with : AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G and AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR ?

Apr 26, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+7points
12out of 17found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful5
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
USA

+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR is fully compatible with the D3200. The AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G can be used on the D3200 but not all functions will work. This is because the D3200 needs AF-S lenses to fully autofocus (an AF-S lens has a built-in focus motor). Check out this Learn & Explore article to get a better understanding of lenses with built-in focus motors, and those without: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Apr 30, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 26, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

does the d3200 have mirror lock up (not for sensor cleaning) or an equivalent function?

May 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
i would like to get sharp images using a
tripod remote release andshutter speed around 1/2sec
maybe i can use the mirror lock up for cleaning?
thanks
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
  In “Live View” mode, (See pages 80-87 in the manual) the mirror is locked up.
Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Placing the camera on a tripod, you can use the MC-DC2 remote release cord or the ML-L3 wireless remote to trip the shutter instead of pressing the shutter button, which will lesson the chance of camera shake.

This camera does have a mirror lock up function but it is used for cleaning the sensor only. You can't use it to keep the mirror up while shooting.
Jun 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
No
May 16, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

is View NX2 of my Nikon D3200 compatible with windows 8 - 64 ?

Jan 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The most recent version of View NX2, version 2.7.1, was released earlier this week and includes support for Windows OS 8. You can download 32bit or 64bit versions of View NX2 2.7.1 from the following address:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is, using it on mine without any issues.
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon last announcement:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18028/~/microsoft-windows-8-compatibility-announcement
Jan 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When shooting in low light conditions even with low ISO (the D3200 does not go lower than ISO 200 in video mode) there is nasty video noise that fluctuates from frame to frame, thus making video almost unwatchable. Please, fix this in the next firmware update!!! This is a glaring issue with the otherwise good camera. Also pay attention to encoding of red color, sometimes it breaks into macroblocks earlier than other colors.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
3 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
One never knows the level of experience of the person asking the question or even if they know what they are talking about. I have a D3100 as a travel camera when I don' t want to lug around myD3 or D600. I shoot very good video at ISO of 800, 1/50 shutter and 2.8-3.2 aperture. On the D600 I can shoot at 1600 botj produce little noise that can be eliminated post processing. I did some research on some of the blogs I am on and apparently you are not alone. There were several complaints that mirrored yours. You will have to wait for Nikon to address the problem or I guess return the camera.

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
A New firmware is not going to teach you how to shoot at night. The problem here is your settings, not the camera.

The is a video on youtube called :DSLR Tutorial: How to shoot in Low Light (at night) & how to reduce noise! The uploader name is FenchelJanisch2

Watch that. thx
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
Jimmy

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
You need high ISO to shoot in low light. Also, the noise you hear may be the focus motor, if the light is too low it will focus hunt.
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Does Tamron lenses suitable for Nikon D3200? Such as Tamron 18-200 VC lens?

Jun 17, 2012 by
by
Moie
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Any advice what other brand of lenses i could use for my D3200?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Moie
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'd look for Sigma as well. I currently use a 70-300mm APO Macro since it does both zoom and macro. The lens is MOTORIZED but most don't.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As long a its a NIKON F mount
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
4out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products. Our recommendations is to use only original Nikon products.
Jun 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Please, how can I buy this camera? I couldn't find it in Nikon store.

Apr 23, 2012 by
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+17points
19out of 21found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful2
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Location : 
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are 4 in the Blakeney, NC store.
May 4, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Best Buy.... I purchased my D3200 yesterday at Best Buy.. Check your local store...
Apr 29, 2012 by
by
Dawn
New Orleans, LA, USA
Location : 
New Orleans, LA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new NIKON D3200 was announced last week and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after this. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Apr 25, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
3 Answers

Where is this product manufactured?

May 19, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
+7points
9out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I also have just purchased one. It is made in Thailand.
Sep 1, 2012 by
by
skak
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Location : 
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just got one-it's made in Thailand.
Jun 3, 2012 by
by
Nikongirl1
St Louis, MO, USA
Location : 
St Louis, MO, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
In a factory out east.
May 20, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers