Loading

A new level of image quality, a familiar way of sharing.

Product photograph of Nikon D3200 HD-SLR camera
Don't let the D3200's compact size and price fool you—packed inside this easy to use HD-SLR is serious Nikon power: a 24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor that excels in any light, EXPEED 3 image-processing for fast operation and creative in-camera effects, Full HD (1080p) movie recording, in-camera tutorials and much more. What does this mean for you? Simply stunning photos and videos in any setting. And now, with Nikon's optional Wireless Mobile Adapter, you can share those masterpieces instantly with your Smartphone or tablet!
close-up portrait of a girl with blonde hair taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Take your photos and videos to the next level

24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 3

Why do photos and videos shot with a Nikon HD-SLR look so good? It all starts with Nikon’s exclusive image sensors, and the D3200 has the most powerful CMOS sensor we’ve ever put in a HD-SLR at this level. Boasting an astounding 24.2 effective megapixels, it captures sharper, richer images—even in low light. Combine that with EXPEED 3 image processing, the processing power behind the acclaimed Nikon D4, for super-fast operation, exceptional image capture, in-camera filter effects and more. Your photos and videos will amaze even you.
image of Guide Mode menu on D3200 HD-SLR's LCD

Master the camera simply by using it

Guide Mode ensures success

It’s never been easier to create HD-SLR quality photos, thanks to the D3200’s Guide Mode. Learn the camera's key features and controls while you shoot, and even get advice and sample images to succeed in difficult shooting situations. Guide Mode is easy to access and easy to understand. You’re never shooting alone with the D3200.
Mode dial of D3200 and images of a yellow flower, portrait of girl, night portrait of girl and landscape taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Capture the best of every scene

Six Scene Modes and Scene Auto Selector

Experienced photographers optimize their camera settings for the scene they’re shooting. With the D3200, optimizing your camera settings is as easy as turning a dial. Choose from six common Scene Modes like Portrait, Night Portrait, Landscape, Close up and more, for flawless results even in demanding circumstances. When using Live View, Scene Auto Selector automatically sets the D3200 for the most suitable Scene Mode for the situation. A highly accurate 420-pixel RGB sensor powers Nikon's Scene Recognition System, which compares scene data against an extensive database to optimize the shot accordingly.
View of the rear of the D3200 HD-SLR with HD video example on LCD

Create cinema-quality HD videos

One-touch Full HD 1080p movie recording with stereo sound

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that are not just superlative still image cameras, but superlative video cameras, as well. With a touch of a button, the D3200 starts recording Full HD 1080p video with full-time autofocus, manual exposure control and stereo sound. Its breathtaking 921,000-dot, ultra-high-resolution display makes it easy to frame, monitor and review your footage. Even record in super-smooth slow motion up to 60 fps! Unleash your inner cinematographer.*

*Built-in microphone, monaural
Optional external stereo mini-pin jack (3.5mm diameter)
Microphone sensitivity can be adjusted
photo of family looking out from balcony

Get a new view of your world

Versatile AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm

Nikon’s renowned NIKKOR lenses have long been the choice of pros and serious photographers. Marvels of clarity, consistency, precision and reliability, they draw peak performance from Nikon HD-SLRs. The D3200 comes equipped with the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm, a versatile, high performance VR image stabilized lens. And when you’re ready to expand your system and extend your creativity, you'll have your choice of over 70 legendary NIKKOR lenses.
Photo of girl in yellow go-cart with girl in red go-cart following, taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Fast and accurate shooting

The D3200's 11-point Autofocusing System is as fast as it is precise. Check your focus points, track your subject or shoot carefree right from the viewfinder. And when the action speeds up, simply aim, hold down the shutter and fire off approx. 4 fps at 24.2 MP resolution.
Composite of photos of woman holding red D3200, boy showing off sandy hands and girl looking at smartphone

Wi-Fi Connectivity—Now you can easily get GREAT pictures on your smartphone

Using the WU-1a optional wireless mobile adapter you can now automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D3200. With an easy to use app, now, when you can't wait to share that great shot, you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone in an instant.
Photo of woman holding Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Compact, lightweight and durable

Your D3200 is designed for comfort, intuitive use and durability. Its compact, lightweight and rugged body puts key controls at your fingertips. You'll never hesitate to bring along your D3200.
Photo taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR, of cityscape taken at night with car headlights and taillights blurred

Dramatic low-light photos

The D3200’s wide ISO range of 100 to 6400 allows for shooting in very low light without a flash or in very bright light with zoom, macro, fixed focal length or wide aperture lenses. For extreme low-light situations, set the ISO to Hi 1 and achieve ISO 12800 equivalent sensitivity.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

All photography © Robin Layton

BlackRed
Sale

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D3200 - BlackAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Now $499.95
Reg. $599.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25492
Black
Sale

D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit

D3200 - BlackAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED IIAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Now $599.95
Reg. $849.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13313
D3200 4.8 5 138 138
Excellent Reflex pour débuter :o<3 Je vien de l'avoir hier le 24 décembre & j'ai déjà commencer a le comprendre et tout j'ai pris qu'elles que photo & je les trouve vraiment réussis mon premier appareil a été un canon sx160 , & J'ai tout de suite compris le D3200 il est si simple maime en mode Manuel , il est léger et le body est vraiment beau *.* je n'aurais pu demander mieux pour mon premier reflex :D Sur ce je vous laisse en vous disants que je ne regrette pas de l'avoir eu et tout aller vous le procurer , ses vraiment un beau jouet de photo :) PS je n'est que 14ans December 25, 2013
excente camara para tan pequeño diseño EXCELENTE CAMARA, iniciandome en el mundo de la fotografia November 26, 2013
Tudo do o que esperava de uma câmera Já fazia algum tempo que queria comprar uma DSLR e não me arrependo. Excelente câmera. November 21, 2013
Ótima Maquina Excelente maquina, em todos os sentidos, vale o investimento, só erram no programa que não tem em português. November 1, 2013
gran camara me dedico a la fotografía aérea, gran cámara, grandes resultados, ahora voy por la D800e, veremos que tal. October 26, 2013
facile et efficace débutant en photographie, je me suis acheté un kit D3200 avec 2 lentilles. Voilà! c'est facile à utiliser le mode guide nous donne une très bonne base et l'appareil fait le reste. Un très bon rapport qualité prix! October 14, 2013
Ótima É uma ótima maquina,as imagens são belíssimas mais so está pecando no programa quem acompanha a câmera o View nx2 ele não vem em português,tirando isso ela é ótima. September 27, 2013
WOW Je possède une D3200 depuis maintenant 1 semaine et je suis totalement en amour avec cette caméra elle ne vous laisse jamais tomber et offre des résultats digne des gros joueur tel la D4. Je la recommande autant au débutants qu'au amateurs, comme moi passioné. August 6, 2013
Experiência sem par. Sensacional o equipamento. 100% recomendável à todos os tipos de fotógrafos. Desde profissionais às os hobistas! Desde os acessórios às lentes. As adaptações e acessórios são excepcionais. Recomendadíssimo. June 26, 2013
Versátil, simples e muito eficiente. O melhor custo beneficio que se pode ter em uma DSLR. Eu recomendo não só para aqueles que estam começando mas também para aqueles que já estam no mercado. Ponto para a Nikon!! March 26, 2013
Nikon D3200 Definitivamente a escolha perfeita para iniciantes e também profissionais, efetuei a compra do produto a pouco tempo e estou maravilhado com a qualidade das imagens e o leque de opções que o produto tem para oferecer. Parabéns a todo pessoal que trabalha para a Nikon. January 22, 2013
Show de Bola Não sei se minha opnião vai valer muito aqui, mas estou impressionado com a qualidade desta câmera. Muito boa mesmo, recomendo. Um recurso em particular que me agradou bastante é a possibilidade de colocar as foto na proporção 16:9, que é uma tendência do mercado hoje... Parabéns a todos os engenheiros da Nikon. December 30, 2012
Justo lo que buscaba No soy ni con mucho un profesional de la fotografía, pero disfruto la composicion, el uso de la luz, los angulos etc. Por allá de los 80's tuve una SLR de 35mm totalmente manual y me fascino; desde entonces he tenido varias camaras del tipo "apunte y dispare" (la mayoria Nikon); es hasta ahora que decidí buscar una cámara que me permitiera algo mas de "control", y definitivamente la D3200 es lo que buscaba, en el modo "A" Tú fijas la apertura del diafrágma y la velocidad se ajusta automaticamente, en el modo "S" fijas la velocidad de obturación y la apertura se ajusta en automático; o puedes usarla en el modo "M" y usar la velocidad de obturacion y apertura del diafragma a tu voluntad. Aparte cuenta con modalidades ya programadas como Retrato, Paisaje, Deportes, Retrato nocturno, Totalmente AUTO, y Auto sin flash; aunque para ésto prefiero usar mi L120. Los 24 Megapixels esta muy bien, pero sinceramente nunca imprimo algo mayor a 8x10 pulgadas. December 6, 2012
Minha primeira câmera DSLR Gostei muito da câmera, sou iniciante na arte de fotografar, tirei fotos lindas de minha esposa grávida no Jardim Botânico RJ, Utilizei o modo auto que para quem não conhece se surpreende com a versatilidade do produto em ajudar os leigos em fotografia, cada dia descubro recursos que parecem infinitos na fotografia, tem que estudar muito sem desanimar e derrepente pintar uma graninha, fiquei sabendo que fotografos iniciantes estão cobrando pelo menos uns R$ 5.000,00 para tirar fotos de um casamento por exemplo. November 27, 2012
excelente calidad es una gran cámara y una excelente calidad. ligera y muy bonita, toma unas fotos impresionantes!!! recomendable 100% November 19, 2012
NIKON D3200, FANTÁSTICA COMPREI 2 , ME SURPREENDEU, A VELOCIDADE DE PROCESSAMENTO É ÓTIMA, LEVE, PRÁTICA, QUALIDADE DA IMAGEM EXCELENTE, PARABÉNS. November 8, 2012
A melhor DX Sem dúvidas alguma a melhor câmera de sensor DX até o momento. Excelente processador. E ótima função de expansão de ISO sem gerar muito ruido. Uma pena ainda não vim com a função touch, mas em compensação o LCD possui visão angular 160º o que facilita muito tirar fotos em alguns que não é possível usar o visor ocular... isso conciliado aos vários modos de focagem automática, torna essa câmera uma excelente opção tanto para profissionais que vão poder usufruir do grande números de recurso quanto para o amadores que vão poder aprender usando as funções do modo guia mantida das versões anteriores. Recomendo a todos! October 2, 2012
¡Es grande! Este producto es perfecto del objetivo a la pantalla October 2, 2012
Vale a pena! Não sou profissional, mas adoro fotografia e leio muito sobre o tema. Após pesquisar bastante optei pela D3200 e estou muito satisfeita com minha escolha! Os modos automáticos são excelentes, mas também dá pra fazer fotos incíveis no modo manual. September 5, 2012
Uma ótima escolha! Como a minha primeira DSLR, fiquei positivamente impressionado com a qualidade das fotos e a enorme quantidade de recursos. Tenho ainda muito a explorar dessa ótima câmera e estou certo que os resultados serão fantásticos. Parabéns Nikon. August 19, 2012
Las cosas buenas vienen en cosas pequeñas Sin duda alguna la comparación con otros productos nikon es bastante absuelta debido a que todas tienen sus atributos pero los sensores hacen grandes diferencias entre ellas. Puedo decir que en mi experiencia con el uso de la D3200 satisface grandes necesidades sin tener que comprar algo tan sofisticado. August 14, 2012
Bravo Nikon Je possède la 3200 depuis 1 semaine et elle m'impressionne grandement. Couplée à une 35 mm 1.8, elle donne des résultats surprenants. Bien qu'elle soit l'entrée de gamme en réflexe elle produits des clichés dignes des gros modèles. Que vous soyez amateur débutant ou expérimenté, c'est la caméra à acheter comme premier boîtier ou second pour sa maniabilité. Enfin une petite caméra qui est capable de donner des résultats pro sans dépenser une fortune. Une petite suggestion en terminant 2 bons objectifs à acheter avec la caméra la 35 mm 1,8 très lumineux et le zoom 70-300 vr qui sans vous ruiner donne d'excellent résultats. August 8, 2012
Divina para quem está começando!!! Fiz um curso de fotografia, porém me faltava uma câmera profissional de entrada para poder ir mais além, a minha Nikon chegou esse mês e já foi o maior sucesso com fotos que fiz de uma festa! Eu simplesmente estou extasiada! Valeu muito a pena o investimento! Fácil de utilizar, recomendo para quem está iniciando. July 23, 2012
Demais!!!!!! Se vc está em dúvida! Compre! Não sou profissional , mas mostrei as fotos e a camera para profissionais de ANOS na área e eles ficaram extasiados com o que viram! Nem eu imaginei que pudessem ficar tão animados com essa câmera! A filmagem também é boa. Vc tira fotos maravilhosas só no "POint and shoot", mas se usar o modo manual vc faz fotos profissionais de uma maneira incrível!!!! Sem palavras! Recomendo a todos!!!!!Vi fotos da concorrente Canon acima da t2i e t3i e definitivamente fico com a D3200! July 2, 2012
Wow ! Effectivement, c'est une très bonne qualité. J'ai adoré ! En tant qu'amateur de 17 ans, j'ai vraiment aimé cet appareil . Les photos et vidéos sont superbes. June 11, 2012
Best Camera at this Price level Compared to the Canon T3i, and the Sony and Fuji offerings, this camera is the winner. It's got the MP advantage, the clarity and focus are great. As an entry level offering, it does offer a lot of options. A flip out or touch screen would really have capped off this camera. Also Nikon needs to offer a Nikon brand vertical grip, I'm using another brand, but the only options are using a cord for the shutter release or not using the vertical release button. A small complaint - that and the flash system on the Canon does seem a bit better. However, the Nikon just has an advantage in clarity, and lack of any distortion even at full open-full zoom. I really like the weight with the added vertical grip and the metering is great even when bouncing a flash. Haven't had it long enough to test it, but the build feels good and solid and the RAW files have really allowed a lot of level of post manipulation on the computer. So far I'm pleased to very pleased. Especially at this price. April 17, 2014
Great Starter Camera I've really enjoyed the ease ability of the camera and features. I enjoy used the guide feature on the camera as a quick set-up option for the camera for any particular shot I'm going to take. So far I really enjoy this camera. December 4, 2013
Easy to use This camera is very easy to use. It usually takes me awhile to learn how to use new cameras but this one was very simple to use, although I am still working my way through the manual to learn all the features. October 14, 2013
Great Entry Level DSLR I got this as my first step into the world of DSLR photography and I have to say that this is a wonderful starter camera. I took this camera with me into the Olympic National Park of Northwestern Washington State and it held up wonderfully. This isn't a weather proof body but it held up to the elements like a champ. Of course, the main draw to me was the 24MGP sensor, and it did not disappoint. It captures great detail and when you crop in you don't seem to lose any resolution or quality at all. I got fantastic amounts of detail in both landscape and wildlife shots. The Af system is good, but not great. Sometimes it did have issues tracking a subject and it isn't really good at action shots, but this is an entry level camera so you can't be too harsh on it for those points.it does alright. Also video is just alright, but nothing outstanding. Still though, I only shot video with it using the kit 18-55mm lens. It might have done better if I had used a prime. For example the 35mm F/1.8. Still though, for a rank beginner, this is a great camera and I would recommend it to anyone who is just starting out. It's a solid entry into the beginner DSLR market and I hope we see an update, a D3300. But if it happens it won't be for a while from the looks of things. September 23, 2013
D3200- Reasons why you should own it. I have quite a bit of experience with entry level DSLRs now. I used a Nikon D3100 for a little under a week with its standard 18-55 lens. Since then, I have had ample exposure with my friend's D5100 with an 18-55 as well as an AFS 70-300 lens. It managed to impress me on quite a few occasions. Last week, I decided to buy an SLR camera for myself. D90 was my first choice, but a number of people advised me against purchasing it. Obsolete is what it is. So I went for a D3200. And it is not a choice that I regret. I bought it with an 18-105 kit lens about a week ago. Since then, I've taken about over a 1000 photographs. I have not been disappointed, yet. The picture quality is epic. For 24MP, what else do you expect. Its quick to respond, and has a really nice Guide Mode. It is a very likeable camera. I can't really explain why here. One has to use it and judge for oneself. Complaints? a) The focusing feels a bit laggy. Its just not as smooth as, say, the 5100. b) Its a bit noisy. c) The body's a bit flimsy. The buttons are made of really tacky plastic. But then again, what do you expect from a product made in Thailand. d) And I guess, this is the most important. To me at least. There seems to be absence of adjustable Active D-lighting settings. So the contrast spectrum is really constricted. But for a beginner, its a good enough camera. Its not too complicated, and yet it retains a degree of manual controls. Its got the poise of Canon Powershot G, and the smartness of a Cybershot. It allows you to take quality photos with auto mode, and if you suddenly feel the aspiration to become a photographer, you can fool about with the manual settings as well. Mind you, its no joke either. It can really give the big boys a run for their money. Its like a hot hatch then. Lots of color, fun to own, easy to handle, and a bright red color option. And tune it right, with a nice thick lens, and you can rev it up against a pro anyday. December 16, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
<<prev | next>>
214 Questions | 278 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
214 Questions | 278 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>
Sort by:
D3200
 
6 Answers

Is the D3200 fully compatible with the AF S Nikkor 85 MM f/1.4 D Lens

May 8, 2012 by
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
 on D3200
+18points
25out of 32found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful25unhelpful7
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
Location : 
Stuart, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
As it is mentioned in the product's Webpage:

http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Digital-SLR-Cameras/25492/D3200.html#tab-ProductDetail-ProductTabs-TechSpecs

The Compatible Lenses are:

AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Autofocus not supported. Can be used in mode M, but exposure meter does not function.
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
 
Jun 9, 2012 by
by
Amir
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No you need to have a G lens to get the most out of it, D lens would not be controlled by the camera as a G lens is.
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
US

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't know, because I think you have written an incorrect lens name.

Here is a list of the Nikkor lenses:

AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8D
AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR

The D3200 is fully compatible with only the last two in the list above. It will be fully compatible with any lens that has a built-in focus motor. The way you tell is the 'AF-S' in the name of the lens. AF-S means Auto Focus Silent wave.

The D3200 does not have the 'screw driver' focus motor built in to the body, so it cannot focus any lens that doesn't have its own focus motor.
May 9, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
4 Answers

how can i install another language to my camera?

Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
 on D3200
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
i have a Nikon 3200, than only displays chinese and english language, i talk spanish. i would like to know if someone can install the spanish.
Thanks
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
6 months ago
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Location : 
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
JoeR the only languages that are instaled or displayed in the menu are chinese and english. i have to install the spanish
Oct 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Find your locations Nikon office and call service and support
http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
the only languages that figures in the camera are chinese and english, i have no more choice in the settings. (Nemesistango)
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press menu, select setup menu(symbol of a wrench)
Select language, select the language you need.
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
4 Answers

why would i want to use the RAW format rather than JPG?

Dec 19, 2012 by
by
steve
new jersey
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
1 year, 4 months ago
by
steve
new jersey
Location : 
new jersey
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
RAW is high definition PHOTO QUALITY.

RAW is good for prints.

JPG is compressed and lossy which means it losses information due to compression that results in lower qualtiy images. Also, if a JPG is enlarged it is loses resolution. And each time the JPG is copied the image loses even more information resulting in poor image quality.

JPG's are only good for internet pix. Personally, I use PNG's.

RAW is uncompressed and JPG is compressed.
Apr 14, 2014 by
by
PicTaker
CA

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
PhotoShop Elements 11 includes Adobe Camera RAW 7.1 which supports the D3200 raw file format. Most software providers will provide plug-ins for the RAW file format when a new camera is released.

Keep in mind that RAW files are larger than JPGs and that shooting in RAW will significantly decrease the number of images that can be saved on your memory card. RAW files will also need to be converted to JPG format when having pictures printed, uploading to social media sites, sharing pics with friends, etc. If you choose to shoot in RAW you can opt for RAW+JPG which will save 2 files for each shot. This way you won't need to spend time converting your RAW files to JPG.

For more info on image file formats visit this page:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

See page 188 of the D3200 manual for information on how the different file formats impact memory card capacity. A copy of the D3200 manual can be downloaded from here:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 22, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
i have photoshop elements 11 to manipulate images
don't know if it will process 'raw' images

can you recommend a good software product to use with 'raw' images?

thanks
Dec 21, 2012 by
by
steve

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
you only use raw if u have software to process it and only if u have been taught to use the software. if both of these the raw is alot easier to manipulate than the jpeg. also u dont lose anything like u do when u start processing a jpeg format file. your quality goes to a big mess when u play with jpegs. always make a copy and neverrrrr work on the original. if u have some software take some raw shots and open the file in raw and play with it.
Dec 20, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Is the D3200 compatible with : AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G and AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR ?

Apr 26, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+7points
12out of 17found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful5
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
USA

+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR is fully compatible with the D3200. The AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G can be used on the D3200 but not all functions will work. This is because the D3200 needs AF-S lenses to fully autofocus (an AF-S lens has a built-in focus motor). Check out this Learn & Explore article to get a better understanding of lenses with built-in focus motors, and those without: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Apr 30, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 26, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

does the d3200 have mirror lock up (not for sensor cleaning) or an equivalent function?

May 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
i would like to get sharp images using a
tripod remote release andshutter speed around 1/2sec
maybe i can use the mirror lock up for cleaning?
thanks
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
  In “Live View” mode, (See pages 80-87 in the manual) the mirror is locked up.
Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Placing the camera on a tripod, you can use the MC-DC2 remote release cord or the ML-L3 wireless remote to trip the shutter instead of pressing the shutter button, which will lesson the chance of camera shake.

This camera does have a mirror lock up function but it is used for cleaning the sensor only. You can't use it to keep the mirror up while shooting.
Jun 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
No
May 16, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

is View NX2 of my Nikon D3200 compatible with windows 8 - 64 ?

Jan 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The most recent version of View NX2, version 2.7.1, was released earlier this week and includes support for Windows OS 8. You can download 32bit or 64bit versions of View NX2 2.7.1 from the following address:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is, using it on mine without any issues.
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon last announcement:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18028/~/microsoft-windows-8-compatibility-announcement
Jan 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When shooting in low light conditions even with low ISO (the D3200 does not go lower than ISO 200 in video mode) there is nasty video noise that fluctuates from frame to frame, thus making video almost unwatchable. Please, fix this in the next firmware update!!! This is a glaring issue with the otherwise good camera. Also pay attention to encoding of red color, sometimes it breaks into macroblocks earlier than other colors.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
3 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
One never knows the level of experience of the person asking the question or even if they know what they are talking about. I have a D3100 as a travel camera when I don' t want to lug around myD3 or D600. I shoot very good video at ISO of 800, 1/50 shutter and 2.8-3.2 aperture. On the D600 I can shoot at 1600 botj produce little noise that can be eliminated post processing. I did some research on some of the blogs I am on and apparently you are not alone. There were several complaints that mirrored yours. You will have to wait for Nikon to address the problem or I guess return the camera.

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
A New firmware is not going to teach you how to shoot at night. The problem here is your settings, not the camera.

The is a video on youtube called :DSLR Tutorial: How to shoot in Low Light (at night) & how to reduce noise! The uploader name is FenchelJanisch2

Watch that. thx
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
Jimmy

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
You need high ISO to shoot in low light. Also, the noise you hear may be the focus motor, if the light is too low it will focus hunt.
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Does Tamron lenses suitable for Nikon D3200? Such as Tamron 18-200 VC lens?

Jun 17, 2012 by
by
Moie
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Any advice what other brand of lenses i could use for my D3200?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Moie
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'd look for Sigma as well. I currently use a 70-300mm APO Macro since it does both zoom and macro. The lens is MOTORIZED but most don't.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As long a its a NIKON F mount
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
4out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products. Our recommendations is to use only original Nikon products.
Jun 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Please, how can I buy this camera? I couldn't find it in Nikon store.

Apr 23, 2012 by
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+17points
19out of 21found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful2
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Location : 
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are 4 in the Blakeney, NC store.
May 4, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Best Buy.... I purchased my D3200 yesterday at Best Buy.. Check your local store...
Apr 29, 2012 by
by
Dawn
New Orleans, LA, USA
Location : 
New Orleans, LA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new NIKON D3200 was announced last week and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after this. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Apr 25, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
3 Answers

Where is this product manufactured?

May 19, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
+7points
9out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I also have just purchased one. It is made in Thailand.
Sep 1, 2012 by
by
skak
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Location : 
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just got one-it's made in Thailand.
Jun 3, 2012 by
by
Nikongirl1
St Louis, MO, USA
Location : 
St Louis, MO, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
In a factory out east.
May 20, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers