Loading

A new level of image quality, a familiar way of sharing.

Product photograph of Nikon D3200 HD-SLR camera
Don't let the D3200's compact size and price fool you—packed inside this easy to use HD-SLR is serious Nikon power: a 24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor that excels in any light, EXPEED 3 image-processing for fast operation and creative in-camera effects, Full HD (1080p) movie recording, in-camera tutorials and much more. What does this mean for you? Simply stunning photos and videos in any setting. And now, with Nikon's optional Wireless Mobile Adapter, you can share those masterpieces instantly with your Smartphone or tablet!
close-up portrait of a girl with blonde hair taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Take your photos and videos to the next level

24.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 3

Why do photos and videos shot with a Nikon HD-SLR look so good? It all starts with Nikon’s exclusive image sensors, and the D3200 has the most powerful CMOS sensor we’ve ever put in a HD-SLR at this level. Boasting an astounding 24.2 effective megapixels, it captures sharper, richer images—even in low light. Combine that with EXPEED 3 image processing, the processing power behind the acclaimed Nikon D4, for super-fast operation, exceptional image capture, in-camera filter effects and more. Your photos and videos will amaze even you.
image of Guide Mode menu on D3200 HD-SLR's LCD

Master the camera simply by using it

Guide Mode ensures success

It’s never been easier to create HD-SLR quality photos, thanks to the D3200’s Guide Mode. Learn the camera's key features and controls while you shoot, and even get advice and sample images to succeed in difficult shooting situations. Guide Mode is easy to access and easy to understand. You’re never shooting alone with the D3200.
Mode dial of D3200 and images of a yellow flower, portrait of girl, night portrait of girl and landscape taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Capture the best of every scene

Six Scene Modes and Scene Auto Selector

Experienced photographers optimize their camera settings for the scene they’re shooting. With the D3200, optimizing your camera settings is as easy as turning a dial. Choose from six common Scene Modes like Portrait, Night Portrait, Landscape, Close up and more, for flawless results even in demanding circumstances. When using Live View, Scene Auto Selector automatically sets the D3200 for the most suitable Scene Mode for the situation. A highly accurate 420-pixel RGB sensor powers Nikon's Scene Recognition System, which compares scene data against an extensive database to optimize the shot accordingly.
View of the rear of the D3200 HD-SLR with HD video example on LCD

Create cinema-quality HD videos

One-touch Full HD 1080p movie recording with stereo sound

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that are not just superlative still image cameras, but superlative video cameras, as well. With a touch of a button, the D3200 starts recording Full HD 1080p video with full-time autofocus, manual exposure control and stereo sound. Its breathtaking 921,000-dot, ultra-high-resolution display makes it easy to frame, monitor and review your footage. Even record in super-smooth slow motion up to 60 fps! Unleash your inner cinematographer.*

*Built-in microphone, monaural
Optional external stereo mini-pin jack (3.5mm diameter)
Microphone sensitivity can be adjusted
photo of family looking out from balcony

Get a new view of your world

Versatile AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm

Nikon’s renowned NIKKOR lenses have long been the choice of pros and serious photographers. Marvels of clarity, consistency, precision and reliability, they draw peak performance from Nikon HD-SLRs. The D3200 comes equipped with the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm, a versatile, high performance VR image stabilized lens. And when you’re ready to expand your system and extend your creativity, you'll have your choice of over 70 legendary NIKKOR lenses.
Photo of girl in yellow go-cart with girl in red go-cart following, taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Fast and accurate shooting

The D3200's 11-point Autofocusing System is as fast as it is precise. Check your focus points, track your subject or shoot carefree right from the viewfinder. And when the action speeds up, simply aim, hold down the shutter and fire off approx. 4 fps at 24.2 MP resolution.
Composite of photos of woman holding red D3200, boy showing off sandy hands and girl looking at smartphone

Wi-Fi Connectivity—Now you can easily get GREAT pictures on your smartphone

Using the WU-1a optional wireless mobile adapter you can now automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D3200. With an easy to use app, now, when you can't wait to share that great shot, you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone in an instant.
Photo of woman holding Nikon D3200 HD-SLR

Compact, lightweight and durable

Your D3200 is designed for comfort, intuitive use and durability. Its compact, lightweight and rugged body puts key controls at your fingertips. You'll never hesitate to bring along your D3200.
Photo taken with Nikon D3200 HD-SLR, of cityscape taken at night with car headlights and taillights blurred

Dramatic low-light photos

The D3200’s wide ISO range of 100 to 6400 allows for shooting in very low light without a flash or in very bright light with zoom, macro, fixed focal length or wide aperture lenses. For extreme low-light situations, set the ISO to Hi 1 and achieve ISO 12800 equivalent sensitivity.

WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

All photography © Robin Layton

BlackRed
Sale

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D3200 - BlackAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Now $499.95
Reg. $599.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25492
Black
Sale

D3200 Double Zoom Lens and Case Kit

D3200 - BlackAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED IIAF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Now $599.95
Reg. $849.95
product.buttons.wtb not rendered available_for_sale: true, auth_dealer_on: true, in_stock: true, refurbished: , wtb_url: /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13313
D3200 4.8 5 138 138
Amazing Camera in an Affordable Package I am new to photography and I must say that I am impressed with this camera. We purchased all the add ons such as a bluetooth GPS and Wifi adapter. After taking about 400 shots I decided to start taking some interesting photos. With just the kit lens this camera can take pictures that are so amazing that people didn't even believe me when I told them I took it. I thought I would need to spend thousands on a full frame camera with a good lens to get pictures that look like this. After I got these shots I went online and purchased the VR 55-200mm lens for $109 refurbished. To wind everything up... I had no idea that you could take pictures of this quality without spending far more money. I had played with DSLRs many years back and it never really amazed me. I have to say that for what I paid on Black Friday, I am amazed. This camera has me involved in a new hobby that I really enjoy. I feel great about taking this with me knowing that every picture I capture has the potential to be printed and framed on the wall. December 30, 2013
A fantastic camera all around. Been shooting for 6 years now. Upgraded to the Nikon D3200 back in Dec 2012. Compared to my previous DSLR I couldn't be happier. While all the functions stay relatively the same, the boost in image size and quality is a huge bonus. I was immediately impressed by the D3200 right out of the box but decided to give it some time before commenting on it so as to be fully familiarized with the camera. I would recommend this camera as an affordable first for anyone looking for high resolution images as either a hobbyist or a budding pro. I myself have been shooting pro with the D3200 as my main camera and customers are never dissatisfied with the images it produces. August 26, 2013
Very Nice Camera I'm not a professional photographer but the 24 mp sounds great, I got a very good deal for d3200 and 18-55 mm and 55-200 mm, the wireless mobile adaptor and the bag, great photos especially when displayed on HDTV or retina display, easy to use, I only had to buy a 40mm micro lens because i love to capture close tiny objects. the idea of using my iPhone to take a photo is great, one thing is that using the smartphone to take a picture will embed the location with photos, unfortunately the app embed wrong locations, according to iTune the app should stamp photos with GPS location, it worth to have it working and save 400$ for that GPS adaptor. August 25, 2013
Darn good camera I bought this camera several months ago after losing nearly all my pictures I took on an iPhone 4 in Ukraine. I decided that when I go back I would have a decent camera and my laptop backed up... Yeah, I was an idiot. Anyway, after getting this camera, I discovered I had a knack and love of photography. This camera has really been helpful in learning about and having an absolute ball with photography. I would recommend this for anyone who is ready to get their feet wet and as a great back up for any photographer. August 24, 2013
Best Entry Level DSLR on the market So I saw this camera at a local shop in a package deal for $800 with the 55-200VR lens, memory card, Vanguard case and 2 Hoya UV filters. Went online and did a few solid hours of research on every blog and review site I could find on the best entry level DSLR on the market and the huge majority said the d3200 was the way to go. Went and bought it the next day and haven't regretted it for a second. Now it's been about 3 weeks and I've fallen in love with this camera. While it's my first SLR I've always had a passing interest in good composition and photography in general. Since buying it I have purchased just about every accessory available including the wireless adapter, circular polarizer filter, spare memory card and battery, Manfrotto BeFree tripod, Black Rapid R Sport strap....by far the best purchase was getting the 35mm 1.8f Nikon lens which has replaced the kit lens for me and has really opened things up for me with it's low light capability. After learning all the features and getting the hang of ISO, aperture and shutter speed I am constantly amazed by this camera's abilities. With quality glass I don't see myself ever outgrowing this camera until it dies since I am not a professional and value the smaller size of the DX series as opposed to a full frame DSLR. Everyone I have shared the camera with has been impressed, including a friend who is a professional photographer who manages a large studio and exclusively uses Canon. Cannot recommend this camera highly enough! August 16, 2013
The best entry level DSLR available. This is my eigth camera, and my first Nikon product ever. I will never buy any other brand. The D3200 has the highest true pixel count of any entry level camera in the world. The versatility and ease of use will have a diligent beginner shooting professional quality photographs in weeks. My primary focus, as a television producer, is videography. I am exceptionally pleased with the clarity and color reproduction of the D3200, especially with the AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G lens. The layout and intuitiveness of the camera is without a doubt the best I have seen. August 1, 2013
Easy to use, great picture quality this is my first DSLR I've ever had. I am a novice to photography and the guide mode on this really explains you how to use certain settings (shutter speed, aperture etc.) and what effects you can achieve. It also gives you photographic examples when choosing the right ISO for certain situations. Picture quality is amazing! video quality is amazing also with up to 30fps at full HD and 60fps in 720 HD makes it good to slow down and make slow motion videos. I recommend this camera to a beginner who wants to learn how to use a DLSR camera. July 8, 2013
Better than expected My first DSLR camera, hard to decide between Canon...Glad I chose this. I am a novice, a true novice but this camera makes it easy with the guide. A great way to walk through and learn settings for busy people. Glad I purchased. Oh, and the picture quality is great. June 9, 2013
Awesome camera!!! This camera is everything it was advertised to be. I have only had it for less than 3 weeks and I can't put it down! I even bought an extra battery so I don't have to wait for it the charge. Great job guys!!! June 1, 2013
Excellent Photo's easy to carry and use, Compact This Camera takes excellent Pictures It is compact Easy to carry around Not too complex to set up and use. would recommend to anyone. This a DX Format camera and therefore doesn't take full frame pictures. But might only be important to Professional Photographer. If picture was setup properly I would say this camera will take photo's equal to Pro version FX cameras. The seller Crutchfield's is excellent Dealer to deal with. May 30, 2013
Great reliable features for the price! This camera has the features of a $2k camera for the new price sub $1k. Amazing! If I could afford a 32Mp + camera I'd do that. But we're talking $2k used! I would recommend this product to any one! The features and megapixels are top notch. The only short coming and most of us would never even notice it is the 11 focusing points rather that 51 and that costs an extra $1.5K new to get most often at the very least... when I get a chance I have to buy another... May 5, 2013
We are truly spoiled Who would have thought this much capability would be available as an entry level model? There is likely no better example of the pace of DSLR development than the D3200. The images you can produce with this camera are amazing, even in low light and at higher ISO. I bought the kit with the two lenses, kept the 55-200mm zoom but sold the 18mm-55mm zoom, and replaced it with a 50mm f/1.4. Then later I bought the Voigtlander 40mm f/2.0 macro and for less than the cost of a D600 body I have a complete camera rig that can produce professional results virtually anywhere. Occasionally, there are some features I miss. I wish it could control Nikon speedlights as a commander. I'd like to be able to produce in-camera HDR (not the cheesy "old car in a field" HDR, but the very subtle, almost imperceptible HDR that allows you to capture certain images in difficult circumstances.) There are times when I wish it could shoot longer exposures. But this is an entry-level camera, and there are always other ways to do those things. Bottom line? If you're taking bad pictures with a D3200, it's because you're not a very good photographer. And at the price this camera is available, you free up a ton of money to buy what REALLY matters - some nice glass. May 5, 2013
Practically perfect in every way After owing this camera for a little over a month now, I have been able to use everything this camera has to offer. The performance of this camera is far advanced for a entry level professional camera. I have looked and compared this camera for almost a year before purchasing, from Cannon EOS to other Nikon models, For what I want and needed this camera exceeded all expectations. In comparison I found that the Nikon 3200 excelled in Lens compatibility being an F mount this camera is able to fit most Nikon lenses, Sensor size close to full frame making point and shoot a thing of the past, Pixel count of 24.2 absolutely exceptional allowing for even the largest prints to have HD quality, The added quiet shutter release mode is a very nice feature for shooting wildlife or at the theater, A nice list of flash modes are available for low light perfection, the low light capability with no flash is breath taking as well, The built in flash is highly functional even though there are no bounce capabilities it is very effective. HD movie options very user friendly, lastly the amount of available accessories for the camera are abundant and growing, I also enjoy using the noise reduction feature the camera offers when used correctly there becomes very little noise after 6400 ISO, becomes very handy when taking difficult shots. There really are no downsides to theis camera (so far) but there are some things that could be made better, again these are just nit picking this camera is already wonderful. The only few things I would change about the camera would be expanding scene modes but if you know your way around the M, A, S, and P modes you can do anything. The next change could have been made with expanding the amount of focus points, 11 is absolutely wonderful for the entry level, but it could be easily expanded. The last thing that could be improved on is the white balancing although the auto mode is handy it doesn't alway correctly identify the situation, but nothing that can't be handled. Again these suggestions are just suggestions the camera is practically perfect in every way. Overall I would say this camera is perfect for anyone beginner or professional photographers, Easy to use. Point and shoot capabilities, fully automatic adjustments and functions. Just the right number of dials and knobs. Perfect camera for any photographic situation. Lastly this camera is so wonderful it just might become a member of the family. April 1, 2013
Best Camera I've Own Yet. This is by far the greatest camera Nikon has ever created for Entry Level that does most of all I want. My Next Nikon will be the D800. Shoots Great Closeups & Landscape Photos as well. Very good Video at 1080 30fps. Just Awesome March 28, 2013
Amazing photos and ease of use This is the first "High Quality" camera I have purchased. The investment was intended to get a better recording of our families doings and changes throughout the years. I can go into details about what the camera can do, but that would be redundant for anyone who owns an SLR camera already. Without any directions read, we just pulled it out and charged it up. The pictures are amazing and ease of use/auto function turns out such a high quality photos, we just can't get over it. Comparing our new photos to to any of the photos we have on file with multiple decent digital cameras is highly noticeable. We purchased the camera at costco where the best deal was at this particular time. It came with an additional zoom lens and wifi attachment for transferring the data and a case. Nikon also offers a 5 year warranty on the camera. This is worth mentioning, especially since today everything seems to have a less than impressive shelf life. All in all, I think this camera is great for the beginner photographer and leaves the more capable photo taker with all the options available for their command. February 19, 2013
Amazing Quality for a Budget FOr those of you who want amazing pictures, but lack a ton of cash to fork out for an expensive camera... this is a must have! I play disc golf about 3-5 times a week and being in the outdoors with this is amazing. The clarity is top notch and the additional lenses you can purchase are incredible! February 13, 2013
Does everything it is advertised to do, and more WOW. Impressive clarity, quality and ease of use. I am an amatuer, and am learning photo technology. I already have a D50 that takes remarkable photos, but this one surpasses it. It is better than I am. If I can learn enough to challenge this camera, I will be overjoyed. February 11, 2013
D3200 New Nikon D3200 Features 24MP and High Quality Lense. I bought this camera last 4 months ago. The D3200 represents the latest generation of Nikon's entry-level DSLR offering. The camera's headline feature is inevitably the new 24MP CMOS sensor which makes it equal to Sony's Alpha SLT-A65, A77 and NEX-7 in offering the highest pixel count we've yet seen at the APS-C sensor size, and in terms of output resolution, second only to the full-frame professional-grade D800 in Nikon's entire range. More significant than the bare fact of the D3200's pixel count though is that it is available in camera with a starting price of $699 (the same launch price as the D3100 and Panasonic Lumix DMC-C G3, for comparison). The D3200 may not exactly be revolutionary, but it doesn't have to be. It just has to be competitive. February 5, 2013
The pictures are amazing Have graduated through D700 to D5000 and now D3200. Made logistics that sends my shots entering Starbucks to websites of my choice in case it gets nicked. My next camera will surely to be another NIKON. February 2, 2013
Excellent camera... its amazing picture quality of this cam... its very beautiful.. February 1, 2013
Excellent Camera at a Great Price! I have been a Canon camera user for years (30+) and decided that I needed a change. After a lot of research I came across the Nikon D3200. The reviews that I read stated that it is an excellent camera and will produce spectacular results. Well, the reviews are correct. The camera produces rich, vivid and highly detailed results. I can't believe the results. I a counting the days until we take our Route of the Maya trip this summer. I will make full use of the camera there. For now, I will have make due with the National Parks, wildlife and the other outside activities that Colorado has to offer. I will have to admit that I did not purchase the camera for the video capabilities but I was really impressed with the videos that I made. Sharp picture and great color. I will definitely be using the camera instead of purchasing a separate video camera. Bottom line: Truly a great camera at a great price. I highly recommend this camera. I doubt that I will ever miss my Canon as long as Nikon is in business. January 30, 2013
D3200. Excellant Just got this camera. Have had 35mm's and other digitals. I love to be able to take an afternoon here & there to take pictures of what ever I can. Got loads on my PC. I find the D3200 has all I need & more. Love the support and the DVD's I got with the camera case I bought for it. They really helped me to get started and know what I am doing. Got lots more pic's to take. Will have loads of fun with the camera getting even better shots then before, for sure. I've always been challenged in getting the perfect sky shot that looked exactly like what I was looking at. This camera makes that easy. Awesome baby shots and family. Love it. January 12, 2013
AMAZING PICTURE QUALITY - HANDS DOWN! I purchased this camera two weeks ago after owning a Sony A350 for two years - and wow what a step forward! This camera is said to be an "entry" level camera but I gaurentee you will produce photos that look professional. Very satisfied with my purchase. I was looking at the Canon T4i , but after using both the Nikon D3200 is a far better choice! January 6, 2013
First DSL camera This was my christmas gift from husband, as he was tired of me complaining over past years of terrible pictures in the past. I also complained over how slow my last digital camera was especially taking forever moments. So this past weekend we went to the local park and took professional quality photos. I already have some people who have asked me to take their pictures as well. My family members could tell the quality of pictures when I sent them to them. My husband also knows I am an aspiring photographer and I believe this camera is a wonderful stepping stone. So happy with my D3200. Recently picked up a new lens too, and can't wait to use this one with my family again. January 2, 2013
I LOVE LOVE THIS I love taking pictures and got this for christmas this year this is the best camera I have ever owned it takes pro type pictures and will be a permanent tag along for anything we go to or do. I cant wait till we go on vaction or have snow so I can really see what it can do. I also love the fact that you can do selective color on the camera, this has to be the best best best all in one camera. A MUST BUY very simple to use but a great bang for your buy. I would tell anyone to buy this way before you go out and buy a cannon anyday takes way better pictures. December 29, 2012
Love it so far!!! This is my first DSLR camera and I am very happy with it so far!! I am by no means a professional photographer but have had my share of good digital cameras. I finally decided I wanted to step it up as I missed out on a lot of wonderful photo opportunities on my last vacation to Yellowstone National Park due to having a standard digital camera. I am very much looking forward to using this camera on future vacations and other events. It is very easy to use and takes wonderful pictures!! I've recently added the 300mm lens and cannot believe the clarity of the pictures it takes!! December 29, 2012
Great starter camera I am happy with this camera as I am just starting out with DSLR. It has all the features that I need without overwhelming me with features that I don't. I like the simplicity of it, while I get more features and better images than my standard point and shoot camera. I would recommend this camera to anyone that wants to start photography and has a strict of a budget as me. December 24, 2012
Great first time DLSR As a point and shoot veteran I often envied my DSLR brethren but I was not in the mood to take a community college course to learn how to use a complicated DLSR. Then along came this camera. The pictures are infinitly better than any point and shoot, indoors or out. Operation is incredibly simple. In fact, I was taking pictures at my son's hockey game the day I got it. The Guide mode on the function wheel quickly gets you to the settings you need for whatever situation your shooting. With 24 megapixals, pictures look great even zoomed in on your computer. I've yet to even scratch the surface of what this camera can do but I am so glad I got it. And it shoots HD video. Anybody want to but some used point and shoots? December 18, 2012
Great So Far This is my second Nikon. My first was P 90. Really have loved that camera, but I wanted to step up to a camera with replaceable lenses and a remote. So far very happy. I have only taken a few photos so far. Still need to learn how to use different settings. But I'm a Nikon fan, December 16, 2012
Previously had an issue with the Wireless Adapter Apparently, Nikon came out with the necessary app for the iPhone, but not the iPad, just yet. Hopefully, in the works. Other than that, I love the camera and Nikon!! December 5, 2012
Page:2 3 4 5 6
<<prev | next>>
215 Questions | 279 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
215 Questions | 279 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>
Sort by:
D3200
 
6 Answers

Is the D3200 fully compatible with the AF S Nikkor 85 MM f/1.4 D Lens

May 8, 2012 by
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
 on D3200
+18points
25out of 32found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful25unhelpful7
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Tom
Stuart, FL, USA
Location : 
Stuart, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
As it is mentioned in the product's Webpage:

http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Digital-SLR-Cameras/25492/D3200.html#tab-ProductDetail-ProductTabs-TechSpecs

The Compatible Lenses are:

AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Autofocus not supported. Can be used in mode M, but exposure meter does not function.
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
 
Jun 9, 2012 by
by
Amir
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No you need to have a G lens to get the most out of it, D lens would not be controlled by the camera as a G lens is.
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
US

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't know, because I think you have written an incorrect lens name.

Here is a list of the Nikkor lenses:

AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8D
AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR

The D3200 is fully compatible with only the last two in the list above. It will be fully compatible with any lens that has a built-in focus motor. The way you tell is the 'AF-S' in the name of the lens. AF-S means Auto Focus Silent wave.

The D3200 does not have the 'screw driver' focus motor built in to the body, so it cannot focus any lens that doesn't have its own focus motor.
May 9, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
May 9, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
4 Answers

how can i install another language to my camera?

Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
 on D3200
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
i have a Nikon 3200, than only displays chinese and english language, i talk spanish. i would like to know if someone can install the spanish.
Thanks
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
6 months ago
by
Nemesistango
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Location : 
Salta, Salta Province, Argentina
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
JoeR the only languages that are instaled or displayed in the menu are chinese and english. i have to install the spanish
Oct 9, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Find your locations Nikon office and call service and support
http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Oct 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
the only languages that figures in the camera are chinese and english, i have no more choice in the settings. (Nemesistango)
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press menu, select setup menu(symbol of a wrench)
Select language, select the language you need.
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
4 Answers

why would i want to use the RAW format rather than JPG?

Dec 19, 2012 by
by
steve
new jersey
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
1 year, 4 months ago
by
steve
new jersey
Location : 
new jersey
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
RAW is high definition PHOTO QUALITY.

RAW is good for prints.

JPG is compressed and lossy which means it losses information due to compression that results in lower qualtiy images. Also, if a JPG is enlarged it is loses resolution. And each time the JPG is copied the image loses even more information resulting in poor image quality.

JPG's are only good for internet pix. Personally, I use PNG's.

RAW is uncompressed and JPG is compressed.
Apr 14, 2014 by
by
PicTaker
CA

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
PhotoShop Elements 11 includes Adobe Camera RAW 7.1 which supports the D3200 raw file format. Most software providers will provide plug-ins for the RAW file format when a new camera is released.

Keep in mind that RAW files are larger than JPGs and that shooting in RAW will significantly decrease the number of images that can be saved on your memory card. RAW files will also need to be converted to JPG format when having pictures printed, uploading to social media sites, sharing pics with friends, etc. If you choose to shoot in RAW you can opt for RAW+JPG which will save 2 files for each shot. This way you won't need to spend time converting your RAW files to JPG.

For more info on image file formats visit this page:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

See page 188 of the D3200 manual for information on how the different file formats impact memory card capacity. A copy of the D3200 manual can be downloaded from here:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 22, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
i have photoshop elements 11 to manipulate images
don't know if it will process 'raw' images

can you recommend a good software product to use with 'raw' images?

thanks
Dec 21, 2012 by
by
steve

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
you only use raw if u have software to process it and only if u have been taught to use the software. if both of these the raw is alot easier to manipulate than the jpeg. also u dont lose anything like u do when u start processing a jpeg format file. your quality goes to a big mess when u play with jpegs. always make a copy and neverrrrr work on the original. if u have some software take some raw shots and open the file in raw and play with it.
Dec 20, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Is the D3200 compatible with : AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G and AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR ?

Apr 26, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+7points
12out of 17found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful5
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 6, 2012 by
by
drscorps
USA

+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR is fully compatible with the D3200. The AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G can be used on the D3200 but not all functions will work. This is because the D3200 needs AF-S lenses to fully autofocus (an AF-S lens has a built-in focus motor). Check out this Learn & Explore article to get a better understanding of lenses with built-in focus motors, and those without: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Apr 30, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 26, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

does the d3200 have mirror lock up (not for sensor cleaning) or an equivalent function?

May 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
i would like to get sharp images using a
tripod remote release andshutter speed around 1/2sec
maybe i can use the mirror lock up for cleaning?
thanks
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
  In “Live View” mode, (See pages 80-87 in the manual) the mirror is locked up.
Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Placing the camera on a tripod, you can use the MC-DC2 remote release cord or the ML-L3 wireless remote to trip the shutter instead of pressing the shutter button, which will lesson the chance of camera shake.

This camera does have a mirror lock up function but it is used for cleaning the sensor only. You can't use it to keep the mirror up while shooting.
Jun 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
No
May 16, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

is View NX2 of my Nikon D3200 compatible with windows 8 - 64 ?

Jan 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The most recent version of View NX2, version 2.7.1, was released earlier this week and includes support for Windows OS 8. You can download 32bit or 64bit versions of View NX2 2.7.1 from the following address:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is, using it on mine without any issues.
Jan 15, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon last announcement:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18028/~/microsoft-windows-8-compatibility-announcement
Jan 14, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When shooting in low light conditions even with low ISO (the D3200 does not go lower than ISO 200 in video mode) there is nasty video noise that fluctuates from frame to frame, thus making video almost unwatchable. Please, fix this in the next firmware update!!! This is a glaring issue with the otherwise good camera. Also pay attention to encoding of red color, sometimes it breaks into macroblocks earlier than other colors.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
3 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
One never knows the level of experience of the person asking the question or even if they know what they are talking about. I have a D3100 as a travel camera when I don' t want to lug around myD3 or D600. I shoot very good video at ISO of 800, 1/50 shutter and 2.8-3.2 aperture. On the D600 I can shoot at 1600 botj produce little noise that can be eliminated post processing. I did some research on some of the blogs I am on and apparently you are not alone. There were several complaints that mirrored yours. You will have to wait for Nikon to address the problem or I guess return the camera.

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
A New firmware is not going to teach you how to shoot at night. The problem here is your settings, not the camera.

The is a video on youtube called :DSLR Tutorial: How to shoot in Low Light (at night) & how to reduce noise! The uploader name is FenchelJanisch2

Watch that. thx
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
Jimmy

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
You need high ISO to shoot in low light. Also, the noise you hear may be the focus motor, if the light is too low it will focus hunt.
Jan 19, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Does Tamron lenses suitable for Nikon D3200? Such as Tamron 18-200 VC lens?

Jun 17, 2012 by
by
Moie
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Any advice what other brand of lenses i could use for my D3200?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Moie
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'd look for Sigma as well. I currently use a 70-300mm APO Macro since it does both zoom and macro. The lens is MOTORIZED but most don't.
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As long a its a NIKON F mount
Jul 16, 2012 by
by
27lv6170awd
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
4out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products. Our recommendations is to use only original Nikon products.
Jun 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3200
 
3 Answers

Please, how can I buy this camera? I couldn't find it in Nikon store.

Apr 23, 2012 by
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
 on D3200
Has staff answer
+17points
19out of 21found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful2
2 years ago
by
Elissete
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Location : 
Sun Valley, ID, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are 4 in the Blakeney, NC store.
May 4, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Best Buy.... I purchased my D3200 yesterday at Best Buy.. Check your local store...
Apr 29, 2012 by
by
Dawn
New Orleans, LA, USA
Location : 
New Orleans, LA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new NIKON D3200 was announced last week and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after this. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Apr 25, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D3200
 
3 Answers

Where is this product manufactured?

May 19, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3200
+7points
9out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I also have just purchased one. It is made in Thailand.
Sep 1, 2012 by
by
skak
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Location : 
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just got one-it's made in Thailand.
Jun 3, 2012 by
by
Nikongirl1
St Louis, MO, USA
Location : 
St Louis, MO, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
In a factory out east.
May 20, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers