Loading

Every photo will astound.
Every video will dazzle.

Hold in your hands an HD-SLR able to capture images rivaled only by those produced with a medium-format camera: extremely low noise, incredible dynamic range and the most faithful colors. Meet the Nikon D800, a 36.3 megapixel FX-format HD-SLR for professional photographers who require end results of the highest quality, who demand superior performance, speed, handling and a fully integrated imaging system. For cinematographers and multimedia professionals, 36.3 MP means true 1080p HD cinematic quality video and includes inputs for stereo microphones and headphones, peak audio meter display, DX crop mode to maximize NIKKOR lens selection and angle of view and much more.
FX
Format
36.3
Megapixels
4 FPS
Continuous Shooting
ISO 100–6,400
(Expandable to 25,600)
FULL HD
1080p at 30/25/24p

Reveal every nuance, every detail

The 36.3 megapixel FX-format advantage

Wedding, commercial or landscape, the D800 is the ultimate 36.3 MP FX-format camera for creative genius. Witness tonal range and precision rendered to supreme clarity, depth and texture. Make poster sized prints without sacrificing detail. Explore creative opportunities with ISO 100 to 6400 (expanded up to 25,600)—shoot from dawn to dusk. Experience Nikon's new Advanced Scene Recognition System featuring the 91,000-pixel RGB light meter capable of rendering unprecedented levels of accuracy to AF, AE, i-TTL flash control, face recognition and auto white balance. Nikon's new EXPEED 3 image processing reduces color phase shifts seen with lesser systems, producing more faithful colors and tones while managing massive amounts of data at breakthrough speed. With the D800 in your hands, achieve what was once unreachable.

Broadcast quality video

A full cinematic experience

Filmmakers, multimedia professionals and event photographersrecord Full HD 1080p at 30/25/24p or 720p at 60/50p in AVC format. Produce to your exacting vision when working in manual mode, controlling aperture, ISO, AF and shutter speed. Record uncompressed files via HDMI to an external recording device. via HDMI. Widen production perspective using either Nikon FX or DX lens formats at Full HD 1080p and 16:9 aspect ratio. Attach headphones and check audio levels or monitor input via peak audio meters as displayed on the camera's LCD monitor. Microphone sensitivity can be adjusted in up to 20 steps. Remotely start and stop video. Simultaneous Live View on the camera's LCD monitor and external monitor during recording are possible.

Render every megapixel with precision

Fast, precise 51-point wide area coverage

Precise AF detection is critical to sharply render every pixel of the D800's massive resolution count. An improved 51- point AF system with 15 Cross Type AF sensors, versatile AF area modes and superb AF detection in even the dimmest lighting deliver immediate, pinpoint focus. Fast shot-to-shot time, full resolution frame rate up to 4 fps, 6 fps in DX crop mode and ultra fast CF and SD card write times. For more productive workflow, high-speed data transfer using USB 3.0 is realized. For demanding professionals, the D800 responds immediately and precisely.

Versatile shooting, fluid operation

Streamlined ergonomic design puts critical tasks a touch away

Intuitive design makes D800 operation a thing of beauty. A streamlined ergonomic body allows critical photography and video tasks, including Movie Record, Live View, White Balance and Picture Control to be performed at the touch of a button. Confirm image capture and view menu options, histograms, video settings and more using the D800's super sharp 3.2-inch 921,000-dot LCD screen with 100% coverage. Anti-glare coating and auto brightness control ease of viewing, no matter the environment. Enlarge images up to 46x for on-the-spot focus confirmation. Magnesium alloy construction and environmental sealing make the D800 as comfortable in the field as in the studio.
EXPEED 3 image processing

Nikon's EXPEED 3 technology extends and assures breathtakingly rich image fidelity and reduces noise, even at high ISO's. EXPEED 3 is so powerful that it handles data-intensive tasks such as Full-HD video recording at 30p with ease.

Rich image previewing

The D800's 3.2-inch super-sharp 921,000 LCD monitor automatically adjusts LCD brightness and visibility according to your environment for bright, crisp image playback, menu adjustment and Live View shooting. Enlarge images up to 46x to make on the spot focus confirmation—crucial for high resolution shooting.

Expand dynamic range with built-in HDR

Create a single image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and rich color gradation than ever before. Combine two exposures at up to 3EV.

Dedicated picture control button

The convenient Picture control button provides six preset options: Vivid, Monochrome, Neutral, Standard, Landscape and Portrait for stills and video while 9 customizable settings provide advanced, personalized color control.

D800 and D800E

Which camera is right for you?

Every Nikon DSLR camera uses an optical low pass filter (OLPF) in front of its sensor to slightly blur the image at a pixel level in order to reduce the occurrence of false colors and moiré that can appear when shooting repetitive and/or fine patterns. For the vast majority of photographers the D800 provides an ideal balance between sharpness and effectively prevented moiré and false color, ideal for shooting using all file formats. D800E is a specialized camera that removes the "effect" of the OLPF which results in a slight gain in sharpness and resolution and is recommended for studio and still life professionals but carries an increased possibility that moiré and false color will appear.

Strikes an ideal balance between sharpness and preventing the occurrence of false color and moiré for consistent performance
Ideal for:
  • All shooting situations
  • Photographers shooting RAW (NEF), JPG or TIFF images
  • Photographers who do not want to adjust their workflow (via software) to reduce the occurrence of moiré and false color
Slight increase in sharpness and resolution with increased occurrence of false color and moiré
Ideal for:
  • Studio, commercial and still life photographers who can control their shooting conditions, lens selection and aperture choice, as well as use of software (Capture NX2) to reduce the occurrence of false color and moiré
  • Medium format photographers whose current digital system do not utilize an optical low pass filter
  • Shooting RAW (NEF)
  • More information on moiré Behind the Scenes: D800/D800E

D800 and D800E Image Comparison

Comparison of false color and moiré

With the D800E, false color and moiré may be noticeable when shooting repetitive and/or fine patterns.

Comparison of resolution

Compared to the D800, the D800E reproduces textures with slightly higher resolution for sharper rendering and greater depth.

What Else is Different?

Other than the very slight image quality differences described above, the D800 and D800E perform exactly the same. Focus speed, exposure metering, shooting speed, movie recording, accessory compatibility, control location and function, and all other aspects are identical.

Additional Features:
Standard ISO 100-6400, expandable to ISO 50-25,600 equivalent

Added ISO settings of Lo-1 (ISO 50 equivalent), Hi-1 (ISO 12,800 equivalent) and Hi-2 (ISO 25,600 equivalent) extend versatility.

Continuous shooting at up to 4 fps at full FX-format resolution

Commercial image quality teams with speed and handling to create new shooting possibilities—in the studio or on location. Shoot DX-format images up to 6fps using the optional MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack and batteries other than the EN-EL15

Rugged magnesium alloy construction

Effectively protected from invasive dust, moisture and tested to exceed 200,000 cycles.

Compatible with third party video accessories

As your multimedia work grows in importance, know that the D800 is compatible with a growing selection of third party video accessories.

High speed CF and SD dual memory card slots

CF cards compatible with UDMA6 as well as UDMA7 are supported. For SD cards, SDXC and UHS-1 are supported.

Two axis Virtual Horizon graphic indicator

Use either the LCD monitor or viewfinder to check if the camera is level—horizontally or with forward or rear rotation.

Rechargeable EN-EL15 Battery

Up to approximately 900 images and 60 minutes of HD video per charge.

Expand the creative potential of the D800

NIKKOR® lenses & Nikon Creative Lighting System for every situation

Uniquely compatible with both FX and DX-formats, tap an unprecedented selection of NIKKOR lenses. Explore NIKKOR Lenses

Get studio quality lighting virtually anywhere with the Nikon Creative Lighting System and Nikon Speedlights. Explore Speedlights

Extend your Creativity and Capabilities

Express yourself creatively with a wide range of accessories, including NIKKOR lenses, Speedlights, adapters, remotes, releases and more.
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D800 4.4 5 207 207
One professional photojournalist's opinion I purchased my D800E in August 2012 and use it as my primary camera. My D2X is now my backup. I've found the 4fps to be no problem because I've spent a 35-year career pressing my shutter button at the proper moment, so I haven't missed any images. Regardless of the camera I use, it's me that either gets the photo or misses the photo. I've never been able to blame that on my gear. The resolution at ISO 100 is superb and precisely why I purchased this camera. I like files with plenty of guts and this camera serves that purpose beautifully. There's likely a D4 in my near future but I'm in no hurry, this camera is performing beyond expectations. January 18, 2013
Excellent image quality and a solid build I recently purchased this camera and was weighing the options of this or a 5D. I have long been a canon enthusiast but after buying a P7000 for traveling I converted to Nikon with a D800. Supreme quality and excellent specs. Great design. January 17, 2013
Great Camera!!!!!!!!!!!!! I`ve owned the D300,D300S and D700.The D800 is simply my favourite.It handles extremely well.The stats tell the story however once you start to use it that`s when you really begin to appreciate what Nikon has done.Good on YOU. I`m also a owner of a Canon 5D3 -amazing camera.The ongoing controversy betwen these two cameras seems to be endless.Each one is suited to specific personal uses. I prefer the Nikon for about 80% of my projects,Amazing Results. January 16, 2013
Nothing short of amazing! This camera does so many things right; a vast upgrade from the D200 which I've used professionally for about 5 years. Never saw a need to upgrade to the D300 (s) as the improvements were minor. If you're a commercial photographer as I've been for the past 30 years; I wish I'd had this camera 30 years ago! I've just ordered a D600 as a backup; hope it won't disappoint. December 24, 2012
Best machine i've owned so far I have been reading all sorts of reviews from various website and i must say that anyone considering this camera, should try it for themselves. I had doubts at first, but then i went to my favorite camera store and tested out the camera myself. That in store test blew me away. I finally took the jump to add this to my bag. For me, this is not the camera to take to a sports game. That's where my D3s comes in. However the 800 works great for landscapes and other general photography. A little on the grainy side at ISO 6400 but not terrible. It does have a slight green tint on the screen but it does not appear on the final image. Some of the controls will take a bit getting used to, as they are different from my other bodies. The 300s feels much better in my hand. The camera focuses very quietly. All in all, this is a great camera that i will have for a long time. The first day i took the camera outside, a bird pooped on it and my jacket. Wow. December 19, 2012
What a great upgrade Great construction, although the body style is a bit different from my other Nikons, it's a comfortable fit. The files are loaded with info for strong post processing power. I'm a studio photographer who controls his shots and values each click of the shutter. This is not a wedding shooters or sports photographers camera. Speed makes no difference to me as I use to use medium an large format film cameras. You don't want to "pray and spray" with the D800. You might just choke your computer with all the wasted files. That aside, if you care about making, not taking a photo, this is the camera for you. Unless of course you have the money to buy a medium format digital. December 19, 2012
Fantastic in SO MANY ASPECTS I don't want to repeat things which have been told about this camera. In my opinion it is a very sound investment. 37 Megapixel which was available only in medium format cameras from Hasselblad or Mamiya but at extremely expensive prices. Supreme Dynamic Range, Great ISO performance, Built-in HDR and Multi-exposure, HD Video, 51 focusing point like D4. The only issue that sometimes needs more attention is focusing of left points. I have read some reviews complaining about White Balance. Auto work perfect in most situation but if you are in a location with special lights or mixture of lights the best is Manual setting or defining Preset setting. Although I personally have encountered a problem while working under light with 3000K to 3400K and even if I manually set the Kelvin to proper number the result is still a bit yellowish. I hope Nikon release a New Firmware soon resolving some minor problems with Left Focusing Points and White Blance (under 3500K) December 18, 2012
Reliable Camera I have been using this camera for about a month now. It is working out great so far, and I have had no problems with it at all. It seems to be weather sealed very well, even shooting in a light rain with no problem. The big file size might bother some, but it works for me. I really like using this camera it just feels so nice to use. December 17, 2012
Amazing machine! This camera has everything (except one), and I absolutely love it. It replaced my D3x, and it's lighter and smaller than that camera with an increase of 12 megapixels. I print big and this camera makes images that are sharper and with more resolution than the 4x5 I used to use. The D3x was plagued with dust on the sensor constantly; I've had the D800 for about 6 months and haven't seen one speck of dust.....incredible! Only one thing missing, and that's GPS. Put that in the camera and it's pretty much perfect. December 11, 2012
What a camera! Simply amazing camera that really shows the capabilities of good glass. Astounded by the clean and colorful files in both the studio and location. December 5, 2012
Great Achievement of Nikon is D800 I was planning to purchase Canon 5D Mark 111, after few days I hurt the news that Nikon is launching a new model which is D800, Basically I am Nikon user so I was not happy to go for Canon because I think Nikon is more friendly then Canon , and I like Double dial, its help you a lot to Operate the camera, finally I purchased D800, and really no match its a big camera with 36.6 MP, and very improve Focusing. November 27, 2012
Totally Awesome! The Nikon D800 can not be compared to any other DSLR on the market today, this camera is in a class by itself. My old NIKKOR 80-400 4.5-5.6 AF D was a slow performer on other cameras but on the D800 it is fast enough to keep up with a butterfly flitting around on a bush. The resolution of 36 megapixels is astounding! At first I was surprised to see macro like detail in photos of dragonflies and butterflies @ 100% zoom from my old NIKKOR 24-85 3.5 4.5 AF G lens. But to see the reflection of me and my wife in a mule's eye as I was taking the photo - from about 6 feet away at 62mm with the 24-85 - really blew me away! The depth of color and detail in the photos from the D800 are wonderful - life like! My prints from the D800 are almost 3D. The dynamic range, intense resolution and color fidelity of the D800 all come together to make it an exceptional camera! November 22, 2012
Fantastic İt is really good...it is not so heavy...İf you used d7000 it will be use easily... November 18, 2012
Best Camera i ever Had i am into shooting Video as DP with my Sony FS700 with i love dearly and my Canon 7D i took photo's with i wanted to get a new Camera but i am not one of those guys who jumps on the wagon cause everyone else said this is what you want all my friends told me get the 5D MKIII well after countless days of reading and watching videos i am Very happy to say i got the Nikon D800 Best Camera Ever i have a set of Zeiss ZF.2 Primes for my sony and took them out and did some photo's after a few HR's did some amazing Pictures i thought someone else took cause the Camera was easy to figure out and i shoot in manual mode thanx Nikon i can almost call myself a photographer i never thought i could take pictures like this i can't wait to try the Video November 12, 2012
Great for Landscapes and Portraits ONLY I purchased the D800 as a backup camera for my D4. The D4 still remains a top of the range camera, but I find myself using the D800 for all portraits and landscape shots. This is where the D800 is by far top of it's game. The 36mp is where for portraits and landscapes it supersedes other cameras. With this amount of megapixels, landscapes and portraits have a massive benefit for editing purposes. All the finer details come out more than on other cameras making editing easier. With large portraits or landscapes, printing larger than poster size shows no sign of pixelation. By far, for this reason the D800 is exceptional. Where this camera can let you down is unfortunately everything else. The camera is extremely slow. When shooting HDR, even with a tripod (note I use ballhead) and some strong winds the slightest camera shake at 36mp will result in a huge difference between the shots to the point of it being unusable. To compensate, and new investment in an expensive tripod is necessary. The other let down is because of the high megapixels, the camera is very grainy. At low ISO such as 100, the D800 is great. I tend to use ISO200 in studios and have no problem with it. But compared to say the D700, ISO 800 is unacceptable in the amount of grain seen. Overall, I hesitated to give the D800 a 4 or 5 out of 5 for the above reasons. It does have a few drawbacks, but for what it is designed for, it beats the competition. My recommendation is if you need a portrait or landscape camera, the D800 is by far the best you can get. However, you will need another faster camera if you intend to do some street photography or sports/wildlife. I personally find having a D4 and D800 the perfect combo. For those of you out there that do not have the budget, I would consider looking at the D600. November 7, 2012
First Delivery My camera was the 4th D800 received by my local dealer. I noticed flaws in focus on the edges and my dealer installed the updates and cleared the problems. I moved up from a D90 and all the buttons and whistles blew me away, causing me a number of problems. I read the manual and several books on the camera and within the last month I have finally gotten to where I expected to be. The camera is everything the other reviewers have mentioned and more. It is a totally new animal that provides amazing results. October 26, 2012
Great Camera I saw those reviews about focusing issues, i don't know what they are talking about , this camera is amazing ,yes i like D4 better then this but for the money it is well worth it. I am not a professional photographer but i tell you people look at these pictures and think i am a pro but in reality i am just a starter. This camera brought of respect October 23, 2012
Amazing Camera!! Better than D4 in many aspects! Just upgraded to the D800 from a D700 and a D3. I also bought the D4. The D800 is by far my favorite camera. The level of details I got from it (when used at high speed or tripod) is just absolutely amazing and makes my D4 outputs look like web pictures. When you think about the price of medium format cameras which are way slower than the D800 and way way more expensive, the D800 comes as a gift from God! More seriously, I find it lighter than the D700, the new focus selector was a bit awkward at the beginning but the more I use the camera, the more I think it is better that way and makes total sense! I didn't experience any of the flaws mentioned on certain reviews. My autofocus works perfectly on every focus point. My LCD screen shows accurate colors (way better screen than the D700). 100% viewfinder!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Finally!!!!!!!!!!!! Low light performance matches the D3S. The video quality is amazing but filming with a DSLR requires certain skills I still don't have (so I cannot really comment on that) I did experience some bugs with the firmware (freezing, etc.) but these bugs disappeared when I updated the firmware. Lens compatibility so far: Works totally great with 14-24 2.8, 24-70 2.8, 105 2.8, 200-400 4, 28-300 3.5-5.6, 600 4. Terrible with the 400 2.8, the D800 is out of focus with that lens. I tried that lens on the D3s, D4 and D700 and it works great but with D800 it is terrible. Overall, this is a revolutionary camera (unless you intend to use it with the 400mm 2.8) considering the huge step forward in terms of resolution. A must have for any lanscape, architecture, nature and portrait photographer. October 18, 2012
Amazing I went from a D70s - D5000 - D7000 - D800 and the jump from the D5000 to the D7000 was huge. I felt like I was a pro. Then when I went to the D800 it pretty much rocked my world. My bosses at my shop were also amazed that my photos were now much higher quality than their D3 cameras. Not their photography, but the actual tonal range now achievable with these cameras. Just beautiful whites, and considering I shoot weddings it is a must. October 15, 2012
Spectacular image quality, D800E is the real King !!! The new Nikon D800E is unquestionably one of the best DSLRs on the market, and in terms of sheer picture quality and resolution, it is now the one to beat. It has class-leading colour depth and dynamic range, the best AF and metering system you'll find anywhere, and it produces amazingly detailed noise-free images even at moderately high ISO settings. October 12, 2012
Excellent Have previously owned a D700, but the image quality from the D800 is definitly a class above the D700, high ISO performance is also at least 1-1.5 stop better than the D700. In my opinion the D800 is a really an amazing photographic tool with output that can be absolutely stunning. I don't understand that anyone would give this camera below 4-5 stars, must be amateurs that don't know how to operate the camera. October 10, 2012
Outstanding Camera, and .... Outstanding Resolution !!!! Been using the 800E for documenting environmental practices around the world, from disaster debris management in Japan to photographing monthly changes at large local landfills in Los Angeles. Key is to have lenses to match the capability of the camera, and use good technique (tripod, geared heads, remote shutter release, etc.) to minimize vibration. Have done panorama picture stitching together over 40 picture into a single 3 GB file, and the details captured in the pictures are phenomenal. Using the right lenses, e.g., 85 mm PC-E for panoramic landscapes, and other appropriate equipment lets you make the most of the capabilities of the camera. Low light performance of the camera is outstanding, shot many pictures of industrial facilities where there was not much lighting in which the camera ISO setting was put on 6400. For handheld shots in low light, I try to brace myself on something solid if possible, e.g.,nearby rail, pressing up against a window, etc. I also have not found "moire" to be of any problem so far. What impresses me is that the durability and the seals was able to keep the dust and moisture out of the camera. (I had a plastic bag for really rainy days). A person next to me had a point and shoot that lasted only 15 minutes at a facility with a lot of dust and moisture. Wiping down / cleaning is a daily must for photography in nasty environments. If you need the resolution, this is THE camera... ! October 5, 2012
amazing step up from d300s I was recently in the process of upgrading my d300s and buying a d600. once I purchased it i realized it was not the camera i thought it was. It felt like a child's camera, Once I tried the d800 i realized it was a great camera. If you are upgrading from the d300s i highly recommend this camera. The controls are almost identical to the d300s except for being a full frame camera. I highly recommend those looking to upgrade from the d300 buy the the d800 October 4, 2012
The ultimate Photograpy Machine This camera provides extreme detail in every shot. . My first shots made me aware that the high resolution produces fine detail but also magnifies my mistakes. I was able to shoot while hand holding the camera at close distances but with the telephoto zoomed in a small movement does distort the sharpness. Shooting from a tripod produced rewarding results even in low light conditions. The metering produces vivid shots with good light balance. The spot metering provides great control of the subject brightness without loosing it in the background. See the attached photo of the Gray Heron. This was shot on a cloudy day late afternoon at 300mm zoom, spot metering created perfect lighting and the colors were very lifelike. The controls are well thought out, it is easy to switch ISO and White Balance with changing conditions, such as clouds rolling over and going in and out of buildings. The DX crop mode alows me to use my D90 lenses which is a great cost savings. I highly recommend this camera to experienced hobiests. It will take you to the next level of perfection. October 1, 2012
The best Full size camera in the world I have owned the D800 for about 2 months now. The picture queality is AMAZING! I have used Canon and Nikon cameras. I have nothing against Canon but this camera 'YOU WON'T BELIEVE UNTIL YOU USE IT' . Amazing results. September 30, 2012
Love the D800! The D800 was my first full frame camera as I upgraded from the D7000. The detail on the pictures are great and this camera works great in low light as well. You will require large memory as each RAW file can be anywhere between 40-70MB each. I have not noticed any focus issues so far as some mentioned. September 29, 2012
Great Camera Nikon D800 is excellent camera. I bought it last month. Loving it every moment. Before I was using D90. But what a difference. September 28, 2012
I Love My Nikon Alas, I finally gave up my F5 for a Digital SLR....I scrimped and saved and even wrested on the value of buying the D800E over the D800. So now I'm experimenting ...I love the feel and balance of the D800. It's great learning the features and amazing how easily selects them. I bought an SB910 three days later and am enjoying any time I get with my gear. At my age, with glasses, I really rely on the AF and the ability of being able to get great shots with the lens wide open. It was great shooting a friend's wedding; I-don't-do-weddings became a pleasureable experienc! It took a long time to choose this camera; now I'm enjoying every moment with it. September 24, 2012
An Amazing Camera! I previously owned a D5100 and got great pictures with that. But I heard so many great things about the D800, that I had to have one. I've had the D800 about two weeks and I'm still getting used to it, but love the pictures it takes. I wouldn't recommend it as a first dSLR, but if you're used to Nikon then I think it would be fairly easy to pick up and get stunning shots. I took the attached photos just experimenting in the backyard. I also used the camera on a trip to take some photos of commercial real estate. I love it when people go, "Wow, those are really good!" It's definitely the camera; you will love it! September 21, 2012
Exceeded my expectations. Stunning results, stills and video. I've shot five video television commercials so far. Clients were very pleased with the results. My only wish is on/off control of AGC audio. This camera has exceeded my expectations. September 20, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
<<prev | next>>
276 Questions | 373 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
276 Questions | 373 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 10
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D800
 
8 Answers

What is the best lens for the nikon d800?

Feb 21, 2012 by
by
The kid
Canada
 on D800
Has staff answer
+15points
15out of 15found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful0
Guys, I need help choosing a lens less that 1200 dollars. It has to be either a wide angle, prime lens, or zoom lens.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
The kid
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
8 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon 85mm 1,8G. Super sharp.
Feb 11, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
if it were me, i would find a prime lens.
and get the best lens you can buy.

this is posted today 11/30/13 at B&H
REFURBISHED
Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.
SKU: NK10528AFVRR MFR: 2160B
$789.

and kid, i wouldn't steer you wrong. this is a really nice lens.
merry christmas.
Nov 30, 2013 by
by
jmf
New Jersey, USA
Location : 
New Jersey, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The first thing you need to do is determine what kinds of subjects and lighting conditions you will be facing before deciding on lenses for any dslr. Nikon has a published list of recommended lenses and DxOMark has done some very comprehensive testing to identify the best lenses in terms of image quality to match up with a D800. I shoot with 6 Nikkor lenses....16-35 f/4 VR, 70-200 f/4 VR, the f/1.8 trinity (28, 50, 85) and the 105mm f/2.8 VR micro. I have found this array allows me to cover a wide range of subject matter and lighting conditions quite well. I also have a TC-17E which I have used with the 70-200 f/4 VR and the 105 f/2.8 micro with very good results. If Nikon updates the 300mm f/4 I will add that lens to my kit...and may add the new 24-85 VR as a general purpose walk-around lens. It is half the money of the 24-120 VR and DxOMark shows it to perform almost on par.
Aug 6, 2013 by
by
Grimbot
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Location : 
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
You already invest too many dollars on a camera to buy any lens, if you dont have lens for nikon, and you want a daily use lens, I'll go with the new 24-85mm VR F3.5-4.5, it will do the job and would give you a nice range for creativity, and the iso would help you on low ligth situations. From this point review what you want to do with your equipment to buy the next one.
Sep 7, 2012 by
by
gpfoto
Monterrey International Airport (MTY), Carretera Miguel Aleman K.M 24, 66600 Apodaca, Nuevo León, Mexico
Location : 
Monterrey International Airport (MTY), Carretera Miguel Aleman K.M 24, 66600 Apodaca, Nuevo León, Mexico
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
I've been using the 28-300 mm which I think is my best one. It costs around $1100, but shop around.
AL
 
Products related to my answer
 
Aug 28, 2012 by
by
AL
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm assuming by saying "the best lens" for YOU (not necessarily for others) would be one walkaround lens you could use for 90% of your shooting needs - say a 24-70mm or 24-120mm zoom. For $1200 or less you have these options from Nikon, in order of preference for YOU:

Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR. I think this would serve your needs best (but it's about $1300)
Nikon 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR (only about $600)
Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S (about $700, if you really want a wide, prime lens less than $1200, but not as useful if this is your only lens)

If you are willing to go to a third-party lens, then you could consider these:

Tamron SP 24-70mm Di VC USD (about $1300, a little high but has "VC" - image stabilization)
Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 IF EX DG HSM (about $825 but no image stabilization)

Good luck and good shooting,
James
Aug 22, 2012 by
by
James L
Long Beach, CA, USA
Location : 
Long Beach, CA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sorry, but this is no way to go about choosing a lens!

Start by deciding exactly what you plan to photograph, and then research the lenses that are best suited to your needs. And please don't set an arbitrary limit on what you're planning to spend -- there are many options both more and less expensive than your quoted amount.

Most importantly, choose wisely. The D800 will maximize the qualities of whatever lens you mount on it -- if the qualities are poor, then your final product will suffer! Many people advise investing the greater amount in lenses over the camera body, and this is definitely something to consider very carefully!
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
Hugo First
Richmond, VA USA
Location : 
Richmond, VA USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-2points
5out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful7
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for the lens simulator; it will help you to make the decision on what lens you need.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Feb 22, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D800
 
7 Answers

From the Technical Guide issued, due to the high resolution the camera must be held perfectly still or the image is blurred. True?

Feb 23, 2012 by
by
Groth
New York, NY, USA
 on D800
Has staff answer
+6points
12out of 18found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful6
It's great to have a high resolution camera with many features, but if it's so sensitive that images are blurry with slight movement it can only be used on a stationary mount. In fact your technical guide says to use live view because that way the mirror isn't lifting during the picture which can cause blurring.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Groth
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
7 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have had very good results with the D800 hand-held. If you use lenses such as the 16-35 f/4 VR or the 70-200 f/4 VR you should not have any problem shooting hand-held with the D800. I also have a D7000 and find it similar in terms of hand-held technique.

If you shoot with non-VR primes you may have to shoot a tad faster than you normally would with a D700 for example. For example, shooting birds in flight at 1/1000 to 1/1250 will yield excellent results.
Aug 6, 2013 by
by
Grimbot
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Location : 
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+18points
19out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful1
Answer: 
I think you have to read Nikon's answer carefully. They save for "optimal" sharpness. I shoot medium format and if I want optimal sharpness I use a tripod. I have had the D800 for about 6 weeks and absolutely love the camera. There have been a couple of times where I had a shot that was blurry but the shots would have been blurry with any camera due to user error. The camera has a delayed exposure setting that when used with a tripod delivers the sharpest photos I have ever seen from any digital. I am primarily a Nikon guy but I do have a Canon 5D Mark II and my local camera store let me try the Canon 5D Mark III. The D800 was clearly sharper, which influenced my decision.
I really think the answer to your question though is dependent upon the type of photography you do. I shoot landscapes primarily and the D800 excells in this area of photography. I have found that for other types of photography that if I dial the image quality down to medium that I am still getting 20+ megapixels. I really like the versatility of the D800.
Bottom line is that if your technique is good you should not have any problems. If your technique is not good a little patience and practice you can improve your technique and have some awesome photos.
Good luck.
Jun 4, 2012 by
by
Thomas
Durham, NC
Location : 
Durham, NC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+26points
27out of 28found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful27unhelpful1
Answer: 
No worries.
The D800 has roughly the same pixel pitch as the D7000 and as far as blur is concerned it will behave similarly. As with ANY camera, the less motion there is during the exposure, the sharper it will be. Nikon's point is that in order to extract the greatest possible detail that the sensor is able to produce, a greater degree of care is required. If you take a photo with a D800 and shrink the image down to 16mp or 12mp or whatever, the amount of blur would be the same as if the image was taken with a lower resolution camera. If you are making 8 x 10 prints you don't need to treat the D800 any different than your current DSLR. If on the other hand you are printing at 40 x 60 inches, then a beefy weighted tripod, mirror up and a remote release will allow you to obtain the best images possible. Think of it this way, the amount of blur is no greater, but the sensor is capable of resolving it to a greater degree. Practically speaking, the added ability to resolve blur that is caused by camera motion needs to be addressed if you want to get the best results from large prints. The other place it might become noticeable is when cropping.... A 6mp image from a D70 might very well show less camera motion induced blur than a 6mp crop from a D800. However, if the D800 image is taken such that the 36mp D800 image has the same viewfinder coverage as the D70 image, the 36mp D800 will absolutely blow the D70 image away. In this case you might find some blur in details that cannot be resolved with the D70, and the elimination of THAT blur may require better technique. In summary, the D800 will not take pictures that have more blur than what you may be accustomed to, but it will allow you to resolve more detail; and that detail may have a component of blur.
Mar 28, 2012 by
by
Photogeek
Napa, CA, USA
Location : 
Napa, CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Unfortunately the Nikon answer simply re-creates the uncertainty by seeming to say that blur will be amplified by this camera because of its high detail. It suggests that blur would not be as noticeable as with a camera of lower definition. So more care will have to be given, especially if you want to enlarge the image significantly.

As a fine point, you cannot expect the sharpest images with almost any camera at low to moderate shutter speeds without the use of a tripod or other steadying device and even mirror lock up.
Mar 19, 2012 by
by
Snappy
Portland, OR, USA
Location : 
Portland, OR, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-16points
1out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful17
Answer: 
Thanks. However, I didn't interpret the guide in the way you did. The example they showed employs that shutter speed, and logically it might make sense, but I get the feeling (from the NIkon team's answer as well) it is an issue with the camera and your technique has to be flawless. The biggest issue for me is this, followed by lower ISO than I expected. The camera's features otherwise seem fantastic. I have been a lifelong Canon user, and I was ready to switch, but obviously have some concerns.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
Groth
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+29points
30out of 31found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful30unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you look closely at the guide, the blur is only a possibility when shooting at shutter speeds of 1/15-1s. The Nikon D800 is just as hand-holdable as a D3, D700, D3S or any other DSLR.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Nikonguy88
Denver, CO, USA
Location : 
Denver, CO, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-20points
9out of 38found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful29
Answer: 
At the high resolutions offered by the D800/D800E, even the slightest camera motion can result in blur. The technique revealed in this section minimizes blur through a combination of live view photography and a tripod.
Feb 28, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D800
 
6 Answers

With the D800E will moire occur with images in nature, or is it largely manifested with fine manmade structure.

Feb 6, 2012 by
by
Robert
Maine
 on D800
Has staff answer
+9points
18out of 27found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful9
I am a nature photographer (largely) and specifically I hope that moire will not occur on the wings of birds.
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Robert
Maine
Location : 
Maine
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check out the fast Nikon lenses that Nikon recommends for the d800e try the 24mm f/1.4 super sharp.
Feb 8, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Nikon site has some good examples of moire in the D800E photographs. I initially ordered the D800E but subsequently switched to the D800 due to the problems with moire sans an AA filter. Yes, software can help in photographs but my understanding is that moire may be even more pronounced in videos and software will not touch that. I intend to use my D800 primarily for photographs but like the flexibility to also use it as a video camera. For most applications the clarity of detail will not be noticeable between the D800 and the D800E and the potential for considerable issues with moire with the D800E made the decision for me. We would all like to have everything but that is just not realistic in life.
Mar 6, 2012 by
by
Beso
Portland, OR, USA
Location : 
Portland, OR, USA
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check out our Learn & Explore article that discusses the moire/false color issues and how to minimize them when using the D800E. http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Feb 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
By and large Nikon is spot on in their evaluations of equipment. If you prefer to be out shooting and not at the computer adjusting images you should probably bypass the "E." I prefer shooting to tweaking images and have selected the D800 (waiting expectantly the arrival).

I'll shoot it for a few weeks before deciding which model for a second body. I prefer all bodies to be the identical when working. I'm old, the less confusion in life, the better. I'm betting that, unless you lean to huge enlargements, either model will suffice for your needs. That being the case, I'd select the less expensive model with a battery pack, fully expecting that 36.3MP will provide all the detail you'd want or need.

If you have a local Nikon dealer, rent or borrow both models and do an evaluation if you think the "low pass" might be a consideration.

50 years shooting wildlife mostly in Alaska, semi-professionally, using predominately Nikon bodies and lenses
Feb 18, 2012 by
by
Warren
Alaska
Location : 
Alaska
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download the model photo taken with the D800e camera and check out her fabric outfit; there is no moire patterns at all. Many 2 1/4 backs have no anti-aliasing filter and they get along just fine. Also, if you have a problem, you can add a CapRock AA filter on the lens, or remove the problem in software.
Feb 11, 2012 by
by
F64photo
Rochester, NY, USA
Location : 
Rochester, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
I read fabrics, some bird feathers and architectural details will have very pronounced moire with D800e. Organic surfaces: faces, landscape and natural surfaces will have greater resolution(detail) when used with great glass($). IMHO D800e is special use(have multiple camera's), not for all around use. Heck 36MP will have massive detail and resolution to begin with.
Feb 7, 2012 by
by
Funduro
Tampa Bay, FL, USA
Location : 
Tampa Bay, FL, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
8 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D800
 
5 Answers

Is there an easy way to check number of the pictures taken by my D800?

Mar 28, 2013 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, USA
 on D800
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I use camera for near one year and would like to know for how long I can use it. Is anybody know easy way count all data made by this camera, except using third party websites.

Thanks
1 year ago
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, USA
Location : 
Watertown, MA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
On Flickr the EXIF info will tell you this information as the image number which is about 13 from the bottom of the list.
Feb 18, 2014 by
by
phototed
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Even Picasa should give you the shutter count in the Exif. It does with my D70S and D7100
Jan 3, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Wow!!!!
It looks like "Anonymous" never made more than 9999 shorts by Nikon DSLR camera.
If he will made it, he will know that after 9999 the next short # will start from 0001.

welcome to Pro "Anonymous"
May 14, 2013 by
by
Yevtitov
Watertown, MA, USA
Location : 
Watertown, MA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
It is easy. Just download your images to any PC. Your file name includes the number of pictures taken.
May 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
No, you can only use 3rd party exif software or upload a photo to a shutter count website.
Mar 29, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D800
 
4 Answers

Does the Nikon d800/d800e have a auto function such as the Nikon d7000?

Feb 18, 2012 by
by
The kid
Canada
 on D800
0points
5out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful5
What I mean auto function, is the camera automatically adjusters the exposure, aperture, shutter speed, iso, etc.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
The kid
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
P mode, along with auto ISO and auto focus, should be as good as any other Auto mode.
Mar 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+16points
16out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful0
Answer: 
S, A, and P modes ARE automatic.

In S mode, you pick what shutter you want and the camera picks the aperture.

In A mode you pick the aperture, and the camera picks the shutter.

In P mode you don't have to pick anything. You can hand it to a friend and it will automatically adjust the aperture and shutter.

And if you put it in Auto ISO mode, it will adjust ISO automatically, as well.

The flash is never automatic with the D800. If you want flash you pop it up and it fires.
Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-11points
1out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful12
Answer: 
Why does nikon not put an auto function on these high end cameras? It is so hard to hand your camera to someone on vacation and tell them to point and shoot a shot of you if there is no true auto. very frustrating.
Feb 27, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-7points
2out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful9
Answer: 
No auto modes, they are P,S,A and M only
Feb 18, 2012 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
5out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful3
This is a tremendously useful feature for casual users who share this body, or for quick or emergency set-up or if the body is seldom used or hasn't been used for a while. Long a feature on Canon, it was well received on Nikon; the D7000 being one I have used. My older D700 sometimes could have used this feature.
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
art743
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it has these features; they are just inside the menus. It's not too difficult to change the user settings from C1 to C2 to C3 to C4 since you can tap the INFO button and select the Custom shooting blank.
Dec 4, 2013 by
by
Nikon Enthusiast
Virginia, USA
Location : 
Virginia, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Since I do not have a camera like the D7000, I am not exactly sure what you are referring to with “U1” & “U2.” However, from what you are describing, I think it is what Nikon refers to as” Shooting Menu Banks.” The user’s manual for the D800 describes these on pages 269 and 270. They permit frequently used settings to be stored in Banks A, B, C, and D. Of course, you have to configure each Bank to your own desires.

(You can now download a “PDF” of the manual under the support section of this site.)
Mar 30, 2012 by
by
BruceH
Michigan, USA
Location : 
Michigan, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
No U1/U2 settings
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D800
 
3 Answers

Can the D800 accomodate all Nikon Tilt Shift lenses?

Feb 7, 2012 by
by
Mr Specbus
West Linn, OR, USA
 on D800
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The D700 flash housing interferes with the Nikkor 24 mm tilt shift lens. Will the D800 eliminate this interference or do I need a D4?
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Mr Specbus
West Linn, OR, USA
Location : 
West Linn, OR, USA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for the feedback. I finally went to a dealer and tried the 24 mm tilt/shift on a D800. It works fine. I bought a D800E and a Nikkor 24mm tilt/shift. I have been using them happily together for several months.

Not sure what Nikon staff is thinking.
Mar 10, 2013 by
by
MrSpecbus
West Linn, OR, USA
Location : 
West Linn, OR, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Actually, the answer from the Nikon staff is not quite correct. The D800 is capable of using the PCE lenses (commonly known as the Tilt Shift lenses). For the 24mm version there can be some contention of the PCE lens when being used in Portrait mode, but that is worked around very easily by rotating the lens in the opposite direction. Other than that one issue the PCE lenses from Nikon are fully compatible with the Nikon D800. Just do some research on the internet to see the number of people who blindly repeat the 'no' answer and then the few people who have actually used the PCE lenses with a D800. It is very workable and, with the great D800, it is WELL WORTH THE EFFORT.
Mar 10, 2013 by
by
Jim B
Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Location : 
Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-7points
3out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful10
Answer: 
Can not be used with shifting or tilting.
Feb 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D800
 
3 Answers

Is the mc-dc2 remote really compatible with the D800s jacks?

Feb 17, 2012 by
by
Curt G
Minneapolis, MN, USA
 on D800
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
It's listed as compatible on the system page, but I don't see it working with the USB3 jack. Wish the 800 supported infrared remotes like the D4. If anything, the 800 would seem to be even more tripod prone.
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Curt G
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Location : 
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I see Nikon has now removed the MC-dc2 from the compatible accessories list on this site. So I guess the answer is no, not compatible.
Feb 23, 2012 by
by
Curt G

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Joe,
Thanks for responding. I should have been more specific about IR. I meant internal receiver IR using the ML-L3. Less cumbersome, better performance in cold weather and if I lose the remote fob it's cheap to replace. Still wondering about corded options though.
Feb 17, 2012 by
by
Curt G
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Location : 
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
D800 works with optional ML-3 infrared LED remote
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Marvin
Bedford, OH, USA
Location : 
Bedford, OH, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
If you have an Express Slot, you can get a USB 3.0 adapter.

1 LAC 130976 LaCie 130976 USB 3.0 ExpressCard/34 Notebook Expansion Card
Mar 31, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
Answer: 
If you are concerned that you would not be able to interface with the USB 2.0, here's the answer from the Nikon D800 brochure:

"High-speed data transfer with USB 3.0

For a more productive tethered and transfer workflow, the
D800 is compatible with USB 3.0. When connected to
equipment featuring USB 2.0, speed is reduced to that of
USB 2.0."
Mar 4, 2012 by
by
BruceH
Michigan, USA
Location : 
Michigan, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-3points
4out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful7
Answer: 
Mac currently does not support usb 3.0 so you are out of luck, thunderbolt is the current high speed data transfer for mac's
Mar 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D800
 
3 Answers

Image Quality in DX Mode vs D7000?

Mar 9, 2012 by
by
Tbaker
Watertown, NY 13601, USA
 on D800
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I own a D7000 and I was wondering if I should expect a noticeable or significant image quality difference with the D800? I shoot a lot of wildlife with a Sigma 150-500 and comparing the tech specs from the D7000/D800 in DX mode, I see that the pixel rating is slightly better with the D7000. I understand it isn't all about the pixels and has a lot to do with the sensor... Should I expect any noticeable improvement in sharpness/detail with D800 using the Sigma - all other things being equal? Thanks...
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Tbaker
Watertown, NY 13601, USA
Location : 
Watertown, NY 13601, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own both the D800 and the D7000. In DX crop mode I have found that the D800 is noticeably better than the D7000. Images are slightly sharper, there is a bit more dynamic range and more discerning colour rendition....not a huge difference but noticeable, especially with larger size prints. I shoot birds with a Nikkor 70-200 f/4 VR with a TC-17E teleconverter. I did select specific lenses that score quite well on DxOMark testing with the D800. Other lenses may not provide good enough optics and may limit overall image quality.

I can't comment on the Sigma 150-500 as DxOMark has not tested that particular lens. The Sigma 120-400 does not score very well at all with either the D7000 or the D800. If the optics of your lens are not up to the challenge of the D800 you will likely not see any difference as your lens may be the weakest part of the system and there may not be any point in upgrading to the D800 if you have poor/average glass.
Aug 6, 2013 by
by
Grimbot
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Location : 
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the Nikon answer to this question is correct in reference to quality being the same between the D7000 and D800 in crop mode, we are in a world of hurt. I own the D7000 and D700. I will not shoot pass ISO 400 on the D7000 for quality images for clients. On the D700, I can shoot up to ISO 1600 before I get concerned about the quality of images I give the client. Other Nikon staff states that the D800 image quality is on par with the D700. The Nikon response to this question states the D800 is on par with the D7000 in crop mode. Crop mode should only affect image resolution not quality.
Mar 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
Answer: 
You can expect same quality between the D7000 and the D800 (full frame camera) in DX crop mode. Regarding the results using a third party product you will need to get in contact with them regarding sharpeness and details.
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 10
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 10
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers