Loading

Every photo will astound.
Every video will dazzle.

Hold in your hands an HD-SLR able to capture images rivaled only by those produced with a medium-format camera: extremely low noise, incredible dynamic range and the most faithful colors. Meet the Nikon D800, a 36.3 megapixel FX-format HD-SLR for professional photographers who require end results of the highest quality, who demand superior performance, speed, handling and a fully integrated imaging system. For cinematographers and multimedia professionals, 36.3 MP means true 1080p HD cinematic quality video and includes inputs for stereo microphones and headphones, peak audio meter display, DX crop mode to maximize NIKKOR lens selection and angle of view and much more.
FX
Format
36.3
Megapixels
4 FPS
Continuous Shooting
ISO 100–6,400
(Expandable to 25,600)
FULL HD
1080p at 30/25/24p

Reveal every nuance, every detail

The 36.3 megapixel FX-format advantage

Wedding, commercial or landscape, the D800 is the ultimate 36.3 MP FX-format camera for creative genius. Witness tonal range and precision rendered to supreme clarity, depth and texture. Make poster sized prints without sacrificing detail. Explore creative opportunities with ISO 100 to 6400 (expanded up to 25,600)—shoot from dawn to dusk. Experience Nikon's new Advanced Scene Recognition System featuring the 91,000-pixel RGB light meter capable of rendering unprecedented levels of accuracy to AF, AE, i-TTL flash control, face recognition and auto white balance. Nikon's new EXPEED 3 image processing reduces color phase shifts seen with lesser systems, producing more faithful colors and tones while managing massive amounts of data at breakthrough speed. With the D800 in your hands, achieve what was once unreachable.

Broadcast quality video

A full cinematic experience

Filmmakers, multimedia professionals and event photographersrecord Full HD 1080p at 30/25/24p or 720p at 60/50p in AVC format. Produce to your exacting vision when working in manual mode, controlling aperture, ISO, AF and shutter speed. Record uncompressed files via HDMI to an external recording device. via HDMI. Widen production perspective using either Nikon FX or DX lens formats at Full HD 1080p and 16:9 aspect ratio. Attach headphones and check audio levels or monitor input via peak audio meters as displayed on the camera's LCD monitor. Microphone sensitivity can be adjusted in up to 20 steps. Remotely start and stop video. Simultaneous Live View on the camera's LCD monitor and external monitor during recording are possible.

Render every megapixel with precision

Fast, precise 51-point wide area coverage

Precise AF detection is critical to sharply render every pixel of the D800's massive resolution count. An improved 51- point AF system with 15 Cross Type AF sensors, versatile AF area modes and superb AF detection in even the dimmest lighting deliver immediate, pinpoint focus. Fast shot-to-shot time, full resolution frame rate up to 4 fps, 6 fps in DX crop mode and ultra fast CF and SD card write times. For more productive workflow, high-speed data transfer using USB 3.0 is realized. For demanding professionals, the D800 responds immediately and precisely.

Versatile shooting, fluid operation

Streamlined ergonomic design puts critical tasks a touch away

Intuitive design makes D800 operation a thing of beauty. A streamlined ergonomic body allows critical photography and video tasks, including Movie Record, Live View, White Balance and Picture Control to be performed at the touch of a button. Confirm image capture and view menu options, histograms, video settings and more using the D800's super sharp 3.2-inch 921,000-dot LCD screen with 100% coverage. Anti-glare coating and auto brightness control ease of viewing, no matter the environment. Enlarge images up to 46x for on-the-spot focus confirmation. Magnesium alloy construction and environmental sealing make the D800 as comfortable in the field as in the studio.
EXPEED 3 image processing

Nikon's EXPEED 3 technology extends and assures breathtakingly rich image fidelity and reduces noise, even at high ISO's. EXPEED 3 is so powerful that it handles data-intensive tasks such as Full-HD video recording at 30p with ease.

Rich image previewing

The D800's 3.2-inch super-sharp 921,000 LCD monitor automatically adjusts LCD brightness and visibility according to your environment for bright, crisp image playback, menu adjustment and Live View shooting. Enlarge images up to 46x to make on the spot focus confirmation—crucial for high resolution shooting.

Expand dynamic range with built-in HDR

Create a single image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and rich color gradation than ever before. Combine two exposures at up to 3EV.

Dedicated picture control button

The convenient Picture control button provides six preset options: Vivid, Monochrome, Neutral, Standard, Landscape and Portrait for stills and video while 9 customizable settings provide advanced, personalized color control.

D800 and D800E

Which camera is right for you?

Every Nikon DSLR camera uses an optical low pass filter (OLPF) in front of its sensor to slightly blur the image at a pixel level in order to reduce the occurrence of false colors and moiré that can appear when shooting repetitive and/or fine patterns. For the vast majority of photographers the D800 provides an ideal balance between sharpness and effectively prevented moiré and false color, ideal for shooting using all file formats. D800E is a specialized camera that removes the "effect" of the OLPF which results in a slight gain in sharpness and resolution and is recommended for studio and still life professionals but carries an increased possibility that moiré and false color will appear.

Strikes an ideal balance between sharpness and preventing the occurrence of false color and moiré for consistent performance
Ideal for:
  • All shooting situations
  • Photographers shooting RAW (NEF), JPG or TIFF images
  • Photographers who do not want to adjust their workflow (via software) to reduce the occurrence of moiré and false color
Slight increase in sharpness and resolution with increased occurrence of false color and moiré
Ideal for:
  • Studio, commercial and still life photographers who can control their shooting conditions, lens selection and aperture choice, as well as use of software (Capture NX2) to reduce the occurrence of false color and moiré
  • Medium format photographers whose current digital system do not utilize an optical low pass filter
  • Shooting RAW (NEF)
  • More information on moiré Behind the Scenes: D800/D800E

D800 and D800E Image Comparison

Comparison of false color and moiré

With the D800E, false color and moiré may be noticeable when shooting repetitive and/or fine patterns.

Comparison of resolution

Compared to the D800, the D800E reproduces textures with slightly higher resolution for sharper rendering and greater depth.

What Else is Different?

Other than the very slight image quality differences described above, the D800 and D800E perform exactly the same. Focus speed, exposure metering, shooting speed, movie recording, accessory compatibility, control location and function, and all other aspects are identical.

Additional Features:
Standard ISO 100-6400, expandable to ISO 50-25,600 equivalent

Added ISO settings of Lo-1 (ISO 50 equivalent), Hi-1 (ISO 12,800 equivalent) and Hi-2 (ISO 25,600 equivalent) extend versatility.

Continuous shooting at up to 4 fps at full FX-format resolution

Commercial image quality teams with speed and handling to create new shooting possibilities—in the studio or on location. Shoot DX-format images up to 6fps using the optional MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack and batteries other than the EN-EL15

Rugged magnesium alloy construction

Effectively protected from invasive dust, moisture and tested to exceed 200,000 cycles.

Compatible with third party video accessories

As your multimedia work grows in importance, know that the D800 is compatible with a growing selection of third party video accessories.

High speed CF and SD dual memory card slots

CF cards compatible with UDMA6 as well as UDMA7 are supported. For SD cards, SDXC and UHS-1 are supported.

Two axis Virtual Horizon graphic indicator

Use either the LCD monitor or viewfinder to check if the camera is level—horizontally or with forward or rear rotation.

Rechargeable EN-EL15 Battery

Up to approximately 900 images and 60 minutes of HD video per charge.

Expand the creative potential of the D800

NIKKOR® lenses & Nikon Creative Lighting System for every situation

Uniquely compatible with both FX and DX-formats, tap an unprecedented selection of NIKKOR lenses. Explore NIKKOR Lenses

Get studio quality lighting virtually anywhere with the Nikon Creative Lighting System and Nikon Speedlights. Explore Speedlights

Extend your Creativity and Capabilities

Express yourself creatively with a wide range of accessories, including NIKKOR lenses, Speedlights, adapters, remotes, releases and more.
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D800 4.4 5 215 215
just I loved...... Awesome detail,perfect pic quality. Good features . April 19, 2014
Amazing performer, sloppy QA A little background, I came here from a d5000 then a d7000 and now a d800, have been doing photography as a passion and as a profession for around 6 years. What to use it for: products, weddings, landscape, fashion, All around shooter for people who "KNOW" how to handle the beast. Or the learning curve will be steep and you might get disappointed quickly. What NOT to use it for: Pro Sports shooting or very fast paced action! (only for the modest burst rate) Let me break down the points; IQ: Superb. Enough said! The Image quality of this camera is quite amazing, it is extremely sharp, if you know how to use the tool and have good glass (not amazing, but good enough). Extremely useful (36 MP!!!!) for cropping or recomposing after fact and printing HUGE. ISO: Not very impressive, but in relation to the MP count and signal to noise ratios, it is well kept under control, The 6d and 5d 3 are way better even around ISO 800, but you sacrifice a lot in return. AF: auto focus system is quite amazing especially when in DX mode, as it covers mostly the entire frame! I haven't used it in complex situations much, but it sometimes lags in dim light, and that is to be expected to some extent. It also depends on the lens used for focusing speed. Battery performance: Not amazing, but adequate to my needs. Something you won't find out the easy way, the battery drains REALLY quick when plugged into the USB Port. This is apparently because the Camera stays ON the whole time it is connected, you could almost see the percentage falling . Nikon could easily work out a firmware update to fix such an issue I believe. Ruggedness: Very well built and sealed in a good manner, but nothing is perfect of course, on a fashion desert shoot the camera took quite a beating but the sensor also gained a few spots as well! Viewfinder/eye piece: bright, well placed, but not 100% comfortable to use, could be pumped out a little to help getting a more comfortable nose posture. What I like/ love: MP for large (I mean LARGE) prints, Dynamic Range, fine tuning control, Quality at low ISO. What could be better (personal preference): Controls layout (especially ISO button and Focus control), ergonomics, and ISO, Skin tones and colour reproduction is a little off for my taste, I prefer Canon's warmer skin tones, but Nikon's richer Dynamic range. What I dislike/ hate: Sensor was defective on my first unite (a complete vertical line of dead pixels), QA at Nikon is REALLY getting sloppy, if I face another issue like this with a Nikon product, I'm switching brands. Reliability is a MUST have when buying tools for business. I returned the unit and reseller will exchange it after inspection and after wasting a week of my time. How could this unite get out of the factory is beyond me! A unite aimed at hard enthusiasts to say the least should be inspected further in my humble opinion. Rating: 5 Stars for the very good balance between sensor size, Pixel count and Image Quality at this price range. The tool should not be punished for human mistakes at QA, should it?! ******Check your Camera and test it in in the Shop before you buy it.****** **A request for Nikon, PLEASE give us a firmware/ tool to do remapping of the sensor's dead pixels. So we don't have to SEND it to in or back to the store just to fix a couple of dead spots!** April 3, 2014
Truly Great Masterpiece I have the habit of buying things as soon as they are released. Had F4,D70,D700, before I heard about D800. Was too excited and couldn't wait to own one. Got it last year and put to use. Compared to D700 was a little tough to master initially but after I got the hang of it, never looked back. The output of this camera is amazing. Great detail and colour rendition. Always use it without flash with very satisfying low light results. It is truly Nikon's masterpiece. My advice to new users is to try better Nikkor lenses (My most favourite is 70-200mm f 2.8 VRII) ,and see the results on a good high definition computer monitor to really enjoy the potential of this great camera. April 2, 2014
Best Nikon with great versatility I have been a Nikon user since the Nikon F in the late 60's. This is my go to camera and has great versatility. In low light, control your breathing and increase ISO. It will handle all the lighting and action shots. I carry multiple cards and external drives as it does produce large RAW images so you need an efficient work flow process. I highly recommend this camera. March 24, 2014
the best camera on the market! By far the BEST camera on the market! This camera meets 95% of my needs and expectations. I demand a large ergonomic body like that of the D2, D3, and D4. Together with the MB-D12 handgrip, my expectations are fully satisfied and met. The cameras focusing system is always tack sharp and flawless. It quickly and accurately focuses in very dim and poor lighting. 99% of my images are shot with some kind of strobe lighting. I needed a camera that was a mix between the D3x and D700, and the D800 has nicely delivered the performance of these two cameras. It yields the image QUALITY of the D3x, high ISO low noise capabilities of the D700, in a camera that is just impossible to beat! At ISO 6400 one can easily use the camera for a wedding! Using fast large aperture lenses the D800 is usable in ANY lighting situation! It boasts the highest dynamic range of any camera, giving it incredible contrast and detail in the shadows. Overall, this camera is by far the best camera on the market. February 26, 2014
Excellent professional camera I used Nikon cameras back in the "film days" - for reasons, I went to "another brand" and contemplated coming back into the Nikon fold for some time. My work is mainly photojournalistic and event shooting requiring work in all light levels. I find that the Nikon lenses are far better than other products covering the same focal lengths. I am shooting with a D800, D600 and D300 coupled with Nikon lenses. In my opinion the metering and ease of use in each of these cameras is far better than that of the other product I had been shooting with. The D800 is an extremely versatile, easy to use camera - the images it produces far exceed my previous (pro) DSLR's. All of my camera bodies are equipped with the battery grip - I would highly recommend this addition to add to the versatility of the camera. Weight of the camera, grip and lens, in my opinion only adds to better images. February 12, 2014
Great feel on the body I am a enthusiast, not a professional , but the amazing images that come out of this box are amazing, I am a business owner, but I will be moonlighting as a photographer because that's the insparation this camera gave me...AWESOME NIKON!!! February 9, 2014
Neverending awe... I am not an expert; photography is not my trade / career - I am a very happy amateur consumer, as after I made the decision to purchase the D800 - I was absolutely convinced I made a profound right choice. I am persistently fascinated with the clarity, precision, attention to detail with the D800's ability to render images; no matter what lens, no matter what condition / situation!! I thought that snappin pix would be a fad I'd move through, yet the D800 won't let me do that - I am hooked, in passion, destined to be a photographer... Note: My sample images have not been exposed to any post processing with exception of signature / crop - all Nikon lenses used. enjoy "You gotta get this camera" Thank you Nikon February 6, 2014
Stunning photos, incredible camera! While I would never attempt to call myself an expert photographer, I have been using various DSLR cameras since the Nikon D100, and frankly, the capabilities of the D800 are incredible. There are many sites across the internet that spend a great deal of effort to drag down the 36MP sensor, the clarity of the photos etc. Frankly if you try and use a tool for the wrong purpose, you cannot blame the tool when your efforts fall short. This camera takes incredible photographs. I would never use it for sports action photography, that is what my D700 is for. As far as the clarity of the 36MP sensor, if you try and take an ISO100 photo with a prolonged shutter duration, a tripod is an obvious requirement. That said, at faster shutter speeds, the D800 delivers remarkable clarity. Yes, there are those that will expand any given photo down to individual pixels and whine about sharpness, let them whine. The capabilities of the D800 more than speak for themselves. January 22, 2014
Stellar! First, I started out with a Nikon D300 in college and then wanted full frame and went canon. Since then I have gone back in forth with Canon and Pentax, but something just wasn't right. I started reading reviews and it was filling my life. I then started looking at images on flickr shot with a Nikon D800 and I was just humbled looking at the images. There were amazing. So, I made the switch and since then have regretted ever switching. I guess I am better for it now though. The images I get from this camera are amazing. I love the grainy texture at higher iso. It feels more like film grain. The camera is very robust, but easy to hold for hours. The menu system is a menu system and no camera company has this 100% correct. I'm not a video guy so I could care less. I wish they would make the D800 without video and sell it for $500 cheaper. As, for the stills go; the crop modes give my creativity in more options. The file sizes are big but i see it as more room to work if I don't notice the mistake in camera. All-in-all if you are on the cusp as to buy the D800 or go with a d700/D610 I wouldn't look any farther than the best camera Nikon has ever produced for the price point. Go Nikon D800! January 9, 2014
impressed with this camera I bought this camera primarily to use with my 28mm PC Nikkor f 3.5. This is probably the best lens that I own. It is a very good "test lens" to see what this camera can do. I've still been primarily using my FM2n and shooting chrome with this lens. This camera opened up a whole new world of perspective corrected photos as the DX format was just too narrow to use with this lens. I think that pros will be most comfortable with this camera vs. the D610. I thought about that choice for a long time and decided that I do need the extra functionality that this camera provides. You need to do a detailed comparison between the two in order to determine which is right for you and how you normally shoot. For me build quality also is important as I tend to shoot in harsh environments. I tend to buy a good one and keep it four or five years. If you buy a new one every time a new model comes out, then you need to factor that into the cost analysis i.e. costs about $ 1,400 per year to use this camera if you buy a new one every upgrade cycle. But on a four to five year upgrade cycle that I use, it makes sense and I am confident that it will be in operating just as well 4 years from now as it does now. You also will need to upgrade to the latest computer if you haven't already. But compared to the cost of a medium format back with similar resolution, it is a good deal. NOTE on the test photo. That is actually either a power line or some sort of lightening rode shown in the photo. This is a reconstruction photo after fire damage and wind damage from a storm was repaired. December 26, 2013
The Bad Boy I bought this camera over a year ago. This guy is packed with features and delivers big time performance. If you put a sharp lens on this body the detail is second to none in DSLR terms. December 25, 2013
I love this Camera! My first Nikon was the D200 and I was very disappointed with the low light capabilities (or should I say Lack of it). I waited to get a D700 but the market crashed and I had to wait. I just bought the D800 and I have been working with it for a week. It's the camera I always wanted. I highly recommend this! November 28, 2013
Powerful, full-reatured D-SLR There is no question this is a state-of-the-art, powerful, full-featured, full-frame D-SLR, integrated into the full Nikon photography system of lenses, lighting, and accessories. The controls and menus are well designed and mostly how an experienced shooter expects them to operate. The resolution is un-matched, almost overkill for most lenses, and has all the features one could want for shooting the highest-quality stills and video. The color quality and dynamic range of the raw images is exceptional, allowing great shadow and highlight detail to be preserved in many cases without resorting to HDR. Detector noise is quite low (considering the pixel density on the detector), permitting shooting in very low light levels I'd like to see a couple of things improved or added in future high-end Nikon D-SLRs: it would be helpful to be able to lock up the mirror while in continuous shooting mode, and while shooting time-lapse sequences to avoid camera shake, keep audible noise to a minimum, and save power; the problems with timing when shooting time sequences with long exposures should be fixed; it would be nice to have an integrated wireless remote and GPS. October 19, 2013
Nikon D800 is one great camera! Two words..WOW! and WOW! You have to see what beautiful photo comes out of this camera. I upgraded from a D90 & D7000. You can't be leave the difference. The ease of use of this camera is fantastic. You got to add one to your camera bag! October 18, 2013
pure awesomeness Bought this as a upgrade from the the D7000 and what a good choice it was. September 27, 2013
great Beautifll Perfect is great Powerfull Great Video and Photo 36.3 mp it feel goog September 12, 2013
It does not miss a beat I have been a loyal Nikon user for many years. Starting with Film cameras and fortunate enough to be at ground level when the Nikon D1 was released. I work in the publishing business which keeps me around many photographers. After several purchases you develop a loyalty to the brand you've invested with the cameras & lenses purchases. Meanwhile you always keeping and eye on the other guys gear and what they have. Needless to say over a long period of time— I've had my share of Nikon versus Canon with some good friends & fellow shooters. This new D800 takes everything to a new level. Medium format resolution in a affordable price. Great imagery, and easy to use. Solid paltform. I'm excited to take my craft to the next level. September 7, 2013
Not only is this the best camera I've used in my career, but the company behind it has got your back! I have owned the D800 for over a year now and am constantly impressed with the quality of images that it produces. It is true what others have said: amazing resolution, surprising dynamic range, camera ergonomics that allow fast adjustments and fine tuning. However over the last couple of months I experiences some camera breakdowns: the shutter had to be replaced and shortly after that a power supply circuit failed. In both cases Nikon quickly repaired it under warranty. But I was still not confidence in it after some lockup issues on assignment. I took it back in and requested a replacement, even if I had to pay some difference. Low and behold, Nikon replaced my unit with a brand new unit in box! Now that really is service above and beyond. That is why I have been a Nikon loyal customer since my first Nikon F. I highly recommend to you both the Nikon organization and their products. Your loyalty will be rewarded in many ways. September 6, 2013
Utterly Amazing I moved from a D200 to this camera and there is no comparison. The focus if fast and mostly accurate. The image resolution is incredible and changed my opinion that resolution is really not "that important" to nice images. The amount of detail is astounding. I got the 28-300 travel lens, and it is nice, comparable to the DX 18-200. I found that a few used Nikkor Micro lenses (60mm and 105mm) have delivered some of my best photos. I got an aftermarket grip, but don't use it. The bulk isn't worth the benefit. August 4, 2013
Powerful camera All I have to say is, buy this camera, but along with a good lens as well. With both together, it creates amazing photos. Colors and sharpness of the photos is superb! It only had 4 fps, but I still feel its more than enough for an average user. The only drawback is the file size, takes up a lot of space, but it can be adjusted and sometimes benefits you when cropping. I'll definitely be keeping this camera for a long time. Probably forever! Below is an image I took. I hope you guys can see the amazing quality, the picture is none edit. July 31, 2013
Fantastic camera that meets specific needs After three bad copies of the D600 (terrible oil spot problems) I shifted gears and moved up to the D800. So glad that I did! The D800 is perfect for the kind of work that I do....studio, landscape, corporate video. The D800 is a remarkable camera with its 36mp sensor. It produces incredibly detailed images and very good video quality. Moire is a bit of a problem with video...but it seems to appear in predictable spots so it is often possible to 'shoot around' the issue by adjusting camera position, zoom etc. Love the feel of this camera in my hand...solid, well balanced. Controls are well positioned and very easy to access. Don't be afraid of using this camera hand-held...yes...it does take good technique but with the right lenses you can get outstanding images. The 70-200 f/4 VR and 16-35 f/4 VR Nikkor lenses are super when paired up with the D800 for hand-held work. I also shoot with the Nikkor f/1.8 trinity (28mm, 50mm and 85mm). All produce very good, detailed images. You may need to use a bit quicker shutter speed than you are used to as these lenses do not have VR...especially if you're moving up from a D700....but if you're coming from a crop sensor camera like the D7000 it is not much of a difference. Love the manual aperture setting for video and the histogram on live-view. This makes shooting video MUCH quicker and easier than with the D600. The D800 also has better audio controls than the D600. I have also used the Nikkor TC-17E with my 70-200 f/4 VR and my 105 Micro f/2.8 VR with very good hand-held results. I cannot image a better camera for what I do....durable, comfortable to use, fantastic image quality. You may need to upgrade your computer etc. to process the large RAW files that the D800 generates but that is a small price to pay for the outstanding image quality that rivals medium format when the D800 is used correctly with a solid tripod, good glass and proper technique. Deeper bracketing (up to nine shots) makes the D800 MUCH better for HDR work than the D600. The 4 fps is a bit slow for shooting nature or sports....and the buffer does take a while to clear so its not the best choice for this kind of shooting. You can certainly get by in a pinch and I have been able to get some very good shots of birds in flight using the D800.....small fast birds are a challenge as you can imagine. Mosaic Engineering has a special filter you can use with the D800 if you want to have 'worry free' video in terms of moire....at this point I have not found the need for the filter...although I know other folks that have made the investment and like the results. I use an iDC System Zero follow focus unit when shooting video with the D800 and it works very well. Accessories are readily available for the D800 as it is a very popular camera used for DSLR video. It is a bit of a pain that my current Nikon shutter cable will not work with the D800 as it has a 10-pin connection. Vello makes a pretty good 10-pin cable for a bargain price. Also, you cannot use your shutter release and GPS at the same time....as they both use the same 10-pin connector on the D800. Keep in mind that the D800 has dual card slots...SD and CF. It really pays to go with larger, faster cards with this camera. I use Lexar 1000x 32GB professional CF cards and find them very good. I use high end Lexar and SanDisk SD cards.....either 16 or 32 GB. I would not waste my time with 8 GB cards...they fill up far too quickly. Another great feature of the D800 is the various crop modes you can use....4x5 for example is great for portrait work as it helps ensure you have proper subject framing and eliminates the need to crop later on.....wedding shooters will love this setting. The DX crop mode works well for wildlife and still produces 15MP shots with plenty of detail. In terms of shooting in low light...the D600 is a bit better than the D800 in terms of noise. I used to shoot up to ISO3200 without hesitation with the D600.....and would only get some minor noise at ISO6400. The D800 has more noise and I try to keep it at ISO1600 whenever possible....ISO2500 is still OK...higher than that tends to produce more noise than I like. Since the files are so large it is possible to shoot at higher ISOs...especially if you clean up the 36mp images in post then downsample.....the results can look very sharp and easily rival 12mp or 16mp images from the D700 or D4 at high ISOs. You can use FX and DX lenses with the D800 for both stills and video which is handy. Overall I have no hesitation recommending the D800 if you mainly shoot studio, landscape and video....it is simply an outstanding camera and worth every penny. June 26, 2013
Review Update I have previously gave my review about the Nikon D800 and I wish to share the photos that I have taken with it. The photos are sharp, crisp and very detailed with no noise, I must admit that I was very impressed with the results and I am convinced that this camera is almost beyond my expectations, I am so happy to be the owner of this camera. June 7, 2013
Awesome camera I have a Hasselblad H2 / Phase One system and have found myself using the Nikon D800 in studio shoots instead – it is that awesome. The crispness of the images is astounding. Low light, high ISO is remarkable. I've shot with Canon 5MkIII and this camera knocks the socks off it. Highly recommend. May 11, 2013
Best Camera so far I upgraded from D300s and D300 that I still use as back up bodies. Prior to that I had the fuji s1 and s2 and D200. I have used high used phase one digital and all film formats up to 8x10 view camera The controls and feel are similar to the D300 series. The D800 is my go to camera for all projects. It is great at high ISO for low light at a church for a wedding but I keep my D300s as the flash camera for other quick moments. The buffer can fill up if you are shooting too fast unlike the 300 series camera's. That said at 100 ISO there is nothing that can touch this camera and for the price point and the files rival a phase one costing thousands. The Dmin( mid tones) is amazing! This is the best camera Nikon has make since the F3 film camera and will be a classic someday! May 2, 2013
Big, Big upgreading Buy this beast a few weeks ago, had been waiting years to regain the full frame of my old D80 and fence chance your update is the D800. This occurs as an instantaneous act, but every picture I draw to see the large pixel size, is idiotic, but is that the resolution is tremendous and vice too. Every photo taken with my d7000 this camera improvement and 2.5 times the d7000 were excellent. May 1, 2013
Well worth the wait I upgraded from my Nikon D300 to the D800 and am so happy I did. I shoot mainly landscapes and Coastlines and do an occational wedding now and then. I'm not going to give you a bunch of techical details but will say this camera rocks. 36.3MP FX-format CMOS sensor will make your Landscapes pop with amazing detail. It's doesn't shoot as amny FPS as my D300 but I don't shoot sports so I don't miss it that much. Over all very happy with my new toy. April 30, 2013
A great upgarde from D7000 I bought the D800 last year. So far, I have taken over 10,000 photos. 99%+ are properly exposed. The AF is spot on with the proper setting. The camera IQ is very high and very reliable. It is critical that the right lenses are used. April 29, 2013
GREAT PRODUCT! This is an amazing camera! I always look for reviews before purchasing or trying any camera gear. By far Nikon D800 is the best "affordable" camera out there, comparing with others cameras within the same price range. This camera is extremely sharp, great low light performance and for the ones who complain about the file sizes, thats one small disadvantage comparing with all the other great advantages of this camera. Attached you can see some pictures taken with my Nikon D800. April 29, 2013
FROM NIKON FA TO NIKON D800 - BEST UPGRADE EVER !!! After reading a lot of reviews/feedbacks for the D800 in different websites and photo/camera magazines,I decided to get the D800. Absolutely the best dlsr for my upgrade money wise in my opinion. I've been wanting to replace my Nikon FA and waited for the right time to buy a new D800 with a $200 off plus a Nikon 24-120mm VR2 lens with $300 off ($500 total) to go buy the Nikon SB910 AF speedlite.This camera is amazing and will be with me for a long time like my faithful FA. If you are reading this review right now ,I highly recommend you buy it now til they have $$$ OFF. March 10, 2013
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 8
<<prev | next>>
283 Questions | 384 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
283 Questions | 384 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D800
 
8 Answers

What is the best lens for the nikon d800?

Feb 21, 2012 by
by
The kid
Canada
 on D800
Has staff answer
+17points
18out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful1
Guys, I need help choosing a lens less that 1200 dollars. It has to be either a wide angle, prime lens, or zoom lens.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
The kid
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
8 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon 85mm 1,8G. Super sharp.
Feb 11, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
if it were me, i would find a prime lens.
and get the best lens you can buy.

this is posted today 11/30/13 at B&H
REFURBISHED
Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.
SKU: NK10528AFVRR MFR: 2160B
$789.

and kid, i wouldn't steer you wrong. this is a really nice lens.
merry christmas.
Nov 30, 2013 by
by
jmf
New Jersey, USA
Location : 
New Jersey, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The first thing you need to do is determine what kinds of subjects and lighting conditions you will be facing before deciding on lenses for any dslr. Nikon has a published list of recommended lenses and DxOMark has done some very comprehensive testing to identify the best lenses in terms of image quality to match up with a D800. I shoot with 6 Nikkor lenses....16-35 f/4 VR, 70-200 f/4 VR, the f/1.8 trinity (28, 50, 85) and the 105mm f/2.8 VR micro. I have found this array allows me to cover a wide range of subject matter and lighting conditions quite well. I also have a TC-17E which I have used with the 70-200 f/4 VR and the 105 f/2.8 micro with very good results. If Nikon updates the 300mm f/4 I will add that lens to my kit...and may add the new 24-85 VR as a general purpose walk-around lens. It is half the money of the 24-120 VR and DxOMark shows it to perform almost on par.
Aug 6, 2013 by
by
Grimbot
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Location : 
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
You already invest too many dollars on a camera to buy any lens, if you dont have lens for nikon, and you want a daily use lens, I'll go with the new 24-85mm VR F3.5-4.5, it will do the job and would give you a nice range for creativity, and the iso would help you on low ligth situations. From this point review what you want to do with your equipment to buy the next one.
Sep 7, 2012 by
by
gpfoto
Monterrey International Airport (MTY), Carretera Miguel Aleman K.M 24, 66600 Apodaca, Nuevo León, Mexico
Location : 
Monterrey International Airport (MTY), Carretera Miguel Aleman K.M 24, 66600 Apodaca, Nuevo León, Mexico
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
Answer: 
I've been using the 28-300 mm which I think is my best one. It costs around $1100, but shop around.
AL
 
Products related to my answer
 
Aug 28, 2012 by
by
AL
Dallas, TX
Location : 
Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm assuming by saying "the best lens" for YOU (not necessarily for others) would be one walkaround lens you could use for 90% of your shooting needs - say a 24-70mm or 24-120mm zoom. For $1200 or less you have these options from Nikon, in order of preference for YOU:

Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR. I think this would serve your needs best (but it's about $1300)
Nikon 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR (only about $600)
Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S (about $700, if you really want a wide, prime lens less than $1200, but not as useful if this is your only lens)

If you are willing to go to a third-party lens, then you could consider these:

Tamron SP 24-70mm Di VC USD (about $1300, a little high but has "VC" - image stabilization)
Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 IF EX DG HSM (about $825 but no image stabilization)

Good luck and good shooting,
James
Aug 22, 2012 by
by
James L
Long Beach, CA, USA
Location : 
Long Beach, CA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sorry, but this is no way to go about choosing a lens!

Start by deciding exactly what you plan to photograph, and then research the lenses that are best suited to your needs. And please don't set an arbitrary limit on what you're planning to spend -- there are many options both more and less expensive than your quoted amount.

Most importantly, choose wisely. The D800 will maximize the qualities of whatever lens you mount on it -- if the qualities are poor, then your final product will suffer! Many people advise investing the greater amount in lenses over the camera body, and this is definitely something to consider very carefully!
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
Hugo First
Richmond, VA USA
Location : 
Richmond, VA USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-2points
7out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful9
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for the lens simulator; it will help you to make the decision on what lens you need.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Feb 22, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D800
 
7 Answers

From the Technical Guide issued, due to the high resolution the camera must be held perfectly still or the image is blurred. True?

Feb 23, 2012 by
by
Groth
New York, NY, USA
 on D800
Has staff answer
+5points
12out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful7
It's great to have a high resolution camera with many features, but if it's so sensitive that images are blurry with slight movement it can only be used on a stationary mount. In fact your technical guide says to use live view because that way the mirror isn't lifting during the picture which can cause blurring.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Groth
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
7 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have had very good results with the D800 hand-held. If you use lenses such as the 16-35 f/4 VR or the 70-200 f/4 VR you should not have any problem shooting hand-held with the D800. I also have a D7000 and find it similar in terms of hand-held technique.

If you shoot with non-VR primes you may have to shoot a tad faster than you normally would with a D700 for example. For example, shooting birds in flight at 1/1000 to 1/1250 will yield excellent results.
Aug 6, 2013 by
by
Grimbot
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Location : 
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+19points
20out of 21found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful1
Answer: 
I think you have to read Nikon's answer carefully. They save for "optimal" sharpness. I shoot medium format and if I want optimal sharpness I use a tripod. I have had the D800 for about 6 weeks and absolutely love the camera. There have been a couple of times where I had a shot that was blurry but the shots would have been blurry with any camera due to user error. The camera has a delayed exposure setting that when used with a tripod delivers the sharpest photos I have ever seen from any digital. I am primarily a Nikon guy but I do have a Canon 5D Mark II and my local camera store let me try the Canon 5D Mark III. The D800 was clearly sharper, which influenced my decision.
I really think the answer to your question though is dependent upon the type of photography you do. I shoot landscapes primarily and the D800 excells in this area of photography. I have found that for other types of photography that if I dial the image quality down to medium that I am still getting 20+ megapixels. I really like the versatility of the D800.
Bottom line is that if your technique is good you should not have any problems. If your technique is not good a little patience and practice you can improve your technique and have some awesome photos.
Good luck.
Jun 4, 2012 by
by
Thomas
Durham, NC
Location : 
Durham, NC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+27points
28out of 29found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful28unhelpful1
Answer: 
No worries.
The D800 has roughly the same pixel pitch as the D7000 and as far as blur is concerned it will behave similarly. As with ANY camera, the less motion there is during the exposure, the sharper it will be. Nikon's point is that in order to extract the greatest possible detail that the sensor is able to produce, a greater degree of care is required. If you take a photo with a D800 and shrink the image down to 16mp or 12mp or whatever, the amount of blur would be the same as if the image was taken with a lower resolution camera. If you are making 8 x 10 prints you don't need to treat the D800 any different than your current DSLR. If on the other hand you are printing at 40 x 60 inches, then a beefy weighted tripod, mirror up and a remote release will allow you to obtain the best images possible. Think of it this way, the amount of blur is no greater, but the sensor is capable of resolving it to a greater degree. Practically speaking, the added ability to resolve blur that is caused by camera motion needs to be addressed if you want to get the best results from large prints. The other place it might become noticeable is when cropping.... A 6mp image from a D70 might very well show less camera motion induced blur than a 6mp crop from a D800. However, if the D800 image is taken such that the 36mp D800 image has the same viewfinder coverage as the D70 image, the 36mp D800 will absolutely blow the D70 image away. In this case you might find some blur in details that cannot be resolved with the D70, and the elimination of THAT blur may require better technique. In summary, the D800 will not take pictures that have more blur than what you may be accustomed to, but it will allow you to resolve more detail; and that detail may have a component of blur.
Mar 28, 2012 by
by
Photogeek
Napa, CA, USA
Location : 
Napa, CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Unfortunately the Nikon answer simply re-creates the uncertainty by seeming to say that blur will be amplified by this camera because of its high detail. It suggests that blur would not be as noticeable as with a camera of lower definition. So more care will have to be given, especially if you want to enlarge the image significantly.

As a fine point, you cannot expect the sharpest images with almost any camera at low to moderate shutter speeds without the use of a tripod or other steadying device and even mirror lock up.
Mar 19, 2012 by
by
Snappy
Portland, OR, USA
Location : 
Portland, OR, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-15points
2out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful17
Answer: 
Thanks. However, I didn't interpret the guide in the way you did. The example they showed employs that shutter speed, and logically it might make sense, but I get the feeling (from the NIkon team's answer as well) it is an issue with the camera and your technique has to be flawless. The biggest issue for me is this, followed by lower ISO than I expected. The camera's features otherwise seem fantastic. I have been a lifelong Canon user, and I was ready to switch, but obviously have some concerns.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
Groth
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+29points
30out of 31found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful30unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you look closely at the guide, the blur is only a possibility when shooting at shutter speeds of 1/15-1s. The Nikon D800 is just as hand-holdable as a D3, D700, D3S or any other DSLR.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Nikonguy88
Denver, CO, USA
Location : 
Denver, CO, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-20points
9out of 38found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful29
Answer: 
At the high resolutions offered by the D800/D800E, even the slightest camera motion can result in blur. The technique revealed in this section minimizes blur through a combination of live view photography and a tripod.
Feb 28, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D800
 
6 Answers

With the D800E will moire occur with images in nature, or is it largely manifested with fine manmade structure.

Feb 6, 2012 by
by
Robert
Maine
 on D800
Has staff answer
+10points
19out of 28found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful9
I am a nature photographer (largely) and specifically I hope that moire will not occur on the wings of birds.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Robert
Maine
Location : 
Maine
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check out the fast Nikon lenses that Nikon recommends for the d800e try the 24mm f/1.4 super sharp.
Feb 8, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Nikon site has some good examples of moire in the D800E photographs. I initially ordered the D800E but subsequently switched to the D800 due to the problems with moire sans an AA filter. Yes, software can help in photographs but my understanding is that moire may be even more pronounced in videos and software will not touch that. I intend to use my D800 primarily for photographs but like the flexibility to also use it as a video camera. For most applications the clarity of detail will not be noticeable between the D800 and the D800E and the potential for considerable issues with moire with the D800E made the decision for me. We would all like to have everything but that is just not realistic in life.
Mar 6, 2012 by
by
Beso
Portland, OR, USA
Location : 
Portland, OR, USA
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check out our Learn & Explore article that discusses the moire/false color issues and how to minimize them when using the D800E. http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Feb 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
By and large Nikon is spot on in their evaluations of equipment. If you prefer to be out shooting and not at the computer adjusting images you should probably bypass the "E." I prefer shooting to tweaking images and have selected the D800 (waiting expectantly the arrival).

I'll shoot it for a few weeks before deciding which model for a second body. I prefer all bodies to be the identical when working. I'm old, the less confusion in life, the better. I'm betting that, unless you lean to huge enlargements, either model will suffice for your needs. That being the case, I'd select the less expensive model with a battery pack, fully expecting that 36.3MP will provide all the detail you'd want or need.

If you have a local Nikon dealer, rent or borrow both models and do an evaluation if you think the "low pass" might be a consideration.

50 years shooting wildlife mostly in Alaska, semi-professionally, using predominately Nikon bodies and lenses
Feb 18, 2012 by
by
Warren
Alaska
Location : 
Alaska
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download the model photo taken with the D800e camera and check out her fabric outfit; there is no moire patterns at all. Many 2 1/4 backs have no anti-aliasing filter and they get along just fine. Also, if you have a problem, you can add a CapRock AA filter on the lens, or remove the problem in software.
Feb 11, 2012 by
by
F64photo
Rochester, NY, USA
Location : 
Rochester, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
I read fabrics, some bird feathers and architectural details will have very pronounced moire with D800e. Organic surfaces: faces, landscape and natural surfaces will have greater resolution(detail) when used with great glass($). IMHO D800e is special use(have multiple camera's), not for all around use. Heck 36MP will have massive detail and resolution to begin with.
Feb 7, 2012 by
by
Funduro
Tampa Bay, FL, USA
Location : 
Tampa Bay, FL, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
8 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D800
 
5 Answers

Is there an easy way to check number of the pictures taken by my D800?

Mar 28, 2013 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, USA
 on D800
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I use camera for near one year and would like to know for how long I can use it. Is anybody know easy way count all data made by this camera, except using third party websites.

Thanks
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, USA
Location : 
Watertown, MA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
On Flickr the EXIF info will tell you this information as the image number which is about 13 from the bottom of the list.
Feb 18, 2014 by
by
phototed
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Even Picasa should give you the shutter count in the Exif. It does with my D70S and D7100
Jan 3, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Wow!!!!
It looks like "Anonymous" never made more than 9999 shorts by Nikon DSLR camera.
If he will made it, he will know that after 9999 the next short # will start from 0001.

welcome to Pro "Anonymous"
May 14, 2013 by
by
Yevtitov
Watertown, MA, USA
Location : 
Watertown, MA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
It is easy. Just download your images to any PC. Your file name includes the number of pictures taken.
May 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
No, you can only use 3rd party exif software or upload a photo to a shutter count website.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D800
 
4 Answers

Does the Nikon d800/d800e have a auto function such as the Nikon d7000?

Feb 18, 2012 by
by
The kid
Canada
 on D800
-1point
5out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6
What I mean auto function, is the camera automatically adjusters the exposure, aperture, shutter speed, iso, etc.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
The kid
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
P mode, along with auto ISO and auto focus, should be as good as any other Auto mode.
Mar 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+16points
16out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful0
Answer: 
S, A, and P modes ARE automatic.

In S mode, you pick what shutter you want and the camera picks the aperture.

In A mode you pick the aperture, and the camera picks the shutter.

In P mode you don't have to pick anything. You can hand it to a friend and it will automatically adjust the aperture and shutter.

And if you put it in Auto ISO mode, it will adjust ISO automatically, as well.

The flash is never automatic with the D800. If you want flash you pop it up and it fires.
Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-11points
1out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful12
Answer: 
Why does nikon not put an auto function on these high end cameras? It is so hard to hand your camera to someone on vacation and tell them to point and shoot a shot of you if there is no true auto. very frustrating.
Feb 27, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-7points
2out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful9
Answer: 
No auto modes, they are P,S,A and M only
Feb 18, 2012 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
It appears that 20% have left focus issues
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Hpcon
Riverside, Ca
Location : 
Riverside, Ca
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would say to stay away from the D800. I have owned one since January 2014 and have had nothing but trouble. It went back to the retailer twice and is now at Nikon. Don't count on a replacement, they take the cheapest route and work on it, I said work on it, not fix it. Will never own another.
Nov 11, 2014 by
by
Brownbomber2
Missouri, USA
Location : 
Missouri, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The left focus issue has been fixed for some time (months) for the cameras which are coming from the factory. The fix from the Nikon certified repair facilities are effective and will hold up as well as any camera coming from the factory due to how the fix is performed. This was a regrettable issue with some of the initial cameras coming from the factory, a quality control issue. But NIkon is a great company and they stand behind their products and support their users very well.
If you have not already, I would suggest that you go ahead and purchase your D800. If you are concerned about the focus issue there are several sites with instructions on how to test it to verify if you have an issue. I tested mine (purchases 6 months ago) and it does not have the left focus issue.
Jan 13, 2013 by
by
Jim B
Illinois, USA
Location : 
Illinois, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
Answer: 
I doubt man. Nikon may fix it now and you will be happy. Then if it happen again you will land-up paying for shipping with insurance and service because warranty will be over by then......

I am an engineer and sincerely believe through my experience that once a product is opened then it is done and for sure you will have to open it again for same or other reason. One can not bring the same quality of workmanship when compared to factory quality be it CAMERA or CAR.

I have faulty piece and believe me and I know it feel you see your hard earned $3k burnt.
Nov 8, 2012 by
by
Zaango
Cupertino, CA, USA
Location : 
Cupertino, CA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes they are fixing all affected D800's ,they must be sent back for the repair.
Sep 8, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
5out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful3
This is a tremendously useful feature for casual users who share this body, or for quick or emergency set-up or if the body is seldom used or hasn't been used for a while. Long a feature on Canon, it was well received on Nikon; the D7000 being one I have used. My older D700 sometimes could have used this feature.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
art743
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it has these features; they are just inside the menus. It's not too difficult to change the user settings from C1 to C2 to C3 to C4 since you can tap the INFO button and select the Custom shooting blank.
Dec 4, 2013 by
by
Nikon Enthusiast
Virginia, USA
Location : 
Virginia, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Since I do not have a camera like the D7000, I am not exactly sure what you are referring to with “U1” & “U2.” However, from what you are describing, I think it is what Nikon refers to as” Shooting Menu Banks.” The user’s manual for the D800 describes these on pages 269 and 270. They permit frequently used settings to be stored in Banks A, B, C, and D. Of course, you have to configure each Bank to your own desires.

(You can now download a “PDF” of the manual under the support section of this site.)
Mar 30, 2012 by
by
BruceH
Michigan, USA
Location : 
Michigan, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
No U1/U2 settings
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D800
 
3 Answers

Can the D800 accomodate all Nikon Tilt Shift lenses?

Feb 7, 2012 by
by
Mr Specbus
West Linn, OR, USA
 on D800
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The D700 flash housing interferes with the Nikkor 24 mm tilt shift lens. Will the D800 eliminate this interference or do I need a D4?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Mr Specbus
West Linn, OR, USA
Location : 
West Linn, OR, USA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for the feedback. I finally went to a dealer and tried the 24 mm tilt/shift on a D800. It works fine. I bought a D800E and a Nikkor 24mm tilt/shift. I have been using them happily together for several months.

Not sure what Nikon staff is thinking.
Mar 10, 2013 by
by
MrSpecbus
West Linn, OR, USA
Location : 
West Linn, OR, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Actually, the answer from the Nikon staff is not quite correct. The D800 is capable of using the PCE lenses (commonly known as the Tilt Shift lenses). For the 24mm version there can be some contention of the PCE lens when being used in Portrait mode, but that is worked around very easily by rotating the lens in the opposite direction. Other than that one issue the PCE lenses from Nikon are fully compatible with the Nikon D800. Just do some research on the internet to see the number of people who blindly repeat the 'no' answer and then the few people who have actually used the PCE lenses with a D800. It is very workable and, with the great D800, it is WELL WORTH THE EFFORT.
Mar 10, 2013 by
by
Jim B
Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Location : 
Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-7points
3out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful10
Answer: 
Can not be used with shifting or tilting.
Feb 27, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D800
 
3 Answers

Is the mc-dc2 remote really compatible with the D800s jacks?

Feb 17, 2012 by
by
Curt G
Minneapolis, MN, USA
 on D800
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
It's listed as compatible on the system page, but I don't see it working with the USB3 jack. Wish the 800 supported infrared remotes like the D4. If anything, the 800 would seem to be even more tripod prone.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Curt G
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Location : 
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I see Nikon has now removed the MC-dc2 from the compatible accessories list on this site. So I guess the answer is no, not compatible.
Feb 23, 2012 by
by
Curt G

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Joe,
Thanks for responding. I should have been more specific about IR. I meant internal receiver IR using the ML-L3. Less cumbersome, better performance in cold weather and if I lose the remote fob it's cheap to replace. Still wondering about corded options though.
Feb 17, 2012 by
by
Curt G
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Location : 
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
D800 works with optional ML-3 infrared LED remote
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Marvin
Bedford, OH, USA
Location : 
Bedford, OH, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
If you have an Express Slot, you can get a USB 3.0 adapter.

1 LAC 130976 LaCie 130976 USB 3.0 ExpressCard/34 Notebook Expansion Card
Mar 31, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
Answer: 
If you are concerned that you would not be able to interface with the USB 2.0, here's the answer from the Nikon D800 brochure:

"High-speed data transfer with USB 3.0

For a more productive tethered and transfer workflow, the
D800 is compatible with USB 3.0. When connected to
equipment featuring USB 2.0, speed is reduced to that of
USB 2.0."
Mar 4, 2012 by
by
BruceH
Michigan, USA
Location : 
Michigan, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-3points
4out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful7
Answer: 
Mac currently does not support usb 3.0 so you are out of luck, thunderbolt is the current high speed data transfer for mac's
Mar 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers