Loading
;

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
D5100 4.6 5 738 738
Disappointed The D5100 has some great features, but if you don't read the fine print you will get stuck with other Nikon lenses that won't work. I stayed with Nikon when my d50 sensor went bad because of all the money I have invested in lenses. I was quite disappointed and unhappy to find that all the lenses work in manual mode, but not in auto focus mode. I take pictures of birds and to manual focus just isn't going to capture those images. It will take me a year or more to purchase/replace the lenses that I use almost daily. So in the end I bought a used D50 so I can still use my lenses and take the pictures I love and have shelved the D5100 until I get a lense I can use. August 21, 2012
The electronic part of this camera is not the most brilliant feature. The D5100 has an excellent image quality, it's a great camera for people that are starting in photography world, however it disappointed me after three months of purchase. I had serious problems with the mode dial. When I selected "S" mode, the camera system worked in Automatic mode, when I selected "M" mode, the camera worked in "A" mode. I sent the camera to the technical support, they lasted two months and then when they give me the camera back , i discovered it had been battered. This problem has really dissapointed me because I thought Nikon was a responsable brand. I thought Nikon produced high quality products. I'm sorry to be negative, but i chose Nikon because of the quality of its products. Now I hope that my camera won't have future problems. July 19, 2012
Stuck pixel in video mode Decent price and features and the still pictures looked good but there was a stuck pixel in video mode which made the video useless. Returned to the store I bought it from for a refund. July 8, 2012
Great product, until... I'm a longtime nikon user, dating back to the film camera. I've had great experiences with nikon digital products, but my latest purchase of the D5100 has been a letdown. The camera worked great for three weeks, but then I started getting these errors instructing me to "press the shutter release button again." At first the problem only occurred intermittently, but then the error message would not go away, and three unit would not take any pictures anymore. I tried bringing the product back to Fry's, but they would not take it back because it was outside of their 15 day return window. I really don't want a practically new camera serviced, but I guess I probably just got a dud. Hope Nikon does a good job with repairs! June 16, 2012
D5100 : 18-55mm lens is not working We bought new Nikon D5100 with 18-55mm from Amazon just 2months back. Suddenly we found that auto focus is not working at all. I am very upset with the product. I tried the lens with my friend's D5100, it seems issue with the lens. Don't know what to do with this. June 5, 2012
Nikon fan - somewhat disappointed I purchased the Nikon D5100 thinking that I was getting a camera comparable to Canon's Rebel T2i, only to sorely discover that the D5100 doesn't permit full manual controls while shooting video. The video is of fine quality, but 30% of the time I'm frustrated by not being able to adjust ISO, shutter speed, or aperture. In my opinion, this significantly hampers the artistic flexibility of this camera. I hope that Nikon will consider this weakness and improve this product. I love my D200, which I've had for years, but I needed video capability for an art piece I'm working on. I ordered the Nikon D800 months ago, but still have nothing, so I went for the D5100 during this frustrating wait. Ultimately, this unfortunate discovery has tarnished my shiny admiration of this company. Please improve video on the 5100 and provide the D800 or provide some compensation (discount on other purchases?) Thanks. May 24, 2012
fair i have problem on my D5100 is not auto focus when i make video. May 23, 2012
Broke after 3 months! Right now it is at the repair center. After 3 months of light use, it just went blank. Sounded like it was taking photos but the screen in the back was all black, so were the files downloaded. So, I sent it back for repair. Clearly I was not happy since I had just started a photography class 2 days prior... February 16, 2012
No gridlines I used a 5000 to shoot flowers.. sold it and went for the 5100 for the better senor, higher megapixel and bigger flipdown viewer.. NO GRIDLINES sent it back will use my SONY point&shoot HX100V, it has gridlines.... November 16, 2011
Camera Broke in first three months Besides being overly complicated and having too many buttons to access the options, I was taking some great pictures. But out of the blue it stoped recording pictures. On line help was not easy to find and after trying everything they suggested, I had to pay to have the camera sent back in to the repair center. They promise after three weeks or so(that seems like a long time) they will have it evaluated and tell me what went wrong, October 26, 2011
An Experience with a DSLR D5100-10 week Experience Overall I had great pictures with the camera. Any issues with the night photography was user issues. But the concerns I had with were with reference to the motors and internals, and least of all also the lens hood. The camera was 10weeks old. When I was taking multiple continuos shots (one after the other), about 5 or 6 shots later the camera would freeze. Sometimes I had to pause for a minute, and sometimes power it down. With the NIKON support I reset the camera. However, issue was not solved. The part that irked me most was that then NIKON wanted to me pay for shipping and send the camera for service. I asked myself, why buy an expensive camera, and pay for shipping in 10weeks. Also, I was taking pictures of mountains inside an airplane. The lens hood split in 2, one attached to my lens, and other piece across the isle. What quality of Manufacture is this? And its not covered by warranty. So overall, I enjoyed the quality of the photos, but not the mechanics and accessories. And certainly not their warranty terms. I returned the camera to Costco. October 11, 2011
Diopter Adjustment Being around the Photography field for many years and watching tech evolve into great and unbelievable things; Nikon's engineering department needs to think again with Diopter adjustment range of only -1.7- +.7; Also being that most intermediate and professional users primarily spending in this range remove their eye-wear as it is a augmenting factor while shooting; I would believe this would be about a $900 mistake for those with vision impairment which According to the Vision Council of America, approximately 75% of adults use some sort of vision correction. About 64% of them wear eyeglasses, and about 11% wear contact lenses, either exclusively, or with glasses. Over half of all women and about 42% of men wear glasses. Similarly, more women than men, 18% and 14% respectively, wear contacts. Of those who use both contacts and eyeglasses, 62% wear contact lenses more often. Please consider more than 25% of the worlds population when generating your products, I would have purchased this camera, but I "LITERALLY CANNOT USE IT" August 6, 2011
D5100 video controls and dead pixels I´m verry disapointed with the video function of the D5100 camera, instead of "desing" those silly effects they should try to give us full manual control for the video, if you (nikon)don´t know why so many customers has change their systems to canon that is it. i just purshased the D5100 because all my lenses are nikon and don`t want to start again buying canon gear) and it has a dead pixel and the camera don`t have any utillity to repair this issue. Nikon don`t let us down!!! make an update for the manual controls on video mode pls. jejeje P.S excuse my english i`m from Mèxico April 29, 2011
Not so Great I had my F3 for 11 years, never had an issue. This is my second digital, nice features, worked great until my daughters college graduation, I have had it for 1.5 years. Shutter starts going, Click click click click click, Literally 5 clicks per shot. Slow shutter release, and it worsened until it wouldn't even shoot anymore. It ruined half of my Graduation shots. I take care of my cameras as if they were babies made of egg shells, I have bough Nikon products since my first FG in the early 80's, have always felt the Nikkor lenses were superior and next to Leica the best on the Market. Since it was past 1 year, the warrantee expired. It cost me $28 to ship and insure an $172 for Nikon to repair. Great shots when it worked but for me I will shop around for more reliable brand next time. Very disappointed June 26, 2013
Piece of Garbage Maybe I am unlucky one, but my 5100 first broke on a trip to Italy while under warranty. It's reflector just fall off and camera was working in live-view mode only. The pics were not better than those my son did on his cheap $100 camera. Next time it broke a couple month after warranty expired. When I search web, I found that the problem is well known: mirror stop moving properly - no pics anymore. Nikon says that this happenes when camera is not handled properly (dropped or smthing). Not really, it was in my hands between last valid shot and 'Error'. My D40 worked for 5 years without problems. I think I am done with Nikon despite money invested in different lenses. December 5, 2012
Not happy at all I bought this camera and took it for a vacation. Just after clicking 100 shots it stopped working. Started giving shutter error which I could not fix. Basically, it ruined my vacation. September 14, 2012
Awful Video Mode I´m very disappointed with this camera in video mode (no full manual control), I will change my D5100 for a Canon T4i August 24, 2012
D5100 About D5100 i can say that is a verry good camera for photographers but not for video.The lack of video manual settings is pretty lame for Nikon, It cannot compete with Canon on the same range of price and usability. If you compare D5100 with a 600D u will notice that 600D has a wider field of usage, the manual settings in video are awesome on 600D but they surelly are missing on D5100.Why D5100 cant have manual settings on video? D3200 has, but why d5100 doesnt ,because in my opinion D5100 is superior as quality than D3200. Nikon should be ashamed, at least if they could do a firmware to fix it.The rotating screen is useless when u dont have the freedom to do whatever you want with the video,change shutter aperture in real time or not in real time, at least to be modified to work but it doesnt work either in A mode either in M mode. I am verry dissapointed of D5100 lack of usability for this price and range, at photos they are good but the video mode is primitive. I am sorry nikon but i will have to go on the other side, as Canon is more advanced than Nikon is on the video side. In the future i will be more aware of what i buy, i was a fan of nikon but now i am on the Canon side, sold my nikon d5100 cause lack of usability. So people before buying this camera, check if you want to do only photography and not video, cause if you buy it for your family or for video shooting it wont be as promising as it is. Have a good day and dont buy Nikon d5100 for video just for photo. August 17, 2012
Waste of youre mony Dont buy this camera it suffer from leak of function buttons ' but has a usless button call INFO when you hold the camera in youre right hand ' accidently the right arrow pad is pressed that moves the camera focus to the right side of the frame and all the pictures you take are bllury 3Rd part battery can not be used so you must buy the nikon expensive battery no internal focus motor so just expensive lensess works on this camera August 2, 2012
Functionally i like this camera. I basicaly like this camera, but in only 2 month of usage, I faced the sutiation that command dial doesn't work properly. I just took aroud 1,500 photos under normal circumstance.....I ask Nikon more higher product reliability. July 24, 2012
Camera broke and had to be sent back within 2 months-how disappointing I initially loved my Nikon D5100 which I got in May. Two months later I get an error message, called Tech Support and was told it has to be returned to Nikon. I was shocked that a Nikon would break within 2 months and have to be sent back for "repairs". I don't want it repaired, I want a new camera I've used Nikon cameras for over 20 years. I am very disappointed in the quality of a camera which would break after a few uses on the weekends. I have now missed some priceless shots of a Kildeer Plover birds hatching, not to mention taking images for my amateur camera club competition. July 21, 2012
Not worth the price If given the option, go for the d7000...this is just a glorified 3000 July 12, 2012
failed out of box returned to nikon for service. image cut off at top of frame. July 9, 2012
great pics when working hadn't even had my camera for 3 weeks and had to send it in. the shutter motor went out on it. i've always been loyal to another brand and now i see why. June 16, 2012
This camera has lots of great features but never got to use them I was so excited to receive my new Nikon D5100 camera. I did all the tutorials and studied my user's manual. Then, I shot my first images in my back yard. I noticed they were not as crisp as I thought they should be but didn't say anything until I went on a field trip to shoot more images. Every shot was blurry. Just to look at the image as it is downloaded on my computer, it's hard to notice. But, the moment you try to zoom in to crop or edit, it immediately pixelates. I sent sample images to Nikon and they agreed with me and said to send the camera back for repair. I did at my expense ($25) and when I got it back, there was no difference. I shot more images for Nikon and they would not even answer my emails. I was completely ignored. The reason I bought the DSLR was to upgrade from my Sony point and shoot, but my tiny Sony is far better focus-wise than the Nikon. I purchased it from Costco and had 90 days to return it and get a refund and that's what I regretfully did. I had such great expectations from Nikon and my new camera but after what happened I would be afraid to try another Nikon. I will probably buy a Canon. My lady friend has a Canon and is very happy with it. Sorry to be so negative but I have to be truthful. I thought they may offer me a new camera replacement since my camera was obviously faulty, but that never happened. I never asked either. Your Nikon, if you buy one, hopefully will shoot in-focus images. May 19, 2012
NIkon d5100 - less than 800 pictures and camera fails I was disappointed about the d5100 after it failed after taking ~800 shots in 2 or 3 sittings. I am now waiting as Nikon suggested it will be a while for them to get more back ordered parts. Catch my blog and experience with Nikon's d5100 on line as I post updates about quailty and support of the product. May 15, 2012
junk Two days before the best time to have a camera in Louisville, ky. the derby celebrations begin with a huge fireworks display. I didnt get to shoot any pics, nor will I have my 5100 for derby, because after 67 photos, yes ONLY 67 photos, I had to send my camera to be repaired because the piece of junk stopped working. I should have gone with the Sony. April 28, 2012
DEAD AFTER 5 MONTHS At first I was very happy with this camera. Extremely impressed with the speed and picture quality even with me being a complete amateur. Then after 5 months and under five hundred pictures, it quit working in the middle of my family vacation. I did not purchase this through an authorized reseller so the warranty is useless and I am stuck with an $800 piece of garbage. April 27, 2012
D5100 broke at 2 months old After just TWO MONTHS of use, my D5100 will only take black photos. Doesn't matter what settings you use - M, P, A, S, Auto - they are all black. Even the LCD shows a black screen during LiveView. Like others here on Amazon who have rated with 1 star, I apparently have a defective shutter. Really surprising to me, considering how much a baby my electronics, especially this camera. I am positive this is a problem with quality control, given how many comments you can find about it here and on DPreview. Now I have to decide if I want to get it repaired and forever worry that it will fail me in the future, or just start over with another model. If not for this defect, I would likely rate the camera 4 stars. April 16, 2012
Really bad camera - takes black pictures This is one of the worst camera from Nikon. It taks black pictures in manual mode and it is the problem with the shuter release. You can use live view in manual mode and then the picture will be fine. The live mode is so irritating, canon has much better live mode. This is my 3-4 Nikon camera, but I think I should have made a switch this time or will do next time. March 13, 2012
Page: 22 23 24 25 26
<<prev | next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers