Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T04:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 17 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.76447 false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 17 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.0597527

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
Great pictures, easy to use I have only taken about a hundred photos with my new camera, but the results have been very good. I am not a young man and have delveloped a slight unsteadyness in my hands. I shot about thirty close up pictures of insects on flowers to test the VR mode and was impressed with the results. I am looking forward to using the telephoto lens with my tripod for even more detaiIed photos. I still have not explored all of the features of this camera, but am looking forward to discovering even more of the creative aspects of the D5100 August 30, 2011
This product has great features! I love my Nikon, great pictures and video. August 27, 2011
d5100 is a great value and awesome camera Too many Pros to list. Only one Con: any manual adjustments made (i.e. ISO, single shot or continuous, etc) aren't saved when switching between settings. Hopefully Nikon can fix this in a firmware upgrade. August 27, 2011
Just what I needed I got the D5100 for a trip to Tanzania because I needed the following features: 1. The ability to take multiple shots rapidly, as soon as I release the shutter, to capture wildlife. I learned from trying to capture whales and bears in Alaska that point-and-shoots can't do it - they have to "think" before each shot and end up missing the action. The D5100 shoots multiple frames per second in the Sports/Action setting and got great shots of a leopard kill, hunting lions, and birds in flight. I never missed a shot because of the camera. 2. High-def video right from the camera - no separate video camera needed. Video quality is amazing. 3. Ease of use for a high-quality camera. I'm not technology savvy, but figured out the basic functions of the D5100 quickly and easily with minimal reading of the manual. I'd recommend the D5100 for all the reasons above, and the battery life was great - over 2 weeks with heavy use the battery lasted for almost 3 days at a time before it needed changing. August 24, 2011
I love it! This is my first real camera and I so love it. Can't say much about it yet as I am still discovering it but highly recommend it for a beginner. August 23, 2011
Wow.....its perfect. I love this camera. It replaces my beloved D40. It doesn't matter if I am taking pictures of my kids and our new puppy, or action shots of my kids playing ice hockey, they turn out perfect. It takes amazing video of my husband playing goalie, and with just a flick of a switch, I am back to taking action shots. But it takes the most amazing nature shots, birds, flowers, butterflies, and even the endanged California Condors. I love my camera....can I show you some pictures? August 19, 2011
Excellent Camera Although new to the SLR's, the camara is easy to use and the results are outstanding. Love the size and am eager to learn more. Great 1080 movies. August 19, 2011
Tremendous Value and Quality I had a Nikon D40 for years, which is another fine camera from Nikon. However, I felt it was time to upgrade to take advantage of the features of newer cameras. After researching for literally months, I decided the D5100 was the best DSLR I could get with my budget. I'm a serious "hobbyist" working my way up, and I really couldn't be happier with my purchase. The image quality is excellent, button placement is great, and the movable LCD screen is an added bonus. Don't hesitate getting the D5100, you won't be disappointed! August 16, 2011
Great Great Camera I have owned several DSLR cameras, the last being a D5000, which I loved. When Nikon introduced the D7000, the specs impressed me greatly, but due to a slight handicap I was very concerned about the weight of the camera. Then the D5100 was announced and I was so impressed with the specificaions it shared with the D7000 at a ligher weight I had to have one. It as the wisest decision I've made with camera gear. I use the 18-105mm lens as my carry around and have found this combo exceeds my hopes with every shoot. Fantastic Camera, quality near the D7000 at a reduced price! August 16, 2011
Awesome! This camera is everything it says it will be and more. I upgraded from a Nikon D40. Def. worth the price and captures beautiful images! August 16, 2011
GREAT CAMERA!!! Perfect camera for anyone, i love the swivel screen, which really helps in difficults shooting situations, the camera has lots of great effects, i would reccommend this camera to anyone! August 15, 2011
Excellent moderate price and quality! This camera is everything that nearly any photographer needs to take professional looking photos with only minimal investment of time and energy. This is my third Nikon DSLR and by far the best at a very reasonable price. August 13, 2011
Outstanding Features I purchased the D5100 with 18 - 200mm AF VR Zoom Lens. The camera takes outstanding pictures, and has more features than I can count. I'm definitely an amateur, but with just a little care I can take pictures that look like those a pro would take. The pop-up flash is somewhat of a problem, in that you can't have anything on the flash shoe as there is interference. Also, recommend that Nikon build a GPS into the camera, as the external GPS requires the shoe (or attachment to the strap, which is awkward). The 18 - 200 lens is great; I definitely recommend going that way rather than purchasing several lenses and changing them in the field. The camera/lens comination is a little heavy, but if you want great pictures... August 13, 2011
Great Camera I've been using a Nikon D90 for some time now..very good camera. But since I received my new D5100, it's all I've used for everything I do. The D5100's lightness, many features for shooting & in-camera retouching, multi-tilting LCD screen, plus its 16.2 megapixel final product..well, it's very hard to even put it down. I'm a serious hobbyist and this camera fills any needs I have thrown at it. Absolutely fantastic! August 11, 2011
Great Camera - even for newbies This is a great camera. I had not used anything but point and shoot since retiring my Minolta SRT 101 many (many!) years ago. This was a great step back to SLR-type photography. The ease of use is great and the feature-mix on this camera is fantastic. Photo quality is excellent, even when shooting in available light. Only downside that I've noticed is that the 18-55 kit lens has significant distortion at the 18mm end and this indoor makes wide-angle shots appear slightly distorted -- my point-and-shoots seemed to do better at this range. Highly recommended. August 9, 2011
Impressive camera I have been doing research for some time and between Nikon 3100 and Nikon 5100 decided to go with 5100. I used to have Nikon D40 and this camera is better on so many levels. I just got it and still learning all it's capabilities and still have to take a lot of shots before I can provide more detailed review. Again I don't pretend to be professional photographer and this camera is more then enough for me to take decent pictures. August 9, 2011
Major learning curve, great Camera I have had the camera for less than a week and it is full of surprises. Great features that will enhance my photography. Camera is very responsive and great shutter speed. Looking forward to Nikon photo class to upgrade my skills. Thanks for providing a great product August 9, 2011
Looks good, feels good, shoots great I have a simple review. The D5100 is not a camera. It's a computer with a lens hung in front. The features, especially special effects and movies are awesome. I'm looking forward to adding many images to my portfolio, as soon as I learn how to use it. August 9, 2011
So far, no complaints! Camera so far has proven friendly and overall quality of product and pictures is amazing! It's getting me excited about learning more about photography and making me explore the manual settings. I think I'm in love. August 9, 2011
Excellent Camera everything is good and picture are excellent. this is very light and shoots excellent images. but i have found 2 things which is very common and useful but not present camera. 1. Kelvin Color Temperature in WB 2. Grid in viewfinder. i like to use both of them, cant say about others :) I wish i may get it through any firmware update.. August 5, 2011
Amazing The last SLR I used was a film camera, a Cannon AE-1, I can't even compare the D-5100 to any other camera I have ever used. The camera has so many amazing features I don't know where to begin. The camera is incredible from the auto focus to vibration reduction. Exposure control is accurate and program and manual modes are intuitive. The D-5100 is one of the easiest cameras to get used to, with the onboard help. August 4, 2011
I have no words to describe how formidable is the camera I am photographer for many years and is great better than the Nikon D60 digital my first and making a comparison is like having an F4 with a good camera D5100 August 2, 2011
This is an excellent camera with superb quality. I have not seen any drawbacks with this camera. It improved my picture taking capabilities. The best camera I have ever imagined. August 2, 2011
Excellent color reproduction and white balance. My first DSLR so it is a bit heavy, but worth it. I do a lot of textile photography so color and lighting are important. The D5100 does well at both. Looking forward to discovering more of its features. August 2, 2011
Simply What I Was Looking For In A DSLR Camera I reviewed Nikon D5100 and the Canon T3i. I chose Nikon because of two things. First is the better constant zoom function when taking videos. Second was the Continuous shooting (the reviews I read rated this very high). This function came in very handy when I had to shoot a whale in the Alaskan waters. With this function, I can just press on to start shooting multiple photos in succession (automatically) as long as my finger is firmly pressed down. I took planes taking off and landing, and the images were very nice when zoomed on my computer. I got used to the menu very easily. With a 16GB memory stick, all goes well. It's simply just a nice DSLR. August 2, 2011
Great Buy and Multi Function Camera i need a backup camera so this camera replaces my nikon D300,i know the d300 is still a better camera than the d5100 but i also bought a nikon d7000 for my primary camera but the nikon d5100 is my current primary now this camera is amazing with the multi function and alot of filters and effects and the full HD 1080 shooting at 30 frames per second and the same megapixel as the d7000 which is 16 megapixel sensor. i recommend this camera to anyone great buy and better than the *cough600dcough* August 1, 2011
They just keep getting better Replaced a D40x with this camera, and the different is impressive. Low light performance is definitely improved, though focusing seems a little slower than the D40x. I love how the active D-lighting works for high contrast outdoor shots! It's packed with features that I may never use, such as effects, scene modes, video, but the photo basics perform very well, and image quality is fantastic. July 26, 2011
Excellent Camera, Love it Is easy to use, gave it to my wife and she was shooting in no time, but powerful enough for me to compose really nice and complex photos July 26, 2011
easy to use everything you need in a camera easy to use. even video, the effects and scene mode have great uses.A best buy camera July 20, 2011
Nice piece of gear The new D5100 is an outstanding camera. The available custom settings let your photographic personality show. Cant ask for anything more! [Except maybe an in camera focus motor.] July 20, 2011
Page: 13 14 15 16 17 ... 26
<<prev | next>>
35 Questions | 39 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
35 Questions | 39 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I want to buy Nikon D5100 .Please suggest suitable model with main accessories.

May 9, 2012 by
by
Prashant
USA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Need to know about D5100: which features/accessories should I keep in mind while purchasing camera.Shall I go for 18-55 mm lens or 18-200 lens or both. Kindly suggest.
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Prashant
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. f/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Also, for information regarding the D5100, please click on the link below:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
May 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers