Loading

Inspired performance in a size that keeps you shooting.

Shot of the Nikon D7000's rear body with a photo of a girl in a purple dress jumping over boulders while carrying a pink umbrella, and a guy following her, under a blue sky
Amazing photography isn’t only about what you shoot and how you shoot it, it’s also about what you shoot it with. The high resolution, multi-featured Nikon D7000 gives you 16.2 megapixels of vividly detailed images, a more sensitive DX-format CMOS sensor that delivers high ISO with low noise, plus various automatic and customizable settings to take your pictures and videos from great to gorgeous. Shoot up to 6 fps or record every second of the action with full HD 1080p D-Movies with Nikon’s advanced autofocus system to impress and inspire.
Nikon D7000 photo of a girl on a pool float, in a pool, shot from above, and an inset image of the CMOS sensor

Stunning image details

16.2-megapixel CMOS sensor

Whether you want to make large prints or crop tightly in an image, the D7000 delivers the resolution you need. At its heart is a DX-format CMOS image sensor with 16.2 effective megapixels, optimally engineered to gather more quality light through sharp NIKKOR lenses. Coupled with 14-bit A/D conversion (12-bit selectable), the D7000 produces stunning images that are richer in tone and detail than previously possible in DX format.
Photo of the rear of the Nikon D7000 with an image of wildlife on the LCD

A new era of movie capture

Breathtaking Full HD 1080p D-Movies

The D7000 is equipped to help you create impressive cinematic masterpieces with Full HD 1080p and movie editing functions for exceptional scene reproduction and quality. In addition to smooth video, the camera can compensate for distortion and other image-degrading problems. Aside from a built-in monaural microphone, the D7000 incorporates an external mic jack for high-quality stereo sound recording options.
Nikon D7000 photo of a woman in a purple dress walking out of frame, with a guy following her, shot in the desert and inset with a grouping sequence of a guy on a motorcycle on a dirt road

Remarkably responsive

6 frames per second continuous shooting

Say farewell to missed opportunities. The D7000 incorporates a new driving mechanism to conduct its remarkably fast and precise mirror movements, giving you an approx. 0.052 second release time lag and an approx. 0.13 second start-up time. What’s more, you can continuously shoot at approx. 6 frames per second at both 14-bit and 12-bit A/D conversion for RAW shooting.
Nikon D7000 photo of a person jumping between large boulders with a group of people watching from the distance with inset example of the camera's ISO range

Crisp photos in any light

Wide sensitivity range of ISO 100 to 6400

ISO 100 to 6400 has now become standard with the D7000, enabling you to handle a wider range of lighting situations: from the bright and sunny outdoors to low-lit evenings and interiors. Nikon’s renowned noise reduction technology has been upgraded even further. Throughout the range, the D7000 delivers sharp images with minimized color noise. Quality, high-ISO performance can also enhance your movie shooting, allowing you to capture the mood of a scene using only available light.
Nikon D7000 photo of a lake shot in low light with an inset shot of the metering sensor

More accurate control

Ground-breaking 2,016-pixel RGB sensor

After the incredibly accurate 2,016-pixel RGB sensor reads a scene's lighting information, the D7000 cross-references what it sees with imaging data from a large selection of real-world shooting situations. This way, the renowned 3D Color Matrix Metering II delivers exposure results that are faithful to how you see light and shadow interplay, even in difficult lighting situations. This intelligent metering technique also delivers exceptionally accurate i-TTL flash exposures, and it all happens within milliseconds for both speed and precision.
Nikon D7000 photo of a guy on a slalom waterski, with an overlay of the camera's AF points illustrating the AF system.

Powerful, wide-area coverage

Customizable 39-point AF System

The D7000's strategically positioned 39 AF points cover a significantly wide area of the frame, giving you flexible compositional possibilities. The 9 AF points in the center utilize powerful cross-type sensors—especially useful when you need tack sharp focus, such as with portraits and macro work. The D7000 offers a variety of AF area modes, including Dynamic-area AF using 9, 21 or 39 points. Utilizing Nikon's Scene Recognition System, Auto-area AF properly judges the main subject within 39 AF points and focuses on it.
Nikon D7000 photo of four young adults on a large boulder in the mountains and inset photo of the camera's image processing engine

Improved image quality and speed

The newest generation image processing engine, EXPEED 2, is capable of performing multiple tasks with more speed and power. Expect smoother tonal gradations, even in difficult shadows and highlights, for a greater sense of depth in your images.
Photo showing the front and rear view of the Nikon D7000's magnesium alloy chassis

Rugged and protected

With a top and rear cover of durable magnesium alloy, the D7000 is ready for the outdoors. Nikon engineers paid meticulous attention to where exterior parts join by employing durable sealing against moisture and dust. The compact body has also undergone severe environmental tests to prove its rugged reliability.
Top rear of the Nikon D7000 body, shown from the rear of the body, including an illustrative image in the viewfinder

100% frame coverage

With approximately 100% frame coverage in the viewfinder, what you see is exactly what you capture. The specially coated glass pentagonal prism and precision-crafted finder screen offer not only a bright viewfinder image, but also enable you to easily confirm when a subject is in focus.
Photo of the rear of a D7000 camera body cropped tight on the LCD and surrounding buttons, with an image of a hurdle jumper on the screen

Rich image previewing

The D7000 features an expansive 3-inch VGA LCD. Its approx. 921k-dot resolution assures clear, detailed display of images, which proves invaluable when confirming focus or assessing image sharpness.

Expand the creative potential of the D7000

NIKKOR lenses & Nikon Speedlights for every situation

false false false product 25468-en_US 25468 25468 DIGSLR $999.95 false $999.95 NONE false false false 2011-03-15T04:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25468/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 25468 en_US D7000/en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/25468_D7000.png true /en_INC/o/wfp_-a8oOzwYuj4GXIe1NHkNdAU/Misc/D7000_tag.png Nikon’s D7000 features a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 6 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Power to Astonish. Features to Inspire. Power to Astonish. Features to Inspire. true 4.6 1460 true FLSHAPT STERMIC LCDMONCOV CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS CAPCOV PWRPAC RMTCORD EXTSER CABLAV EYEPIE CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH WIRELESS PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS GPS PWRCHG IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25468 25474 13019 3 false true false 25468 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25468 1.6473721 false false false product 25474-en_US 25474 25474 DIGSLR $1,299.95 false $1,299.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25474/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 25474 25474 en_US 18-105mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/25474_D7000.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, crisp detail, vivid color and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-105mm VR Lens Kit true 4.6 1460 false 0 false true false 25474 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 2179 D7000 25468 Product D7000 25468 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25474 2.2908168 false false false product 13019-en_US 13019 13019 DIGSLR $1,849.95 false $1,849.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/13019/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 13019 13019 en_US 18-200mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/13019_D7000.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II lens for wide-angle to telephoto shooting; offering fast, accurate autofocus, crisp detail, vivid color and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-200mm VR Lens Kit true 4.6 1460 false 0 false true false 13019 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 2192 D7000 25468 Product D7000 25468 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13019 2.376601

D7000 Body Only

Price $999.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25468, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Price $1,299.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25474, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-200mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Price $1,849.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 13019, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D7000 4.6 5 1462 1463
a harbinger of Great Things to Come Let me be absolutely clear. This is the best dSLR Nikon has made to date. Bar None. Don't believe me. Just go pick one up for an hour. Press that shutter. Unbelievably, incredibly responsive. How about metering? Nikon's best to date there as well. Noise? APS-C sensor and while not quite D700-ish.. it's only about 2/3rds of a stop back. Of course, this really just bodes well for 2011. Likely updates to D700 and D3 mean that the D7000 will not be the 'Best to Date' for long. But at $1200 (body only), what are you waiting for? Whether you're upgrading your D90 (or D300 even) or you'll need a 2nd body with greater reach (advantage of APS-C), this thing FITS in your arsenal. OK sure, no PC connection (why it still exists is beyond me), but surely you've moved to Radio Poppers or Pocket Wizards anyway. Bottom line, there are so many compelling reasons to buy this dSLR and too few not too. So go support the economy and get yourself a D7000. You'll be glad you did. Further, you will be on the cutting edge with a camera that is a Harbinger of still more Great Things to Come. January 28, 2011
This product has a geat value price. I using Nikon D7000, It used ot have the dead pixel issue but Nikon already launched the firmware to solve it . Now I'm happy with my Nikon D7000. Than you. January 28, 2011
Wonderful Camera I am extremely pleased with the D7000. It is an impressive, well built camera that has vastly improved my picture quality and my ambition to improve my skills. I am not a professional photographer, however after a month with this camera I can clearly see how far this camera can take me if I am willing to invest the time. January 28, 2011
VERY GOOD CAMERA LITTLE BULKY OTHERWISE A VERY GOOD CAMERA , EXCELLENT BUILT QUALITY January 28, 2011
Awesome all the way! I only use for taking pictures. Even though I am only using a few features it will not disappoint you. January 27, 2011
Currently one of the more advanced DSLR available just shoots perfect scenes , no questions ask... i love my D7000! January 27, 2011
Only had the camera for a week, so far so good. I bought it as a back up for d700 but it seems to be able to keep up pretty well. I like that it is smaller and lighter. It makes carrying both camera easy. January 27, 2011
Great Camera - Great Price I have owned several Nikon cameras, A D50, a D5000 and now the D7000. I will say that this camera is great. As a photo enthusiast this camera has everything I need to take some great pictures. The camera feels sturdy when you hold it, has great battery life, and has features such as virtual horizon which help me get more accurately level landscape shots. Having gone through the other cameras, the D7000 held up to the easy-to-use, and easy to understand menus. I found the users manual to be written at my level, and very concise. I am very pleased with my purchased, and seriously considering getting a second one as a back-up. I wish I was a professional to tell you more about it, but with my limited experience, the camera takes amazing shots, is quick and easy to use. And has a lot of features I have found to be very helpful in my picture taking. January 27, 2011
Great Camera I am fairly new into photography. I have used a D80 for the past 4 years and can not explain the vast difference between the D80 and the D7000. Dim light shooting is night and day. Clarity of images and speed of shooting is awesome. It has made me a better photographer not only by the camera's capabilities but also by inspiring me to learn more of its capabilities. I would recommend this camera to anyone who is looking expand their photography knowledge or just get great pictures without having to do a lot of work. January 27, 2011
Fantastic I just had my D7000 for a month and has taken lots of pictures and so far I have been satisfied with the results. The control to the menu are well placed and what I like the most is the easy way to manipulate them. The best improvement I like is the less noise I get even when I am shooting at ISO 800 or 1600. So far its fantastic although I still have to get used to it after having used my D40 for almost 5 yrs. January 27, 2011
Amazing camera! I was using a D90 for several years and, frankly, loved it. I did not think I would need to upgrade unless I won the lottery and was able to afford a D3x. Then the D7000 came out. The advancements in this camera are just amazing. I am not going to reiterate all the features that are the same as the D90, you can read the product review and see those yourself. I am going to mention what, I think, are the vast improvements and the reason you should run to the nearest camera store and buy a D7000. 1. Amazing ISO performance. Noise is no longer an issue. Feel free to shoot up to ISO 4000 without any significant loss of quality. While the camera goes higher than that, you'll see it any higher value; which doesn't mean there won't come a time when you need those higher values. This improvement alone creates a world of options that were never there before. 2. Color and details - I don't know if it's the new processor or what, but there is a noticeable different in the depth and quality of the details and color. Visibly noticeable. Want quantifiable proof of that? There are websites that I'm not allowed to mention that have measured and quantified this. Find them, look at the numbers for the D7000 vs just about any camera that costs less than 5k. And it's not just an abstract concept, it's something I can see in print. 3. The HD video. I'll have to admit, I was never into video and never shot one with my D90. I'm a still photographer. The D7000 has changed my mind about that. Being able to shoot high quality video that is IN FOCUS just changes the whole game. One note on this - you're going to need to invest in an external mic. The onboard mic just doesn't cut it. This should not surprise anyone. 4. A host of things that are an improvement - the higher fps rate, the alloy body, etc. - but again, these are just extras, go read them on the spec sheet. Bottom line, this camera takes better pictures. Thank you, Nikon. January 27, 2011
Point-and-shoot simplicity & high customisibility I recently acquired a Nikon D7000 DSLR Camera around the Thanksgiving weekend and have never regretted the decision I made even though it forced me to go a bit beyond my budget. My only concern at that time was whether adequate stocks would be available or whether I would have to wait a bit. I spent a lot of time in deliberating and comparing with competing products as well as other products within the Nikon portfolio, talking with some friends who are advanced amateurs and reading a lot of reviews before settling on the D7000, a product that will delight all owners. What do I like about it? Firstly, for the newbie user there is the point-and-shoot simplicity provided by the Auto Modes (with Flash, without Flash). At the other end is the extreme level of flexibility and customization that is possible with U1 and U2 Modes. While I have tried some customization I have to confess I have a long way to go in taking advantage of these advanced features. Then there is the Video mode that helps make this Camera a truly diverse appliance for all shooting situations. I actually tried many features during the engagement ceremony of my daughter recently. So, this is a camera that can happily be used by the eager new amateur aspirant as well as an advanced amateur or semi-professional. I have already shot over 1,200 pictures in less than two months of ownership of this Camera and am excited with the results I have obtained. Even my wife was thoroughly impressed when she shot a few in the Auto Mode. The speed with which you can capture successive shots or the bracketing modes is truly outstanding. It gives the Camera a very responsive feel. The battery power has been solid and the camera hasn't felt hot even when continuously shooting for extended periods of time. I even dropped it once from a height of three feet accidentally in the early days of ownership. While my heart skipped a beat the camera exhibited no apparent problem then, or now after a few months. I just dusted it off and it was fine. So I have a solid reason to mention that the D7000 is a very rugged and reliable camera. January 27, 2011
My First Camera For a starter I love this camera. It's not hard to use and feels great when I hold it in my hands. It's heavy at first but after a while it's actually not so bad and the weight is actually perfect. ISO is also great and picture quality is very good even when the ISO is cranked up a notch. The only downside to the camera which I believe is not a big problem is that sometimes when I take pictures, the pictures would sometimes get corrupted but other than that, there's really nothing bad about this camera. Would totally recommend it to a friend. January 27, 2011
My First and so far the best Got this camera when i t just barely came out and decided to make it my first camera, It works great and really handy for those quick shot moments. A good price camera for an everyday use, but better off when fully upgrade with lenses, protectors, and flashes. January 27, 2011
No brainer Very good low light photography! Very satisfied with overall product January 27, 2011
This is my third Nikon. This is the best yet! I love the pictures it gets and ease of use. Very good to use. My nature pictures are wonderful. January 27, 2011
Best Camera The D7000 has all the features you need as amateur or professional. The price is reasonable. Its functions are user friendly. January 27, 2011
Great DSLR! First SLR after my old FE was stolen back in 1990. Love it! Looking forward to many great pictures and it's fun to be shooting with a real camera again! January 27, 2011
great camera The camera takes great pictures right out of the box. I shoot mostly in apeture mode and and find that the camera focuses alot faster then my d-80. It even does a great jop in P-mode and the choice of auto modes has many more options although I doubt i will use them much. There is much more I need to learn about the camera because there is alot of difference between the d-80 and this one. All in all the best camera I have ever owned. January 27, 2011
Great camera I started with a D80 then upgraded to the D90 and now I have moved on to the D7000. I've owned this camera for nearly three months now and I've shot around 4000 photos so far. I have to admit, the feature I am the most pleased with so far is the built-in interval timer. Combine that ability with excellent low-light performance and I have been able to shoot some really cool night timelapse stuff. The D7000 is a nice upgrade from the D90. Overall very satisfying camera to own and use. January 27, 2011
Good Picture in low light situation. Autofocus is better than my old D200. January 27, 2011
great great camera I love the camera big step from the D3000. Fast, sharp and great features. Video Mode is great after getting the firmware update which also seems to make the auto focus faster while in the live mode. January 27, 2011
Photography more Effortless I bought the body only, and use it with the 18-55mm kit lens from a D80, a 50 mm 1.8 lens, a 35 mm 1.8 lens, and a 70-300 mm telephoto. Does it actually take better photos than my D80? An amateur like me can't really tell. What makes the difference are all of the features and controls and options. Dual SD cards, 39 point focus, 3 inch live view, 2 custom settings, slow & fast continuous, super fast response time. The more I use it, the more features I learn to exploit. For video, I wish the built in mike was better. My C-A-N-O-N S95 with stereo pickup is a better choice for video. When using the D7000, you feel like you are using the best. A good feeling. January 27, 2011
feature-packed, everything you want in a dslr As a filmmaker, I bought the D7000 as a backup camera for shoots. But it will now serve as the primary camera - thanks to the cinematic quality of the video. For photos and video alike, D7000 offers some useful features such as the scene modes. The sand/snow mode worked very well this week in snowy New England. As they say, the devil is in the details - and this camera has the details that make its use a joy. The designers made the main command dial out of rubber, which is easier the work than plastic ones. Last but not least, the D7000 features two sdhc slots - very handy indeed; a feature lacking on most other dslrs. January 27, 2011
I LOVE my nikon This camera is amazing! It has so many features I still have not used them all but each one I learn I am amazed. I am 100% happy so far January 27, 2011
This is my 3rd Nikon camera and by far the best one that i have had. Graduating from film mode to digital, this camera is so sensitive to low light that i can easilly be craetive taking pictures without using a flash. Pictures are so sharp even an amateur like me would make really great pics. I'd recommend this anytime. January 27, 2011
Superior images, nimble controls I have waited a long time for this camera. Chocked full of features that extend my creative spectrum before I even get the image out of the box. Particularly impressive is the auto white balance, D-lighting, focus options...the list goes on. The user interface, divided between buttons and menus is the best on any Nikon I've seen. And with all the features, this is a professional grade camera at an advanced amateur price. On the short side, the menus are somewhat intuitive but would have been improved by using screens more akin to D3100 or similar 'entry level' D-SLR than simply the 'flat text' arrangement. Scene mode selectors on the screen are a step in the right direction and parameter screen are very easy to use but the rest of the menus could be presented in a more interpretive manner. Autofocus is slow in live view, slower in fact than my daughter's Coolpix and is sometimes slow to track even in other than low-light conditions. But these issues are small when compared to the range and capability this camera puts in your hands...wide range ISO, lots of Creative Lighting System options, on board RAW manipulation, two card slots, cool and useful video. I love it! January 27, 2011
Fabulous Camera The new D7000 DSLR is a Fabulous Camera. My first DSLR was the D70. Then I upgraded to a D70s, D80, D90 and now the D7000. The absolute best Semi-Pro DSLR yet. The perfect camera for a Photo Enthusiast! The camera is a major part of a system and Nikon also has a great set of Lens and Flash to provide a complete system. I have the D7000, 12-24mm f/4.0 lens, 24-120mm VR f/4.0 lens, 70-300mm VR and 35mm, 50mm and 85mm primes; with a set of flash SB-900, SB-700, and a pair of SB-600 as wireless remote flash. A great system that I took on major group trip overseas and took over 2,000 pictures and many video with external mic. Thanks Nikon. Cheers, Bill990 January 27, 2011
Excellent Digital SLR I have own Nikon SLR camera since early "70s, mostly Nikon F series the last one being the F3. I have not migrated to the digital camera SLR for sometime due to the price and I was waiting for the resolution to improve. I decided to get the D7000, because of its resolution and the fact I can still use my older Nikon lenses though on a limited way. I was surprise how easy to learn its used both in manual and its multitude automatic mode . The pictures are excellent ! January 27, 2011
Terrific camera This is a beautiful camera to handle and to hold. It performs much better than I expected. The only feature I would like to see, is detailed instructions on the multiple focus features available. I am not a novice user, however, trying to get the best setting for the sharpest, crisp photo was a little daunting. Tack sharp is available, but somewhat of a guide to get there would be helpful. Many thanks to Nikon for thier insight and forward thinking. January 27, 2011
Page: 38 39 40 41 42 ... 50
<<prev | next>>
302 Questions | 492 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
302 Questions | 492 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D7000
 
8 Answers

Can't open Nikon D7000 raw files in Photoshop or NX?

Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+27points
32out of 37found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful32unhelpful5
Incompatible file format. Just spent $1200 on the camera body, should be able to open the raw files. What is going on here? Is there a plug-in I can download to make this happen so I can edit the files?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
Location : 
Western Mass
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
8 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you update Photoshop's Camera RAW plugin
Jul 12, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
IN PHOTOSHOP SELECT
HELP, THEN SELECT UPDATE. CLICK ON UPDATES FOR THE LATEST UPDATE FOR THE NIKON D7000. i DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH CAMERA RAW AFTER THAT
Sep 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just went through this with Nikon Support. Make sure you have the latest version of Capture NX2 to open and edit your NEF RAW images from your D7000.
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Rick
Vancouver, WA
Location : 
Vancouver, WA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I don't know what you will need to import NEF files into Photoshop. However, the software that comes with the D7000 can save the files into a different format which you can then import into Photoshop, which is what I did originally rather than trying to bring them directly into CS2. In the end I bought Corel's product for under $100 (rather than over $1000 for CS5) which allows me to edit the NEF files directly. I would imagine the question should be directed to Adobe as to how to import NEF files into Photoshop.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download ViewNX2
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Imaging-Software/NVNX2/ViewNX-2.html

You can also download the NEF codec for Windows
http://www.nikonimglib.com/nefcodec/
May 25, 2011 by
by
wilsonpix
Dallas Texas
Location : 
Dallas Texas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check to make sure you have Bridge installed with your Photoshop. Bridge is what reads the RAW file format, opens a separate window and gives you the option to continue to open in photoshop. The other thing to do is make sure you have all the updates to PS.
Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Cobra064
California
Location : 
California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download the latest updates from Adobe and Capture and you should have no problems. The D7000 is a very late update for both.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Dodd
Provo, UT
Location : 
Provo, UT
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
6out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6
Answer: 
Make sure that you have the latest version of Nikon ViewNX 2 in order to see RAW files from your camera.

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
6 Answers

Is the AF-S DX 18-200mm ED VRII zoom lens fully compatible with the D7000?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
NY
 on D7000
+16points
20out of 24found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful4
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does. This is a fantastic lens very sharp and very versatile; leave all your other lens at home.
Jul 16, 2011 by
by
CT_Ham
East Haddam, CGT
Location : 
East Haddam, CGT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 18-200mm lens is fully compatible with the D7000
 
Products related to my answer
 
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I recently purchased the D7000 along with this lens, and I can say, not only is it compatible, it is fan-tas-tic! I love its versatility. No, it's not a 2.8, but for carrying one lens, this cannot be beat.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
SalukiJim
Saint Louis, MO
Location : 
Saint Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
All DX lenses are compatible. That does not mean that pictures will come sharp in all of them, even if the lenses are the high end ones. It's a very common issue that cameras might need to get calibrated for different specific lenses, and it's something that drive many photographers nuts because some pictures come out good and some not!
So if you are getting soft focus in some pictures don't blame yourself, blame Nikon for not explaining this issue clearly and not offering easy-to-find resources to corrected.
My opinion based on my professional experience.
 
Products related to my answer
 
D200
4.7 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Orlando
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, I have that same camera/lens combo and it works great.
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I bought both together and I don't see any incompatibliies. The range is fantastic - no more switching lenses (between wide and tele) in regular shooting. I wish the lens were a little faster (like 3.5 to 4.5 instead of 3.5 to 5.6) but otherwise it's great and pictures are sharp.

If you're just getting started, though, the D7000 is a bit of an overachiever. It's a great piece of equipment, but not for the faint of heart. Buy the lens but look at the D5000 (or even a comparable Canon or Sony) instead.
Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Bethesda, MD
Location : 
Bethesda, MD
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D7000
 
6 Answers

D7000 Professional lens for product shots.

Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+8points
12out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful4
I will be shooting liquor & Wine bottles and glasses. I will need a very sharp image with limited Depth of field
F22.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
Location : 
Norwalk CT
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have shot similar images of wine bottles and glasses with the 105mm nikkor micro and it works very well. Any of the nikkor micro lenses should give your great control of DOF, it all depends on the angle of view you want to include, in other words how much of a background do you want in your image? If lots then, use a wider micro, if you want the least background (i.e. tight compression) then the that extreme would be best served wit the 200mm micro nikkor. The 105 is a great all around micro and you can get extreme blur/bokeh to reduce the attention to a background if you have more than you like.

If you need to get extremely creative and tricky with DOF and have a larger lens budget then consider a tilt shift models.
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
if you need a limited DOF, you'll need a slight tele. you'll also need brightness, so an f/2.8 is a must. i'd suggest looking around used 90-180mm primes with at least f/2.8. micro-nikkors are also known for their sharpness, so maybe a 90mm f/2.8 micro-nikkor, using manual focus, would be the best, IMHO.
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Don't underestimate the 18-55 f/3.5- kit lens. You could also consider a prime lens, like the 35 or 50mm f/1.8G or even wait for the new affordable macro lens that Nikon is suppose to be releasing soon, just in case you really want to get some of the details.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
AntonyA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi, Try PC-E lens. 45 & 85 PC-E is really great product shot lens you can control perspective & DOF of your images, I'm using it every day because I'm product photographer. (Camera & Lens)
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You'll probably get as many opinions as there are lenses. F22 will give you a very DEEP depth of field. You can control the depth of field yourself. Rule of Thumb: "Higher number on the Fstop equals deeper DOF". You didn't specify how close you want to be, or how the shots are going to be composed, or if you're going to be in a tightly-controlled studio setting with multiple flashes arranged around the subject, so it's a little hard to say. My go to lens is the Nikkor F2.8 17-55. It's crisp, tough, and versatile. With the F2.8 that remains constant across the zoom range, you don't have to worry about your DOF changing as you zoom in and out, like you do on other lenses. The next best lens would be a "prime" lens of 35mm or 24mm. If you're in a studio environment this can be a bit challenging for framing the shot because without the zoom you need to move the table/armature or your camera's tripod (unless you have one of those cool studio tripods that lets you move the camera in the horizontal plane) to frame the shot appropriately.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

Can I use an AF NIKKOR 80-200 2.8 D lens on the D7000

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D7000
+3points
6out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
I am not in the market for professional dslr's. Which dslr's are compatible with this lens ?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You most certainly can use the 80-200mm f/2.8 lens on the D7000
Nov 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have been using the 80-200mm f/2.8D ED with the D7000 for the past month and it works fine.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D80, D90 and a D7000 which the lens fits perfectly! I not had any problems.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonTracy
Shreveport/Bossier
Location : 
Shreveport/Bossier
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I am pretty sure!!
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I have used that lens on my Nikon D90 so it should work on the Nikon D7000 which is the replacement model of mine. ;)
Mar 7, 2011 by
by
akoRICHARD
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

D7000 problem.

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
WendiS
 on D7000
+20points
21out of 22found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful21unhelpful1
Does anyone know what this issue is?
Does Nikon Pay for the shipping?
Is Nikon quick and fixing the problem?
Pictures are showing up with the brightest colors in the pic over enhanced, for instants the yellows, blues and greens look like smears of magic marker and download that way too. I've been told it's the sensor. Just bought the camera a few month ago. I guess I have to send it in. How quick is Nikon? I need my camera and will they pay for the shipping? Has anyone had this problem with the D7000 and dealt with repairs? Thanks!
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
WendiS
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree, reset the camera or re-adjust the colors. It sounds like you may have inadvertantly changed the color settings from within the camera. I just purchased this camera and I have to tell you, I love it. Plane and simple... The menus are at first confusing but once you start playing around and learning all the features, it will be like second nature. You can remove the battery and let the camera sit for a period of time to discharge the onboard memory. This may reset the camera for you. Good Luck and keep on shooting!
Feb 11, 2012 by
by
buddha65281
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Keith, I thought perhaps I selected vivid, but it's not set to that. I am viewing them on the camera and then they download to Nikon NX2 this way as well, I'm assuming, they would print thisway.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
WendiS

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends on where the nikon service repair is.
If you have a technical support in your town, you should probably get it there, in that case, no shipping costs. I had once to bring my old d200 to repair service and got it back in 5 days. Depends also what the problem is.
Nikon is a trustworthy company, but if you have a problem, you should ask your reseller first.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I would guess this person has been in the Picture Controls section and has chosen to modify saturation and/or hue via the Vivid setting. Go to Shooting Menu > Set Picture Control > Vivid, and adjust the settings to neutral.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Boone
South Lyon, MI
Location : 
South Lyon, MI
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
I would first check to make sure you have not inadvertently adjusted the picture controls and over saturated. What are you using to view images and are they jpeg or RAW.
Apr 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

No Body Cap

Nov 5, 2011 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
 on D7000
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Just bought the D7000 as a package and there was no body cap. Doesn't it come with one? I am definitely returning this...
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
Location : 
Bel Air, Md.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Folks,
I am the original person who wrote this post. Sorry that I never responded. I returned said camera and there was supposed to be a body cap. The store thinks someone returned it and kept the cap. I was very concerned that dust could have gotten into the camera which of course would be a disaster. I absolutely love my camera. I am now a member of a gallery where I have my photography on exhibit. I highly recommend this camera! NIKON ROCKS!!
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Maryland

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm only about a year too late for this question but my answer remains the same: YOU NEED A BODY CAP.
Some people will just stick a lens on the body and never take it off but if you are wanting to store your camera or load it for travel you are going to need that body cap to protect the mirror/image sensor from damage and dust. Camera companies provide caps for a reason. The people above me who are freaking out about you returning your camera over such a simple thing most likely don't care for there cameras and let dust get into the body of the camera. Dust will damage your camera.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I ironically never use my cap anyway but It is such a minor mistake that it is not worth making a fuss. Just call nikon and tell them what happened. I love my D7000
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
KyoshiB

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Really? You're returning the entire camera because of a small mistake? Yes. The bodies are supposed to come with caps. Why not just contact Nikon. I'm sure they'd be happy to send you a body cap free of charge. When my camera came from a Nikon dealer, it was missing the plug for the charger. One phone call, and a few days later the plug came in the mail. You could also visit your local camera store. Camera stores often have body caps floating around they'll just give you.
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
It does come with a body cap! Cannot imagine how you got it without that attached. I would return it too and get an exchange - don't know what might have gotten inside if the cap was not on it. Read the manual / papers that came with it to be sure all items are in the box that are supposed to be. I was stumped on a couple items, only to find they were already attached to the camera and not 'loose' in the box. I LOVE my D7000 and have been using it just over a month now. I highly recommend sticking with it if you wanted a high quality Nikon! Good luck. :)
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
L3gsd
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Since I almost exclusively shoot air shows I think I can answer your question.

Your asking about zoom capabilities, not wide angle.

I have rented and used the Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8 along with the X1.7 or X2 teleconverter and had good success. This combination is good for reach, great for clarity and sharpness on a bright sunny day, but not so good when you do need to back out for a wide angle shot.

Next would be the Sigma 150-500mm. I used this for several years. Not quite as sharp as the above, but 100mm more reach and about the same wide angle.

I now use the Sigma (Bigma) 50-500mm and I'm very pleased with this lens.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 10, 2013 by
by
RangerDoc275
Greater Seattle
Location : 
Greater Seattle
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You mentioned you want the biggest picture possible? If you want the most "view" in your photo, you will want a wide angle...something like 10-24mm is considered ultra-wide. However, if you mean the biggest picture possible in terms of image resolution, that mainly has to do with the camera body itself.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Anonymous,
What you need is a very long,100's of mm lens, and a gyroscope. Check in your local area for availability for purchase or rental.
Good Luck.
Mike
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
ForensicPhotog
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
A wide angle lens will certainly increase your field of view in the photo.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I'm sick of Sony handycams - need one camera that can do it all. Want a Nikon like the D7000, but cannot tolerate only 20 minutes of video. Will buy large memory card, need to be able to record for hours.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Steve
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 20 minute time limit is because of double tax increases in europe. they count the camera as a video camera and still image camera after a certain mbps on video with a time limit.

Canon cameras are only 12min. but they have different Frames per second.

this is really not a big deal unless you are doing intervews, but, time your shots inbetween questions. I can't imagine someone answering a question for 20 min.
Nov 14, 2011 by
by
SSeanMHH
Orange County
Location : 
Orange County
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have not received a direct answer as to why the Nikon D7000 has a 20 minute video recording cap. I did find the following answers but, I could not find any documentation to prove their validity:

1- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent the camera's sensor from overheating (no proof of this)
2- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent higher taxes incurred. If the camera recorded longer, it would be categorized as a camcorder thus increasing taxes.
(no proof of this)

This 20 minute limitation may not hinder a person from creating feature films and short films but, this limitation does pose a problem for applications that require interviews. It would seem rude to stop a person in the middle of their story to tell them that they need to wait for you to press the record button again.

Hopefully, there will be a firmware update to remove this limitation.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4
Answer: 
Maybe in 10 years your dream will come true.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, there is a 20 minute limit per shot, but the camera lets you take as many of those 20 minute shots until the SD card is full. While I don't agree with Nikon's time limit, most professionals will not record for more than 10 seconds at a time anyways. Next time you're in a movie theater or watching TV, check it out. Camera angles switch every 5-10 seconds to keep the audience's interest.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Trying to shoot in manual, and the shutter will not release unless I accept the metered reading in the viewfinder I keep getting a R-10 displayed in th window, nothing that I can find in the manual covers this, what am I doing wrong
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Rufous03
Calgary
Location : 
Calgary
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
By default, there is a setting in the camera's menus which prevent the camera from taking a picture if the picture is out of focus. In some lighting conditions the camera will not be able to use the auto focus function and will not fire. You can overcome this in several ways. 1. Putting the camera in "M" and using the focus ring on the lens. 2. Changing the setting in the menu so that it will allow the camera to fire, even if it is not in focus (not recommended), turn off the auto focus function on the lens (if it has it) and on the camera (switch on the side of the lens, and a switch on the body of the camera, to the lower right of the lens as you face the front of the camera. Note: BOTH switches must be turned off at the same time to prevent damage to the lens or the camera. You should also check your metering to see if it's set correctly. There are several different metering modes which will affect your picture. Also, if memory serves me, the camera will not take a picture in M mode if the picture is going to be severely over-exposed. If, for instance, you set the photo up for a shutter speed of 1/30 and an aperture of f3.5, the camera won't fire. I have experienced this myself, and though there is nothing in the user's manual about it that I can find, I assume it's to protect the sensor and other equipment from damage.
Jun 27, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
San Francisco Area
Location : 
San Francisco Area
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
yup, use either shutter speed (faster for underexposure, slower for overexposure), or if DOF is not an issue, change the aperture. or, change the ISO. in manual mode exposure correction is not a valid option as nothing is automatic so it's entirely up to you what settings you use.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
R-10 refers to the amount of shots remaining in the buffer and has no relevance to whether the camera releases the shutter or not. If you are shooting in manual then you under expose by altering the shutter speed, the only thing that would stop the camera from firing would be if focus has not been achieved, try focusing manually.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
You have it on [M] and it won't take the picture? The only thing that should stop it from exposing under full manual is insufficient battery to complete the exposure, full memory card, or it being out-of-focus and set to require focus to expose and in auto-focus. Meter shouldn't play into it.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
BrucePaul
Iowa City, IA
Location : 
Iowa City, IA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
4 Answers

Does the D7000 take black and white video?

Jun 28, 2011 by
by
AlexD
 on D7000
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Can I take black & white video with the D7000? Also, does it support the mode where you can select a color or colors to display in an otherwise B&W video?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
AlexD
4 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yup, use picture control. however, i'd advise against it -- you don't get to select the channel mix. my advice: shoot in color and aim for best contrast range, then use a decent video editing software and use a filter to do the b&w conversion. remember: if you shoot b&w, you can't go back and adjust the channel mix, neither can you change your mind afterwards if you wanted that shot in color. so: use neutral picture controls, shoot the video in color with a decent dynamic range, then mess it up later in post-prod. :)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Agree with KeithD. B&W can be taken by setting Picture Control to Monochrome (info display will show "MC"). All effects in "Retouch" menu (in camera post-processing) are not available for video, either while taking the video or during in camera post-processing.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does, just change the picture control to monochrome.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
No, but you can use post-processing software to change it to B&W.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>