Loading

Inspired performance in a size that keeps you shooting.

Shot of the Nikon D7000's rear body with a photo of a girl in a purple dress jumping over boulders while carrying a pink umbrella, and a guy following her, under a blue sky
Amazing photography isn’t only about what you shoot and how you shoot it, it’s also about what you shoot it with. The high resolution, multi-featured Nikon D7000 gives you 16.2 megapixels of vividly detailed images, a more sensitive DX-format CMOS sensor that delivers high ISO with low noise, plus various automatic and customizable settings to take your pictures and videos from great to gorgeous. Shoot up to 6 fps or record every second of the action with full HD 1080p D-Movies with Nikon’s advanced autofocus system to impress and inspire.
Nikon D7000 photo of a girl on a pool float, in a pool, shot from above, and an inset image of the CMOS sensor

Stunning image details

16.2-megapixel CMOS sensor

Whether you want to make large prints or crop tightly in an image, the D7000 delivers the resolution you need. At its heart is a DX-format CMOS image sensor with 16.2 effective megapixels, optimally engineered to gather more quality light through sharp NIKKOR lenses. Coupled with 14-bit A/D conversion (12-bit selectable), the D7000 produces stunning images that are richer in tone and detail than previously possible in DX format.
Photo of the rear of the Nikon D7000 with an image of wildlife on the LCD

A new era of movie capture

Breathtaking Full HD 1080p D-Movies

The D7000 is equipped to help you create impressive cinematic masterpieces with Full HD 1080p and movie editing functions for exceptional scene reproduction and quality. In addition to smooth video, the camera can compensate for distortion and other image-degrading problems. Aside from a built-in monaural microphone, the D7000 incorporates an external mic jack for high-quality stereo sound recording options.
Nikon D7000 photo of a woman in a purple dress walking out of frame, with a guy following her, shot in the desert and inset with a grouping sequence of a guy on a motorcycle on a dirt road

Remarkably responsive

6 frames per second continuous shooting

Say farewell to missed opportunities. The D7000 incorporates a new driving mechanism to conduct its remarkably fast and precise mirror movements, giving you an approx. 0.052 second release time lag and an approx. 0.13 second start-up time. What’s more, you can continuously shoot at approx. 6 frames per second at both 14-bit and 12-bit A/D conversion for RAW shooting.
Nikon D7000 photo of a person jumping between large boulders with a group of people watching from the distance with inset example of the camera's ISO range

Crisp photos in any light

Wide sensitivity range of ISO 100 to 6400

ISO 100 to 6400 has now become standard with the D7000, enabling you to handle a wider range of lighting situations: from the bright and sunny outdoors to low-lit evenings and interiors. Nikon’s renowned noise reduction technology has been upgraded even further. Throughout the range, the D7000 delivers sharp images with minimized color noise. Quality, high-ISO performance can also enhance your movie shooting, allowing you to capture the mood of a scene using only available light.
Nikon D7000 photo of a lake shot in low light with an inset shot of the metering sensor

More accurate control

Ground-breaking 2,016-pixel RGB sensor

After the incredibly accurate 2,016-pixel RGB sensor reads a scene's lighting information, the D7000 cross-references what it sees with imaging data from a large selection of real-world shooting situations. This way, the renowned 3D Color Matrix Metering II delivers exposure results that are faithful to how you see light and shadow interplay, even in difficult lighting situations. This intelligent metering technique also delivers exceptionally accurate i-TTL flash exposures, and it all happens within milliseconds for both speed and precision.
Nikon D7000 photo of a guy on a slalom waterski, with an overlay of the camera's AF points illustrating the AF system.

Powerful, wide-area coverage

Customizable 39-point AF System

The D7000's strategically positioned 39 AF points cover a significantly wide area of the frame, giving you flexible compositional possibilities. The 9 AF points in the center utilize powerful cross-type sensors—especially useful when you need tack sharp focus, such as with portraits and macro work. The D7000 offers a variety of AF area modes, including Dynamic-area AF using 9, 21 or 39 points. Utilizing Nikon's Scene Recognition System, Auto-area AF properly judges the main subject within 39 AF points and focuses on it.
Nikon D7000 photo of four young adults on a large boulder in the mountains and inset photo of the camera's image processing engine

Improved image quality and speed

The newest generation image processing engine, EXPEED 2, is capable of performing multiple tasks with more speed and power. Expect smoother tonal gradations, even in difficult shadows and highlights, for a greater sense of depth in your images.
Photo showing the front and rear view of the Nikon D7000's magnesium alloy chassis

Rugged and protected

With a top and rear cover of durable magnesium alloy, the D7000 is ready for the outdoors. Nikon engineers paid meticulous attention to where exterior parts join by employing durable sealing against moisture and dust. The compact body has also undergone severe environmental tests to prove its rugged reliability.
Top rear of the Nikon D7000 body, shown from the rear of the body, including an illustrative image in the viewfinder

100% frame coverage

With approximately 100% frame coverage in the viewfinder, what you see is exactly what you capture. The specially coated glass pentagonal prism and precision-crafted finder screen offer not only a bright viewfinder image, but also enable you to easily confirm when a subject is in focus.
Photo of the rear of a D7000 camera body cropped tight on the LCD and surrounding buttons, with an image of a hurdle jumper on the screen

Rich image previewing

The D7000 features an expansive 3-inch VGA LCD. Its approx. 921k-dot resolution assures clear, detailed display of images, which proves invaluable when confirming focus or assessing image sharpness.

Expand the creative potential of the D7000

NIKKOR lenses & Nikon Speedlights for every situation

false false false product 25468-en_US 25468 25468 DIGSLR $999.95 false $999.95 NONE false false false 2011-03-15T04:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25468/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 25468 en_US D7000/en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/25468_D7000.png true /en_INC/o/wfp_-a8oOzwYuj4GXIe1NHkNdAU/Misc/D7000_tag.png Nikon’s D7000 features a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 6 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Power to Astonish. Features to Inspire. Power to Astonish. Features to Inspire. true 4.6 1460 true FLSHAPT STERMIC LCDMONCOV CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS CAPCOV PWRPAC RMTCORD EXTSER CABLAV EYEPIE CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH WIRELESS PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS GPS PWRCHG IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25468 25474 13019 3 false true false 25468 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25468 1.5854084 false false false product 25474-en_US 25474 25474 DIGSLR $1,299.95 false $1,299.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25474/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 25474 25474 en_US 18-105mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/25474_D7000.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens for fast, accurate autofocus, crisp detail, vivid color and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-105mm VR Lens Kit true 4.6 1460 false 0 false true false 25474 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 2179 D7000 25468 Product D7000 25468 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25474 2.2107165 false false false product 13019-en_US 13019 13019 DIGSLR $1,849.95 false $1,849.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/13019/D7000.html /dslr-cameras/D7000.html 13019 13019 en_US 18-200mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/sW8RomxQReezfbQt-6GkHk62paI/Views/13019_D7000.png false Kit includes the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II lens for wide-angle to telephoto shooting; offering fast, accurate autofocus, crisp detail, vivid color and VR image stabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies. 18-200mm VR Lens Kit true 4.6 1460 false 0 false true false 13019 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II 2192 D7000 25468 Product D7000 25468 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=13019 2.363103

D7000 Body Only

Price $999.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25468, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Price $1,299.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25474, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-200mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Price $1,849.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 13019, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D7000 4.6 5 1462 1463
Very Disappointed! I have always shot NIKON and loved every one that I have used. From a point and shoot to a DSLR. I recently bought this as an upgrade from the d3100. I was so excited to get it after speaking to the Nikon rep at a trade show. He assured me that this was the best upgrade for me. (i was contemplating the d600 and wish i would have gone with that originally). The first D7000 that i had i had to return to Best Buy because it would not focus and it would not fire the built in flash. I exchanged it for another one. I have been playing with it for 2 weeks now and just did a focus test on it. Not only did it back focus on every single shot with two different lenses, it also side focused. I am very disappointed because this was supposed to be an awesome camera! And it is anything but. I will be returning it to Best Buy again today. :( for the second time. But this time I am NOT getting another one. I will moving up to the D600. I have googled it and spoke to Nikon several times about the issue and they could not fix it. From what i have read it is a horrible problem with the camera. I wouldnt waste your money. February 16, 2013
Completamente perfeita. Essa câmera Digital sDLSR é tudo de bom, é perfeita para qualquer momento, mais com um porem, é um pouco pesada, fora isso é demais. Recomendo para qualquer pessoa que procura qualidade, durabilidade e segurança. February 13, 2013
Love the quality of the camera! This was a big jump for me- I went from a point and shoot to a DX- and I am amazed at the photos it produces. I shoot completely manual- and love every minute with my camera. It amazes me and it was the perfect fit for me. Perfect for those who really want a big step into photography and want something really good, but not too crazy expensive! My favorite features are live view, because when I have my camera at an odd angle, I can tell if its focused or not; and the two card slots. Love this camera and would recommend it in a heartbeat. February 13, 2013
Only one flaw I am completely happy with everything about this camera with one exception. The buffer is too slow for wildlife, especially birds. I know this is a trade-off for the impressive file sizes but every now and then I miss the critical shot. I'm learning to be more discerning and wait which the D7000 allows with it's fast focusing and shutter response. All in all I'd buy it again. One of the deciding features for me is the ability to program in my old Nikkor's and use them with full metering. My 30 year old 105/f2.5 coupled with this camera makes for some incredibly sharp photos. February 12, 2013
I like the camera, but I seem to have problems and have had to exchange it. I love the 2 SD slot and I love the 6 frame per sec. I bought the first one and used it a lot. After the first few months, it would say It didn't have a SD card in it after I had taken 400 pictures. It would not shut off either. I had to remove the battery and then it would "fix' it for a while. I exchanged it for another. It started to do the same thing while I was shooting pictures for a gala event. I also realized that even though it was saying it was taking the pictures, It was not showing up on my SD card. It also began leaving weird shadows on the subjects of my pictures, only when I turned the camera in one direction. I have since exchanged it and am going to try it a third time. I am getting ready to go on vacation so I will be using it a lot there and we will see if it does the same thing. February 5, 2013
Good camera but has it's faults I really like the D7000 and it was a nice step up from my D3100. The low light capibilities are good for a DX camera. My biggest complaint is the back focus issue. I miss focus very often with this camera and after may tests and talking to others I've found it's the camera. I adjusted the AF fine tune and that did help. Overall this is a great camera and for the price it rocks! But the backfocus issue has now pushed me into a D600. January 28, 2013
D7000 w/ AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR This camera far surpasses my expectations for what I expected. Before purchasing it in November of 2011, I researched the different DSLR cameras available. This camera had the best ratings for any of the mid-range DSLRs on the market at the time I purchased it. I can now say it has not disappointed me at all. The few times I have encountered a problem with a picture not turning out the way it should, it has always fells back down to something I did. The camera has never missed all the times I've used it. It is fast to power up, fast to take the picture, and packed full of features which will enable it to be used professionally or just by a novice. When I purchased the camera, I didn't realize that it has the flash commander built in. This was a wonderful surprise to find it is capable of controlling several external Nikon flash units without any additional equipment or cables. I highly recommend this camera to anyone who is looking for a DSLR. January 14, 2013
My FIRST NIKON and Im in LOVE! Ive only just begun my photography business venture and this was the perfect starter camera, I tossed and turned night after night for weeks trying to decide what to purchase for a new camera and the D7000 won! Even in comparison I think that it beats out the D300s for MP and Im just so happy with it I think its the best camera for price when you line them all up! however I did purchase it before the price went down :( so even better for everyone else now :P January 13, 2013
D7000+35mm f/1.8+18-200mm+SB-400 Sou do tempo das câmeras com filme. Tenho ainda uma Contax com lente Zeiss Planar 50mm f/1.4. Velhos e bons tempos. Fotografia foi meu hobby por muito tempo, mas depois vieram filhos e outras prioridades tomaram conta do espaço. Agora, com tudo no lugar, novamente retomo meu hobby, mas agora com os novos tempos da era digital. Resolvi comprar um equipamento novo, e para tanto fiz uma pesquisa detalhada, por mais de 2 meses, sobre o que comprar. Decidi pela D7000 por várias razões, e adquiri o equipamento na B&H em New York há 2 semanas. Por sorte acabei conseguindo uma oferta magnífica, pelos feriados de final de ano, comum por lá, e comprei a D7000 com a lente 18-200mm e de brinde vieram: uma lente Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, a maleta da Nikon para transporte, o Vello Battery Grip e um cartão de memória de 16Gb. Além disto comprei separadamente uma lente 35mm f/1.8 e um flash SB-400. Como havia decidido por esta camera 1 mes antes de minha viagem, no mes seguinte fiquei apenas pesquisando preços e não há nada equivalente a uma B&H ou Adorama de NY. Os preços são im-ba-tí-veis! Sem falar que a loja é absurdamente grande, onde você encontrará tudo o que procura. Como eu já estava com a viagem programada, foi apenas chegar lá com os códigos definidos e efetuar a compra. Eu estou ainda na leitura do manual, já que a quantidade de recursos da máquina é muito grande, mas já tirei umas 200 fotos. Não poderia estar mais satisfeito! A camera é fantástica! Se você não domina ainda os recursos todos que a máquina oferece, vá no modo Automático e ela fará tudo por você. Qualidade excepcional. Esqueça os flash SB-700 ou SB-900. Vá com o SB-400 que é mais do que suficiente para 99% do seu uso, a não ser que você seja fotografo profissional. Apenas não entendo porque a Nikon Brasil não dá garantia para os equipamentos originais Nikon comprados nos USA. Será que há uma resposta razoável para isto? January 9, 2013
big step up from D80 I am a part time wedding photographer, doing about 20 weddings a year. This is my 3rd Nikon digital camea. This is an upgrading from a D80 I have been using for about 5 years One of the first things I noticed with this camera is how fast it is. Also most churches frown on using a flash during a ceramony. the 6400 speed alows me to get good pictures durring the ceramony. The D70 Said it could go to 1600 but above 1000 the picture was lousy the D80 was still quite good at 1600 and he D7000 looks almost as good at 6400 as it does at 400. Being able o use faster film speeds helps me keep from over heating my SB 900 flash. PS I would buy a Nikon flash or 2 with the camera if you don't already have at least one. One of my favorite things about Nikon is the creative lighting system. This is my 3rd Nikon with this system, it is great for filling shadows on sunny days or giving a 2nd light source for a dramatic shot. I was planing on upgrading to a D600 or D800 in a year or two but this camera is so good I may wait a little longer. The only down side is the manual is bigger than the camera, I spent a week reading the manual. Once you know how to use it it is easy to get to any feature you need quickly. January 6, 2013
Dependable camera I've used this camera since late 2010, just after it was announced. I've shot 125,000 pictures on it and it keeps moving along. In the past 2 years I've shot political events, concerts, plays, bike races, car races, talent shows, local events, pictures for magazine articles and covers, portraits, long exposures, astrography and plenty of other subjects. After nearly daily use for 2 years, the rubber grip has started to loosen and a piece near the battery cover has fallen off, but considering the exposure to dust/water/heat it's seen I'm amazed it still works. I'm not going to post most of those examples because I don't have consent from the people in them, but my take away from all these events is that once you're comfortable with the camera it's easy to repeatedly nail shots. Here are my observations: Pros: -I've had usable images to ISO 6400, and I use 3200 on a regular basis -Weather sealing seems good enough for the rain I've been caught in -AFS and AFC is fast, covers the whole frame, and works marvelously in low light. -It has a screw moto to focus (loudly) with older AF lenses -Live View is useful to zoom in and verify still life focus -Auto White balance is dependable -Skin tones are natural, colors are usually true to life except in extremely poor lighting -I've never found myself wishing for a faster burst rate -Dual SD slots are great for capacity and backup -Battery life is astonishing, I've gotten 1600 shots out of one charge on several occasions -the controls are well placed and the camera is comfortable to hold and use -the max shutter speed of 1/8000s is great for outdoor portraits with large aperture lenses Cons: -the buffer is tiny, for RAWs continuous shooting slows after 10 images even with my 95mb/s card -the mode dial is loose, you have to check to make sure you're in the mode you intended -the viewfinder cup habitually falls off -after all this time the delete button just completely fell out. It's now being held in with tape. -I've had -.3 exposure compensation dialed in since day one, sometimes more. The metering doesn't always cooperate. -the finish on the whole camera is coming off. January 5, 2013
Great camera, profesional quality! i recently upgraded my D3100 to the D7000. The camera is the best out there for the price point. the ISO capabilities are great in low light situations. The multitude of focus points allows you to create amazing shots. Very happy with this camera body so far! January 2, 2013
2nd My husband gave me this for christmas. It is the 2nd one we own. so far extremely happy with this camera. I have used his sparingly and knew that this was the one I'd want also. I plan on taking a photpraphy class next year, and will be learning the full capacity of this camera. December 20, 2012
D7000 - great camera Bought the D7000 from BestBuy. I recommend the D7000 above the D5100 for beginners due to the SCENE modes. The 5100 offers one feature for people who like to take pictures of themselves and their family - the flip-out rotating screen. Other than that the D7000 is far superior to the D5100. Though the 5200 is coming out soon. The SCENE modes of the D7000 are fantastic for the hobbiest. And the flexibility of the PASM modes is fantastic. ISO changes is a quick one button press and dial away as are shutter and apeture. Of course, you could get totally lost in the menus too to adjust these setting but learn how to do it the quick way. Ergonomically the camera is excellent too. Not too small nor large and a good weight for standard shots. The camera is awkward for holding sideways (like most without grips), but the optional though expensive camera grip/battery pack resolves that. Sideway Flashes are also problematic as the lens is normally in the way of the popup flash for filling in the area opposite the flash &.lens, but I've found this on all cameras held sideways without an additional flash to get beyond the lens. The Speedlight 400 model flash works great to resolve this and fairly inexpensive. The dual SD cards is a great move away from the CF cards as most computers nowadays have a SD slot. I really enjoy the natural colors of the photos. Use SCENE mode or even adjust the colors yourself for more Vivid or natural skin colors and this camera offers a ton of features I'm just now learning how to use. Great for use as astrophotography too with the low light capability though have to set the camera to remote with Mirror UP first click, then shutter second click with the ML-L3 wireless remote. The other wired remotes don't work the way I need them too. Would like if Nikon made a fully functioning MC-36 Multi-Function Remote for the D7000. Home portrait takers will find the ML-L3 all that they need though. The MC-DC2 is good for studio work. In low light the kit 18-105 hunts alot for AutoFocus. But just a quick click and one can do manual focus. The lens have super fast focus in bright light. For outside photographers, Just make sure you buy a tripod that is rock steady and doesn't allow vibrations in the wind with slower shutter speeds. Using a cheaper tripod I would get some shakes in general portrait/landscape and moon pictures. After going to a Silk professional model tripod my outside pictures took a gigantic leap in picture quality just from stability.. Lens that I use are: Portrait/Landscape I use the kit DX 18-105 AF-S VR. For sports FX 70-300 AF-S VRII. For Moon/ Landscape I used a Nikon 500mm catadioptic (mirrors) lens on full manual and Meade telescopes for astrophotography. If you have any older lenses that use screw AF, then this is the camera to get. The 5100 does not offer screw AF. Thus my older lens from my N80 and D70 days works too. December 17, 2012
really nice! i'm a high school girl who liked photography so much, D7000 really fit me because it's easy to use and had a great features. also fit in my little hand! December 16, 2012
Great Camera I got this camera to use at my school for yearbook. This is an amazing camera, the pixel count lets you manipulate the pictures in post capture easily. The colors of the photos are vivid and life like, The camera has a very well built body, made to last for years to come. Also all the components and buttons are very sturdy and nothing feels cheap. The flash is good bu does not do the job when you hold the camera vertically. The display is just amazing and the processor is really fat so there is no lag in doing anything like when viewing pictures or taking pictures. The auto focus is amazing and really fast but I have one problem, it does get really slow in low light situations which really annoys me. Shooting with high ISO settings is generally very good and the results you get are much better than the slight color details lost. The camera has a lot of customization options so it's really good for people who are looking for a professional type camera, which is easy to use but not ridiculously expensive. The battery life is amazing also. I just took my 11000th picture with my camera and I have enjoyed every single moment with it. I still haven't tried video so can't really say anything about that. December 8, 2012
I love it I get the best of both worlds... well almost.. I use my nikon for photography as well as videography.. I love the product in comparison with the 7D which was my biggest fight as I'd already owned the D80 & D90. My biggest cry is the fact that I don't have 60fps in video... If you have no need for 60fps... this is the biggest bang for the buck!!! December 4, 2012
Good camera with several major flaws. When is the D400(?) coming out????????? I bought this camera because I'm still waiting for Nikon to replace the D300, which is taking forever. I'm starting to consider switching to Canon because of that delay. It's a good camera overall, much better than the D90. ISO performance is quite good, and color integrity seems to be quite good as well. I also like that it works with the ML-L3 remote. I don't understand why the ML-L3 remote does not work with EVERY NIkon camera. Doesn't make any sense at all. It's a very useful item. Major flaws include: No lock on the mode dial. It frequently gets bumped out of place when shooting veritcally, which is super-annoying. Can't believe it made it through product testing that way. They have finally corrected that problem with the D600. Cache is too small and slow when shooting at highest quality. Miss shots while waiting for the cache to catch up. And, the metal strap holder knubs jam into my hand when shooting vertically, which gets very uncomfortable after several hours. I finally forced myself to place my hand differently when holding it. Canon offers cheaper models with higher resolution and more features, like locking mode dials and flip-up display screens. I would also like to see Nikon add a settings display to the back screen, showing ISO, White Balance, exp. comp, etc. Canon offers this already. Only picked YES for recommending because they don't offer "Maybe" November 29, 2012
Great Features......worth my hard earned money..thanks nikon tech... this is my 3rd nikon unit 1st was when nikon launch D70 i bought 2 units...then when they launch D200....and now this D7000...if not for the malfunction ive encountered from my D200 (mybe bcoz of long usage mybe bcoz its around 2 1/2 yrs) i willl not knew how great this unit is..... November 23, 2012
awesome camera Its awesome camera suitable for all situation . well done nikon November 22, 2012
Unquestionable king of APS-C's This is the best non-full frame DSLR camera out there. Enough said. November 18, 2012
Great Camera Just upgraded from my beloved D90 (an amazing camera in its own right). The D7000 has everything I loved about the D90 + more. It's made for MANUAL shooting with very easy to use controls. Very solid feel (although I did add a battery grip for better personal comfort). Fast, accurate focusing. Great resolution. I also like that I can easily meter and manual focus older lenses. Can't wait to put the D7000 to good use. Another great Nikon product. November 16, 2012
My First Best DSLR I haven't owned any DSLR before until my favorite Olympus point and shoot (film camera) got broken. First I was looking at all the semi-pro, beginners, mid-range dslr or whatever you call it, and the D7000 was my #1 favorite. I said I'll try to use it in Auto mode first since I didn't know much how to operate a DSLR so I did. The pictures turned out great like a pro, how much more if i use all the wonderful settings with this camera. I'm very satisfied with my first DSLR. November 11, 2012
Great Camera Wonderful features. Excellent in low light. Fast to never miss that running toddler November 9, 2012
Best Semi-Pro Camera Out There Having owned the D50 for many years, and working with the D80 at my job, I was ready to upgrade to something with some more muscle. I did the research, read reviews, and the D7000 was the clear choice. The upgraded sensor and low-light capabilities are just awesome. I've shot at ISO6400 indoors with a 1.8 50mm prime and been astounded at the clarity. I wouldn't make it a habit, but shooting in those near-impossible ISO ranges is no problem at all, especially if you aren't planning on blowing the shot up tremendously for framing. The controls are pretty easy to use, especially if you are already familiar with cameras in the D series. It does way more than I will probably ever learn to use it for. Lots of pros use this as a back-up (or primary in some cases), and you can't find a bad review from anyone reputable. If you're trying to decide on a consumer-grade DSLR and you're somewhat serious about photography, the 7000 is the clear option in my opinion. November 1, 2012
Great Value for Money After many years out of it, I decided to get back in and found the D 7000 the best value for the money. There are so many cameras to choose from, but when it comes down to performance and details, there was no question. I spent a lot of time and energy in researching. Great shoots even in poor lights with great details. October 29, 2012
Everything you need for the money This is my first Digital SLR. I have owned it for just one month and cannot believe what it can do. I was raised on film in the 70's. This camera like other Nikon Digital SLR's are computers in a box with a built in photo lab. I have not even read the owners booklet yet, to venture into all the things this baby can do. If this camera is good for one thousand dollars for the body, what is the top of the line like? Personally, I cannot see spending 8 grand for a camera body. That to me is a lottery camera. I have the battery pack which attaches to the bottom for more battery juice. This camera is fast. Has many options and keeps on giving. All though todays Digital SLR's have many buttons on them which make them look intimidating, once you know what they all do, they are really not too hard. The options on this camera like other Nikons is just mind blowing. I look forward to many years with this camera, and hope to reach the potential this thing can really do. The built in auto pop up flash is great and gives lots of light for the size of it. With the camera on AUTO, I find it hard as to how you could come out with a bad photo. Just incredible is the only way for me to describe this camera. October 27, 2012
Noisy D7000 I have just returned from Africa with over 21000 photos taken with the D7000. I'm very disappointed at how noisy they are even at ISO 400 - 800. In this day and age I expect ISO 800 on any camera should be completely noise free. My D90 does a better job. Is anyone else having a noise problem with the D7000? October 23, 2012
Not a good choice I have had Nikon products for a number of years. D40X, D90, and D7000. I have always been pleased with my Nikon cameras until I got this one. It worked good for the first 4 months or so, until I made a special photo session on the beach (6hr drive) and when I looked at them they were ok got home and they wouldn't transfer to SD card. even had computer tech look at it. Finally decided it DELETED ALL my beach session photos. Can you believe that SO DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA!!!! October 22, 2012
Best DX Camera on The Market. 10-21-2012 I have owned 3 nikon DSLR Cameras D40X, D90, D7000, I have had this camers for a year and i must say even though the other two were very good the D7000 is no doubt the best, If you are just getting started in photography this is a good starting point, Good video quality, Excellent picture quality. This camera will take any beginner or advance photographer a long way in photography. has all the features you will need, most pro cameras does not have many more features than this camera. Highly Recommend this camera. October 21, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 ... 50
<<prev | next>>
302 Questions | 492 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
302 Questions | 492 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D7000
 
8 Answers

Can't open Nikon D7000 raw files in Photoshop or NX?

Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+27points
32out of 37found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful32unhelpful5
Incompatible file format. Just spent $1200 on the camera body, should be able to open the raw files. What is going on here? Is there a plug-in I can download to make this happen so I can edit the files?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
Location : 
Western Mass
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
8 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you update Photoshop's Camera RAW plugin
Jul 12, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
IN PHOTOSHOP SELECT
HELP, THEN SELECT UPDATE. CLICK ON UPDATES FOR THE LATEST UPDATE FOR THE NIKON D7000. i DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH CAMERA RAW AFTER THAT
Sep 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just went through this with Nikon Support. Make sure you have the latest version of Capture NX2 to open and edit your NEF RAW images from your D7000.
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Rick
Vancouver, WA
Location : 
Vancouver, WA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I don't know what you will need to import NEF files into Photoshop. However, the software that comes with the D7000 can save the files into a different format which you can then import into Photoshop, which is what I did originally rather than trying to bring them directly into CS2. In the end I bought Corel's product for under $100 (rather than over $1000 for CS5) which allows me to edit the NEF files directly. I would imagine the question should be directed to Adobe as to how to import NEF files into Photoshop.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download ViewNX2
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Imaging-Software/NVNX2/ViewNX-2.html

You can also download the NEF codec for Windows
http://www.nikonimglib.com/nefcodec/
May 25, 2011 by
by
wilsonpix
Dallas Texas
Location : 
Dallas Texas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check to make sure you have Bridge installed with your Photoshop. Bridge is what reads the RAW file format, opens a separate window and gives you the option to continue to open in photoshop. The other thing to do is make sure you have all the updates to PS.
Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Cobra064
California
Location : 
California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download the latest updates from Adobe and Capture and you should have no problems. The D7000 is a very late update for both.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Dodd
Provo, UT
Location : 
Provo, UT
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
6out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6
Answer: 
Make sure that you have the latest version of Nikon ViewNX 2 in order to see RAW files from your camera.

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
6 Answers

Is the AF-S DX 18-200mm ED VRII zoom lens fully compatible with the D7000?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
NY
 on D7000
+16points
20out of 24found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful4
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does. This is a fantastic lens very sharp and very versatile; leave all your other lens at home.
Jul 16, 2011 by
by
CT_Ham
East Haddam, CGT
Location : 
East Haddam, CGT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 18-200mm lens is fully compatible with the D7000
 
Products related to my answer
 
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I recently purchased the D7000 along with this lens, and I can say, not only is it compatible, it is fan-tas-tic! I love its versatility. No, it's not a 2.8, but for carrying one lens, this cannot be beat.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
SalukiJim
Saint Louis, MO
Location : 
Saint Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
All DX lenses are compatible. That does not mean that pictures will come sharp in all of them, even if the lenses are the high end ones. It's a very common issue that cameras might need to get calibrated for different specific lenses, and it's something that drive many photographers nuts because some pictures come out good and some not!
So if you are getting soft focus in some pictures don't blame yourself, blame Nikon for not explaining this issue clearly and not offering easy-to-find resources to corrected.
My opinion based on my professional experience.
 
Products related to my answer
 
D200
4.7 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Orlando
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, I have that same camera/lens combo and it works great.
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I bought both together and I don't see any incompatibliies. The range is fantastic - no more switching lenses (between wide and tele) in regular shooting. I wish the lens were a little faster (like 3.5 to 4.5 instead of 3.5 to 5.6) but otherwise it's great and pictures are sharp.

If you're just getting started, though, the D7000 is a bit of an overachiever. It's a great piece of equipment, but not for the faint of heart. Buy the lens but look at the D5000 (or even a comparable Canon or Sony) instead.
Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Bethesda, MD
Location : 
Bethesda, MD
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D7000
 
6 Answers

D7000 Professional lens for product shots.

Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+8points
12out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful4
I will be shooting liquor & Wine bottles and glasses. I will need a very sharp image with limited Depth of field
F22.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
Location : 
Norwalk CT
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have shot similar images of wine bottles and glasses with the 105mm nikkor micro and it works very well. Any of the nikkor micro lenses should give your great control of DOF, it all depends on the angle of view you want to include, in other words how much of a background do you want in your image? If lots then, use a wider micro, if you want the least background (i.e. tight compression) then the that extreme would be best served wit the 200mm micro nikkor. The 105 is a great all around micro and you can get extreme blur/bokeh to reduce the attention to a background if you have more than you like.

If you need to get extremely creative and tricky with DOF and have a larger lens budget then consider a tilt shift models.
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
if you need a limited DOF, you'll need a slight tele. you'll also need brightness, so an f/2.8 is a must. i'd suggest looking around used 90-180mm primes with at least f/2.8. micro-nikkors are also known for their sharpness, so maybe a 90mm f/2.8 micro-nikkor, using manual focus, would be the best, IMHO.
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Don't underestimate the 18-55 f/3.5- kit lens. You could also consider a prime lens, like the 35 or 50mm f/1.8G or even wait for the new affordable macro lens that Nikon is suppose to be releasing soon, just in case you really want to get some of the details.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
AntonyA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi, Try PC-E lens. 45 & 85 PC-E is really great product shot lens you can control perspective & DOF of your images, I'm using it every day because I'm product photographer. (Camera & Lens)
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You'll probably get as many opinions as there are lenses. F22 will give you a very DEEP depth of field. You can control the depth of field yourself. Rule of Thumb: "Higher number on the Fstop equals deeper DOF". You didn't specify how close you want to be, or how the shots are going to be composed, or if you're going to be in a tightly-controlled studio setting with multiple flashes arranged around the subject, so it's a little hard to say. My go to lens is the Nikkor F2.8 17-55. It's crisp, tough, and versatile. With the F2.8 that remains constant across the zoom range, you don't have to worry about your DOF changing as you zoom in and out, like you do on other lenses. The next best lens would be a "prime" lens of 35mm or 24mm. If you're in a studio environment this can be a bit challenging for framing the shot because without the zoom you need to move the table/armature or your camera's tripod (unless you have one of those cool studio tripods that lets you move the camera in the horizontal plane) to frame the shot appropriately.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

Can I use an AF NIKKOR 80-200 2.8 D lens on the D7000

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D7000
+3points
6out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
I am not in the market for professional dslr's. Which dslr's are compatible with this lens ?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You most certainly can use the 80-200mm f/2.8 lens on the D7000
Nov 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have been using the 80-200mm f/2.8D ED with the D7000 for the past month and it works fine.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D80, D90 and a D7000 which the lens fits perfectly! I not had any problems.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonTracy
Shreveport/Bossier
Location : 
Shreveport/Bossier
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I am pretty sure!!
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I have used that lens on my Nikon D90 so it should work on the Nikon D7000 which is the replacement model of mine. ;)
Mar 7, 2011 by
by
akoRICHARD
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

D7000 problem.

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
WendiS
 on D7000
+20points
21out of 22found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful21unhelpful1
Does anyone know what this issue is?
Does Nikon Pay for the shipping?
Is Nikon quick and fixing the problem?
Pictures are showing up with the brightest colors in the pic over enhanced, for instants the yellows, blues and greens look like smears of magic marker and download that way too. I've been told it's the sensor. Just bought the camera a few month ago. I guess I have to send it in. How quick is Nikon? I need my camera and will they pay for the shipping? Has anyone had this problem with the D7000 and dealt with repairs? Thanks!
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
WendiS
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree, reset the camera or re-adjust the colors. It sounds like you may have inadvertantly changed the color settings from within the camera. I just purchased this camera and I have to tell you, I love it. Plane and simple... The menus are at first confusing but once you start playing around and learning all the features, it will be like second nature. You can remove the battery and let the camera sit for a period of time to discharge the onboard memory. This may reset the camera for you. Good Luck and keep on shooting!
Feb 11, 2012 by
by
buddha65281
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Keith, I thought perhaps I selected vivid, but it's not set to that. I am viewing them on the camera and then they download to Nikon NX2 this way as well, I'm assuming, they would print thisway.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
WendiS

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends on where the nikon service repair is.
If you have a technical support in your town, you should probably get it there, in that case, no shipping costs. I had once to bring my old d200 to repair service and got it back in 5 days. Depends also what the problem is.
Nikon is a trustworthy company, but if you have a problem, you should ask your reseller first.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I would guess this person has been in the Picture Controls section and has chosen to modify saturation and/or hue via the Vivid setting. Go to Shooting Menu > Set Picture Control > Vivid, and adjust the settings to neutral.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Boone
South Lyon, MI
Location : 
South Lyon, MI
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
I would first check to make sure you have not inadvertently adjusted the picture controls and over saturated. What are you using to view images and are they jpeg or RAW.
Apr 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

No Body Cap

Nov 5, 2011 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
 on D7000
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Just bought the D7000 as a package and there was no body cap. Doesn't it come with one? I am definitely returning this...
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
Location : 
Bel Air, Md.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Folks,
I am the original person who wrote this post. Sorry that I never responded. I returned said camera and there was supposed to be a body cap. The store thinks someone returned it and kept the cap. I was very concerned that dust could have gotten into the camera which of course would be a disaster. I absolutely love my camera. I am now a member of a gallery where I have my photography on exhibit. I highly recommend this camera! NIKON ROCKS!!
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Maryland

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm only about a year too late for this question but my answer remains the same: YOU NEED A BODY CAP.
Some people will just stick a lens on the body and never take it off but if you are wanting to store your camera or load it for travel you are going to need that body cap to protect the mirror/image sensor from damage and dust. Camera companies provide caps for a reason. The people above me who are freaking out about you returning your camera over such a simple thing most likely don't care for there cameras and let dust get into the body of the camera. Dust will damage your camera.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I ironically never use my cap anyway but It is such a minor mistake that it is not worth making a fuss. Just call nikon and tell them what happened. I love my D7000
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
KyoshiB

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Really? You're returning the entire camera because of a small mistake? Yes. The bodies are supposed to come with caps. Why not just contact Nikon. I'm sure they'd be happy to send you a body cap free of charge. When my camera came from a Nikon dealer, it was missing the plug for the charger. One phone call, and a few days later the plug came in the mail. You could also visit your local camera store. Camera stores often have body caps floating around they'll just give you.
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
It does come with a body cap! Cannot imagine how you got it without that attached. I would return it too and get an exchange - don't know what might have gotten inside if the cap was not on it. Read the manual / papers that came with it to be sure all items are in the box that are supposed to be. I was stumped on a couple items, only to find they were already attached to the camera and not 'loose' in the box. I LOVE my D7000 and have been using it just over a month now. I highly recommend sticking with it if you wanted a high quality Nikon! Good luck. :)
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
L3gsd
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Since I almost exclusively shoot air shows I think I can answer your question.

Your asking about zoom capabilities, not wide angle.

I have rented and used the Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8 along with the X1.7 or X2 teleconverter and had good success. This combination is good for reach, great for clarity and sharpness on a bright sunny day, but not so good when you do need to back out for a wide angle shot.

Next would be the Sigma 150-500mm. I used this for several years. Not quite as sharp as the above, but 100mm more reach and about the same wide angle.

I now use the Sigma (Bigma) 50-500mm and I'm very pleased with this lens.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 10, 2013 by
by
RangerDoc275
Greater Seattle
Location : 
Greater Seattle
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You mentioned you want the biggest picture possible? If you want the most "view" in your photo, you will want a wide angle...something like 10-24mm is considered ultra-wide. However, if you mean the biggest picture possible in terms of image resolution, that mainly has to do with the camera body itself.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Anonymous,
What you need is a very long,100's of mm lens, and a gyroscope. Check in your local area for availability for purchase or rental.
Good Luck.
Mike
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
ForensicPhotog
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
A wide angle lens will certainly increase your field of view in the photo.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I'm sick of Sony handycams - need one camera that can do it all. Want a Nikon like the D7000, but cannot tolerate only 20 minutes of video. Will buy large memory card, need to be able to record for hours.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Steve
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 20 minute time limit is because of double tax increases in europe. they count the camera as a video camera and still image camera after a certain mbps on video with a time limit.

Canon cameras are only 12min. but they have different Frames per second.

this is really not a big deal unless you are doing intervews, but, time your shots inbetween questions. I can't imagine someone answering a question for 20 min.
Nov 14, 2011 by
by
SSeanMHH
Orange County
Location : 
Orange County
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have not received a direct answer as to why the Nikon D7000 has a 20 minute video recording cap. I did find the following answers but, I could not find any documentation to prove their validity:

1- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent the camera's sensor from overheating (no proof of this)
2- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent higher taxes incurred. If the camera recorded longer, it would be categorized as a camcorder thus increasing taxes.
(no proof of this)

This 20 minute limitation may not hinder a person from creating feature films and short films but, this limitation does pose a problem for applications that require interviews. It would seem rude to stop a person in the middle of their story to tell them that they need to wait for you to press the record button again.

Hopefully, there will be a firmware update to remove this limitation.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4
Answer: 
Maybe in 10 years your dream will come true.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, there is a 20 minute limit per shot, but the camera lets you take as many of those 20 minute shots until the SD card is full. While I don't agree with Nikon's time limit, most professionals will not record for more than 10 seconds at a time anyways. Next time you're in a movie theater or watching TV, check it out. Camera angles switch every 5-10 seconds to keep the audience's interest.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Trying to shoot in manual, and the shutter will not release unless I accept the metered reading in the viewfinder I keep getting a R-10 displayed in th window, nothing that I can find in the manual covers this, what am I doing wrong
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Rufous03
Calgary
Location : 
Calgary
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
By default, there is a setting in the camera's menus which prevent the camera from taking a picture if the picture is out of focus. In some lighting conditions the camera will not be able to use the auto focus function and will not fire. You can overcome this in several ways. 1. Putting the camera in "M" and using the focus ring on the lens. 2. Changing the setting in the menu so that it will allow the camera to fire, even if it is not in focus (not recommended), turn off the auto focus function on the lens (if it has it) and on the camera (switch on the side of the lens, and a switch on the body of the camera, to the lower right of the lens as you face the front of the camera. Note: BOTH switches must be turned off at the same time to prevent damage to the lens or the camera. You should also check your metering to see if it's set correctly. There are several different metering modes which will affect your picture. Also, if memory serves me, the camera will not take a picture in M mode if the picture is going to be severely over-exposed. If, for instance, you set the photo up for a shutter speed of 1/30 and an aperture of f3.5, the camera won't fire. I have experienced this myself, and though there is nothing in the user's manual about it that I can find, I assume it's to protect the sensor and other equipment from damage.
Jun 27, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
San Francisco Area
Location : 
San Francisco Area
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
yup, use either shutter speed (faster for underexposure, slower for overexposure), or if DOF is not an issue, change the aperture. or, change the ISO. in manual mode exposure correction is not a valid option as nothing is automatic so it's entirely up to you what settings you use.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
R-10 refers to the amount of shots remaining in the buffer and has no relevance to whether the camera releases the shutter or not. If you are shooting in manual then you under expose by altering the shutter speed, the only thing that would stop the camera from firing would be if focus has not been achieved, try focusing manually.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
You have it on [M] and it won't take the picture? The only thing that should stop it from exposing under full manual is insufficient battery to complete the exposure, full memory card, or it being out-of-focus and set to require focus to expose and in auto-focus. Meter shouldn't play into it.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
BrucePaul
Iowa City, IA
Location : 
Iowa City, IA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
4 Answers

Does the D7000 take black and white video?

Jun 28, 2011 by
by
AlexD
 on D7000
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Can I take black & white video with the D7000? Also, does it support the mode where you can select a color or colors to display in an otherwise B&W video?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
AlexD
4 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yup, use picture control. however, i'd advise against it -- you don't get to select the channel mix. my advice: shoot in color and aim for best contrast range, then use a decent video editing software and use a filter to do the b&w conversion. remember: if you shoot b&w, you can't go back and adjust the channel mix, neither can you change your mind afterwards if you wanted that shot in color. so: use neutral picture controls, shoot the video in color with a decent dynamic range, then mess it up later in post-prod. :)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Agree with KeithD. B&W can be taken by setting Picture Control to Monochrome (info display will show "MC"). All effects in "Retouch" menu (in camera post-processing) are not available for video, either while taking the video or during in camera post-processing.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does, just change the picture control to monochrome.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
No, but you can use post-processing software to change it to B&W.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years