Loading

Key Features

12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS Image Sensor
Delivers stunning high resolution, low-noise images with striking detail and tonal gradation.

Nikon EXPEED Image Processing
Drives breathtakingly rich image fidelity, low noise and fast image processing.

One-button Live View
Hand-held and Tripod Live View Modes, activated with one-button, for challenging studio and remote shooting conditions.

Low Noise ISO Sensitivity from 200 to 3200
Additional expanded ISO settings of Lo-1 (ISO 100 equivalent) and Hi-1 (ISO 6400 equivalent) extend versatility to match shooting requirements.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Nikon’s unique RGB metering—the only sensor that also evaluates color information when determining exposures with remarkable accuracy..

Dual memory card slots (CF and SD)
Assign card functions from a variety of storage options, optimizing available memory and file handling.

Picture Control Settings
Select from 4 preset image capture preferences (Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome, plus 9 user customizable settings) controlling Sharpening, Contrast, Brightness, Saturation and Hue.

In-Camera Image Editing
Exclusive in-camera image editing, featuring Edit movie, D-Lighting, Image Overlay, Monochrome, NEF (RAW) processing and more.

100% Viewfinder Accuracy

Up to 950 shots per EN-EL3e battery charge*
Shoot as many as 2,950 shots with the body’s EN-EL3e battery installed and the optional MB-D10 Multi-Power Battery Pack with an EN-EL4a Rechargeable Li-ion Battery*.
* based on CIPA standards/guidelines.

Continuous Shooting up to 7 fps
High speed shooting and fast response—essential to versatile performance in a wide variety of shooting disciplines.

D-Movie HD Video
Capture striking 24 fps, 720p HD movie clips, enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility—featuring external stereo Mic input and AF operation.

3-inch Super-density 921,000-dot VGA LCD Monitor
Every monitor is factory-calibrated to assure accurate color for critical still image review and Live View or D-Movie shooting.

Fast, Accurate 51-point Autofocus
Features 4 Dynamic AF modes including 3D Focus Tracking for precise autofocus and razor sharp images.

Scene Recognition System
Referencing an onboard image database and teamed with RGB metering, SRS enables even more sophisticated determination of exposures and auto white balance, along with faster, more accurate autofocus.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System
Ultrasonic process combats the accumulation of dust in front of the image sensor, safeguarding image quality.

Nikon's Active D-Lighting
Optimizes shadow and highlight detail in real time—Selectable values and 5-frame ADL bracketing offer complete control.

Rugged and Durable
The strength and precision of magnesium-alloy construction with advanced dust and moisture countermeasures is teamed with a shutter mechanism tested to beyond 150,000 cycles for real-world reliability.

Virtual Horizon Graphic Indicator

Price: ESP 1699.95* D300S Body only (Product Number 25464). Other outfits available

D300S 4.8 5 101 101
great! just bought a refurbished D300s.. fantastic camera.. went for the reliability and durablility over the " yet to be proven" D7000. Fast writing to my cards at 8fps. like having an emergency built-in-flash over the D3. 12 megapixels is plenty. really like the DX sensor ( magnification). Highly recommended. 2 cards slots offers some piece of mind while shooting as a backup. Honestly, I don't use it for video. June 6, 2011
Solid feels like a real camera Menus are easy to set up and change. Focus system is highly flexible when there is a need to go from a spot to area focus. This camera actually feels and performs like the film cameras and has all the advantages of the digital technology. A very nice touch is no automatic flash from the built flash unit in marginal circumstance. My preference is for non "DX" type lenses; when a non "DX" lens is used, the camera behaves much like the 35mm cameras of yesterday. June 4, 2011
Great camera for the price! I use this camera for my academy class and i have to say that this camera is full of neat features. Its ease of use makes it easy for me to reach around and adjust settings easily, and it has a solid, firm grip. The image quality, given with the right lens (I love to use macro 105mm for portraits) produces stunning image quality given the amount of money you pay for it. The video quality is questionable however because you need to use a high data transfer card in order to get rid of the sway effect that the video produces when you move the camera around. But nonetheless, this camera is awesome! May 31, 2011
Good lens, bang for the buck I got this lens since there is no other lens in Nikkor family that is 400mm and so inexpensive. I noticed it has no SWM thus it makes it a bit slower to focus depending on what camera body you've got. However I have shot numerous birds and animals with this one and I am not at all disappointed. I'd highly recommend for anyone looking for a super zoom lens. May 19, 2011
Best camera I ever owned Great pictures, video that meets my needs as I never have long takes and a lot of built in useful functions like an intervalometer, having the on board flash act as commander for my SB800 and 2 SB600's. It may be a bit heavy, but such is the price of rock solid. May 9, 2011
I bought my D300S camera just last week and i can tell you this is an amazing camera. Easy to use, very fast and accurate when focusing on the subject. Picture always come out perfect, very well made and lots of interesting stuff to learn on this Camera. May 8, 2011
Work Horse I have replace my D2X with this camera and love it! Considering buying another one. The addition of HD Video saved me from purchasing a Video camera as All I need is short clips. April 23, 2011
Couldn't be happier! Absolutely excellent. Tough enough to schlep around with me when hiking through abandoned buildings and extremely capable of handling low-light situations with very little noise - especially in video. April 22, 2011
A Timeless Instrument First, I owned the D200. I still use it. What a wonderful instrument. When I needed another body, I got the D300s. Is it much better? No. But keep in mind that I can't really think of any way that Nikon could improve this camera for me. They were starting with the best DSLR I had ever used. I don't typically shoot in low light so that performance is irrelevant to me. Moreover, I need something relatively portable so a D3 was out. This body does it all. Basically, you get top notch autofocus, legendary metering, a tank-like body, and intuitive controls. Assuming you have great lenses (which are 90% of the equation) I guarantee you that the photographer will become the limiting factor. If the fact that many respected photographers still use the D200's means anything, I expect the D300s to similarly be a machine that will continue to take magnificent pictures years and years from now. April 20, 2011
Great features I purchase the D300s almost nine months ago along with the 18-200 AFS-VR. This camera is loaded with features, I really like how easy it is to customize to fit different shooting styles and the two card slots are great. The dedicated buttons are great and it is soo easy to change the most frequent settings without going into the menu. Wonderful Camera. AF button is great, since I started using it I have never looked back. Focus is very fast and very accurate. Great camera. April 19, 2011
A dream come true This is what photography should have been a long time ago. The features and capabilities of this instrument (which is really what it is) are far beyond my expectations. The more I explore the capabilities of this equipment, the wider my imagination opens to the capabilities and possibilities. With out a doubt, this is the most impressive and powerful camera I have ever owned, and I have been a serious non-professional for many, many years. I would recommend this equipment to anyone who is interested in the power of digital photography and has a serious interest and or passion about taking and enjoying pictures. April 17, 2011
Great camera Solid build,excellent picture quality.MD-D10 makes it even nicer. April 15, 2011
Love this camera I love this camera! All of the controls are easy to get to, it just fits perfectly in my large hands. The battery grip and battery match up with the D700 which is a huge plus. The video is a nice little bonus to use when needed, but not necessary. Camera is responsive, well built and not too large to carry around all day long. I am always confident that my camera will perform when needed, no matter what the weather is or where I am at. April 14, 2011
Awesome camera for any situation My D300s has become my best friend and I take it everywhere I go. This camera has never let me down regardless of lighting conditions or type of event. When called upon to cover a basketball game, I outfitted it with my 70-200 F2.8 telephoto lens and it performed superbly. Got some great shots of fast, dynamic action, in low light conditions. Whatever the condition: Bring it On!!! April 14, 2011
great body does all that you ask. the camera has more skills than you April 14, 2011
Amazing camera! I got my DSLR feet wet with a D50, then sold it to my sister and bought a D80. I love that camera and have taken thousands of photos with it but really wanted a faster frame rate so I decided to buy a D300s and all I can say is WOW! I've only had it for about a month but I've already taken over 1,000 photos with it and I cannot believe how much I like it. The frame rate is awesome - it fires so fast that it reminds me of a machine gun. What I didn't expect is to like the D300s so much for other reasons, like it seems to focus faster, the colors seem more natural and I like how the controls are set up so it's quicker to change settings than with my D80. The D300s is a little bigger but I like that, too - I'm female and don't have very big hands but I find it more comfortable to hold. Besides the faster frame rate I didn't expect to be so impressed with the D300s, but I am. April 14, 2011
WOW! What a superior piece of equipment. My first Nikon, I just changed platforms. I am so impressed with the quality of the product that I can achieve with this camera. A rugged,well thought out camera body. April 14, 2011
great all around camera Recently purchased D300s for a photo safari to Tanzania. Great camera to use with wonderful results. April 14, 2011
This is one fine camera. Tremendous value for the money. Excellent features and fairly easy to operate. Because the features are extensive, it does take some time to know what they are and how to apply them. I've had the camera for five months and still have a lot learn. The pop-up flash on a high level camera like this is very useful for fill flash outside. Changing white balance and ISO settings is convenient as well as things like exposure balance and mode. I really like this camera. April 14, 2011
Great Camera! I love my D300S. It replaced my D70S, which in itself was terrific. (I am a Nikon user from way back. My first Nikon camera was a Nikon F. The D300S is my fifth Nikon model.) As an amateur photographer, I find the D300S's many features easy to use and master. I especially like my f3.5 18-200mm lens which is versatile enough for almost all my picture-taking needs. I also appreciate the large picture review screen and its pan-and-magnifiy capabilities. The 12.3 Mega-pixel count, fast shutter and burst speeds, the high ISO ratings, and the multitude of other options make me feel like a professional with the D300S in my hands. April 14, 2011
Great I love my camera i buy last year, i use for nature photography April 14, 2011
Great Camera I have upgraded to this camera from D90. I instantly fell in love with it. I am a wedding/portrait photographer and this camera has produced excellent results. I find D300s and Nikkor 17-55mm F2.8 a perfect combination. You can't go wrong with it. April 12, 2011
Nikon D300s Camera I am very satisfied with this camera. This is an excellent product. Photography is my favorite hobby and I have many fun moments with the Nikon D300s Camera. I highly recommend it! This a excellent choice!! April 9, 2011
Great for advanced hobbyiest I made an upgrade to this camera from a Nikon D70. The transition was very smooth, and fast. After having the camera for almost 6 months, I still cant believe it can do 8 frame per second! The investment in the MB-D10 was well worth it, and made the camera so much more fun to use. I am do too much time lapse photography with this thing, and its just so much fun. March 24, 2011
Nice camera I have taken photos at football games with great results. March 6, 2011
Love this camera This is my first "real" camera. I recently have become interested in photography and find it relaxing to take pics and post them online. This camera rocks, it makes the images come alive and it's easy to learn how to use it. With the right lenses I've learned that there is no limit to what you can do with pics. Enjoy the pics attached! March 6, 2011
In the first weeks of having this camera I was intimidated by all the buttons, options and menus. My first step in cutting thru this jungle of information was to follow the small "Getting started" book that came with the camera. After that I bought the D300 Field guide and my world brighten. This camera is truly a Work of Art. It never ceases to amaze me in expressing my creativity. Thanks Nikon! March 1, 2011
Powerful and, yet so simple to use I got hooked on Nikon cameras over thirty years ago when I got a Nikon FE2 body at a very low price, and after shooting my first 36 frames I traded in that other camera manufacturer's product and went all Nikon. Here we are today I just traded in my D70 and brought a D300S and it has been a dream. I recommend it to any photographer advanced or professional. If you are new to Photography and really want to use Nikon product get a lower level model, panic not, you will purchase a D300S soon. Next stop, faster lens and faster memory cards. - Nikon Priceless!!! February 23, 2011
Solid Camera I was debating between this camera and the 7D. Even though heavily invested with lenses compatible with the 7D, I was constantly having issues with broken equipment from "those guys" and made the switch over to Nikon with the D300s. It's a solid camera. I've put this beast through some pretty harsh shooting conditions in heavy snowfall and freezing temperatures. It hasn't failed me yet. This camera was even knocked over from a fully extended tripod and hit lens first onto a marble floor. The only damage done was a cracked lens filter. Even still, I've seen lenses bust clean off cameras from lesser falls taking the lens mountings with them. The D300s is a tank. Having said that, it is a little on the heavy side but that is a small issue to deal with. Picture quality is as decent as any other DX dslr that I have shot or compared to within it's range. It shoots pretty clear up to 1000 iso, and if I need something higher than that, I prefer to throw a flash on. My biggest complaint with the censor is the smaller 12.3 mega pixels. Although the censor is larger than its competitor, it leaves less room for cropping tighter photos if need. This has been avoided for me though by just switching to a telephoto, or a more appropriate lens that fills the frame the way I want it. Which, by the way, after making a brand switch I find myself in love with Nikon's lenses. I also shoot a lot of video. This of course, is a dlsr and not a video camera. If you are looking for something mainly for video, this is not it. However, I enjoy doing both but hate having to carry an extra camera for video. I've been able to produce some decent work with the D300s. It works very well for news sites when I need to video for a paper's website. I've also produced a few snowboarding videos shot only with this camera. There are a couple downers though. First, you'll need to pick up an external microphone if you plan on using sound. Even then, use manual focus for two reasons. It's faster, and if you use the auto focus, you'll hear what sounds like a machine gun caused by the focusing of the lens picked up by the microphone. I STRONGLY suggest reading the manual before shooting video. There are many tips to reduce screen flicker and other such things to make your videos better. The other thing is that this isn't the best of cameras to shoot video without using a tripod. At least I gave up on it. There is no vibration reduction built into the camera, so moving around with it while shooting video will give a massive amount of shake during playback. I also wish Nikon would of gave the option to choose frame rate for video. Would be nice to have 60 fps when I need to slow motion down. I take a lot of low light photos and I'm very please with the AF assist beam on this baby. It works great, even though when using a 2.8 lens or larger, the beam hits the front of the lens. Even though this happens, it still works to some extent and much better than a flow of flashes that *cough *cough those other guys use. Overall, I love this camera. It fits all my needs with minimal equipment. It's tough as nails. Picture/video quality is great. The 7fps is sweet. As a still camera, it can't be beat. Video features could use some work in later models. Like manual control, quite full-time focusing, a choice of frame rates and built in vibration reduction would be nice. Buy this camera, you won't be disappointed. February 22, 2011
Awesome DX DSLR!! I recently purchased this body in lieu of the D7000 because of some features that it had over it. It's super rugged and I love the feel of it in my hands more so than the other crop sensor DSLR's out there. I've only had it for a couple weeks and despite all the functions it has I've quickly learned to utilize them and have set the camera up to how I want it. Coupled with some good glass all in all this is an outstanding camera body! I'll definitely enjoy lugging this around when I don't want to carry around my D3s. February 11, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
44 Questions | 58 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
44 Questions | 58 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D300S
 
3 Answers

Why Nikon's result a bit yellow compare with other brands??

Apr 29, 2011 by
by
DannyA
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
DannyA
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This is mainly because of your WB settings. I think, you can play with it.
Jan 18, 2012 by
by
satish
Belgaum, Karnataka, India
Location : 
Belgaum, Karnataka, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your color depends on what you have your white balance set to. If it's too warm, you need to set it to be more cool. Use kelvin if you don't like the presets.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
Sharon
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify the settings that you have in your camera or reset the custom settings. Each manufacture has different sensors, color space and resolutions.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

Does the Nikon D300S come with a 1/4 socket or do you have to buy one?

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Ronordious
Pa, Usa
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Ronordious
Pa, Usa
Location : 
Pa, Usa
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it has the 1/4 socket for a tripod.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This model has Tripod socket of 1/4.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

Largest size memory card

Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Pat
California
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+8points
9out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
what is the largest card and what cards do you recommend. I was looking at a new compact flash card that is 600x and 32 gig. Will it work in my D300s?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Pat
California
Location : 
California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - D300S
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
From what I can tell from Rob Galbraith's article about the new 600x Cards from Sandisk, the 64GB cards will in the D300s.

But I would not recommend you using this size. It's desirable having smaller memory because of possible damaging and data backup.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D300S
 
2 Answers

what is the size of the RAW file, in Megapixs? culd not find in book/thank you!

Jun 12, 2011 by
by
Patrick
Franklin, Ohio 45005
 on D300S
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Patrick
Franklin, Ohio 45005
Location : 
Franklin, Ohio 45005
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its hard to put a MP to a raw shot, many factors come into play Raw uncompressed stores the image as shot (no loss of data) where JPEG post processes after the shot ie. white ballance, sharpening, quality and size etc and it loses information. So raw size varies by how much data is stored the amount of colors 12bit or 14bit etc all come into play. I find in an 8GB card I can get 300+- 20 shots in raw and in TIF 200 to 830 depending on size and in JPEG 1,000 to 15,500 depending on size and quality. I shoot with a D300s
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
turp77
Plainfield CT
Location : 
Plainfield CT
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends what you got it set at, varies between 10.5mb for a 12 bit compressed to 25mb for a 14bit uncompressed, refer to page 394 of your manual for all specs.
Jun 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

Is this camera capable of auto programing in manual mode?

Jun 19, 2011 by
by
Steve
Fountain Valley,CA, USA
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
If so, how do I program it to fire off three or four exposures rapidly that are pre-set at different shutter speeds?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Steve
Fountain Valley,CA, USA
Location : 
Fountain Valley,CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
you're talking about exposure bracketing. i don't know by heart if the d300s does it (it may, check your manual for bracketing).
Jun 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
It’s not possible to set the camera for continuous shooting at different shutter speeds.
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

what lens's are compatible with the nikon D300S?

Sep 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D300S
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here's the link to a great article that talks about the different types of NIKKOR lenses and which Nikon bodies they work with: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Sep 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff2

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
All Nikon lens.
Sep 11, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have misplaced mine and im unable to find a part number/name for this product
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Tim O'R
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
1k467-300 for the rubber cover for the battery pack on the bottom of the camera
Jun 9, 2012 by
by
DaddySS
New Jersey

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I assume you mean the hotshoe for the flash, that is a BS-1 shoe cap
Jan 4, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Jackson, NJ, USA
Location : 
Jackson, NJ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
on a sunny day you should be fine as the f/stop goes, obviously 2.8 is fast n blur free in low light,
the most difference you will see is the glass itself as far as the quality of photo. The 70-200mm being pro glass the image quality will be better for sure...and the 18-200 at 4.5 or 5.6 whatever the fastest aperture is, will have difference in background as opposed to 2.8...
hope this helps...
Jun 15, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 70-200 F2.8 is a much better lens than the 18-200mm F3.5-5.6. Optically the 70-200 is far superior and is a great lens, which gives a much better image, also you are able to use aperture F2.8 all the way through from 70mm to 200mm. The build quality of the 70-200 is also much better, it feels much more solid and well made. The 18-200mm is a jack of all trades lens but master of none. The image quality can change dramatically between 18-200mm and with different aperture settings. Hence the difference in price.
Mar 17, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

How do I get the 51points to show in the view finder?

Jun 13, 2012 by
by
taylowa
Alabama, USA
 on D300S
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'm trying to make my new D300s show all 51 points, or even the 9 or 21 points, so I can move my POF to the side if I wanted to do an off center picture.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
1 year, 10 months ago
by
taylowa
Alabama, USA
Location : 
Alabama, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
hi
I’m sure this is discussed in the manual.
If you look under Support section here, you can download the manual or ask service and support
if you can not find it.
I would assume it has to do with the Auto-Focus Modes you have in camera.
I own an older D2X and can control which sensors are active and recompose shot if need be,..
hope this helps...
Jun 14, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You'll need to set the Focus Point Selection to Single Point in order to manually select the Focus Point. Please see page # 78 of the user's manual for the D300s regarding Focus Point Selection.
Jun 14, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D300S
 
2 Answers

using both SD and CF in D300s

Jan 31, 2013 by
by
Ruben
Armenia
 on D300S
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
On my D300s I use 2 memory cards (16 GB SanDisk Extreme CompactFlash and 16 GB SanDisk Extreme SD). Both cards work fine, but the camera shows only one card total number of shoots. For example: jpeg (fine) - 1.4k, instead of 2.8k.
Is it normal?

P.S. the secondary card SD set up for overflow.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Ruben
Armenia
Location : 
Armenia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this is normal. When shooting to 2 memory cards, the camera will show only the card that will run out of space first, at the current setting. This information can also be found at the bottom of page 72 of your D300s user manual : "Using Two Memory Cards"
Jan 31, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Only shows remaining shots on card in primary slot.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers