Loading

A full-frame Nikon for your full-time passion.

If you've been looking to take your passion to the next level with full-frame HD-SLR performance, your wait is over. Now the power of a pro-level Nikon FX-format camera—stunning full-frame images, cinema-quality 1080p videos, superior low-light performance, blazing fast framing and burst rates, built-in HDR, wireless photo sharing and much more—is attainable in a compact, lightweight HD-SLR. Optimized for full-frame shooting and versatility, streamlined for compactness and value, the D600 will fuel your passion like never before.
photo of a woman in a long red dress shot indoors

FX-quality images and HD videos

Nikon’s most compact full-frame HD-SLR ever

Passionate photographers who seek exceptional full-frame, high-resolution performance rely on Nikon FX-format HD-SLRs. For the first time ever, that level of performance is available in a compact, affordable HD-SLR. D600's 24.3 megapixel FX-format CMOS sensor captures every detail with lifelike sharpness. Its EXPEED 3 processing system manages all that data with remarkable speed and accuracy, enabling up to 5.5 frames-per-second (fps) continuous shooting at full resolution. And the low-light performance synonymous with Nikon is again proven deserved—shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, expandable down to 50 and up to 25,600 for extreme situations.
photo of a man selling nuts at a market, and a closeup view of nuts

The beauty is in the details

Highly accurate AF System for superior sharpness

One of the keys to capturing razor-sharp images and HD videos—whether shooting through the viewfinder or with the LCD monitor—is a fast, precise autofocus system, and the D600 has one of the best. 39 focus points with wide-area AF coverage offer endless compositional possibilities. Nine cross-type sensors and seven center focus points work all the way down to f/8 for extended AF functionality with teleconverters and long-reach lenses. When shooting photos or HD video in Live View, Nikon’s responsive contrast-detect AF activates for accurate fulltime autofocusing. Every moment you capture will be razor sharp.
photo of a city at night, in low light

Unwavering exceptional performance

Flawless metering and onboard intelligence

The D600 delivers consistently beautiful images and HD videos, thanks to Nikon’s intelligent Scene Recognition System with 3D Color Matrix Metering II. Its 2,016 pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and the scene colors, all within the time it takes to press the shutter release button. That data is then referenced against an onboard image database for consistently accurate exposures, auto white balance, i-TTL flash and subject-tracking autofocus performance.
 
     

Cinema-quality HD video projects

Pro-level 1080p HD video recording features

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that empower and inspire filmmakers and video enthusiasts, and the D600 is proof of that commitment. Shoot 1080p HD videos with selectable frame rates of 30p, 25p or 24p and MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 compression. Bend time with 720p HD at 60p, 50p or 30p for ultra-smooth video playback of fast moving subjects, or create slow-motion footage during post processing. Maintain your creative vision with manual exposure control, fulltime AF with face-priority and subject tracking, dedicated inputs for a stereo mic and headphones, saving a selected still frame from video, and much more. Enhance all that with the dramatic perspectives and depth-of-field control of NIKKOR interchangeable lenses, and you'll dazzle with every video project.

photo of a photographer looking into the viewfinder of the D600 while a model sits in a scene, along with the shot of the model on a smartphone

Wi-Fi camera control and mobile photo sharing

Optional WU-1b wireless mobile adapter

With Wi-Fi compatibility, the D600 makes sharing photos even easier. Connect the optional WU-1b Wireless Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the D600—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots!
two photos of a woman against a rust covered wall, one looking at the camera, one with her eyes closed

Lighting studio optional

The D600’s built-in pop-up flash opens up new shooting possibilities—and not just in low-light situations. Even well lit subjects can benefit from a balanced fill flash for extra depth and dimension. And since the D600’s flash integrates with Nikon’s i-TTL system, it can act as a Commander and communicate crucial exposure information to two groups of remote flashes across three channels for accurate lighting and exceptional results.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights for endless creative expression to the WU-1b Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi sharing and camera control, your system can grow with you.


WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

D600 Body Only

Price $2,099.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

24-85mm VR Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Price $2,699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

Two Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VRAF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Price $3,349.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D600 3.4 5 223 223
Brand new with spots on the sensor I purchased the Nikon D600 kit from Costco last week with great expectation. The pictures had spots all over them especially in the left upper corner. I called Nikon and they simply said I can send the camera in for testing and repair, or I can go to the vendor and return it. After debating I'm choosing to return it. I don't have confidence in a product that has problems right out of the box. After looking more into the issue, which I didn't know is being called "oil spots" by many, apparently this is a wide spread problem that wasn't discussed in many excellent reviews I read about the camera - which lead me to consider and buy it in the first place. I added two samples reduced to 72 dpi. The blue is a full frame shot of clear sky, and the other is a section of upper left frame section. Both show the spot. When you see them at high res @ 100% you really get upset. I wish I had a direct communication possibility with Nikon. Not just a careless operator on the other side of a call doing her job. All my life I used Canon products. 35 years shooting. I wanted to make this switch with this camera. I guess I stay with Canon for now. March 5, 2013
Extremely Disappointed!!! My wife and I were very excited when the Nikon D600 came out since it offered the Full Frame option at an affordable price. We noticed that Cost-co was offering the camera for $2900 with the 24-85 VR Lens and the 70-300 VR Lens. When we took the camera through its paces we were not satisfied with the quality of the pictures in either the DX or FX mode. The picture quality did not seem to match with our Canon Rebel Xs 12 MP camera and was purchased a few years ago at a quarter of the price as that of the D600. We returned the camera and since Costco had lowered the price $900 we decided to try again. The picture quality of this the new D600 was substantially better than the previous one. We figured we got a lemon the first time and were very happy with the new camera until we were taking pictures in Sedona. After we took pictures at one location I put the camera in the case until we arrived at the next location. When I took the camera out of the bag at the next place we stopped with a great overlook to my amazement the 24-85 mm autofocus had stopped working. I changed lenses to the 70-300 lens an it too would not autofocus. I changed lenses several times back and forth adjusting the lenses and the camera settings to see if some of the settings has changed and it did not appear that they had. All I did was set the camera in the bag between locations. I ended up taking the camera to a camera shop and they confirmed that for some reason the lenses were not working. So off to Costco we went again to return the Camera and get a new one. We received a new camera and were getting ready to take it out to the botanical garden and in setting the camera up and running it through its paces immediately I realized that the viewfinder focus adjust dial would not focus at all so you could clearly see what you were shooting. I view this as a lack of quality control on Nikons part and since this was the third camera in three months we decided it was not worth the money and we returned it. We are very disappointed and debated on trying a fourth but we decided we will wait for something better to come along. 3 tries, 3 problems not the quality you would expect in a professional camera. March 3, 2013
Dirt everywhere Bought the "new" D600 after purchasing the D800 with the infamous left focus and oil problem that occurs in many of the early D800's. Loved the IQ of the D600, had no clue that the higher the f/stop the more dirt shown on my images, so I set out on the trip of a lifetime, took some fabulous shots in the Southwestern U.S. only to find when I got back to Virginia that I was going to have to spend hours of laborious "cleaning" in Photoshop to make the NEF files presentable in any size above 4"X6" Obviously, the D600 and I have parted ways. I sold it at a bargain basement price with the disclosure that the camera was "trash." I don't know what path Nikon is taking right now, but I think they need to rethink EVERYTHING they're doing. I understand about the Tsunami and the flooding in Thailand, but this is NOT what I think of when I think Nikon. The worst note: I sold a wonderfully productive and weather sealed D3X to purchase these "lower-end" consumer-grade cameras. I will be much more careful in the future. I now own 2 D800's, both of which have been to Melville already. That's a first for me. I've NEVER had to send a camera body to Melville since I took up photography in 1975! I DO NOT recommend the D600 to friends, relatives, enemies, or people I generally dislike for no reason. January 25, 2013
OIL & DUST SPOTS! I upgraded from my D90 to get the D600; I have about 1000 shots on my D600 and started recently seeing spots on the images when I loaded them to my laptop; I went into the camera settings and cleaned the sensor. I took it out for a few sunset shots yesterday Jan 20, 2013 and some images had 20-30 spots on them 'MANY MORE SPOTS'. I also purchased a new 24-120mm f4 lens to go with it and I haven't taken it off since I put it on the D600 body. Very disappointing!!!! and now I have to send it off to get the sensor cleaned because I can't return it to the store because I'm around 6 days past the 30 day store return policy! Besides the spots- I like the camera! Hopefully when I send it off and when I get it back that the problem will be resolved. I wouldn't recommend the D600 to anyone until they fix this issue. January 21, 2013
BUYER BEWARE!! After purchasing this camera from an authorized Nikon dealer, I noticed spots on the image sensor which seems to be a common occurrence. I decided to send the camera to Nikon for service, but they refused to service it, stating that it was "Gray Market" even though I provided a legitimate US warranty card from an authorized US seller. Additionally, they would not disclose to me how they determined it was "Gray Market", and the only way for me as a consumer to determine this is to send the camera in for service. If you purchase this camera, I suggest you send it in to Nikon immediately so they can decide whether they plan to honor their warranty. Otherwise, you might get stuck with a dirty image sensor and NIkon won't lift a finger to help you. January 19, 2013
Wait to buy This potentially great camera has a serious flaw that Nikon refuses to acknowledge: the sensor issue. Fortunately I have a great retailer who agreed to exchange the body and hopefully I'll be luckier this time around. However, I would caution potential buyers of this product to be very careful and buy only from a retailer that would accept a return/exchange. Or, wait until Nikon states the problem has been identified and fixed. January 18, 2013
Great camera -- too bad that it develops dust in the sensor. I got some great pictures out of this camera. I love the weight, handling, and the 24.3 MP. I am disappointed about the dust on sensor problem. I read some of the rumors but I thought that this was an isolated problem to a few cameras. It seems now a widespread problem. Two months into it, 2000 shots and some of the pictures are unusable because of spots around the upper corners of the sensor. Nikon's response was: send it for cleaning, 3 weeks later we might get your camera back. The retailer response was,: learn to clean your sensor. Don't like either. If I had not invested also in a lens collection, I would dump it and go for a different system. Don't buy unless you want to learn how to clean sensors. January 9, 2013
Seriously ??? With this many reports of the dust-oil issue why won't Nikon do something ? I sent one back already and will send the second one back if it develops the same issue. January 3, 2013
Oil spots render this camera useless Took this camera out of the box 4 days ago and there are spots on all my pictures. Nikon just shrugs and says its not their fault contrary to the tens of thousands of posts online with the same problem. December 29, 2012
But Nikon service has not heard of any problems with the D600 New Nikon D600. Child's Christmas Show. Priceless opportunity. The child will never be this age again. Funny spots on the photos when reviewed. The show is over. Thanks for the priceless memory Nikon. Of course, the customer service people have never heard of any problems with this camera. We get offered a chance to send it in to be cleaned. Reading posts at some of the photography sites, there are people who have sent their cameras to Nikon and they are still having the junk appearing in the photos right after getting the camera back. Reading the other postings on here makes me cringe. Nikon will not acknowledge the problem. Thank goodness for return policies. Of course, the photos are likely ruined at this point unless I find someone to clean up some of the photos with Photoshop. Thanks Nikon. December 24, 2012
So much potenial for a great camera, however.... I am so very sad to report that after less than 500 shots, I experienced a horrible version of the dust or oil (or whatever it is) on the sensor of this D600. There were hundreds of spots (see attached image), visible even from the camera's display, even though I didn't change the lens from the brand new kit lens that came with it. I read all the reviews before purchasing, but hoped I would get lucky with one that did not have the issues. So, after a week, I returned the camera. I bought a second body from another camera shop who is very aware of this problem and people coming back over and over with this problem, and so they are doing free sensor cleanings on this camera. I haven't tested my 2nd body yet, and will do so after the holiday in case I need to return it again. My family and I have used Nikon and Nikkor Lenses for over 35 years and never had anything close to this problem, even when never cleaning a sensor. More soon, and Nikon, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE fix this problem, or recall this camera, so you can keep your loyal customers from switching to a different company. December 24, 2012
Dust on the sensor Got the dust on the sensor on the brand new unit. The serial # is 305XXXX. Very disappointed. December 23, 2012
Image sensor contamination Ordered the D600 24-85mm VR Kit from Amazon.com and saw noticable image sensor debris contamination in less than 70 shutter actuations. Nikon Customer Service woud offer no explanation or information other than directing me to contact Nikon Service for repair. On a $2000 DSLR with less than 70 shutter actuations, and no explanation or aopolgy from Nikon to customers affected? Not acceptable. I returned the camera and bought another brand's new full frame DSLR. One positive note; the new 24-85mm VR kit lens is excellent with great center sharpness. December 22, 2012
very disappointed I have shot with Nikon for many years (since 1976). I've also owned 3 other digital bodies and 3 film, I consider myself a very serious amateur photographer. I was looking forward to the full frame D600 even before the release and spent $2095 buying the body which I paired with Nikon's new 28 - 85 mm lens The first thing I noticed was that after a long shooting day (over 500 images#, when I downloaded files in bridge was very visible spots #appeared to be oil) on the sensor. The dust spots continued to get worse and at the point of my images were impossible to use I returned my camera to the store where I purchased the store cleaned my sensors and reported that all was well. In less than 500 shots the dust returned. I again returned the camera to the store and was told there was nothing else they could do except return the camera back to Nikon for service. Now, I am without a camera for a minimum of six weeks and have no grantee that the problem will be resolved. I have called Nikon customer service and was told that these isolated cases are being handled case by case and that what you read on the internet are not necessary true. There seems to me a manufacturing issue which is causing the spots to appear in the pictures after 150+ or so shots. At this point I am not recommending to anyone that they purchase this or any other Nikon product. I am very disappointed the product and have been told that there were no widespread problems. So a camera that owned less than three months and spent $2095 on, in addition to $600 for a lens is defective. Nikon needs to: offer a free solution and acknowledge there is a problem. December 21, 2012
Very Disapointed with the product I just got my Nikon D600, and I was so excited to use it. Althought I didnt beleive first from other reviewer that there were a dust on the sensor. Fair enough I used my camera for 3 days and found out small black spots on the sensor. I am going to return back my camera and I am hoping that Nikon will stands up and say something about this terrible issue December 20, 2012
vidoe mode doesn't work, have to send my new camera to repair! Images are good but I bought this for my both video and photography projects but once i was done with my photography and started shooting video i noticed that in video mode my screen is all black, i have voice and all other features but no image. This is so disappointing that the video mode doesn't work in a new camera. I really feel bad sending my new camera to repair. Producers are so busy with competition that simply overlook the quality! December 11, 2012
Solid particles on the sensor I've used DSLRs for a long time (for years# but this is my first time I see a $2000 plus camera fresh out of the box is having such a problem. I love the quality of the pictures and the camera’s features. This camera has one of the best sensors ever built. Unfortunately my D600 started having the dust particles issue after a couple hundred shots. I continued shooting pictures and was around 1000 when I decided to return it and get my money back as the problem is not going away. I don’t think it’ll go away even after taking 3000 shots. Why should a relatively expensive camera have a problem like this to begin with? I am well aware of the DSLRs sensor cleaning process and have done it for many years. The DSLR sensors do collect dust once in a while, especially if they’re used for outdoors photography and with different lenses for which you have to remove and install different lenses constantly. I have never seen a new camera collect dust within the first few hundred shots without having the lens replaced. That is why; I am thinking that this so called dust spots might be tiny particles coming off of the camera's internal delicate parts. If this is true then it is well possible that these moving parts inside of the camera are not lining up correctly or chafing against each other. In which case the life of these components will be short and it won't be a surprise, if the camera breaks down after a while #after one, two, or … years?). We have to wait and see as D600 was introduced just a few months ago. Regardless, I think that Nikon should admit to this serious issue and instead of asking their customers to send their new cameras back to Nikon for cleaning #Nikon had asked customers experiencing this issue to consult their local Nikon service centers), to find a permanent solution. It is ridiculous to keep returning the camera for cleaning. I didn’t pay over $2000 to keep sending my new camera back to Nikon for service. I bought this camera to enjoy it and to take pictures with it. Nikon stop down playing. Have some respect for your customers. Instead of asking us to consult your service centers, find a permanent solution. Respond to the poor reviews on your website. Personally, I am not going to wait around too long. December 7, 2012
Excessive dust on sensor Really disappointing to have to deal with this issue of excessive dust collecting on my sensor. I've had the camera for a little over two months and i've had to Photoshop all of my recent landscapes to remove all the spots in the pictures. i've had my D90 for over 2 years and i've never had to deal with this. i'm not a Pro, i do this for fun so when i spend over $2000 on a camera i shouldn't have to deal with this. what's even more enraging is the fact that Nikon has not admitted that there is a problem. I may switch over to Canon in the future after this ordeal if my camera has the same problem again after it comes back from the service center. December 7, 2012
It's going back ... to the store! Luckily I bought my D600 at a store that will accept returns. My D600 is going back. Dust and oil on the sensor, just like all the other reports. Wow, disappointed. The good news is once Nikon finally addresses and acknowledges this issue, the D600 will be a fantastic camera. So many great features. If you compare this camera to the Canon 6D, this one wins every time. But I can't accept that I have to deal with oil and dust on the señor after only 100 shots. Cleaned the sensor, and then the spots keep reappearing. Not acceptable. I've had mine for 4 weeks and the problem isn't getting any better. I switched from Nikon to Canon when I went digital back in 2002. The D600 brought me back to Nikon. Guess I'm now going back to Canon and paying the $1500 up charge to get a Canon 5D MkIII. Canon's customer service has been exceptional to me with all 3 of the EOS DSLR's that I've owned. Even when the 5D MkIII was first introduced, it had a problem with light leaks. Canon acknowledged the problem and took care of their customers quickly. My question is this: Where are you Nikon? We're all waiting to love this camera! The D600 could be a real winner, if you would just address and take care of the dust and oil issues. December 6, 2012
Spots on Sensor I've ordered this model twice - once upon introduction to market and returned it for another ordered on November 1st. Both cameras had visible spots after 100 shots; extremely noticable at higher stops. Very disappointing because the features are outstanding. At this price point, we should not have to worry about spots on the sensor. Nikon, you need to make this a priority. November 29, 2012
D600 Dust/Oil Issues Need to be addressed This is my third attempt at a review. They have deleted my previous ones (interestingly). I have been very unhappy with the purchase of the D600. Dust/Oil problems as many others are reporting, as well as a bad sensor even.. (Uniform data corrupted raw images anyway).\ I have been fighting with the front line service support team for about 2 weeks now, and they have been polite, but anything but intelligent, and helpful to my questions. It's been like talking to a wall. I would not go through this process again if i wanted... I still don't have a resolution, and nikon is still ignoring my questions about the issue.. I paid them $2000 and this is how customers are treated? .. 0 stars? .. November 27, 2012
Spots show up after 150+ shots There seems to me a manufacturing issue which is causing the spots to appear in the pictures after 150+ or so shots. Except this not so tiny problem, camera performs really well. But if I was thinking of buying this camera, I would wait until Nikon fixes this issue. or get the canon 6D. November 26, 2012
Great Camera-Poor Craftsmanship I bought the D600 twice actually. The first unit started to show the spots/dust/oil (I am not sure exactly what the spots were caused by) within the first 760 pictures. The unit only had one lens applied. There were no repetitive lens changes. I took the unit back. I got another unit that was within 150 units per the serial number. The spots started up within 540 shots. While I can understand that dust can occur, in all of the years I have owned digital cameras, I have never had this level of dust/debris affecting the camera. The camera was easy to use, took an excellent picture, and had great performance in low or limited light. I really believe this is a great camera, however, whatever is causing these spots/debris/dust to collect so readily needs to be addressed by Nikon. Nikon, please get this fixed. We should not have to send a brand new camera back for camera cleaning after 2-3 days of shooting. I cannot recommend this camera until they get the debris/spots issue solved. November 26, 2012
Dust or solid particles on sensor The D600 offers a great image quality and superb low light capability that is hard to find among the DSLRs. Initially, I was very excited about my D600 and started taking pictures and was amazed by the quality of the images (See my earlier review on Oct 23). Unfortunately, after shooting 500 or so pictures, I noticed dark spots on the upper and left hand side of all pictures which are easily visible in high aperture settings. I have been using Nikon for almost thirty years and very familiar with the quality of the product. I also have engineering background. After spending some time analyzing the issue, I concluded that these particles are either dust that due to weak dust sealing pass through the gaps between the internal components of the camera, or possibly chipped off paint or metal from inside of the camera that find their way to the surface of the sensor. Bottom line is that this is a fantastic camera; however, it has a serious problem with the quality and/or design. It is not acceptable for a new camera to have such issue. Nikon should admit to this problem and take immediate corrective action for three reasons. 1) It is unacceptable for a new camera to have such issue 2) We have paid over $2,000 for this camera 3) Nikon’s brand loyalty will fade Nikon, please admit to this issue and offer a solution. November 14, 2012
Dots all over the sensor I bought my D600 the first week it went out and was very happy about it. Great camera all over EXCEPT that when I do long exposures at f16 or so, I can see some spots all over the picture, especially on the top left corner. This is not acceptable from the best brand of cameras ever, and at more than 2000$. Nikon acknowledge this please, there are so many complains - and it seems that the dots come back even after a sensor cleaning... November 11, 2012
Many Spots on sensor, Nikon refuses to acknowledge or fix problem. I have shot with Nikon for many years. I've also owned 2 other digital bodies, been around many professional photographers, stay in touch with the latest news, and overall consider myself a serious amateur photographer. I was looking forward to the D600 even before the release and spent $2095 buying the body which I coupled with Nikon's best lenses in the world - namely the 14-24mm f/2.8 and 24-70mm f/2.8 . The first thing I noticed was that the Auto Focus points were too close to the center to the point where I could not shoot anything off center without doing some focusing and recomposing. I could live with that. I also noticed in low light, even with those fine lenses, the camera had a very hard time focusing and a few times even the center point could not focus. Again, I could live with that though disappointing. The unforgivable thing however is that after a shoot on a beautiful day at ISO 100 f/8-f/16, I got home and loaded up the giant raw files in lightroom and right away noticed very visible spots (looked like oil to me) on the sensor. I tried blowing them off and took a few more pictures, and they were still there. I also noticed many other people on flickr and various other blogs and photography sites had the exact same problem. I would say about a 100 people. Most people aren't savvy enough to check for this so the number is probably much much higher than that. I thought Nikon would stand behind their product, but a very rude person on the phone told me that there were no widespread problems and basically that it's my imagination. It took her about 10 seconds to look at the 5 pictures i had uploaded (nobody answered the email) and judge that there was nothing wrong and if I FELT that there is an issue, she would be nice enough to give me the link to send the camera in. I asked about a shipping label, and she said no. So a camera that owned less than 5 days and had spent $2095 on, (in addition to the other $6000 in lenses and lights) was defective, and Nikon wants me to spend $50 to insure and mail it in so they can take a look at it! I decided to send it for a replacement to the dealer but I have been told by many others that it won't help. Nikon needs to: 1. acknowledge there is a problem 2. offer a free solution. 3. apologize Before you apologists and fanboys jump in and minimize the issue, this is not regular dust. there are dozens of dust specs in a new camera. My D90 had no such issues and it's 4 years old! November 4, 2012
Love the camera, hate the spots I bought this camera refurbished by Nikon. The spots were not long in appearing, so, obviously, refurbishment was ineffective. Nikon just announced that they would replace the shutter and clean the sensor free even if the warranty is expired, so I have shipped it to a repair centre. But so much for the value of a used D600 as no one will want to risk the Black Spot. Too bad, as the Camera would have been excellent otherwise. March 1, 2014
Greater things come in a big package! I Purchased this product about 10 months ago. Major dust and Oil issues to date. I had it professionally cleaned by a NIkon dealer and the oil and dust still appeared. These issues especially the oil ruined a lot of good photo's and also cost time and money. This is unacceptable and I hope changes are made. Sending it away for repairs this will be a inconvenience for sure. I would not recommend this product to anyone because I would not want anyone to experience that feeling of having good photos ruined by the camera mechanic's. However the design of this camera is one of the best of all the Nikon DSLR camera's. I truly waited 25 years for this technology to come out for a camera, for photography. Seeing Nikon had this camera that met my expectations, I purchased it along with some very nice Nikon lenses. To be disappointed by a oil and dust issue was heart breaking. I am caught in a difficult place after spending literally thousands on a camera, professional lenses and equipment including time and travel. Does anyone know how disappointing that will be? It called loss. Sending it back for repairs see what happens. February 13, 2014
spots! On the surface, a great camera. FX, right price, great features for what I do. But i have been hit with the oil spot problem. Cleaned by Nikon once, and now two months later (about 3000 shots), it needs another cleaning. The service crew has been great, but Nikon has not addressed the issue to my satisfaction. December 16, 2013
Great Camera but Fatally Flawed I bought this camera with great expectations back in late December 2012. It produces excellent images and performs very well in lower light. With a full frame sensor I was able to use my FX lenses to their full potential. Compared to my old D80 it was a huge step up. Within a couple of months I realized that I had a lemon. By late April 2013(4 months) the sensor was so dirty with dust spots and oil blobs that images with any sort of blue sky required extensive work in Lightroom to make them useable. See image below. At this point I sent the camera into Nikon Canada for servicing under warranty. The return time was quick and I was hopeful that the oil and dust problem was resolved. According to the invoice the shutter (defective?) was replaced. Initial images looked good. Fast forward to September 2013 (4 months later) - noticeable spotting in images with blue sky or white water (I do a lot of slow exposure work with water). I did a couple of sky tests and lo and behold - spots and blobs. I've attached two images, one at f/5.6 which shows a mostly clean sky with some large round blobs. The second image at f/22 shows the blobs but also significant spotting along the left side of the frame. Needless to say the camera is going back to Nikon Canada a second time for more servicing this week. At the cost of $2000 I'd expect a camera that doesn't need cleaning an a shutter replacement every 4 months. This is a defective camera and should no longer be sold. Avoid it at all cost, regardless of the price. November 15, 2013
Page: 5 6 7 8 9
<<prev | next>>
125 Questions | 179 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
125 Questions | 179 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D600
 
11 Answers

Is the D600 considered a pro body?

Sep 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+7points
16out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful9
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
11 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just for clarification the D600 is considered a Pro Body for NPS membership.
Jun 28, 2013 by
by
NikonStaff
Melville, NY

+12points
15out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful3
Answer: 
The D600 is definitely a pro camera. In fact, I've used DX format cameras for some of my pro work (portraits, products and events). It really boils down to the photographer: if you can take pictures people will pay for, then the camera is secondary (in most cases). In today's market, so many people merely share their pictures via Facebook, email, etc., but rarely do customers buy the 3'x2' framed art to hang above their fireplace. Having a full-frame camera is necessary to get that kind of quality, and the D600 is superior in that regard. Also, I should mention that by "pro", I'm not referring to Nat Geo or Time-Life photographers; instead, I'm thinking of most gigs, i.e. weddings, events, portraits, etc. In short, being "pro" for a camera (or photog) is a subjective term, but IMHO, I feel the D600 is a pro camera. Lastly, to really up your game if using the D600, go for one of the prime lenses. I use the Nikon 85mm f1.8 prime, which does an amazing job with my D600...customers rave about the quality, even on enlargements I've had made at 36"x24" (good glass is a big variable in this equation).
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, ca
Location : 
Newbury Park, ca
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
7out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful9
Answer: 
This is a perplexing question.

For the purpose of qualifying for the benefits of Nikon Professional Services, as others have already made clear, the answer is no.

For every other purpose, the questions have to be asked: Considered by whom, and what are their criteria?

Some photographers have paid their rent shooting with disposable cameras. Are those cardboard cameras, then, "pro" bodies?
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Location : 
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-52points
2out of 56found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful54
Answer: 
If your camera has a pop-up flash, it is not a professional body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-10points
10out of 30found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful20
Answer: 
According to Nikon Professional Services:

The D800 is a pro body.
The D600 is not a pro body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Jake
Role: Professional photographer

+27points
30out of 33found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful30unhelpful3
Answer: 
In my opinion, this question is equivalent to people buying "pro" quality golf clubs. It's not the clubs that make you a pro, or in this case, not the camera body. The tool isn't what makes someone a pro or not; it's the person using the tool. If your type of work, and ultimately what you get paid for (which is what makes you a "professional" versus a hobbyist), doesn't dictate that you spend $5,000 for a particular piece of equipment, then why spend the money? If a D600, or whatever other camera body does the job you need it to and you get paid, then you are still a "pro" despite the level of camera you use.

I've shot plenty of commercial projects that have been published in various magazines, including GQ and Sports Illustrated, using nothing more than a D300.
Sep 27, 2012 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
Annapolis, MD, USA
Location : 
Annapolis, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+13points
16out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
Answer: 
People are too caught up these days thinking they need all the bells and whistles on a camera for it to be a pro camera. A true pro can make great images from just using the manual settings. In short, yes this is a pro camera.
Sep 22, 2012 by
by
Ray from L.A.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
9out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful11
Answer: 
just to know D600 is a semi-pro body, pro cameras cost above 4000$, pro bodies - Nikon D4, Canon 1Dx, Nikon D3x, Canon 1Dc and medium format cameras like Phase One 645 and Pentax 645

while D800, D600, D700, D300s are semi-pro cameras !
Sep 17, 2012 by
by
EagleS
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer

-15points
2out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful17
Answer: 
This body of D600 is much lower in terms of construction of a D300s, is very similar to a D7000. Will be a D7000 considered someday a pro-camera? I do not believe. The D600 also will not, it only have a fullframe sensor
Sep 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+16points
19out of 22found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful3
Answer: 
Couple this new camera body with the best Nikon glass and you will wind up with what I call a "smart pro's system". That is, putting your money in an adequate body and great glass saves money, provides reasonable street cred, and of course, if you have the eye, and luck, will allow fantastic captures. Short answer; in my estimation the D600 will soon be accepted as a "pro body".
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
12out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful3
Answer: 
In the least, an excellent back-up camera for a working pro and a DREAM camera for the intermediate to advanced prosumer. This camera will NOT depreciate in value for many many months.
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

If D600 low light going to be as good as D800?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The D600 V D800 -----simple answer. A camera with more functionality is going to offer greater capibility, If you need low light-- go for the best camera --D800. Costs more but this inst really a situation where the two are comprable. D800 is pro hardware-6 is prosumer.
Jun 5, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
I've shot at 2500 ISO on my D600 indoors with very good quality and extremely low noise. I tend to use fast glass (f2) and in those cases, even in dim light indoors, can shoot at about 1600 ISO with a shutter speed around 1/125, which has given some very good results.
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Location : 
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
You're kind of asking for an apples to oranges comparison, but perhaps this will help.

Before I even bought my D600, I downloaded RAW files from various Web resources to make comparisons with the D800, especially with regard to noise performance at high ISO. I was able to make comparisons because Capture NX2 had early support for the D600.

Even a cursory examination shows the D600 to have superior high-ISO performance. This is as expected because the D600 and D800 represent about the same generation of imaging sensor technology -- i.e., the latest -- in which case the imager with the larger pixel site pitch should have the noise performance advantage, all other things being equal.

Now, you'd think that by the same token the D700 should outperform the D600. This is not as obvious, and I can only guess that this is attributable to the D700 sensor being an already somewhat dated design. Yeah... this is a fast-moving industry.

Don't get me wrong. The RAW files reveal that the D800 has excellent high-ISO/noise performance -- something that's all the more remarkable given it's high sensor resolution. It's just that the D600 is even better in this particular regard.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Jämaja, Estonia
Location : 
Jämaja, Estonia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month

-15points
1out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful16
Answer: 
Low light performance will depend t on ISO and camera settings, shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, and selection of the lens.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

Can the DX format be used with FX lenses for 1.5 X magnification (crop sensor, if you will).

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
Location : 
Midwest
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe both of the previous answers are incorrect regarding crop factor. A DX sensor is smaller than an FX sensor. Using a DX lens on an FX camera does not magnify the image - quite the opposite. The FX sensor will see a larger portion of the image (including vignetting at the edges) unless you use the "DX crop mode" of the D600 to limit the sensor area to the same size as DX. Then, it's the same as a DX camera.

The 1.5x crop factor happens only when you put an FX lens on a DX camera. For example, a 200mm FX lens would be the equivalent of 300mm lens on a DX camera. For years, I shot with a 50mm 1.8D on my Nikon D50 #DX camera# because it gave me a bright telephoto image equivalent of 75mm.

I currently use a 35mm DX lens with my FX camera because I like the vignetting effect as a creative tool. It's the equivalent of a 20mm lens with the D600.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Dec 4, 2013 by
by
srenkin
Atlanta, GA, USA
Location : 
Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Correction, YES you can use DX format with FX lenses. There is a button just below to the right of the lens, press it in and the back command wheel to change from FX to DX. You will only be using 10 MP but you will benefit because you will be using the sweet spot of the lens and because of the size of the pixels you should get reduced noise and better dynamic range. Not to mention 300mm essentially becomes 450mm.... one more thing, the auto focus zone is perfect for DX (entire frame) while kind of small for FX. There are definite advantages in doing what your question asks.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Maze
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
No. Optically a Dx lens is the same as an Fx lens. The reason Dx sensors are 1.5 crop is because they are half the size of an Fx sensor. However when you are done cropping out the vignette you will be in essence at 1.5 magnification, so yes i suppose depending on your point of view.
Sep 20, 2012 by
by
Michael
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Do I need to set the aperture value before going into Live View mode when using G lenses?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I guess I'd like to know if I can change the aperture while shooting video without having to use an AI, AI-S or AF-D lens. Thanks!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
Answer: 
I agree, this is COMPLETELY unacceptable. If it had this one simple feature, it would be on order right now. A Canon t2i can do this. That's a cheap 4 year old camera. What gives? I really hope this is fixed in a firmware update. I simply cannot believe this thing has clean HDMI out and doesn't have the ability to change the aperture while recording.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Unfortunately this can only be done at 800. This is the must crazy thing of nikon. Why do they spend so much money building a camera which can record excellent video and they deny the ability of working as it's simply logical.Canon is doing it , at the chipest models!!! An update is absolutely necessary!!!
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
5out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful8
Answer: 
You have to adjust the settings before you start recording a video.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Will my AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens work with the D600?

Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can force any DX lens to shoot full-frame images on the D600. Just turn off Auto DX Crop in the menu and select FX for image area.

You will have severe vignetting, of course, but the amount depends on the lens, aperture, and zoom settings. For example, with my 18-200 set at 200, the full-frame image had very manageable (i.e., easily correctable) vignetting.

In any case, allowing full-frame capture with DX lenses puts YOU in control of the crop. Unless you're strapped for memory card space or are forced to work with a slow computer, I see no reason to use Auto DX Crop.
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Location : 
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes but you will be shooting in 10.5MP DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

What software do I use to open the RAW (NEF) files from the D600?

Nov 4, 2012 by
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
 on D600
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I have not been able to open the NEF files from my D600 (just purchased) with the supplied ViewNX 2 software included with my D600. I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
Location : 
Union, ME, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Downloads can be found here,
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
" I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so."

To download the latest update to Capture NX2, go to the top of this page; mouse over Service & Support; click on Download Center.
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Location : 
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you have both the latest versions installed, 2.3.5 for Capture NX2 and 2.6.0 for View NX2
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

SD Card "error message", does anyone know the cause?

Oct 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I was taking some test pictures with my new D600 and all of the sudden I noticed that when I press the shutter release button, the camera is not focusing or releasing the sutter. While trying to figure out what the issue was, I noticed the "card error" message flashing in the screen on top of the camera. After some investigation, I realized that the #2 SD card which I'd set up as overflow back up is causing the issue [In other words card #2 was not even in use when the issue occured]. Removed card #2 and the camera started working again. At this point I had taken about 150 pictures with my camera. Since then I've been unable to read the card that was removed from slot #2 [8GB calss 10 Kensington] on any PC. I'd have this SD card for several months and used it with my other camera's with no issues. I had formatted both cards after inserting them in the camera before shooting pictures. I do understand that memory cards regardless of type or brand could go bad but I am wondering, if anyone knows what could cause this issue?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
same thing happened to me and the card was brand new hi quality and the number 2 slot was the issue in the same way described above.
Feb 17, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The mentioned Kensigton SDHC is an approved card for this camera.
Oct 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sounds like a bad card, try using a approved card: http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d600/spec.htm
Instead of using a low cost card.
Oct 6, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Does it still multiple exposure feature

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
Location : 
Belleville, NJ, USA
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
If it allows you to bracket 3 exposure than you should be able to do HDR with a 7 stop range.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Maze
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It looks like it only allows 3 bracketed exposures. Too bad for HDR users.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
2 Answers

D600 Commander?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Sam
Germany
 on D600
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I cannot imagine that it doesn't support flash commander mode but it is isn't called out specifically in the specs page as it is on other bodies.
Does it?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Sam
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I notice the D600 brochure states this: Nikon Creative Advanced Wireless Lighting supported with built-in flash, SB-910, SB-900, SB-800 or
Lighting System (CLS) SB-700 as a master flash and SB-600 or SB-R200 as remotes, or SU-800 as commander;
built-in flash can serve as master flash in commander mode; auto FP high-speed sync and
modeling illumination supported with all CLS-compatible flash units except SB-400; Flash
Color Information Communication and FV lock supported with all CLS-compatible flash units
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
MichaelT
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Location : 
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the camera supports CLS and can be used in Commander mode.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Can I assign the AE-L / AF-L button to be AF-ON?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
 on D600
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
Location : 
West Chester, PA, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am a D600 owner, and I wouldn't lie to you. The answer to your question is yes.

Moreover, the AE-L/AF-L button can be assigned different functions for still and movie modes.

The manual is now available for download. That will explain all of the assignable choices. With respect to menu functions, I have found no errors or inaccuracies in the manual so far.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Iceland
Location : 
Iceland
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are several personal reviews of the D600 online from photographers stating they have been able to assign the AE-L/AF-L button to become the AF-ON button. In my opinion, this AF-ON button capability will be a heavily-weighted determining factor for most pros considering this camera as part of their working equipment list.

NIKON - PLEASE answer this question definitively!
Sep 25, 2012 by
by
MLM
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers