Loading

A full-frame Nikon for your full-time passion.

If you've been looking to take your passion to the next level with full-frame HD-SLR performance, your wait is over. Now the power of a pro-level Nikon FX-format camera—stunning full-frame images, cinema-quality 1080p videos, superior low-light performance, blazing fast framing and burst rates, built-in HDR, wireless photo sharing and much more—is attainable in a compact, lightweight HD-SLR. Optimized for full-frame shooting and versatility, streamlined for compactness and value, the D600 will fuel your passion like never before.
photo of a woman in a long red dress shot indoors

FX-quality images and HD videos

Nikon’s most compact full-frame HD-SLR ever

Passionate photographers who seek exceptional full-frame, high-resolution performance rely on Nikon FX-format HD-SLRs. For the first time ever, that level of performance is available in a compact, affordable HD-SLR. D600's 24.3 megapixel FX-format CMOS sensor captures every detail with lifelike sharpness. Its EXPEED 3 processing system manages all that data with remarkable speed and accuracy, enabling up to 5.5 frames-per-second (fps) continuous shooting at full resolution. And the low-light performance synonymous with Nikon is again proven deserved—shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, expandable down to 50 and up to 25,600 for extreme situations.
photo of a man selling nuts at a market, and a closeup view of nuts

The beauty is in the details

Highly accurate AF System for superior sharpness

One of the keys to capturing razor-sharp images and HD videos—whether shooting through the viewfinder or with the LCD monitor—is a fast, precise autofocus system, and the D600 has one of the best. 39 focus points with wide-area AF coverage offer endless compositional possibilities. Nine cross-type sensors and seven center focus points work all the way down to f/8 for extended AF functionality with teleconverters and long-reach lenses. When shooting photos or HD video in Live View, Nikon’s responsive contrast-detect AF activates for accurate fulltime autofocusing. Every moment you capture will be razor sharp.
photo of a city at night, in low light

Unwavering exceptional performance

Flawless metering and onboard intelligence

The D600 delivers consistently beautiful images and HD videos, thanks to Nikon’s intelligent Scene Recognition System with 3D Color Matrix Metering II. Its 2,016 pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and the scene colors, all within the time it takes to press the shutter release button. That data is then referenced against an onboard image database for consistently accurate exposures, auto white balance, i-TTL flash and subject-tracking autofocus performance.
 
     

Cinema-quality HD video projects

Pro-level 1080p HD video recording features

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that empower and inspire filmmakers and video enthusiasts, and the D600 is proof of that commitment. Shoot 1080p HD videos with selectable frame rates of 30p, 25p or 24p and MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 compression. Bend time with 720p HD at 60p, 50p or 30p for ultra-smooth video playback of fast moving subjects, or create slow-motion footage during post processing. Maintain your creative vision with manual exposure control, fulltime AF with face-priority and subject tracking, dedicated inputs for a stereo mic and headphones, saving a selected still frame from video, and much more. Enhance all that with the dramatic perspectives and depth-of-field control of NIKKOR interchangeable lenses, and you'll dazzle with every video project.

photo of a photographer looking into the viewfinder of the D600 while a model sits in a scene, along with the shot of the model on a smartphone

Wi-Fi camera control and mobile photo sharing

Optional WU-1b wireless mobile adapter

With Wi-Fi compatibility, the D600 makes sharing photos even easier. Connect the optional WU-1b Wireless Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the D600—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots!
two photos of a woman against a rust covered wall, one looking at the camera, one with her eyes closed

Lighting studio optional

The D600’s built-in pop-up flash opens up new shooting possibilities—and not just in low-light situations. Even well lit subjects can benefit from a balanced fill flash for extra depth and dimension. And since the D600’s flash integrates with Nikon’s i-TTL system, it can act as a Commander and communicate crucial exposure information to two groups of remote flashes across three channels for accurate lighting and exceptional results.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights for endless creative expression to the WU-1b Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi sharing and camera control, your system can grow with you.


WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

D600 Body Only

Price $2,099.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

24-85mm VR Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Price $2,699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

Two Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VRAF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Price $3,349.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D600 3.4 5 225 225
Good pics of dust/oil Got camera on first day of release, been waiting for month for it. First one, tons of black dots on pics. Second one, same thing in same area(ul corner). Third one was good until after about 500 shots, then same thing. Tried it one more time and after 1000 shot repeat of same issue. Finally returned and will wait and see. I wouldn't have been concerned if spot were random but they were All in around the same area for all 4 d600. Considering selling all gear and switch sides. Camera is gret over all except a few things: Nikon went cheap on AF coverage and low light focusing, some inconsistent wb in low light situations. Not sure why Nikon has not stepped up and say something about dust/oil issue even if it is only a small percentage has the problem. Give us the confidence in your product!!! I would NOT recommend d600 at the present time until this issue is evaluated and addressed. January 26, 2013
On second body Overall this camera is magnificent and is really the best camera out of the box I have ever used. The images are crisp, the camera is ergonomically sound and the image quality is outstanding. Unfortunately oil spots appeared in the upper corners after about 300 shutter clicks. This is especially noticeable in the sky of low aperture shots, but basically the spots are in every shot and became more numerous with time. The camera was a present from my wife for Christmas, and I returned it under the store's 90 day return policy. We will see how the new body works out. I am afraid of having to ultimately send it back to Nikon as I hear that it is returned at the customer's expense and it is usually gone for 6 weeks. The Nikon website says that this is "dust" and that the sensor needs to be cleaned periodically. However, 300 shutter releases (all with the same lens that was attached at first use) seems to be a little beyond the Pale. all of the spots are circular and translucent, appear in the corners and multiply over time. They are easily removed in Photoshop with the cloning tool. This seems to be a VERY common problem - I wish Nikon would make an announcement about it along with a permanent fix. if the spots were not there, this would be the best camera on the market. January 13, 2013
Excellent camera without the dust / oil I upgraded to this camera from my 10 year old D100. Love it! Great color, resolution, sharpness. However, the oil/dust spots spoil the fun after a while. I ended up returning the camera and will wait until Nikon fixes the issue. Nikon, this camera is to brilliant to mess it up with such a minor QC issue. December 5, 2012
Great camera - once the oil spot issue has been resolved This is a great full-frame camera in terms of image quality, weight/size/handling. However, I also have noticed the oil spot problem, visible as multiple spots on the upper left quadrant of my images (at small apertures). My posting on the Product Forum asking for advice (should I return my D600 or hope for a fix by sending it in?) has been removed. I am hoping Nikon will finally publicly acknowledge this as a problem and reassure us that they are working on fixing it and that the fix (or, if needed, replacement of the camera) will be offered to all owners of D600s with this problem. Without this reassurance, I am planning to return my D600 to the seller next week. December 1, 2012
Great pictures of dust spots. Over decent camera. Low light focus could be a lot better for 2k range. -1ev is not the best for low light focusing. Aperture issue is a problem but I read the firmware is coming so hopefully it will be fixed. Auto focus is better than d7k but coverage area is too small and requires more recomposing. DR is great. Extra functions could be better like HDR and bracketing. Button layout is not the best(iso button is still hard to get to but that can be over come). May gripe I have is the amount of dust this camera gets!! I'm on my third body now and have to return it again. May just have to do without a camera until Nikon fixes issue that they do not see or just switch system I have been eyeing on. But if dust issue is corrected then it is a decent camera for the price. November 18, 2012
Oil spots only after 1000 shots After 1000 shots, I discovered there are patches of gray spots on the upper left of my picture. Googled the problem and found out that lots of D600 users have similar problem with oil and dust spots. It is really disappointing. Otherwise, I love the camera's ability to handle low light. I got fantastic pictures at ISO 6400. November 1, 2012
Orange gradient on images I purchased D600 3 days ago, love it but I saw some unexpected orange gradient on my images, I took 6 consecutive shots with same settings and uploaded it for you to see. It's on manual and the white balance is on K5260, the un even gradient will be visible at iso 200 and above ( you can see a big difference in images 2,3 & 4, it's un acceptable for portraits ). I also went to the shop where I bought this camera and the people there can't answer my problem, we also tried some d600 and its having the same issue. Hope that Nikon can fix this thing and please advise me what to do. October 2, 2012
Great resolution -- when it focuses properly. Not pro grade with some features, which is disappointing at the price. Problems with inconsistent focusing. I would therefore not recommend this camera for that reason alone. I did not experience the spots on the sensor issue though. I should not have to fine-tune the focusing of every lens I attach to the camera. This is a new and unwelcome experience. I found the focus points concentrated in the middle to be a problem for me since I had gotten used to the D700/D3 and even the D300 which all seem to have 51 points spread out a bit more. Also, why did the flash synchronization change from 1/250 sec to 1/200 sec? Not to my liking. I have also found that the flash sync setting does not always stay and appeared to change on its own at times. The hit-and-miss focusing on a camera I paid $2000 for is a definite game changer for me. I am seriously considering a move to Canon after this fiasco. April 16, 2014
Disappointed with how Nikon has handled the dust issues. It has all been said already, I have the dust issues many others have had. The most disappointing aspect is that the Nikon service center refuses to do anything but clean it. It takes great photos, just be prepared to clean it often. January 13, 2014
Very disappointing Purchased this camera as an upgrade from my D90 for a 2 month trip to Africa. The dust/oil problem on the sensor completely turned me away from using the camera. Any pictures with slow shutter speeds and any landscape photos were completely destroyed by the dust spots. The camera sat in my bag for most of the trip. March 16, 2013
Also problems with oil spots. I also have problems with oil spots when shooting at smaller apertures. When I contacted Nikon they said they would look after it but I am responsible for shipping costs. This is very poor considering this is an out of the box problem. I guess I have to buy an extended warranty in order for my dealer to look after me. I like the quality of the full format pictures but am annoyed with this situation!!! I would wait some time for Nikon to resolve this problem before buying this camera. December 7, 2012
I traded it in I traded in my Nikon d600 because of the oil spot issue. Last summer it ruined hundreds of photos that I took while vacationing in Italy with my family. I will never be able to get those moments back. I brought it in to where I bought it for service and it was sent to Nikon. It took several weeks to return. I was told that the shutter box was repaired/replaced. Within a four month period the problem recurred, always in the same location of the photograph (upper left hand corner), and this time ruined photos taken when vacationing on St. John, US Virgin Islands with my family. I am disappointed that Nikon did not recall the d600 and either repair them definitively or give the owners a free d610. I bit the bullet and traded in a camera body that I bought only 18 months ago for $2,000, for only $550. I instead purchased a new d610. Lets hope I have better luck. I hope that Nikon will consider reimbursing me the $1,450 that I lost in the trade in, or giving me a $1,450 credit toward new lenses. March 9, 2014
Returned due to sensor spots As long as Nikon requires that owners return the camera for cleaning, this camera was not worth the hassle. Returned for full refund. The sensor spots are really too bad, because it's a beautiful camera. March 4, 2014
Not worth the $3500, especially when company does not stand behind it's product After a lot of research I switched my main camera from Canon to Nikon. As of today I would not recommend any Nikon to a friend, nor will my next camera be a Nikon. The good, the bad, and the ugly - The camera itself was great, it's got quick focus, relatively quiet, and has ability to refocus on subject during live video shooting. Refocus in video was the single most important reason for me to switch from Canon to Nikon. The bad: As so many others have reported, something inside the camera is leaking, causing visible spotting on the sensor. However, I am not a professional, so I learned about this just recently by an unhappy coincidence. Just a year after purchasing the camera, the charger accompanying it broke. Research on the charger lead me to a slew of articles reporting sensor spotting issues. After confirming that I infact had this problem, I contacted Nikon to seek resolution. The ugly: Customer support rep. I spoke with was quiet rude, almost immediately, without listening to anything I said, stated that it's my fault and that no repairs will be covered. To insult to injury, the rep failed to follow up as promised with a link to upload sample photos. Bottom line: I paid over $3500 for this camera, and within a year, both the camera and accompanying charger are experiencing issues. And my biggest disappointment came when I found that D600 had so many issues, it was discontinued within a year of being released and price has been reduced by over $1000. So what you have is a premium product which was released broken to the market, and a company which doesn't seem to stand behind it. Why would you ever put yourself in this situation? January 18, 2014
I would give this camera a great review if it didn't have this huge disappointing defect. I have had this camera for over a year, so unfortunately the warranty is expired. :/ Have done a ton of shooting with it, and occasionally noticed some spots, but figured that I just needed to clean it. Today I was shooting in the studio on a white background, and discovered SO MANY dust spots on my images. Carefully and meticulously cleaned the camera, mirror, image sensor (with air only) and still have the exact same spots. Did some research online and discovered that the camera generates oil spots internally and apparently there is no fix for it. So, so disappointed. I love this camera body in every way, but I am so annoyed that there is this problem with the body and Nikon has not solved it or compensated us for it yet. Nikon, PLEASE do something to compensate your D600 customers. I unfortunately can't recommend this product because of the issue I am experiencing. January 8, 2014
I have spots, too Wah, I have spots, too. Never changed the lens, seems to be from inside the camera... December 9, 2013
3rd time / Oil/Dust on Sensor continues at 1 year ! This last YEAR has been a nightmare with this camera. It's been in for repairs three times because within a month of getting the camera back, the same problem comes up again. If you want to clean your own sensor every few weeks and don't mind putting up with post processing removal of these spots, this camera is for you. I hate this camera right now. They replaced the shutter but that didn't help at all. The spots showed up just as fast (grouped in the upper left hand corner) as any of the other times it has been in. Nikon says they will just keep "fixing" the problem" because "when it leaves their shop, everything is okay." No explanation has ever been given even though I have asked many times. My friend just bought a new D600 and noticed the dust/oil spots on day number 1, so it would appear even new D600 have the same issue. If spots on your pictures aren't a problem, it's a great camera otherwise. November 21, 2013
Dust issue and Nikon's response This has to be the worse camera Nikon has put out. Not for the picture quality... for that it ranks almost #1` But to have a camera loose half its value in a year... due to the fix release of the D610 and a lot of ticked off consumers and pros out there with this camera... because of all the chatter on the internet about this issue. Nikon should have had better customer relations and in my situation... better customer service and repair. It would have been cheaper for them to refund or recall D600s and actually came up with a fix for those cameras instead of throwing D600 owners under the bus. Owners only have one recourse now and that is give negative reviews which reach millions of prospective buyers. If you are in the market for a new DSLR... please wait for a year to choose any new Nikon body. Either that or get a used D300s or D700. They are better cameras. November 18, 2013
It might be a good camera, but I am going to hold off writing a full review. I am sending my D600 back to Nikon Repair. I am not very confident that it will be returned in any better condition than what it is now without the Shutter assembly and sensor being replaced. When it is returned, I will come back and write a review. November 8, 2013
Dust Oil Spot continues for a year despite repair. Had this camera for a year and Nikon hasn't been able to repair it, the spots on the sensor continue. A friend bought a NEW D600 camera several months ago, he is having the same issue. Buyer beware, you've been warned. October 9, 2013
Great camera design ruined by poor workmanship This is an example of a great design and concept ruined by poor workmanship. My D600 started showing spots on the sensor after three weeks, and after four weeks the spots were massive and the camera was useless. See an example of the problem with my D600 in the attached image. The upper left corner is covered with spots, and the self-cleaning feature of the camera does nothing to reduce the spots. August 26, 2013
3rd time back for oil/dust issues I absolutely love this camera except for the continuing issues with oil spots on the sensor. This is unacceptable to me. The camera is less than a year old and this is the 3rd time back to be cleaned. they have replaced the shutter twice but the problem keeps coming back. Each time it comes back from the factory repair the oil spots return within 500 shots. This has caused me much down time and post processing time eliminating these spots. I can not in good conscience give this camera more than 1 star at this time. I hope they can resolve this issue soon. I have attached a photo of a blank white wall processed in View NX2 to illustrate this problem. Most of the spots are in the upper left quadrant of the frame although they appear in other areas as well. August 1, 2013
Terrible issues with sensor dust I have had this camera for approximately 8 months (4000 shots) and there is a buildup of dust, oil and grease on the sensor that now accumulates on a monthly basis. Although this is a commonly recognized fault of the camera, I cannot get it serviced overseas. even though the camera is still under warranty. I'm travelling a lot but an expected to ship it home each time even though Nikon has offices everywhere! Its understandable that faults do happen, but a real pity that Nikon won't accept responsibility for it. July 10, 2013
Too much oil spots I had the Nikon d3100, Nikon d7000 and I decided to move to the d600... a $2k FX camera.. It is an incredible camera BUT the oil spots on its sensor area a serious big problem... I am Ecuador (south America) and there is no NIKON Support Service so I cannot do anything to solve this problem... Every 500 shoots I must clear the oil spots.. Now I decided to sell this camera and move to the D7100 (downgrade) I hope this camera have no problem June 24, 2013
Oil spots on sensor within first month After only a few hundred shots we noticed spots on our images. Used a Rocket to blow off any dust, as we had changed lenses a few times. That removed all but two of the spots, which we suspected to be the dreaded D600 oil spotting issue. Interestingly, the spots were not in the upper left as many have reported. One was upper center, the other lower right. Called Nikon. After verifying the problem with our submitted images they sent us a mailing label as local service Nikon service centers are not qualified to do the repair. It's been two weeks and we have yet to see a notification of shipment back to us. We're very disappointed, Nikon. You've had plenty of time to address this issue with a redesign of the D600. It would be an awesome tool if not for this problem. June 14, 2013
Dust in sensor after 1000 shots I own a D600 and notice dust after 1000 shots. I cleaned it with the built in cleaner sensor but dust came back. I would like an answer from Nikon. I would not recommend the product if there is no fix to this. May 8, 2013
Stay Away from D600! After getting this camera as a treat and upgrading from a D90, I found very disappointing experience the fact of the "evil" oil/dust spots. If I knew about it I wouldn't spend the money. I does not make sense to have a camera that has a potential to take great pictures if you have to spend time fixing it after. Nikon should be responsible and acknowledge the problem in order to practice good customer service. I'm seriously considering Canon from now on. May 1, 2013
Don't buy this camera until Nikon addresses the oil spots on sensor The camera shoots beautiful pictures but I too had issues with the camera kicking oil and dust on the image sensor. I knew it was an issue but I took my chances in hopes that Nikon addressed the issues at the production level. I was horribly disappointed that they didn't. For me that's a deal breaker. Nikon dropped the ball with this one. I returned the camera to Bestbuy and bought a Canon 6D. Great job Nikon for losing a loyal customer. April 22, 2013
Poor Quality Control I would not purchase again!! Stay away from this camera I have owned a D50, D80 and currently a D300. I thought this would be a good way to go to full frame but wow what a mistake this camera is. My D600 had 80 shutter action when I started getting oil spots on the sensor. I sent in a ticket and they said blow off the sensor. Now I have bigger smears. I sent the package in for repair but I get no notice of where it is. All I have is my UPS receipt showing that it was signed for. To top that off it cost me $60 to ship it in for Nikons horrible quality control. When you use your camera to make a living and all of a sudden you are out with no word on when they will return it... lets just say I am glad I still have my D300. If you are looking for a new full frame camera stay away from this one! In fact if I were not vested in lenses I would look at Canon over nikon. This has only proven that nikon has very poor support, quality control and customer service. Don't believe me? Well you can just google D600 sensor issue like I did when I noticed it and find 1000's of complaints. In fact I found several consumer publications that reported the issue. I wish I would have done my homework before I blew 2 grand. April 1, 2013
Unbelievably Poor Quality Control I purchased the D600 in spite of the negative reviews. I actually thought I would be one of the "lucky" ones that had no problems with dust/oil on the sensor. I was sorely mistaken. After about 100 photos dust was visible in every photo. I had the camera cleaned by a professional photographer associate and that seemed to solve the problem for about another 300 photos. The dust returned so badly that I was spending more time removing specks in Photoshop than in doing all other editing combined. I refuse to have to clean the camera every month, so I returned it. Fortunately, I had purchased it from Costco, so there was no problem getting my money back. Like other users, I'm totally turned off to Nikon for their lack of quality control and customer support on this camera. It's really too bad, because every professional review of the D600 rates the image quality as extraordinary. It's odd though that only dpreview.com commented on a dust problem. I wish other reviewers had commented on this. Perhaps a little national criticism would have forced Nikon to admit and correct their mistake. I've used Nikon for all of my 40+ years of photography. In that time I've owned 9 Nikon bodies and dozens of Nikkor lenses. The D600 issue has turned me against Nikon, although it will be difficult to switch to a new system. What Nikon needs to remember is that they're not the only game in town. Twenty years ago you had to choose among Nikon, Canon, Pentax, Olympus, and Minolta film cameras. Now, besides those makes (well, Sony took over Minolta), there are other big players in the digital market. Nikon is in danger of losing a big chunk of the market by alienating LOYAL Nikon users. Not the smartest marketing decision. I'd love a full frame DSLR. I couldn't afford the D800 and thought the D600 was the way to go. I'll take some time to decide if I even want to remain a Nikon user or switch to a Company that treats its customers with more respect. March 25, 2013
Page: 5 6 7 8 9
<<prev | next>>
126 Questions | 180 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
126 Questions | 180 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D600
 
11 Answers

Is the D600 considered a pro body?

Sep 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+7points
16out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful9
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
11 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just for clarification the D600 is considered a Pro Body for NPS membership.
Jun 28, 2013 by
by
NikonStaff
Melville, NY

+12points
15out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful3
Answer: 
The D600 is definitely a pro camera. In fact, I've used DX format cameras for some of my pro work (portraits, products and events). It really boils down to the photographer: if you can take pictures people will pay for, then the camera is secondary (in most cases). In today's market, so many people merely share their pictures via Facebook, email, etc., but rarely do customers buy the 3'x2' framed art to hang above their fireplace. Having a full-frame camera is necessary to get that kind of quality, and the D600 is superior in that regard. Also, I should mention that by "pro", I'm not referring to Nat Geo or Time-Life photographers; instead, I'm thinking of most gigs, i.e. weddings, events, portraits, etc. In short, being "pro" for a camera (or photog) is a subjective term, but IMHO, I feel the D600 is a pro camera. Lastly, to really up your game if using the D600, go for one of the prime lenses. I use the Nikon 85mm f1.8 prime, which does an amazing job with my D600...customers rave about the quality, even on enlargements I've had made at 36"x24" (good glass is a big variable in this equation).
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, ca
Location : 
Newbury Park, ca
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
7out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful9
Answer: 
This is a perplexing question.

For the purpose of qualifying for the benefits of Nikon Professional Services, as others have already made clear, the answer is no.

For every other purpose, the questions have to be asked: Considered by whom, and what are their criteria?

Some photographers have paid their rent shooting with disposable cameras. Are those cardboard cameras, then, "pro" bodies?
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Location : 
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-52points
2out of 56found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful54
Answer: 
If your camera has a pop-up flash, it is not a professional body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-10points
10out of 30found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful20
Answer: 
According to Nikon Professional Services:

The D800 is a pro body.
The D600 is not a pro body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Jake
Role: Professional photographer

+27points
30out of 33found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful30unhelpful3
Answer: 
In my opinion, this question is equivalent to people buying "pro" quality golf clubs. It's not the clubs that make you a pro, or in this case, not the camera body. The tool isn't what makes someone a pro or not; it's the person using the tool. If your type of work, and ultimately what you get paid for (which is what makes you a "professional" versus a hobbyist), doesn't dictate that you spend $5,000 for a particular piece of equipment, then why spend the money? If a D600, or whatever other camera body does the job you need it to and you get paid, then you are still a "pro" despite the level of camera you use.

I've shot plenty of commercial projects that have been published in various magazines, including GQ and Sports Illustrated, using nothing more than a D300.
Sep 27, 2012 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
Annapolis, MD, USA
Location : 
Annapolis, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+13points
16out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
Answer: 
People are too caught up these days thinking they need all the bells and whistles on a camera for it to be a pro camera. A true pro can make great images from just using the manual settings. In short, yes this is a pro camera.
Sep 22, 2012 by
by
Ray from L.A.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
9out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful11
Answer: 
just to know D600 is a semi-pro body, pro cameras cost above 4000$, pro bodies - Nikon D4, Canon 1Dx, Nikon D3x, Canon 1Dc and medium format cameras like Phase One 645 and Pentax 645

while D800, D600, D700, D300s are semi-pro cameras !
Sep 17, 2012 by
by
EagleS
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer

-15points
2out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful17
Answer: 
This body of D600 is much lower in terms of construction of a D300s, is very similar to a D7000. Will be a D7000 considered someday a pro-camera? I do not believe. The D600 also will not, it only have a fullframe sensor
Sep 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+16points
19out of 22found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful3
Answer: 
Couple this new camera body with the best Nikon glass and you will wind up with what I call a "smart pro's system". That is, putting your money in an adequate body and great glass saves money, provides reasonable street cred, and of course, if you have the eye, and luck, will allow fantastic captures. Short answer; in my estimation the D600 will soon be accepted as a "pro body".
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
12out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful3
Answer: 
In the least, an excellent back-up camera for a working pro and a DREAM camera for the intermediate to advanced prosumer. This camera will NOT depreciate in value for many many months.
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

If D600 low light going to be as good as D800?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The D600 V D800 -----simple answer. A camera with more functionality is going to offer greater capibility, If you need low light-- go for the best camera --D800. Costs more but this inst really a situation where the two are comprable. D800 is pro hardware-6 is prosumer.
Jun 5, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
I've shot at 2500 ISO on my D600 indoors with very good quality and extremely low noise. I tend to use fast glass (f2) and in those cases, even in dim light indoors, can shoot at about 1600 ISO with a shutter speed around 1/125, which has given some very good results.
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Location : 
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
You're kind of asking for an apples to oranges comparison, but perhaps this will help.

Before I even bought my D600, I downloaded RAW files from various Web resources to make comparisons with the D800, especially with regard to noise performance at high ISO. I was able to make comparisons because Capture NX2 had early support for the D600.

Even a cursory examination shows the D600 to have superior high-ISO performance. This is as expected because the D600 and D800 represent about the same generation of imaging sensor technology -- i.e., the latest -- in which case the imager with the larger pixel site pitch should have the noise performance advantage, all other things being equal.

Now, you'd think that by the same token the D700 should outperform the D600. This is not as obvious, and I can only guess that this is attributable to the D700 sensor being an already somewhat dated design. Yeah... this is a fast-moving industry.

Don't get me wrong. The RAW files reveal that the D800 has excellent high-ISO/noise performance -- something that's all the more remarkable given it's high sensor resolution. It's just that the D600 is even better in this particular regard.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Jämaja, Estonia
Location : 
Jämaja, Estonia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month

-15points
1out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful16
Answer: 
Low light performance will depend t on ISO and camera settings, shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, and selection of the lens.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

Can the DX format be used with FX lenses for 1.5 X magnification (crop sensor, if you will).

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
Location : 
Midwest
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe both of the previous answers are incorrect regarding crop factor. A DX sensor is smaller than an FX sensor. Using a DX lens on an FX camera does not magnify the image - quite the opposite. The FX sensor will see a larger portion of the image (including vignetting at the edges) unless you use the "DX crop mode" of the D600 to limit the sensor area to the same size as DX. Then, it's the same as a DX camera.

The 1.5x crop factor happens only when you put an FX lens on a DX camera. For example, a 200mm FX lens would be the equivalent of 300mm lens on a DX camera. For years, I shot with a 50mm 1.8D on my Nikon D50 #DX camera# because it gave me a bright telephoto image equivalent of 75mm.

I currently use a 35mm DX lens with my FX camera because I like the vignetting effect as a creative tool. It's the equivalent of a 20mm lens with the D600.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Dec 4, 2013 by
by
srenkin
Atlanta, GA, USA
Location : 
Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Correction, YES you can use DX format with FX lenses. There is a button just below to the right of the lens, press it in and the back command wheel to change from FX to DX. You will only be using 10 MP but you will benefit because you will be using the sweet spot of the lens and because of the size of the pixels you should get reduced noise and better dynamic range. Not to mention 300mm essentially becomes 450mm.... one more thing, the auto focus zone is perfect for DX (entire frame) while kind of small for FX. There are definite advantages in doing what your question asks.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Maze
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
No. Optically a Dx lens is the same as an Fx lens. The reason Dx sensors are 1.5 crop is because they are half the size of an Fx sensor. However when you are done cropping out the vignette you will be in essence at 1.5 magnification, so yes i suppose depending on your point of view.
Sep 20, 2012 by
by
Michael
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Do I need to set the aperture value before going into Live View mode when using G lenses?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I guess I'd like to know if I can change the aperture while shooting video without having to use an AI, AI-S or AF-D lens. Thanks!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
Answer: 
I agree, this is COMPLETELY unacceptable. If it had this one simple feature, it would be on order right now. A Canon t2i can do this. That's a cheap 4 year old camera. What gives? I really hope this is fixed in a firmware update. I simply cannot believe this thing has clean HDMI out and doesn't have the ability to change the aperture while recording.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Unfortunately this can only be done at 800. This is the must crazy thing of nikon. Why do they spend so much money building a camera which can record excellent video and they deny the ability of working as it's simply logical.Canon is doing it , at the chipest models!!! An update is absolutely necessary!!!
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
5out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful8
Answer: 
You have to adjust the settings before you start recording a video.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Will my AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens work with the D600?

Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can force any DX lens to shoot full-frame images on the D600. Just turn off Auto DX Crop in the menu and select FX for image area.

You will have severe vignetting, of course, but the amount depends on the lens, aperture, and zoom settings. For example, with my 18-200 set at 200, the full-frame image had very manageable (i.e., easily correctable) vignetting.

In any case, allowing full-frame capture with DX lenses puts YOU in control of the crop. Unless you're strapped for memory card space or are forced to work with a slow computer, I see no reason to use Auto DX Crop.
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Location : 
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes but you will be shooting in 10.5MP DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

What software do I use to open the RAW (NEF) files from the D600?

Nov 4, 2012 by
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
 on D600
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I have not been able to open the NEF files from my D600 (just purchased) with the supplied ViewNX 2 software included with my D600. I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
Location : 
Union, ME, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Downloads can be found here,
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
" I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so."

To download the latest update to Capture NX2, go to the top of this page; mouse over Service & Support; click on Download Center.
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Location : 
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you have both the latest versions installed, 2.3.5 for Capture NX2 and 2.6.0 for View NX2
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

SD Card "error message", does anyone know the cause?

Oct 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I was taking some test pictures with my new D600 and all of the sudden I noticed that when I press the shutter release button, the camera is not focusing or releasing the sutter. While trying to figure out what the issue was, I noticed the "card error" message flashing in the screen on top of the camera. After some investigation, I realized that the #2 SD card which I'd set up as overflow back up is causing the issue [In other words card #2 was not even in use when the issue occured]. Removed card #2 and the camera started working again. At this point I had taken about 150 pictures with my camera. Since then I've been unable to read the card that was removed from slot #2 [8GB calss 10 Kensington] on any PC. I'd have this SD card for several months and used it with my other camera's with no issues. I had formatted both cards after inserting them in the camera before shooting pictures. I do understand that memory cards regardless of type or brand could go bad but I am wondering, if anyone knows what could cause this issue?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
same thing happened to me and the card was brand new hi quality and the number 2 slot was the issue in the same way described above.
Feb 17, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The mentioned Kensigton SDHC is an approved card for this camera.
Oct 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sounds like a bad card, try using a approved card: http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d600/spec.htm
Instead of using a low cost card.
Oct 6, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Does it still multiple exposure feature

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
Location : 
Belleville, NJ, USA
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
If it allows you to bracket 3 exposure than you should be able to do HDR with a 7 stop range.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Maze
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It looks like it only allows 3 bracketed exposures. Too bad for HDR users.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
2 Answers

D600 Commander?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Sam
Germany
 on D600
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I cannot imagine that it doesn't support flash commander mode but it is isn't called out specifically in the specs page as it is on other bodies.
Does it?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Sam
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I notice the D600 brochure states this: Nikon Creative Advanced Wireless Lighting supported with built-in flash, SB-910, SB-900, SB-800 or
Lighting System (CLS) SB-700 as a master flash and SB-600 or SB-R200 as remotes, or SU-800 as commander;
built-in flash can serve as master flash in commander mode; auto FP high-speed sync and
modeling illumination supported with all CLS-compatible flash units except SB-400; Flash
Color Information Communication and FV lock supported with all CLS-compatible flash units
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
MichaelT
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Location : 
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the camera supports CLS and can be used in Commander mode.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Can I assign the AE-L / AF-L button to be AF-ON?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
 on D600
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
Location : 
West Chester, PA, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am a D600 owner, and I wouldn't lie to you. The answer to your question is yes.

Moreover, the AE-L/AF-L button can be assigned different functions for still and movie modes.

The manual is now available for download. That will explain all of the assignable choices. With respect to menu functions, I have found no errors or inaccuracies in the manual so far.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Iceland
Location : 
Iceland
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are several personal reviews of the D600 online from photographers stating they have been able to assign the AE-L/AF-L button to become the AF-ON button. In my opinion, this AF-ON button capability will be a heavily-weighted determining factor for most pros considering this camera as part of their working equipment list.

NIKON - PLEASE answer this question definitively!
Sep 25, 2012 by
by
MLM
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers