Loading

A full-frame Nikon for your full-time passion.

If you've been looking to take your passion to the next level with full-frame HD-SLR performance, your wait is over. Now the power of a pro-level Nikon FX-format camera—stunning full-frame images, cinema-quality 1080p videos, superior low-light performance, blazing fast framing and burst rates, built-in HDR, wireless photo sharing and much more—is attainable in a compact, lightweight HD-SLR. Optimized for full-frame shooting and versatility, streamlined for compactness and value, the D600 will fuel your passion like never before.
photo of a woman in a long red dress shot indoors

FX-quality images and HD videos

Nikon’s most compact full-frame HD-SLR ever

Passionate photographers who seek exceptional full-frame, high-resolution performance rely on Nikon FX-format HD-SLRs. For the first time ever, that level of performance is available in a compact, affordable HD-SLR. D600's 24.3 megapixel FX-format CMOS sensor captures every detail with lifelike sharpness. Its EXPEED 3 processing system manages all that data with remarkable speed and accuracy, enabling up to 5.5 frames-per-second (fps) continuous shooting at full resolution. And the low-light performance synonymous with Nikon is again proven deserved—shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, expandable down to 50 and up to 25,600 for extreme situations.
photo of a man selling nuts at a market, and a closeup view of nuts

The beauty is in the details

Highly accurate AF System for superior sharpness

One of the keys to capturing razor-sharp images and HD videos—whether shooting through the viewfinder or with the LCD monitor—is a fast, precise autofocus system, and the D600 has one of the best. 39 focus points with wide-area AF coverage offer endless compositional possibilities. Nine cross-type sensors and seven center focus points work all the way down to f/8 for extended AF functionality with teleconverters and long-reach lenses. When shooting photos or HD video in Live View, Nikon’s responsive contrast-detect AF activates for accurate fulltime autofocusing. Every moment you capture will be razor sharp.
photo of a city at night, in low light

Unwavering exceptional performance

Flawless metering and onboard intelligence

The D600 delivers consistently beautiful images and HD videos, thanks to Nikon’s intelligent Scene Recognition System with 3D Color Matrix Metering II. Its 2,016 pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and the scene colors, all within the time it takes to press the shutter release button. That data is then referenced against an onboard image database for consistently accurate exposures, auto white balance, i-TTL flash and subject-tracking autofocus performance.
 
     

Cinema-quality HD video projects

Pro-level 1080p HD video recording features

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that empower and inspire filmmakers and video enthusiasts, and the D600 is proof of that commitment. Shoot 1080p HD videos with selectable frame rates of 30p, 25p or 24p and MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 compression. Bend time with 720p HD at 60p, 50p or 30p for ultra-smooth video playback of fast moving subjects, or create slow-motion footage during post processing. Maintain your creative vision with manual exposure control, fulltime AF with face-priority and subject tracking, dedicated inputs for a stereo mic and headphones, saving a selected still frame from video, and much more. Enhance all that with the dramatic perspectives and depth-of-field control of NIKKOR interchangeable lenses, and you'll dazzle with every video project.

photo of a photographer looking into the viewfinder of the D600 while a model sits in a scene, along with the shot of the model on a smartphone

Wi-Fi camera control and mobile photo sharing

Optional WU-1b wireless mobile adapter

With Wi-Fi compatibility, the D600 makes sharing photos even easier. Connect the optional WU-1b Wireless Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the D600—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots!
two photos of a woman against a rust covered wall, one looking at the camera, one with her eyes closed

Lighting studio optional

The D600’s built-in pop-up flash opens up new shooting possibilities—and not just in low-light situations. Even well lit subjects can benefit from a balanced fill flash for extra depth and dimension. And since the D600’s flash integrates with Nikon’s i-TTL system, it can act as a Commander and communicate crucial exposure information to two groups of remote flashes across three channels for accurate lighting and exceptional results.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights for endless creative expression to the WU-1b Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi sharing and camera control, your system can grow with you.


WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

D600 Body Only

Price $2,099.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

24-85mm VR Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Price $2,699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

Two Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VRAF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Price $3,349.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D600 3.4 5 223 223
Great Camera - Too bad there is dust on the sensor This is a great camera however dust on the sensor is a continued battle amongst the majority of owners. Although Nike has stepped up to the plate and offered to fix the problem, FREE OF CHARGE, the problem seems to return. Nike's recognition of the situation is unprecedented and a good step in the right direction. Continued return of the problem will take away from this great camera. Until this camera is fixed first time & only time, I would recommend the Nike D610 which shows no issue. April 6, 2014
Great camara, but I'm one of those who had problems with the sensor spots The camera is amazing and I take it everywhere I travel. Weight and size is a good deal for the quality of pictures you can get. Unfortunately I Suffered the issue with the spots in the pictures, and the luck off support from Nikon, since I'm travelling frequently. Even though they (Nikon) say that you can send the camera to a licensee, I cant wait one week in the same place for cleaning the camera. i did it my self, clean the sensor, and I almost ruin it. I recommend going for the D610. January 28, 2014
Spots on sensor a problem Camera has great features but oil spots on sensor is inexcusable. I bought 1 refurb unit and sent it back because it was full of spots on sensor. The next refurb had 2600 shots and 2 spots on the sensor upon arrival so I figured I would see what develops. How can they say refurb and not fully clean the sensors? At 3200 shots there are 2 more spots. I like the camera's features and the price I paid but am very disappointed with Nikon's Quality control. They should offer everyone who bought one a free exchange for the new D610. I will clean it myself but the bad taste is there. I still have my Photomic F bought new in August 1963 and it still works perfectly and never had a repair. Nikon sure has fallen in quality. December 13, 2013
Nice camera This is a good base level DSLR. Unfortunately I have the ongoing dust issue which us disappointing for a Nikon product with so many features.. It would be good to see Nikon rectify this issue. I love the camera otherwise. October 4, 2013
Amazing camera with dirt on sensor I jumped from D40 to D600 after few months it was announced. Fast focus, incredible image quality and great handling …. just perfect for my needs. Definitely exceeds my expectations. Unfortunately after few hundred shots I found there were a lot of spots on the upper left corner and few spread across the sensor. This was visible at f8 … I followed the Nikon instructions and managed to blow most of the dirt. However I still had several dirt circles left on the sensor visible at f14 and up. I got the sensor cleaned after few months. Well this helped for few hundred shots until some spots came back. Since I am using a blower and have clean images up to f16. I have to use the blower however after each few hundred shots (no lens change at all). I have around 30k on my shutter count and still facing dirt issues. Apparently Nikon dropped the ball with this camera …. quite disappointing and annoying for $2K DSLR. It could have been the best affordable FX on the market… October 1, 2013
D600 needs help! I have had my D600 since Jan. 2013. It is now Aug. 2013. I have finally decided to send in the camera for a fix to Nikon for the excessive dust on the sensor, I do not change lenses but the dust keep appearing. I ma not sure it's dust, but some sort of poor engineering particles that consistently appear. I wish now that I bought the D800. I hear that doesn't have dust issues. I would not recommend this camera. August 13, 2013
Dirty, Oily Sensor Nikon really dropped the ball on this one. The sensor on mine became covered with oil spots soon after I started using it. B&H where I bought it from said that I could return it but they could not guarentee the replacement would be any better. Everything else about the camera worked fine and despite the spots I decided to keep the one I had in fear I would get one even worse. B&H's customer service agent said that Nikon wouldn't even own up to the problem, not what I would have expected. I have taken to cleaning the sensor on a regular basis. There seems to be less oil showing up on the sensor the more I use the camera. Aside from the problem with the sensor, I enjoy using the camera and believe it takes great pictures especially coupled with a quality lens. Until they fix the oil problem I would not recommend anyone to purchase it. March 17, 2013
Dust/Oil Spots again. I have already sent the camera in once since Jan. to have the sensor cleaned and it resolved the issue. So I thought. After only 1500 photographs after the cleaning, the dust/oil spots are there again. I am dissatisfied even though the camera takes great photos. February 26, 2013
Hard to rate. Great photos, but dust problem This is a hard to write review since I have such mixed feelings. Hence the rating of 3. It is acually a 5 and a 1 for different reasons. I got my D600 before I read about a dust problem. I did not notice it at first and was hoping I was one of those who did not seem to have the problem. But then I took a few shots that required me to stop down to f/22 or so, and there they were. Dozens of them. This was actually the second camera, as the first failed after two weeks and was replaced by B&H very quickly. ( PS Highly recommend them) I updated from a D7000 and have been impressed with the quality of the photos taken in pretty challenging situations in Yosemite with snow, sun, shadows, and then with overcast skies. Very nice. However, the dust problem remains and I have mixed feelings. I do not want to give up the quality of images, but I also do not want to spend big bucks every few months to clean the sensor. I have tried doing it myself with a blower and a brush, but many do not want to budge, or some have even smudged the sensor. A lenspen has partially cleaned up some of them, but I think this time I am going to try to find someone to give it a pro cleaning. I don't want to risk anything else. I hope Nikon soon man's up and finds a solution to this problem and makes it available in a timely mannor to all registered owners under warranty. I first used Nikon in the 70s (FTn) and have always thought of them as a quality company. I hope they still are. So, I will recommend this product because other than this problem, which is NOT trivial, it is a wonderful picture taking tool, and I hold out hope that Nikon will do the right thing for the large percentage of users who have this problem. February 8, 2013
Not overly impressed After shooting with this camera with my Zeiss lenses I'm not impressed by the image quality. The dynamic range on this camera is it's only saving grace in my opinion. The images are usually pretty flat and not very sharp even with adjusted camera settings. I shoot on a tripod 99.9% of the time and I use the self timer. I haven't bought a remote yet just a too lazy. Also the body of the camera just doesn't do it for me. Well there's a reason this is more of an entry level full frame camera. This is probably going to get returned. January 25, 2013
Way to hurt early adopters Nikon Overall this camera is great as long as you don't get one with oil / dust issue. But now a new issue has risen. All of the customers that bought early and dealt with issues (oil/dust) were just given another blow. Originally body only $2,200, now $2,100 to $2,000. Now for the kit d600 with 24-85 lens. Started out around $2,700. Now it's $2,000. That's right $2,000 for the d600 and a lens. A great deal IMO for those who haven't gone out and bought one yet. But for those who have its bitter pill to swallow. After nikon's new pricing policy, the V1 pricing issue and now this price drop on the d600.Ohh and I can't forget to mention how poorly Nikon USA.service reputation has taken a dive.but thats a whole other issue I think From now on I'll be waiting to buy anything new from Nikon. So for those who haven't got taken for a ride. Go out and buy the d600 kit and enjoy it. And for those who were taken for a ride. We can hope nikon gives us a credit for a couple hundred dollars or a couple free sensor cleanings, who i'm i kidding? Just keep on shooting. And enjoy the camera December 19, 2012
D600 great stills - terrible if you want to record video interviews This is my fourth Nikon DSLR - and my second used for making videos as well as shooting stills. I love the still photo aspects of the D600 - although I also have the dust and oil spots on the sensor. So far I have cleaned the sensor twice since purchasing the camera 6 weeks ago. The D7000 is the camera I have been using for the past year to make some videos - but the lack of a headphone jack for monitoring audio when recording was a big drawback. When the D600 was announced with FX sensor and video capability, and a headphone jack I was ready to buy. My biggest disappointment is the hiss that accompanies any audio you record with an external microphone. You can hear the hiss as soon as you plug in a cable to the microphone jack. Plugging in a cable cuts off the internal microphone, which is expected, but it activates a high end hiss that is added to any recording you make. This is terrible. Sounds like a very noisy preamplifier. I wrote to Nikon directly about this and they claimed the following. "Thank you for contacting Nikon. I see that you have a question regarding microphone use on your D600. The only microphone that we can provide support of is the ME-1 Stereo Microphone, which is the only Nikon microphone that is compatible with the D600. Since you have not indicated that you are using a Nikon microphone we cannot provide you support with your issue." I'm hoping that Nikon support is not saying that the ONLY microphone that can be used with the D600 to record clean audio is the ME-1. If that is the case, they should include that fact in their marketing materials. The D7000 records audio, using the same cable and external microphones I have used with the D600, and records it without the hiss. The problem is in the audio circuitry of the camera and not the microphone. The noise is activated when you plug in a cable to the microphone in jack - it makes no difference what brand of microphone you attach to the cable. I'm hoping that Nikon can fix this problem. Without a fix, I would say this is a totally inferior product if you intend to use it to record any audio with an external microphone. November 28, 2012
Disappointed with the oil spots that apears on CMOS I had a D200 and a D300S before and I only once had to clean the CMOS on my D300s because of a grease residue. With the D600 it seem i have to do it at each 50 to 100 shots. And in time that it is not a problem for me to remove the spots on Photoshop or clean the CMOS with specialized kit, I hate when they show on a movie. I was in Sedona and instead of making a beautiful movie of the red rocks, i have a beautiful movie with 2 big spots visible and annoying. Otherwise a great camera. Some are saying that this is a new trend triggered by the sensitive mechanisms involved and manufacture original grease applied. And indeed my wife experienced similar with her SONY Nex-5N. Is it something wrong with the new manufacture process or technology used? November 22, 2012
Great Full Frame but..... The D600 is an exceptional camera. This is my first FX body and was ecstatic to finally move into the full frame sensor. The low light capabilities are astonishing. Color rendering and dynamic range are phenomenal. Very light weight which some might view as a negative, but I see that as a positive. I'm not a professional by any means, but a passionate enthusiast. I have 2 lenses currently (50mm 1.8 g and the 28-300 VRII). Great image quality from both. I ordered the camera with the 50mm and later purchased the 28-300. I am amazed at the sharpness and clarity of the images from the 28-300. I haven't found a reason yet to take it off the camera. In fact, I have only changed the lens once since receiving the 28-300. That's why I am perplexed why I have dust/oil spots on my images. I have maybe 1,000 shutter clicks and I need to clean my sensor? I previously owned a D5000 and have taken thousands of pictures. I have never saw this issue and never cleaned the sensor? I paid around $500 for that body. Now I spend $2100 and get this? I'm quite disappointed. November 16, 2012
not an upgrade from the d300s I have been shooting with Nikon for a while now. I have been using the D300s for the past couple years and decided to upgrade to a full frame. I bought the d600 a few days ago and was extremely disappointed. The body felt like a child's camera, I ended up returning it and buying a D800. This camera is definitely a step up for those shooting with a d7000 but i would suggest those who have a d300s buy the d800. October 4, 2012
Great features, I guess, in an ugly package I received the D600 last Tuesday afternoon. The only thing I have done with this camera is to take it out of the box and hold it in my hands. I really hate the way it feels and looks: the hand grab is not large enough, the camara could have been a little wider in order to keep a pleasent look and balance since it is so thick. I am sure it will look worse if you attach the vertical handle and battery pack. This camara really looks and feels like the D7000 and the rest of the less expensive cameras. So I have not even tried or connected this camera, and if I have not returned it yet it is because everyone so far says that this is going to be a great camera and I am waiting to see if I get used to the way it looks. If I keep it, I will replace it as soon as something with similar characteristics and better looks comes out. I am hoping for a digital camera with the looks of the old SLRs, but with a full size processor. Olympus and Fujifilm have already starting this trend, but unfortunately they do not have a full size processor. I do not know why Nikon did not use the body of the Nikon F6, which they are still making or something similar. I think their designers need to be more aware of new trends, The DSLRs have, up to now, beeing just ugly and oversized. I can recommed this product to those who you can overlook its looks and cheap feel. September 28, 2012
Amazing Camera, ......but I have owned D70, D200, D300, D7000, Nikon 1 V1, and D600. The D600 is almost identical in size and feel as the D7000 although the grip isn't as comfortable. Images are really amazing....but I also have problem with oil spatter on sensor from shutter. Seems there are a lot of reports of this online. This should have been caught in QC Problem is currently in the hands of Dealer and Nikon Service October 22, 2012
Great Camera - Great Problems I have been a loyal Nikon User for over 23 years. My first 1000 pictures with the D 600 were amazing. Then the spots appeared. I figured that having the sensor cleaned would solve the problem. I paid a professional camera repair and authorized Nikon Dealer, to clean the sensor. In a matter of weeks while on a Hawaiian cruse not only spots appeared but other kinds of lint like particles were showing up on my pictures. After one day of shooting about 300 pictures the spots got worse. By the 4th day on the islands the shutter began to stick open. The process was shot once - shutter sticks. press the shutter button and the shutter closes. On the third and every third try thereafter it took a picture.I sent the camera in for warranty repair and I am anxious to get it back. In theory when Nikon completes the repair it should be as good as the N 610. That is if Nikon replaces the faulty shutter and sensor with the same shutter and sensor as in the 610 February 17, 2014
Decent when working I, like most of you out there, don't have a ton of money to spend on gear. I researched the technical aspects like crazy between cameras before upgrading from a cropped frame to a full frame sensor. After making my purchase and taking quite a few photos I noticed spots on my image.. it then became very apparent that it was in fact oil on my sensor. I started to do a more in depth search on the issue and realized I wasn't the only one. My camera is currently on it's way to one of two Nikon repair centers in hopes they fix the issue so I do not have to deal with the oil spots again. It's fairly disappointing to pay 2100 dollars for a camera that spits oil on your sensor.. February 2, 2014
Nice Functionality but Sensitive to Dust I've owned the D600 since September 2012. In general the functionality, ergonomics and image quality are great. I shoot mainly in manual mode and find the controls to be very intuitive. But I have the sensor cleaned professionally every six months and the camera still has terrible dust problems. I have to mask out 30 - 100 dust spots on almost every image during post processing. It is simply awful when layering bracketed images. I am primarily and outdoor photographer and I am extremely careful when changing lenses. I keep the camera in a case when not in use. I am meticulous about lens care as well. It is very frustrating that Nikon has denied the problem but came out with the D610 and left the 600 users with no solution to the dust issue. January 16, 2014
I won't buy this camera again, I might not buy a Nikon again Don’t get me wrong here the D600 has excellent image quality. I love many of the photos I’ve taken with this camera and so do many of my friends. Just don’t shoot at a blue sky. I waited a long time to buy an affordable FX camera. I have been shooting film longer then I should have because I didn't want to buy into the DX format. I didn't know that affordable meant I had to put up with lower than expected dust quality control. Out of the box I had spots on my sensor within the first 25 shots. I noticed it when I took a picture of a blue sky. I opened a case and Nikon's answer was to have it clean professionally. I read the stories about others who also have this problem. After the clearing the spots came back so now I don't shoot into the sky with this unit. I wish Nikon would acknowledge this issue and do something for their D600 customers other than avoid this issue. I'd be willing to except a voucher or trade in allowance on a fixed version like the D610. I've always enjoyed Nikon's cameras but, after shelling out over $2000.00 for the D600 kit with these issues and no resolution I might just looking into cutting my losses and try a different company. December 13, 2013
Super Images With Design Flaw I purchased this camera body like many others as my first FX sensor. I needed a body while I sent my D7000 in for oil spots (another story). The high ISO capabilities are super and blow away my D7100 that I use for wildlife. I have 25,000 actuations on this body and still have to wet clean the sensor every few hundred shots which has cost several hundred dollars in cleaning supplies. Nikon refuses to admit to their design flaw yet has released the D610 with identical specs but with a new shutter mechanism to correct this issue. Nikon Service will not acknowledge this flaw and offers no support for those of us stuck with this issue. Also the MB-D14 does not fit as securely as the MB-D15 on my D7100. So for anybody considering using this at apertures smaller than f/8 (Landscapes and Macro) I suggest you avoid this camera. October 17, 2013
Sensor dust and dirt? So I debated long and hard over this or Canon. Took the Nikon plunge. Here I am about 300 shots later with.... (dust?) (dirt?), (oil?) spots on the sensor. This from Nikon? It is back to the camera shop too see what my options are. June 19, 2013
4-star camera but for the spots and Nikon's attitude to this issue I bought my Nikon D600 in November 2012 and haven't done a lot of exposures yet. Probably less than 1,000. Last weekend, I took a shot with a lot of sky and noticed three or four spots. I was aware when I bought the camera that some proportion of the cameras were afflicted with spots on the sensor, but hoped that I'd delayed buying the camera long enough. Nikon has not been forthright on what that proportion has been over the months since the camera's release, and I kidded myself I'd waited long enough for the problem to be fixed. No such luck it seems. The attached test shot shows about 15 spots mostly on the left side of the image, some fairly sharp and some blotchy and larger. I change my lenses in the house and also in about five years of owning a D70, only had the camera cleaned twice when just a few spots appeared. Looks like I'm going to have to buy a cleaning kit and learn from a friend who was a professional photographer to clean this camera myself. Other than this issue, the camera is a big step up for me with so many creative features I will be learning to use it to its maximum capability for years. Resolution is terrific compared with that from the D70. I also own an older Panasonic G2 micro-four thirds format camera. Much smaller and lighter but still capable of very good images for the amateur photography enthusiast, and both Panasonic and Olympus continue to improve their cameras with this shared format. While the images may not be quite as good, my Panasonic G2 is relatively light and unobtrusive and also offers lots of creative control. I still tend to pick it up when I leave the house rather than the newer, chunkier D600. If Nikon were serious about my business, they'd be sending me and all other Nikon D600 owners a few certificates for free one-day cleaning with overnight FedEx each way, and being open about the issue. Their one public statement on the issue was far too little, too late. This camera is likely to be my last DSLR and my last Nikon. April 30, 2013
Great Features, Low Build Quality For the first three months that I owned this camera I was very pleased. It is feature-rich and produces very high quality images. The low weight is fantastic and it really just feels good in my hands, though they are somewhat large. I shoot mostly outdoors and tote my camera along on hikes and plane rides, so it gets shaken and bumped around inevitably. Long story short, after a very minor impact which was not even enough to make a scratch on the outside of my 70-200 lens or the camera body, the frame on the inside of the body broke and cannot be repaired. This sort of treatment wasn't anything that ever effected any of the other 3 Nikon DSLR's that I've owned. To top things off, Nikon's service and support has been no help whatsoever. I truly would have expected better customer service after spending so much money on one of their highest-end products. I would have given the D600 (and Nikon's customer service) one star, but I'll give it two since I enjoyed it so much before it broke. Overall, very disappointed. Anyone wishing to travel outside of your home with this camera, be wary. I've certainly had a very unpleasant experience with this camera and I've heard of plenty of similar stories from others as well. April 22, 2013
Give us D700 body with D600's sensor! I am gonna wait until Nikon fixed this oil spot problem or Give us D700 body with D600's sensor! Do not buy D600!!! March 25, 2013
So good but so flawed The Good: Super light weight for a FX. I could not tell the difference in weight between my D7000 and the D600. The Bad: Dust and spots on the left side after 25 shots. I blew them out put my 50mm prime on the camera and began shooting again. I could see the dust accumulating on the left side while shooting another 75 pictures. This dust is coming from within the camera. I did not change lenses. The dust lessened over the next 500 shots. Then I get the dreaded oil residue in the top left corner after about 850 shots. I am returning and keeping my D7000 until Nikon can correct the problem. March 5, 2013
Not what I expected... Having owned a D2x, D300s and D700, the D600 falls way behind in build quality. It feels cheap in your hands and looks like nothing more than an overpirced D7000. I expected a PRO quality camera for my $2K and the more I use it the less I like it. It has adopted the 39 point D7000 autofocus system which doesn't cover the FX frame sufficiently. Color balance is on the cold side favoring blues & greens which does nothing for skin tones. You must customize the color balance for accurate color reproduction. On auto white balance your color tonesvary from pic to pic so make sure you set correctly and not leave it to the camera. I had high expectations for the D600, now I'm just dissapointed.... February 13, 2013
Nikon color shift? I was set on purchasing this camera moving up from the D90 but i decided to rent it first to be sure I would be happy with it. Two things I noticed, the focus are all group in the center, not entirely a deal breaker but the main issue is the newer Nikon's have a problem with color produced, slightly green. I shoot raw & have never had an issue with the D90. I am very concerned with the quality control from Nikon. So I am looking for a used D700, beautiful color, or switching to Canon. So Nikon, please consider taking a step back, not sure what the change is but it's not a good one. February 7, 2013
Good pics of dust/oil Got camera on first day of release, been waiting for month for it. First one, tons of black dots on pics. Second one, same thing in same area(ul corner). Third one was good until after about 500 shots, then same thing. Tried it one more time and after 1000 shot repeat of same issue. Finally returned and will wait and see. I wouldn't have been concerned if spot were random but they were All in around the same area for all 4 d600. Considering selling all gear and switch sides. Camera is gret over all except a few things: Nikon went cheap on AF coverage and low light focusing, some inconsistent wb in low light situations. Not sure why Nikon has not stepped up and say something about dust/oil issue even if it is only a small percentage has the problem. Give us the confidence in your product!!! I would NOT recommend d600 at the present time until this issue is evaluated and addressed. January 26, 2013
Page: 4 5 6 7 8 9
<<prev | next>>
125 Questions | 179 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
125 Questions | 179 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D600
 
11 Answers

Is the D600 considered a pro body?

Sep 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+7points
16out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful9
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
11 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just for clarification the D600 is considered a Pro Body for NPS membership.
Jun 28, 2013 by
by
NikonStaff
Melville, NY

+12points
15out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful3
Answer: 
The D600 is definitely a pro camera. In fact, I've used DX format cameras for some of my pro work (portraits, products and events). It really boils down to the photographer: if you can take pictures people will pay for, then the camera is secondary (in most cases). In today's market, so many people merely share their pictures via Facebook, email, etc., but rarely do customers buy the 3'x2' framed art to hang above their fireplace. Having a full-frame camera is necessary to get that kind of quality, and the D600 is superior in that regard. Also, I should mention that by "pro", I'm not referring to Nat Geo or Time-Life photographers; instead, I'm thinking of most gigs, i.e. weddings, events, portraits, etc. In short, being "pro" for a camera (or photog) is a subjective term, but IMHO, I feel the D600 is a pro camera. Lastly, to really up your game if using the D600, go for one of the prime lenses. I use the Nikon 85mm f1.8 prime, which does an amazing job with my D600...customers rave about the quality, even on enlargements I've had made at 36"x24" (good glass is a big variable in this equation).
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, ca
Location : 
Newbury Park, ca
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
7out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful9
Answer: 
This is a perplexing question.

For the purpose of qualifying for the benefits of Nikon Professional Services, as others have already made clear, the answer is no.

For every other purpose, the questions have to be asked: Considered by whom, and what are their criteria?

Some photographers have paid their rent shooting with disposable cameras. Are those cardboard cameras, then, "pro" bodies?
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Location : 
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-52points
2out of 56found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful54
Answer: 
If your camera has a pop-up flash, it is not a professional body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-10points
10out of 30found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful20
Answer: 
According to Nikon Professional Services:

The D800 is a pro body.
The D600 is not a pro body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Jake
Role: Professional photographer

+27points
30out of 33found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful30unhelpful3
Answer: 
In my opinion, this question is equivalent to people buying "pro" quality golf clubs. It's not the clubs that make you a pro, or in this case, not the camera body. The tool isn't what makes someone a pro or not; it's the person using the tool. If your type of work, and ultimately what you get paid for (which is what makes you a "professional" versus a hobbyist), doesn't dictate that you spend $5,000 for a particular piece of equipment, then why spend the money? If a D600, or whatever other camera body does the job you need it to and you get paid, then you are still a "pro" despite the level of camera you use.

I've shot plenty of commercial projects that have been published in various magazines, including GQ and Sports Illustrated, using nothing more than a D300.
Sep 27, 2012 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
Annapolis, MD, USA
Location : 
Annapolis, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+13points
16out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
Answer: 
People are too caught up these days thinking they need all the bells and whistles on a camera for it to be a pro camera. A true pro can make great images from just using the manual settings. In short, yes this is a pro camera.
Sep 22, 2012 by
by
Ray from L.A.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
9out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful11
Answer: 
just to know D600 is a semi-pro body, pro cameras cost above 4000$, pro bodies - Nikon D4, Canon 1Dx, Nikon D3x, Canon 1Dc and medium format cameras like Phase One 645 and Pentax 645

while D800, D600, D700, D300s are semi-pro cameras !
Sep 17, 2012 by
by
EagleS
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer

-15points
2out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful17
Answer: 
This body of D600 is much lower in terms of construction of a D300s, is very similar to a D7000. Will be a D7000 considered someday a pro-camera? I do not believe. The D600 also will not, it only have a fullframe sensor
Sep 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+16points
19out of 22found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful3
Answer: 
Couple this new camera body with the best Nikon glass and you will wind up with what I call a "smart pro's system". That is, putting your money in an adequate body and great glass saves money, provides reasonable street cred, and of course, if you have the eye, and luck, will allow fantastic captures. Short answer; in my estimation the D600 will soon be accepted as a "pro body".
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
12out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful3
Answer: 
In the least, an excellent back-up camera for a working pro and a DREAM camera for the intermediate to advanced prosumer. This camera will NOT depreciate in value for many many months.
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

If D600 low light going to be as good as D800?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The D600 V D800 -----simple answer. A camera with more functionality is going to offer greater capibility, If you need low light-- go for the best camera --D800. Costs more but this inst really a situation where the two are comprable. D800 is pro hardware-6 is prosumer.
Jun 5, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
I've shot at 2500 ISO on my D600 indoors with very good quality and extremely low noise. I tend to use fast glass (f2) and in those cases, even in dim light indoors, can shoot at about 1600 ISO with a shutter speed around 1/125, which has given some very good results.
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Location : 
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
You're kind of asking for an apples to oranges comparison, but perhaps this will help.

Before I even bought my D600, I downloaded RAW files from various Web resources to make comparisons with the D800, especially with regard to noise performance at high ISO. I was able to make comparisons because Capture NX2 had early support for the D600.

Even a cursory examination shows the D600 to have superior high-ISO performance. This is as expected because the D600 and D800 represent about the same generation of imaging sensor technology -- i.e., the latest -- in which case the imager with the larger pixel site pitch should have the noise performance advantage, all other things being equal.

Now, you'd think that by the same token the D700 should outperform the D600. This is not as obvious, and I can only guess that this is attributable to the D700 sensor being an already somewhat dated design. Yeah... this is a fast-moving industry.

Don't get me wrong. The RAW files reveal that the D800 has excellent high-ISO/noise performance -- something that's all the more remarkable given it's high sensor resolution. It's just that the D600 is even better in this particular regard.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Jämaja, Estonia
Location : 
Jämaja, Estonia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month

-15points
1out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful16
Answer: 
Low light performance will depend t on ISO and camera settings, shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, and selection of the lens.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

Can the DX format be used with FX lenses for 1.5 X magnification (crop sensor, if you will).

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
Location : 
Midwest
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe both of the previous answers are incorrect regarding crop factor. A DX sensor is smaller than an FX sensor. Using a DX lens on an FX camera does not magnify the image - quite the opposite. The FX sensor will see a larger portion of the image (including vignetting at the edges) unless you use the "DX crop mode" of the D600 to limit the sensor area to the same size as DX. Then, it's the same as a DX camera.

The 1.5x crop factor happens only when you put an FX lens on a DX camera. For example, a 200mm FX lens would be the equivalent of 300mm lens on a DX camera. For years, I shot with a 50mm 1.8D on my Nikon D50 #DX camera# because it gave me a bright telephoto image equivalent of 75mm.

I currently use a 35mm DX lens with my FX camera because I like the vignetting effect as a creative tool. It's the equivalent of a 20mm lens with the D600.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Dec 4, 2013 by
by
srenkin
Atlanta, GA, USA
Location : 
Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Correction, YES you can use DX format with FX lenses. There is a button just below to the right of the lens, press it in and the back command wheel to change from FX to DX. You will only be using 10 MP but you will benefit because you will be using the sweet spot of the lens and because of the size of the pixels you should get reduced noise and better dynamic range. Not to mention 300mm essentially becomes 450mm.... one more thing, the auto focus zone is perfect for DX (entire frame) while kind of small for FX. There are definite advantages in doing what your question asks.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Maze
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
No. Optically a Dx lens is the same as an Fx lens. The reason Dx sensors are 1.5 crop is because they are half the size of an Fx sensor. However when you are done cropping out the vignette you will be in essence at 1.5 magnification, so yes i suppose depending on your point of view.
Sep 20, 2012 by
by
Michael
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Do I need to set the aperture value before going into Live View mode when using G lenses?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I guess I'd like to know if I can change the aperture while shooting video without having to use an AI, AI-S or AF-D lens. Thanks!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
Answer: 
I agree, this is COMPLETELY unacceptable. If it had this one simple feature, it would be on order right now. A Canon t2i can do this. That's a cheap 4 year old camera. What gives? I really hope this is fixed in a firmware update. I simply cannot believe this thing has clean HDMI out and doesn't have the ability to change the aperture while recording.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Unfortunately this can only be done at 800. This is the must crazy thing of nikon. Why do they spend so much money building a camera which can record excellent video and they deny the ability of working as it's simply logical.Canon is doing it , at the chipest models!!! An update is absolutely necessary!!!
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
5out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful8
Answer: 
You have to adjust the settings before you start recording a video.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Will my AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens work with the D600?

Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can force any DX lens to shoot full-frame images on the D600. Just turn off Auto DX Crop in the menu and select FX for image area.

You will have severe vignetting, of course, but the amount depends on the lens, aperture, and zoom settings. For example, with my 18-200 set at 200, the full-frame image had very manageable (i.e., easily correctable) vignetting.

In any case, allowing full-frame capture with DX lenses puts YOU in control of the crop. Unless you're strapped for memory card space or are forced to work with a slow computer, I see no reason to use Auto DX Crop.
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Location : 
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes but you will be shooting in 10.5MP DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

What software do I use to open the RAW (NEF) files from the D600?

Nov 4, 2012 by
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
 on D600
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I have not been able to open the NEF files from my D600 (just purchased) with the supplied ViewNX 2 software included with my D600. I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
Location : 
Union, ME, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Downloads can be found here,
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
" I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so."

To download the latest update to Capture NX2, go to the top of this page; mouse over Service & Support; click on Download Center.
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Location : 
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you have both the latest versions installed, 2.3.5 for Capture NX2 and 2.6.0 for View NX2
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

SD Card "error message", does anyone know the cause?

Oct 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I was taking some test pictures with my new D600 and all of the sudden I noticed that when I press the shutter release button, the camera is not focusing or releasing the sutter. While trying to figure out what the issue was, I noticed the "card error" message flashing in the screen on top of the camera. After some investigation, I realized that the #2 SD card which I'd set up as overflow back up is causing the issue [In other words card #2 was not even in use when the issue occured]. Removed card #2 and the camera started working again. At this point I had taken about 150 pictures with my camera. Since then I've been unable to read the card that was removed from slot #2 [8GB calss 10 Kensington] on any PC. I'd have this SD card for several months and used it with my other camera's with no issues. I had formatted both cards after inserting them in the camera before shooting pictures. I do understand that memory cards regardless of type or brand could go bad but I am wondering, if anyone knows what could cause this issue?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
same thing happened to me and the card was brand new hi quality and the number 2 slot was the issue in the same way described above.
Feb 17, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The mentioned Kensigton SDHC is an approved card for this camera.
Oct 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sounds like a bad card, try using a approved card: http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d600/spec.htm
Instead of using a low cost card.
Oct 6, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Does it still multiple exposure feature

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
Location : 
Belleville, NJ, USA
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
If it allows you to bracket 3 exposure than you should be able to do HDR with a 7 stop range.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Maze
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It looks like it only allows 3 bracketed exposures. Too bad for HDR users.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
2 Answers

D600 Commander?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Sam
Germany
 on D600
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I cannot imagine that it doesn't support flash commander mode but it is isn't called out specifically in the specs page as it is on other bodies.
Does it?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Sam
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I notice the D600 brochure states this: Nikon Creative Advanced Wireless Lighting supported with built-in flash, SB-910, SB-900, SB-800 or
Lighting System (CLS) SB-700 as a master flash and SB-600 or SB-R200 as remotes, or SU-800 as commander;
built-in flash can serve as master flash in commander mode; auto FP high-speed sync and
modeling illumination supported with all CLS-compatible flash units except SB-400; Flash
Color Information Communication and FV lock supported with all CLS-compatible flash units
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
MichaelT
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Location : 
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the camera supports CLS and can be used in Commander mode.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Can I assign the AE-L / AF-L button to be AF-ON?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
 on D600
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
Location : 
West Chester, PA, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am a D600 owner, and I wouldn't lie to you. The answer to your question is yes.

Moreover, the AE-L/AF-L button can be assigned different functions for still and movie modes.

The manual is now available for download. That will explain all of the assignable choices. With respect to menu functions, I have found no errors or inaccuracies in the manual so far.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Iceland
Location : 
Iceland
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are several personal reviews of the D600 online from photographers stating they have been able to assign the AE-L/AF-L button to become the AF-ON button. In my opinion, this AF-ON button capability will be a heavily-weighted determining factor for most pros considering this camera as part of their working equipment list.

NIKON - PLEASE answer this question definitively!
Sep 25, 2012 by
by
MLM
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers