Loading

A full-frame Nikon for your full-time passion.

If you've been looking to take your passion to the next level with full-frame HD-SLR performance, your wait is over. Now the power of a pro-level Nikon FX-format camera—stunning full-frame images, cinema-quality 1080p videos, superior low-light performance, blazing fast framing and burst rates, built-in HDR, wireless photo sharing and much more—is attainable in a compact, lightweight HD-SLR. Optimized for full-frame shooting and versatility, streamlined for compactness and value, the D600 will fuel your passion like never before.
photo of a woman in a long red dress shot indoors

FX-quality images and HD videos

Nikon’s most compact full-frame HD-SLR ever

Passionate photographers who seek exceptional full-frame, high-resolution performance rely on Nikon FX-format HD-SLRs. For the first time ever, that level of performance is available in a compact, affordable HD-SLR. D600's 24.3 megapixel FX-format CMOS sensor captures every detail with lifelike sharpness. Its EXPEED 3 processing system manages all that data with remarkable speed and accuracy, enabling up to 5.5 frames-per-second (fps) continuous shooting at full resolution. And the low-light performance synonymous with Nikon is again proven deserved—shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, expandable down to 50 and up to 25,600 for extreme situations.
photo of a man selling nuts at a market, and a closeup view of nuts

The beauty is in the details

Highly accurate AF System for superior sharpness

One of the keys to capturing razor-sharp images and HD videos—whether shooting through the viewfinder or with the LCD monitor—is a fast, precise autofocus system, and the D600 has one of the best. 39 focus points with wide-area AF coverage offer endless compositional possibilities. Nine cross-type sensors and seven center focus points work all the way down to f/8 for extended AF functionality with teleconverters and long-reach lenses. When shooting photos or HD video in Live View, Nikon’s responsive contrast-detect AF activates for accurate fulltime autofocusing. Every moment you capture will be razor sharp.
photo of a city at night, in low light

Unwavering exceptional performance

Flawless metering and onboard intelligence

The D600 delivers consistently beautiful images and HD videos, thanks to Nikon’s intelligent Scene Recognition System with 3D Color Matrix Metering II. Its 2,016 pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and the scene colors, all within the time it takes to press the shutter release button. That data is then referenced against an onboard image database for consistently accurate exposures, auto white balance, i-TTL flash and subject-tracking autofocus performance.
 
     

Cinema-quality HD video projects

Pro-level 1080p HD video recording features

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that empower and inspire filmmakers and video enthusiasts, and the D600 is proof of that commitment. Shoot 1080p HD videos with selectable frame rates of 30p, 25p or 24p and MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 compression. Bend time with 720p HD at 60p, 50p or 30p for ultra-smooth video playback of fast moving subjects, or create slow-motion footage during post processing. Maintain your creative vision with manual exposure control, fulltime AF with face-priority and subject tracking, dedicated inputs for a stereo mic and headphones, saving a selected still frame from video, and much more. Enhance all that with the dramatic perspectives and depth-of-field control of NIKKOR interchangeable lenses, and you'll dazzle with every video project.

photo of a photographer looking into the viewfinder of the D600 while a model sits in a scene, along with the shot of the model on a smartphone

Wi-Fi camera control and mobile photo sharing

Optional WU-1b wireless mobile adapter

With Wi-Fi compatibility, the D600 makes sharing photos even easier. Connect the optional WU-1b Wireless Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the D600—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots!
two photos of a woman against a rust covered wall, one looking at the camera, one with her eyes closed

Lighting studio optional

The D600’s built-in pop-up flash opens up new shooting possibilities—and not just in low-light situations. Even well lit subjects can benefit from a balanced fill flash for extra depth and dimension. And since the D600’s flash integrates with Nikon’s i-TTL system, it can act as a Commander and communicate crucial exposure information to two groups of remote flashes across three channels for accurate lighting and exceptional results.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights for endless creative expression to the WU-1b Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi sharing and camera control, your system can grow with you.


WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

D600 Body Only

Price $2,099.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

24-85mm VR Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Price $2,699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

Two Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VRAF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Price $3,349.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D600 3.4 5 225 225
Great FX format camera I read about the dust/oil issue on internet before buying this camera. I thought to take chance and bought this camera as I can return it within two weeks. To check dust issue after 150 photos, I performed two tests 1) I took picture of white paper in manual mode. 2) I took picture of sky. Both pictures are attached. I didn't see any dust or oil spots in the pictures so I am happy with this camera. This camera fits nicely in my hand, takes great pictures and produce very good photos in low light situations. I am happy to upgrade from Olympus DSLR. December 25, 2012
Stunning I had been wanting this camera for about 4 months, so i was thrilled to finally have saved up enough to get it. I had been shooting on a D3000, so i knew the upgrade would be massive, but i didn't think it would be quite this good. Completely clean pictures at ISO 6400, good frame rate, incredibly fast shutter, and fantastic ergonomics. I was worried about the feel of this camera, especially after using the D800 briefly. But i cannot be happier with the results of this camera. If i could recommend it a thousand times, i would. November 23, 2012
Nikon Service Below I reported that I also have the problem with oil spots. Within a week Nikon Canada and the Dealer resolved my problem to my complete satisfaction. I am sure Nikon will come up with a fix for others that have had this problem. I have been a Nikon shooter for a long time and have always been happy with the service. October 31, 2012
Amor para toda a vida Não tem como não se apaixonar pela sua D600, a melhor câmera que já tive na vida. Equipamento profissional de altíssima qualidade. Não tenho qualquer reclamação. Só elogios. Dia destes, conheci um dos maiores fotógrados da Agência France Press. um japonês baseado no Rio de Janeiro. Para minha surpresa, ele usa exatamente a D600 em seus trabalhos. August 14, 2013
Incrível a tonalidade de cor de pele Estou com a D600 desde outubro de 2012. Já tirei cerca de 10.000 fotos. A D600 é excelente quanto a cores, principalmente de pele. Tem uma excelente sensibilidade e alta qualidade em ISO alto. Fotos tiradas com ISO 1600 são muito aproveitáveis. Tenho um bom jogo de lentes, inclusive uma 24-70mm que faz um ótimo conjunto com a D600. Não percebi nenhuma sujeira em meu sensor. April 28, 2013
Magnifica Camera FX Esta é a minha primeira camera DSLR estou muito contente ja estou com a minha D600 ja faz quase um mes ja tirei umas 500 fotos a qualidade é supreendente estou feliz acho que acertei na compra no inicio tive uma certa duvida !!! mas ja passou valeu o investimento a qualidade dos videos sao exelente ...uma das coisas que eu admiro na nikon é o menu de suas camera muito facil de mexer obrigado nikon!!! December 28, 2012
Un appareil compact, polyvalent et performant ! Étant déjà propriétaire d'une caméra D90 et d'une caméra D7000, je voulais migrer vers un modèle FX afin de pouvoir capter de meilleures photos (plus de profondeur et plus de détail). Le nouveau modèle D600 réunit l'ensemble des attributs recherchés. Il s'agit d'un appareil facile à utiliser doté des principales caractéristiques que l'on retrouve sur les caméras utilisées par des professionnels. Ce produit offre un excellent rapport qualité / prix. December 1, 2012
mucha camara para un diseño calasico esta muy bien en todo sus expledor buena fotos gracias a sus 24 megapixeles y su rapides de disparo si quieren tomar buenas foto esta camara es lo ideal con un diseño clasico October 6, 2012
Reviewing the D610 The D610 is not included in the list of choices so I'm submitting the D610 comments here, as it is essentially the same camera with a few nice improvements (a little more speed, better shutter). I've had the pleasure of shooting the D700, D800 and DF fairly extensively. With a few exceptions I find the D610 to be my favorite overall. Great 24mg (better than the over-sized 36mg of the D800). Nice size and weight. I really like the U1 and U2 dials. Now I can easily switch from Aperture to Shutter and find my basic settings waiting for me. I don't need all the basic options such as Scenes and Automatic but they are easy to ignore and they are there if I want someone to take a photo for me. What I miss most is the Eye Piece Shutter Lever. I think leaving that out was a major mistake. The battery life is excellent. Also missing is the after-picture quick-zoom using the OK button. Another frustration. Even the DF had that feature. But a great buy for the price. April 17, 2014
Everything is fantastic I love this camera like it's my own flesh and blood. The thing does everything I need it too and more! I love the quality and colors of the photos and the high ISO potential for those dark situations without a tripod. This camera has been great for me. The ONLY issue is that is has been recalled only a few months after purchasing, however I do appreciate Nikon's service offer and have sent it in for service! March 9, 2014
Nice camera^^ Ten months passed after I purchased D600 and almost 6,000 pictures were taken. I heard many bad rumors about oil spitting inside camera but I never had such problem even once. Pictures are simply wonderful (good color, low noise). It's a compact, lightweight and capable FF camera. Combination with 24-70mm f2.8 is very good. November 6, 2013
Great Camera Except for Known Issue This is my first dslr and I've owned it for just under a year. While I have really enjoyed learning about the camera and improving my picture-taking skills, I am quite frustrated with the random oil and dust issue that appear on images in a very unpredictable way. I would not recommend buying this camera. Instead, go with the newer D610 that appears to be similar to the D600 but without the "smudge" problem. October 22, 2013
Excellent image quality! 24MP is perfect! I could list the specs which you can read three tabs over, or I can tell you that the image quality out of this camera is astounding! The dynamic range almost matches the D800 and 24MP is nothing to sneeze at in terms of resolution. The truth is that only about five to seven percent of my work ever gets printed in the traditional sense and never above a 24x36 inch print. Mostly I print 8x10s. Because of this, I don't miss those extra 12 mega-pixels. This camera produces images that just a few years ago would have been impossible without HDR processing. And when paired with a fast piece of glass like the 85mm 1.4 AF-S G, it's image quality in low light settings is unbelievable. I have had an issue with sensor dust accumulating at a rate that I would not expect and that's the only reason for the 4 star review as opposed to the 5 star review. Personally, I shoot at 1.4-2.0 so much that I really didn't notice it for quite some time, but it is there. I don't generally buy a camera based solely on it's feature set. I'm a pretty smart guy and I can learn how to work with what I've got. I buy a camera based 95% on the image quality it produces, and the image quality out of the D600 is stunning. The other 5% is related to ergonomics and features. Really all I care about is knowing how the AF system works and does it have enough buttons and dials so that I don't have to descend into the menu system to Adjust WB, ISO, and Metering. Anything past that is icing on the cake as far as I'm concerned. And the D600 has plenty of icing! July 12, 2013
Love the camera, although a bit dissapointed Sure, it is a great camera for the money. Low noise at high ISO settings, light weight compared to D3x. My disappointment is regarding the oil / dust issue. You'd think that Nikon would have done their homework and put the D600 out on the market after extensive testing. Will be sending mine in for a cleaning, but wish I did not have to. Hope I get it back soon so I can keep on shooting. June 24, 2013
Perfect upgrade from DX-land After years with a D40, then the heavier-duty D300, I always felt like the DX cropping was getting in my way, especially for my indoor/wider angle shots. On day 1, my 50mm f/1.4 went from my "nice to use but I need to stick to my 12-24mm" to my daily shooter. So that's what 50mm is supposed to look like! March 24, 2013
Excellent Camera...once the sensor was cleaned! Bought my D600 in October after previously owning a D70s and a D300, both which were excellent cameras and performed faultlessly. The image quality and features on the D600 are excellent, but I did experience the dreaded "oil spots" after about 500 shots had been taken. Spent hours having to "spot clean" images in Photoshop as a result, but in the end bought a sensor cleaning brush, wiped the sensor clean and have since had no further issues. * It's disappointing that some customers had to go through this experience due to a lack of quality control before Nikon released it to the market, but I believe they are now offering free cleaning of sensors at selected agents and service centers around the globe. (They definitely are in Australia) The camera deserves a "5 Star" rating due to it's features, ease of use, excellent build and image quality, but rated it a 4 Star due to the spotty sensor issue which the consumer shouldn't have to deal with. Other than that, it really is a fantastic camera and I would certainly recommend it to anyone. * Please note: - I don't recommend you try and clean the sensor yourself unless you're absolutely sure you know what you're doing, use the correct cleaning equipment , follow the instructions to the letter and are prepared to face the consequences if you stuff it up!. Take it to a Nikon Service Center instead. March 16, 2013
Great camera needs a little tweek love it! I've been using Nikon for 32 years I do photo and video work was waiting for a milestone camera to spend big $ but I think the D600 could do for now BUT I was shooting an interview recently, the camera shut down and I lost 17 min of footage This makes me very wary as I can't afford to not have the camera should I have to send it for repair update the firmware? March 15, 2013
Less Than Stellar After having the D600 for a month I have taken over 3000 photographs with it. Most were great with very little effort. The capabilities of this camera are mind boggling and has been a great addition to my collection of cameras. The only thing that keeps me from giving this a 5 star rating is the fact that after only 1000 photographs there were dust/oil spots on the sensor that showed up in the same places on each photo. The way I worked around this issue was cropping and composition. After the aggravation became too much, I requested a shipping label so that I could have a technician clean the sensor. After a mix up with the shipping label(on my part) the camera was sent back and I am awaiting it's return. Considering the vast improvement over my old Nikon, which isn't really that old, I do not want to use any other camera. It does great under low light situations and manages to capture very good images without a tripod. The fireworks photographs I captured on New Year's exceeded my expectations. If you are considering getting a "lesser" camera and lack quite enough funds to get this one, hold off on your purchase and save a little longer. It will be well worth it! Now the real test will be to see if the oil/dust spot issue returns or if Nikon has worked out an adequate "fix." February 1, 2013
Awesome Camera! Has Dust Issues and other minor annoyances though -1 star The Good: This is a fantastic camera! The dynamic range is unbelievable. Recovering highlights and shadows is much more attainable using software. Awesome enthusiast and semi-pro camera. I would even recommend this as a backup for pros. The pros have been discussed about this camera so I'll discuss the cons. The Bad: Has severe dust issues. My D90 NEVER had this problem is bad and this is definitely a eye sore for me as I stop down at and past f/16 for long exposures. Spots WILL show up. Nikon MUST address this issue in my honest opinion. Be ready to clean your sensor, or send it to Nikon, wasting valuable time in the process. This is not much of an issue if you shoot at f/8 or less (e.g. f/1.4-f/8). Biggest annoyance with this camera, especially at its price point. Cannot adjust aperture when using Live View and video recording. Really Nikon? C'mon this shouldn't be pro level camera only feature. January 4, 2013
I'm really conflicted over how I feel about this camera As much as I wanted to be able to give this camera 5 stars I was just as tempted to give it 3 stars. I am a former Canon user and decided to switch to Nikon with this purchase. I purchased it in late October and ended up with one of the copies that has lots of oil spots on the sensor. I sent it in for cleaning during Thanksgiving week in November. It came back and I quickly tested it with some blank white paper and the more I shot the more the spots came back. I immediately called Nikon back to go on record as still having the problem but opted to hold off returning it again until a permanent fix for the problem was in place. (BTW the last time I counted there were a couple dozen spots - so not just a FEW, but a LOT.) IN THE MEANTIME another problem developed. Twice, while using the camera in "live view" mode the camera froze up and completely locked up & shut down on me during my photo shoots. It gave a code on the display of "Err". When I called Nikon to report this problem & to ask how to clear it I was told it was a problem with the shutter locking up and that I'd probably need to send it in for repair. I was eventually able to get the error to clear and still wanted to hold off until after the holidays & until there was fix for the sensor spots. Then a couple days before Christmas it happened again. This time when I called I was told they also have a fix for the sensor spots so I decided to keep it through New Years and then I just sent it back in today for what I hope will be a fix for the sensor spots. Hopefully they will fix whatever is causing the sensor spots AND figure out what is causing the shutter to lock up too. If not I will continue to call and complain - but for what I paid for this camera it had better not continue. I cannot live with the fact that I paid 2 Grand for a camera that has been sent in for repairs 2 times within 2 months. That is not acceptable. I WANT to love this camera....and for the most part, other than the technical problems I DO like it. But just be warned that as a new model they may have some bugs to work out yet. So far Nikon has been great to talk to on the phone but I wonder now if that will continue beyond the first year. I may be persuaded to look into buying an extended warranty....... So to answer if I would recommend buying....I can only choose Yes or No....so I suppose I would say Yes, BUT NOT YET....wait for them to work the bugs out. Keeping my fingers crossed that this will be the last time I have to send mine in..... January 2, 2013
Excellent camer with my major flaw. First of, I'd like to give a little background as to what kind of a photographer I am. I'm an amateur/hobbyist photographer and I mainly take photos of family, automotive photography, traveling shots, architecture photography as well as various precious moments in my life. I've been predominantly a point and shoot camera user for most of my life up until 3 years ago when I decided to expand to the world of DSLR with the entry level Nikon D5000. Since then I've been progressively expanding my world of photography. I've been dreaming of a full frame SLR camera for over a year but since most full frame cameras are well over my budget, such a purchase had to wait. Until the Nikon D600 came out. It was the right price point for something I had the budget to get into. Being that this is my first venture with full frame cameras, please excuse my review if it's not as technical or complete as other professional photographers and my only real basis of comparison with the D600 is with my old D5000. Perhaps think of this review for those who are also new to full frame cameras or those who are thinking about going from DX to FX. First impressions upon opening the box. Build quality, fit and finish from an exterior point of view is top notch. The camera feels good in my hands and with the textured plastic/rubberized body, it looks and feels much better than my old D5000 and yet my D5000 still looks new to this day. Seems like this D600 would last the test of time on my hands. Though keep in mind, I'm not a professional photographer and I do not take photos everyday. First impression on the first few shots. I took my first few shots indoors at a restaurant and immediately found the shots looking real fantastic and sharp. The ability for the camera to take low light shots while indoors was amazing and I found that there wasn't much noise on the shots either, even at high ISO levels. The autofocus was able to catch on fairly quickly and pick out the subjects I was shooting at almost intuitively. Playing around with the manual settings was easy and though the D5000 had a much newbie friendly interface, the D600 is obviously much more complete and customizable. After going through the manual a couple of times, just to get oriented with the interface, the rest was a breeze. Nikon users would surely find the menu system, settings, etc very similar with previous cameras. I also found the function buttons on the front of the camera very useful and were placed just right for my fingers to reach when I'm holding the camera to take a shot. The D600 came with as a kit with the standard 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR AF-S Nikkor Lens. I know this may not be the best lens that Nikon has to offer, but it sure surpasses my needs and requirements for photography at this point in time. Indoor shots are great and outdoor shots are amazing. Though I am looking into expanding my range to better Nikkor lenses down the road and I've read that doing so would really unleash the D600's capabilities even more. I was also very happy to find that my old DX lenses would still work on the D600. I've collected a few Nikkor DX lenses over the years and having the ability to still use them was a nice bonus. The D600 would automatically adjust for the DX lens so swapping from FX to DX and back to FX is as simple as plug and play. More time with the D600. At this moment in time, I've had the D600 for more than a couple of weeks already and so far things are good. Though I have noticed some dust spots on some of my shots (more on that later). But despite the dust spots, the camera is still performing great. Battery life seems to be great though I've noticed it does take a bit longer than expected for the battery to charge up. A faster charging system would have been nice. When compared to my old D5000, the battery on the D5000 would charge much faster but I've also noticed that the battery life on the D5000 is shorter. I suppose longer charging time translates to more juice for the D600, which makes sense so I'm not up in arms with this issue. I would just leave the battery charging overnight (hope that doesn't destroy the battery), and just slap it back on the camera in the morning. Though I can see how this would be an issue if you're a heavy user of the camera and are on location at a shoot or so. Purchasing a second battery would obviously be the best solution at that point. The monitor is sharp and crisp with image playback spot on. The images look pretty much just like how they would on the big screen computer. Of course not all details can be seen but it's good enough to make sure you got the right settings and such for the shot. I used to have a big issue with this on the D5000 where my shots looked great on the monitor, only to be disappointed when I uploaded the shots on my computer. Being an amateur/hobbyist photographer, there are times where I just don't want to think and just snap away or sometimes the moment I wish to capture happens quickly, then putting the D600 in auto-mode is something I find works great. There are many modes to choose from, from indoor, landscape, portrait, night shot, etc, etc. Granted leaving much of the settings to the camera to decide won't necessarily yield the best shot but I find that it still far surpasses any point and shoot camera I have ever owned and far surpasses the D5000. Even when my friends/family see the shots I've taken on auto mode, they are still blown away with the quality images. They actually think I'm a professional photographer! Hahaha... Rrright... So overall, this camera is starting to look great and makes me look real great in the process as well! Now on to the dust issue. This is the dreaded moment and the Achilles heel for the D600 it seems. Before purchasing the camera, I read tons and TONS of reviews and complaints about dust and in some cases oil being flung into the sensor of the camera causing issues of spots showing up on your shots at certain settings. I believe it was F11 onwards to F16. When I purchased my D5000, there were a bunch of complaints and issues on the camera as well. Some problems even required Nikon to do a Service Advisory. I eventually found out about this, did a check and it turned out that my D5000 was one of those under the advisory. I never did anything about it and to this day, the D5000 still works great. That being said, I knew of this dust/oil issue problem going into purchasing the camera but I figured maybe people were just over-reacting or maybe those guys just got a bad batch. I've read that as the camera get used and periodically cleaning the sensor would eventually solve the issue but cleaning the sensor myself is not something I'm willing to do. The other option is to send it out to Nikon for a cleaning, but that takes weeks! Not something I'm also willing to live with on a routinely basis during my first few months of ownership. But despite this, the positive reviews on the camera taking exceptional shots were just too good to pass up (proven to myself already as I've stated above). So, I figured I would take my chances and I still decided to give the camera a try. Btw, thank goodness for return policies. I figured, worst case, I could still return the camera maybe grab that new laptop I've always wanted for the same amount of cash instead. So just recently, I decided to test out whether or not my D600 had the dust/oil issue. I took a clean shot of the sky at F11 up to F16 and to my horror, upon viewing them on the computer, I noticed three specs on my shot on the upper left hand corner of the image. Fearing the worst, I opened up the camera and took a good look at the sensor itself. True enough, there were three very visible spots on the sensor and a cluster of small spots on the mirror. Couldn't tell if they were dust or oil but I used my Giottos air blower to see if I could blow it out. They flew off after just the first few puffs of air. Looks like dust to me. Did some more test shots and the shots looked clear. Sounds like I'm in the clear for now and there doesn't seem to be any oil on my sensor. Thank goodness. But it still honestly rubs me the wrong way to think that a $2,000++ camera would have issues with dust straight from new. I've never changed lenes or opened up the camera till the cleaning. My D5000 has never needed a cleaning until two years down the road, even after multiple lens swaps at a desert, crowded street markets and other non ideal locations to change a lens. So this is quite a hitch with the D600 and for that reason, I can only give it 4 stars. It's a shame though, because if it wasn't for this problem, this camera would be an easy 6 stars! Yes, I know there's only a max 5 stars but it just goes to show just how impressed I am with the camera's performance. I'm currently at 500 to 600 shots after the cleaning and still no spots on the sensor. I'll be keeping an eye on this and I'll be sure to update this review if this problem comes back. To sum up, this is a great camera. It surpasses my needs and expectations in every shape and form. The quality, clarity, sharpness, colors of each shot I've taken so far are exceptional. I would highly recommend it to anyone who's looking to get into full frame cameras at a decent price point or anyone who just wants to have darn good pictures taken. In my case, the photos and moments I've been able to capture with this camera are priceless. For that reason alone, this Nikon D600 is worth every penny to me. Hope this review helps! December 13, 2012
Great Camera marred by Dust issues I had this camera for about 2 months. I have not shot too many pictures may be under a 1000. Features of this camera are excellent, image quality is outstanding. I would have given 5 stars were it not for the fact that camera sensor is prone to dust generated internally. I know this because I use a super telephoto lens which is always on my camera and never taken out . This has been a widely discussed public problem and lot of people have also reported this extensively. My only hope is that Nikon acknowledges this and comes up with a solution. I am going to keep using the camera for a while since the dust issue is only relevant in special situations like high F stop and uniform backgrounds. In most cases dust is not visible and does not affect the quality of the picture. Problem may be less of an issue after the initial "break-in" period hopefully. November 30, 2012
It is a D600, not D anything else. It does what it was intended to do. Superb FX images at almost 1/3rd off. I love this camera. I bought the 5d III and loved the focus, portrait warmth and that je ne sais quoi. Just did not seem like it was worth the change to Canon and I returned it to Adorama. Then I ordered the D800 and played with that for 28 days. I was always tuning this or that, and always had to work hard to get the dynamic range I wanted. Yes I was working in bad light. But in good light, I can take phenomenal photos with my 1912 D200. If you ask me, the D200 was easier to use , huge LCD screen on top and my fingers always found the controls quickly. Finally, disappointed and a little depressed; I sent that back to Adorama and it got to them a couple of days late. They cheerfully refunded the money, and now I was back to the D200. A couple of days later, the D600 was available and I called Adorama again. I told them I wanted to try this one, and asked what would happen if I sent this one back too. They said that they would take it back too, because they are building long term relationships, not one time sales. O.k. so now I have the D600. It does not have everything I hoped for but having used the other offerings, it is the easiest one to come to terms with. For 99% of the photos I take, this camera will please me the most. Like all things in life, you will always have to settle a little bit. In my opinion, this is the best camera when you shoot a wide gamut of subjects. I was tired of selecting two separate sub menu areas and fine tuning every shot. Here I have two main settings, U1 and U2 plus a bunch of other quick options. Additionally, it seems to love the 85 mm G lens. I am also using Samyang 35mm f/1.4 and the Samyang 14mm f/2.8 and have two great focusing options, which I love. For static subjects, the life view lets you take razor sharp images at 1.4, where two millimeters bring you out of focus. Thank you Nikon. For your next achievement, maybe spread out you focus zones. I don't care if you bring it down to 15 points, make them across the screen. Forget DX, just go for it. So, for superb images and ease of use, buy the D600. November 3, 2012
Good Camera for the Price Coming from an Alpha 850 which I thought was a truly great camera but I wanted/needed video, I find the D600 a very fine camera for the price. The size and button layout work for my average to large hands and the rubber grips feel soft but strong. The viewfinder is large and bright and I can easily see inside while wearing my glasses. The video while not perfect due to some aliasing and not being able to change the aperture in Live View are sharp, detailed and have nice color for a HDSLR. The still images are what I thought they would be coming from a full frame 24mp chip... Outstanding! Some people will need more but 14bit, 24mp/full frame works well for anything I do [36x24 large prints]. So what's not to like? I wish Nikon still had the TIFF option for this camera like they had for my D300 and of course I would love all metal construction. And while I have not noticed any dust or oil issues yet, I do believe it is a real issue I'll have to face at some point. Nevertheless, I find this camera a step up from my A850 in the still image department and many steps ahead of any other DSLR I've owned to date. October 26, 2012
totally awesome ..except everything I expected and more... own 4 other Nikons, my first full frame and I'm totally blown away!. So far zero touch up work after the shot...amazing....So all is well ... EXCEPT WHY IS THERE OILY SPOTS OR DUST SPOTS ON MY SENSOR!!!... After only used twice ( 2 hours) & no lens changes ??? Love to hear from you Nikon so I can change this post... October 24, 2012
really disappointed The D600 is great, BUT we can´t open the raw archives with any program!!! Can you believe it??? Just with the View NX2 that doesn´nt permit any kind of adjustes!! How long we´ll have to wait until Adobe ??? October 20, 2012
Travel Light Great Camera for Night Photography It would be beneficial to have a small built in LED light fto assist in camera settings to take Night Pictures. The Manual is very confusing with having to go back and forth. Color print would be nice instead of B&W. Digitutor does not cover all features. Nikon should work on this for charging $2000+ October 18, 2012
Perfect Camera for folks stepping up from a DX to FX Got this baby last week, upgrading from a D80..which served me well. The D600 is an Amazing camera, very compact for an FX, fits well in your hands, excellent ISO performance, decent specs. But.. sad to report, new camera came in with a dirty sensor. Over 15 black spots when shooting on F22. I don't want to be cleaning a brand new camera. I have seen similar issues reported on Nikon rumors, some called it dust, some oil. Nikon you need to get this issue fixed before it gets wide spread and many are returned back. Nikon disappointed me this time!! I am returning this camera and wait for a new batch where the issue is fixed. October 8, 2012
A superb camera except for viewfinder flaw. I recently purchased this amazing camera and so far I love almost everything about it. Yes, I wish it took CF cards and had 1/8000th shutter speed. But that isn't really missed. What is really frustrating, (and clearly a design flaw) is in the viewfinder. When you are not looking perfectly straight through the viewfinder and the camera is angled up, the shooting information gets eclipsed from the top down. The effectively cuts the numbers for aperture, ISO, and shutter speed in half. It also eclipses the top half of the horizon/level tool. I looked at a second body and it does the same thing. No other Nikon body I have seen or shot with has this annoying issue. I am shooting with it this next week in Zion and Bryce; we will see if that issue is a deal breaker for extensive real world shooting. October 6, 2012
Great Little FX I give it 4 out of 5 stars because I'm still learning and adjusting to it. Also I expected it to feel more like the D200/D300s but the body size and width is more comparable with the D90/D7000. I'm 6'3" with long fingers so my knuckles slightly rub the lens. As expected, this camera will get the job done! At first, I was unable to specify what focus point I wanted to use. Once I discovered that the AF/M switch was also a button, I could adjust how to automatically focus (AFA/AFC/AFS) and the number of AF points to use (Auto/S/d11/d21/d39/3d). The custom menu option is great. Dual SD card slots are sweet but unable to select or switch to slot 2. Slot 2 functions mainly as a secondary option unless slot 2 is the only card in the unit. The 2 user custom settings (U1/U2) is a plus. Ample buttons with various function (fn) options for a truly unique set up. Shoots very fast, seems faster than the rated 5.5fps Movie quality is truly HD with various frame rates. Nikon still hasn't figured out how to auto focus quietly in movie mode. It does focus quickly. Photo quality is great. FX sensor allows for great low light. Truly gets 900+ photos on EN-EL15 battery. Large display is excellent. Great when used with Live View and Video mode. Good for difficult shots. Could go on but no need. Camera is what you would expect. Experienced Nikon users can appreciate it. Was worth the wait. See sample photos for image quality. September 23, 2012
Page: 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9
<<prev | next>>
126 Questions | 180 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
126 Questions | 180 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D600
 
11 Answers

Is the D600 considered a pro body?

Sep 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+7points
16out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful9
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
11 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just for clarification the D600 is considered a Pro Body for NPS membership.
Jun 28, 2013 by
by
NikonStaff
Melville, NY

+12points
15out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful3
Answer: 
The D600 is definitely a pro camera. In fact, I've used DX format cameras for some of my pro work (portraits, products and events). It really boils down to the photographer: if you can take pictures people will pay for, then the camera is secondary (in most cases). In today's market, so many people merely share their pictures via Facebook, email, etc., but rarely do customers buy the 3'x2' framed art to hang above their fireplace. Having a full-frame camera is necessary to get that kind of quality, and the D600 is superior in that regard. Also, I should mention that by "pro", I'm not referring to Nat Geo or Time-Life photographers; instead, I'm thinking of most gigs, i.e. weddings, events, portraits, etc. In short, being "pro" for a camera (or photog) is a subjective term, but IMHO, I feel the D600 is a pro camera. Lastly, to really up your game if using the D600, go for one of the prime lenses. I use the Nikon 85mm f1.8 prime, which does an amazing job with my D600...customers rave about the quality, even on enlargements I've had made at 36"x24" (good glass is a big variable in this equation).
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, ca
Location : 
Newbury Park, ca
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
7out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful9
Answer: 
This is a perplexing question.

For the purpose of qualifying for the benefits of Nikon Professional Services, as others have already made clear, the answer is no.

For every other purpose, the questions have to be asked: Considered by whom, and what are their criteria?

Some photographers have paid their rent shooting with disposable cameras. Are those cardboard cameras, then, "pro" bodies?
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Location : 
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-52points
2out of 56found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful54
Answer: 
If your camera has a pop-up flash, it is not a professional body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-10points
10out of 30found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful20
Answer: 
According to Nikon Professional Services:

The D800 is a pro body.
The D600 is not a pro body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Jake
Role: Professional photographer

+27points
30out of 33found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful30unhelpful3
Answer: 
In my opinion, this question is equivalent to people buying "pro" quality golf clubs. It's not the clubs that make you a pro, or in this case, not the camera body. The tool isn't what makes someone a pro or not; it's the person using the tool. If your type of work, and ultimately what you get paid for (which is what makes you a "professional" versus a hobbyist), doesn't dictate that you spend $5,000 for a particular piece of equipment, then why spend the money? If a D600, or whatever other camera body does the job you need it to and you get paid, then you are still a "pro" despite the level of camera you use.

I've shot plenty of commercial projects that have been published in various magazines, including GQ and Sports Illustrated, using nothing more than a D300.
Sep 27, 2012 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
Annapolis, MD, USA
Location : 
Annapolis, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+13points
16out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
Answer: 
People are too caught up these days thinking they need all the bells and whistles on a camera for it to be a pro camera. A true pro can make great images from just using the manual settings. In short, yes this is a pro camera.
Sep 22, 2012 by
by
Ray from L.A.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
9out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful11
Answer: 
just to know D600 is a semi-pro body, pro cameras cost above 4000$, pro bodies - Nikon D4, Canon 1Dx, Nikon D3x, Canon 1Dc and medium format cameras like Phase One 645 and Pentax 645

while D800, D600, D700, D300s are semi-pro cameras !
Sep 17, 2012 by
by
EagleS
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer

-15points
2out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful17
Answer: 
This body of D600 is much lower in terms of construction of a D300s, is very similar to a D7000. Will be a D7000 considered someday a pro-camera? I do not believe. The D600 also will not, it only have a fullframe sensor
Sep 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+16points
19out of 22found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful3
Answer: 
Couple this new camera body with the best Nikon glass and you will wind up with what I call a "smart pro's system". That is, putting your money in an adequate body and great glass saves money, provides reasonable street cred, and of course, if you have the eye, and luck, will allow fantastic captures. Short answer; in my estimation the D600 will soon be accepted as a "pro body".
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
12out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful3
Answer: 
In the least, an excellent back-up camera for a working pro and a DREAM camera for the intermediate to advanced prosumer. This camera will NOT depreciate in value for many many months.
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

If D600 low light going to be as good as D800?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The D600 V D800 -----simple answer. A camera with more functionality is going to offer greater capibility, If you need low light-- go for the best camera --D800. Costs more but this inst really a situation where the two are comprable. D800 is pro hardware-6 is prosumer.
Jun 5, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
I've shot at 2500 ISO on my D600 indoors with very good quality and extremely low noise. I tend to use fast glass (f2) and in those cases, even in dim light indoors, can shoot at about 1600 ISO with a shutter speed around 1/125, which has given some very good results.
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Location : 
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
You're kind of asking for an apples to oranges comparison, but perhaps this will help.

Before I even bought my D600, I downloaded RAW files from various Web resources to make comparisons with the D800, especially with regard to noise performance at high ISO. I was able to make comparisons because Capture NX2 had early support for the D600.

Even a cursory examination shows the D600 to have superior high-ISO performance. This is as expected because the D600 and D800 represent about the same generation of imaging sensor technology -- i.e., the latest -- in which case the imager with the larger pixel site pitch should have the noise performance advantage, all other things being equal.

Now, you'd think that by the same token the D700 should outperform the D600. This is not as obvious, and I can only guess that this is attributable to the D700 sensor being an already somewhat dated design. Yeah... this is a fast-moving industry.

Don't get me wrong. The RAW files reveal that the D800 has excellent high-ISO/noise performance -- something that's all the more remarkable given it's high sensor resolution. It's just that the D600 is even better in this particular regard.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Jämaja, Estonia
Location : 
Jämaja, Estonia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month

-15points
1out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful16
Answer: 
Low light performance will depend t on ISO and camera settings, shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, and selection of the lens.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

Can the DX format be used with FX lenses for 1.5 X magnification (crop sensor, if you will).

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
Location : 
Midwest
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe both of the previous answers are incorrect regarding crop factor. A DX sensor is smaller than an FX sensor. Using a DX lens on an FX camera does not magnify the image - quite the opposite. The FX sensor will see a larger portion of the image (including vignetting at the edges) unless you use the "DX crop mode" of the D600 to limit the sensor area to the same size as DX. Then, it's the same as a DX camera.

The 1.5x crop factor happens only when you put an FX lens on a DX camera. For example, a 200mm FX lens would be the equivalent of 300mm lens on a DX camera. For years, I shot with a 50mm 1.8D on my Nikon D50 #DX camera# because it gave me a bright telephoto image equivalent of 75mm.

I currently use a 35mm DX lens with my FX camera because I like the vignetting effect as a creative tool. It's the equivalent of a 20mm lens with the D600.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Dec 4, 2013 by
by
srenkin
Atlanta, GA, USA
Location : 
Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Correction, YES you can use DX format with FX lenses. There is a button just below to the right of the lens, press it in and the back command wheel to change from FX to DX. You will only be using 10 MP but you will benefit because you will be using the sweet spot of the lens and because of the size of the pixels you should get reduced noise and better dynamic range. Not to mention 300mm essentially becomes 450mm.... one more thing, the auto focus zone is perfect for DX (entire frame) while kind of small for FX. There are definite advantages in doing what your question asks.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Maze
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
No. Optically a Dx lens is the same as an Fx lens. The reason Dx sensors are 1.5 crop is because they are half the size of an Fx sensor. However when you are done cropping out the vignette you will be in essence at 1.5 magnification, so yes i suppose depending on your point of view.
Sep 20, 2012 by
by
Michael
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Do I need to set the aperture value before going into Live View mode when using G lenses?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I guess I'd like to know if I can change the aperture while shooting video without having to use an AI, AI-S or AF-D lens. Thanks!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
Answer: 
I agree, this is COMPLETELY unacceptable. If it had this one simple feature, it would be on order right now. A Canon t2i can do this. That's a cheap 4 year old camera. What gives? I really hope this is fixed in a firmware update. I simply cannot believe this thing has clean HDMI out and doesn't have the ability to change the aperture while recording.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Unfortunately this can only be done at 800. This is the must crazy thing of nikon. Why do they spend so much money building a camera which can record excellent video and they deny the ability of working as it's simply logical.Canon is doing it , at the chipest models!!! An update is absolutely necessary!!!
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
5out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful8
Answer: 
You have to adjust the settings before you start recording a video.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Will my AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens work with the D600?

Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can force any DX lens to shoot full-frame images on the D600. Just turn off Auto DX Crop in the menu and select FX for image area.

You will have severe vignetting, of course, but the amount depends on the lens, aperture, and zoom settings. For example, with my 18-200 set at 200, the full-frame image had very manageable (i.e., easily correctable) vignetting.

In any case, allowing full-frame capture with DX lenses puts YOU in control of the crop. Unless you're strapped for memory card space or are forced to work with a slow computer, I see no reason to use Auto DX Crop.
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Location : 
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes but you will be shooting in 10.5MP DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

What software do I use to open the RAW (NEF) files from the D600?

Nov 4, 2012 by
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
 on D600
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I have not been able to open the NEF files from my D600 (just purchased) with the supplied ViewNX 2 software included with my D600. I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
Location : 
Union, ME, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Downloads can be found here,
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
" I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so."

To download the latest update to Capture NX2, go to the top of this page; mouse over Service & Support; click on Download Center.
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Location : 
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you have both the latest versions installed, 2.3.5 for Capture NX2 and 2.6.0 for View NX2
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

SD Card "error message", does anyone know the cause?

Oct 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I was taking some test pictures with my new D600 and all of the sudden I noticed that when I press the shutter release button, the camera is not focusing or releasing the sutter. While trying to figure out what the issue was, I noticed the "card error" message flashing in the screen on top of the camera. After some investigation, I realized that the #2 SD card which I'd set up as overflow back up is causing the issue [In other words card #2 was not even in use when the issue occured]. Removed card #2 and the camera started working again. At this point I had taken about 150 pictures with my camera. Since then I've been unable to read the card that was removed from slot #2 [8GB calss 10 Kensington] on any PC. I'd have this SD card for several months and used it with my other camera's with no issues. I had formatted both cards after inserting them in the camera before shooting pictures. I do understand that memory cards regardless of type or brand could go bad but I am wondering, if anyone knows what could cause this issue?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
same thing happened to me and the card was brand new hi quality and the number 2 slot was the issue in the same way described above.
Feb 17, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The mentioned Kensigton SDHC is an approved card for this camera.
Oct 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sounds like a bad card, try using a approved card: http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d600/spec.htm
Instead of using a low cost card.
Oct 6, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Does it still multiple exposure feature

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
Location : 
Belleville, NJ, USA
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
If it allows you to bracket 3 exposure than you should be able to do HDR with a 7 stop range.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Maze
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It looks like it only allows 3 bracketed exposures. Too bad for HDR users.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
2 Answers

D600 Commander?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Sam
Germany
 on D600
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I cannot imagine that it doesn't support flash commander mode but it is isn't called out specifically in the specs page as it is on other bodies.
Does it?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Sam
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I notice the D600 brochure states this: Nikon Creative Advanced Wireless Lighting supported with built-in flash, SB-910, SB-900, SB-800 or
Lighting System (CLS) SB-700 as a master flash and SB-600 or SB-R200 as remotes, or SU-800 as commander;
built-in flash can serve as master flash in commander mode; auto FP high-speed sync and
modeling illumination supported with all CLS-compatible flash units except SB-400; Flash
Color Information Communication and FV lock supported with all CLS-compatible flash units
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
MichaelT
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Location : 
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the camera supports CLS and can be used in Commander mode.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Can I assign the AE-L / AF-L button to be AF-ON?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
 on D600
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
Location : 
West Chester, PA, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am a D600 owner, and I wouldn't lie to you. The answer to your question is yes.

Moreover, the AE-L/AF-L button can be assigned different functions for still and movie modes.

The manual is now available for download. That will explain all of the assignable choices. With respect to menu functions, I have found no errors or inaccuracies in the manual so far.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Iceland
Location : 
Iceland
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are several personal reviews of the D600 online from photographers stating they have been able to assign the AE-L/AF-L button to become the AF-ON button. In my opinion, this AF-ON button capability will be a heavily-weighted determining factor for most pros considering this camera as part of their working equipment list.

NIKON - PLEASE answer this question definitively!
Sep 25, 2012 by
by
MLM
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers