Loading

A full-frame Nikon for your full-time passion.

If you've been looking to take your passion to the next level with full-frame HD-SLR performance, your wait is over. Now the power of a pro-level Nikon FX-format camera—stunning full-frame images, cinema-quality 1080p videos, superior low-light performance, blazing fast framing and burst rates, built-in HDR, wireless photo sharing and much more—is attainable in a compact, lightweight HD-SLR. Optimized for full-frame shooting and versatility, streamlined for compactness and value, the D600 will fuel your passion like never before.
photo of a woman in a long red dress shot indoors

FX-quality images and HD videos

Nikon’s most compact full-frame HD-SLR ever

Passionate photographers who seek exceptional full-frame, high-resolution performance rely on Nikon FX-format HD-SLRs. For the first time ever, that level of performance is available in a compact, affordable HD-SLR. D600's 24.3 megapixel FX-format CMOS sensor captures every detail with lifelike sharpness. Its EXPEED 3 processing system manages all that data with remarkable speed and accuracy, enabling up to 5.5 frames-per-second (fps) continuous shooting at full resolution. And the low-light performance synonymous with Nikon is again proven deserved—shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, expandable down to 50 and up to 25,600 for extreme situations.
photo of a man selling nuts at a market, and a closeup view of nuts

The beauty is in the details

Highly accurate AF System for superior sharpness

One of the keys to capturing razor-sharp images and HD videos—whether shooting through the viewfinder or with the LCD monitor—is a fast, precise autofocus system, and the D600 has one of the best. 39 focus points with wide-area AF coverage offer endless compositional possibilities. Nine cross-type sensors and seven center focus points work all the way down to f/8 for extended AF functionality with teleconverters and long-reach lenses. When shooting photos or HD video in Live View, Nikon’s responsive contrast-detect AF activates for accurate fulltime autofocusing. Every moment you capture will be razor sharp.
photo of a city at night, in low light

Unwavering exceptional performance

Flawless metering and onboard intelligence

The D600 delivers consistently beautiful images and HD videos, thanks to Nikon’s intelligent Scene Recognition System with 3D Color Matrix Metering II. Its 2,016 pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and the scene colors, all within the time it takes to press the shutter release button. That data is then referenced against an onboard image database for consistently accurate exposures, auto white balance, i-TTL flash and subject-tracking autofocus performance.
 
     

Cinema-quality HD video projects

Pro-level 1080p HD video recording features

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that empower and inspire filmmakers and video enthusiasts, and the D600 is proof of that commitment. Shoot 1080p HD videos with selectable frame rates of 30p, 25p or 24p and MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 compression. Bend time with 720p HD at 60p, 50p or 30p for ultra-smooth video playback of fast moving subjects, or create slow-motion footage during post processing. Maintain your creative vision with manual exposure control, fulltime AF with face-priority and subject tracking, dedicated inputs for a stereo mic and headphones, saving a selected still frame from video, and much more. Enhance all that with the dramatic perspectives and depth-of-field control of NIKKOR interchangeable lenses, and you'll dazzle with every video project.

photo of a photographer looking into the viewfinder of the D600 while a model sits in a scene, along with the shot of the model on a smartphone

Wi-Fi camera control and mobile photo sharing

Optional WU-1b wireless mobile adapter

With Wi-Fi compatibility, the D600 makes sharing photos even easier. Connect the optional WU-1b Wireless Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the D600—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots!
two photos of a woman against a rust covered wall, one looking at the camera, one with her eyes closed

Lighting studio optional

The D600’s built-in pop-up flash opens up new shooting possibilities—and not just in low-light situations. Even well lit subjects can benefit from a balanced fill flash for extra depth and dimension. And since the D600’s flash integrates with Nikon’s i-TTL system, it can act as a Commander and communicate crucial exposure information to two groups of remote flashes across three channels for accurate lighting and exceptional results.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights for endless creative expression to the WU-1b Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi sharing and camera control, your system can grow with you.


WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

D600 Body Only

Price $2,099.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

24-85mm VR Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Price $2,699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

Two Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VRAF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Price $3,349.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D600 3.4 5 223 223
Great Job Nikon Right out of the box this camera is ready to rock. I own many nikon products but the D600 is the camera that I will have by my side going forward. This camera is amazing. The pictures that are being produced are crisp, the colors are energizing and the look and feel of this body is perfect. Thank you NIKON November 6, 2012
Great features in a small package Wow! I just recently upgraded from my D7000 to the D600. What a difference overall with this camera. With all the wonderful features it offers, you can't beat the price. October 31, 2012
My 1st fx Nikon Excelent camera for the price,had it for 3weeks and can't complain.. October 30, 2012
Phenomenal! I recently upgraded from a D70 to the D600. Holy cow! What a camera. Auto-ISO to 6400 and I have yet to have a problem shooting indoors at f3.5. The images are amazing. They are even good with the D70 kit lense. Grain at 6400 is better than the D70 at 400. Looking forward to getting a nice 50mm prime and seeing what this baby can do. Love the on camera editing capabilities; the dual slot sd card functionality; the speed (5.5fps may not be sports pro level, but it is quick); the video quality; the built-in AF motor; the wifi option; the active-D lighting; the selective color temperature; the 2 custom user defined modes; the lockable mode dial and lockable release dial; the customizable FN button; etc etc. I could probably keep going, but I'll limit myself. October 24, 2012
This is a winner! I finally made the move to a Full Frame camera moving up from my D7000. That camera was, and is, a great camera but this camera is simply amazing. I could go into details that you have probably already read so I won't bother with that. Instead I would like to give advice to those thinking of buying this camera. I love photography and want anyone that decides to get into photography to have a great experience. With that being said the important thing is to pass useful information on. If you are thinking of getting this camera then you are thinking about getting serious with photography. If that is the case then you need to realize that it is not the cost of the camera that is the expensive part. To get the most out of this camera, or any serious camera, you need good lenses. Otherwise it is like cheap tires on a Ferrari. Ultimately you will will need to spend the price of this camera more than a few times over to get a complete set of pro lenses. If you are willing to do that than you will not go wrong with this camera. The artistic part of photography is still up to you but with this camera and the right lenses you will have the ability to capture some truly amazing photos. October 24, 2012
Amazing image resolution and fantastic low light performance I have been a Nikon user for over thirty years and fairly familiar with both film and digital products. After my horrible experience with D7000’s back focus issue, I was seriously considering not to buy anymore Nikon cameras but the D600 changed my mind. I too wish this camera had 51 focus points, came with 1/8000 shutter speed, or was made of 100% magnesium, but then I can imagine it would have cost more than $2099. I don’t see any issues with the size or grip. I Haven’t experienced the sensor oil issue as some have reported. I think D600 is a great camera for both pro and semi-pro. I do recommend this camera. Money well spent. October 23, 2012
It Doesn`t Get Any Better ! This camera tops all others by a long shot. Everything about this camera is a winner ! I bought this camera to take photos and not to use as a video camera. But of course it does great video as well. I have the MB-D14 battery grip which I think is a necessity if you are a pro. I am a professional photographer and this camera will be used as my main body and back up as well. The low light abilities of this camera are unreal. Everything I have taken at ISO 3200 are unbeleivable. If you are a low light shooter, you will not go wrong with this camera. I have been a life long nikon photographer and when a camera like this comes along you have to take advantage of it ! I can not say enough 'GREAT" things about it. If you don`t beleive me try it for yourself. You will beleive ! Nikon knocked it out of the park with this camera !!!! October 18, 2012
Fantastic camera It's a great camera although the grip of my old D300 was a lot more comfortable. The D600 is a bit smaller than the D300 but the image quality is way ahead, especially low light performance. One issue with brand new camera: Oil? spots on the sensor on a new camera? That's a first for me. Noticeable around f8 and even at more open apertures. Tried to clean sensor with blower and built in dust system but no luck, since the spots are round it looks like oil to me. Took camera to Nikon service for cleaning. QS should avoid that in the first place. October 17, 2012
A serious fun upgrade from my D200 My oh my, this little D600 is a fine and worthy upgrade from my wonderful D200. I pondered and worried, did some detailed research by downloading the manuals for my old and future camera (thanks Nikon) and after I knew enough to decide I went and looked at it in the local camera store then went for it. The first morning of test pictures told me that the new VR zoom lens (28-300) and focusing system was able to take advantage of all the pixels. Tomorrow I plan to audition it with my 50 mm prime lens, flash and challenge it with a road trip to some Rodin sculptures. October 13, 2012
Brief comment I was lucky to buy the "body only," and not the kit. I had waited for a few reviews, and when I decided to buy, "WHOOSH!" they had all but disappeared in the local stores. I now see why. The next day I replaced my D200 with the new D600 to work in tandem with my D2X shooting a night football game. I took a chance, as I really didn't get that close of a look at the difference in functions/dials/layout/controls, etc with my other cameras. This is truly a fine camera. I liked the feel and the interface. I like the change on the AF/M switch to include a button on the switch to choose AF-C, etc. With my D200 especially, I frequently flipped the switch from C to S to M. I miss the ability to "Lock" the Aperture and Shutter speeds, as I can with the D2X, but my D200 doesn't have it either, so it's adaptable. The most common complaint I've read is highly valid and I hope is correctable via software updates: the focusing points are jammed into the center area. This is acceptable in most situations, but not for portrait work where/when a tripod is used. The range is Highly limited. My next step is to thoroughly go through the features and learn how to adapt this camera to my shooting habits. Already, though, the User Interface is Very Well designed, and the quick access to White Balance, ISO, and other frequent needs is very intuitive. I've read this is basically a D4 within some of the extra features. From what I've seen, this is true. I wish for this or that, but I can adapt. I've wanted a full-frame for portraiture to make best use of my lenses without dealing with the 1.5 crop factor, and now I have it. Speaking of which the 24 MP sensor makes switching to DX mode a viable thing and adds to the focal length in a positive and valuable way for sports and nature photography. Caveat--of sorts--when switching from FX to DX modes (which is really quick), one has to also change the Image size if one prefers to shoot in the Medium file size format. Lastly, if you are contemplating or hesitate, just go for it; this is a winner. October 8, 2012
From D90 to D600 and loving it!!! I have had my D600 for a couple days now and already love everything about it! Please keep in mind that my rating of this camera is strictly from the perspective of an advanced enthusiast and not a professional photographer. I won't go into all of the technical aspects of the D600 since that has been well covered in other reviews. With that being said, I will give you my real world short answer as to why you will love the D600. A quick backgrounder, I have been shooting with my beloved D90 for about 3 years and felt that it was time to upgrade to newer technology. Before the D600 rumors started I was thinking about upgrading to the D7000. However, I decided to wait since I have always wanted to own a full frame camera. For D7000 owners out there this camera may feel similar but for me it is a night and day difference from my D90. The D600 is noticeably larger than the D90 and fits very nicely in my hands and feels very solid. The menu and button layout are consistent to the D90 so I had no problems figuring it out. Is it worth $1000 more than the D7000? YES!!! The D600 packs a juicy Full Frame Sensor, repeat a Full Frame Sensor (same as the one in the flagship D4 and D800). And the viewfinder is huge; with 100% coverage. I have my D600 paired with a Nikkor AF-S 50mm F1.8 G lens and the results are as expected; AWESOME. I rarely shoot video so I won't comment on that aspect of the camera. Overall the D600 is a great full frame camera wrapped up in the perfect size body with a terrific price tag. October 6, 2012
Excellent Camera. This is a very smart and ergonomically designed camera. I purchased this camera as a replacement to a Canon 5D(#1). This camera had one feature that my Canon lacked and that is ease and speed of use. I can get the same pictures out of any camera some just make it easier and faster. The D600 does both. Who cares what a camera looks like, looks have nothing to do with picture taking. I would still love this camera if it was bright pink. If you are concerned with looks of your camera you are most likely not concerned with the looks of your images. October 5, 2012
Great Camera I recently received the D600 and have shot with it for a week. I have been waiting for a replacement /upgrade for my D700 which I sold in anticipation of the upgrade, but the D800 was more of a D3x variant than an upgrade of the D700. I have been shooting with a D7000 in the mean time. The layout is very similar to the D7000 but with some subtle but very thoughtful improvements. The lock on the shooting mode corrects the accidental movement that was frequent on the D7000.The video button on top next to the shutter release seems strange at first, but becomes very easy to detect due to its narrow,vertical shape. The High ISO images are fabulous with very little noise and very sharp. Some of the features such as HDR are fairly "deep" in the menus, but if you reprogram the buttons, Fn or AE/AF you can access them quickly from "MY MENU. I have noticed that some of my pictures seem oversaturated but this can be managed by either white balance or customizing the Picture settings to be less saturated.Perhaps a firmware upgrade with correct this but it is manageable with a little post processing. My only real complaint is that the focusing points do not cover enough of the viewfinder, but overall the camera is fantastic and I suspect may cut into D800 sales October 3, 2012
Finally, the big brother to the D7000! I've had this camera for a little over a week now, upgrading from the Nikon D7000 as many probably will. I am absolutely pleased with this product. If you want to go full frame and you have the D7000 or something similar without spending a fortune, this is it! I will highlight the key benefits over the D7000 below, mainly from a video perspective. If you are expecting a "pro" FX body for cheap, then this is not the product for you. This is pretty much the D7000 with an FX sensor, slightly larger dimensions and some extra features. The good: 24 megapixels, more than enough, but not so much so that quality and high ISO performance is affected negatively when filming etc. Less mpix = better quality per pixel. Video straight out of the camera at full HD 1080p is amazing, so clear and crips, just a little touch up in post makes it look really nice! A very welcome addition for me is the 720p at 60FPS. I was actually contemplating another body to have with my D7000 just to be able to shoot 60FPS. Kind of hoped it would be 1080P at 60FPS but that's a dream for now, no camera in this class or price range has that so. So just that alone makes up for the investment if you are running two bodies today to be able to film 60FPS. Headphone jack, great addition if you want to monitor audio. I personally run an external recorder and only use built in audio for referense, but still great to have! Manual audio levels, hadn't seen or heard about that until I went thru the menus, very nice! Uncompressed HDMI out, oh yeah! Hook it up to a NINJA 2 recorder and you will get even better video quality! So that's kind of touching on the upgraded features for video compared to the D7000. As for photos, well, they look absolutely gorgeous. The full frame really shows off with the clean color reproduction and dynamic range. Just blows me away to be honest. Not that the D7000 looked bad, but this is noticably better! Granted the FX lens help, in my case 50 AF-S 1.8G #get it !#. Bigger viewfinder is alot easier to work with. The fact that my lenses are now actually what they say they are, in focal lenght, helps alot. I thought the whole crop factor was confusing when getting lesnes. And up until recently I was under the impression that the focal lenghts advertised for DX lenses were already "converted", but that is not the case. More shallow depth of field and nicer bokeh is always nice, but it has hurt me a little bit when filming table top product reviews etc. as the depth of field is so shallow and hard to pin point, but that is just an application issue, you just have to be creative and film your product from multiple angles instead to cover all areas in focus. The not-so-good: Some things I do not like that I have noticed, minor work-flow and handling issues. Picture zoom in and out buttons reversed place from the D7000 #+ and - buttons#, confusing, but I see that the D7000 was the odd one of the camera line up so it makes sense. I normally film in M mode, but check my settings with A mode beforehand outside of live view. The settings from non live view A mode does not carry over when switching to video live view, so I have to memorize the settings before switching. NOTE: This is for ISO only obviously, sorry. Not a huge deal but that worked a treat on the D7000. I guess that is because of the split live view modes for photo and video, which I by the way do not really understand why it is necessary. For filming, I do not understand why they can't offer seamless continous filming with auto-split of 20 mins per file. Canon do it without frame drop, so why not this. I hate when I am shooting and all of a sudden I notice the camera has stopped recording and I don't know where it left off. Obviously a workflow issue at this point but still. One thing I noticed in the specs, which will probably never affect me personally, but that I found odd was, the highest shutter speed of 1/4000th of a second, and not 1/8000th. Seems like an odd compromise, not sure why they did that. Also, the focus points are way too tight together. I think it's to be compatible in DX mode or something, but seriously. I would rather have reduced number of points in DX mode and have greater spread in FX mode. This is annoying! If you are moving from the D7000 or similar DX camera, a big issue might be that you only have DX lenses. Thankfully this camera has a DX crop mode feature so you can use your DX lenses without problems, but you cut the censor area and megapixels off and so I wouldn't recommend it in the long run as you are handicapping the cameras ability to deliver fully. If you are planning to upgrade to this, try to rotate out your DX lenses for FX lenses before hand so the hit on your wallet is limited! For some reason the little scroll bar in the Custom Shooting menu #I think that is what it's called, the one with all the AF settings etc.# is removed, compared to the D7000 menus. Which means you can't see how far you have scrolled within the category you are in, instead you only see the color and letter referense for the category at the top. Annoying little miss there. Might get fixed in FW. Maybe not a big deal to most. The live view video recording button is now at the top to the left of the shutter button. I do not like this at all. Several times I have tried hitting record and it won't start and I look thru my settings wondering why it doesn't work, only to find out I hit the meter mode button instead, which is next to and behind the record button. Would have prefered the live view center button to also be the record button. You can however change this in the menus so that the shutter release button #for photos# in video mode acts as the record button, which would work better I think. The covers for the in and output jacks on the side should not be hinged. I am so scared of breaking them off or whatever. Some sort of rubber pop in design would be better, so that they could be removed if desired. I can't explain what I mean in words but the hinges have me on edge a little, especially when running cables in there that might get caught and add tension to the covers etc. Also, as with the D7000, I think the card slot door should have a more positive lock in when closed. Sometimes when I grip it in and out of my hand, on occasion, the card door has been slid open by this. Not as bad on the D600 as on my D7000, but still. Lock button for mode dial, hmm... Not sure if that is a negative or not but it's an extra step to have to do to switch over, never had a problem with it switching by "itself" on the D7000 so. Wishful thinking, price point could of been a few hundred lower to differentiate it from the bigger brother D800 a little more. But considering Can ONs response #6D ?# with noticably worse features for the same price or slightly higher, I think you'd have to be satisfied with this! Conclusion: I think that about wraps it up for what I have experienced with the camera so far. Despite the small flaws I described above I am sure this will be a good companion for many years to come for both photo and video! Highly recommended! Glad I finally moved up to FX so I dont have to worry about my DX gear and lenses getting outdated or discontinued. October 1, 2012
No longer using Olympus dslr equipment! I have owned the olympus E1 & E3, didn't upgrade to the E5, not much had changed. Have been waiting for olympus to come out with an updated body something really special, didn't happen. When I called them they could not even say if they would be building any new dslr body's. Finally gave up, traded in my lenses, flash and body. Walked out of the camera store feeling pretty good about moving over to a company like Nikon. Lost some $, but sometimes you have to go backwards to go forward. Anyway can't believe the difference I'm seeing already! The D600 is even more powerful than I thought! I will have a learning curve for a while, but it's been a fun two days since I purchased this camera. The only negative thing i've found so far, my lightroom 4 & cs 5 will not read my raw files yet. My understanding is that adobe will be addressing that in the near future. September 29, 2012
Excellent ISO Performance At this point I cautiously give the D600 five stars. I say cautiously, because I have had the camera in my hands only two or three days. So far I am very happy with it. The ISO performance is very good. ISO 1000 to 3200 looks like ISO 400 on my D7000. This is great for dim light, but also very good news for people who like to shoot birds in flight and wildlife in general. I am able to keep the ISO at 1000 and get almost no grain at all while retaining very good color and detail. The focus is fast and accurate. Despite all the focus points being centered, it doesn't cause me as much grief as I believed it would. I would still prefer that they are more spread out, but I can work with what I have. One can still follow the two thirds rule, although in a slightly more limited way than the D800 with it's 51 focus points for example. I would not consider this a deal-breaker by any means. The camera feels solid in my hands, and I'm sure it will feel even better with a grip. The auto-ISO function is helpful, although during the day I prefer to select my own ISO setting, especially if I'm shooting action. The 5.5 frames per second help capture the action, and the larger buffer allows you to keep shooting continuously without interruption. I'm able to shoot approximately 16 frames in RAW before the buffer fills, at which point I can keep shooting at about 1 to 2 frames per second as the files are written to the SD card. I have also found that the D600 handles red colors very well. In the past I did not like to photograph red flowers because I knew my camera would somehow blow out the reds. The D600 does not blow out reds and in fact retains a lot of detail in flower petals unlike other DSLRs I've used. Maybe it comes down to my settings, but the D600 makes it much too easy. The 24 megapixels are very useful when cropping and produce very nice clarity in photos. This is great for just about anything, including macro. Attached are some of my first D600 images, including a photo of a red flower for demonstrative purposes. These images were processed in ViewNX2 into TIFFs and then imported into Lightroom4 for only very minor color enhancement. September 27, 2012
Great low light performer I really like the custom settings menu and the feel of the camera is much better than my D80. The HD video is really great, the rolling shutter could be better but I can deal with it. The noise performance is absolutely amazing! I can get very usable shots at 1/120, f/1.8, ISO3200 with almost no noise at all! The noise performance is great when shooting the sky at night because you can shoot at 30sec, f/22 ISO 3200 or 6400 and still are able to use the shots. The time lapse feature is super helpful because its easy to use and doesn't require an additional piece of equipment. September 26, 2012
D600 Rocks - I Love this Camera I thought I could never beat my old D700 but the D600 is better. Way better. The color in the images pops very nicely. The shutter is much quieter and pleasant to hear. For the first time, if I use the on camera flash people actually look good. Normally, I never flash people directly but use off camera, remotely controlled flash. Nikon is doing something with flesh tones that is remarkable. Live view works like it should with this camera. It never did in the D700. The in-camera editing options are super fun, especially the miniaturization and line drawing options. So beautiful! It weighs a lot less than the D700. I can keep this camera around my neck all day with the 50mm F1.8 and it shoots in low light very well. The menus are better. The buttons are more logical than the D700. September 26, 2012
Nikon has outdone themselves The D600 is exactly what the doctor ordered for a photographer like me. I am a teenage photographer that competes with and is respected by local pros. I photograph corporate events, bar/bat mitzvahs, etc. and this camera is exactly what I needed. The camera performs well at high ISO levels and the autofocus works like a charm. The D600 feels incredible sturdy in your hands, which is something I LOVE. However, add on a speedlight and grip and this camera can get heavy quick. The shape is a bit awkward in my opinion; the d600 is quite wide, but does not maintain its aspect ratio when widening so it seems a little shorter than it actually is. Overall the D600's performance exceeded my expectations and is a great camera. I've wanted to get my hands on a full frame camera for a while, but couldn't afford to get a D800 and a full frame lens. However, with the D600 I think I might be able to put a 24-70 f:/2.8 under the tree in December. September 25, 2012
Excellent Camera... If you want a full frame for a good budget price this is the best camera to go with. I have owned the D7000 and the D700 and with my experience I liked the D600 to be in between these monster cameras. It feels likes you are holding a hybrid. Not as heavy as the D700 with twice as much mega pixels with superb picture quality and with advanced features than the D7000. This is the camera to go with for click click and more clicks September 25, 2012
Solid Camera for amateur enthusiast I am by no means a pro...started getting into photography 3 months ago. My first DSLR was the D5100. Love it great beginner camera however I didn't expect to out grow it so quickly. Then I was thinking of upgrading to the D7000 since the FX format cameras were still out of my league and too much $. But when I heard the D600 was being announced and it has alot of the same user friendly program modes as the D5100 that i like using including some advanced manual user settings that I longed for with a full FX format sensor and 24MP i decided to give it a try since I'm still new to photography and have not invested heavily with DX lenses yet. Well im glad I made the investment. First off the D5100 though light and small feels like a plastic toy compared to the D600. The D600's main body is made of the same metal in the D800 however its surrounded by polycarbonate plastic on top, front and bottom. So the body is significantly heavier then the D5100 however feels great in your hands, more solid and the weight is evenly distributed especially if your using a tele photo lens like AF-S 28-300mm. If you put a telephoto lens on a D5100 or D3100 forget about it the weight distribution between lens and camera body feels awkward and awful while shooting and carrying. Therefore the craftsmanship of the D600 is much appreciated and the extra weight is a non factor because its evenly distributed no matter what kind of lens you put on and feels great in your hands. The first thing i noticed about the D600 is its image sensor is massive compared to a DX camera. Its like watching HD TV for the first time. 39 autofocus points i feel is not enough for the FX format there is still too much real estate and would like to see more AF points. However since I'm an amateur I can make do. I enjoy taking stills, landscape and sports photography. What i like about the D600 compared to my D5100 is when I'm in an lighting condition or environment that requires to constantly change camera settings in M or a program mode. The D5100 takes forever to change settings on the fly in the menu and by then you miss your shot. However the camera settings on the D600 are more transparent and fluid in a way the pros are used to however its not too overbearing for an amateur to master and this is a great camera i can grow into as well. So this review will hopefully be beneficial to a guy/girl like me who just started photography and never expected to really enjoy it and is looking to upgrade from an entry level DSLR who has not yet invested too much money in a lens system yet. September 24, 2012
Great FX Camera!!! Used this camera at a wedding yesterday and I am completely blown away by the capabilities of this package. We were stuck indoors due to rain, this camera combined with the 24-70 were a magical combination. I was extremely impressed with the low light capability as well. Images at ISO 1600-6400 are very usable with little to no work. For my business I find this to be the perfect fit. Megapixels is right where I want them and the price of this unit is well worth it in my opinion. September 23, 2012
Worth EVERY penny! The D600 is a superb camera. Impressive stills with great dynamic range and excellent high ISO performance.....very clean up to ISO3200 and depending on your photo use even ISO6400 and some ISO12800 shots can still be usable. The in-camera HDR feature works well...handheld is possible if your technique is flawless...but best to use a tripod. The 24-85 VR is a surprisingly good lens, excellent centre sharpness and a tad soft in the corners but overall very good. I have a D7000 which I will be keeping as my back-up camera...controls are very similar on the D600 which makes the transition very easy. There have been some negative comments in various photo chat rooms about the fact that you can't change the aperture while filming video in live view. This is the same issue with the D7000 and I've shot lots of very good corporate videos without the need to change aperture while filming...so to me this is really a non-issue to me. For most corporate work if you plan your shots properly there's no need to change aperture.....it's not like trying to shoot a wedding where the subjects are moving all over the place and the lighting is changing constantly. Perhaps if I was a wedding shooter (which I avoid like the plague) it would be a bigger concern. Burst rate is good at 5.5 (almost as fast as the D7000) and like the D7000 the buffer fills fairly quickly so if you MUST have high frame rate and large buffer you'll likely need to go up to the D4 or wait for the pro-level D400....my guess is that it will be introduced late this year or early spring 2013. Very good video capability with this camera (which was my main reason to purchase) and the quality is better than the D7000. Still a bit of moire in predictable situations but not nearly as prevalent as the D7000...and low light performance appears much improved over the D7000 based on my initial shooting. Love the light weight and compact size of the D600 which was another consideration for me as I did not have to upgrade my fluid video head, pistol grip, camera slider, or tripod due to a lot of increased weight. This is such a great video camera that most suppliers like iDC should bring follow-focus base plates etc. to market quickly. Really like the built in audio metering, the headphone jack and the straight out video feed....all great features to have when shooting video. Not being able to change aperture while filming is a very small trade-off to make. My D7000 is an excellent camera and very worthy of all of the awards it won....and I predict that the D600 will also win many 'camera of the year' awards. I have no hesitation what-so-ever in recommending this excellent camera. Depending on their specific shooting requirements many pros will find a place for this camera in their bag. It is a lightweight powerhouse! September 22, 2012
Finally! I have been waiting for a compact, more reasonably priced, full frame Nikon for so long and I had almost given up when I saw the D800. Too heavy and bulky. AGAIN. I have actually started a Sony nex system and love it. But Nikon finally came out with a camera for someone like me who started out with film and has too many good lenses waiting to be used again! September 21, 2012
The D600 makes your photos pop alive. I'm very impressed with how sharp the images come out, even at high ISO the images are great! Also adding front and rear IR receivers with 3 stages, with the best being mirror up mode! Full frame, weather sealed in a small package adds up to a winner. September 20, 2012
Full Frame ( Videos & Photos Pro ) Very nice camera for the money with FX-format quality that we love to see. with thin new D600 we are able to register those monets were our clients wants to remember, like never before for less than $3,000.00. 35.9mm x 24.0mm 24-85mm VR Lens Kit e SD cards slots Nice! but if a flip screem like the d5100 and the resolution like the t4i screem ont the D600 is the only missing feature. September 20, 2012
Best Upgrade I ever made Was shooting a D5000 as a starter and switching to the D600 was well worth it. None of the spot issues said in others. With the help of online videos I was able to handle the camera with ease. I am still getting more and more use to it and finding more and more I like. I don't have a FX lense yet but am amazed with the richness of the shots using my DX Lenses. One of the Issues I saw online was with the single point focus. a Camera Guy and instead of listening to him just watched what his hand did. Once got past that hurdle my shots are way better and just training myself with the the focal point use on this beauty. March 14, 2013
Better than what I hoped for I bought this body despite the internet criticism about dust/oil spots. The price was right and I wanted to concentrate on wide angle scenics. I already had FX lenses from my film days and the 600 has no problems using them. Great size and weight, balance is perfect with wide angles. February 23, 2013
Love it! I pre-ordered mine and got it within a day or two of the release date in September 2012. I was trading up from a D7000 which was a trade up from my old D70. I love the camera and I'm so happy I got it. I've never owned a professional grade body and so I have nothing to compare it with, but it seems plenty rugged to me and I've used it to photograph raging fires in Detroit, horses in the snow and cold, street scenes in the rain, and bands in packed clubs -- it's been used a lot and taken some abuse in the few months I've had it (close to 10,000 shutter releases) and I haven't had a single complaint. Wait, I do have one complaint -- for some reason known only to Nikon engineers, they switched the positioning of the enlargement (+) and reduction (-) playback buttons from the D7000 which I've kept as a second body. Switching back and forth between the two cameras invariably means that I hit the wrong key when I'm in a hurry to check my photo on the LCD. This is a minor annoyance, though, and for the most part the transition from the D7000 to the D600 has been seamless and trouble-free. As for the dust and oil issue, I didn't experience this at all and I think I must have got a pretty early model, so I don't know what that's all about. I have never (not even once) used it for video, so I couldn't tell you if it's any good for that or not. February 13, 2013
D-600 - more then enough camera for most people IMHO the dust problem (inconvenience ) is blown out of proportion. Yes - I have dust spots but I learned how to clean the sensor and it only takes a couple of minutes. This camera will meet 99% of the average enthusiasts needs. If you need more buy a D800 or a D4. A very telling comment by my local camera shop pro was this: "the 800s are flying off the shelves - bought mostly by people who do not need the capabilities they're paying for". His advice was to buy the 600 if you want FX or a good used 300s if you are satisfied with DX format. I've waited years to get back to full frame capture and I love this D600. My 14mm f2.8 is 14mm again!! February 7, 2013
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9
<<prev | next>>
125 Questions | 179 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
125 Questions | 179 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D600
 
11 Answers

Is the D600 considered a pro body?

Sep 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+7points
16out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful9
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
11 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just for clarification the D600 is considered a Pro Body for NPS membership.
Jun 28, 2013 by
by
NikonStaff
Melville, NY

+12points
15out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful3
Answer: 
The D600 is definitely a pro camera. In fact, I've used DX format cameras for some of my pro work (portraits, products and events). It really boils down to the photographer: if you can take pictures people will pay for, then the camera is secondary (in most cases). In today's market, so many people merely share their pictures via Facebook, email, etc., but rarely do customers buy the 3'x2' framed art to hang above their fireplace. Having a full-frame camera is necessary to get that kind of quality, and the D600 is superior in that regard. Also, I should mention that by "pro", I'm not referring to Nat Geo or Time-Life photographers; instead, I'm thinking of most gigs, i.e. weddings, events, portraits, etc. In short, being "pro" for a camera (or photog) is a subjective term, but IMHO, I feel the D600 is a pro camera. Lastly, to really up your game if using the D600, go for one of the prime lenses. I use the Nikon 85mm f1.8 prime, which does an amazing job with my D600...customers rave about the quality, even on enlargements I've had made at 36"x24" (good glass is a big variable in this equation).
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, ca
Location : 
Newbury Park, ca
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
7out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful9
Answer: 
This is a perplexing question.

For the purpose of qualifying for the benefits of Nikon Professional Services, as others have already made clear, the answer is no.

For every other purpose, the questions have to be asked: Considered by whom, and what are their criteria?

Some photographers have paid their rent shooting with disposable cameras. Are those cardboard cameras, then, "pro" bodies?
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Location : 
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-52points
2out of 56found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful54
Answer: 
If your camera has a pop-up flash, it is not a professional body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-10points
10out of 30found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful20
Answer: 
According to Nikon Professional Services:

The D800 is a pro body.
The D600 is not a pro body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Jake
Role: Professional photographer

+27points
30out of 33found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful30unhelpful3
Answer: 
In my opinion, this question is equivalent to people buying "pro" quality golf clubs. It's not the clubs that make you a pro, or in this case, not the camera body. The tool isn't what makes someone a pro or not; it's the person using the tool. If your type of work, and ultimately what you get paid for (which is what makes you a "professional" versus a hobbyist), doesn't dictate that you spend $5,000 for a particular piece of equipment, then why spend the money? If a D600, or whatever other camera body does the job you need it to and you get paid, then you are still a "pro" despite the level of camera you use.

I've shot plenty of commercial projects that have been published in various magazines, including GQ and Sports Illustrated, using nothing more than a D300.
Sep 27, 2012 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
Annapolis, MD, USA
Location : 
Annapolis, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+13points
16out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
Answer: 
People are too caught up these days thinking they need all the bells and whistles on a camera for it to be a pro camera. A true pro can make great images from just using the manual settings. In short, yes this is a pro camera.
Sep 22, 2012 by
by
Ray from L.A.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
9out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful11
Answer: 
just to know D600 is a semi-pro body, pro cameras cost above 4000$, pro bodies - Nikon D4, Canon 1Dx, Nikon D3x, Canon 1Dc and medium format cameras like Phase One 645 and Pentax 645

while D800, D600, D700, D300s are semi-pro cameras !
Sep 17, 2012 by
by
EagleS
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer

-15points
2out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful17
Answer: 
This body of D600 is much lower in terms of construction of a D300s, is very similar to a D7000. Will be a D7000 considered someday a pro-camera? I do not believe. The D600 also will not, it only have a fullframe sensor
Sep 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+16points
19out of 22found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful3
Answer: 
Couple this new camera body with the best Nikon glass and you will wind up with what I call a "smart pro's system". That is, putting your money in an adequate body and great glass saves money, provides reasonable street cred, and of course, if you have the eye, and luck, will allow fantastic captures. Short answer; in my estimation the D600 will soon be accepted as a "pro body".
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
12out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful3
Answer: 
In the least, an excellent back-up camera for a working pro and a DREAM camera for the intermediate to advanced prosumer. This camera will NOT depreciate in value for many many months.
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

If D600 low light going to be as good as D800?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The D600 V D800 -----simple answer. A camera with more functionality is going to offer greater capibility, If you need low light-- go for the best camera --D800. Costs more but this inst really a situation where the two are comprable. D800 is pro hardware-6 is prosumer.
Jun 5, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
I've shot at 2500 ISO on my D600 indoors with very good quality and extremely low noise. I tend to use fast glass (f2) and in those cases, even in dim light indoors, can shoot at about 1600 ISO with a shutter speed around 1/125, which has given some very good results.
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Location : 
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
You're kind of asking for an apples to oranges comparison, but perhaps this will help.

Before I even bought my D600, I downloaded RAW files from various Web resources to make comparisons with the D800, especially with regard to noise performance at high ISO. I was able to make comparisons because Capture NX2 had early support for the D600.

Even a cursory examination shows the D600 to have superior high-ISO performance. This is as expected because the D600 and D800 represent about the same generation of imaging sensor technology -- i.e., the latest -- in which case the imager with the larger pixel site pitch should have the noise performance advantage, all other things being equal.

Now, you'd think that by the same token the D700 should outperform the D600. This is not as obvious, and I can only guess that this is attributable to the D700 sensor being an already somewhat dated design. Yeah... this is a fast-moving industry.

Don't get me wrong. The RAW files reveal that the D800 has excellent high-ISO/noise performance -- something that's all the more remarkable given it's high sensor resolution. It's just that the D600 is even better in this particular regard.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Jämaja, Estonia
Location : 
Jämaja, Estonia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month

-15points
1out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful16
Answer: 
Low light performance will depend t on ISO and camera settings, shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, and selection of the lens.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

Can the DX format be used with FX lenses for 1.5 X magnification (crop sensor, if you will).

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
Location : 
Midwest
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe both of the previous answers are incorrect regarding crop factor. A DX sensor is smaller than an FX sensor. Using a DX lens on an FX camera does not magnify the image - quite the opposite. The FX sensor will see a larger portion of the image (including vignetting at the edges) unless you use the "DX crop mode" of the D600 to limit the sensor area to the same size as DX. Then, it's the same as a DX camera.

The 1.5x crop factor happens only when you put an FX lens on a DX camera. For example, a 200mm FX lens would be the equivalent of 300mm lens on a DX camera. For years, I shot with a 50mm 1.8D on my Nikon D50 #DX camera# because it gave me a bright telephoto image equivalent of 75mm.

I currently use a 35mm DX lens with my FX camera because I like the vignetting effect as a creative tool. It's the equivalent of a 20mm lens with the D600.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Dec 4, 2013 by
by
srenkin
Atlanta, GA, USA
Location : 
Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Correction, YES you can use DX format with FX lenses. There is a button just below to the right of the lens, press it in and the back command wheel to change from FX to DX. You will only be using 10 MP but you will benefit because you will be using the sweet spot of the lens and because of the size of the pixels you should get reduced noise and better dynamic range. Not to mention 300mm essentially becomes 450mm.... one more thing, the auto focus zone is perfect for DX (entire frame) while kind of small for FX. There are definite advantages in doing what your question asks.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Maze
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
No. Optically a Dx lens is the same as an Fx lens. The reason Dx sensors are 1.5 crop is because they are half the size of an Fx sensor. However when you are done cropping out the vignette you will be in essence at 1.5 magnification, so yes i suppose depending on your point of view.
Sep 20, 2012 by
by
Michael
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Do I need to set the aperture value before going into Live View mode when using G lenses?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I guess I'd like to know if I can change the aperture while shooting video without having to use an AI, AI-S or AF-D lens. Thanks!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
Answer: 
I agree, this is COMPLETELY unacceptable. If it had this one simple feature, it would be on order right now. A Canon t2i can do this. That's a cheap 4 year old camera. What gives? I really hope this is fixed in a firmware update. I simply cannot believe this thing has clean HDMI out and doesn't have the ability to change the aperture while recording.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Unfortunately this can only be done at 800. This is the must crazy thing of nikon. Why do they spend so much money building a camera which can record excellent video and they deny the ability of working as it's simply logical.Canon is doing it , at the chipest models!!! An update is absolutely necessary!!!
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
5out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful8
Answer: 
You have to adjust the settings before you start recording a video.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Will my AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens work with the D600?

Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can force any DX lens to shoot full-frame images on the D600. Just turn off Auto DX Crop in the menu and select FX for image area.

You will have severe vignetting, of course, but the amount depends on the lens, aperture, and zoom settings. For example, with my 18-200 set at 200, the full-frame image had very manageable (i.e., easily correctable) vignetting.

In any case, allowing full-frame capture with DX lenses puts YOU in control of the crop. Unless you're strapped for memory card space or are forced to work with a slow computer, I see no reason to use Auto DX Crop.
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Location : 
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes but you will be shooting in 10.5MP DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

What software do I use to open the RAW (NEF) files from the D600?

Nov 4, 2012 by
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
 on D600
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I have not been able to open the NEF files from my D600 (just purchased) with the supplied ViewNX 2 software included with my D600. I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
Location : 
Union, ME, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Downloads can be found here,
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
" I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so."

To download the latest update to Capture NX2, go to the top of this page; mouse over Service & Support; click on Download Center.
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Location : 
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you have both the latest versions installed, 2.3.5 for Capture NX2 and 2.6.0 for View NX2
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

SD Card "error message", does anyone know the cause?

Oct 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I was taking some test pictures with my new D600 and all of the sudden I noticed that when I press the shutter release button, the camera is not focusing or releasing the sutter. While trying to figure out what the issue was, I noticed the "card error" message flashing in the screen on top of the camera. After some investigation, I realized that the #2 SD card which I'd set up as overflow back up is causing the issue [In other words card #2 was not even in use when the issue occured]. Removed card #2 and the camera started working again. At this point I had taken about 150 pictures with my camera. Since then I've been unable to read the card that was removed from slot #2 [8GB calss 10 Kensington] on any PC. I'd have this SD card for several months and used it with my other camera's with no issues. I had formatted both cards after inserting them in the camera before shooting pictures. I do understand that memory cards regardless of type or brand could go bad but I am wondering, if anyone knows what could cause this issue?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
same thing happened to me and the card was brand new hi quality and the number 2 slot was the issue in the same way described above.
Feb 17, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The mentioned Kensigton SDHC is an approved card for this camera.
Oct 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sounds like a bad card, try using a approved card: http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d600/spec.htm
Instead of using a low cost card.
Oct 6, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Does it still multiple exposure feature

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
Location : 
Belleville, NJ, USA
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
If it allows you to bracket 3 exposure than you should be able to do HDR with a 7 stop range.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Maze
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It looks like it only allows 3 bracketed exposures. Too bad for HDR users.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
2 Answers

D600 Commander?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Sam
Germany
 on D600
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I cannot imagine that it doesn't support flash commander mode but it is isn't called out specifically in the specs page as it is on other bodies.
Does it?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Sam
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I notice the D600 brochure states this: Nikon Creative Advanced Wireless Lighting supported with built-in flash, SB-910, SB-900, SB-800 or
Lighting System (CLS) SB-700 as a master flash and SB-600 or SB-R200 as remotes, or SU-800 as commander;
built-in flash can serve as master flash in commander mode; auto FP high-speed sync and
modeling illumination supported with all CLS-compatible flash units except SB-400; Flash
Color Information Communication and FV lock supported with all CLS-compatible flash units
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
MichaelT
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Location : 
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the camera supports CLS and can be used in Commander mode.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Can I assign the AE-L / AF-L button to be AF-ON?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
 on D600
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
Location : 
West Chester, PA, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am a D600 owner, and I wouldn't lie to you. The answer to your question is yes.

Moreover, the AE-L/AF-L button can be assigned different functions for still and movie modes.

The manual is now available for download. That will explain all of the assignable choices. With respect to menu functions, I have found no errors or inaccuracies in the manual so far.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Iceland
Location : 
Iceland
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are several personal reviews of the D600 online from photographers stating they have been able to assign the AE-L/AF-L button to become the AF-ON button. In my opinion, this AF-ON button capability will be a heavily-weighted determining factor for most pros considering this camera as part of their working equipment list.

NIKON - PLEASE answer this question definitively!
Sep 25, 2012 by
by
MLM
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers