Loading

A full-frame Nikon for your full-time passion.

If you've been looking to take your passion to the next level with full-frame HD-SLR performance, your wait is over. Now the power of a pro-level Nikon FX-format camera—stunning full-frame images, cinema-quality 1080p videos, superior low-light performance, blazing fast framing and burst rates, built-in HDR, wireless photo sharing and much more—is attainable in a compact, lightweight HD-SLR. Optimized for full-frame shooting and versatility, streamlined for compactness and value, the D600 will fuel your passion like never before.
photo of a woman in a long red dress shot indoors

FX-quality images and HD videos

Nikon’s most compact full-frame HD-SLR ever

Passionate photographers who seek exceptional full-frame, high-resolution performance rely on Nikon FX-format HD-SLRs. For the first time ever, that level of performance is available in a compact, affordable HD-SLR. D600's 24.3 megapixel FX-format CMOS sensor captures every detail with lifelike sharpness. Its EXPEED 3 processing system manages all that data with remarkable speed and accuracy, enabling up to 5.5 frames-per-second (fps) continuous shooting at full resolution. And the low-light performance synonymous with Nikon is again proven deserved—shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, expandable down to 50 and up to 25,600 for extreme situations.
photo of a man selling nuts at a market, and a closeup view of nuts

The beauty is in the details

Highly accurate AF System for superior sharpness

One of the keys to capturing razor-sharp images and HD videos—whether shooting through the viewfinder or with the LCD monitor—is a fast, precise autofocus system, and the D600 has one of the best. 39 focus points with wide-area AF coverage offer endless compositional possibilities. Nine cross-type sensors and seven center focus points work all the way down to f/8 for extended AF functionality with teleconverters and long-reach lenses. When shooting photos or HD video in Live View, Nikon’s responsive contrast-detect AF activates for accurate fulltime autofocusing. Every moment you capture will be razor sharp.
photo of a city at night, in low light

Unwavering exceptional performance

Flawless metering and onboard intelligence

The D600 delivers consistently beautiful images and HD videos, thanks to Nikon’s intelligent Scene Recognition System with 3D Color Matrix Metering II. Its 2,016 pixel RGB sensor evaluates every scene, taking into account brightness, contrast, subject distance and the scene colors, all within the time it takes to press the shutter release button. That data is then referenced against an onboard image database for consistently accurate exposures, auto white balance, i-TTL flash and subject-tracking autofocus performance.
 
     

Cinema-quality HD video projects

Pro-level 1080p HD video recording features

Nikon is committed to developing HD-SLRs that empower and inspire filmmakers and video enthusiasts, and the D600 is proof of that commitment. Shoot 1080p HD videos with selectable frame rates of 30p, 25p or 24p and MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 compression. Bend time with 720p HD at 60p, 50p or 30p for ultra-smooth video playback of fast moving subjects, or create slow-motion footage during post processing. Maintain your creative vision with manual exposure control, fulltime AF with face-priority and subject tracking, dedicated inputs for a stereo mic and headphones, saving a selected still frame from video, and much more. Enhance all that with the dramatic perspectives and depth-of-field control of NIKKOR interchangeable lenses, and you'll dazzle with every video project.

photo of a photographer looking into the viewfinder of the D600 while a model sits in a scene, along with the shot of the model on a smartphone

Wi-Fi camera control and mobile photo sharing

Optional WU-1b wireless mobile adapter

With Wi-Fi compatibility, the D600 makes sharing photos even easier. Connect the optional WU-1b Wireless Adapter and wirelessly transfer photos to your smartphone, tablet or any compatible Wi-Fi enabled device. Use your smartphone to instantly upload your shots to the web or email them to a friend. Install Nikon's free Wireless Mobile Adapter Utility and remotely control the D600—see what the camera sees from your smartphone or tablet and fire off shots!
two photos of a woman against a rust covered wall, one looking at the camera, one with her eyes closed

Lighting studio optional

The D600’s built-in pop-up flash opens up new shooting possibilities—and not just in low-light situations. Even well lit subjects can benefit from a balanced fill flash for extra depth and dimension. And since the D600’s flash integrates with Nikon’s i-TTL system, it can act as a Commander and communicate crucial exposure information to two groups of remote flashes across three channels for accurate lighting and exceptional results.

A hobby that grows with you

Nikon’s HD-SLR system is endlessly expandable. From legendary NIKKOR lenses and Nikon Speedlights for endless creative expression to the WU-1b Wireless Adapter for Wi-Fi sharing and camera control, your system can grow with you.


WI-FI COMPATIBILITY

This camera's Wi-Fi® capability using the WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter can only be used with a compatible iPhone®, iPad®, and/or iPod touch® or smart devices running on the Android™ operating system. The Wireless Mobile Utility application must be installed on the device before it can be used with this camera.
For compatibility and to download the application, please visit:

D600 Body Only

Price $2,099.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

24-85mm VR Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Price $2,699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

Two Lens Kit

D600 Camera BodyAF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VRAF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Price $3,349.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D600 3.4 5 225 225
Awesome Camera. The camera is amazing. For the price, it's unbeatable. I own two, both had the "dust on the sensor" issue. Shot a few thousand rounds, cleaned the sensors. A couple thousand actuation a later, still clean. It's just NOT as big of a deal as the Internet is making it. I agree it would be if it continued...but it doesn't. It's been blown WAY out of proportion. The camera in my opinion is the best to date, for the size, and price point. March 11, 2013
Superb images notwithstanding intial dirty sensor setback FIRST THE SENSOR SPOTS,ETC: I purchased the Nikon D600 in Oct of 2012. I was aware of the sensor dust/oil problem but bought it knowing that the same experience with my D7000 cleared up after a couple thousand shots. Given the design of the D600 is basically the same as the D7000 I was confident that the sensor problem would simply go away. That said I still sent it to Nikon in November and they cleaned the mirror box which is the commonly accepted cause of this issue as well as the sensor which got rid of the problem straight-away. I ensure that I run the in-camera sensor clean function once before starting a day's shooting. If the sensor becomes contaminated such that my Giottos blower can't remove it then I use wet swabs which is very easy with a full frame sensor. I HIGHLY recommend all owners of this camera with this problem do the same. I am very disappointed at the seeming lack of quality control by Nikon in first releasing the D7000 with it's problems and then, apparently not learning a thing from that experience allowing the same type of blunder to occur upon releasing the D600 to market. I really like using Nikon equipment which offers outstanding performance but this QC issue could dramatically hurt their profits down the line since many people are intolerant of this kind of failure. New customers in particular. NOW TO THE CAMERA: My specific requirement was a full frame camera with low ISO capability and exceptionally wide dynamic range without breaking the bank. The D600 offered it all at a price that was right for me. I paid full retail for the body only and even with all the subsequent discounts I am not disappointed in the least. The improvement in dynamic range with the D600 over the D7000, which was very good, is quite noticeable. Nature photography is my primary interest along with landscape images. In absolutely every respect I am more than satisfied with the image quality of the D600 and those images are everything that I had learned to expect from a first class full frame camera. I considered the D800 but I was already used to the ergonomics of the D7000 which are nearly identical in the D600 so the more professional controls on the D800 did not interest me. The 36 megapixels would have been nice but after considerable inspection of photos take with the D800 and the D600 under virtually identical circumstances with the same lenses I could not discern enough of a difference to warrant the additional price of the D800. After dealing with the sensor problem I can still confidently recommend the D600 to anyone ALSO willing to do the same. Once past the sensor brouhaha the images the D600 produces are nothing short of awe inspiring. February 23, 2013
Superb full frame camera. Video so-so I have been holding out on a dslr until a full frame Canon or Nikon came within the realm of amateur useful / somewhat affordable - and advanced enough to be relevant for 5 years. I looked at the 5d mark ii, as my sister in law had them. it was ok. my brother in law had the D7000 with the FX-ED 28-70 mm lense - and the pictures were amazing. But no full frame. The D800 was exciting, but still a bit intimidating for my skill level and was a pricey risk to take. The D600 was perfect! I have read all of the dust spots and oil complaints and had some reservations. I have had the camera since late December 2012 and must say I have not seen any issues, although I have not changed out the lens once (i have the 28-300 nikon fx-ed lens that came in a kit, which is pretty darn good, and an older nikon speedlight which works quite well) and I store the camera in a clean area. I am also not a professional, exposing my camera to the somewhat abusive environments many professionals operate within. The pictures are amazing. Outdoor, indoor - day and night, all superb. Focus and natural color is fantastic. Compare to any lesser dslr, smaller - but still expensive point and shoots, the d600 will make you wish you had the camera for all important events. The standard flash integrated in the unit is actually not bad for smaller scale photos. I have nothing but happiness about the photos. The video, on the other hand leaves much to be desired, and should only be used if you don't feel like lugging a camcorder. The video is good, but it is resolution without any handy features most camcorders have. Also, the microphone picks up all of the autofocus and lens movements. It is annoying - really annoying. If you want a dslr for video - unless I have an unusual case - this camera is no good at all. You will not be happy with the sound - as all you will be hearing is a metallic pinging every second of the video - if there is focus adjustment, which there normally will be. I thought the feature would be useful - so I was happy to have it and took the video as a freebie benefit. It turns out I am still thrilled with the photos and the video proves the freebie is getting what you pay for!! As a camera - unless you are a true pro - I can't imagine a much better camera on the market. My sister-in-law is a pro and has Canon 5D Mark II's. I feel canon/nikon loyalties are like Chevy/ford loyalties. But, objectively speaking, I do not like the Canon as much as the D600. It just seems photo quality is a step beneath. People can say it is an older technology, but to me, a full frame and optics - should reflect similar photo quality. I suppose I am wrong as I feel the Nikon is much closer to my 35mm film Nikon SLR, which is amazing. Knowing full well I would buy all new lenses, body, speedlight (although I am still using my old one as it works very well), I figured I was getting a Canon or Nikon. I had very bad experiences with Nikon point and shoots, and I have loved every small Canon I bought, including the G11 for my wife. So I was a bit disappointed in Nikon. The D600 was a risk I took from reading magazine reviews. Plus, I found the 5D mark II to be good, but an outdated product about to be replaced by a newer camera that was even more than the D800!! I trusted the magazine reviews and got the d600 and it was worth every penny and is phenomenal. I love it. Get a couple high speed sandisk 32gb sdcards. Awesome camera / tons of storage - 2 slots. You'll love it too. February 22, 2013
Best Camera Yet I upgraded from a D5000. When this camera first came out I knew it was for me. It was exactly what I was looking for. The dust issue was a little unsettling. I waited a good six months to purchase hoping that it would be resolved. It was worth the wait and I have not had any problems. It has far exceeded my expectations. Pairing it with the 85 mm lens makes it a dream combination. February 21, 2013
Amazing Camera This is my fist full-frame camera and I absolutely love it. The image quality is stunning. Very good in low light conditions, and I really have nothing bad to say! February 19, 2013
Very Happy I bought this camera before Xmas and have experienced some dust spots. I sent it to Nikon and they cleaned the sensor and checked it over, on warranty. It came back clean. I'm very impressed with the image quality. Very sharp focus and the details and color rendition are fabulous. Ergonomics similar to D7000. There are a few small issues: focusing points in a small area, ISO button in a awkward position etc. Reviews from DP Review and others all rate this camera very high so I don't understand all the complaints other than the dust issue. Cleaning the sensor isn't hard. February 17, 2013
Great job all around! If you are upgrading to this model, hurry up already! It takes fantastic images. While you may get a unit that has dust/oil spot issues, the representatives and technicians will go above and beyond the call of duty to take care of your needs. After shipping, Nikon received it on February 5, 2013. I made a request to have the camera back by Mardi Gras day. I was hoping to get some great photos of all the costumes but wasn't sure if the repair and return would make it in time. I asked and hoped. The fact that I received it back on the 12th goes far to illustrate the great customer service and standards held by Nikon. Problem resolved. 5 stars.. February 17, 2013
Beautiful camera, Misunderstood sensor (oil spots solved) Starting with the Negatives since there are so few. Okay so point 1.) The sensor does get oil spots for most, not sure if Nikon fixed it. I bought my camera in December. BUT! The big but here is that the oil spots stop accumulating after around 3,000 shots. I was lucky enough to buy my camera at a local store which does free sensor cleanings for those who buy a camera with them. (it usually costs around $50) Point 2.) You can't edit RAW files yet using most programs. Cs6 should be coming out with a compatibility download soon enough though. (I have hear ramblings about them coming out with one in 3-4 months but it might just be rumors.) But other than that I really don’t have any negatives with this camera! The Pro column far outweighs the Cons. Point 1.) I probably don’t need to stress the image quality. I researched this camera, the D800, & the 5DmkIII and found that the D600 Has better image quality (I.e. Dynamic range, color depth, detail etc…) than the canon. Point 2.) Noise level is phenomenal. I have usable pictures up to 4,000 ISO. Point 3.) Fast AF! Obviously not as fast as the D800/5DmkIII and personally I enjoy all the 39 AF points in the center. If I need to focus on something outside the center I set my upper Fn button to be a no auto focus so I just lock the focus and recompose in a second. Point 4.) Great Ergonomics! You can do everything while still having you eye up to the eye piece. Point 5.) Love the two SD card slots. I need them now that my files are larger. Point 6.) The D600 has the same weather proof protection as the D800. Over all I feel like this camera will be with me for a long time. I can really grow with this camera. February 13, 2013
Great camera The only thing that struck me silly was the video. If you want to change the aperture, you must have a lens that you can change it manually. Other than that, it does really well on noise. If your considering a D800 and don't make your living shooting, get this camera. It does great with enlargements that aren't posters! You will not notice much difference at 100% crop between this camera and the 800. The body isn't all magnesium like the 800, but the weather sealing is nearly as good. Unlike the 800, I don't need a tripod for every day shots. The 600 will serve you better if you do any sort of photography where you're on the move or your subject is. The 800 is more of a static camera to me and definitely a tripod camera, even with VR lenses. As far as people concerned about dust specks, think about a CPU fan, an older CRT screen, they gather dust. It's going to happen. Dust is going to be attracted to the sensor or any charged surface. It's not a defect. Oil spots, this is a lubricant that is left over from the assembly process that gets squished out in assembly or get splashed about in assembly. This one is definitely a quality control issue, but it's no crisis. Sensor cleaning is as easy as cleaning a lens (well almost). Youtube it. If you want a "kit" check out Copper Hill Images. I wish people would stop making ignorant claims about what they perceive as "defects". February 4, 2013
It's just what the enthusiast ordered! The D600 has been great to work with so far. Any of the complaints I have read online have been like being frustrated with your mid-priced sedan not functioning like a luxury sports coupe. The only actual complaint-worthy item was about dust on the sensor, and I have not experienced any issues with that. My previous camera was the D300. I got so accustomed to the controls on it, that I didn't have to look at them when shooting. The D600 was an easy transition. The D600 control layout is more similar to the D90 and D7000 controls, but I purchased this camera because of the upgrade to full frame. The D800 was a bit too much camera for me, so I was very excited when Nikon announced the D600. I love the fact that I can put it in "AUTO" mode and focus on the shot and forget about settings. I thoroughly enjoy the U1 and U2 settings to keep frequently used set ups. I am excited to be able to focus on the pictures more and the technical aspects of the camera less. When photography is a passion, but not a way that I earn my living, the D600 is perfect for me. It gives me most of the benefits of the D800 at a great price point and allows me to relax more as an amateur photographer. If you are a professional photographer, this camera may not be for you, but Juan Montoya wouldn't be satisfied with my sedan. Be sure you find the camera that inspires you to become a better photographer and meets your needs. Focus more on what your camera does well, and have a great time capturing your great moments in life! The D600 will impress you! February 3, 2013
Grand Camera ! I have had a few Nikons over the years.My D600 is superior in all respects from adaptibilty of long zoom lens with teleconverters to excellent features in menu. Its very lightweight which is good for long walks over rough terrain. Also,i like the two slots for SDHC. Its a thrilling piece of technology ! January 29, 2013
My First DSLR Experience After doing lot of research, I finally narrowed down to Nikon D600. Definitely no regrets. The full frame makes lot of difference to the photographs. Myself being an amateur photographer, this camera will take me to the professional level. January 26, 2013
New User - Everything great so far. Purchased the D600 right after Christmas. Have been nothing but pleased so far. Came with the 24 - 85 zoom which I have used 90+ percent of the time. Until now I have only used film: 35mm, medium format, and large. It took awhile for me to take the leap of faith to digital. Being able to use my AIS lenses on the D600 is a huge benefit. Thanks Nikon for the insight to keep the same lens mount through the years. I haven't tried to print from the D600 captured files yet. That will be the ultimate test. I like the feel of the camera in my hands. I still have a ways to go before I am fully comfortable with the D600 as a creative tool. To date I've just shot in auto focus and exposure (aperture priority). It has been pretty right on. The auto lock is convenient but still a bit awkward. I'll get used to it. I'm excited to continue learning the things I need to learn and to become competent in the mechanics of the D600 to allow me to think more about what I am shooting instead of how I am shooting it. January 23, 2013
Excellent FX camera! This is my first FX camera. I have used the D7000 and the D90 in the past and find this one to be much better. I have had no problems with dust or oil, and though I have been using now for over a month, there are no problems at all. Especially good for portrait and macro photography. Though the AF field is not as large as some FX cameras, this is not a problem with the D600 as many have stated. Highly recommend this camera! January 18, 2013
Captures Color perfectly! My main complait with other cameras was that they didn't capture any form of red exactly. The D600 captures any form of red (skin tones, shirts, leaves) perfectly! This is an ideal Camera for a portrait, wedding or engagemt photographer, like me. The ISO has virtually no noise even at 6400. I LOVE this camera and would recomend it to anyone wanting to enter the world of FX Cameras. January 11, 2013
Great deal! Excellent FX camera This camera feels great in my hands. I have started using features like multiple exposures and time lapse photography. The pictures look great. I was able to get the "kit" version which included the AF-S 24-85mm VR lens for free. This has always been my favorite lens. So it was a great bargin. I have had NO problems with dirt/oil on the sensors. Great camera! January 10, 2013
Great move-up from D90 My D90 was getting near its "use-by" date and I knew I wanted an upgrade. The D600 is just that. I bought with the 28-300 and got an SB700 to complete the package. I've been using this camera since the end of October, have more than 5000 clicks with no dust problems at all. Low light is amazing, it's wonderful with my older 35-70 f2.8 push/pull and my 180 f.28 prime lenses as well as the 28-300. It's definitely heavier than my older cameras but the balance with the 28-300 is just right. I shoot lots of motorsports, including drag racing and have zero dust problems. I customarily change lenses with care so that's not a problem at this time. I will have it professionally cleaned at least every other race, as I have with the D90 and with the D300S I had for a bit. While I might have liked a D800, at less than 5' tall and about 100 lbs, the D600 is sized right for me and does everything I need. It's not just the camera that makes the photo, it's the artistry involved, but the right equipment sure helps. January 9, 2013
Best all-around Full Frame DSLR for the money. This is currently the best all-around full frame DSLR form either Nikon or Canon. Excellent fast performance and high ISO capabilities. Feels great in hands with its ergonomic design. Have used this camera in varying paid assignments from portraits to indoor sporting events, and will continue to do so. Highly recommend this to others looking to move to FX DSLRs. Dust on sensor has not been an issue. Cleaning and keeping a DSLR sensor clean is par for the course. Eventually they all need to be cleaned on a regular basis. Full frame sensors have a larger surface area so naturally they will gather more dust than the DX cameras. Plus all lenses suck in dust - the zoom or focus mechanisms do not move in a vacuum. The air has to go somewhere, and all air have dust particles. January 9, 2013
Great photos My best camera ever. I have used almost all Nikon's since Nikon F, up to D700, as well as H3DII, M8, SLR/n, S5 Pro, 5DII, etc. The D600 is perfect for me. Best AF yet, excellent colors, fine viewfinder, good battery life, all combined in a small body (not so light as it seems though.). BTW, I can't get any oil on my sensor, despite my serious efforts. It seems that Nikon has done something about that. January 6, 2013
Great D7000 Upgrade I came from a D7000, the D600 is my first full frame body. With my D7000 experience the D600 was easy to use right out of the box, except for the reversed zoom in/out buttons. It's also nice that the both these cameras use the same batteries. It's so much easier to get good images in difficult scenarios with the D600, and the D600 captures so much fine detail. The camera really shines with speedlights and off camera flash, the colors, exposure, and dynamic range are great. As for the dust issue, the only dust I've had after 3000 shots has been easily removed with an air blower and the in camera cleaning function. Here's the rest of my observations: Pros: -Low ISO of 50 is helpful for getting long shutter speeds in long exposures -the ISO performance is striking and clean through 4000 -coming from a DX camera, the viewfinder is huge and shows more information -the locking mode dial is convenient -the U1 and U2 setting banks are great -the ergonomics are great, it's easy to hold and use the controls -the auto white balance is usually dead on -there are several more options that you can assign to the function and preview buttons -the automatic LCD brightness is helpful -the center bunch of AF points work very well in low light Cons: -playback and menus often lag, displaying a small yellow hourglass for a few seconds -the multi selector on the back is small and mushy -the dedicated in camera editing button isn't useful to me (but as a dedicated picture control button it is) -the location of the record button is strange -the rubber portion of the grip is harder and seems thinner than it is on the D7000 -the command dials seem hard and small, they're a bit uncomfortable on occasion -Sometimes images on the LCD seem greener than on prints and computer screens -the battery life is several hundred shots less than that of my D7000 -Autofocus: the 39 points are rather tightly gathered in the center of the viewfinder, but this isn't as big of a hinderance as I had imagined. January 5, 2013
Great FX Body I've had my D600 for two weeks and have taken close to 2000 shots. I was well aware of the dust stories when I purchased the camera so I have been regularly checking for dust by taking some shots of a white background at f22. I have encountered a few dust spots, but they have been easily removed using a blower. I absolutely love the photos I'm getting. December 30, 2012
Amazing camera! Right out of the box I was very impressed with the image quality! I absoloutely love this camera. In this review I would like to address the most common complaint, dust / oil spots. I would like to say that all DSLR's suffer with dust on the sensor, it's a given. I have 4 DSLR's and this one is no different. Upon opening the box, I charged the battery and put on the 24-85mm lens. The first pictue I took was of a white peice of paper (out of focus) and at f/22. I went into lightroom and viewed the entire image at 100%. I found 3 dust spots. I used my rocket blower, and was able to remove all but 1 of the spots. After 800 pictures and several lens changes I did another test and found numerous dust spots. I got out my gitzo rocket blower and really went at it for about a minute. This time I was able to get rid of all the spots! I still have 3 spots on my D7000 that I can't get rid of. Will have to take it in to have it professionally cleaned. I have not experienced any oil spots with the D600. I am wondering if some people mistake a stubburn dust spot for what they think is oil. Anyway, thankfully my D600 has no oil spot issues! I highly recommend this quality camera! December 24, 2012
Test Shots I just purchased the D-600 with the 28-300 mm f 3.5-5.6 lens. The first sample pictures were very sharp for the most part. I did crop some of the pictures because the subject's distance was too far away to view complete detail. The results were excellent. Some simple post processing was done, however, not much. December 24, 2012
Great FX This is my 3rd Nikon body. The D7000 was great but this one is just awesome. Perfect for night photography with excellent shots. The D600 is a combination of the mighty D700 and D7000. Regardless of the issues this is the best entry level FX body. December 20, 2012
Excellent Beginners full frame Great camera with great features, if you are looking to get into the world of full frame photography but don't want to spend upwards of 3k this is a great option. I have been using it for a month now, the only two faults i have found are, autofocusing in low light can be slow and dim witted, and some settings with video recording cannot be changed in live view. Most people out there are not looking for a SLR for its video capability. Its a great well rounded camera, if you want a SLR and you need full frame go for the Nikon D600. December 13, 2012
AWESOME! Worth IT! I love this camera!! I upgraded from the D5000 which is an amazing learning camera! But I felt i had outgrown the D5000 and wanted to upgrade, I had planned for the D800, but it was ALOT more expensive and i didnt need 36MP. The first time I shot a sunset picture, it was exhilarating! The 24-85mm kit lens is pretty amazing as well, even for a kit lens. The focusing is really fast and low light ISO noise is practically non-existent up until 6400! I love the time-lapse feature! It saves me so much post editing work. And the videos come out really amazing! All in all, this is definitely the camera for someone who's outgrown the DX-format! Just a great Camera! December 8, 2012
Nikon D600 FX This is a great camera for its size, and it has a lot of muscle. I like its full frame, CMOS, dual SD cards and 24.3 mp. also like that it works with both DX and FX lenses, so its not a lot of money being spent. I have already put a lot of time already and it has been great so far. I like to thank Nikon for putting a Full Frame at this price that can be reach. Now a shout out to Paul's Photo thats a great store, very friendly and smart about this product. Once again thanks Nikon for the D600 it a lot of fun. I call it my DFX. December 3, 2012
Wonderful tool for stills and 1080 p video with audio monitoring in-camera I've previously raved about the D3s and D7000, both of which I sold to obtain this camera and other AV gear- specifically to gain several features important to my work. These included 1080p with onboard audio monitoring via headphones, very useful for field video, and a small modular FX body to match my array of mostly FX lenses. This was important to enable me to take full advantage of the super wide-angle 14-24 f/2.8 and 16 f/2.8 fisheye lenses. Bonuses : in-camera HDR and timelapse, which I've already integrated into my workflow as well as tethered stills and video from Camera Control Pro2. Dual SD slots are very helpful in orgamnizing video and still images, as well as RAW/JPEG. I'm very happy with the image quality. Summary: Do I miss 11 FPS from the D3s? Whenever I shoot sports, yes. Do I miss the D7000? Not really. Overall, the D600 allows me to execute most of the stills and video projects which I encounter at a very reasonable price. I anticipate that Adobe will someday soon also allow tethering in Lightroom 4???? December 2, 2012
Outstanding no oil no nothing excellent camera did not miss a single penny . November 30, 2012
Awesome Full Frame Ingenuity in a Smaller Package A great full frame camera with superior resolution and noise control to the D700 and the D7000. It is a great start for more affordable full frame cameras. It feels like it is a part of my hand when shooting because of its lightweight but durable feel. I could care less about the shutter speed or the sync speed or the ISO capabilities in this camera. It does what I need it to and more. Awesome camera. November 14, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
<<prev | next>>
126 Questions | 180 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
126 Questions | 180 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D600
 
11 Answers

Is the D600 considered a pro body?

Sep 14, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+7points
16out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful9
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
11 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just for clarification the D600 is considered a Pro Body for NPS membership.
Jun 28, 2013 by
by
NikonStaff
Melville, NY

+12points
15out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful3
Answer: 
The D600 is definitely a pro camera. In fact, I've used DX format cameras for some of my pro work (portraits, products and events). It really boils down to the photographer: if you can take pictures people will pay for, then the camera is secondary (in most cases). In today's market, so many people merely share their pictures via Facebook, email, etc., but rarely do customers buy the 3'x2' framed art to hang above their fireplace. Having a full-frame camera is necessary to get that kind of quality, and the D600 is superior in that regard. Also, I should mention that by "pro", I'm not referring to Nat Geo or Time-Life photographers; instead, I'm thinking of most gigs, i.e. weddings, events, portraits, etc. In short, being "pro" for a camera (or photog) is a subjective term, but IMHO, I feel the D600 is a pro camera. Lastly, to really up your game if using the D600, go for one of the prime lenses. I use the Nikon 85mm f1.8 prime, which does an amazing job with my D600...customers rave about the quality, even on enlargements I've had made at 36"x24" (good glass is a big variable in this equation).
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, ca
Location : 
Newbury Park, ca
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
7out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful9
Answer: 
This is a perplexing question.

For the purpose of qualifying for the benefits of Nikon Professional Services, as others have already made clear, the answer is no.

For every other purpose, the questions have to be asked: Considered by whom, and what are their criteria?

Some photographers have paid their rent shooting with disposable cameras. Are those cardboard cameras, then, "pro" bodies?
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Location : 
Moritani Onishicho Miyawaki, Imabari, Ehime Prefecture, Japan
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

-52points
2out of 56found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful54
Answer: 
If your camera has a pop-up flash, it is not a professional body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-10points
10out of 30found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful20
Answer: 
According to Nikon Professional Services:

The D800 is a pro body.
The D600 is not a pro body.
Sep 30, 2012 by
by
Jake
Role: Professional photographer

+27points
30out of 33found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful30unhelpful3
Answer: 
In my opinion, this question is equivalent to people buying "pro" quality golf clubs. It's not the clubs that make you a pro, or in this case, not the camera body. The tool isn't what makes someone a pro or not; it's the person using the tool. If your type of work, and ultimately what you get paid for (which is what makes you a "professional" versus a hobbyist), doesn't dictate that you spend $5,000 for a particular piece of equipment, then why spend the money? If a D600, or whatever other camera body does the job you need it to and you get paid, then you are still a "pro" despite the level of camera you use.

I've shot plenty of commercial projects that have been published in various magazines, including GQ and Sports Illustrated, using nothing more than a D300.
Sep 27, 2012 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
Annapolis, MD, USA
Location : 
Annapolis, MD, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+13points
16out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful3
Answer: 
People are too caught up these days thinking they need all the bells and whistles on a camera for it to be a pro camera. A true pro can make great images from just using the manual settings. In short, yes this is a pro camera.
Sep 22, 2012 by
by
Ray from L.A.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
9out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful11
Answer: 
just to know D600 is a semi-pro body, pro cameras cost above 4000$, pro bodies - Nikon D4, Canon 1Dx, Nikon D3x, Canon 1Dc and medium format cameras like Phase One 645 and Pentax 645

while D800, D600, D700, D300s are semi-pro cameras !
Sep 17, 2012 by
by
EagleS
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer

-15points
2out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful17
Answer: 
This body of D600 is much lower in terms of construction of a D300s, is very similar to a D7000. Will be a D7000 considered someday a pro-camera? I do not believe. The D600 also will not, it only have a fullframe sensor
Sep 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+16points
19out of 22found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful3
Answer: 
Couple this new camera body with the best Nikon glass and you will wind up with what I call a "smart pro's system". That is, putting your money in an adequate body and great glass saves money, provides reasonable street cred, and of course, if you have the eye, and luck, will allow fantastic captures. Short answer; in my estimation the D600 will soon be accepted as a "pro body".
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
12out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful3
Answer: 
In the least, an excellent back-up camera for a working pro and a DREAM camera for the intermediate to advanced prosumer. This camera will NOT depreciate in value for many many months.
Sep 14, 2012 by
by
CaptDave2013
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

If D600 low light going to be as good as D800?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The D600 V D800 -----simple answer. A camera with more functionality is going to offer greater capibility, If you need low light-- go for the best camera --D800. Costs more but this inst really a situation where the two are comprable. D800 is pro hardware-6 is prosumer.
Jun 5, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
I've shot at 2500 ISO on my D600 indoors with very good quality and extremely low noise. I tend to use fast glass (f2) and in those cases, even in dim light indoors, can shoot at about 1600 ISO with a shutter speed around 1/125, which has given some very good results.
Nov 18, 2012 by
by
Nathan
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Location : 
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
You're kind of asking for an apples to oranges comparison, but perhaps this will help.

Before I even bought my D600, I downloaded RAW files from various Web resources to make comparisons with the D800, especially with regard to noise performance at high ISO. I was able to make comparisons because Capture NX2 had early support for the D600.

Even a cursory examination shows the D600 to have superior high-ISO performance. This is as expected because the D600 and D800 represent about the same generation of imaging sensor technology -- i.e., the latest -- in which case the imager with the larger pixel site pitch should have the noise performance advantage, all other things being equal.

Now, you'd think that by the same token the D700 should outperform the D600. This is not as obvious, and I can only guess that this is attributable to the D700 sensor being an already somewhat dated design. Yeah... this is a fast-moving industry.

Don't get me wrong. The RAW files reveal that the D800 has excellent high-ISO/noise performance -- something that's all the more remarkable given it's high sensor resolution. It's just that the D600 is even better in this particular regard.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Jämaja, Estonia
Location : 
Jämaja, Estonia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month

-15points
1out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful16
Answer: 
Low light performance will depend t on ISO and camera settings, shoot crystal clear images from ISO 100 to 6400, and selection of the lens.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
4 Answers

Can the DX format be used with FX lenses for 1.5 X magnification (crop sensor, if you will).

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Semi-Pro
Midwest
Location : 
Midwest
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe both of the previous answers are incorrect regarding crop factor. A DX sensor is smaller than an FX sensor. Using a DX lens on an FX camera does not magnify the image - quite the opposite. The FX sensor will see a larger portion of the image (including vignetting at the edges) unless you use the "DX crop mode" of the D600 to limit the sensor area to the same size as DX. Then, it's the same as a DX camera.

The 1.5x crop factor happens only when you put an FX lens on a DX camera. For example, a 200mm FX lens would be the equivalent of 300mm lens on a DX camera. For years, I shot with a 50mm 1.8D on my Nikon D50 #DX camera# because it gave me a bright telephoto image equivalent of 75mm.

I currently use a 35mm DX lens with my FX camera because I like the vignetting effect as a creative tool. It's the equivalent of a 20mm lens with the D600.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Dec 4, 2013 by
by
srenkin
Atlanta, GA, USA
Location : 
Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Correction, YES you can use DX format with FX lenses. There is a button just below to the right of the lens, press it in and the back command wheel to change from FX to DX. You will only be using 10 MP but you will benefit because you will be using the sweet spot of the lens and because of the size of the pixels you should get reduced noise and better dynamic range. Not to mention 300mm essentially becomes 450mm.... one more thing, the auto focus zone is perfect for DX (entire frame) while kind of small for FX. There are definite advantages in doing what your question asks.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Maze
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
No. Optically a Dx lens is the same as an Fx lens. The reason Dx sensors are 1.5 crop is because they are half the size of an Fx sensor. However when you are done cropping out the vignette you will be in essence at 1.5 magnification, so yes i suppose depending on your point of view.
Sep 20, 2012 by
by
Michael
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Do I need to set the aperture value before going into Live View mode when using G lenses?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
 on D600
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I guess I'd like to know if I can change the aperture while shooting video without having to use an AI, AI-S or AF-D lens. Thanks!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
Answer: 
I agree, this is COMPLETELY unacceptable. If it had this one simple feature, it would be on order right now. A Canon t2i can do this. That's a cheap 4 year old camera. What gives? I really hope this is fixed in a firmware update. I simply cannot believe this thing has clean HDMI out and doesn't have the ability to change the aperture while recording.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Kyle
Gainesville, FL
Location : 
Gainesville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Unfortunately this can only be done at 800. This is the must crazy thing of nikon. Why do they spend so much money building a camera which can record excellent video and they deny the ability of working as it's simply logical.Canon is doing it , at the chipest models!!! An update is absolutely necessary!!!
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
5out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful8
Answer: 
You have to adjust the settings before you start recording a video.
Sep 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
3 Answers

Will my AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens work with the D600?

Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can force any DX lens to shoot full-frame images on the D600. Just turn off Auto DX Crop in the menu and select FX for image area.

You will have severe vignetting, of course, but the amount depends on the lens, aperture, and zoom settings. For example, with my 18-200 set at 200, the full-frame image had very manageable (i.e., easily correctable) vignetting.

In any case, allowing full-frame capture with DX lenses puts YOU in control of the crop. Unless you're strapped for memory card space or are forced to work with a slow computer, I see no reason to use Auto DX Crop.
Oct 11, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Location : 
Hao Airport (HOI), French Polynesia
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes but you will be shooting in 10.5MP DX crop mode.
Sep 19, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

What software do I use to open the RAW (NEF) files from the D600?

Nov 4, 2012 by
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
 on D600
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I have not been able to open the NEF files from my D600 (just purchased) with the supplied ViewNX 2 software included with my D600. I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Nikon Jack
Union, ME, USA
Location : 
Union, ME, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Downloads can be found here,
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/61
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
" I also can't open the NEF files with my version of Capture NX 2 nor have I been able to find an update it to do so."

To download the latest update to Capture NX2, go to the top of this page; mouse over Service & Support; click on Download Center.
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Location : 
Koyukuk Airport (KYU), Koyukuk, AK 99754, USA
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you have both the latest versions installed, 2.3.5 for Capture NX2 and 2.6.0 for View NX2
Nov 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
3 Answers

SD Card "error message", does anyone know the cause?

Oct 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I was taking some test pictures with my new D600 and all of the sudden I noticed that when I press the shutter release button, the camera is not focusing or releasing the sutter. While trying to figure out what the issue was, I noticed the "card error" message flashing in the screen on top of the camera. After some investigation, I realized that the #2 SD card which I'd set up as overflow back up is causing the issue [In other words card #2 was not even in use when the issue occured]. Removed card #2 and the camera started working again. At this point I had taken about 150 pictures with my camera. Since then I've been unable to read the card that was removed from slot #2 [8GB calss 10 Kensington] on any PC. I'd have this SD card for several months and used it with my other camera's with no issues. I had formatted both cards after inserting them in the camera before shooting pictures. I do understand that memory cards regardless of type or brand could go bad but I am wondering, if anyone knows what could cause this issue?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
same thing happened to me and the card was brand new hi quality and the number 2 slot was the issue in the same way described above.
Feb 17, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The mentioned Kensigton SDHC is an approved card for this camera.
Oct 7, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sounds like a bad card, try using a approved card: http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d600/spec.htm
Instead of using a low cost card.
Oct 6, 2012 by
by
JoeR
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Does it still multiple exposure feature

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
 on D600
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Peggy
Belleville, NJ, USA
Location : 
Belleville, NJ, USA
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
If it allows you to bracket 3 exposure than you should be able to do HDR with a 7 stop range.
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
Maze
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It looks like it only allows 3 bracketed exposures. Too bad for HDR users.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D600
 
2 Answers

D600 Commander?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Sam
Germany
 on D600
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I cannot imagine that it doesn't support flash commander mode but it is isn't called out specifically in the specs page as it is on other bodies.
Does it?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Sam
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I notice the D600 brochure states this: Nikon Creative Advanced Wireless Lighting supported with built-in flash, SB-910, SB-900, SB-800 or
Lighting System (CLS) SB-700 as a master flash and SB-600 or SB-R200 as remotes, or SU-800 as commander;
built-in flash can serve as master flash in commander mode; auto FP high-speed sync and
modeling illumination supported with all CLS-compatible flash units except SB-400; Flash
Color Information Communication and FV lock supported with all CLS-compatible flash units
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
MichaelT
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Location : 
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the camera supports CLS and can be used in Commander mode.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff2
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D600
 
2 Answers

Can I assign the AE-L / AF-L button to be AF-ON?

Sep 13, 2012 by
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
 on D600
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 7 months ago
by
BOSSMAN1969
West Chester, PA, USA
Location : 
West Chester, PA, USA
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am a D600 owner, and I wouldn't lie to you. The answer to your question is yes.

Moreover, the AE-L/AF-L button can be assigned different functions for still and movie modes.

The manual is now available for download. That will explain all of the assignable choices. With respect to menu functions, I have found no errors or inaccuracies in the manual so far.
Sep 29, 2012 by
by
FDrebin
Iceland
Location : 
Iceland
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are several personal reviews of the D600 online from photographers stating they have been able to assign the AE-L/AF-L button to become the AF-ON button. In my opinion, this AF-ON button capability will be a heavily-weighted determining factor for most pros considering this camera as part of their working equipment list.

NIKON - PLEASE answer this question definitively!
Sep 25, 2012 by
by
MLM
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers