Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
D5100 4.6 5 737 737
Afternoon delight! Excellent LCD display! Hello, I was torn between the D3100, D5100 and the D7000. I went with the D5100 and I am very happy with it. Sure everyone says the D7000 has a few more features for those wedding photographers out there but I am strictly hunting and gathering great shots and images. Do I manipulate photos in Photoshop sure, Lightroom why not? What Lens am I shooting with? AF-S DX NIKKOR 35MM F/1.8G "AWESOME RESULTS FOR CLOSE UPS AND PORTRAITS!" & AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300MM F/4.5-5.6G ED VR "TO ZOOM IN THE PITCHER ON TOP OF THE HILL AT DA CUBS OR WHITE SOX GAMES AND DA BEARS FOR DA FOOTBALL GAMES YA KNOW!" Thought I would hate the new flippy LCD in the back compared to the old buttons but I got used to it within 5 minutes. Is it necessary? No, but me likey the bright colors on da display! This is Nick Daddy and I approve this message. May 20, 2011
Excellent Camera Very Easy to use and produces stunning photographs. From the novice to the professional, the features meet everyone's needs. May 19, 2011
LOVE IT! My first Nikon and I am sold! Great solid feel of camera body. Shots beautiful color. Easy and fun to use. As a budding Professional Photographer, this is a camera that will definately grow with me. May 18, 2011
The videos continuous focus helps us a lot in work i can consider its functions as one of the greatest help i got from the gears that i am using during Concept Photoshoots and Event Documentation Jobs. Not to mention the light weight.. =) May 18, 2011
i am very happy with the results.. amazing clarity and colors....fallen in love with this camera. May 18, 2011
Fantasic Camera! I would recommend this camera to anyone, especially beginners in photography. I'm in LOVE. May 17, 2011
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my new D5100!!!! I am new to photography and have only had my new Nikon D5100 for a couple of weeks. I'm loving it. It is an awesome camera and suprisingly easy to use. Of course, it can do so much more than what I have used it for so far. I am looking forward to learning all about it! May 17, 2011
Outstanding-Perhaps Nikons best Camera in years The Nikon D5100 is an incredible camera. While it's not a pro model it can easily do much of what some of the top of the line Nikon DSLRs do at a much lower price. I own several Nikon DSLRs and I'd say this is better than most of my top more expensive cameras. All of the features are flawless and really takes the world of photography to a whole new level. This model while often compared to the D7000 really performs. You can't go wrong with this model it is really top notch. May 16, 2011
Couldn't be happier with my purchase. This camera is awesome, I couldn't be happier. I have friends that believe Canon has better colors, not anymore, we compared and the colors on this camera are excellent. It is so fun to use and very easy. I have a compact printer and I love the fact that I can use the in-camera editing and just print my pics and give the pics to my elderly family members and I don't have to worry about getting to a computer to crop in photoshop. If you are looking for a camera that is easy to use, has excellent image quality, and is built well, this is the camera for you. May 15, 2011
Amazing DSLR This is my first DSLR camera and it is amazing! It has tons of features and is really easy to use! Pictures look great using the auto mode, and the stock lens that comes with the camera is a great one to start out with. If you are a more advanced photographer, this camera has plenty of features you can play with. The 16.1mp are great and allow for easy editing! The swing out LCD screen is amazing! It allows for great self shots, fun angles, and if your not using it it can be turned around and shut to protect it from any damage! Only thing that is at all a down side is that in effects mode the camera slows down just a little if you are looking at the LCD screen...but the pics you get from the effects look great! Over all this is an amazing camera and well worth the price! May 13, 2011
Most user friendly camera I've ever owned this camera can be used by amature - pro it has the easiest user interface by nikon yet its as simple as a point and shoot on auto and as customizable as you would want a camera to be AND THEN 1080p HD video in an amazing and crisp mov format .... I think I found my new favorite camera !! May 12, 2011
This product is AMAZING! It practically does all the work for you, being an experienced photographer, I don't need that, but for those who aren't experienced, but what that professional shot... THIS IS IT! I love my nikons, and this is my new favorite! May 11, 2011
Awesome right out of the box. I have only had this camera for not quit a week but I have played with it so much that I already charged the battery again. That's not a bad thing,it's just that I never put the camera down and I'm constantly reviewing and zooming in to look at the pixels and turning it off and on trying new things. Plus I've taken a bunch of photos, my kids are ready to kill me! This camera is so much more than I even imagined; and I had high expectations. The images are sooooo clear. I have zoomed in on replay to the iris of the eye on a standard photo and it is crisp, clear and the color is beyond belief. Right out of the box, even if you have never taken a photo before, you will be up and running in no time using the auto settings. Then you start to explore and let your imagination run wild, just because it can, and you wont be sad you did. I would consider myself a photo hobbyist who 30 years ago used a 35mm refractive camera and I have thousands of slides boxed in my closet. From there I went to digital point and shoots which I was very pleased with but I always wanted a DSLR, but was a little hesitant in spending the money and not being able to use it to its full potential. I can say that will not be a problem with this camera. I can grow as a photographer further than I ever expected to go. My photography is alive again! And its so good! I just have to have the eye and the camera does the rest. I have not tried all the settings and special effects yet. What I have tried just amazes me. I recommend getting it and playing till you can't play no more. You will fall in love. You won't put it down. If you have children, this is the camera for you. You will take professional looking shots from the get go. The memories you will have will be priceless. Senior photos, take them yourself! That alone will pay for the camera. Landscapes will fill your walls, portraits will amaze you. Special effects and night scapes, astonishing. Sports... never miss a shot during the game. If you are tossing around the "do I buy or not to buy", I can tell you, stop reading this and go to the store or order on line NOW. Even if this is your first camera, go for it. You won't be disappointed. May 10, 2011
this camera has cool look and features D5100 has 16.2 pixels more than any SLR cam in this price , which can take prof. pics even if u are not prof. May 10, 2011
Top rate new camera The Nikon 5100 is so chock full of new features that it will take quite some time to investigate them all. I was amazed at the light weight of the body which makes it a pleasure to use for long durations. The LCD screen produces one of the cripsest displays I have seen. The ease of downloading to a computer is a dream. The photos are so well defined and the colors so true that almost no photo-editing is needed. May 10, 2011
No complaints at all! After weeks of nonstop comparing and research, I chose to go with this Nikon d5100. It was going to be my first DSLR (I usually just borrowed or used video cameras or film SLRs). The amount of customization is amazing. The instruction manual is nice and not confusing. I got the kit with the 18-55mm VR zoom, and also bought a 50mm f/1.4. The d5100 is beyond amazing with the 50mm, and you will probably stop using the kit lens, but keep it anyway because its pretty good in case you need to get in a little more when you are outside and don't require a fast lens. The screen will become your best friend. I wish it would have come with a screen protector though (wink wink Nikon!). The GUI is pretty easy to learn and the grip feels very nice. The body itself has a nice satin-like look to it and feels good in my hands. Auto focus during movie recording is nice, but acts up a little sometimes. The articulating screen helps so much to get good angles. Battery life isn't bad and charges up fairly quick. If you get this, you WILL NOT be dissapointed. May 9, 2011
Compact, light and powerful Quick auto focus and great viewer. Easy to use for the novice to professional. Great features, I've been away from SLR cameras for some time and wanted to get back into creative photography without a huge expense, I did my research and waited for a chance to buy one. NO regrets May 9, 2011
Great Camera, in every aspect! It has excellent photo quality, and takes photos at fast speeds. It's HD video, is one of the best qualities. May 8, 2011
I'm in love! Absolutely love this camera. It's my first DSLR. I got it 24 hours ago and have already taken probably 1000 pictures of everything and everyone I've seen since. Definitely worth it and the lens that comes with the kit is pretty solid for a beginner. May 4, 2011
Excellent little camera I purchased this camera today for my wife. She complains that the D7000 with the battery grip is too heavy for her. and also I have my 70-200 f2.8 mounted all the time. It's light and small. maybe too small for my hands. there's not much space for my little finger when I'm holding the camera. The image quality is excellent, the same as my D7000, I'm not surprise since the d5100 and d7000 share the same sensor. The effects is a nice addition for beginners who want to be creative in shooting photos. didn't buy this camera for the video (1080@30fps). but it's nice to know you have the capability when the need arise. May 4, 2011
This is a very good DSLR camera. It is very cheap and also good for normal photographers. It has got the latest features of a Very good DSLR cameras May 3, 2011
Awesome If your a beginner with DSLR's I would go with this camera This DSLR is amazing it can go head to head with with Canon t3i and beat it HD quality is superb if your a nature lover or you want to make videos The Photo quality is awesome with the cmos censor you can take beautiful pictures and video As always the microphone quality on all dslrs is bad but its pretty good on the Nikon but I still recommend the external mic Nikon made this camera awesome with great features I would recommend this for a friend or family member its a great gift too Overall THIS CAMERA IS THE BEST May 1, 2011
It's Excellent It's Beautiful, professional, Excellent. It has high quality, new Nikon style, new effects and ... May 1, 2011
Power in hands This camera has awesome features with full of features, its been 1 year I've been using this.. Still lot more to explore about the features.. May 1, 2011
when I got this I was stunned the quality of pictures was amazing even withe basic lens it came with. This DSLR is the best for its price. April 27, 2011
Fantastic features and benefits on this camera!!!! I started taking photo's right out of the box with the kit lens and have not been disappointed! With 16 mega-pixels every photo has been clear, crisp, and precise!! I have not had to touch up any of my photo's at all. I switched to my standard lens that I use, Nikkor 18-135 and 70-300. The images are just stunning!!! I love the "Affects" mode! I have come up with some very creative photo's there too! Definitely an awesome DSLR!!!!!!!!! April 26, 2011
The Best Great product ! A camera which everyone can use, and it feels like being a professional while taking pictures with this beauty. New added functions are really great, and a very strong camera. Buy it, and play with it and make your life more enjoyfull. 10 Stars ! April 26, 2011
Great Pics Low Price I was shooting with a Canon 5D Mark II and had to struggle to get good Pictures The Video was great but just never was satisfied with the feel of the Canon, I was reading about the Nikon D5100 and liked what was offered, I bought one as soon as they arrived, I started shooting with it as soon as the battery was charged, I got great results and it was fun to use, Nice extras and quick response, its smaller than the so called semi pro and Pro models and is 16+ Mega Pixels The 5D was 23+ I think the Pictures from the Nikon look better and I did not have to struggle to get the shots I wanted. The the Lens that comes with it a Nikor 18-55 1:3.5 is not a very good Lens a better lens is a must. This is like a D7000 with out the Price plus you get Auto focus in Video mode that the D7000 does not offer, being in the Broadcast industry I was impressed with the Video shot in HD, I know some reviews complain about the Auto focus but when used in the right situation it fine. April 25, 2011
great dslr camera what a nice camera. stunned with its image and video quality. features are great especially its vari- angle lcd. i will recommend this camera for all dslr lovers. April 25, 2011
Phenomenal The new D5100 has everything you could possibly ever find in an SLR camera, the picture quality is incredible, and the movies are astonishing. Very much recommended. April 24, 2011
Page: 16 17 18 19 20 ... 26
<<prev | next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers