Loading

Inspired performance in a size that keeps you shooting.

Shot of the Nikon D7000's rear body with a photo of a girl in a purple dress jumping over boulders while carrying a pink umbrella, and a guy following her, under a blue sky
Amazing photography isn’t only about what you shoot and how you shoot it, it’s also about what you shoot it with. The high resolution, multi-featured Nikon D7000 gives you 16.2 megapixels of vividly detailed images, a more sensitive DX-format CMOS sensor that delivers high ISO with low noise, plus various automatic and customizable settings to take your pictures and videos from great to gorgeous. Shoot up to 6 fps or record every second of the action with full HD 1080p D-Movies with Nikon’s advanced autofocus system to impress and inspire.
Nikon D7000 photo of a girl on a pool float, in a pool, shot from above, and an inset image of the CMOS sensor

Stunning image details

16.2-megapixel CMOS sensor

Whether you want to make large prints or crop tightly in an image, the D7000 delivers the resolution you need. At its heart is a DX-format CMOS image sensor with 16.2 effective megapixels, optimally engineered to gather more quality light through sharp NIKKOR lenses. Coupled with 14-bit A/D conversion (12-bit selectable), the D7000 produces stunning images that are richer in tone and detail than previously possible in DX format.
Photo of the rear of the Nikon D7000 with an image of wildlife on the LCD

A new era of movie capture

Breathtaking Full HD 1080p D-Movies

The D7000 is equipped to help you create impressive cinematic masterpieces with Full HD 1080p and movie editing functions for exceptional scene reproduction and quality. In addition to smooth video, the camera can compensate for distortion and other image-degrading problems. Aside from a built-in monaural microphone, the D7000 incorporates an external mic jack for high-quality stereo sound recording options.
Nikon D7000 photo of a woman in a purple dress walking out of frame, with a guy following her, shot in the desert and inset with a grouping sequence of a guy on a motorcycle on a dirt road

Remarkably responsive

6 frames per second continuous shooting

Say farewell to missed opportunities. The D7000 incorporates a new driving mechanism to conduct its remarkably fast and precise mirror movements, giving you an approx. 0.052 second release time lag and an approx. 0.13 second start-up time. What’s more, you can continuously shoot at approx. 6 frames per second at both 14-bit and 12-bit A/D conversion for RAW shooting.
Nikon D7000 photo of a person jumping between large boulders with a group of people watching from the distance with inset example of the camera's ISO range

Crisp photos in any light

Wide sensitivity range of ISO 100 to 6400

ISO 100 to 6400 has now become standard with the D7000, enabling you to handle a wider range of lighting situations: from the bright and sunny outdoors to low-lit evenings and interiors. Nikon’s renowned noise reduction technology has been upgraded even further. Throughout the range, the D7000 delivers sharp images with minimized color noise. Quality, high-ISO performance can also enhance your movie shooting, allowing you to capture the mood of a scene using only available light.
Nikon D7000 photo of a lake shot in low light with an inset shot of the metering sensor

More accurate control

Ground-breaking 2,016-pixel RGB sensor

After the incredibly accurate 2,016-pixel RGB sensor reads a scene's lighting information, the D7000 cross-references what it sees with imaging data from a large selection of real-world shooting situations. This way, the renowned 3D Color Matrix Metering II delivers exposure results that are faithful to how you see light and shadow interplay, even in difficult lighting situations. This intelligent metering technique also delivers exceptionally accurate i-TTL flash exposures, and it all happens within milliseconds for both speed and precision.
Nikon D7000 photo of a guy on a slalom waterski, with an overlay of the camera's AF points illustrating the AF system.

Powerful, wide-area coverage

Customizable 39-point AF System

The D7000's strategically positioned 39 AF points cover a significantly wide area of the frame, giving you flexible compositional possibilities. The 9 AF points in the center utilize powerful cross-type sensors—especially useful when you need tack sharp focus, such as with portraits and macro work. The D7000 offers a variety of AF area modes, including Dynamic-area AF using 9, 21 or 39 points. Utilizing Nikon's Scene Recognition System, Auto-area AF properly judges the main subject within 39 AF points and focuses on it.
Nikon D7000 photo of four young adults on a large boulder in the mountains and inset photo of the camera's image processing engine

Improved image quality and speed

The newest generation image processing engine, EXPEED 2, is capable of performing multiple tasks with more speed and power. Expect smoother tonal gradations, even in difficult shadows and highlights, for a greater sense of depth in your images.
Photo showing the front and rear view of the Nikon D7000's magnesium alloy chassis

Rugged and protected

With a top and rear cover of durable magnesium alloy, the D7000 is ready for the outdoors. Nikon engineers paid meticulous attention to where exterior parts join by employing durable sealing against moisture and dust. The compact body has also undergone severe environmental tests to prove its rugged reliability.
Top rear of the Nikon D7000 body, shown from the rear of the body, including an illustrative image in the viewfinder

100% frame coverage

With approximately 100% frame coverage in the viewfinder, what you see is exactly what you capture. The specially coated glass pentagonal prism and precision-crafted finder screen offer not only a bright viewfinder image, but also enable you to easily confirm when a subject is in focus.
Photo of the rear of a D7000 camera body cropped tight on the LCD and surrounding buttons, with an image of a hurdle jumper on the screen

Rich image previewing

The D7000 features an expansive 3-inch VGA LCD. Its approx. 921k-dot resolution assures clear, detailed display of images, which proves invaluable when confirming focus or assessing image sharpness.

Expand the creative potential of the D7000

NIKKOR lenses & Nikon Speedlights for every situation

D7000 Body Only

Price $999.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

18-105mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Price $1,299.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false

18-200mm VR Lens Kit

D7000 Camera BodyAF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Price $1,849.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false
D7000 4.6 5 1452 1453
Out of the box, needed some fine tuning I have owned the D7000 for one year and one month. I purchased it as a backup to my D3 and to replace my D200. I have only used it for about 5 weddings, one last November and 4 weddings this last May and June. It was two weeks ago that upon a very close review of the images created by my D7000, I noticed that none of my focal points are crisp and clear. At this point, I can manually focus my lenses better than my D7000 focuses itself. Unfortunately, this cost me some very good wedding images. I will send it in for repair with a letter begging for leniency on the one year warranty and providing images that prove that the camera had never performed properly. I believe in Nikon and believe that this problem will be solved. I just hope that it is not at my expense. June 26, 2012
Great Investment! I did considerable research on digital SLR cameras in the $1,500 - $2,000 range. I decided to purchase the D7000. WOW! This is one of the best purchases I have made in several years. Images are sharp, full of color and just spectacular. This gives the very expensive Canon EOS-1Ds Mark III a run for the money. Great piece of work! June 25, 2012
nikon d7000 - great product the strap holders should be a the bottom, back of the camera body because with even a small, long lens, the camera hangs awkwardly in front of your body - if the holders were on the back it would lay comfortably - for quicker wildlife/sports photos, would really like to see a camera body that that three vertically aligned knobs for instant acess ie, shutter speed, aperature, iso so in anything but auto mode you don't have to go back to the menu screen to adjust iso - i currently use auto iso because you simply don't have time to adjust these three basic tools in most situations - would also like to see exposure compensation in increments of 0.2 up to about 2.4 rather 0.3 up to 3 .0 - might be easier to fine tune - would also suggest in the manual a clearer definition of/between center weighted average and matrix - went from the d90 to the d7000, love it - it's a great piece of equipment for the money - don't know why but when using the nikon 300,f2.8, vr2 lens the photos appear to be more crisp than the d90? - would recommend this camera for any level of user June 25, 2012
Awesome Camera Great feature packed camera for beginning amateurs expecting to grow into pro photographer. This camera can do it all for amateurs and pros. I would highly recommend to any amateur interested in taking their photography to the next level. June 24, 2012
Great camera for anyone making the leap from point and shoot The Nikon D7000 is a solidly built camera packed with features. My expectations were very high as I've heard about Nikon quality for years. I was not disappointed and highly recommend this camera for anyone considering the step up to a strong prosumer camera. June 24, 2012
Excellent functionality This is my second DSLR camera, and I must say that it is the best one that I've used thus far. The Full HD feature won me over. Resoultion quality is excellent. Navigating through the camera's functions are very user friendly, especially for a novice like myself. Loving it! June 23, 2012
Nice, compact camera, great IQ Lightweight, great image quality for a DX-based camera. The camera is very well featured at this price point and includes the majority of the features from its larger sibling, the D300s. I use this camera body for bird photography with the 500mm VRII lens, and also as a backup camera for my D800. I find only a couple of things lacking for my application (wildlife photography): 1. Autofocus is very nice for most subjects, but I find it is a bit slow to lock onto moving objects (like flying birds). 2. The mode dial doesn't have a lock, so it is fairly easy to inadvertently change the setting. June 22, 2012
Great product! Must buy! this d7000 does great work for everyday, any occasion, and every use to capture everything! Price is just perfect for a dslr like this. I take random pictures and is so please to have to memory card slots that I actually put to use! I am an amateur photographer, but yet this cam makes everything I capture look close to perfect! Nikon is the best brand and the only brand I will ever use when it comes to capturing memories! June 21, 2012
D7000 I pre-ordered the D7000 in the Fall of 2011. Loved the camera until I started seeing "dust spots" on my pics. Luckily, I purchased an extended warranty from the store. After 3 attempts to clean the sensor and have the right sensor replaced, the dust spots came back. After replacing the camera, I noticed spots on the new camera after only taking 100 pics. I researched on the Internet to find out it was probably oil spots on the sensor due to the shutter and that it cannot be cleaned. I have the opportunity to take back the camera and buy a Cannon 7D. What would Nikon due to keep me as a customer? June 21, 2012
Nice Little Package I have only shot with Canon till now (Canon 5d with all L lenses). I was in a jam and borrowed a friends d7000 for a wedding and was blown away!! Its easy to navigate well thought out design. I bought a d7000, a 24-70 f2.8 (Nikon), a 70-200 f2.8 (Nikon), and a sb-700 flash. Things I dont like about it are: It does not go into sleep mode after inactivity (yes I know about the exposure setting). Nikon wants you to buy extra software to edit your pics (Canon all software included). Other than these couple of things I have truly come to the dark side!!! (some Canon L lenses come in white or light side) :) June 21, 2012
D7000 The camera is a great purchase, it is compact, light and alot of options for the versatile photographer. June 20, 2012
My first DSLR.... This is my first DSLR, and i cannot compare it with any other camera except point and shoots. But irrespective of any comparison, the images coming out of this camera are not less that spectacular. Ergonomically very comfortable. I also like the in camera editing feature as i prefer not to edit my pictures in PS or other image processing software before i learn to take good images. Compatible with all Nikon lenses as well as third party lenses. June 19, 2012
Great versatility, beautiful pictures. This camera has got it all, 39 point auto focus, dual sd slots, I especially like the Ui. U2, modes that in reality gives you 3 user modes. Love the quick response, I am not a real video shooter but glad its there if I need it. June 19, 2012
Works as expected This camera has been reliable, and flexible enough to generate very good images in a variety of lighting situations. My only annoyance has been the I have lost several HB35 lens hoods, as they are easily knocked off the lens. That aside, this is a wonderful choice for a photographer who is not ready to accept the cost and weight of a full frame digital camera. June 18, 2012
i recently adquired the D7000 I was considering the D800 but I was recommended the D7000 and invest in better lenses. I haven't use it much since I got it few weeks ago, but I like what I have seen so far. I upgraded from a D5000 to my new D7000, I do nature photography and the colors and definitions are great. I still learning the camera but I am sure I will be super happy with my buy. June 17, 2012
Could be improved Cons: The buffer is too small when shooting RAW files and the weather sealing could be better. Blew out the shutter after 3 months, but it was under warranty and the new shutter so far as held up. In order to change the aperture with G lenses in video mode, you have to shut off live view, which is a pain. The AF isn't great in low light either. Pros: Very nice files up to ISO 800 and certainly usable files to 5,000, but noticeably grainy at 1,600. As a professional shooter, my equipment gets put through the ringer in some pretty harsh conditions, and it's held up fairly well. This is an economical alternative to Nikon's higher priced products, but there are some obvious tradeoffs. June 17, 2012
Best Camera I ever owned! I am not a professional photographer but was looking to take my hobby to the next level and study to become a pro. I have had many compact Prosumer cameras such as the Canon G10, G11 and so on but after researching the D7000 online and watching many hours of YouTube videos about different cameras I settled on the Nikon D7000 as the professional camera to start my new era. I bought the D7000 with the Lens kit (18-105mm VR) and after some instructional review and trial and error I was able to get a few shots around my house that were far better than my G10. One of the big advantages I saw right away was the depth of field, this was non-existant on my compact cameras and right away told me I was shooting with the pro's. The controls can be a bit overwhelming at first but if you take a section at a time you can learn quickly, also try searching YouTube for instructional videos because there are many good ones. The Auto controls worked quite well but don't get dependent on them if you want to shoot like a pro. June 17, 2012
Wow! This isn't my D70s! The fourth (3rd?) update of the great D70 is simply amazing! I am an experienced photographer taking nature and (running) race pictures for many years. Along with my D7000 I purchased the advanced DVD. After three days of wonderful experimentally getting to know my new camera, I went back and got the Basic DVD for the D7000. Not because I was having trouble but because I really wanted to be confident that I wasn't missing any of the wonderful features of the product. Also, knowing Nikon, I wanted to be sure that I was aware of "a better way" to obtain the same wonderful pics. I balked at the price for awhile but rest assured that you get FAR MORE than what you pay for - a Great Buy, at any price! June 16, 2012
My favorite camera to date! I have owned this D7000 for over a year now and it has been a fantastic piece of equipment. I first owned a D5000 ( also a great camera) then i upgraded to this one. the features and controls of this unit are ground breaking and you can see how other newer models like the D3200, D800, and D4 have adopted features and layouts of this camera to become standard in the line up. If you have been keeping up with Nikon over the last two years you would probably agree that this camera was a game changer for the market and will probably how it will be looked upon as a milestone for Nikon's camera lineup. the 16Megapixel sensor has really wow'ed me with its sharpness and color rendition on vivid mode. my 70-200 VR2 and TC-14EII tele converter, with the 1.5X magnification crop factor has made this a formidable set up for bird photography. I really do like this camera a lot!. I have tried the D300, D3S, and D4 in person. all of which are flagship for their division. however this camera still is my favorite. The D300 has the great full body and robustness of a full pro body, but the lack of the new RGB meter and the additional 4mp of resolution really do make that cutting edge difference in the final print up. Both the D3S and D4 are workhorse speed monsters. they really have the advantage with ISO performance and FPS. but for me they are really big and heavy and even though you get more pixel per inch versus the DX, losing the 1.5X magnification of the crop sensor is a lacking factor for my distance requirements, (and my finances). The D7000 will cover all your basic shooting needs. I also have the MB-D11 vertical grip from nikon, nice product, but overpriced for what it does. the dual card slots have saved me from time to time with taking one card out and forgetting to put it back in, but having the backup card in the other slot to take the shots I need. battery life has been very good, I can get around 700-900 shots without flash, and about 500-700 with the flash. The SB-700 flash is an excellent combo with this camera. also the SB-400 also works incredibly well. It will be neat so see how Nikon evolves this segment of the line up (pro-sumer) D70>D80>D90>D7000> D7xxx??? it will be interesting. but I think this camera will be staying with me for a while. shots below were with this camera. God Bless, and Happy Shooting!!!!! June 15, 2012
Very Pleased with the purchase! I purchased my D7000 recently and althought I still have a lot to learn, I am really impressed with the capabilities of this wonderful camera. I have found the manual very easy to use and the camera very user friendly. I intend to retire soon and am really looking forward to spending a lot of time with this camera. June 14, 2012
What A great Camera I purchased this camera in January of 2012 for the purpose of photographing my grandchildren playing sports. I have taken over 20,000 pictures and what results. After learning how to operate the camera and several soccer games the equipment is much better than the photographer. My only regret is that I will have to retire this one due to the arrival of my new D800. I really enjoyed the D7000 and would consider keeping it but the D800 is fantastic. I guess my D5100 will remain my backup June 13, 2012
D7000 What a fabulous camera. Big upgrade from my old Cool-Pix 8700. Using 18-50mm and 70-300mm lens. The ease of use is amazing and the picture quality is even more amazing. Very happy with my new purchase. June 12, 2012
D7000 Headache I Just came back from Ukraine shooting for 2 months with my D7000.. I wish I could say all was perfect with this camera but I can't. I already had it worked on while under warranty .It came back without any kind of explanation if it was fixed or not,It wasn't fixed....Shame on you Nikon... Even if it was a Nikon Authorized Repair Station I should of been told exactly what they looked at.. I asked about this the day I picked it up and the man told me that Nikon never sends back a note saying what they did or didn't do.. If that is true or not I don't know but I know they did not send anything with mine..And on top of that I still had to pay shipping costs! It's the preview button,sometimes when I press it to view it will not work,I have to change angles of the camera so it will come on..Sometimes when I press to view it will even take a photo,or the Illumination light will come on.. Matter of fact I am curious to see what surprises are waiting for me next time I go out and shoot..On the bright side I shot 17,143 photos in Ukraine covering all aspects of life there and D7000 walked like a trooper.. I have always owned a Nikon and never had any troubles.But the fact I did send it in under warranty and it came back to me still the same problems and without any kind of explanation saying that they even looked at it is what's upseting me.. And if Nikon won't fix it for me I will make sure the word gets out around the world.. And if I knew that shooting video would involve all the lens focusing noise I never would of got this. External Mic helps but the input for the plug does not make a good connection or it could be the mic itself.. And I also could talk about the inability to actually shoot 100 continuous frames.. I would get maybe 30 and I am not going to change a setting that will cause me to lose quality of the images June 12, 2012
Wonderful, sophisticated camera Overall, this is a wonderful camera, and a nice upgrade from the D5000. The image quality is stunning and I have really noticed a difference in how much more quickly it autofocuses compared to my D5000, which holds its own as far as I am concerned. I like the range of customization it offers too. It is a comfortable camera that feels good in the hand and while not simple, is surprisingly easy to use given its sophistication. Overall, I commend Nikon for doing such a good job with this camera, and making it affordable too. There are two things though that I would recommend for improvement. One is a swivel LCD, which has been mentioned many times before in numerous message boards. The second, is in-camera image stabilization. I have this on a Pentax I own, and it is wonderful. I have never heard anybody ask Pentax to remove it. All lenses on a body with image stabilization by default inherit the stabilization, meaning I can hand hold my 50mm 1.4 and other lenses like it in situations with my Pentax that I would not be able to with my Nikon (assuming a lens without stabilization). I know that in-lens stabilization is better, but the differences don't really show up until you reach telephoto range. For that you can buy it in the lens, if you want, and turn it off in the camera. It would be the best of both worlds to have that capability and option. June 12, 2012
Awesome Camera I just purchased myself a brand new Nikon D7000. Although I have only have had it for two days, I LOVE it. One of my favorite things about it is, I used to have a film Nikon before buying my digital D7000 and the old lenses and flash from the film camera work great on my D7000. It is also very easy to use. I find the only drawback is the price. Otherwise, it is totally worth it. June 11, 2012
LOVE IT- LOVE IT- LOVE IT My first DSLR was a D80, given to me by my husband as a gift about 4 yrs. ago. I knew nothing about DSLR cameras at the time AT ALL. I loved it once I figured it all out and the D7000 was a wonderful natural progression upward for me. Usually shoot in manual, aperture, or shutter priority. One of the things I love most is the scenes settings. Once I learned I could trust them I began to use them quite a lot at parties and events where things are happening and light is changing quickly. I continue to have more really good pictures than toss outs even in M, A & S settings. A GREAT INVESTMENT FOR MY MONEY. I have never used the video on it so I can not review that part of the camera but I love knowing that it is there if I want it. June 11, 2012
Most magnificent camera in my life. In my 50+ years of photography this exceeds everything. Just phenomenal technology in my hands. It does take some time to familairze myself with all the functions. I'm 5 months into ownership and still 'cracking the code', which is good since it enables capturing an image and performing in camera adjustments that used to require a PC & specific editing software ( And more learning too ). The NIkon School courses ( Intro to Digital Photography and, Color, Light, Technology ) plus the on line tutorials have been beneficial to expedite knowledge transfer. It's just so impressive to use to stimulate the visual sense. Just returned from a month long trip with a few thousand images, some so spectacular it's a delight to know I captured them. June 9, 2012
I love it!! The video is amazing, and the picture quality is phenomenal! I definitely recommend reading the user manual because you will learn to use your camera like a pro! June 6, 2012
Best DX Camera ever I love the U1 & U2 settings that you can make custom settings. Very fast focusing and metering. This camera takes wonderful night shots with long exposures. I like to use F8 or F10 at ISO 100 for about 20 to 30 seconds and get great pictures. The duel SD memory slots is a must for saving Raw and JPG files. Us slot 1 for Raw and slot 2 for JPG, just make sure that the memory card in slot 1 is larger than slot 2. One of the other items I found out was that you will need a very fast SD card if you shoot continuous for more than 8 to 10 shots. I use a 45 MB/sec card and found that it works fine. June 6, 2012
Overall Exceptional Camera I purchased this camera nearly 4 months ago and it has been a great camera. The spee of the camera is remarkable. The focus is very quick and at 6 fps. there isn't much more to ask for. My only issue is(and why i gave it four stars) that I am having a terrible focus issue all of a sudden, My camera is not producing Tack Sharp Images like I would expect from the amount of money paid for this machine. I'm hoping i can get this resolved seeing on the extended warranty i purchased through best buy. Once i get this issue fixed, the camera will be a five out of five in my opinion. June 6, 2012
Page: 7 8 9 10 11 ... 50
<<prev | next>>
296 Questions | 485 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
296 Questions | 485 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D7000
 
8 Answers

Can't open Nikon D7000 raw files in Photoshop or NX?

Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+27points
32out of 37found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful32unhelpful5
Incompatible file format. Just spent $1200 on the camera body, should be able to open the raw files. What is going on here? Is there a plug-in I can download to make this happen so I can edit the files?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Jeremy
Western Mass
Location : 
Western Mass
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
8 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you update Photoshop's Camera RAW plugin
Jul 12, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
IN PHOTOSHOP SELECT
HELP, THEN SELECT UPDATE. CLICK ON UPDATES FOR THE LATEST UPDATE FOR THE NIKON D7000. i DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH CAMERA RAW AFTER THAT
Sep 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just went through this with Nikon Support. Make sure you have the latest version of Capture NX2 to open and edit your NEF RAW images from your D7000.
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Rick
Vancouver, WA
Location : 
Vancouver, WA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I don't know what you will need to import NEF files into Photoshop. However, the software that comes with the D7000 can save the files into a different format which you can then import into Photoshop, which is what I did originally rather than trying to bring them directly into CS2. In the end I bought Corel's product for under $100 (rather than over $1000 for CS5) which allows me to edit the NEF files directly. I would imagine the question should be directed to Adobe as to how to import NEF files into Photoshop.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download ViewNX2
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Imaging-Software/NVNX2/ViewNX-2.html

You can also download the NEF codec for Windows
http://www.nikonimglib.com/nefcodec/
May 25, 2011 by
by
wilsonpix
Dallas Texas
Location : 
Dallas Texas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check to make sure you have Bridge installed with your Photoshop. Bridge is what reads the RAW file format, opens a separate window and gives you the option to continue to open in photoshop. The other thing to do is make sure you have all the updates to PS.
Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Cobra064
California
Location : 
California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Download the latest updates from Adobe and Capture and you should have no problems. The D7000 is a very late update for both.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Dodd
Provo, UT
Location : 
Provo, UT
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
6out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6
Answer: 
Make sure that you have the latest version of Nikon ViewNX 2 in order to see RAW files from your camera.

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D7000
 
6 Answers

D7000 Professional lens for product shots.

Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
 on D7000
Has staff answer
+7points
11out of 15found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful4
I will be shooting liquor & Wine bottles and glasses. I will need a very sharp image with limited Depth of field
F22.
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Ed
Norwalk CT
Location : 
Norwalk CT
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
6 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have shot similar images of wine bottles and glasses with the 105mm nikkor micro and it works very well. Any of the nikkor micro lenses should give your great control of DOF, it all depends on the angle of view you want to include, in other words how much of a background do you want in your image? If lots then, use a wider micro, if you want the least background (i.e. tight compression) then the that extreme would be best served wit the 200mm micro nikkor. The 105 is a great all around micro and you can get extreme blur/bokeh to reduce the attention to a background if you have more than you like.

If you need to get extremely creative and tricky with DOF and have a larger lens budget then consider a tilt shift models.
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
if you need a limited DOF, you'll need a slight tele. you'll also need brightness, so an f/2.8 is a must. i'd suggest looking around used 90-180mm primes with at least f/2.8. micro-nikkors are also known for their sharpness, so maybe a 90mm f/2.8 micro-nikkor, using manual focus, would be the best, IMHO.
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Don't underestimate the 18-55 f/3.5- kit lens. You could also consider a prime lens, like the 35 or 50mm f/1.8G or even wait for the new affordable macro lens that Nikon is suppose to be releasing soon, just in case you really want to get some of the details.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
AntonyA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi, Try PC-E lens. 45 & 85 PC-E is really great product shot lens you can control perspective & DOF of your images, I'm using it every day because I'm product photographer. (Camera & Lens)
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You'll probably get as many opinions as there are lenses. F22 will give you a very DEEP depth of field. You can control the depth of field yourself. Rule of Thumb: "Higher number on the Fstop equals deeper DOF". You didn't specify how close you want to be, or how the shots are going to be composed, or if you're going to be in a tightly-controlled studio setting with multiple flashes arranged around the subject, so it's a little hard to say. My go to lens is the Nikkor F2.8 17-55. It's crisp, tough, and versatile. With the F2.8 that remains constant across the zoom range, you don't have to worry about your DOF changing as you zoom in and out, like you do on other lenses. The next best lens would be a "prime" lens of 35mm or 24mm. If you're in a studio environment this can be a bit challenging for framing the shot because without the zoom you need to move the table/armature or your camera's tripod (unless you have one of those cool studio tripods that lets you move the camera in the horizontal plane) to frame the shot appropriately.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
6 Answers

Is the AF-S DX 18-200mm ED VRII zoom lens fully compatible with the D7000?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
NY
 on D7000
+16points
20out of 24found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful4
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does. This is a fantastic lens very sharp and very versatile; leave all your other lens at home.
Jul 16, 2011 by
by
CT_Ham
East Haddam, CGT
Location : 
East Haddam, CGT
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 18-200mm lens is fully compatible with the D7000
 
Products related to my answer
 
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I recently purchased the D7000 along with this lens, and I can say, not only is it compatible, it is fan-tas-tic! I love its versatility. No, it's not a 2.8, but for carrying one lens, this cannot be beat.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
SalukiJim
Saint Louis, MO
Location : 
Saint Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
All DX lenses are compatible. That does not mean that pictures will come sharp in all of them, even if the lenses are the high end ones. It's a very common issue that cameras might need to get calibrated for different specific lenses, and it's something that drive many photographers nuts because some pictures come out good and some not!
So if you are getting soft focus in some pictures don't blame yourself, blame Nikon for not explaining this issue clearly and not offering easy-to-find resources to corrected.
My opinion based on my professional experience.
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Orlando
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, I have that same camera/lens combo and it works great.
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
I bought both together and I don't see any incompatibliies. The range is fantastic - no more switching lenses (between wide and tele) in regular shooting. I wish the lens were a little faster (like 3.5 to 4.5 instead of 3.5 to 5.6) but otherwise it's great and pictures are sharp.

If you're just getting started, though, the D7000 is a bit of an overachiever. It's a great piece of equipment, but not for the faint of heart. Buy the lens but look at the D5000 (or even a comparable Canon or Sony) instead.
Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Bethesda, MD
Location : 
Bethesda, MD
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

Can I use an AF NIKKOR 80-200 2.8 D lens on the D7000

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D7000
+3points
6out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
I am not in the market for professional dslr's. Which dslr's are compatible with this lens ?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You most certainly can use the 80-200mm f/2.8 lens on the D7000
Nov 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have been using the 80-200mm f/2.8D ED with the D7000 for the past month and it works fine.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D80, D90 and a D7000 which the lens fits perfectly! I not had any problems.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonTracy
Shreveport/Bossier
Location : 
Shreveport/Bossier
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I am pretty sure!!
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
I have used that lens on my Nikon D90 so it should work on the Nikon D7000 which is the replacement model of mine. ;)
Mar 7, 2011 by
by
akoRICHARD
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

No Body Cap

Nov 5, 2011 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
 on D7000
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Just bought the D7000 as a package and there was no body cap. Doesn't it come with one? I am definitely returning this...
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Md.
Location : 
Bel Air, Md.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Folks,
I am the original person who wrote this post. Sorry that I never responded. I returned said camera and there was supposed to be a body cap. The store thinks someone returned it and kept the cap. I was very concerned that dust could have gotten into the camera which of course would be a disaster. I absolutely love my camera. I am now a member of a gallery where I have my photography on exhibit. I highly recommend this camera! NIKON ROCKS!!
Sep 18, 2012 by
by
RocksNoSalt
Bel Air, Maryland

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm only about a year too late for this question but my answer remains the same: YOU NEED A BODY CAP.
Some people will just stick a lens on the body and never take it off but if you are wanting to store your camera or load it for travel you are going to need that body cap to protect the mirror/image sensor from damage and dust. Camera companies provide caps for a reason. The people above me who are freaking out about you returning your camera over such a simple thing most likely don't care for there cameras and let dust get into the body of the camera. Dust will damage your camera.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I ironically never use my cap anyway but It is such a minor mistake that it is not worth making a fuss. Just call nikon and tell them what happened. I love my D7000
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
KyoshiB

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Really? You're returning the entire camera because of a small mistake? Yes. The bodies are supposed to come with caps. Why not just contact Nikon. I'm sure they'd be happy to send you a body cap free of charge. When my camera came from a Nikon dealer, it was missing the plug for the charger. One phone call, and a few days later the plug came in the mail. You could also visit your local camera store. Camera stores often have body caps floating around they'll just give you.
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
It does come with a body cap! Cannot imagine how you got it without that attached. I would return it too and get an exchange - don't know what might have gotten inside if the cap was not on it. Read the manual / papers that came with it to be sure all items are in the box that are supposed to be. I was stumped on a couple items, only to find they were already attached to the camera and not 'loose' in the box. I LOVE my D7000 and have been using it just over a month now. I highly recommend sticking with it if you wanted a high quality Nikon! Good luck. :)
Nov 5, 2011 by
by
L3gsd
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
5 Answers

D7000 problem.

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
WendiS
 on D7000
+20points
21out of 22found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful21unhelpful1
Does anyone know what this issue is?
Does Nikon Pay for the shipping?
Is Nikon quick and fixing the problem?
Pictures are showing up with the brightest colors in the pic over enhanced, for instants the yellows, blues and greens look like smears of magic marker and download that way too. I've been told it's the sensor. Just bought the camera a few month ago. I guess I have to send it in. How quick is Nikon? I need my camera and will they pay for the shipping? Has anyone had this problem with the D7000 and dealt with repairs? Thanks!
3 years ago
by
WendiS
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree, reset the camera or re-adjust the colors. It sounds like you may have inadvertantly changed the color settings from within the camera. I just purchased this camera and I have to tell you, I love it. Plane and simple... The menus are at first confusing but once you start playing around and learning all the features, it will be like second nature. You can remove the battery and let the camera sit for a period of time to discharge the onboard memory. This may reset the camera for you. Good Luck and keep on shooting!
Feb 11, 2012 by
by
buddha65281
Germany
Location : 
Germany
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Keith, I thought perhaps I selected vivid, but it's not set to that. I am viewing them on the camera and then they download to Nikon NX2 this way as well, I'm assuming, they would print thisway.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
WendiS

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends on where the nikon service repair is.
If you have a technical support in your town, you should probably get it there, in that case, no shipping costs. I had once to bring my old d200 to repair service and got it back in 5 days. Depends also what the problem is.
Nikon is a trustworthy company, but if you have a problem, you should ask your reseller first.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I would guess this person has been in the Picture Controls section and has chosen to modify saturation and/or hue via the Vivid setting. Go to Shooting Menu > Set Picture Control > Vivid, and adjust the settings to neutral.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Boone
South Lyon, MI
Location : 
South Lyon, MI
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
I would first check to make sure you have not inadvertently adjusted the picture controls and over saturated. What are you using to view images and are they jpeg or RAW.
Apr 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Since I almost exclusively shoot air shows I think I can answer your question.

Your asking about zoom capabilities, not wide angle.

I have rented and used the Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8 along with the X1.7 or X2 teleconverter and had good success. This combination is good for reach, great for clarity and sharpness on a bright sunny day, but not so good when you do need to back out for a wide angle shot.

Next would be the Sigma 150-500mm. I used this for several years. Not quite as sharp as the above, but 100mm more reach and about the same wide angle.

I now use the Sigma (Bigma) 50-500mm and I'm very pleased with this lens.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 10, 2013 by
by
RangerDoc275
Greater Seattle
Location : 
Greater Seattle
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You mentioned you want the biggest picture possible? If you want the most "view" in your photo, you will want a wide angle...something like 10-24mm is considered ultra-wide. However, if you mean the biggest picture possible in terms of image resolution, that mainly has to do with the camera body itself.
Sep 5, 2012 by
by
Not a newbie

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Anonymous,
What you need is a very long,100's of mm lens, and a gyroscope. Check in your local area for availability for purchase or rental.
Good Luck.
Mike
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
ForensicPhotog
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
A wide angle lens will certainly increase your field of view in the photo.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
I'm sick of Sony handycams - need one camera that can do it all. Want a Nikon like the D7000, but cannot tolerate only 20 minutes of video. Will buy large memory card, need to be able to record for hours.
3 years ago
by
Steve
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 20 minute time limit is because of double tax increases in europe. they count the camera as a video camera and still image camera after a certain mbps on video with a time limit.

Canon cameras are only 12min. but they have different Frames per second.

this is really not a big deal unless you are doing intervews, but, time your shots inbetween questions. I can't imagine someone answering a question for 20 min.
Nov 14, 2011 by
by
SSeanMHH
Orange County
Location : 
Orange County
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have not received a direct answer as to why the Nikon D7000 has a 20 minute video recording cap. I did find the following answers but, I could not find any documentation to prove their validity:

1- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent the camera's sensor from overheating (no proof of this)
2- The 20 minute cap was set in place to prevent higher taxes incurred. If the camera recorded longer, it would be categorized as a camcorder thus increasing taxes.
(no proof of this)

This 20 minute limitation may not hinder a person from creating feature films and short films but, this limitation does pose a problem for applications that require interviews. It would seem rude to stop a person in the middle of their story to tell them that they need to wait for you to press the record button again.

Hopefully, there will be a firmware update to remove this limitation.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4
Answer: 
Maybe in 10 years your dream will come true.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, there is a 20 minute limit per shot, but the camera lets you take as many of those 20 minute shots until the SD card is full. While I don't agree with Nikon's time limit, most professionals will not record for more than 10 seconds at a time anyways. Next time you're in a movie theater or watching TV, check it out. Camera angles switch every 5-10 seconds to keep the audience's interest.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Trying to shoot in manual, and the shutter will not release unless I accept the metered reading in the viewfinder I keep getting a R-10 displayed in th window, nothing that I can find in the manual covers this, what am I doing wrong
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Rufous03
Calgary
Location : 
Calgary
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
By default, there is a setting in the camera's menus which prevent the camera from taking a picture if the picture is out of focus. In some lighting conditions the camera will not be able to use the auto focus function and will not fire. You can overcome this in several ways. 1. Putting the camera in "M" and using the focus ring on the lens. 2. Changing the setting in the menu so that it will allow the camera to fire, even if it is not in focus (not recommended), turn off the auto focus function on the lens (if it has it) and on the camera (switch on the side of the lens, and a switch on the body of the camera, to the lower right of the lens as you face the front of the camera. Note: BOTH switches must be turned off at the same time to prevent damage to the lens or the camera. You should also check your metering to see if it's set correctly. There are several different metering modes which will affect your picture. Also, if memory serves me, the camera will not take a picture in M mode if the picture is going to be severely over-exposed. If, for instance, you set the photo up for a shutter speed of 1/30 and an aperture of f3.5, the camera won't fire. I have experienced this myself, and though there is nothing in the user's manual about it that I can find, I assume it's to protect the sensor and other equipment from damage.
Jun 27, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
San Francisco Area
Location : 
San Francisco Area
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
yup, use either shutter speed (faster for underexposure, slower for overexposure), or if DOF is not an issue, change the aperture. or, change the ISO. in manual mode exposure correction is not a valid option as nothing is automatic so it's entirely up to you what settings you use.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
R-10 refers to the amount of shots remaining in the buffer and has no relevance to whether the camera releases the shutter or not. If you are shooting in manual then you under expose by altering the shutter speed, the only thing that would stop the camera from firing would be if focus has not been achieved, try focusing manually.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
You have it on [M] and it won't take the picture? The only thing that should stop it from exposing under full manual is insufficient battery to complete the exposure, full memory card, or it being out-of-focus and set to require focus to expose and in auto-focus. Meter shouldn't play into it.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
BrucePaul
Iowa City, IA
Location : 
Iowa City, IA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D7000
 
4 Answers

Does the D7000 take black and white video?

Jun 28, 2011 by
by
AlexD
 on D7000
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Can I take black & white video with the D7000? Also, does it support the mode where you can select a color or colors to display in an otherwise B&W video?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
AlexD
4 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yup, use picture control. however, i'd advise against it -- you don't get to select the channel mix. my advice: shoot in color and aim for best contrast range, then use a decent video editing software and use a filter to do the b&w conversion. remember: if you shoot b&w, you can't go back and adjust the channel mix, neither can you change your mind afterwards if you wanted that shot in color. so: use neutral picture controls, shoot the video in color with a decent dynamic range, then mess it up later in post-prod. :)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Agree with KeithD. B&W can be taken by setting Picture Control to Monochrome (info display will show "MC"). All effects in "Retouch" menu (in camera post-processing) are not available for video, either while taking the video or during in camera post-processing.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Hiwayman
Northern California
Location : 
Northern California
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does, just change the picture control to monochrome.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
No, but you can use post-processing software to change it to B&W.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 11
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers